Nissan Murano CrossCabriolet finally revealed!

4-2011-nissan-murano-crosscab

Nissan’s appetite and boldness to dig out new niches is respectable. The Qashqai/Dualis offered an “SUV alternative” to Golf class hatchbacks, the wild Juke is an SUV styled supermini competitor and this – the Murano CrossCabriolet – is a big topless SUV. Nissan says its crossover convertible blends all of the things people love in a crossover with the open air enjoyment of a convertible, and vice versa.

“Everyone loves the convertible experience, no one loves the convertible reality – compromised trunk space, a cramped back seat or none at all, and a lack of flexibility for everyday life. The Murano CrossCabriolet is the reinvention of versatility, encouraging people to rethink what a convertible can be,” Al Castignetti, VP and GM of Nissan North America.

04-nissan-murano-crosscabriolet-1290024283

The Murano’s transformation from SUV to CC is more than just lopping off the roof. There are two doors less, so along with creating new longer front doors and eliminating the B-pillars, the structure has been reinforced from the A-pillar rearwards. The hydraulically operated fabric top (with power latch/unlatch) also includes a rear glass skylight. With the top down, boot capacity is 215 litres, enough to fit two sets of golf clubs. Roof up capacity is 348 litres.

Aerodynamics are only slightly compromised – 0.39 Cd vs 0.37 Cd. Nissan says that the tall windshield and A-pillar design plus the high beltline and high rear seat shoulders all combine to minimise air turbulence with the top down. Dual pop-up roll bars are also included.

17-nissan-murano-crosscabriolet

The drivetrain is identical to the hardtop Murano, which means a 265 hp 3.5L V6 paired to a second-gen Xtronic CVT ‘box with Adaptive Shift Control. There will only be one single full spec offered which includes kit like dual-zone climate control, a 7-inch multi-info colour display, Fine Vision gauges and and Remote Keyless Entry. Two roof/cabin colour options are available – Camel leather and black top or the Brown top with Cashmere leather.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• OMG. FAIL! UGLY!

• TKLow on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Wow! Really sucks! Nice interior nonetheless..

• adrian on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:07 pm

It looks like a higher body of 370Z….

• shawal on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Im waiting for this car to appear in a Hik-Hok video ‘sittin on 22’s ! ‘

• thumb up if you think this is the ugliest hatchback ever. it is like a person with a big body and a small head.

• Imagine this car being DUBed, sure will looking hot!

• LOL.. I actually love this alot.. It’s feel really good siting higher.. with roof off.

• KOREAN on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:28 pm

nice car!!! I will get one !! imagine now when u drive a open top, while u can actually stair to ur right below the small car top !!

normally only lorry or truck drivers who checking out girls while stopping at red light ~~

• Anti Proton on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:33 pm

i actually quite like it. it makes sense for an american family.

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Dunno man, not feeling this… just looks weird.

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Looks like a 370Z Convertible slapped with SUV wheels, head of a Murano and converted to 2+2 seater to me…

and the man looks like a 12-year old driving his grandmother’s car.

• midnite on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Looks like you need to get your eyes checked… 12yr old?!?!?! the man’s got a moustache thicker than your bush la…

• vincent on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Ugly!! Imagine what happen if the car overturn…

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Why can’t carmakers focus on creating cars that uses alternative energies rather than making pointless cars like this? Who bloody wants a convertible SUV?

• midnite on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Offering a vehicle with alternative energy is not going to make you buy one anyway since you can’t even afford it!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:55 pm

this makes Proton Juara looks like a Maserati…………

• Jonathan W on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:33 pm

not only ugly. Indded look like a huge wild boar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• squawk on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Don’t worry. You’re seated so high up, other car drivers won’t be able to see which idiot is driving this monstrosity. :-P

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Any top on pic?

• mitlanevo on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

370Z on steroids, haha!

• Paul Tan on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:34 pm

One seriously ugly POS.

• chuakz on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm

seriously ugly…uselss…pointless…bought by stupid people

• Lappy on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

1 word says it all,
    UGLY!!!!!!!

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

When BMW said they have no idea what X6’s purpose was, it was a funny statement for all of us. With this thing by Nissan, well, it sure as hell ain’t funny anymore… just plain ol’ wierd.

• donadoni on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:59 pm

fugly!

• I miss old Nissan :( new Nissan is not really nice…

• Lim Kopi on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:28 pm

HOLY CRAP …. WHAT AN INSANELY POINTLESS CAR ….

WELL DONE NISSAN, ANY THING BEYOND THE SPORTS CARS ARE CRAP.

• mata katak on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

This Murano is a special edition……suitable for driving in flooded road in style…

Murano should have Jitra special edition….kakakakakaka…

• bryan jones on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:05 pm

funny but take years to get use to this.. daring venture!!

• salmah on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:50 pm

This is actually quite interesting. Haven’t seen it with roof up. I think people are missing the point. This is actually an X6 rival but with more jizz. It is a 2 door sporty Murano. I think it will sell very well, I mean better than X6 (not BMW best selling). Maybe not in Malaysia but other country like the States, France etc. If this works, it would be translated to Nissan’s posh brand Infinity. Lets wait and see.

• TallPan on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:58 am

“with more jizz”?

so this car has more jizz? http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=jizz

• DiscoStick on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:07 pm

seram!

• Ash Menon on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Whatever the marketing team was smoking/drinking/injecting, I’ll have some of that.

This Murano become a Muranono d.

• acerman on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Looks like a toy car to me in picture 2. The design looks weird.

• armandd on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm

omg, is this for real? hhahahahahahaha.. i can’t stop laughing.. looks like a horse-drawn carriage, hahahaha.. it’s a shame, really..

• this looks like something that might come out of Top Gear’s secret lab…ambitious but rubbish..

• Navin on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:00 am

WTF!? Nissan designers who love the topless double decker london buses came up with this.

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

what a joke Nissan!

• wow nice. ghosn will be proud

• NOT!

• Facepalm… wadehel…