‘New Toyota Rush’ specs, price released on UMWT website

There’s going to be a ‘new’ Toyota Rush coming our way soon, as previewed on UMW Toyota’s website, which has the car’s specs and expected pricing. Like the current car, there will be three variants available – 1.5G Manual, 1.5G Auto and the highest spec 1.5S, which can only be had as an auto.

The drivetrain will be unchanged. The Rush is powered by the 3SZ-VE 1.5-litre VVT-i engine with 109 PS and 141 Nm of torque made at 4,400 rpm. The auto ‘box it’s mated to is a gated four-speed unit and drive goes to the rear wheels – the Rush is a 2WD. Despite the SUV looks, this seven-seater’s underpinnings are adapted from the Avanza. The suspension consists of front struts and a rear lateral rod while brakes are front discs and rear drums. All variants ride on 215/65 R16 tyres.

Spec wise, the 1.5G (RM88,190 for manual, RM91,190 for auto, OTR with insurance) models makes do with just a driver’s airbag. For ABS, EBD and passenger’s airbag one needs to look at the RM96,990 1.5S model. The ‘S’ also comes with leather steering and gear knob, power retractable wing mirrors, rear spoiler with LED brake light, fog lamps and projector headlamps.

It looks like they’ve upgraded the stereo as it’s now a 2-DIN unit with MP3/USB/AUX functions (current car’s head unit still has a cassette player!) with steering wheel controls. The interior colour scheme will be changed to “dark” from the current brown/beige. These are standard across the range.

Exterior changes should be subtle and follow that of the 2009 model year JDM Toyota Rush. The prices are slightly increased from the January 2008 launch price of RM85,888, RM88,888 and RM94,888 for the three variants.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kentot on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:36 pm

aiyoooo naughtycar baru la

• better top up abit, or take 2 more years loan, and go for 110,000 suzuki vitara la.

1.5 car, or go buy alza better.

this T Rush and H Freed is a rip off la.

110,000 can get a lot of good car,way better than 1.5 liter 5 seater boxy car.

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:21 pm

yes. and the PUG398 VTI with better specs all round, only cost you 96k~ ! and its also quite tall what`

• or go buy polo, at least its fast and fun.

this 1.5 car, for wat? bring 7 ppl? ( if you’re on a budget, go alza/exora. if you wan jap car, you go grand livina, if you wan to look sporty suv, u go vitara. This car can only sell rm70k, like kembara. rm90k? thats funny, the interior is worse than myvi.

honda freed is for ppl who is too boring. same price can go 1.6 turbo 308 somemore. lol. man.

• RON97 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

don’t buy any model…..keep your money. see how market respond. If urgent, just buy second hand unit.

• UMW always take the opportunity to increase the car prices …… and still people will still buy. hmmm …. funny but that’s the way it is. So far the Rush has not been selling too “well” based on Toyota standards such as Vios, Camry, Altis

Wonder this facelift and price increase will help it sell more ??

• stiggy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm

same as perodua

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:21 pm

YES. UMW=BLOOD SUCKER!

• tikus on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

Maybe UMW sell it to cheap at first,so not selling well.So now sell it more xpensive so the toyota fans boy will buy it!! Just like Altis…

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:02 pm

I really don’t get this. Its not a volume seller, and yet they are pumping money into this. Its a cash hog. The sedan is the cow. The small SUV is on edge of the product lifecycle.curve. Why?

• TallPan on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

cos there are still stupid uncles around? overpriced non-stylish cr4p.
      becos of this, nautica pricing affected too?

• Critique on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:45 pm

That’s a good question ! Could it be at the “urging” of the powers that be from Toyota Japan?

• nighttrain on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm

If Nissan can place their 1.5 litre pseudo SUV Juke in the same price range as Rush, I’ll take Juke anytime. But that’ll never happen. ETCM too slow. Wil this Rush be assembled in Indonesia as well?

• Kevin Lee on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:10 pm

does this rubbish car actually needs facelifting, really

• So, beside the new stereo player and interior color change, what’s new to this “New Rush” ? Price or their ads perhaps! I wonder how this car companies get away by calling their product new, when there really isn’t any NEW after all. Hmm………..

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Substandard car for RM95k. Sorry this time, Toyota.
    A tactic to increase price.
    Grand livina is a better buy, or MAYBE the 3rd generation Kia Sportage (during offer).
    Add a few thousand and you will get a much better Innova if you really really want a Toyota.

• wolfsburg on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

This is so expensive for this kind of cheap car…

• Cadmus on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

High price till RM91k for 1.5G only has driver airbag. Some standard features like ABS, EBD and BA only can be seeked in 1.5S.
    This is too expensive!

• _xXx_ on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Selling very well? No, but why up the price?

• bohtakchek on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm

drove rush before, if the chasis and suspension remains unchange, it is a crap car to drive… simply terrible, it goes over bump like a shallow shell, it give too much the floating feel, and it is extremely noisy, of all the obvious cost cutting on insulator, NVH is simply worst … not like Toyota at all!!

the VIOS drives better than RUSH… msian simply lack choices when comes to SUV in that price range.

• Tiadaid on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Malaysians don’t really need SUV. In fact, I don’t really see the need for SUV anywhere. You hardly take it offroad even if it could go offroad, which many SUV including this one, couldn’t. To carry a lot of people it is much more comfortable to drive an MPV. And those who want a pickup would buy a pickup, not an SUV. So what’s the point?

And, although my thoughts on Japanese cars are well known, I really have to salute Honda because they are not willing to sacrifice safety features for more sales. If you bash Ford for not offering dual airbags in their sedan Fiesta, then Toyota should be roundly condemned for not only omitting the passenger airbag, but also the ABS & EBD!

• an SUV is practical with malaysian weather and KL flash flood, bro

• junaidi on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:51 am

+ most Malaysians are short.

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:35 am

Most people buy SUV’s for the ride height, really. Actually, a very simple reason why this car isn’t even as good as other Toyotas(unlike what any Toyota haters claim, there are good Toyotas) is because it’s made by Daihatsu. This is rebadged, as is the Perodua Vitara.

• RajaSegran aka ah long on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Japanese cars are in for a price increase
    due to the rise in the yen.
    Currently @ Rm$3.75 it has appreciated from Rm$3.39
    6 months back.
    Looks like even P1 Inspira is due for a price review
    what a time to rebadge a Jap car !!

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:39 pm

But this is an ASEAN platform, yen rise shouldn’t have too big an impact.

• Tiadaid on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm

You could say that profit margin to be sent back to Japan is now reduced with the rise in yen. No more big margins.

• La Rue on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:49 am

It was never a ‘big margin’ in the first place to begin with.

• simpz on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:39 pm

too overpriced… not reasonable at all…

• noname on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:53 pm

agree with u, this type of car should not exceed 70k, 1.5s, aircond kaki pon tekder.. ape kejadah? kancil pon ade

• Same with Proton Saga BLM. Only front direction aircond blower provided and not multiple choice of blower direction..so sad..
        BUT!!!
        Proton S16 have multiple choice of blower direction plus cool and warm temperature!!

Proton discriminate Malaysian!

• toooooto on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:42 pm

There’s no point for this “New Rush” news to be posted here. Is there really anything “new”?

• zheenbo on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Cheap and Reliable….. i’d tap that

• nebula87 on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Our life no need too rush to buy this New Rush…

• Dream On on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Yeah, this so called ‘New Toyota Rush’ is a ripoff! Imagine paying RM91,190 OTR for a car which has only one (driver’s) airbag and it doesn’t even has ABS, EBD and BA which are supposed to be standard safety features in all Japanese cars like Honda, Toyota and Nissan. What a joke by UMW! Even the cheapest Honda car in Malaysia, Honda City Grade S (RM85,480 OTR) which is an entry level car has 2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and many otherr safety features which can put this RM91,190 Toyota Rush to shame. This Rush is going to be a failure. Please don’t rush to get it!

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:28 pm

“Spec wise, the 1.5G (RM88,190 for manual, RM91,190 for auto, OTR with insurance) models makes do with just a driver’s airbag. For ABS, EBD and passenger’s airbag one needs to look at the RM96,990 1.5S model.”

1 airbag?? so pathetic!

UMW always like to ripped off customer by + – all those “must have” feature for safety purpose ~~ y can’t just give it all just like PUG, KIA?? damn annoying~~

UMW , next time might as well you put the Power Sterling as an optional item for RM1000 ?? the Seat belt the too, RM300 for one, and give more discount when we wannat get 5 seat belt for RM1,000 ?

• theanswer on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

overpriced so called suv..better buy sedan with that price.

• rhymie on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:24 pm

kembara is better than this terrible toyota rush….

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

actually it’s the same thing. They’re both rebadged models from a Daihatsu.

• E bear on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Kembara only 1.3 leh. Acceleration kind of gruff….

Much smaller vehicle.

Ride like motorboat but i love it when it rains…….better view.

Nautica smaller than Rush but RIP here already

• dragster on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:25 pm

how’s the performance??? 1.5 still consider underpower for such outlook…..better throw in 1.8 VVTI old altis engine for it…..

• Dream On on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Tiadaid,
    Yes, in Malaysia, ALL Honda cars from the cheapest (Honda City Grade S) to the most expensive one have 2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA (Brake Assist) and front pretensioner seat belts as standard safety features. The expensive models have more safety features like side airbags and VSC. Honda Malaysia doesn’t compromise on safety unlike UMW Toyota. Vios J has only one (driver’s) airbag and now this so called new Rush is even worse. RM91,190 OTR price for Rush 1.5G auto and it only has one (driver’s) airbag. At this high price, it doesn’t even has ABS, EBD and BA. Toyota is going the way of Proton. You pay this price, you get one airbag, you pay slightly more, you get two airbags, you pay much more and you get all including ABS, EBD, BA and front pretensioner seat belts. That’s why I own two Honda cars. Honda The Power Of dreams.

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:41 pm

There’s really no real reason to pay for a Rush when it’s actually an Avanza, other than for the physical looks. But I don’t think the looks command such a high premium.

• edward on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm

maybe almost tiem to pay employee bonus edi so have to rush sales sales sales to squeeze more juice lor..

what can i say? Epic Failure.. how do u define new?

“ma, this is my new gf”
    “boy, she still the same Ah Lian, where new”
    “ma, u didnt notice meh.. she changed from wearing round neck t-shirt to polo-t edi”
    “!@#$%^&*”

• jigmaster on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm

maybe they will come in white this time

i went to test drive the car few months back.

it’s like you were operating a motorboat. it float, noisy and underpower.

and ‘ paling tak percaya’ they place the car jack under the front passenger seat. How lame is that? u can actually see the car jack resting under the seat.

almost 100k cart, and they cannot design a proper place to store the jack. aiiyo

• clement on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:18 pm

the new avanza also undergo the same as rush as they also darken the image of avanza in their website. :)

• E Bear on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Hmmmm don’t whether true, can choose after market shock absorber to make it more compliant.

It’s advantage is basically it sits higher and able to park illegally on side kerbs.

I think can go to site or plantation when the ground is dry and terrain not too steep.

High price maybe this one aiming for RAV 4 mkt already. Anyway, it is not going to sell like hotcakes…..premium pricing way to go,acceptable lah.

Sharing components with Avanza yet not one. Just like Pajero Sports or Fortuner. Subtle differences.

I used to think I will hate the 4WD stiff suspension but living with a Kembara for the last 6 months, have adjusted to the motorboat ride!

• wtf 91k and only 1 air bag? and no abs?

go to hell umw!!!

• jazzer87 on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Realy fainted see tis kind of so called ‘New’ launched, i realy din c anything new features, but i c new prices. If buying new car realy go for either Honda or now coming up new korean cars, toyota always increase price in such way, nissan too slow in launching new models, one same model boleh jalan in the market for so so so long…getting disappointed…go out from malaysia realy realize that most of our car makers’ models are outdated!lagi disappointed!even it is new launched but stil outdated!speechless!

• tooyoott on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:39 pm

another overpriced car form T… just buy for conti n korean

• i am sure there will still be idiots who buy car like these.

avanza with the look of rush.

with the arrival of livina 3 years ago, the avanza should have been dead, its a coffin on wheel.

• kennytan on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:46 pm

malaysia boleh…………6 GOLD..already…

• niamafufu on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm

yier…expensive lyk hell

• yes.. call me stupid .. but i really waiting for so called new rush..

but.. after this spec.. my expection is getting low..dont think have any reason to go to showroom in december. :(

• Hmm…. Perodua selling the real ‘Rush”, nobody buy. Toyota selling “fake” Rush so many ppl buy?????

• clement on Nov 24, 2010 at 6:55 am

perodua seems to be pessimistics about nautica. they took off nautica from the website. Left only myvi, viva and alza in the website. sad….

• carfan on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Last year I was really interested in the Perodua Nautica as runabout for my wife but apparently these were stuck in Port Klang as they were not able to get AP. Canot give any delivery date but they hv one unit for testing at the Toyota showroom near Jaya. I tot this is the small SUV like the old RAV4. I hav no interest in the 6/7 seater Rush. I believe there is a market for a small cheap SUV like Nautica or old RAV4. SX4 is a hiked up small car and 3008 and Tiguan are way too expensive (but in the meantime I bought a 308 turbo)

• azrai on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:09 am

Rush Exclusive Edition. there is also new Avanza coming to town. how about Alza sales then.

• junaidi on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:48 am

Oh well, those young actresses and models have a good offering now.

• ini umw aa dia makan kuat la.

• if toyota price too low… gov not allow ’em to launch! just like last time kia spectra price very close to waja… the whole batch was stuck in port klang until re-price at 70k!!! who rips who’s $$??? in da 1st place… after 25 yrs… why still gov protect proton?????

• gov n car industry player ie toyota honda… said ”U scratch my back… I scratch your back!”

• Danny Manny on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:23 pm

I searched this T-Rush at Toyota’s Indonesia website, is call NEW ah??
    I think is just a bit of facelift lah…

And at UMWT website, showed thats a new Avanza coming soon, but it still the same body design…
    Oh Toyota, better bark up man..

• ThePolygon on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:41 am

walau… i thought they at least put in a 6 speed auto gear following today’s standards to justify the increase in price… but NOOOOO… :(

Anyway can’t see much reason why they have to increase the price if it’s only a few minor parts of changes. Anyway the majority of people that can afford to buy this for around 90k has already bought it months/years ago. And it’s year end now…. duh…

Good luck for the new owners

• giloko on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

dun wanna “rush” to buy “rush”.. better change name to “hush hush” hurry hurry i dun wanna come to me.. !!!

• Dont worry, there are still many fools around