Lexus Malaysia launches LS 600 h L and RX 450 h hybrids

lexus 600 1

It’s highly unlikely that anyone who can spend just a shade under a million for a vehicle would really be that mindful of just how much that ride consumes, but here it is anyway, a hybrid luxury sedan that gobbles up less fuel and goes gentler on your wallet.

Okay, so maybe that’s not quite the way to look at it. How about a “doing your part for the environment while ensconced in the lap of luxury” bit then?

lexus 450 1

Well, how about both, since the Lexus LS 600 h L manages the above in equal measure, and in inimitable style at that. The flagship hybrid luxury sedan is Lexus Malaysia’s latest introduction into the market, and making it a double do for the higher-end hybrid movement is the introduction of the RX 450 h SUV as well. Which of course earns Toyota the bragging rights as the first player to have three hybrids in the country, two of them luxury units.

Full story and gallery of launch photos after the jump.

Admittedly, the market for a hybrid such as the LS 600 h L is rather minute, but Lexus Malaysia says it’s all about giving customers a wider choice in the upper-end, and it’s certainly as big a hitter as you can get.

lexus 600 2

The car is powered by Lexus’ Hybrid Drive full hybrid system, which combines a 2UR-FSE 5.0 litre V8 block, permanent all-wheel drive and a high output electric motor. The engine is a development of the 4.6 litre pot found in the LS 460L, with stroke increased from 83.0mm to 89.5mm, and output figures are 389 hp at 6,400 rpm and 520 Nm at 4,000 rpm. As for the 650V electric motor, this one delivers 165 kW of power and 300 Nm of torque.

The battery pack in the LS 600 h L is a compact two-piece sealed NiMH unit with a total of 240 cells, delivering a total of 288V. It’s placed next to the rear air conditioning unit, located behind the rear seats. Naturally, this allows the car to run in electric vehicle (EV) mode, with the car able to run on battery and electric motor up to a 40 kph speed for a short distance.

lexus 600 3

Together, the hybrid powertrain generates a combined output rating of 438 bhp, but is able to return a very respectable 10.75 km per litre in combined cycle fuel consumption. Lexus says that in city traffic or slow speed driving, the car’s fuel consumption is over 30% lower than the LS 460 L.

Replacing the eight-speed automatic transmission here is the L110F electronically controlled continuously variable transmission (E-CVT). Fitting into the existing LS transmission tunnel, the tranny consists of two water-cooled motor generators, tagged MG1 and MG2, in this case a power split device and a motor-speed reduction device together with the transfer for the all-wheel drive system – MG1 fulfils the role of the starter motor and generator, while MG2 is the traction motor and acts as a generator for regenerative braking.

lexus 600 4

The permanent all-wheel drive system uses a Torsen Limited Slip Differential, developed exclusively for the car, offering a 40:60 split between the front and rear axles in normal driving and shifting the torque split automatically (during acceleration or braking), within the range of 30:70 to 50:50, under less than ideal road conditions. Speaking of which, the car has three switchable driving modes – Normal, Power and Snow – to pick from.

Of course, there’s more to the LS 600 h L, and it’s pretty much chock a block as you can get in terms of features and kit. Unique to it are blue accents on the LED headlamps, badging, door lower moulding, smart key fob and blue-tinted tail lamps.

lexus 600 5

Electronically controlled Adaptive Variable Air Suspension (AVS) comes as standard fitment, with three suspension damping control modes – Normal, Comfort and Sport – available, along with a ‘Height High’ mode that allows the car a 15mm higher ride height. The car comes with seven-spoke 19-inch aluminium alloy wheels wearing 245/45 series tyres.

Safety-wise, there’s the Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management (VDIM) system, which integrates and manages VSC, traction Control, ABS, EBD and brake assist, among other things, and the car comes with 11 airbags. Parking assistance too, through the Intelligent Parking Assist (IPA) system, which assists rear and parellel parking.

lexus 600 6

There’s plenty in the interior – three semi-aniline leather colours, together with two classic colours of all-black with medium brown walnut woodtrim and Mellow White with matt Ashburl woodtrim, as well as aluminium chrome trim accents, a centrally-mounted 8-inch Electronic Multi Vision (EMV) touchpanel, a TFT colour LCD combination meter, climate control and a Mark Levinson 7.1 Reference Surround System with 19 speakers and a 15-channel, 450 watt amplifier. Passengers at the back get a Rear Seat Entertainment System (made up of a separate DVD player and a center console mounted 9-inch LCD Screen), as well as rear left powered Ottoman seat, complete with Rear Seat Relaxation system.

A total of 11 exterior colours – with the final clear coating enhanced with a two-component paint with has anti-scratch nanotechnology polymer – are available for the LS 600h L, which is priced at RM998,500, on the road without insurance.

lexus 450 2

If the LS is a bit too big – or rich – for your tastes, then there’s always the RM520,200 (again, on the road, without insurance) RX 450 h to consider. The hybrid SUV features styling cues to clearly distinguish it from its petrol-only RX 350 sibling. The front bumper has a dark silver grille, with a wider and slimmer multi-bar design and a slim louvre in the bumper below the grille.

Additionally, there’s a different engine cover, chrome fog lamp surrounds, blue accents for the tail lamps, blue tinted emblems and ‘450h’ logo as well as ‘Hybrid’ logos on the plated side mouldings at the base of the rear doors. The SUV also gets exclusive 19-inch five-spoke split design alloy wheels – with 235/55 series tyres – in a darker shade.

lexus 450 3

The RX 450h’s Lexus Hybrid Drive system is made up of a purpose-developed Atkinson Cycle 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine, a 123 kW electric front drive motor, a 50 kW rear motor, a electronically controlled continuously variable transmission, a three-block, 10-module-each 288V hybrid battery (located below the rear seats) and compact new Power Control Unit (PCU).

The 2GR-FXE pot in this one shares the basic architecture as the RX 350’s engine, but features – besides the Atkinson Cycle operation – a water-cooled exhaust gas recirculation (and attendant pressure sensor), a hybrid-specific intake manifold with large sound resonators, intake-only VVT-i and an accessory belt to only drive the water pump. Output is 245 hp at 6,000 rpm and 317 Nm at 4,800 rpm, and the combined hybrid system output is rated at 295 hp, while offering an impressive 15.9 km per litre combined cycle fuel efficiency.

lexus 450 5

The powertrain consists of a front-axle system with an electronically-controlled continuously variable transmission (E-CVT) and an electric-drive rear axle. Similar to the LS 600 h L, the E-CVT transmission has two sets of planetary gears, one motor-speed reduction device and the other a power split device, which divides driving power between the petrol engine and electric motors, or combining both. The front motor’s maximum output is 123 kW and 335 Nm.

There’s no propeller shaft in the electric all-wheel drive system, which is called E-Four – the rear axle has its own drive source, in this case a motor-generator (with a built-in differential), offering 50 kW and 139 Nm of torque. Oh, and like the LS, the RX 450 h is able to run on electric mode, again up to a 40 kph speed, as long as there’s enough juice in the batteries to do so.

lexus 450 4

Among the many items on the kit list are semi-aniline leather front seats with a Power Cushion Extender which extends the edge of the front seat cushion by an extra 21mm, LED headlamps, a Lexus 12-speaker Premium Audio System, 10 airbags, a Side Parking Assist Monitor and nine exterior colour choices.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1726]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tycoon88 on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:19 am

wah lau eh! i think u can buy 1 saga basic model when u pay d annual road tax for LS 600 lor :)

but then again…for the towkays, it’s not from their own pocket but fr Company’s A/c!

Sigh! wish I can b like them…

• You absolutely right. Sadly they can only claim tax allowance up to RM50k. Instead of a miilion compared to their cost

• nighttrain on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:38 am

Hmm.. smug faced tree huggers driving around in their overpriced hybrids and EVs..

• Thumbs up for the rich who buy this car!

• Errrkk… is the price here after the exclusion of import and excise duty??

• jolly_idiot on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

Crazy car with crazy price. Its just an uprated toyota that cost a million? What is this?

• alldisc on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm

1. it is a new car. not cheap.
      2. it is fully importer. the taxes wont make it any cheaper.
      3. it is fully backed-up by UMW trhough Lexus with 3 yrs warranty.

those are the differences between franchise dealer and grey importer. the latter dont care for you once the they sold the car….

• Lance on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

wow…too luxury for ppl reach….

wat is the road tax for 5000cc??

• potatomasala on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:14 am

i think around RM15k wor……we can only dream of owning these cars : (
      what to do….we live in BolehLand….

• wow! UMW finally brings in the real Lexus flagship!

The LS600hL is stunning!

• Ashman on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

In UK, the LS 600H starts at 91000 pound sterling, around RM500,000 difference than the price in Malaysia. Tsk Tsk Tsk.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

Err the GS450h is missing in this lineups…. with that it will be complete

• RON97 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

Boring car. why go for hybrid if you gonna pay nearly 1mil for an average car? can go for panamera, XJ. wrong market, lexus

• Power8003 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:35 am

I thought that hyrid car is tax free or the government capped the engine to 2,000cc only. Hope Paul or Danny can clarify on this. thanks

• Paul Tan on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:11 am

Its tax free for engines under 2 liters. These Lexus hybrids pay full tax!

• Power8003 on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:25 am

too bad if not it will be a good car at a good price….. :(

• Jonathan Chow on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Paul, don’t you feel it’s crazy to preach Eco whilst at the same time charge this type of prices irrespective of engine size? Shouldn’t the govt see to it that M’sian citizens enjoy safe / quality cars / priced correctly and make it accessible to all But increase the price of fuel?. Road tax being similar to all engine sizes BUT increasing PETROL prices whilst only subsidising essential mass transport facilities? Why are we allowing car that are 5 – 7 years old coming onto our shores to pollute our country. CRACKS me up when I look at the situation and the entire car industry not growing the way it should when we got policies that really need to be look at with a fine tooth comb!!!.
        The Lexus LS600h is a fine car. CONGRATULATIONS to new owners of such vehicles…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Agreed, i propose a COE system like in Singapore. Just that Malaysia you dont have to pay for it, rather use it as a tool for car rationing and also make sure car owners change to a new car every 10 years. that way only new cars can be registered, which as we like it or not is much cleaner for the environment. If those who cant afford a car, now is the time you start taking the public transport.

Our public transport isnt very very bad comapred to countries like indonesia, just because there are too many people who does not even take them that complains, making it sound bad

• John Doe on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

I hope this means they would be launching the Lexus CT 200h as well. As it should be fully exempted from duties and taxes given it is less than 2,000cc, it should be priced significantly cheaper than the rest of the Lexus models.

• Why is the RX Hybrid so expensive since the tax for hybrids has been brought down? ITs such a rip off!

• Ashman on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm

That’s because the tax break only applies to cars with engine capacity 2 litre and below. See if Lexus bring in CT200h, maybe can see major difference with its other counterpart such as VW Golf and Renault Sports 250 Cup.

• with the duty taken off still cost a bomb …. i was thinking 400K / 800K.

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:22 am

People in the luxury market will usually go for Merc or BMW. Read ‘usually’.

• alamak on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:23 am

i think hybrid shouldn’t even be allowed to be labeled or marketed as green or eco friendly. The additional resource, burden and pollution required to produce and disposed of those batteries are causing more damage than protecting it.

• LS600’s rims look a bit cheap right?

• 1Malaysia on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:41 am

The price so high cause our government prefer us to buy Proton. If possible all vehicle on the road are Proton so Proton can survive.

• Franco Baresi on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:24 pm

no.u buy lah honda.bmw.they still smile.coz the taxes go to them,memana u look at it semua kena.yg kena US lah…hahaha

• Xperien on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:43 am

I guess there’s a steep price to pay to save the environment. So why bother about saving it. The environment will take care of “itself” and will be sustained for many more generations to come. Even when “it” will not be able to hold on anymore, we will be long gone…..

• Lawrence on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm

I wonder how much does it cost just for the road tax itself??

• prius lover on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm

hmm…Lexus HS250h not inline…prrrtth

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:12 pm

dont force urself on something u cant afford,,,,live average and b e happy,,,have a nice day

• JaguarXJ on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Better buy the new jaguar XJ.better choice.better looking.better interior.nice to drive.

• Japanese finest for the rich!! But with those price tags, many would go conti IMHO

• Xperien, sorry to say this but u have a selfish and short sighted mentality.

• if the road in malaysia got no traffic jam and no potholes i’m considering to ditch my viva auto and get the rx450

• Has anyone test drive the car? Any recommendation on other hybrid car available in Malaysia?

• Carl Wong on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:57 am

Other hybrids:
      Toyota Prius, Honda Civic hybrid (new version next year or so), Honda Insight (next year) and many more hybrids :)!!

• the girls look like aunties…

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:44 pm

It is a limousine. We may enjoy the same ride by taking the VVIP coach or first class flight. If spending not an issue, get a luxury electric sport car instead could be a better deal. Like the porsche electric 918.

• bring in Toyota Crown, at 2.5L won’t be that bad eh.
    or they could try their luck with Lexus HS /Toyota Sai.

• guanerrr on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm

high CC is not practical now. Low CC + turbo charge is better.

• I thought these are only available in the UK but now is here. Is Malaysia the second country to get this?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Nah SIngapore already had it since 2007 starting from the GS450h

• Mpower on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:05 pm

yes! knowing the fact that this car can do wonders with all those fantastic gadgets from planet mars, lol but walao eh… RM1mil for toyota? might as well i go for 740i or 750i or S 500L, S550 AMG, and for the RX 450h 500k++?? wtfish?? lol… top up few k, u can go for Range Rover V6 3.0 diesel or V8 5.0 Petrol, its more practical all rounder 4×4. :-P

• Cars fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:24 pm

who you to care other ppl buy toyota or not…i think you only have kancil…

• dragster on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:25 pm

This brand is suitable for those rich and famous also bosses to show how much they care for the enviroment for purchasing these cars…ha ha

• Puttumayam on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:12 am

Isn’t the original Proton Saga arrived first with the blue tinted emblems? At this price range, I’ll get the Cayenne Hybrid instead.

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:21 pm

But still again here a big polluter by the rich and famous! Is a sin for the rich!
    Lucky is the poor that can avoid!

• paragon on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Now I know where the Proton Inspira alloy wheel design steals the idea from.

Or is it the RX450 who copied Inspira’s wheel design?…hmmm.