Mercedes-Benz C300 with AMG sports package launched!

benz c 300 0

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has introduced another locally-assembled W 204 C-Class model, in this case the range topping C 300, and it’s the first ever 3.0 litre displacement C-Class to be done here.

This one, in Avantgarde trim, comes replete with an AMG sports package, and can be identified externally by its twin exhaust tailpipes besides its variant badge. Aside from that, the exterior is accentuated by front and rear aprons and side skirts.

benz c 300 1

It’s powered by the M272 3.0 litre V6 pot, which offers 231 hp at 6,000 rpm and 300 Nm at 2,500-5,000 rpm, mated to a 7G-tronic seven-speed tranny. Performance figures for the car include a 246 kph top speed, a 7.2 secs 0-100 kph sprint time and a claimed combined fuel consumption of 9.4-9.6 per 100 km.

Going the AMG route gets the car a lowered suspension featuring shorter springs and thicker stabiliser bars, and this translates into the C 300 sitting 15 mm lower than the C 200 CGI Elegance. You also get perforated front brake discs and sporty looking brake calipers to boot.

benz c 300 2

Besides the sports suspension, the car – which goes for RM320,888 – also gets 18-inch AMG alloy wheels with mixed size tyres, in this case 225/40 series fronts and 255/35 rears.

Other interior components of the AMG Sports Package include a three-spoke steering wheel with gearshift paddles, brushed stainless steel sports pedals with rubber studs as well as floor mats with AMG lettering.

benz c 300 3

MBM introduced the car in Sepang, towards the end of its latest intallment of its Mercedes-Benz Driving Experience program. The limited drive time involved intimated that it’s a tidy enough offering, and for sure it showed up the C 200 K’s that were also doing track duty to be anaemic in comparison, though you wouldn’t have to be a genius to figure that one out. Hopefully, a proper road test in the near future will show what the C 300 Avantgarde AMG is really made of.

Gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1693]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kevin Lee on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

so does it beat a bmw 330i now?

• brian on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:25 pm

don’t think so…

• grunge on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:54 pm

fast at straight, suck at corners

• E bEar on Nov 17, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Hmmmmm, u went to test drive it too..so lucky.

Cornering should be much improved but ride firmer.

German specs usually very humble………won’t be surprised it could be faster 0-240km/hr.

Having a rapid 0-100 makes some cars difficult to control and scare the wits out of the meek.

This is a glam mobile…….says, I can afford it….so……it’s my choice.

It’s a halo model just to show, benz can have fun too.

• Nice car. I wonder when will we have a mercedes c class or a bmw 3 series with sunroof.

• nice exterior..but somehow i dont feel luxury in the interior.
    probably because it is c class..
    i might believe if change the logo to korean brands on the steering wheel..

• RON97 on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

nice..will propose this to the mgmt. had to forget the 212 waiting list.

• seancorr on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Seen it in the flesh recently too and must admit its a good car. I believe the current E300 is also CKD..at least that’s what the sales rep told me

• better buy this CKD version instead of CBU version that much costly..
    other than that CKD is free recall too!
    haha…

Malaysia – the best car ever made!

• Cars fan on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

nice….elegent

• longjaafar on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

It’s not as good as the 335i, but definitely faster than the 325i which costs 10k less. Very interesting times ahead.

• bibimilo on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:38 pm

I’ve to say the 325i exterior n interior looks nicer than this c300 amg :)

• jong88 on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:37 pm

A good car with ridiculous price tag. 320K get us average Malaysian a very nice Terrance link house.

• peeps on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm

i rather go for an audi A4 2.0TFSI. performance is the same, lower roadtax, nicer interior and sexier. Again, this is for typical chinaman that goes only with merc and only merc..

• vodevil on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm

hmmmm… i think the A4 2.0TFSI has better performance figures. 0-100kmh in 6.5 secs & with a torque output @ 350 Nm – which i think is crazee coming out from a 2.0 engine. more efficient too… combine fuel consumption is 7.4 litre/100km.

on top of that… quattro all wheel drive system & S tronic dual clutch gearbox!

those aside… i would still go for the A4 for the fact that it’s fully imported from Germany

• AGREE!!!

• Anti Proton on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:54 pm

so is bmw going to local assemble the 335i?

• Power8003 on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

I think Benz is trying to clear its 3.0 v6 engine stock in Asia countries. I think Benz is coming up with new engine for the 3 liter range model. Maybe 3.0 turbocharged like C250 CGI. I think C250 CGI will be a better choice. Smaller engine and big power……Lower road tax and cheaper…. It is a new technology but bad point is using old fashion gear box (five gear box) :(……..it will be a dream to have C250CGI with & 7 speed gear :)

Cheers :)

• peeps on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:00 pm

oh and still spare 20k.. i would pump it up to 250hp and a nice pair of AP brakes.. smoke this C.

• Duncare on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:18 pm

And yet last week there was an idiot suggested we should buy this car instead of Inspira for a mere additional USD6140 (RM19K+)! http://paultan.org/2010/11/10/proton-inspira-launch/#respond

Hello, it’s a full RM220K difference lah!

• loveit on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:03 pm

owhhh very tempting for this ..but buying it is like downgrading to me though engine more powerful

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:24 pm

“18-inch AMG alloy wheels with mixed size tyres” …. i think the term usually use is ‘staggered’

• GreenEco on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Paul, will you elaborate the news that Mercedes-Benz is building a plant to manufacture four-cylinder engines in Thailand? I thought MB engine plant is already in Malaysia?

http://www.monstersandcritics.com/news/business/news/article_1599253.php/Mercedes-Benz-to-build-engine-plant-in-Thailand

• Paul Tan on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Mercedes-Benz only assembles cars here – do they make engines?

• passerby on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:00 pm

http://www.manager.co.th/Motoring/ViewNews.aspx?NewsID=9530000161603

(use Google Translate)

According to this article, MB will shift the production of 4-cylinder engines used in C and E class from MY to TH.

• Still looks like a mistress car courtesy of her sugar daddy.

• niuhje on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:11 pm

0-100 in 7 secs, 250bhp, twin exhaust, skirting, 18 in alloys, etc, etc, etc… who cares? how many in bolehland can afford? how many!!??

• Average Joe on Nov 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

More value in the C250 in my opinion. This won’t sell that well if you ask me seeing as its priced so closely to the E200.

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

pretty slow for a 3 litre… too slow actually.

• E Bear on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

It is a whole 100km/hr faster than what I am driving!

I think 240km/hr is quite near the top speed even for illegal record breakers on PLUS.

Try braking it to 0 with curves and dips, totally crazy feel right up the tree.

It is more for showing off that the owner can afford the high petrol bills plus road tax.

• WahPiang on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

good second car

• Silverado on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Why not wait for the facelift, launching in Europe soon

• People buy this car because they love V6..

• Bus Driver on Mar 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Just got this car 2 months ago,after owning other Marques from Audi,BMW,VW and most Japanese makes I finally decided to try a Merc,this one in particular.
    Got a UK spec Yr 08 with almost all the options except memory seats. Drive is solid and actually quite impressed with the cornering abilities of this car,comparing to another fully tuned German car which I have. I also have the Advance Agility Control for those spirited drives..
    Only thing I noticed is at high speeds,above 200kmh,there’s not really a “one with the car” feeling..still stable and poised though.I guess the Merc is more of a “gentlemens cruiser” than a car made for fast and aggressive drivers.