Mahindra-Ssangyong deal to be done by March 2011

It’s official – South Korean SUV maker Ssangyong will be 70% owned by India’s largest SUV maker Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd, after a US$378 million deal goes through pending approval from Ssangyong’s creditors. The deal is expected to be concluded in March next year. It looks like Ssangyong’s ownership is passing from one superpower to another – China failed to do much with it, now it’s India’s turn :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

The Indians have taken over UK, now they’re going for SK!

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

in entertainment (movie) business, Indian conglomerate owns 50% of Dreamworks. India is becoming the new superpower in Asia. yet, i have a friend from India who keep bad-mouthing his own country. similar mentality with chinese who fled China, and Malaysians who denounce their citizenship.
      i know it’s off topic, sorry :)

• campro on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:02 am

Indian people is like that 1…they actually is not united separate by their races…and as usual they hv huge different in society class level…they vr look down for lower class race..but cannot deny India & china ppl is really among the richest ppl & still counting their millionaire numbers…All chinese love china but those ancestor who fled the nation during WW2 or even earlier is then their next generation are not accepted back bcoz china population is too much unless u are professional society that can called brain drain into their country benefit same like singapore lah lure a lot M’sia by offer high income & sponsorship in their well renown univ (example: NUS) high ranking in world…it is totally not what like u said…chinese hv high level in their cultural & history…

• What did Ssangyong achieved in the automotive industry besides using old tech merc engines in their vehicles??

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:51 pm

The older models had Merc engines and transmissions but the more recent ones were their own, though still Merc derived since their engineers were sent to Merc for schooling.

• They have made larger, well equipped vehicles available to the masses at a lower cost than other manufacturers ( well here in Australia anyway )

• Should had let it die…make the crappiest cars on earth…lol

• What ‘s the effect / impact to USF/DRB Hicom ‘s Mahindra dealership? Or to the Ssangyong dealer in Malaysia?

• mitlanevo on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Mahinyong? Ssangdra?

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:51 pm

aiyoo.. malaysians always like to make fun of others. why should they create new name? just let it be Mahindra-Ssyangong. just like Hyundai-Kia and Renault-Samsung. if it remains as separate entity, it will be easier for Mahindra to sell off Ssangyong later too.
      should we call ‘Protus’ instead of Proton & Lotus separately?

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Just wonder, why didn’t any Korean companies take over Ssangyong? Not profitable, I reckon.

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Mahindra taking Ssyangyong could be because they want to penetrate Korean market. Renault is doing it with Samsung.

• Not true, its actually the reverse, ssangyong are keen to penetrate the indian market. The reason why there were no korean takeover is because the risk was to big for them and ssangyong choosed mahindra as their bidder (there were korean bidders though).

• MoFaz on Nov 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm

erm.. you could be correct, but it sounds weird to me..
          why mahindra buy ssangyong and then let ssangyong compete with them in India?

• They are not really competing with each other they are helping each other, both ssangyong and mahindra’s product line-up do not overlap each other, meaning ssanyong’s line up is ranked higher than mahindra. With this new deal Mahindra will access ssangyong’s technology and R&D to expand globally (main target USA) and improve their products and ssangyong receiving large investment from M&M on making new products that have been put on hold. And yes some of the future ssangyong models will be made in india, it’s a case of when.

• With the M&M Group having purchased a 70% stake, would they also be changing the name of SsangYong to Mahindra Ssangyong just like they changed from Satyam to Mahindra Satyam .

• Both sucks at automotive industry.

• SoMeOnE on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

hopefully they do a better job than the previous owners….they are a ‘weird’ company..and as u can see in all forms of media these days ‘weirdness’ is considered cool for some reason. if they can carefully ride on ssangyong’s(if the name is weird! double s???) ‘weirdness’ and tailor the brand image..there will be takers…

• nolan on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:09 am

In 20 years time, i bet theres Miyabi everywhere in South Korea…..

• TK Ong on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:17 am

I owned a Ssangyong Kyron. Now, into my fifth year of ownership and 140,000km, I can say the vehicle is well built and reliable. Soundproffing is excellent and the Merc derived engine, 2.0 CRDi with turbo inter-cooler, is robust and economical. It requires minimal maintenance despite our sub-standard diesel during my early years of ownership. The styling may not be everyone’s cup of tea but then looks are subjective. Spare parts for normal wear and tear items are also not a problem. If I may add, Competitive Supreme provides good after sales support and service too!

• Here is more news info why Ssangyong choosed Mahindra over the favourates Nissan-Renault.

“M&M- Ssangyong deal: The fine print”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bl73vGEfjIo&feature=player_embedded

• And I have a Ssangyong too, a Musso Sports. Compared to most of the opposition 4wd utility type vehicles – Its brilliant. I don`t mind having an older design Mercedes Engine in the ute, its reliable, and the Ssangyong is a big and comfortable vehicle with good features. M&M SSangyong is the way to go.