Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Test Drive Review

Megane RS

I have been itching to drive the Megane Renault Sport 250 Cup ever since we knew that it was coming to Malaysia. The previous gen R26 (the one with the big booty) was a great drive, and it would be interesting to see how Renault Sport would improve on the experience with the Megane RS, if it could.

The RS 250 Cup was launched two weeks ago at Sepang, and it looks like TC Euro Cars has ticked all the right boxes and pushed all the right enthusiast buttons. At just below RM230K, this king of hot hatches comes with 250 turbocharged horses, mechanical LSD, mega Brembos with slotted discs, Recaro seats, R.S. Monitor which reads out g-force and lap times (among other figures car nuts love) and the sole option of a six-speed manual gearbox. How about that for a menu!

Let’s start by looking at where the hot Megane stands in the world of hot hatchbacks. Like the Volkswagen Scirocco, Renault calls its three-door Megane RS250 a coupe – while the new body is much more than just two doors lopped off from the five-door Megane III, few will view this alongside purpose built coupes such as the Audi TT or Nissan 370Z.

In Europe, the Megane RS fights for the same buyer as the Scirocco R and Ford Focus RS, and with 250 hp and 340 Nm, the performance on offer is one (rather large) notch up from the Golf GTI and Scirocco 2.0 TSI. In the Malaysian context, one’s bound to compare the RM229,800 Megane with the 210 PS/280 Nm Scirocco, which exposes the VW’s ambitious RM245K pricetag.

That said, Renault Sport’s “keep it true” policy of only offering manual gearboxes means that its appeal won’t be as widespread as VW’s DSG equipped sporty cars. “Just as well” and “posers apply elsewhere” will be the type of answers you’re going to get from Renault and TC Euro Cars if the auto topic is raised – like the RS models before it, the Megane RS 250 Cup is a true enthusiast machine. In Malaysia, only Honda with its Civic Type R can claim to be so focussed.

It’s a known fact that I love the previous gen R26 F1 Team to bits, but Renault Sport – an independent entity based in Dieppe, France that also builds the firm’s race cars – has managed to improved every aspect of that car in its quest to have the best FWD car in town, although the basic recipe remains unchanged.

Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Test Drive ReviewThe engine is the same 2.0-litre turbo four, but over 25% of it is new. A twin-scroll turbo, new intake ports, reinforced piston/conrods, new coolers, sodium coated valves and piston ring carriers are among the changes. The result is 250 hp at 5,500 rpm and 340 Nm at 3,000 rpm, 80% of which (272 Nm) is available at 1,900 rpm. These figures are 20 hp and 30 Nm more than in the R26.

0-100 km/h is done in just 6.1 seconds on to a top speed of 245 km/h. That’s eight tenths of a second faster than a Golf GTI although it doesn’t feel that explosive in action. The big boost wave kicks in when you approach 2,500 rpm and it’s willing all the way to redline, which is about 6,500 rpm (there’s a customisable sound and light shift warning in the tacho).

The Megane RS 250’s engine doesn’t sound spectacular, but there’s a blare at high revs that’s more audible from the rear seats than the fronts. I also love the way it pulls from low speed in high gears – this flexibility allows you to short shift your way up, stick it in fifth and drive it like an auto when you’re in a mood to relax.

Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Test Drive ReviewThe ‘Cup’ in the name is from Renault Sport’s Cup chassis, which is 10 mm lowered with uprated springs, specific dampers and thicker anti roll bars. Compared to the standard chassis, suspension flex has been reduced by 35% and 38% respectively for the front and rear. Aluminium pivots and lower arms reduce unsprung weight while ball joints are used in place of bearings for less friction.

With so much power going to the front wheels, torque steer is sure to be an issue. The R.S. Performance Hub front suspension allows for a steering axis that’s completely separated from the damper, unlike the typical MacPherson strut setup where the steering axis is attached to the ball joint of the lower arm and upper damper mounting. I still remember driving the Megane 225 F1 Team and wrestling with the wheel under full load, which was fun for awhile but a distraction thereafter. Only small hints of such drama exists in the 250.

Although some might scoff at the rear torsion beam suspension, let’s just say that sometimes it’s not what you have, but how you use it that counts. We don’t care, as long as it works well, and with their track record, I believe in those guys from Dieppe. What also works well are those brakes – four-pot Brembo fists gripping huge 340 mm diameter slotted discs. And boy, don’t they look sexy under those black 18-inch wheels!

Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Test Drive ReviewIt doesn’t take long to feel a difference between this and the R26, just easing out of the parking lot will do. The clutch pedal is much firmer than before, and is now a potential muscle builder. It doesn’t like all footwear too – my long tipped leather shoes got stuck behind repeatedly so make sure you’re suitably equipped. Not too friendly in those jams where you inch along as well. Stalled it? Just push the start/stop button to resume play.

The light and floppy gearchange in the R26 was quite out of sync with the rest of the car, but now that’s gone, replaced by a lever that requires more effort and a firmer action. It’s short, precise, doesn’t snag and much better this way, as we would later find out in hard driving. Still not the sweetest in town, but good.

Many presume that the Megane RS is is too hardcore for urban roads and as a daily drive (as proclaimed by some in the comments section of previous posts). Perhaps it’s the serious sounding Cup chassis or the looks of the car, but that can’t be further away from the truth. The R26 was so good because you can extract its performance and handling on poor B-roads (only masochists should attempt in a Civic Type R!) and the 250 is similarly usable. It’s stiffer than before, but rough surfaces and bumps are sufficiently damped; I can think of less sporting hatches with noisier, less compliant suspension.

The Megane’s high speed primary ride is also very calm – the only time I encountered choppiness was on the ELITE highway stretch from the KLIA exit to Putrajaya. Speaking of cruising, the engine settles down quietly (110 km/h is done at around 2,300 rpm in sixth, if memory serves right) and wind whistling only starts from 170 km/h in certain situations. The dominant noise is from those fat 235-section Pilot Sports, but it’s not hair pulling annoying.

The decent ride is already an achievement in itself, and that’s before discovering that the 250 Cup has tighter body control and rolls noticeably less than the R26. It’s agile with quick reflexes and the controls are intuitive. The brakes feels natural and is easy to modulate while the heavier than before steering is slack-free and precise, although an extra dose of feel would be welcome.

All of the above makes for a great driver’s car, but we haven’t even got to the Megane’s ace card – the LSD. This mechanical limited slip differential from GKN Driveline is the defining part of the RS’ dynamic repertoire, endowing the Renault with serious country road pace. One can power out of corners much earlier than you normally would in a FWD hot hatch.

Do this, and instead of the nose pushing wide, you’ll feel the LSD “dig its heels in” and drag you out of the corner. The car is also very responsive to mid corner throttle inputs. One needs to experience this to believe – I really hope those lucky owners do so and not “waste” this ace card.

On top of it all, and perhaps the most valuable, is the fact that the Megane RS gives the driver the confidence to push all out. I took it up to Ulu Yam, then snake up Gohtong Jaya and down again, passing the Batu Dam before ending my back road afternoon at Selayang. It was great fun and I would have gone further if I had more time.

Never drove so hard before in recent memory and yet there wasn’t a moment where i doubted myself, grit my teeth and uttered “I hope it sticks”. The ESP – set at Sport, which allows for some slip before intervening – wasn’t even needed throughout.

As a memento, I immortalised the g-force meter reading from the session. As you can see, me and my weekend girlfriend Megan(e) breached 1g of lateral acceleration while doing the tango without us realising. It isn’t F1, but not too bad when you consider that a Bugatti Veyron is pulling 1.18g when accelerating from 0-100 km/h in 2.4 seconds.

Besides the gees, R.S. monitor can also show real time power, torque and boost readings, plus lap times and acceleration figures. You toggle the pages via a multi purpose stalk that also controls the stereo. Tyre pressure readings are integrated in the trip computer.

Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Test Drive ReviewInside, forward and side visibility betters the Scirocco, although rear vision is useless and parking involves guesswork (can’t have it all). Cabin quality and materials are improved over the previous gen Megane although not all will like the curved dash design.

Few enthusiasts will argue with what’s central to the business of driving though. The Recaros look great (much firmer than those in the R26) and hold better while the leather steering feels right in the hands. The yellow theme (rev counter, seats, seat belts, stitching) makes the cabin feel a bit more special, as do those studded aluminium pedals. The RM10K GT Pack adds in leather and a big moonroof.

And if the need arises, the rear seats can take in two adults with ease, or even baby chairs thanks to ISOFIX mounts. Although it’s hard to believe from the outside, rear headroom isn’t an issue, although the frames of those Recaros block legs from tucking under; I didn’t get comfortable back there because of this. The boot is a decent 344 litres and the rear seats can be split folded, but the load lip is rather high. At least you know that practicality doesn’t need to go out the window!

Equipment wise, our Megane RS is fully specced, with only the 19-inch Speedline rims not making the trip from Spain, which can only be a good thing considering the quality of our roads. Front, side and curtain airbags (37/37 max score in Euro NCAP), bi-xenons that swivel, keyless entry and start, cruise control, dual-zone air con and auto lights/wipers are among the standard kit.

The Megane Renault Sport 250 Cup is worth every Ringgit in my opinion, not because of all that kit, which is a bonus, but for the unique driving experience and blend of talents. It’s not for everyone, but those who get the appeal will always take the long road home.

Click here for the launch story and here for a video of the Megane RS on track

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:30 pm

what a lovely French lady! 2 surprises, first that we’re actually getting one with the Cup chassis and secondly, the fact that the ride is well-resolved despite the stiffer setup (see Type R).

Still, this is a niche product and more so the fact that its purely stick shift. But will appeal to those looking for a truly focused machine

And great write-up again Danny!

• my my. so it’s true, this IS a scirocco beater! such massive torque from low down. oh man..

danny my man, you should’ve turned off the ESP and see how easy it is to slide around.

if the ride is so much better than the rocco/golf gti should really ask the renault sport guys on how to have good ride on mere rear twist beam when they have all the advantages of rear multilinks, and still have a bomb of a handling!

ive sat in the car at the recent COTY and admired the cockpit and how well they are screwed together. this is a serious car right out of the box, and if this review is any good, without the sacrifice of real world practicalities and comfort – especially on our undulating and pockmarked roads.

the teutonics beware!

• I can attest to the fact that the ride is better in the RS250 than a standard hatch like a Pug 308T. Where the Pug would thump over hard bumps, the RS250 rides over them with a more pronounced cushioned feel. The damping is just so good. Driving hard round a tight corner, the back rotates in a very controlled manner to get you pointed in the right direction. It doesn’t swing out wildly. I am glad TC Euro elected to bring in the Cup chassis. It rides fine on our roads.

• mystvearn on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Danny,

1. Parking sensor is not standard in that car? Rear view is quite limited. Need to get use to guess-park then.

2. I think main question is which would you prefer, this or Golf GTI. Seems that the slight rear seat and rear doors just make it slightly unpractical when compared to the the Golf GTI. Seems like the family man will go for the golf and the person who does not have passengers to fill in the rear will go for this one…

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:08 am

Danny tidur already kua!

First of all… I LOVED driving the car. Where to get RM230k?

Now back to reality…

Rear view is basically zero. It’s already such a small window, and the car has very thick C pillars, whatever little view you have left is obstructed by the two front Recaro seat backs. The seatbelts are also pretty far back.

• freddie on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:30 am

wow you two sleep together aa? heheeh

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:58 pm

I cannot find any car with that performance -price ratio. Aside from used cars.

Two rear seats only? Bucket seats?

VW can actually sell the GTI cheaper. £ and € already drop a lot. Still maintaining their “don’t want to upset previous buyers” lame excuse…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:21 am

Parking sensors front and rear are standard, but off the shoulder rear view is non existent.

The Golf GTI is of course the more practical car for its extra doors and body shape, but it’s impressive that the Megane can contain two adults at the back and their luggage WITH such a shapely body.

The GTI is a good all rounder, but I’ll go for the RS, purely for the drive.

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Looks like you guys really like the car. Can PM me where you managed to get 170km//h :P

Start/Stop button at front passenger side??

• Steven on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:19 pm

great writ up guys..thanks, like paul said if oni i got 230k lying aroun..

this car in my opinion may be in the same clas ar the golf but its in its own niche in away..its not met to be practical its not ment to carry family aroun n its not reli mean to get stuck in d long rush hours traffic….

its ment to do so many thing else tat the golf cannot do and even if it does do it not as well as this car…like many b4 said its meant for a particular purpose so if ur purpose matchis it then get it if not stick to d mre practical golf…

• mohdjiman on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:10 am

Yeah…it worth every ringgit who spend on this machine…Good job Danny!!

• We Malaysian must see around us carefully and be wise. Civic FD2 or European Type R already on the market. Ratio between Megane : Civic FD2 probably around 1:1000… maybe and how come one would flamboyantly proud of owning a Megane? None of these scirocco and R26can beat the precision of K20A or even civic 2.0iVTEC equipped. it is proven by the amount of people ordering the car before and now compared to previous R26. And please provide us some reliablitiy issues in Type R or FD2 compared to massive reliability issue in TSI and Renault Waja 1.8. Only a monkey in Malaysia will choose other than Honda or Toyota.

Another issue nowadays is one willingness to go for Teana rather than Accord..what the…

I m not Honda salesman but just a normal Malaysian nationalist.

• Danny on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:01 am

Civic Type R is too hard, that’s a pure track car on the road, and only Enthusiast driver would want one. If I love to drive, I would probably go for Lotus, that’s a much better car.

When we talk about road car track spec, it must be “road” car enough, else it would end up closing the production line like Civic Type R, even if K20A is one of the best performance engine, but track car lover doesn’t have enough number to sustain the production.

Megane Cup is one of the best balance track spec car, however, I think this car would be something thumbs up, but not going to sell well.

Although the suspension setting is very balance and bias towards track, it is still too hard for most people.

Golf GTi has the market of :

1. Wife
      2. Family
      3. Car Enthusiast

Megane Cup will only get:

1. Car enthusiast

You won’t see much car any where… BTW, 308 has the 2 markets:

1. Wife
      2. Car Enthusiast

But consider the price tag at much lower, this car will attract tons of buyers.

Scirocco is a small market, and Renault Malaysia target it as competitor is a wrong move, they should target the better market – Golf GTi.

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:02 pm

They can’t target the Golf GTi group as it will clearly loose to the lacking rear doors

• Drift Master on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:27 pm

pretty much agree with Danny.

Civic Type R is too hard-core as a daily driver.

But you know, we live in Asia and Asian brands rule the roost here. So, of course you will find more Honda and Toyota and Nissans here. Don’t have to be Einstien to figure this one out.

Go to Europe, and you hardly see Honda, Toyota and Nissan there…so does that mean Honda, Toyota and Nissan make bad cars in Europe??

The RS 250 Cup is a very, very good compromise between a track car and a road car. You cannot escape the need to beef-up the chassis for sharp driving experience, but the fact that Renault Sport also tuned in some comfort elements and very mature chassis behaviour makes this RS 250 Cup a really nice car to drive.

Unfortunately, we don’t get the non-Cup chassis version. In Europe, you can have the standard car or the Cup chassis version. The standard car will be more than enough for the average Malaysian (tell me, how many of you actually trash your cars around Sepang on a regular basis?). But…the Cup version is the one everybody in Europe is going crazy over. So, even if I know that the non-Cup version is enough for me…I’ll probably buy the Cup version to be sure not to miss out on the crazy stuff everyone is raving about.

• tishaban on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:10 am

funny your userid is S60 for one who extols the virtues of Honda and Toyota :P

• i sat in both a gti and the latest civic r. Precise as the type r maybe, i rather go for gti.
      i had a backache the following day after just 2 hours in the type r the day before. the ride is jaw breaking hard! The gti is soooooooooooooo much more comfortable. Or maybe i am just gettin old… i know the type r is much more stable on the track, but i jus cant feel it on normal roads. Feels like the car is on air half the time. the gti jus feels much more assured

Think quite a few gti survived a few years wif no major reliability issues either. But if u havent noticed, even the japs had quite a few recalls lately. i am not trying to be bias, but just to share my experiences with both cars

i guess wat i am curious is if there is a major difference in comfort between the gti and the renault? or jus a minor one. Reliability will just have to wait and see…

• bobdbilder on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:32 am

Oooh! Oooh!

Maybe you’re politician who keeps calling people are animals. Therefore I have been a monkey all my life. But I am a monkey who does not contradict himself. I am a nationalist who drives a national car, buy local aftermarket products from local aftermarket manufacturers. This monkey will not pay outrageous sum of money for a depreciating asset. This monkey is stupid. You are super intelligent.

They should build a temple around you. Put flowers at your feet. Ever so often, Slit a throat of a virgin to appease you.

• rosdi on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Why waste the virgin by slitting her throat?.. If I was him, I would ‘unvirgin’ the virgin first… lol..

• tooyoott on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:28 am

Im a Malaysian, and i never buy T or H,, and of course im not a monkey..

• mohdjiman on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:20 am

U should not calling other people monkey if they not buying T & H…its rude!!! People nowadays just don’t have hearts…

• anti-first on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:02 am

wow….if this is how you trumpet your views on honda’s ‘alleged supremacy’ and ‘monkey
      theory’, thank goodness we have PLENTY OF CHOICES OTHER THAN HONDA!

• what other choices?…school holidays and CNY are coming closer and you wanna see more breakdowns on highways during blk kampung? you dare to drive renault RS 200-300km on our highways blk kampong? you dare?

• anti-first on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:50 am

wow…such lame statements, comments and questions from you, which again, are all speculation.

on PLENTY OF CHOICES OTHER THAN HONDA, could i interest you in browsing through the “Stories by Make” section on the main page of paultan.org? :)

on balik kampung, do you have the numbers on this ‘alleged breakdowns’ as i have yet to see any positive contribution to this topic from you?

on your ‘dare’ – hell yeah i would drive the RS during balik kampung – after midnight that is! :)

just a friendly reminder, s60: please don’t make a fool out of yourself further and get on topic.

• s60, how old are you?

• tre3keyz on Dec 01, 2010 at 12:24 pm

what others choices??..but sure you’re drivin a volvo instead..lol

• Justgothere on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:33 pm

hmm spoken like a true honda fan boy

regardless of make your bound to have one or two cars which are lemons. it’s probably due to poor QC (or the supervisor sleeping at that time).

anyway just because you’ve never heard of people complaining about the k20A doesnt means it’s 100% reliable. Google is your friend:

http://www.v-eight.com/tech_forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=513&p=3802

the way you’re making your point seems to show u love honda but then u contradict urself by saying you’re a nationalist so shouldn’t u be buying/defending a proton instead?

and thank god there are other car companies in the world other than T & H….

• Harrier on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:58 pm

bro, i drive k20a more tham 3year without any problem … did u drive CTR before ? if no pls dont simply comment the k20a engine got problem…

so, what brand of the car tak ada problem ??? can u mention ?? i think is no. cos even luxury car engine got problem tooo…

I hv test drive this megane, on straight is way faster than CTR. but in tern if handling lost to CTR… anyway both are great machine…. but i still love CTR, cos the VTEC sound is addictive !!! for those havent drive VTEC car go try it… u wont regret !!

• Wisdom on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Buy other than T & H a monkey?

Then buy T & H should be monkey with more money. Easy as that.

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

“Ratio between Megane : Civic FD2 probably around 1:1000… maybe and how come one would flamboyantly proud of owning a Megane?”

Halo weaboo, Ferrari very few compared to say Golf GTI, so that means Ferrari owners are not flamboyantly proud of owning their cars?

*facepalm*

• David on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Does it matter? Just because i don’t pick Honda or Toyota, i’m a monkey? Really, you’ve got a very pathetic mind. Right, you call me a monkey as i’ve got a Hyundai in my driveway. The motive for one to buy a car isn’t because of the badge itself, it’s because of the overall qualities of the car.

Why do people buy the Renault Megane RS despite not having such an extensive network? Easy, the car itself, the technologies it possess, the raw driving experience, all makes up very greatly.

And, by the way, your nickname of ‘s60’ truly disgraces a very good Volvo car. Pathetic.

• formless on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Good morning! S60, so long!
      Finally got free from your Japanese anime and drop a chili here?
      Sorry I didn’t read your post since it is too long, but how’s your doctor today?

• Renaultsport Malaysia on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:54 am

best car in the world?

• Danny on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:56 am

Far from it.

To be a best car, it must serve the purpose of practicality and fun! Megane Cup is half of the best car. :)

Come on, make something like Peugeot 308 or Golf GTi / TSi, if we want a fast track car, Lotus still the best! Malaysia Boleh…!

• drgn86 on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:56 am

i think this car is inspired by the gt-r, given the nissan-renault alliance…

• Grandisan on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:11 am

Thanks Danny for the detailed review , i’ve salivated enough till i’m dehydrated …Been dreaming this Megane RS for so long . i think i’ll get one in 2011 …
    Ehh is the dashboard made of soft or hard plastic ?
    When i saw the video clip of that Singaporean driving this Megane , the interior noise sounds quite harsh .Does it come from the engine bay or tyre noise .Lets admit it , most of the time we want our cars tobe quiet most of the time yet wild sometimes when the need arises
    Cheers !

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:14 am

Mostly tyre noise… when you are not driving spiritedly you can barely hear the engine, and there’s not much whoosh whoosh from the turbocharger either. Sounds like a normally aspirated engine. The 308 and the Golf TSI/GTI, all got some turbo-related soundtrack to listen to.

The dash surface (I’m not talking about shape) looks pleasant to the eye – top half soft, the bottom parts are hard, but doesn’t look cheap.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:33 am

Paul is right bout road roar being the dominant noise. It’s louder than usual on PLUS highway’s surface, not so on normal tarmac. It’s fine for me, but you might want to try it out for yourself.

By the way, in the track video it was full throttle, full attack, hence the loud noise. My default driving style is short shift up and lug along in a high gear (until opportunities arise) and the RS is happy to just chug along. In fact, I think it’s more subdued for most of the time compared to the R26.

• MechPebbles on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

I enjoy reading car reviews and do so all the time but I wonder if car reviewers are aware that their spending a few hours with a car targeted at driving enthusiasts is far different from their readers who take seriously the strong recommendations offered and actually purchase those cars. Now these poor readers are stuck for the next 5 years with a car they’ll have to drive every single day in real life circumstances.

Perhaps the reviewers’ highly infectious passion will sustain the new car owner for the first month or so but how long will that last when the hapless driver gets stuck in a real-life jam and he has to push the “muscle-building” (Danny’s words, not mine) clutch every few seconds?

I drive from Bangsar every morning to Klang/Meru/Kapar and back everyday after nightfall. Am I really in the mood to build muscles in my left leg only? Sure, my six month old Golf GTI looks sissified when compared to the testosterone-dripping RS250. And of course, purists will scoff at my dual-clutch transmission. But after working the whole day long, I’m honestly not in the mood for Sepang-style driving, assuming that the road ahead does indeed clear up for such theatrics. And besides, the Golf GTI is plenty exciting enough everytime the road opens up.

So, if you’re a reader with enough money to buy a car in this price range and not just reading these reviews for a cheap wet dream, I truly advise you to think long and hard. A reviewer’s gushing enthusiasm does not reflect real world use.

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Surely you would know what you’re getting into by buying a manual car?

• paultan and danny, care to have a review on 308 Turbo? it seems like you both did not review this fast hatch , only 308GT, which is harder and rarer.

• Is that about manual vs auto?

I guess it is all down to personal preference. I am a manual fan. I don’t like heavy clutches as well, but when you found one with nicely weighed clutch and slick-precise shift, that will be the best thing in the world for me. For example the combination existed in an S2000.

The problem is, our society despise manual transmission, they hated it, they think you bought a manual only because you can’t afford the extra money for an automatic transmission.

Don’t think manual is such a chore, it is fun, it is friendly, it is economical, and it is easy to maintain. I do hope people will find the joy of driving a manual but before they do, please don’t smear its reputation.

Cheers

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:36 am

The Golf GTI is a very good all rounder, lucky you.

Besides the positive points, I did mention that the Megane’s firm clutch isn’t very traffic jam friendly, and the fact that I didn’t get too comfy at the back.

I even signed off by saying that this car is not for everyone, if you noticed.

By the way, we did nearly 1,000 km in the RS over a few days, and I commute from Rawang to PJ daily, so I know what you’re getting at. Besides being great on a B-road, this car is rather good at doing the mundane as well.

• MechPebbles on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Danny, I read every single word of your review so I’m well aware that it’s detailed, comprehensive and even, to a certain extent, balanced. What I wrote above was not at all meant as a criticism of your review. I just felt the need to warn people who have the financial capability of buying in this price bracket but who need the use of the car for their daily activities. I felt that your extremely strong affirmation of the car, while understandable, is dangerously influential for people looking for a performance car in this price range.

You see, I totally disagree with Paul’s pithy response to what I wrote when he said that people buying a manual car should know full well what they are getting themselves into. He seems to think the car-purchasing decision process is wholly objective, logical and fact-based. I assure you it is not. Subjective emotions and whims play a great role especially with enthusiasts when faced with emotion-provoking cars like the Megane RS.

I should know. Having just bought a Golf GTI six months ago, with my finances still reeling from the shock, it just took a walk into the Renault showroom and a single sitting in the car before I was feverishly calculating how to work the RM230,000 into my life. Even my wife, who professedly hates performance cars, asked me to buy it. Logical and reasonable thinking do not count for much with cars like these. It’s like asking an alcoholic to think logically about consequences before taking the next sip!

I felt then, and still feel now, that a voice of reason and caution was called for to counter and even balance your (over?)enthusistic recommendations of the car.

• Paul Tan on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Sorry if it sounded pithy, I was replying from my phone.

I dunno about you but I feel someone who doesn’t want to handle a manual transmission everyone won’t consider a manual car no matter what, and there’s enough warning in the review as well as from an actual test drive at the showroom.

But then again what do I know, I took the effort to import an E46 330i manual gearbox from the UK for my old 5-Series :)

We can always agree to disagree, anyways!

• MechPebbles on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:06 am

Paul, you and I agree more than you will ever realise. My passion for the RS250 might actually be stronger than yours. For days after seeing the car, that was all I could think and talk about. My colleagues must have found me quite an annoyance when I popped into everyone of their rooms and insisted on taking them to the Renault site to show them the car from different angles.

But it is precisely the car’s violent seizure of my affection that made me increasingly aware of this car’s ability to exploit the vulnerability of car lovers.

And don’t think I hate manual transmissions. In truth, I quite despise full auto gearboxes. But when I started using automated manual transmissions eight years ago, I began to question the necessity of a driver-operated clutch. And then I bought the Golf GTI and completely fell for its hugely seductive DSG.

Now I’m not sure I understand why anyone needs a left leg at all in the act of driving.

• RON97 on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:34 am

Cheers MechPebbles…. I notice your concern. But thic car serves for different kind of driver. I believe it is not for daily commuting bumper to bumper situation. Driving in KL like me, i used AT (3 ring) car and on weekend I’ll switch to my AE86 eventhough my left foot is big.

• MechPebbles on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:48 pm

RON97, I did not issue my word of caution to people who can afford to dish out a quarter of a million Ringgit for a weekend toy. Such people need no cautions…ever! I was trying to warn my slogging, hardworking mates who can put as much money as they possibly dare into one single

• MechPebbles on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:52 pm

RON97, I did not issue my word of caution to people who can afford to dish out a quarter of a million Ringgit for a weekend toy. Such people need no cautions…ever! After all, does the Sultan of Brunei need caution before setting out to buy a fleet of Ferraris?

I was trying to warn my slogging, hardworking mates who put as much money as they possibly dare into one single automobile purchase and hope it will fulfill all their needs. People like me.

• I wholeheartedly agree that the VW GTI is the perfect all rounder. It has the best interior and drivetrain in it’s class. I used to drive a MkV myself and thoroughly enjoyed it. With that said, the RS250 is an extraordinary car and like Paul said, the person buying it will know exactly what he’s getting into. I have been driving the RS250 for a week now and have been in some stop and go traffic. I can honestly say that it’s been easier to drive in those conditions than I expected. The clutch really is not heavy, the ride is in many instances better than the Pug 308T. It’s definitely a little snatchier than the clutch you would find on a normal car, but it’s been easy to get used to. My wife drives it and she didn’t complain one bit!

At the end of the day, if I were to have just one car, the GTI would be it. For a second car, the RS250 is highly recommended.

• MechPebbles on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:40 pm

Chun, what you say is interesting: A Golf GTI for a one-car option but if financially possible, the Megane RS250 for a second car. Let’s take a look at this analytically for a moment.

If a person could afford both a Golf GTI and a Megane RS, would he do it? That’s getting scarily close to half a million Ringgit. If a person could afford so much money for cars, wouldn’t it be a better option to spend the whole sum on one car? I believe that for things I have a passion for, I’ll get the best I can possibly justify.

• I did not mean to say that I would get a GTI AND an RS250 as a second car.The first car needn’t be a pricey car like the GTI. It could be something practical like a 3008, Golf 1.4TSI, or heck, even a Camry. I think there is a large set of people who can afford this combination. Just look at all those households with 320i’s together with a Toyota or Honda sitting in the driveway.

• MechPebbles on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:20 am

Chun, wish I knew you in real life. I would love to explore the pros and cons of one and two-car ownerships from the perspective of an enthusiast over a meal.

• Machead on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:36 pm

MechPebbles, I am actually one of those lucky fellows who has both a R26 and GTI parked in my garage.

I totally agree with Chun the GTI is more of an all rounder “run around car” for the whole family.

Although I had the choice of upgrading to a RS250, I decided to stick with the R26 as I find the RS250 to be too “hardcore”! besides, I love my r26’s “booty”

• JonLing on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:06 pm

sorry, i have to disagree with you on that. i think people are entitle to their opinions, especially when you are a reviewer of something. for me, at the end of the day, anyone would still have to try to see the cars, touch the cars or even test drive the cars himself/herself, before he/she decides whether to purchase the car or not. If he/she is making decision based on how good the reviews are on the car solely, then sorry to say that is kinda inappropriate and irresponsible.

Bottom line is, you can’t blame your wrong decision just because you “perceived” someone has given you wrong information, which they are just trying to say what they feel about something. For me, that’s pure nonsense, sorry. If you feel like the information from someone is misleading, simply ignore it and move on. They are people who likes this type of review, and i think as a car reviewer, it’s his/her responsibility to review a car based on how good its handling is, especially when it comes to a driver-focus car such as RS250 Cup.

Again, i don’t think anyone should be “misled” into buying this car if this car really doesn’t suit their needs.

• MechPebbles on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Did I say people are not entitled to their opinions?

Did I say buyers should not test cars for themselves?

Am I blaming anyone for any wrong decisions I have made?

Did I say Danny is giving false information so as to mislead his readers?

Have I denied Danny his responsibility to review according to his likes and dislikes?

Do I myself not have a right to my opinion? Do you even understand my arguments? Or does this whole discussion elude your comprehension?

• Paul Tan on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Interesting debate here, keep it up but be nice to each other, let’s be civil :D

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:38 am

MechPebbles, I get where you’re coming from.
            This head vs heart thing, never easy isn’t it? :)

• Looks showy in renaultsport yellow, grey looked way cooler!!! Is a pity those awesome looking rims from its hometown is not suitable here! Why is it not suitable??? Easy to get scratch or what?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:45 am

Those 19in rims come with 235/35 tyres.
      Our road surface is waaaaay too bad with waaaay too many potholes for those!
      Not to mention the wallet damage when it comes to replacing them!

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:03 am

this car is a real value for money car. my only gripe is the reliability & maintenance issues. Any R26 owners able to give feedback upon their cars?

• shawal on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:27 am

The Best part owning of owning this car , is that you can gawk at it all day because it is sinfully beautiful …

TC Eurocar got a SUREFIRE winner on their hands, god i want one…

(If i have the money, It’ll be either this car, or a Alfa Giuletta 1.4 multiair, altho the alfa is more of a real world choice…)

• How come Tan Chong launched 2 cars in a same week, one is hot car like this but another one soooooooooo “uncle”? The uncle car interior color is suck, if dark color will look nicer.

• Tiadaid on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:49 am

Because in life there are uncles and there are young ones. Make money by satisfying both.

• AWESOME REVIEW!!! n i agree wit u, 4 that kinda money, its worth every cents.. cracking car this, fast, comfortable, looks awesome, gud 2 drive, quite practical, safe, n very very well equipped..

given the choice the one i would buy wit my hard earned cash, my vote still goes 2 the scirocco, but not by much..

• zikrifuad on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:01 am

” You buy this car with your heart, not with your head”

An awesome car. I have driven this and the previous R26. I cannot comment on CTR coz never driven it. R26 is simply fun but maybe not as good for daily use compare to RS.

If practicality, reliability is your main priority, better buy normal cars. Sincerely. But if you want excitement car, as well as daily car, quite reliable… this might be the answer. How about GTI or Scirocco? The VWs are more “good boy” kind of car. This RS feels will entertain and make you happy… really.

I respect all car manufacturer and they have specific objectives when designing their cars/models. They will do their best and it is not an easy task. So, if we understand that fundamental, every manufacturer has its advantages and disadvantages (like people also).

And, reading and knowing a car via its spec sheets and reviews, do not judge the car actually. Different people have different feedback/feel to a car. The best is experience it, drive it, or better owned it..

• lchan on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:45 am

money money money..its so sunny..in a rich man’s world!….

• Consider the low specs and higher premium mk6 over mk5, This one sound more logical with LSD, recaros and etc. Love the 6 speed, if only I can change faster than the DSG. =D

Driving one of these, at least you wont see another one at the traffic light. Already car is a depreciation might as well buy the one that others don’t have.

• Lkhoe on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:01 am

Note that getting in out of those recaros can be literally a pain in the ass for those of generous proportions.

• Paul Tan on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:03 am

I am 110kg with a size 42 waist… they’re surprisingly easy to get in and out. And I’m quite comfortable in them. Serious, try them. Civic Type R’s Recaros are tighter and less comfortable.

• zikrifuad on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:14 pm

agree with Lkhoe. Getting in still ok. But getting out a little tricky and will includes “touching” the fabric… hope it lasts long.

• Kwing on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Like a true breed sports car

• Lappy on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:03 pm

From the review I’m sure it’s a very fun car to drive, but not so much of a day to day ride. Especially the hard manual transmission clutch in KL traffic jam, my left leg hurts just by thinking of it…..
    Same as Scirocco it’s more like a life style car or a second car.
    If someone wants a more practical car and occassionally to have some punch or fun, then a cheaper Golf GTI will do the job.
    Sometimes it’s difficult for a car manufacturer to make a car that are the best of both ways,(sporty & practical) personally I think the Golf GTI is the closest to achieving it.

• nabill on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm

i believe at the end of the day , at this price bracket , brand exposure is important , thats wht those who are actually in a market for this type of car , thy will choose a scirocco or a gti most of the time…it doesnt matter how good the rs250 is…..but i think most buyers part their money for the VW badge not the renault….

not blaming the car , bt blaming renault for the looong inactivity in our market until the brand died down….

• Mancini on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:31 pm

if i have money i would choose the megan(e) instead of scirocco. u a right about vw agressive present compaired to renault but like malay qoute ‘hanya jauhari mengenal manikam’

• Civic_RS on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Today Renault technology is leading the auto industry and its not so suprise if this RS erformance is better than VW car..Look at Red Bull Racing and next year there are 25 percent of the car in F1 use Renault engine.

Bravo Renault.

p/s – hope bcoz of megane, Gti price will drop a bit..hahahahha..

• I wouldn’t say Renault is leading the auto industry, technology wise. VW is by far. Look at all the technology they have under their group, Audi, Lambo, VW, Bentley, and of course the grand daddy of everyone, Bugatti. VW’s drivetrain killer combo of the 2.0TFSI and DSG gearbox is hard to beat by anyone. But I would say this. Renault have some petrolhead geniuses working over there in Dieppe. For mainstream performance cars, no one can tune the chassis and suspension setup for mundane cars like the Megane (with a torsion beam for crying out loud!)

• Civic_RS on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm

i agreed with you about that..DSG and TFSi are really amazing technology..i choose to put mainstream performance car as the countermeasure of the technology car manufacture seem renault tech in tuning (include GT-R 35 Z tune), while F1 tech (chassis, aerodynamic, gearbox) is ahead of ferrari..However, VW win in term of performance and smooth car on the road, but not off road.

• beatnik on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:40 pm

It is good to see manufacturers are still making machines for pure enthusiasts! But this car will not garner much of the pie chart, simply because it is targetted at a niche market.. and Malaysian car market does not show love for a real manual transmission :( Many wannabes just want a fast car but with robotic transmission. Let driver do the gear change, not the car :) Love the gadgets trickery in this car!

• Maserati on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Nice car but French cars are known to be problematic in msia due to weather conditions. Wat a pity

• skyLine4ever on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:01 pm

i dont like the shape of compact or hatchback car…
    but the performance and the safety attracted me…
    250hp and 340Nm…
    that’s quite powerful though..
    4 brembo disc brakes….
    no wonder the price is 200k++…

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:06 pm

What car COTY 2010

http://whatcarawards.net-genie.co.uk/Awards/396820/renault_megane_rs250_cup.html

• Renault Malaysia should launch its other variant in Malaysia aswell, the much civilised Megane 2.0 16V CVT for the urban dwellers who want to look good in such a beautiful hot hatch. RM180K would do :P

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:36 pm

i think by importing too many variants will dilute the RS. Furthermore I was talking to the salesman and they were telling me that if they bring in the normal spec Renaults it will be too expensive to justify the price. Much like the high end Citroen that costs RM400k. It’s even rarer than a Lamborghini!!!!

• Bobby on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:07 pm

It’s exactly like a Cvic Type-R, only faster and much more comfortable. It’s comfort levels rival that of the Scirocco if memory serves me right.

• rosdi on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

For the price, I’d still go for Mini Cooper S or Scirocco. Mini has cheeky look, Scirocco has DSG, this car is purely for hardcore racers.

• Mini Cooper S? Seriously? That car is way overpriced no matter how cheeky it looks. Plus the RS250 is not for hardcore users. The Civic Type R is for hardcore drivers. The RS250 is for serious drivers. There’s a difference.

• apooo samy on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:16 pm

dun hav enough money to buy this beast now…but will wait until 3-5 years when the price more reasonable……perhaps this car price go down like previous renault..hehehe

• power on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

if you cant afford it new, you wont buy it when its old ,lol. imagine where would you get the spare part, and the price.

• Duncare on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Check out the video produced by FifthGear on Megane 250 Cup vs Scirocco R vs Focus RS….and also a fight with a mysterious competitor a league above!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voY2Eu4JzWw

• I saw Vortex generators on the spoiler.. I thought it’s only for sedan? Is it working on a hatch back?

• ayamxxx on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:06 pm

the European car journalist already concluded that this is a very good car. BUT it drink fuel like no tomorrow!!

• if you can buy the car, you can pump the petrol la wei.

• power on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:31 am

at least in msia, where the car is so much more expensive, than the petrol.

in uk, car cheaper, petrol more expensive.

• junaidi on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:53 am

also in Malaysia, if price of petrol is not subsidized by gov, ppl will be encouraged to use public transport.

But our public transport is a failure. KL only has 4-5 million ppl.
          Tiny.

• u wanted the horse run fast… but dont let the horse eat grass… how to run?

• Drift Master on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:03 pm

not at all – if you drive it normally, it will give very good mileage. but if you thrash it, that mileage will drop of course…like in any car.

Don’t forget, in Europe fuel efficiency is a VERY important criteria. That’s why you see people driving diesel cars everywhere. And with all those CO2 laws, you need to be fuel efficient.

• kataksedih on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:09 am

already book and test drive =)
    in my dreams =(

• firefox on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:59 am

ohohoh…0-100 km/h is done in just 6.1 seconds ….what a powerfull car…and below 240K…good price for RS spec, if VW…sure cannot get it….

• Rafayette on Nov 30, 2010 at 5:16 am

I wonder…if our government remove the tax for imported cars, is it the current on-road car prices owned by those big-fat salary guys will reduce too?

• Drivetrain on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

seen this car last week in Mont kiara, oversize hatchback. Amazing acceleration

• namerku on Dec 26, 2010 at 9:51 am

sorry kinda noob…on the gearknob..got gear G…G stand for what meh?

• Harrier on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Great Car, But i think Civic type R , Engine sound will more attractive !!!

In track race, both car will almost same in lap time.

I still prefer Type R engine.

• i have seen this car tracking in sepang, understeer. nothing greater compare to gti and scirocco. on daily use, vw build a better car coz the vw has dsg gearbox, on track this car is nothing close to type r. stock type r (fd2r) can clock 2m40s, 3 second faster than this car. so nothing to sheer about!

• gen-x on Jan 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm

can u post the vid on the alleged stock fd2r doing 2:40 at sepang? would love to know the driver and learn a pointer or two

• Joe Chloe on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:48 am

which 1 better…impreza wrx sti,this megan or golf gti

• I did a test drive today, shame to spell that … but I stalled it for quite a few times to move it to the main road. Lousy driving skill

I found the clutch is really a muscle builder and you need to be in correct foot wear and position to handle the clutch nicely. But is just all about familiarization.

Quite a nice & short experience, I do hope to spend more time taming this machine and enjoy the fun of driving it.

• skymotor on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:37 am

Better go for Honda Civic Euro Type-R,this was a good car~~Nice look~~suspension not too hard~~suit for dairy use….I Love It~~Because i own 1…..

• skymotor: totally agree….. coz I am biased as I own 1 too!

I think it is def not as powerful as this car and FD2R… But I think interior is better than both, and more comfy too….

– You spend more time looking the interior than looking exterior of the car – …. FN2R still my choice!

• skymotor on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:43 am

Better go for Honda Civic Euro Type-R,Nice look…Suspension not too hard suit for dairy use~~~I Love It~~~Because i has own this RaRe Car~~~

• chrislove proton on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:03 pm

easy, if you have the money, helpful reviews like this are just to let you know there are options out there.

Instead of Sticking to the staple T&H, some of these European cars give better options.

For me, i will not settle for CTR- too ah beng. normal Civic drivers will make up their cars like one. And overall qualities of the car, except comparing speed? If it is this wonderful Renault, no imposers at all. its really niche.

And if you can afford a niche car priced this range, should maintainence be a concern? if you cant even afford paying for a full tank of petrol then don’t even bother.

I have no budget for this monster, i have only a Golf TSI. It suits me fine. Some ppl ask why not consider Camry 2.0 instead- well you see how we Malaysians idolise T&H. In terms of power, handling, comfort, safety- this entry level Golf beats Camry hands down. But yes, Camry looks more elegant (only form the outside), more executive and that is about it. the interior will make me puke, sorry.

What i am saying is for you T&H owners out there, stop insulting the decision/ and intelligence of others just because they make better, well-informed decision than yours.

Learn to appreciate other makes instead.

• Harrier on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:16 am

Ya bro, but u can’t compare ur golf to camry lo… Different category…. CTR n Megane also different class Ctr is NA engine n megane is turbo….

Is ur choice to choose…

If compare to megane n CTR… In daily drive, handling CTR is the best !

No offense bro… Just my cent..

• turboVSna on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:27 am

I reckon that CTR not in the same league with this megane rs.There are number of turbo hothatch on the market ,but you will hardly find a NA high rev car like CTR.About the handling,it will be pointless if you can’t track the CTR all the time,how many of us will buy a CTR or megane just for track purpose,most of us get those car mostly for woo girl and driving pressure.