Subaru Impreza Design Concept shows new design theme

Subaru has unveiled this Impreza Design Concept in LA, which previews the carmaker’s new “Confidence in Motion” design and brand strategy. The brand seems to change ideas with every generation of cars, so it’s anyone’s guess not just when this new look will debut, but how long it’ll last.

Said to include “possible future Subaru design elements” the Impreza Design Concept (IDC) is yet another “four-door coupe” style concept with room for four. The designers blended two ideas – “dynamic flow and confident stance” – to showcase Subaru’s engineering core values of dynamic performance, safety, driving enjoyment and quality.

From the front, IDC wears Subaru’s hexagonal grille with spread wings flanked by “hawk eye” headlights. Below them are fin-shaped fog lamps. Remember this look, as it previews the brand’s future look. At the rear, the hexagonal theme repeats with the number plate garnish, where all the lines flow out from. The rear lights, which have a unique layering effect for an impression of depth, are connected to the character line along the car’s flanks.

The IDC looks muscular, and a lot the credit goes to those prominent wheel arches (current Legacy also has them). It was Subaru’s intention to use simple and clean lines and surfaces rather than complicated forms. Other details include wedge-shaped side rear-view cameras and carbon fins on the wheel spokes that aid brake cooling.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1699]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• droll on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:18 am

an improvement over existing design. but i think they can work on the rear a bit more. the rear looks too conservative – too “shy”.

• crower on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:43 am

droll… yup,i agree with u…

• Chris on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm

I can’t stop imagining the rear as some sort of dragon type pokemon staring down at me grinning ear to ear ready to attack….

Am I the only one seeing that?

• Manfisto on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:19 am

front look like a mustang and back look like city to me

• kurikuri on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:18 pm

citry? no la… altis lor… LOL…

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:02 pm

The front grill has some resemblance to that of the new Elantra Avante

• the front has no resemblance to mustang at all.. i think it looks more like chevy’s Cruze… the back indeed like Altis

• littlefire on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:25 am

Looking forward for its new impreza WRX STi..

• azrai on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:26 am

Look like it has a lot of infiniti/Nissan design cues actually. So the hatchback version got discarded then?

• wrxbeast on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:00 am

Hatchback is too good to discard, most other manufacturers have a 5 door model. I personally love my hatchback, lots of space, far easier time to load stuff, and looks well-planted and sporty.

• comrade on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:29 am

looks menacing , aggressive and exclusive as well…

• Davidz on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:50 am

is it better to call it Legacy?

• kington on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Visually this looks bigger than current Imprezas. Hopefully it’ll be smaller than what we see here coz by doing so, Subaru will have to make the Legacy bigger to challenge a class higher. Subsequenly this will also remove the Impreza from the list of Rally projectiles and Rice Rocket menus.

I must admit though, this looks very good, considering how controversial Imprezas have been since the GDs.

• nabill on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:18 pm

the front is volvo-ish

• blackjkx on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:26 pm

The interior,dashboard quality MUST be improved also.Very fragile i can say

• blackjkx on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:04 pm

i mean for previous and current impreza’s interior.And based on my 3 yrs experience of ver8.

• Anti Proton on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:51 pm

finally they took a long hard look into the audi brochure

• slumber on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Trapeziodal grill……. looks familiar with recent cars coming from Korea…

• Peter on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Subaru Legacy!

• K-Bro on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:52 pm

ugly beast! ugly outside beast inside!!!!!!!!!

• shawal on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Finally , It looks like a car you want be seen in …
    Rear reminds me of LF-A

• great minds think the same.. lol.. yeah it reminds me of LF-A also..

• nimosy89 on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:12 pm

kan bagus design proton slawa ni, kn?

• Lancermania on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:57 pm

if reli proton can do like tis, sure gt ppl bash oso, typical malaysian..

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:16 pm

overall nice, except the front should be sharper instead of blunt tegak like that..

• bogaboga on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:26 pm

too many details….fugly =.=”

• mitlanevo on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

lose to evo and now butthurt already, wanna come out with more muscular and agreesive design, LMAO…

its too late to do so, evo already gone far far ahead……

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Designs influence much by toyota I think where can see lots outer can’t call as IMPREZA. No rear spoiler, no mica blue with gold rims.More to urban saloon car. Version 8 is the best!!!

• Gajen on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:25 pm

nice!!

• waa..if they dont say its the impretza concept, i taught this is the next best competitor for hyundai sonata.hahaha..

• adrian yap on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:53 pm

A c-segment of combination.c-class,bmw 3 series,mazda 3,

• it would feel awkward eh for not using side mirrors while driving.. haha.. i think they’ll omit it if it does come for mass production… i don’t think those sport car ponders would like it anyway because it’s like losing one of your senses… just my 2 cents

• paparazi on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:41 pm

its no longer Subaru rally car … pls replace this with Volvo badge

• simpz on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:46 pm

side mirrors gone… is like losing ur ears…

• m4xspeed on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:10 pm

the rear look a bit upgrade from the old skyline… overall design quite appealing though.. suit the Subaru image which is fast and furious.

• it’s ugly , reminds me of toyota altis
    yulk!

• If u drive this car in Malaysia then the side rear-view cam will be stolen & fixed on Kancils……….

• Carl Wong on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:44 pm

The rear looks similar to BMW and Honda City but the car looks great.

• Ash Menon on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:14 pm

someone must have printed out the word “GANAS” in giant lettering and stuck it on the designer’s sketch pad. It looks like it eats little children for breakfast. But the back, I think it’s a little too conservative on the lights. The layering effect is nice, but they need to be a bit bolder in spreading the red area and playing with it. Otherwise hmm, looks basically like a modern-day urban car trying to look rally-ish?

• Wow! Finally the Impreza done right :P

It invokes the same emotions when i first saw 1st gen mazda6.

• Scouser on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Very similar to Mazda6 front….i like

• nolan on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:25 am

I sense Ford Mondeo design………

• stormrider on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Superb design!!! Hope they will bring this into Malaysia and price attractively…

• it’s design is too boxy, want to see the production design though, maybe got changes here and there

• wrxbeast on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:57 pm

The dashboard is staring at me. But I like the overall look very much, way better than the current MY.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:57 pm

This would be the facelifted or next-generation Impreza if going production.