Mitsubishi: No other models to be shared with Proton

Mitsubishi: No other models to be shared with ProtonSince word got out that Proton’s latest Inspira is based on the current Mitsubishi Lancer, and that there were going to be minimal exterior and drivetrain changes between the two, there has been a fear among some that more current Mitsubishi models will go down the same route. Well, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has confirmed that none of the other cars it sells, including the Lancer Sportback and ASX, will be shared with Proton.

“Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia wishes to state that other than the Lancer, no other Mitsubishi models currently distributed by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM), including its recently launched vehicles – the all-new Lancer Sportback (October) and the ASX compact crossover (November) will be based on this technical collaboration in the future,” said Tetsuya Oda, CEO of MMM.

On the Inspira, Oda san had this to say: “While the Inspira is modeled after the Mitsubishi Lancer, it differs in a number of ways – with both having its own unique traits, allowing each respective vehicle to differentiate itself in the marketplace. Each brand also caters to a different group of customer segments with a different set of driving desires and expectations.”

By the way, MMM will continue to sell the CBU Lancer. Read the full statement from the MMM boss after the jump.

Statement issued by Mr Tetsuya Oda, Chief Executive Officer of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia

Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) Japan has collaborated with Proton Holdings Berhad (Proton) for many years and most recently, the technical support provided to Proton for the development of the new Inspira.

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia wishes to state that other than the Lancer, no other Mitsubishi models currently distributed by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM), including its recently launched vehicles – the all-new Lancer Sportback (October) and the ASX compact crossover (November) will be based on this technical collaboration in the future.

While the Inspira is modeled after the Mitsubishi Lancer, it differs in a number of ways – with both having its own unique traits, allowing each respective vehicle to differentiate itself in the marketplace. Each brand also caters to a different group of customer segments with a different set of driving desires and expectations.

Exported to Malaysia and distributed by MMM, the Lancer is a Completely Built-Up Unit (CBU) – in which all parts and assembly standards have met Mitsubishi Motors’ stringent global quality standards.

In addition to being fully manufactured by MMC in Japan, the Mitsubishi Lancer is also designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards.

The Inspira, on the other hand, is assembled at Proton’s facility in Shah Alam and will contain 40% local parts within the year.

Exclusively for Lancer owners, MMM offers a five year warranty programme in addition to a complimentary two year maintenance programme on all parts and labour.

MMM’s extensive sales and service network includes 54 service centres and 41 sales outlets nationwide – out of which 15 are 3S (Sales, Service and Spare parts) centres. MMM intends to increase its sales network to 45 by March 2011 with 27 3S centres.

On top of that, Lancer owners enjoy the assurances that come with purchasing a vehicle renowned for its 90 year brand heritage. Mitsubishi is also one of the leading global automakers in the world and has a long successful history in motorsports.

Through MMM, MMC continues to strengthen its presence in Malaysia. Mitsubishi is now one of the top four brands within the non-national car segment in Malaysia.

For more information, please visit your nearest Mitsubishi Motors showroom, or log on to www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my or call Customer Care Line at 03-7622 2202.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• So, all the Proton fans that dreamed hard for Mitsubishi, you can stop it now and buy a real Mitsubishi if you want!

• azrai on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:48 am

Anything can be happened. this statement just to calmed those ASX potential buyers.

• RON97 on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:04 pm

No. What they (MMC) mean is there are two groups of people 1- Mitsubishi owners (high income) and 2- Proton owner (low income). end of story.

• grab inspira now.. no further colabration with Mitsu… haha..

ASX nothing impress.. not comfort for passenger..
          sportback yes… cool car… 2.4cc.

• someone on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Both 2.4 sport back and ASX sucks. I’ve tested both cars and both of them don’t really meet my expectation.

Although the sport back is using 2.4l engine, but I don’t feel the car have better pick up as well as better performance. For ASX, they really don’t understand what Malaysian want. The design for ASX consider nice, but in terms of comfortable, it is totally out.

MMM, please fucking do more market research before bringing in the models.

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:43 pm

There are some people who like to categorise others into 2, 3 or 4 groups as if they have already done surveys or statistics on it. Do you think people in this world can be so easily categorised? How do you know that Proton owners must be of low income(you are god)? Can he actually drive Merc and buy Inspira(from his friend) for each of his 5 children aged 18 to 25 (and you call him a low-income person???). If no Perdana, will G give JUSA A/B/C free Proton Inspiras and you call these group low-income(many JUSA A people are having PROTON Perdanas, do you know?) Can Inspira become one of my spare cars (I don’t want to buy original because I think RM120k is not expensive but overpriced)? Does this bother you? Narrow-minded?

• Agreed 100% with Jimmy… I have a friend who’s his father was a COO(retired already) of a big company(believe me… his father is damn rich) but bought him only Proton Waja… :)

• Alfonso on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Well said dude. Totally agree with the statement that most of the imported cars in Malaysia now arent expensive. They r just overpriced. Minus the tax, most of the cars are affordable to most people. I bought Proton too though im driving a car that “R97” categorized as a car for the “high income” people. The thiing is that some of the prices are ridiculously high, why pay more if u got a chance to buy a similar product for a cheaper price. I wont.

• Erm well said all, well said, import cars are way too expensive and overpriced, this i agree. But the funny thing is… why our local car is so damn expensive (compare to a non tax imported price car)? Imported cars are far cheaper without TAX, does this mean we are taxed buying local cars too? I might be so far wrong. Does local car maker makes cars for Malaysian, OR make money out of Malaysians? Dont get furious over my statement all, as im just a under educated regular guy who cant afford much option of todays car hehe. Need some answers here pls.

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:15 am

JJ, yes Malaysian cars are taxed too you know. Excise duty’s applicable to all cars, whether foreign or local. Despite a 50% discount on excise tax, it’s still substantial.

And those raising the issue of Inspira’s Langkawi price being higher than Lancer’s price, well we don’t know the story behind the scenes now do we? Perhaps Proton had a gentleman’s agreement that Inspira must never be priced lower than the Lancer in tax-free havens like Langkawi etc. We’ll never know.

• What they didnt mentions its that they make money from proton customers and also mitsubishi customers, kiri duit masuk kanan pun duit masuk, proton inspira baik dan mitsubishi lancer pun baik.

• hey yo on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:58 pm

dude, inspira for low income ppl? i cant afford it so does that mean that im poor? holy crap?

• azrai on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:17 pm

You are not poor then if you can’t afford Inspira. You are miskin tegar. :-)

• yeah rite on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:25 pm

poorer than lancer buyer lah, or you’ll project a image of being a cheapskate, or a smart buyer that got a better deal etc etc. It’s peoples’ PERCEPTION, therefore there’s nothing much that u can do to change it.

• Edmond on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Inspira= low income?

MyVi, Persona== low low income?

Motorsikal== super low income?

Bus== Ultra super low income?

Cheers, mate… I know how you feel when someone can get cheaper Mitsu than you do… But don’t categorize ppl!!

• lu orang kaya kaya pun tada guna…kalau eksiden pakai rolls royce phantom @ Bentley GT Conti pun belum tentu bole hidup…walaupun 10 bintang rated NCAP!!
            I,m Spit of People wHo don,t Want to be Cooled…
            Eksen2 saja cakap low income, high income…how low is low?how high is high?cmon la malaysian….wake up!

• Cheapskate? Maybe someone out there likes the Proton designed front.

• Tongkat on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm

nowadays, mitsubishi is = proton.

saga, wira, all legend already, now inspira.

even grand mother will know mitsu= proton.

no matter wat logo you put ( proton/ mitsu) its the same, to the untrained eyes.

• frossonice on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:07 pm

So, where do I go to get main eyes trained then? Because I’m damn sure Saga BLM, Persona, Neo dan Waja IS NOT Mitsubishi. Oh, Exora too.

• Cool down, cool down, if want settle take it on the road like a man and see who dies first ahahaha, just joking, relax guys. Who ever comes out of a proton or a mitsu is still out fren, family and loved ones. Thats what matters ya.

• lslee on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:01 pm

We have to read between the lines “… no other Mitsubishi models currently distributed by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) … ” It mentioned ‘current’, how about in the future? Or after they discontinued the ‘current’ model?

• yeah rite on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm

to quote it another way, all the mitsubishi fans that dream hard of affording certain mitsu at proton price can now wake up and buy a real proton instead!

• Lance on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

Ha ha ha … feeling neglected by your pissed off customers?

• hengkem on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:38 am

They should have thought of that earlier..loads of pissed off lancer owners out there now….

• lslee on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:03 pm

They must have started to regret it now….

• Betrayal to all current Lancer owners yet still wanna tipu ppl towards their whatever new models, and who the hell knows what would happen to these new models 2~3 years down the road?

Utter betrayal. Cannot be trusted whatsoever (even though I do not own a Lancer).

• TRUE TRUE TRUE, why announce a statement like this in the first place??? Cos they know ppl are furious! That they betray their own customers. And this affect its sales NOW! PPl are afraid buying another Mitsu model.

• Stiff on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:22 am

Sure, the are some hidden messages from the statement obviously telling you: “Our Lancer is the real thing and it is made in Japan.”

• Malaysian on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:29 am

“Wira 2”

…nitemare for Malaysian again, kesian!

• Tongkat on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:47 am

the price is Wira X 2 = inspira

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Still keeping your KEMARAHAN/DENDAM for RM50k, aren’t you?
      Best wishes to you that one day you will pass through this stage.

• apexg2 on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:33 am

But….it stated ‘current’…future?

• DoubleJ on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:36 am

Does the above statement mean that the imported Mitsubishi Lancer is a better built and safer car than the Inspira as it’s locally assembled?

• NO imported cars are not better built than local cars. Its just that out local car has the lowest built quality in Malaysia only.

• The Necessary on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:37 am

Wouldn’t dare to be seen in a cheap copy like the Inspira any day!

• Goniothalamus on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:31 pm

u think this oem collaboration is cheap dude?

you are cheap.

• Danny on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

It doesn’t matter, if Mitsubishi really cares about their customer, they will send 3 years more free service plus warranty for the “valuable” customer.

Those who bought Lancer GT recently is F. thanks to Mitsu decision without compensation.

• donadoni on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:44 am

stingy japs!

• Mitsubishi only state Lancer is from CBU is with better quality and inspira is Assembly in Shah alam….like this is never give a lancer owner a good answer ….the outlook which is same!

• anand on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:59 pm

some of us have the same look…but character is totally different…don’t judge a book by it’s cover…

• Yes that true, but if its so different inside. WHY not change the cover too? Ah ha

• Cannot be worr….Almost everyone (if not all) says that Inspira and Lancer is the same. Only change bumper and logo only is what they say….

p/s: read between the lines…..

• comrad on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

wait till you drive both aggresively , you will know they are different beasts

• nighttrain on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:49 am

Is Oda-san hinting that Inspira is a low quality cheap copy?.. Or is he just trying to win back the hearts of Mitsu customers? Top four non-local eh, really?
    Lancer is equipped with 6 airbags and SatNav dashboard? Coz Oda-san said the Lancer is global quality.. It’s the same version as Europe and US, at that current price, it’s a steal!

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Lancer in Europe & US market have ESP or ASC as standart for now if not mistaken & have more air-bags!

‘Active Stability Control (ASC)
      ASC† (Active Stability Control) is a system that is designed to help maintain and control the lateral movement of the Lancer during difficult driving conditions. ‘

http://www.mitsubishicars.com/MMNA/jsp/lancer/11/safety.do

But for current M. Lancer in Malaysia market, i dont see this option also… So i would not dare mention it is the same spec as them…

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/showroom-lancer-specifications.php

Air-bags are only 2 if not mistaken. So Mitsu Malaysia.. Dont talk rubbish before u know ur local spec againts other country spec…

• Wisdom on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Do they (ori Lancer) have these rain & headlight sensor?

• Restaurant Lotus Nasi Kandar on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:23 pm

nope. you should get an inspira for that. (inspira 2.0)

• TommyKaira on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:45 pm

No.Because rain & headlight sensor is not a rocket science in auto industry.

• saiyen on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:50 am

Too late, they already pissed off lots of potential Mitsubishi customers. The front of the new ASX looks similar to inspira too :P

• hengkem on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:18 pm

yeah, definitely I will not be thinking of Mitsu models if I want to change my car as there’s always a possibility of it becoming a new proton model..might as well wait for that proton model..cheaper also..

• Jaybond on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:57 am

The recent statement from Proton, of offering to share Proton’s developed platform with Mitsubishi is just, well unthinkable! Will any established Japanese or Europe’s makes do so?….

• Ronaldo on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:01 pm

all parts and assembly standards have met Mitsubishi Motors’ stringent global quality standards.

Inspira follow what standard?

• hehehehe….
      Bro.. U ada bace tak artikel lain yang Paul dah post kat sini?
      Kalau belum, bace dulu yek…
      Jangan cakap semborono…
      terimalah hakikat yang sebenar..
      Lancer dah jadi inspira..
      kalau nak beli..
      tak nak sudah..
      adalah lbh baik kalau kita tunggu komen drpd empunya kereta…

• He’s compell to issue that statement to protect other mmc models currently on sale in Malaysia. Eh.. what about Perdana replacement model ? Some people rumoured it’s also a model by mmc but not on sale here.

• may be this inspira is waja/perdana replacement in one go. we never know. the logic is there.

• Tiadaid on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:23 pm

It’s probably right, since it’s not a model currently sold here in Malaysia. In fact, the Proton salesperson that attended to my test drive of the Inspira last Saturday confirms that the Perdana replacement is a Mitsubishi model. Plus he also said next year the Exora Turbo (the prototype that looked like a Caldina covered by Paul a few months ago) will be coming soon.

• donno on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Future models?

For future models, it will be Mitsubishi that will be getting its new models from Proton…

• nolan on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

cannot be trusted……i heard theres a plan to rebandge ASX and name it Proton ‘Karisma’…….thats why i don’t want to invol;ve in any Mitsubishi product for now……

• nobody on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Proton Karisma Kapoor? Hahaha

• anand on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:57 pm

maybe you should just use Kancil….can you tell from where you heard the news from…maybe i should sue you for giving false information without any details which is a mere speculation by yourself…

• nolan on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:43 am

so you are Mitsubishi salesman right……..?
        worried that your sales will drop……people stay away from Mitsubishi brand because of Mitsu stupid decision, not because of their product…..
        Yeap…i use Kancil before 15 years ago….and the issue is not related on my claim….

• dragster on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:08 pm

at least it not a nitemare for all Mitsubishi Lancer owner….where other can get the almost the same model for cheaper price….next tiem don have to worry for the resale value for my lancer…..bravo….

• anand on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:55 pm

first of all the original lancer’s second hand value will not drop since it’s a CBU…and in the “GERAN” it’s written as MADE IN JAPAN>>>so don’t worry dude…you made a good choice

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Don’t comfort yourself if you own a Lancer. 2nd hand value determined by market force not purchase value that subject to tax and manufacturer’s profit. Take example of Kia Carnival, Sorento, Caren… . Even CBU cars priced the same or even lower than CKD if they become 2nd hand.

• nolan on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:03 pm

bro…..salesman always give us nice words…..in the end they ignore you after you bought the car…….

• kataksedih on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm

i think is a big mistake to rebadge as a proton, I know is business. But to me as a car enthusiast. We buy the brand and the brand loyalty. Takkan LV rebadge Cap Ayam?

• value on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:53 pm

welcome to the real world, anyway ‘cap ayam’ is better than ‘lv’ in certain aspects, no doubt

• protoninsider on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:13 pm

no lah… unless mmc did not make profit in inspira ‘collaboration'( i dont think so). like optimus prime said ‘You’ll never stop at one’

• CopyCat on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Right now proton should try negotiate with Ferrari or Lamborghini for next copycat project they call collaboration or rebadge.

• That would be a much better choice then! I rather see and buy a 30~50% (Ferrari/Lamborghini) priced Proton 612 Scaglietti/Murcielago LP 670-4! :D

But the question is, will the Scuderia/Volks Wagen let 1Malaysia do so? :P

• Korean on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Say what ever you want, I will definitely not consider Mitsubishi in my next purchase, learn from history.

• Anti Proton on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:25 pm

lol as usual. formal letter. eventhough we know its all bull.

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:28 pm

SMART GUYS GET IT.
    It seems true at this moment, those smart guys who appreciate it (compared to original Lancer) will know how much real Mitsu components inside, it seems worth the price compared to other makes of similar price range.
    The issues now are durability (needs time to tell) and the Proton’s aftersales service. Can you please look into it.

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:13 pm

I am driving Mit car but not Lancer, nothing to be proud about its quality especially plastic panels.

• I think the main issue here is not quality, both have weakness. The main issue here is the weakness of Mitsu brand loyalty, many r furious about it and this tarnish their sales number. If not they wont issue a suicidal statement like this.

• VIGOSS on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:32 pm

so funneh, no body trust mmc after this,

• yes now MMC say no collaboration. let see few yrs down the road where u r still paying for the loan. everyone in msia lost total confidence in buying new mitsu anymore. thats why u dont see ASX n sportsback on the road.

sorry MMC u shot yourself in the foot, and u r going to bleed to death.

• Jolly good on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

A little too late oda-sunk! You’ve offended alot of lancer owners who had put their utmost loyalty in the brand. Brand=Loyalty=Trust. You’ve opened the flood gates wide open, it’ll never be the same again, Letter? publicity crap. Hellooo..we are not stupid. bet that potong is the 1st cc recipient of this letter ya oda-sunk..!

• Tiadaid on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

So it’s proven, Malaysians buy cars based on brand factor. No wonder trashy cars can sell well, because it has the right badge.

• artworkz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

if ASX cant laku in malaysia, then MMM ll train proton puppy to copy again with slogan, “SMART FAMILY GET IT”

• Ctrl-C on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:54 pm

It would be interesting to see Lancer sales no’s( if any at all) in the coming months..
      :)

• Vincent on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Whatever he can say now… but, will it bring back the confident of Mits potential buyer?

He can say easy that it mean for 2 diff market segment, but in actual facts, does it really not affecting the resales value of Mits Lancer? THose inspira buyer will for sure changing the bumper and rebadge it to Lancer.. they will end up pay RM95K for a Lancer!

Try to get the Merz and rebadge by P1 or P2, even if would to do it by Toyota, see if those so call elite buyer will still buy Merz, still can telling the people that they are in different segment…

• Agreed!

• Ctrl-C on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:56 pm

2 diff. market segments seperated by almost invisible line….

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:16 pm

This MMM boss said that because he is accountable to the sales here in Malaysia but rebadging was the say from Mit HQ. So why we trust him.

• shooter on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:46 pm

M.Benz oredi rebadge what??? remember the Chairman….

• Vincent on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

More practical way to make existing lancer owner happy, that can make them pass good words to potential buyer is: Give them extended product warantty with free service maintenance …

Them, those potential ASX buyer will be feel better, that incase ASX been rebadged, still got extended waranty and free service..

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Obviously many current original Lancer owners DO AGREE that Inspira is almost the same as the CBU Japan. Otherwise why do they get angry with Mitsu?
    Again, smart guys get it. And many of you who are angry are smart guys.

• chung on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

I felt really dissapointed on MMM.It was being told by MMM that the new Proton Inspiraa will not be the same as Lancer but eventually it looks exactly the same from in and out!For those who has just bought a Lancer before the Inspira launched,it felt like being cheated from MMM!I think MMM should come out with an extra after sales service and benefit for those who has just bought a Lancer or so-callede Inspira!!!AS a fan of Mitsubishi,i hope that you can come out with a better solution and explanation for us as a consumer!

• It’s really a betrayal! Especially when resale-value comes into play when letting go this CBU Lancer!

Shame on Mitsubishi Malaysia!

• I AM A MITSUBISHI LANCER GT OWNER (RED) & I’M REALLY PISSED WITH MITSUBISHI.

• dando on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

actually, i did asked the MMM salesperson when the white GT was launched at one utama few months back.
      , asked him is it true that the rumours saying the lancer will be rebadged as a proton.. he said yes.. and exactly the same, just change bumper n logo…
      then immediately i canceled the order.

but this ASX is tempting… or should i wait for new civic…. or new focus? hmm

• Ah Fook on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Aiya.. Mitsubishi dun tok kok lah.

If the ASX and Sportsback cannot sell & if Proton’s offer to Mitsu is good.. sure they sell

the manufacture license wan!!!!!

• specr on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:57 pm

“In addition to being fully manufactured by MMC in Japan, the Mitsubishi Lancer is also designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), …”

only evo , not gt

• sukasuki on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:38 pm

really2 agree, a lot of lancer gt owner thinks they owning an evo. pity on them!!!

• Arashikage on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:16 pm

At least they would continue selling the ‘real’ lancer in M’sia….a plus point…I don’t see any problem with Lancer rebadge as Inspira…

Like what the letter said:
    Lancer = Made in Japan and Insipra = Made in Shah Alam that factor alone is a major difference between Lancer and Inspira. Obviously by fact everyone knows that proton ‘part’s’ quality is not at par with Mitsubishi….

It’s a bit like buying Crocs, you use the immitation 1 that looks exactly the same like the ori 1and people doesn’t notice the difference, they though you bought the ori 1.
    But only when you use the ori 1 do you notice the difference (and people will think you bought an immitation 1 but to hell with them, only you need to know weather is ori or immitation).

So Lancer owner can rest assured, no matter what proton rebadge you can always say ” I bought the ori 1, you might not notice the difference but I do. So shuddup and quit bugging me about some rebadged car” Hahahahahahaha….

• Goniothalamus on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm

so you think lancer is ori and inspira is immitation?

both model are same, the diffrent is manufacturer.

both have strength and weakness…

so dont talk weird.. both have their own buyers..

at the end, both will gain profit..

MMM not stupid, Proton not dumb.. Smart guys get it…

• dando on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm

actually, current inspira is almost like a CBU unit from japan… that’s why u don’t see much difference..
        but later on… more local parts will be included in the production… then only u will see the difference…
        oda san mentioned that the inspira will contain 40% local part within a year…

whoever bought early… lucky la… thats why the press was like saying quality very good…. u see la within a year… sure the quality, materials all different…. maybe use some cheapo plastics…. PU leather….. IMHO la

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm

i did test drive waja, vios and city several years back. in the end i choose waja because the interior is much better than the other 2. leather seats, rubberised plastic panels, airbags, and many other features at lower price than cheapest vios and city.

• alishah on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:03 am

and you develope some Post Traumatic Protorn Disorder by joining a group of similar patients cursing Toyota and Honda day in and day out :) . Honestly, if you dont get paid by Protorn, I seriouly think you have some addiction on what you are doing on internet which need professional help

• bluetravler on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:50 am

you have got to be kidding me, MoFaz. I’m COO of me and my partners’ company. We have 3 saga, 2 waja and 1 city, for the sale’s team. And plus 1 second hand rexton for anyone to use. Not even to include the 2 toyota vans. I will give you a 5 time chance to guess which cars’ services cause my CFO partner’s yearly bad case of heart burn. Lets be honest here k. Its just a forum to inform and talk kok. Its not the place to spew porpaganda. For that you go to a dephi forum. And for the final argument, the monthly fuel clam………..arghhhhhhhhhh. Come 2013 for the 1st oldest car change….they are out of the list.

• kasabian on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm

hahaha why dont u compare waja with vios and city after 4 or 5 years..then u will get ur answer…hahaha

• hengkem on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:25 pm

I tend to agree with you on this..

• dRwh0 on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:39 pm

I do hav waja and vios..and after 5 years..the waja looks older than the vios though it has lesser mileage..and the resale value is really bad.. :)

• Joseph on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Smart ‘Cheapo’ Malaysian Don’t Get it should be the tagline. Just call a spade a spade, call a ‘ciplak’ a ‘ciplak’. Period.

With Oda’s statement, it’s hard for Proton emotional supporters to come up with a credible response.

• 1Malaysia is asking ppl not to buy pirated DVDs/CDs, etc. Now they say ‘you can buy if I sell these ‘licensed-pirated’ discs to you!

Funny isn’t it?

Mitsu: ‘No no no, we will not let Proton copy our mastercopy again…’
      Proton: ‘If I pay you $, why not you let me copy again – Don’t go against the money!’

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:23 pm

No it is not funny. DVD is not manufactured by the producer of the film. So all of them are License-pirated.

• Wisdom on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Immitation Crocs and original Crocs is not the case here. Its the case of different assembler and some simple, localize part. The engine and gearbox came straight from japan as 1 unit and directly assembled. And they have all the torque spec.

The 30k saving (from 120 to 90k). is more on tax structure.

So thank you lancer owner. Your contribution is very much appreciated from rakyat.

• manulovetohate on Feb 26, 2011 at 7:12 pm

lu skarang ada RM90, lu boleh ambik laki tukar jadi pompuan (claim Oreee bangg).. atau lu mau tunggu sikit wang, top up RM125, ambik pompuan ori…

Smart guys surely get it!

• carfan on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:34 pm

No reason why MMC will not sell more models to be re-badged as Proton models as this a Win -win for both. MMC may only sell 1000 lancer at most annually but the re-badged Inspira will sell 1000 units a month- so the same can happen for ASX. The price diff is the duties only. So P has con the Govt into giving these rebadge models as national cars on a preferential duty rate. This is one reason why car companies are unhappy with the unlevel playing fied and decide to site their plant else where in Asean.

ASX is actually a nice niche model like the old RAV4 / Airtrek– just need a turbo engine!!!

• techboy_88 on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:36 pm

someone have posted an opinion that is pro-Proton saying that Mitsubishi is being a stingy company who loves to copy ideas from other car makers, but at the same time refuse to share any of its ideas with other car makers. besides, the opinion also cynically criticizes Msians for not supporting its local car company and describe South Koreans as “patriotic” because they will still prefer to buy a Korean car regardless of the quality being inferior . the opinion is written in Bahasa Melayu, but by the way, feel free to read & comment on the opinion.

–> http://www.ala-hai.com/nota-proton-yang-sebenarnya/

• Aiyo, why must you korek old story..

• Joseph on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

South Korean prefer ? Don’t talk cock, Korea has the same ‘market protection’ instrument like BN government has for Proton. Koreans were ‘force’ to buy crappy Korean cars. They did not prefer, the Gooks were made to ‘prefer’.

“Automobile Industry Promotion Policy” in 1962, and The Automobile Industry Protection Act. Go read it up.

Gooks still prefer BMW, Merc etc, it’s a status symbol.

• Justgothere on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Well previously MMM claimed they didn’t know about the deal between MMC and Proton.

So what’s stopping MMC doing the same thing in the future without telling MMM?

I don’t think the statement made by MMM will give sufficient assurance to current and future owners of mitsubishi cars that the same thing would not happen again.

Anyway we’ll probably see the inspira on the road for the next 20 years….

• albag on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

“Smart Guys Get it.” —> the real meaning is getting more obvious now… making Lancer owners look like fools… hahahaha!

• buat ape nak banding harga lancer dgn inspira… montly repaymeny both car hampir same coz lancer dapat lower rate dari inspira.

biasalah keta local memang kena int rate tinggi dari bank.

“Smart Guy Get It” – jgn cepat percaya.

• anand on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Inspira 40% local parts….which means 40% of the car don’t have quality……kakakakakakakakakakakakakaka

• Clone on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Dear Mr Tetsuya Oda, thank you for admitting Proton Ispira is an inferior product. I hope you get to keep your job here. Rgds

• KOREAN on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:56 pm

I won’t let Proton to share our country car !!!~ !!!

• Coolken on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

By the way, Proton Karisma ended up as Proton Exora.. Karisma was one of the names selected for Exora. According to the MMM sales people, all 500 ASX was snapped up. So we should see some of them soon on the road.

Glad that MMM announce it now that there would be no more re-badging for other Mitsu models. And knowing how proud these Japanese are, its most likely true. Harakiri is the way of dishonor in their culture. LOL!!

• artworkz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

even my fren who own Lancer in singapore also pissed off that they ll become sibling with protong.

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:55 pm

why do you care with your fren at singapore?

he got share in MMC?

• CopyCat on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

When say Lancer people know Proton Inspirate. Damage has been done. MMM/MMC should do something for current Lancer owners to get theirs ralliart spirit back.

• lslee on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

the biggest gainner from this are those accessory shop owners who stock up the Lancer emblem and the bodykit…. Sure lots of inspira owners will mod their ride to look exactly like the REAL Lancer rather than this WAJAlution.

• i would rather modify inspira to something like Lotus car

• Restaurant Lotus Nasi Kandar on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:27 pm

you can always upgrade lancer to inspira :D lolz

• ah cong on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:35 pm

i duwan buy lancer gt bodykit…maybe wait for Inspira R3 or Inspira Evo X kit which more nicer…hahaha

• Mr Gugu on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Proton should partner with Toyota and eliminate Toyota like what Perodua did to Daihatsu. I want Proton to also eliminate Honda, Nissan, Hyundai and Kia and some china cars like Chery, Dongfeng so that all our rakyat will buy Malaysian cars and I really hope some percentage of proton should contribute to the goverment because it is a goverment sponsored company. We malaysians must love our country and our goverment sponsered company so that we will be appreciated of our car company. I don’t really care about the pricing but at least, stop importing foreign cars and leave proton to monopolise or duopoly (with inferior perodua-daihatsu) and kill our other local competitor like Naza and Inokom.

Proton also should rebadge Mercedes, Audi, Peugeot, Volkswagen, Porshe, BMW and stop importing these actual cars. We don’t need to partner with these company because if we do, we have to import foreign workers professionals to malaysia to seek advice which it will cost a bomb and worstly it will steal jobs from our local market. Proton should just copy and not partner because if partner, proton must contribute some percentage to their company which might as well contribute to the goverment.

Proton must be smart. Proton must START to copy and STOP partnering with any car manufacturer and the goverment must play a part. To ban imported cars from overseas. Stop all sales and distribution and allow a duopoly within Perodua and Proton. Revoke all other competitors licence like Naza and Inokom and allow Proton to absorb these cars.

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Hahaha.. Nice 1…

• Ctrl-C on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Dude, you are one bitter Proton Salesman ! Y’lar didn’t meet quota this mth even with the Inspira?

• lslee on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm

not to sound rude, but personally, I don think P1 has the ability to cope with the tech. for conti car if they decided to rebadge the car. just my 2 cent worth of comment.

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm

like the renault Samsung isnt it?

It is like the saying,

If you cant fight them, join them…

• Anti P1/MMM on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Is seem proton sales after launched not as good as expected. From the selling price we can see Mitsubishi Malaysia still able to attract truly Lancer buyer to get their original Lancer.

• I also wonder how would SG Lancer drivers think about their Lancer in SG (Evo, GT, Ex)… since Mitsubishi is one of the best selling brand in SG (especially previous Lancer 8 & 9).

Especially when they drive at NSH, and passed/get passed by something similar yet different?!

(hahaha)…

• farghmee on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:14 pm

alahai…
    lancer gt/ex je..bukannya lancer evolution.

tu pn nk kecoh?

• ahbeng’s story:
    one day , a guy drove a MITSU LANCER stopped at a mamak foodstall . The mamak saw the car and said” very beutiful car la macha!!” the guy smiled and feel very proud .. but then the mamak continueed” Macha!! very did u modified ur INSPIRA .. looks very ORIGINAL la” . The guy stopped smiling and went back into the car and drove away….. sad story huh!!

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:35 pm

…unfortunately mamak won’t do that because he will loss a customer…and does a mamak can recognise which one is Lancer and which one is Inspira? I doubt so…

• losantara on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm

ya mamak wont do that but will laughed at this stupid Lancer wannabe while making the roti canai

what do u mean mamak cannot recognise a Lancer and a Inspira ? I know a few mamak who owns big bungalows in USJ lah bro. You are the one who is stupid who look down on mamaks

• November Rain on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:29 pm

After tengok Inspirated tak rasa nyesal pun beli Lancer.. banyak part yang cikai dan kurang.. cth. dlm dinding tempat tayar belakang x de cover mcm Lancer.. besi banggang je.. ada byk lagi.. quality mmg out… CBU dgn Shah Alam mmg jauh beza..
    Tapi yang penting owner Inspirated akan Mod jadi Lancer.. That mean Lancer lagi cantik padanya… hahaha.. malunye pak cik..

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm

kata-kata sedapkan hati sendiri… kan?

• tak la inspira lagi cantik dari lancer , depan mcm bmw 3 series, belakang pun ada shape tak mcm lancer lurus sangat, pastu aksesori yg takde tu senang je dapat kat kedai abang’ , cakap je nak apa, nak led light belakang, nak bodykit, mcm2 style ada…

• tak payah nak bangga ngan mitsubishi tu..dlm WRC pun dah jauh ketgglan ngan keta citroen, ford, skoda…dah tak power evo tu..kita je dok bangga ngan versi EVO…dlm APRC pun jauh tertggl ngan Neo s2000..model2 dr Mitsubishi mmg dah suam2..tu sbb MMC deal ngan proton….

• duda dude on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm

how dare u MMC…….dont u ever underestimated our product!!! dont u guys see….. they always underestimate us by saying that our national product is not as good as theirs….

i have one question!! if they build lancer with a special features[ “Mitsubishi Lancer is also designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards.”]……… what about Malaysia. ?? have they ever think and designed a car that meet our desire??

• modesto_hann on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:01 pm

If Mitsubishi was sincere enough to treat their current lancer customers well, they should not let proton rebadge lancer. they should rebadge another model which has not been in Malaysian market before, perhaps a lancer sport hatchback. Rather than rebadge the current lancer then telling that they wont rebadge other models. damage has been done, customer confidence is betrayed. this is a wake up call!

• Malacca Drifter on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:02 pm

MMC don’t care about customers loyalty… MMC should wake up, business is long term, it is hard to get loyal customers but it is horrible to hurt loyal customers…

MMC is unbelievable…….

Come on, potential customers would ask Mitsu owners about Mitsu cars before they buy a Mitsu… What kind of recommendation will they get from current Mitsu owners???

• “In addition to being fully manufactured by MMC in Japan, the Mitsubishi Lancer is also designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards.

The Inspira, on the other hand, is assembled at Proton’s facility in Shah Alam and will contain 40% local parts within the year.”

In simple english: We built the lancer better than you guys.

• Coolken on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Hopefully MMM would have lousy sales, and they start giving discounts and more free maintenances.. Then it should be a good buy for a Japan CBU product. As it is, their prices are very affordable for the items they offer, if every model get a 10k discount, even better!!

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm

I think this will happen in Jan & Feb 11, then I will grab the ASX.

• adiddaniel on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Whatever you say for me if i got more money to spend on new car i prefer to buy honda or ford. Dont comment too much its may hurt someone who already bought mitsu car ok bro.

• shahrizan on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Finally MMC has come to their senses,
    the rebadged Lancer/Inspira has diluted their reputation
    and the quality of the MMC Lancer branding.
    Must have got an earful by current Lancer CBU owners too.
    That is why they have thrown in the free 2 yr svc and 5 years warranty too.
    Can the rebadged owners enjoy the same treatment from P1 ??
    40% local components means = poor/sub standard with no
    safety ratings.
    and here we read that MMC was impressed by Lotus handling
    – i think this is all crap as it has never been acknowledged by
    any MMC official.

• Wisdom on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:14 pm

If the information from paultan is correct, the mou last time was Proton will rebadge Lancer, Mitsu will rebadge Exora/persona. Is that correct Paul?

Cant wait to see the reaction when that really happen. Sure nice debate.

• agree, looking forward to seeing how far japs mod the persona / exora and of course the prices

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

probably with next-gen persona. or persona replacement. we’ll have to wait 2 years more :)

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:19 pm

I got it after I saw the car in showroom.

• korea car on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:22 pm

all debate? anyone know Lancer engine VS Inspira engine ( i mean both share same engine tech?)

• donno on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Yes, same engine.

As is the NAZA Rondo and KIA Forte

• Ctrl-C on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Isn’t it the same engine in both cars(L vs I)? & Wouldn’t it be the same engine when Proton has no permission to modify/ tune the engine provided?

• In short, Inspira is cheaper, more features and better ride. After sales services is the same as Lancer owner also service their car in EON.

Screw MMM, they make money from Proton Inspira and ignored their Lancer customers’ interest.

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm

why do ppl keep thinking that local product is sub standard?

Are you sub standard product bcoz you are local?

Come into senses, with that ideology… Merc made in Pekan also got low quality parts, toyota assembled in Shah alam also got low quality parts, Yamaha and Honda motors also got low quality parts… because all of them are using local parts in their vehicle…

Bad Waja doesnt mean Bad persona… 1 year of usage… i dont find any difficulty with my persona…

• Perhaps it’s Malaysia who did so? As they always export 1st class product (e.g. Pineapple, rubber tin, etc.) but leave the 2nd class or lower products to Malaysian? Remember early 90’s, proton has ‘export model saga’ that’s sold at 40K? (as oppose to local 30K)?

It’s the country that makes us think that way, ‘no wave without wind’…

• alishah on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:33 am

what do you mean ‘bad waja’ ? We have better wait for Mofaz to defend himself since he is driving a Waja. Wish you luck autojohndoe……Mofaz is everywhere trust me

• TommyKaira on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Open ur Persona fuse box.Take out the relay for headlamp or foglamp.No brand,maybe made in Balakong.

• why settle for 2nd best on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Ther was never a MOU with MMC using the Exora in return for the Lancer.
    The Grandis is way ahead in every department.!!

• Wisdom on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:52 pm

http://paultan.org/2008/12/05/next-generation-proton-waja-to-be-based-on-the-mitsubishi-lancer-platform/

Read it. Plain ignorant or just born?

• rulered on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:52 pm

As long as you drive the car that deemed beautiful, nice and fits your need and mostly makes you a happy guy/gal that’s what is important la. Many ppl with 5 fig income just cycle to work, some even close to 6 fig income pun ada. Heck, I just saw somebody happily driving a Juara. Stop thinking of what others think of your car la Malaysians.

• Tiadaid on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Malaysians always choose style over substance. How do you think the proverb “Biar papa asal bergaya” came about?

• Heisenberg on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:12 pm

No No No No hell No! there can be only one choice and is either a copycat or collaboration. Choose one only please.

is either local or original…u cant have both ways..Unless Mitsubishi (MMC) open a showroom here that’s dosent call Proton but Ralliart ..same like IMPUL or AMG.

• yamseng on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm

pitty him…. his boss in japan want to sell car here through proton and milk malaysian money like they used to. but the japan boss also put him here and ask him to sell the same model against proton and he has to achieve sales target! …tough job man!

• Sense on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:14 pm

True. Oda san must currently have the most unenviable job in the corporate world. Damned if he does, damned if he don’t. Stay with MMM and try to meet a most impossible KPI to achieve. Leave and not necessarily another company in the industry will be impressed to employ someone who surrenders easily.

• elite on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:33 pm

too bad for proton..have to ask from other automakers for new models to rebadge..

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm

worst for other national car maker isnt it?

have to wait other carmaker to ALLOW and GIVE model to be rebadged… never had its own decision…

• The FACT is:
    MMM is too worried about Proton since Proton’s capability has gone beyond MMM’s expectations~!!

SO….No Other CAR to share with Proton.. Later MMM sounds like a lower class version….(as Proton will upgrade on the ori MMM)

• hukaka on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:56 pm

dunno used car how to trade in used Mitsubishi lancer!
    now market sure shock,my sister husband are used car dealer he say now
    how to trade in since 2008 used lancer trade in and selling for 8xK now you can get the same spec car or even better spec from proton high spec.for RM 92K.
    where got people buy?so they planning reduce the trade in price.
    after +- i think reduce to 6xK try to imagine new car 92K 2 years after 20~30% let say it 30% for proton car new car 92K 2 years old -30%will be RM 64-65K.
    so if this theory are apply to all of the lancer owner RM 123 K after two years RM 64K?
    what happen are this innocent lancer people are not smart?
    Mitsubishi Malaysia stop earning money like this way,we are your fans and now you betray us like this?what the hell!

• Francis on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:05 pm

wah……………go browse around internet for Lancer GT..
    Year 2010 itself pre-owned model drop RM10K compare to new car
    Year 2008 selling around RM80K (ppl still will consider the Vxxx and the Cxxx?)
    Hand getting itchy…

• buat ape nak banding harga lancer dgn inspira… montly repaymeny both car hampir same coz lancer dapat lower rate dari inspira.

biasalah keta local memang kena int rate tinggi dari bank. kalau banding Lancer GT dgn inspira 2.0 ikat 9 thn beza mthly cuma dalam RM 100.

jgn mudah terpedaya dengan “Smart Guy Get It”

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:07 am

Apa yang lowernya? Inspira 3.4% ke 3.5% jugak kot. Dah gi jumpa salesman Proton ke belum?

Nak rate lower beli Peugeot 308, 2.8% je.

• aku dah pg showroom proton… ikat 9 thn 4% int – kalau deposit 10K monthly repayment RM 1,032.00

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Itu sekali ngan extended warranty kot. Asal aku dapat 3.4 dari Maybank without EWP? Aku gi tanya kat Proton Glenmarie.

• allergy with proton..even Inspira… low class after sales services..

• CopyCat on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

WHAT?? 40% local parts. but what the hell inspirated owner will change that. they trusted taiwan made bumper or china made rear light as long not proton parts.

• MMM !!! Damage done !!!

Wrap it up!!! just keep the tech support !!!

• Eric Ng on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:19 am

Haha..Mitsu starts to worry, Proton’s Branding really that bad? What i am sure is alot of Mitsu users complained on the value depreciation of their lancer, ever since proton copied them.

• In the UK, Perodua sells the MYVI and Daihatsu sell the Serion? Perodua use to sell the Kelisa while Daihatsu the Cuore?

• Hukaka on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:38 am

hello lancer owner please sound up.
    shoot MMM because later got lot of inspicer coming on the road.
    package 1(mit logo front and real bumper) ori lancer look
    package 2 (evo x look)
    haha.

• ichi24 on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:49 am

you all been trolled by the japanese, hahahahahahahahaha!

japs = hai, money, money, money and more money!!!!!! $$$$$

mas = shit happens mang, mmc backstab us etc

• mata katak on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:15 pm

hahahaa..1st Proton kena bang (as usual….)

And now, Mitsu pun kena bang……..

Anyway, bang, bang and bang samor…..
    After banging, everything ok again one…Knowing MALaysian..

• dragster on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:53 pm

just saw Inspira in one of the car show…..in sense of quality…..lancer better…..when its used 40% local component…looks different from mine ori LANCER 2.0GT……cannot compare an apple with a rambutan…..

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:06 pm

a rambutan expires later than apple in malaysia you know?

• Dream On on Nov 17, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Yeah, don’t buy Mitsubishi cars. Mitsubishi cannot be trusted and it has played out loyal Lancer owner by allowing Proton to rebadge Lancer as Inspira. Although I don’t own a Mitsubishi car ( I drive Honda), I pity the current Lancer owners.

• Wisdom on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Ask existing Civic Hybrid owner what they felt with recent tax restructure? It not about brand.

• squawk on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:39 am

Comparing government budget policy with corporate planning is like comparing langsat with durian.

• The statement came a bit late, as most folks out there will believe that proton-Mitsubishi sagas continue. And who will read the statement other than the car lovers? Better print it on the newspaper big and bold. If it’s not model based, will it be PLATFORM BASED? which can create another shock wave among mitsu lovers. If i’m not wrong, mitsubishi Galant Aus spec has already been tested (called 380 in aus), but i’m not sure of the final decision. New perdana can be based on a stretch Lancer platform or mitsubishi 380.

Just my 2cents.

• joe_public on Nov 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm

the Inspira was a collaboration between MMC and Proton while MMM is only the distributor of Mitsubishi cars in Malaysia. Any future tie-ups between MMC and Proton will not likely need MMM or Oda’s approval or even done with their knowledge.

MMM and Oda is in no position to give any assurances that the collaboration between MMC and Proton will not extend to other current or future models. Malaysians are in no position to trust MMM or MMC anymore, after this fiasco.

The Lancer GT was launched in 2007. At that time no announcements were made of a tie-up. 3 years later in 2010 the Inspira was launched. What is to stop the ASX and Sportback from going the same way? In 2013 maybe Malaysians will see the new InspirASX and InsiSportback.

Instead of only Lancer owners and enthusiasts in Malaysia, and possibly in neighbouring countries, being mad with Mitsubishi for corrupting the Lancer image and brand, MMC and MMM have with this announcement got the Inspirans and Proton fanboys up in arms too.

• MMM trying hard to do damage control after the inspira fiasco. Padan muka!!

• Joseph on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm

DSZ ‘high powered’ team must be scrambling to figure out a response. Boys and girls, good luck to the ‘Keparat Planning Team’, so much for ‘high powered’. Epic fail!

• Malacca Drifter on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm

For main parts, ASX will share same 2.0 engine & CVT with Inspira 2.0 … but ASX is $140k and Inspira $92k …

But next year… many looking Lancer on the road, so what is so nice about ASX design??

Also Mitsu brand image in Malaysia … really needs help…

• rulered on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:09 am

The only difference is Lancer GT uses Mivec II which is aluminium block whereas Inspira uses Mivec which non aluminium block (heavier).

• scgtimk1 on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:26 am

What is the material of non aluminum block?

Tell me the material.

P2 salesman spotted…

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:48 pm

nah.. asx come with 2.4 engine not 2.0.. lanser sport-back come with 2.0… inspire same as lanser 2.0 engine & 1.8

• losantara on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

It’s like a horny husband telling the wife:

I have a mistress, but I promise…..no more other woman.

I suggest the wife divorce him ! I suggest no woman to trust this guy anymore ! He will betray you for the sake of money !

• ramsi on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:54 pm

The root of the problem is that Proton does not have an engine 1.8 and above
    after soo much was spent on R&D.
    All they have to show is the same Crappy Campro CPS.
    Its about time they retired this engine.
    P1 should have just sourced their engines from MMC and transplant into
    the P1 models. Rebadging was a bad no brainer move.
    Wonder why would DSZ stoop so low and went to rebadge the Lancer.
    Didn’t they learn from the Saga era that after 20 years till the Iswara model
    the engine was still the same old a Mitsu. engine which MMC still owned.

• As a Lancer GT owner…this will be my last Mitsubishi…cannot be trusted…if MMC/MMM are sincere and caring….compensate all the Lancer owners for loss of value..don’t talk only.

• Translation on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:19 am

1.Exported to Malaysia and distributed by MMM, the Lancer is a Completely Built-Up Unit (CBU) – in which all parts and assembly standards have met Mitsubishi Motors’ stringent global quality standards.

1. MANUFACTURED in Malaysia and distributed by PROTON, the INSPIRA is a Completely Knock Down Unit (CKD) – in which all parts and assembly standards have NOT met Mitsubishi Motors’ stringent global quality standards.

2. In addition to being fully manufactured by MMC in Japan, the Mitsubishi Lancer is also designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards.

2. In addition to being fully manufactured by PROTON in MALAYSIA, the PROTON INSPIRA is NOT designed and produced to meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards.

3. On top of that, Lancer owners enjoy the assurances that come with purchasing a vehicle renowned for its 90 year brand heritage. Mitsubishi is also one of the leading global automakers in the world and has a long successful history in motorsports.

3. On top of that, INSPIRA owners DO NOT enjoy the assurances that come with purchasing a vehicle renowned for its 90 year brand heritage. PROTON is also NOT one of the leading global automakers in the world and has a long successful history in motorsports.

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:26 am

1. If parts do not met Mitsubishi’s stringent quality standards, how come the top Mitsubishi brass praised the Inspira then? How come Inspira can offer better NVH experience than Mitsubishi then? How come the Inspira bumpers can help alleviate the CVT overheating problem that Mitsubishi can’t solve?

2. Proton tuned the suspension of the car, and its engineer have the experience gained from Lotus, one of the well known engineering companies, to back them up. To say they can’t meet European standards is just wrong.

3. Brand heritage is nothing. In the early 2000s the company was rocked with scandal when they were found to have concealed serious defects concerning their vehicles for decades. Toyota too have heritage, but 2010 saw millions of their cars being recalled. How come Malaysians aren’t buying Ford cars then? They have a much more illustrious history than any Japanese carmakers. Heck without Ford, cars wouldn’t have been mass produced!

This is the typical Malaysian thinking. Worship foreign people and products to no avail while degrading the locals. Foreigners aren’t superheros, and foreign products aren’t always good.

• joe_public on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

1. This statement by Oda is the first by anyone from MMC or MMM that I’ve seen. Claims of Mitsu brass praising Inspira, of better NVH and resolution of overheating problem were made by Proton brass. So far, there’s been no corroboration to these claims.

2. Nothing was said that Inspira can’t meet European or any standards. Its up to Proton to claim it as they did in in 1. above. It’s Proton that doesn’t make the claim. Of course Oda’s statement highlights that lack.

3. Agreed heritage means not much. However, the product qualities and past experience of reliability (or unreliability in the case of Proton) counts for a lot.

I think no one thinks all foreigners are superheroes or their products are good. Take for example some African or Middle Eastern countries. I can even think of some European countries that are as bad. Likewise we shouldn’t accept sub-standards in our own products and bury our heads in the sand. Other countries improve because they are willing to stare at problems in the face and admit weaknesses and overcome them. Some countries continue to wallow in past glories and remain stagnant. A few countries will defend the indefensible and end up mediocre. We can choose what we want to be.

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Lotus Ride & handling better that Mitsubishi quality standards. perhaps Proton Ride & handling too.. or Proton Ride & handling as known as Lotus Ride & handling.

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:42 pm

btw Proton own better technology from Lotus instead of Mitsubishi

• manulovetohate on Feb 26, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Sir ayayay, can u enlighten me in what way lotus technology is better than Mitsubishi? What innovation Lotus introduced for the market, which superior to Mitsubishi? Can u substantiate yr answer by providing facts and figures rather making statement just for sake of cheap publicity?

I understand this is forum, where ppl freely gives opinion and advice, do not mislead ppl by talking kork

• squawk on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:34 am

Oda-san, this PR disaster could be seen 10 miles away. Making a statement now only means that you were either ignorant of the market or too proud.

• Hot Chic on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:40 am

I know this is out of topic but seriously……I think this Japanese guy is hot !

• firefox on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:53 am

aiyo, business ma, got demand, then got supplier,
    on business point of view, Mit will outsource the old platform car to third country, like malaysia, because , this is the market, remember, market is KING.

for more then 15 years, proton still demanding on outsources, what a shame…
    unless 1 day, proton can REALLY make a quality/Standard car and can be Independence, but as at today, proton still cannot make it, due to too many reason and execuses..

btw, i saw this INSPIRA and vs with Mit lancer, frankly, it is totally different on the quality wise, pricing…inspira is 92k, MIT LANCER IS 115++, if really want to buy, i will prefer Mit lancer, because the interest is much more lower and quality and the Standard.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:23 am

Errr… are you on drugs?

Interest rate almost same la… Proton Inspira can get 3.3%

Quality different? In what term?

Have you notice the part used? the headlamp and tail lamp still from Japan. The frt & rear glass is also from Japan, Engine, plastic part all still from Japan.

Typical Malaysian stupid mentality, if mitsu brand must be high quality, if Proton must be automatic low quality even it is the same parts…..

talking about platform … the lancer was just launch in 2008. it is still the current platform albeit 2 years late….

• squawk on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Yes, a lot of people are saying the Lancer owners are sour grapes. But let’s see if these same people won’t feel the same if Proton rebadges a Vios, for example, and sells it at 60k. :-P

• Jeeva on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:30 am

From all the postings that I’ve read for months on this issue, seems like most of the bashers does not own a good car. Maybe they are frustrated since the CBU Lancer is out of reach for many Malaysians. I believe that 80% of the bashers own a car below 100K, does not know about car industries and the technologies that have improved so far.

In my opinion, the CBU Lancer is a car which has a good quality but the Inspira’s quality is slightly below par which could be because of the price. If Proton have came out with a totally new model without copying any other models, than peoples would have accepted.

Look at Myvi. We didn’t see so much of bashing since the same model was not being sold here by Daihatsu if I’m not mistaken.

The problem arises since MMM is selling the Lancer here. If Proton has copied other than Lancer, I think we can accept the change.

So guys, just stop talking nonsense. Get on with it. Whether the 2nd hand value of the Lancer drops or not it’s up to the buyers. Whether the Inspira has good quality or not it’s still up to the buyers. Your money you spend it your way. Are any of these bashers paying the monthly instalment for others?. No right.

For your Info, I’m not a Lancer or Inspira owner but I’ve tested both. So don’t mistaken me. In my opinion, Inspira is for family sedan and CBU Lancer is a GT Spec. Both behaving in a different way in cornering and speeding. GT can take corners at certain speed higher than the Inspira due to it’s larger tyre size and the ride on Inspira is much softer than the GT.

So be happy with what you own and not with what you can’t own.

• squawk on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:19 am

I think the hoo-haa wouldn’t be so bad if Proton didn’t touch the 2.0 category when rebadging, no matter how ‘different’ their specs are claimed to be.

You rebadge a car of lower capacity for the rakyat and leave the current Lancer 2.0 owners alone, things will be fine. But if you crap on the existing Lancer owners, you’re building mistrust again. A 5 year old could’ve told you that. I think Proton & MMC need to hire 5 year olds.

• bluetravler on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:11 am

To all Mitsubishi Lancer owners here in malaysia, we feel you anguish and sense of helplessness plus alone against what has happened. But don’t worry, if all goes to proton wishes, soon you all will not be alone anymore, some of the few Renault’s owners will be joining you guys. See the past few days paper. Proton buying part of Renault F1 team, and hope through it will have a tie up with its commercial car dept…… Rebaged Megane Renault, anyone? :p hahaha.

• Hukaka on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:03 pm

copy it just copy easy only like you burn disk in you computer.
    ckd cbu are same material they used you think Malaysia worker will ckd a crap instead of
    cbu lancer?now all product are ckd to reduce the cost like your nike shoe also ckd in china or somewhere low production cost country.
    so it Malaysia allow lancer ckd in our market it will be more cheaper since aftar and asian
    commonweal country.
    so proton do the nice job.a perfect art of copy are done.
    it will be a healthy competition in boler land.
    but this move are really damaged the Mitsubishi market.(1st lancer launch a lancer offer RM 117k,then increase price to RM 120k,then RM 123k NFL.(basic spec no rain sensor,ASC 2 liter engine).
    after inspira ,lancer sport back (more features bigger engine)price increase to RM 132k work it man.but i think they should offer this for lancer owner not only now.
    like playing the prudential buyer,later proton come out asx they will some more offer evo x for RM 150k.haha.(what i heard proton future will product exora turbo version,a pickup by exora platform,and a suv.(most probably this will be used in future).
    so wait and see.what MMM will bring surprise to upcoming Mitsubishi owner.
    muahahahahahah………hahahahaha…………..

• oracle on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:16 pm

No official comments from MMM with regards to
    the handling & NVM of Inspira – all this hear-say came from Paul Tan website.
    So this is not an officail statement.
    Therefore the only official statement is that the Inspira
    is of lower quality and standards – period.!

• TommyKaira on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Not Interested to Lancer GT or Inspira after Proton Inspira made appearance in the market.Better buy Lancer Evo VII CT9A body.Its truly Evo,no doubt about it.

• hukaka on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:42 pm

if later lancer sales are no good(they will says ok lah.now we having eol(end of life)
    celebration we meet inspira price special offer RM 91,999.98.lancer gt.exclusive model.
    RM 76,999.98 for lancer ex.
    will this happen?i think Japanese are not the stupid?BUT they just did’t it now more people will worry became a sheep!!!(naza no 2!!!).used car price drop like hell.no 2nd hand value.
    lucky i am not lancer owner.now day money are extreme hard to earn,but let MMM play the lancer owner like (so zai?)WTHell.

• joe_public on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:29 pm

my analysis of Oda’s statement :

1. “MMC Japan has collaborated with Proton Holdings Berhad (Proton) for many years and most recently, the technical support provided to Proton for the development of the new Inspira”

is collaboration and technical support = ‘joint development’ of Inspira as claimed by Proton? it could be. for me, its more like Proton is trying to pull Mitsu in as much as possible in order to convince car buyers. just like they were trying to pull in the Lotus name before we read the Proton Handling and Ride part

2. “MMM wishes to state that other than the Lancer, no other Mitsubishi models currently distributed by MMM will be based on this technical collaboration in the future”

as i said elsewhere, MMM cannot give this assurance as MMC can override them anytime they like. nice try Mitsu. but Malaysians once bitten, twice shy lah.

3. “the Lancer is a CBU – in which all parts and assembly standards have met Mitsubishi Motors’ stringent global quality standards…being fully manufactured in Japan…meet the highest European (high-speed driving performance and handling), American (safety) and Japanese (vehicle built) quality standards….the Inspira, on the other hand, is assembled at Proton’s facility in Shah Alam and will contain 40% local parts within the year”

hahaha, this is the punchline to the joke. Oda obviously differentiates the Lancer and Inspira in terms of their build, quality and standards…No praises for Inspira here or mention abt improved handling etc. Nothing abt Proton solving Lancer’s alleged overheating problem or meeting CBU Japan standards.

4. “On top of that, Lancer owners enjoy the assurances that come with purchasing a vehicle renowned for its 90 year brand heritage. Mitsubishi is also one of the leading global automakers in the world and has a long successful history in motorsports”

Again there seems to be more distancing from Inspira. Will Inspira/Proton get the benefit of future support from MMC/MMM? There is no guarantee of support for Inspira.

• there will be a LOT of “EVO X” on the road now XD

• Annihilated on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Interesting.

Altho not entirely similar, Tetsuya Oda and Nadzmi Salleh have almost similar facial features.

• I think Mitsu still gains. May be not many Lancers will be sold compared to Inspiras. Probably Proton Inspira may outsell Civics, Altis, Forte, Sylphy, 307 sedan etc.

• mechanic on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:31 pm

It something like a person bought a BMW from Naza and wanted to go servicing his car at Auto Bavaria ,, do you know what those BMW Service Adviser do to you? if you bring a BMW that you bought cheap from elsewhere and not from BMW authorize dealer.?

They ask u to leave immediately

• d7_netstar on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Whatever said and done, (i dunno if anyone else has already said this -lazy to go through the tons of comments) The inspira (mitsubishi engine, lotus ride and handling) compared to the Mit. Lancer.. I think its obvious, the inspira has the better package (resale value aside -if thr’s ever gonna b a problem) Some may say, Mitsubishi has the evo to prove its track record…. Well, lotus has the espirit, elise, exige… need i say more??? Next to the Kia, oops, NAZA forte, i think the proton inspira comes packed with toys and gizmos…. So, i dunno about u guys, i think its a good buy, the 2.0 that is…

• joe_public on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:06 pm

hahaha. you should invest the time to read the comments here and elsewhere, then you will know that the ride and handling is by proton and not lotus. lotus is not involved. need i say more?

as to the equipment list, definitely there are added goodies. the question, still to be answered, is if these non-mitsu stuff will pass the test of use.

• lotus taught proton engineers on handling , no wonder if inspira’s handling is as good as proton’s other lotus tuned cars, if not then i believe it’s just slightly below them, but for sure still better than japs cars

• Whynot on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Wow! Wow! Wow! This is one very hot topic that I think may goes in the Malaysia Guinness Book of Records. Keep commenting 1Malaysian. Paul must be surprised to see so many comments. This shows how much 1Malaysian r of concern to P1.
    P1 pls take concern of 1Malaysian too!

• Hukaka on Nov 21, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Mitsubishi sick of money.
    they sell and let go.betray the Mitsubishi Lancer potential buyer.
    Mitsubishi=Kiasukiashi.
    for my suggestion inspira 1.8 manual are best buy.(old waja RM 64K)
    top up another RM12K get stronger body,more power engine.cvt are still new to proton service.if later got problem they will show you nanti-nanti skill.
    wait the part from Japan this and that(i guess must be lot of complaint in future regarding cvt gear box issue).
    good luck.
    i will buy one inspira 1.8 mt haha i am not smart but i get it.

• LGTOwner on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

I hv to admit, as the current owner of Mitsu Lancer CBU frm Japan…..I was proud to own one (this is before we got to know abt Inspira). Now ??? The proud feeling is no longer there. I can promise you….Mitsubishi, that my next car wont be from you.

• EVO X feel zoom-zoom

• addicted lancer user on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm

I was surveying for a new car last month and tested the inspira. i was really excited that i was going to test drive it. but, the suspension, interior and handling of the car disappointed me. i know people will thrashed me on this, but hey, it’s my opinion (coming from a former ck2a lancer user). my former lancer wasn’t really the fastest, but i enjoyed driving it; the handling and acceleration excites me. thus, after test driving both honda city/vios, i hv decided to use a more modest car for the moment. in the future, with hopefully more savings, i will one day hope to get my hands behind the lancer again.

• dinbuncit2 on Jan 08, 2012 at 1:06 pm

i baca all the debates above..

as proton inspira 2.0 owner, i say they both the same, only that inspira got different bumper front n rear, different suspension, different audio and etc…

statement by mitsubishi that 40% materials are local, you can rely on but those yang dpt early inspiras, mostly cbu…

tapi one big difference here, when i drive then a real mitsubishi lancer pass by, i looked up to them in respect – because the brand, the money, the quality that stand with the brand…

i couldn’t afford to buy evo x nor lancer gt – but inspira not bad what…

so, bottom line, check your pocket, kalo got spare for better car go get it, if not still got many choices – tak perlu nak bising2 dalam site macam ini, lancer owner pun x feel disappointed, bkn you sudah dapat mitsubishi, it’s ultimate!