Peugeot 308 Turbo updated with 156hp engine and 6-speed transmission – RM118,888

The Peugeot 308 Turbo has received an update to its engine and transmission just in time for KLIMS 2010. The 1.6 litre Prince engine now puts out 156 horsepower, up 16 horses from the previous 140hp figure, and is now mated to a 6-speed transmission, essentially a similar combo to that installed in the 3008. Peak torque of 240Nm of produced at 1,400rpm.

Other revisions include black-coloured dials for the meter cluster instead of the previous white dials as well as Bluetooth/USB connectivity. Other features include rear passenger air-conditioning vents, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, a six-speaker system, air-conditioned glove box and an instrument panel LCD multi-info display. The 308 has 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, ESP, traction control, and two ISOFIX points for child seat installation.

The price tag has also been revised to RM118,888, and with these updates, Nasim plans to sell 30% more 308s a month. The 308 currently sells at an average of 150 units a month.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• furipu on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

first. =)

• samkhairul on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:45 pm

i love this muscular prince :)

• Kenneth on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

I must say that the improvements are much more useful than the japanese’s facelift

• zimba on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm

yea~ Exactly~!!

But it seem that the Peugeot’s website is not up to date..
      still the earlier PUG 308 Turbo with only 140hp.

This PUG 308 Turbo looks Great~!! Any other on the road will be envy. Bigger rims can even be more stunning.

• theanswer on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:46 pm

how big arr? the current one is good enough. big rims mean lower tyre profile+potholes in our country..naa not good!

• toyoott on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:49 am

haha,, its not easy to find nice n suitable offset 18 inch rims for this pugeot,,..

• comrade on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:05 am

this the kind of improvement that every car needed… not just lame minor facelift.. good job..

• _xXx_ on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Yeah, paste “EXLUSIVE SPECIAL LIMITED EDITION” at the back please….

• ninjaboy on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Great job Nasim…!

• wolfsburg on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Another great value for money car from Naza!

• superman on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm

I really like the interior n accessories of this car, but I really dislike the exterior design especially the front end, wonder why can’t peug design it more subtle like the Golf…

• MoFaz on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

if u want subtle like golf, then buy golf.
      pug for people who like “aggressive” styling

• Tiadaid on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Because French designs always known for being in your face.

• mofaz and tiadaid active in pug topic too? inspira too boring?

• Tiadaid on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:26 pm

So? It’s a free website, anyone can comment anywhere.

• MoFaz on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:49 pm

I love pug more than mitsubishi, and only those who worships mitsu will buy Inspira. I understand Proton decision on Inspira, and I support their business sense, but I won’t buy it.

• someone on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

If they really have business sense, they should join vw and not with mitsubishi. Its a total stupid decision.

• Panda on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm

nice updated!!! the price oso acceptable~

• m4xspeed on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm

This what i called a major upgrade !! Not just a lame facelift like other do.. :)

an extra HP with upgrade transmission, Nasim does listen to their potential customer and i might join the mighty lion club.

• casey-c on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

hhmmmmm

• The Loner on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:01 pm

If 308 Turbo has manual transmission available, the fuel consumption is much better.

http://www.peugeot.com.au/model-engine/308/5-door-hatch/

Under Engines & Emission

• If they offer the 308 Turbo which comes with the 6-speed manual – it will be one of the most awesome drivers car in that price range IMHO.

• thought they already have manual?

• u can start with proton inspira 6 speed first.

rm110 car with manual gear, your second hand value will be gone.

and i dont think anyone wanna buy manual car at above 100k.

unless jap sport car , even polo cant sell with their manual gear( proven)

talk is cheap.

• The Loner on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

Well most of the people willing to spend more on fuel for the ease of traffic jam.

• yes!!!

• yeah, finally i wait this come out, but no money to buy.

• beatnik on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:01 pm

This is even better buy than the 308T with AL4 gb.. can fight with Golf TSI :)

• Lim Kopi on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:14 am

Agree, goes to show that good ol VW GOLF 1.4 is abit overpriced and overrated!

Wake up VGM! This is what C segment cars are supposed to be priced at.

• Have you tested the 1.4 TSi? If you have not, please go ahead and try it first before commenting. Pug and VW are targetting different area, one for style & Luxury, the other for practical and handling.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Yes I have tested it, dont get me wrong, Golf 1.4 is a good car with great drivetrain ie DSG + twincharger + German make etc.

I still don’t think it should be priced at RM160k for what it is.

And pls la, Volkswagen stands for ‘People’s Car’ so its not exactly meant to be Luxury …

Also they new Civic is out next year so more the need to stay competitive in this segment. Just my 2 cents of course. :)

• The pricing that VW Malaysia put up does portray premium to me, if not care to share why Scirocco is 40K extra than Golf GTi? The reason why I ask you to test drive was when you said overrated.

Price to value does not justify how much a brand worth. Else a MIni Cooper that share same engine to this Pug NA variant would not have cost that much.

• Tiadaid on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:32 pm

If you try to buy a similar spec Golf in the UK (almost the exact same spec, most of which are options in the UK), the price when converted in RM is actually already RmM 100K. Add in the tax, and voila, 150K. It may look overpriced, but truth is without CKD you just can’t get the Golf at a lower price than that. Wait for the DRB CKD VWs to be launched and you’ll probably find an affordable VW, although unlike Mitsubishi they won’t CKD cars already sold here.

• someone on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Also please have in mind that those who has the money to buy golf 1.4 tsi will never buy peugeot 308. I’m not saying that peugeot is not good, it is a value for money, and in fact I’m planning to have one. But the fact is that both cars are totally in different range and different class.

Just imagine if 308 has dsg and twin charger, how much will it cost.

Also, because of political issue, they can never sell cheaper or the same price than nasim.

• Consumer on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:41 am

Hmmm… price war in the making ?

• Anti Proton on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:05 pm

so expensive now

• ninjaboy on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Still nothing in Peugeot Malaysia’s official website…!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Finally…. Now I will place order for one.

• balloon on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:30 pm

i hope you are really buying one ! let us know the feedback ok once you got the car
      BTW the red one is cool !

then you can also change your name to PUG FReak !

• someone on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:21 pm

I’ve tested the car and it is a very nice car, very smooth and when you need power, just turn on the sport mode, you’ll get what you need.

You guys can go to bangsa to test drive, you will have a very good experience with the sales person there.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Haha i wish I could…… I am a malaysian living in SG…… However what i do have is a green Scirocco 2.0tsi which is just over a year old…..

• whoooaaaa. showroom here i come.

first?

• Finally!

• Impressive power figure…

• vincent on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Wow! What a steal!

• rajaiskandarshah on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm

i wonder if the pug 308 sedan will ever get to malaysia ? if the sedan comes to malaysia with these specs, it will be awesome.

• Paul Tan on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:00 am

The 308 sedan is the 408… word is that it will be sold here later.

• MoFaz on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:20 pm

408 was launched in china early this year, and Nasim will assemble them in Gurun for local and asean market, but maybe with different name. 408 is not replacement for 407. replacement for 407 will be known as 508, which will also replace 607.

• Zidane on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:48 pm

They should drop the 207s and sell this one instead…

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Then there would be nothing in the 70-80k range. No entry level Peugeot.

• ayamxxx on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:56 pm

i want!

• Nice!

• Puttumayam on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm

I don’t understand why people would want to pay more for an Altis?

• its becoz of better after sales.. 7 speed and dual vvti.. price also cheaper than this.. 1.8E..

don’t bashed other car… i’m car lover.. Conti or Jap also Korean.. buying car not only car itself.. must consider other factor..

finally 308thp 6 speed coming… the price not really attractive.. but very good value…

• someone on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:25 pm

I’ve tested altis, and its totally no point to buy the 2.0l, the tuning is rubbish and the handling is totally out.

• alpha999 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:03 am

y even bother…?

• kington on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:46 am

I paid for the Altis. Just a safer bet.

Not that I’m against French cars.. I love the Pug 405.

Took the Altis in May, didn’t wait for the Dual VVT-i because I’m paranoid with CVT boxes from my cousin’s experience in the City.

Altis is not a great car, but as a gran tourer for outstation drives, it’s pretty good.

• why local car to expensive on Nov 20, 2010 at 10:48 pm

ya be careful for CVT transmission…more expensive in maintenance…diff ATF fluid…
        if u are aggressive driver….check this out…

• hazeman on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

its a 6 speed auto or a 6 speed manual?? would be great if its a manual

• stunnig!!!!

• Tan Tee Lim on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Ah! Finally! This is what the 308 should have been from the start.

Well, better late than never XD

• Hukaka on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:15 pm

good news i want.
    1st 100 unit are cbu?or ckd?

• hvannees on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:15 pm

FUYYYOOOO!!

• Ash Menon on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Finally! But the French are not known for dramatic engines. I can’t help but feel that it’s not going to be as impressive on pedal as it is on paper.

• Angra on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:06 am

Better test drive first and put armchair judgements/blanket statements aside, ok. Surely statements like “I test drove the car at xxxx showroom this morning and found out that……………” sounds more reasonable than this one.

• type-x on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:47 am

the engine was development with the germans (bmw).

• the 308 uses the BMW / PSA Prince engine. this prince engine won more international engine of the year awards than any of your jap engines.

wake up from your kampung mind-set !!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:01 am

thats the problem. I was at peugeot last weekend and asked the sales person is the 308 using the prince engine… He said no it is using peugeot engine….. Really funny i had a big laugh too. He even told me torque not important and horsepower give better acceleration……. How to sell a car??????

• toyoott on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm

aiiyaaa,, black dial?? haishh..

• bystander on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm

these updates just made it the BEST car we can buy with RM120k!

• First

• Wan Assad on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Kudos to Naza for the improvement. This is how an upgrade should be done. Not a mere facelift.

• elfie on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:43 pm

this is awesome…

• Samuel on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

awesome!

• peak torque at 1,400 rpm?

• Armchair critiquer.. on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:52 am

It;s a High Pressure Turbo engine. The peak torque starts at 1400 and remains at that value all the way up to 4000+ RPM.

• …then….buy golf laaa.why bother

• Ongwc5 on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Fierce lion, can’t wait for test drive!

• Puttumayam on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Is the 6-speed autobox similar to the one fitted in the BMW’s MINI?

• Hope brands like Peugeot help raise awareness to Msian consumers that there are great cars out there other than Toyota’s and Honda’s for reasonable pricing and equal or better quality.

We have (almost) as many car brands as we have coffee brands! :) :)

• bayern on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm

at last the nearly perfect car

• Johnny on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Sweet.

• rodimus on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:26 pm

How is this car compare to Valkswagen Golf 1.4? Can anyone tell me which one is better car. Thx in advance.

• mujahid on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

my fren drive golf Gti and recon me to buy 308, not bcos 308 better than golf Gti, but the performance and RM thing is reasonable…..

it is up to u, hv the money go buy golf 1.4, if ur bajet not exceed rm 120k, go buy this thing, it marvellous…..

• someone on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

My brother who is driving Golf 1.4 TSI recon me to buy this car as well, is really the money thing, not really which car is better. Of course if you have 160k, then golf tsi will be a very good choice as the features and specs are really worth it. Also please take into account that DSG gearbox is in golf and 308 just having a normal 6 speed gear box.

• Redwings on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

One thing u might want to consider as well…Volkswagen offers 5 yrs with unlimited mileage where others on standard 3 yrs or 100k KM mileage whichever come 1st…

When come to conti cars.. This kindly of warranty save u alots when come to repair…

My 2 cents…

• Danny on Nov 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Here are some compare:

1. Golf TSI 1.4 with Twin Charger VS 308 with twin scroll turbo, definitely twin charger is better, but twin scroll came close in performance.

2. Golf TSI with DSG – fastest gearbox VS 308 Automatic – Clearly DSG is much better, but consider the price 308 offer, you can’t complaint. BTW, let me share some great stuff of DSG – when you go down hill, it auto down-shift; when you are in sport mode and cornering, it auto down shift or hold the rev, that’s intelligent!

3. Golf comes with Adaptive Bi-Xenon headlight, 308 doesn’t. This cost a lot…

4. Golf interior is a much better place to be, and again, 308 is not bad, especially compare to the price, 308 is better value.

5. Golf comes with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty, while 308 only 3 years and 100K.

Conclusion

You have the money, get Golf GTi, and if you have less money, get Golf TSi, and you have even less money, get 308.

308 is the best value for money, if they comes with manual gearbox, I would rate it even higher value, consider the easy tuning of turbo cars.

TSI engine you can easily tune to 200 bhp, while I think 308 will do the similar, only the torque of TSI will be much higher.

My conclusion is – 308 still the best and cheap turbo car for now. :)

• Manual fans on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Izit 6 speed manual~????

• and up RM5K too , well done , turbo charged the country’s inflation as well , as usual .

• Manual fans on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Wat is the different between 4speed auto and 6speed auto??? Still the same~~boring automatic transmission!!!! Boring boring!!!!

• The Loner on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:35 am

More gears in auto gearbox is to maintain the acceleration feel while keeping the fuel consumption lower.

• wow…. bang more bucks as compared to the vw polo 1.2TSI at 108k and the golf 1.4TSI at 155k

wonder how “good” the aftersales/service, read quite alot of complaints on Peugeot forum on 308

• Danny on Nov 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm

I might still get polo 1.2 TSI for the similar price range, but 308 sure is another good alternative, and considering their recent price drop in parts… (correct me if I’m wrong).

• jason on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:11 am

dammmm, i just take it last 3 weeks….fxxxx

• drop&roll on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:14 am

can peugeot readers out there share how’s the cost of maintenance like for peugeot cars?

• Rubery Owen on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:13 am

Maintenance cost is about the same as Japanese cars with only a couple of items being 20% up, due to being Euro imports and not Thai or locally sourced.

Ask your local Peugeot salesman. They can provide you with a table for costs. Also, remember that service intervals are longer for Euro makes.

• intermilan on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:18 am

hahaha… finally..

but what did they take out?

• John Doe on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

A much better buy compare to VW Golf 1.4 TSI.
    Similar specifications but RM40,000 cheaper!

• Cheah on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

RM118k for a hatchback….

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:24 am

LOL…so?

A Porsche Caymen and Cayenne are also hatchbacks….your point being?

I won’t even imagine owning a car which is not a hatchback…….. A hatch is the MPV before MPV was even coined

• Just some correction:
        Is a Porsche Cayman a Hatchback?
        It’s a sports coupé la..
        and…MPV is MPV.. we dont call it a hatchback any more.

Btw, Porsche Cayenne is a luxury SUV… we dont call a 4wd hatchback.. do u? do u call a pajero a hatchback? we call it SUV… or a 4WD.

Hatchback is only for cars which is not as big as a wagon, not a 4wd, and is not more then 5 sitter. This might not be the exact definition. But this is what people on earth think it is.

• toyoott on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:04 pm

118k reasonable price dude,, how much the golf n cooper s?

• Andrew on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:27 am

be aware when placing booking, those SA’s saying 100% refund is pure crap…

can say that NAZA is quite fishy when comes in doing business. take out a few accessories and sell without any notice and even discount… never gonna buy Naza product anymore. Peugeot is good car, but fall into bad company.

• TurboMan on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:40 am

Holy.

Hot hatch performance for 120k. With 6 spd, if geared properly, expect 0-100 in high 7 to low 8 sec.

REmap this baby and bye bye golf GTI. Even if its slightly slower than a golf GTI by then, but this still gives the biggest bang for the buck.

I want one!!!

• TurboMan on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:52 am

Want one only if its in manual.

This being an enthusiast car, manual should be offered as an option.

• The Loner on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:46 am

The transmission should be available in both. If manual transmission is available as optional, it will be odd as manual transmission vehicle always cheaper than automatic transmission.

Unless Nasim can treat manual transmission car as special order like VW does.

• Well, manual gearboxes usually cost cheaper than the autos – lower complexity. Can understand if it is a few k cheaper – that should be normal.
          I hope if they offer a 6-speed manual, they offer the same specs as the current one with all the bells and whistles. I wonder why our local car companies have their brains in their arses when they dumb down the specs for C-segment manual cars. If a person is going to buy a manual in that segment – they surely want all the bells and whistles.

• TurboMan on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:03 am

i agree. Although im not a big fan of inspira, but i might very much buy one andd change out to lancer bodykit if the 2.0 variant is available in manual.

However, the manual is only available as the lowest cost option. and its 1.8. darn!!!

Where else can we get manual in msian market besides the odd low spec protons, swift sports and RM200k renault hatches?

Even the great cooper S is only in auto.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:28 am

Not anymore.

Nowadays as with quite a few manufacturers, an Auto is standard….a manual is an extra cost option.

I agree, if this had a manual 6 speeder. I would be lining up at a PUG dealership.

• TurboMan on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:55 am

me too

• Well, as this is a European car, I think the manual is standard while the auto is the extra cost option. Europeans prefer manual – I wonder why it is the opposite in the rest of the world.

• helllooo…. age of the auto is now .

Paranoid of losing gear shifting on demand …. uhm , heard of tiptronic ? If you haven’t , start watching something called Formula One.

Liking to use the classic manual stick shift is like preference for snail mail when the world around you are sending and receiving emails more than you eat your rice.

Oh perhaps you’ve missed out that technology, guess it’s because you haven’t got an email box set up.

• maximus on Nov 20, 2010 at 10:39 am

…and this one thinks the age of the auto box is now. and F1 cars has auto trannys

poor misguided soul.

• hello…. I was relating F1 to tiptronic , not full autos.

few lines of comments on an automotive blog and you’ve already swaggered into your trance of misinterpretation. Forget about using google or doing research at all , mate.

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 21, 2010 at 11:49 pm

k.

Tiptronic = Torque converter auto with manual override.

AMT,DSG, semi auto = Manual transmission with robotised clutch.

Get your facts right mate.

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:02 am

k.

In view of your divine knowledge of the automotive sector, i feel i shall define tiptronic even more precise shall it confuse your poor soul.

Tiptronic = Registered trademark of a torque converter automatic transmission that incorporates a manual override system by Porsche.

These transmissions are called Manumatic.

• TurboMan on Nov 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Dude. HAve u ever driven a manual car?

Ever wonder why Renault RS250 and lotuses ( Loti? ) are only available in manual?

Heck even ferraris. However those are semiautos ( stil manual, but with robotised clutch, ie DSG )

Now u tell me about auto being email and manual being snailmail. Misguided soul. Probably will thank proton too for selling cars at 30-40k, make it more affordable for general masses to buy.

• Danny on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:38 am

Golf GTi remap will get you to 250bhp, almost 400 nm! Think again. :)

• handsome*dude on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:11 am

This is really a good news!!

the 308 should way fitted with 6 speed at the start!!

aiya~~ I already driving this car for a year~~ how can i upgrade to this latest spec?? given 5k extra really worth for the extra HP and 6 speed gear box~~

so envy the new buyer now!!~~ !!

• New Pug Owner on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:27 am

Damn!!! I just got one last week. How could I upgrade???

• apparently comes with bluetooth connectivity, usb and a restyled rear bumper aka 308 GT

• ai… how to convince wife to pick this instead of the 1.8 Civic?

• you buy lah. why need to convince your wife? who will drive it daily? you or her? if she is the daily user of the car then it should be her choice lah because if you go against her choice, she will make a big issue whenever a problem crops up with the car. if it is her choice, then she won’t mind the problems as the car is her choice anyway ;)

• comrade on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:12 am

being french car, say to her you’ll be more romantic to her if you drive it…

• rayzel on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:13 am

Giver her your current ride… ask her to buy this for you.. hehe

• modan on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:33 am

bring her test drive both unit in the same day.
      also explain about spec n NCAP test

• say to her you can add big bonet later, lol

• swifty on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:50 am

The one who pays for it, calls the shot.

• Is she a good driver?

• evoskylancer on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:18 am

i feel that women are more suited to drive a hatchback car like this pug 308 than a sedan like civic 1.8L, mainly because a hatchback car is of smaller size than a sedan, hence easier for women to park hatchback cars

• the 308 is overall a larger car than the civic with the civic having the edge in length simply because it is a sedan. but with the 308 being taller, women should be able to get a better view out as well as rightly mentioned, an easier time parking the car.

• zimba on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

This is Malaysian’s mindset:
          U drive a Myvi… U not man..
          U dirve a 308, … U not man..

The Malaysian lady dont respect Man driving a hatchback…

• Tiadaid on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm

The Myvi IS a girls car (if not P2 wouldn’t have offered it in pink!) But 308 is definitely NOT a girl’s car. Especially the Turbo. Having test driven the 140HP version, it simply floored me. Simply amazing!

If a Malaysian lady don’t respect a man driving a hatchback, take her for a ride in the 308 and mash your foot on the throttle. She’ll probably get wet!

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Wrong dude, the 308 Turbo attracts a lot of chicks. You want to drive a car that attracts men??

• She calls the shot as she is driving a 1.7 now. :D ,planning to change to a 1.8, not this cute lion :(

• spiller on Nov 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

test drive 308 at night or during the rain, then show her the moon roof.. sure she will fall in love with 308.

• 4 holes?

• Coolken on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:25 am

Nice engine.. But still cannot swallow the looks.. Looks weird to me ever since first launch. And Peugeot really very poor market value. 2 years old 407 only fetching 80+k. Sigh, if only toyota and honda offers this type of drivetrains and better looks.

• Simon VW on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:30 am

This is not a facelift simply a market practice by peugeot france to dump the market with 4 speed with low price and thereafter only bring in the latest model.

Unlike VGM bringing in all the latest model as in europe.

This car cannot be compared to VGM they are one step ahead with their low cc and DSG gearbox. Go test drive the golf 1.4 and 308 you will see the difference.

• Rubery Owen on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:56 am

You’ve got to work on a more believable sales pitch to push VW. Bashing other brands believing you’re elevating your own in the process is the expected response from immature, uninformed salesmen. This one just insults the intelligence of your readers.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Yes please DO test drive both. RM40,000 is the difference.

• 308T owner on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:33 am

Wow….premium ehnacement…good car…good handling…but my car battery flat just after 6 months…got this trouble when I was outstation…aarrggg!!! need to tow back to Glenmarie…what a hassle!!!

• Pls Nasim update Peugeot 407 with 2.0 turbo charge engine and 6 speed gear box then i believe it would really boost sales of peugeot 407 as currently its old tech 4 speed gear box and normal v v t engine
    i believe nasim would seriously consider this matter
    then i will be the first person who will take hi specs 407 in my garage

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:46 am

An already good car just got better!

• nighttrain on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:05 am

308 turbo, power, bang for bucks, great job Nasim. 206 sedan, massive mistake. Massive.

• rosdi on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

The 6 speed transmission is not twin-clutch gearbox right? Feature & price wise it is better than Golf TSI but I like the cool and unassuming Golf appearance compared to this ‘over your face’ styling.

I think the Golf will hold its value better than 308, that said.. the price is very-very tempting though!!

• are the additional 2 gears OD?

• Im considering a 308 for early next year. Anyone here can tell share how reliable the car is? Had my far share of continental cars but never a ckd one. Abit afraid it’s gonna give me probs after a year ++. Plan to use this car for about 5 years or so. Pondering if i should go for a mazda3 or a (well maintained) secondhand golf gti and this car. Any thoughts guys?

• rosdi on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Check this blog, http://308gt.blogspot.com/ This guy had lots of problem with 308 GT, most of them have been solved I think, but not after lots of persistent follow ups.

• tommy on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:29 pm

This is a good car though. The quality won’t be too much apart than the CBU. Because, here, they just tighten some screws, apply some glues there and here. The parts, are from the country of origin. I won’t recommend you to buy a second hand golf gti. Considering the warranty, the resale value (as if you are the owner it is already a third hand car), the mantainence (which i heard, VW’s is quite expensive. Regarding the mazda 3, hmm.. i dont have any objection for that. just my 2 cents

• Rovert on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Powertrain is awesome but would have hoped they sorted out it’s wolly handling. I drove this back to back with a Mazda 3 2.0. I love the Pug’s drivetrain but can’t match the Mazda’s handling and solid feel. When it comes down to it, I’d go Mazda.

• Thanks for all the feedback guys. Im not too concerned the odd expensive repair cost because it’s a company car but i was worried if it’s minor problems here and there and it’d make me look quite evil claiming too much repairs of the company lol. Basically looking for a fun ride (that’s below 140-150k ish) that will keep me entertained for the next couple of years and i dont need a proper sedan right now.

• Selamba on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Good car & feature.. price also not bad.

• Seanlim79 on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

If vw polo compare with pug 308? Any suggestion?

• rosdi on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

The polo 1.2 TSI is very basic, apart from the nice engine and DSG gearbox, there is not much else. The Golf 1.4 TSI is a closer comparison to this Pug 308.

• DiscoStick on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:53 pm

polo bears small interior space :)

• budleee on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:49 pm

nice.. i was thinking Naza might be introducing the 6 speed gearbox into the 308 turbo.

A great upgrade to a great reasonably price CONTINENTAL car..

you gotta really be passionated for continental cars, like really passionate. don’t expect servicing to come cheap, don’t expect other people would understand why would you spend money on this instead of a famous Japanese brand.

Do expect problems to come, and so expect it will be expensive to repair, do expect SC is not as common as other brand’s SC, do expect that only original parts is availble (but depending on the model, secondhand parts are available too).

Do enjoy the solidness of a continental car, do enjoy driving something different..

*I drive a 1991 Mercedes 190e.. still enjoy it.. might be looking for another continental car if I get the chance..

• rossi46 on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

yeap agreed…conti are for emotional ppl….if u’re practical, stick to Japs

• Anwar on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:27 pm

It’s difficult to find the specs for this engine and gearbox combo, since in Europe the new 156hp engine is mated to a manual 6-speed gearbox (UK spec, 0-100 in 8.8s, top speed 133mph).

The current local 308 with 140hp engine and 4-speed auto does 0-100 in 9.3s, top speed 203km/h.

So this new model can’t be faster than 8.8s since it’s using conventional torque converter, not dual clutch. My guess is around 9.0s.

• Anwar on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Found the spec from Peugeot Australia: 0-100 in 9.1s, top speed 212km/h.

But the fuel consumption figures are not that impressive. I suspect the limitation is the gearbox, not the engine.

• If any of you are buying this car for your wives/GF, remind them to hold the steering wheel firmly when they step on the gas. Someone bought one for their daughter , but she couldn’t handle the torque, so they put it on the market. It was snapped up instantly.
    I tested the previous 308 turbo when going up a highway ramp. I slowed to allow a Sonata get up the ramp halfway before I stepped on the gas. We were on the highway way before the Sonata, and the car was still accelerating. The poise was firm. My wife in the back seat was impressed.She usually wasn’t bothered with acceleration, and ahe loves it.
    Alas, the 308 has battery problems, and I was advised of other maintenace problems and coupled with scarcity of SCs as well as SC attitudes, I had to drop the 308T, so I went and bought myself a Triton Turbo.
    But I still haven’t given up on the 308T. Mebe in a couple of years when they solve the battery and SC problems.

• jules on Nov 20, 2010 at 12:08 pm

another 2 years and wait for a half cut unit..haha!

• pugman on Nov 20, 2010 at 2:18 pm

pity owners of the old 308 turbo. this new 308 features twin scroll turbo, higher BHP, nice rear diffuser. second hand value will drop for the older 308 turbo.

• Boy boy on Nov 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Why now malaysia market very hard to buy manual car~~??
    if peg 308 turbo cum wif 6speed manual it wil be perfect!!!!

• Tarmeze Abd Rahman on Nov 20, 2010 at 10:14 pm

I’ll get one….for sure!

• Reds Army on Nov 21, 2010 at 3:52 am

1.Hows the maintenace, sevice and parts costs from any Pug 308T owner?
    2.Interested in the car but scared that naza will badge the 308 like wat they did to naza bestari 207.. Any news on that?

• intermilan on Nov 21, 2010 at 11:37 pm

where in the world got naza bestari 207??? hahaha..

by the way, Nasim only rebadged the 206 as naza bestari 206 and they have learn their lesson.
      They will never rebadged a peugeot as naza again.
      even the recently affordable / entry-level peugeot 207 sedan stay as a peugeot and not rebadged as a naza.

• Reds Army on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:25 am

Tks milan for the info..hahahah regading the naza bestari thing it was at 3.52am…i know it was bestari but do know the model….

by the way tested the new 308 today and can feel the peek torque start @ 1500 not bad….

now decision time to buy or not to buy? still have to do some research

• *308* on Nov 21, 2010 at 10:14 pm

I love the City 1.5E rear seat incline option, good for long distance travelling. Why 308 hasn’t got one? if so will be PERFECT! Anyway, with the new AL6, will the FC improved?

• was wondering why new updated 308 turbo has higher hp (140 vs 156) but still same torque- 240nm. is the peak torque produced at lower rpm than before? is the benefit of higher hp just higher top speed?

• This is an over powered car. It should be 140 Horsepower rather than 156 Horsepower. I prefer vti which is 120 horsepower, which is good considering 1.6 engine. When you extract more power from small engine, you wear out the engine quickly.

• Astronauts on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:32 pm

how about mini cooper s?

• Puggy on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

Normally, a turbocharged engine has stronger internals to handle the additional heat and torque stresses placed on it. Further, the VTi uses a completely different engine that has variable valve timing while the turbo doesn’t.

• hoho..

.just bought the 308 turbo AL4 6months ago. was wondering whether could i retuned ecu from 140hp to 156hp without modifying anything….

i heard that its the same engine xcept the (great!) 6speed gearbox of cos…

any ideas?

• Symon on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

Just tested the 308 Turbo yesterday with my wife. I am impressed and so is the missus. We are planing to get it by next month.

• Jared Wong on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:47 am

Referring to a comment published previously here- DRB ll have CKD for VW Golf. Serious ? Confirm? But when ….?

• Which one should i buy: forte 2.0 or 308 vti or civic 2.0. By mid 2012 I’m ready to buy one of these cars. My priority concern is FC and its’ maintenance. I hope this new car will be my last (seriously). Need some advice or opinion pls. Tq

• I’M GETTING MINE TOMORROW—YEE HAA WHITE LION

• Princess Kiran on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Am getting my red lion this week …yay!!!!!! Awesome freaking ride…………..

• Princess Kiran on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Getting my red lion this week. Awesome drive………………………

• just wait the loan approval from bank..yeehaaaa

• powerful+value for money+continental+style=308
    worth to try……..

• bank just call and told my loan already approved. yeeeee haaaa

• Still the best 1.6 car in town

• pistachionutzzz on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:57 am

1.5 years of driving it. No regrets. Civics eat my baby’s exhaust fumes.