Hyundai Santa Fe facelift specs revealed, launch at KLIMS

Hyundai-Sime Darby has released specs of the facelifted Santa Fe SUV, which will be officially launched at the KL International Motor Show (KLIMS) 2010. As previously revealed on this site, the refreshed seven-seat SUV will not only come with fresh looks, but new drivetrains as well. Hyundai’s new six-speed automatic gearbox will feature here, as will the Theta II 2.4L petrol and the R-series 2.2L CRDi diesel.

Let’s start with the petrol. The old 2.7L V6 will be replaced by the Theta II 2.4L engine as found in the Tucson and Sonata. This Dual CVVT four-cylinder engine with variable intake system (VIS) makes 174 PS and 228 Nm, which is not too much of a deficit on the V6 (188 PS/248 Nm at 4,000 rpm) considering it has two less cylinders and is 300 cc smaller. You save on road tax as well.

On the diesel front, the 2.2 R diesel engine is a big improvement over the current 2.2, which is already a decent performer. This commonrail engine with electronic variable geometry turbocharger (e-VGT) puts out a mighty 197 PS and 442 Nm (at 1,800-2,500 rpm) which is a substantial 47 PS and 107 Nm more than the current car. These figures are miles ahead of diesel powered seven-seat SUV rivals in Malaysia, as well as the 174 PS/403 Nm of the “Mother Trucker” Nissan Navara 2.5, the most powerful pick-up in town.

The equipment list is more comprehensive than before. Keyless entry, steering wheel audio controls, electric driver’s seat, GPS system, reverse camera, Nappa leather seats and a sunroof are included. Other interior changes include the addition of carbon-fibre paneling (hope it’s not too tacky), relocation of switches, chrome treatment and an organ type accelerator pedal. ESP is also standard on this 4WD (with lock button) SUV.

Prices will be announced at the launch, but our sources say that there won’t be much change in the diesel’s price despite the improvements, making it a very attractive proposition, while the petrol should be priced below RM160K.

Currently, the 2.2 CRDi is priced at RM165,358.50 while the 2.7 V6 costs RM163,827.60 (OTR excluding insurance). It is locally assembled at Inokom’s Kulim plant, so will the facelifted car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Superb! Will be my next car, 6 speed, monster diesel, refresh design, 7 seater just ticks all the right box for me

• apa la on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:20 pm

197ps/ 440Nm nothing to shout about. DEcent acceleration, fun lag free hill climb/ overtaking. Thats it. You need at least 250hp to enjoy that monster feel. I drive a 300hp truck and I still find it lacking. Need broader rev range.

• rossi46 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

and u’re own an oil refinery….low down torque = power wt decent Fuel consumption….be green bro!

• New looks, new drivetrain.Nice.. then sumbody will comment thumbs Up Hyundai. Then sumbody will comment price depreciation is bad in Malaysia compared to T and H brand. Sumbody will comment on how good Hyundai brand these days. Then sumbody will slam Proton. Then sumbody will maybe tagged Perodua along… well you know how its work kan? Kan?

• rulered on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Very impressive SUV indeed

• BeemerFreak on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:30 pm

That much kit and a great Diesel Engine for that price????? Toyota Fortuner, you are smoked…….and fired

• endre on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm

the back look like older T. harrier

• we want the new one ! not some facelift ? clearing stock before the new one arrives ?

• Mana ada bro. This is the current car sold globally. UK just got theirs late last year I think.

• apamau on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:04 pm

I really like everything of the car and the 2.2R, but I don’t like the looks.. even after facelift, still look old… will hv to wait and see what the sorento can bring in end of year.. or maybe even in KLIMS, heard the SA said..but not confirm.

• ntah.. on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:12 pm

I prefer Pajero Sport or Fortuner for that price..

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:26 am

197ps vs 100ps for the fortuner….. For this price, you have just became blind

• ntah.. on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:12 am

but wat i get is better quality n resale value..

• danny78 on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Not sure about the better quality. I drove a humble hyundai getz for 5 years, my dad driving a Toyota Camry….my car has 0 problems during the 6 years ownership but my dad’s car giving him suspension prob, gear box prob etc.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Not sure about Fortuner resale value though as most units are bought by governmental departments like DBKL. However Toyota Camry and Vios resale is very strong…… 3 year old Camry selling at less then 10% depreciation,…. Thats just like loosing your insurance and interest.

However build quality is now a Korean “Forte”. Much better interior and exterior than the japanese. just look at the Kia Forte and Toyota Vios…… they look like they are of totally different class at same price.

• David on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Utter crap. Better build quality? Please, the Santa Fe is the best among this trio. I’ve already sat in the all three cars, with the Santa Fe being the pre-FL model, and the Toyota, surprisingly, feels cheaply build that even the Pajero Sport feels a class above it!!

Resale value? Don’t be so obsessed of it. That’s utter crap. I’d rather enjoy the car and endure some average after-sales service and below par resale values rather than drive a awful box which i can’t enjoy. But the resale value of this Santa Fe is pretty good too! I found one 2008 model quite a while ago still fetching at least 100k. Pretty good eh?

• steve on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Agree totally. Remember for most of us cars are a significant buy so why buy thinking of the erson who you’re going to sell it to? Buy cars you WANT to drive not what someone else wants in 3, 5 or whatever years time. Whatever you buy is most definitely NOT an investment.

• rossi46 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm

hah! fortuner!…that fortuner will give u a back breaking experience…very2x harsh drive …ouch

• Hmm… Now the fights are only between this Hyundai Santa Fe, 2011 Kia Sorento. Didn’t mention CR-V because I thaught that the pricing and specification not suitable to compare with these both Korean make cars.

• rossi46 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:36 pm

yeap…btw the CRV 2.0 ivtec is soo weak compared to this diesel

• WooGoo on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Wow, this is really cun, man. They really bring in the 2.2L R diesel engine!!!

I still prefer the look of the Sorento, and would think that the Sorento will be at least 10-15K cheaper. But if there is no 2.2L R diesel engine in Sorento, guess will has to settle with this Santa Fe……

• Sorento 5 seater, this 7 seater, right?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:22 am

Sorento 7 this 5…… Sorento only has a 7 seat option. no 5 seats. for Kia 5 seats is the Sportage

• HSDM` on Nov 20, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Santa Fe will only be available in a 7 seater option in Malaysia.

• mlingyap on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:55 pm

how to installation the step for santa fe new

• Jimmy on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:54 pm

This shows that the Tucson is really overpriced, as well as the pre-facelift one. But SD is poor in marketing and management, perhaps again there will be a significant price increase.

• Methinks the Tucson is imported kan? I think the Santa Fe will be “Inokomed” and assembled in Gurun.

• Jimmy on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Perhaps Hyundai should make the next generation Santa Fe bigger and bulkier? Is this one a bit slim?

• Actually try sitting in it. Its spacious enough for three adults at the back to be conmfortable for a long journey.

• Duncare on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:50 pm

2.2R has 197 PS and 442 Nm (at 1,800-2,500 rpm)?? Equipped with the moon roof as shown on the pix for around RM165K?? If the diesel turbo engine does not sounds like the bloody “sawing machine”, I want one in white!

• rossi46 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm

dun worry bro…most modern diesel had good sound prooof….u won’t hear the diesel clatter….only outside ppl will know its a diesel but who cares…442NM torque, this beat the Navara soo called mother trucker and its only a 2.2 liter!!

• Nyawere on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:27 am

This is really good news….! Very impresive specs, but the design is a little bit old laa. My wishlish was to have this spec in the Tuscon or the Sorento. Tucson already out since they only have petrol. Now waiting for the Sorento. The bad news is that my Kia mechanic told me that the new Sorento will only be available in petrol form. I really hope he is wrong…….!

• ** I prequalify that I am driving this car as a company car, but my views are not flawed by the fact that one of the companies in the group is the distributor.

This car surprised me when I got mine in December 2008. One thing was the power of the engine. The 2.2l turbodiesel will move it with just a tap on the accelerator. Inside, the appoitments are fair enough for the price. Good support from seats, fair quality leather, middle pillar aircond vets for rear passengers and third row aircond controls for the kids (the rear seats are more for the kids so I call this 5+2 seater). Front seats are electronic control ones, which I really appreciate.

In terms of looks, the current generation was clearly modelled after the first generation Harrier, and the dash shows that. Its got a very modern look if you ask me, and I am going to be pretty sad when I let it go next month for an upgrade (luckily the missus drives the same, newer car).

Issues? Steering may lack some feedback but for a sedate driver like me its just fine. Access to the third row can require some contortionistic skills :) and I wish the boot (when the third row is stowed) had a cover to hide away the shopping from prying eyes.

Otherwise, its a great car for the price, and I’d give a rating of 7/9.

• WooGoo on Nov 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm

This new FL has a different and much more powerful engine! And a new 6-speed gear box too!

If the old model is so good as you reviewed, then I am sure this FL is even better!!!

• RON97 on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:49 am

SA informed that this facelift version only comes with 5 seats, no more 7 seats.
    dude, people at autocar prefer this than sorento..

• RON97. The information provided is not accurate. The Santa Fe will only be available with a carrying capacity of only 7. There has never been a 5 seater variant of this model in Malaysia. Thanks hope this clears up the doubts.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:14 am

Hyundai used to be the slowest in launching models, however now it is Naza’s turn.

The Sorento has been launched in SIngapore since september 2009, cant they bring the model in any quicker.

• We have the new 2.2 R diesel. Its a hell of power made by the engine. It will easily smoke all of those 4×4 diesels out there, Fortuner? Pajero? Patrol?.. Just take the challenge.

Good continuos power in acceleration. It can do over 200+km/h easily. Tried once on the highway. The only thing lagging is the steering feedback. I lost my confident when cornering in speed.

It’s priced at about B$42,000. No petrol variant available in Brunei.

• skyLine4ever on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:07 am

bapak aku mst suka klu die baca ni…:-)

• Selamba on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Hmmm waiting new sportage & sorento.. KOREA automobile getting better n better…

• steve on Nov 20, 2010 at 8:39 am

As the proof of the pudding is blah blah blah… So I can only say having tested the previous santa fe and loved the smooth delivery of power I can’t wait to try this one. One further point re the sense in buying cars other than toyota n honda, in the UK this summer I noticed at least as many santa fe as either the crv or any of the toyota 4x4s. As depreciation is more homogenous there – not totally I know – you could describe it as a level playing amongst models. If so the santa fe – judged on its obvious qualities as a car to drive not to sell – more than holds its own in what is arguably a more difficult overall market – through the number of choices. So I reiterate my earlier point – by your cars on YOUR driving and family needs not some faceless guy or dealer from the future.

• apamau on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Overall, i believe Fortuner and Pajero Sports are really Asian or Asean Car, which is only selling in our part of the world with lower quality. Santa Fe are international car which sell across the globe.

Thus, is not good to compare fortuner with Santa Fe, I believe, due to Toyota’s brand, every uncle thought any car fr toyota are of great quality.

We all know toyota have better 7 seater car which is selling in china, aus, US, jap, but not here, and due to tax structure / and their branding, fortuner can bring them more profit, buy selling inferior car at good price.

Just like avanza and Innova, we won’t see them outside Asean country. Bare in mind, our life is “cheaper”. I don’t think all this asean car can past the US or Europe crash test with 4 or 5 star, i really doubt that.

Whereas for Kia/Hyundai, they have no choice, they bring in the best to fight with inferior one, but sometimes still hard to fight.

• I like the Santa Fe with the new 2.2 diesel, the specs are awesome. I’m currently driving a first generation Toyota Harrier 3.0 which I find very comfortable. I’m wondering how the Santa Fe would compare to my current Harrier? The old/current Sorento cannot come close to the Harrier in terms of comforst but I’m thinking that the Santa Fe may be better. Anyone can help to give me their opinion?

• This is 5 seats or 7 seats ? I saw the spec in US , they have remove the 3rd row .

• 7 seats. I managed to get a short drive around the factory compund before they loaded the cars for the KLims

• i am wait n see mode..

• Yazid on Jan 15, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Today launching!!!!! Welcome to our showroom at Puchong beside IOI Mall or call 0122428018 for more info….tq

• Yazid on Jan 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Today Launching!!! Please welcome to our showroom at Puchong beside IOI Mall or call 0122428018…thanks..

• varrie on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:22 pm

be smart, i like the santa fe 2.2 but bad news about depreciation value. So… i wait for the second hand santa fe. if true surely the price will be much cheaper.

• dumbas on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm

this is a car that you will never sell.

perhaps u prefer overpriced and under performance Japanese car designed especially for ASEAN market? The way you value things actually depreciated when you start to think that this car is value for money. Overpriced and Under performance….

Any, Santa Fe Is An Elephant that runs like cheetah. Hyundai first SUV and it is one of the most reliable car in US and Europe.

• linggam on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:06 pm

We have two santa fe 2.4 petrol
    the car smels petrol inside after refeling gas.
    do any of you experiance this.

• Ronny on Dec 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm

hi bro, is good and bad, but better you test drive before place the order