Porsche invests 150 million euros to upgrade R&D centre

Porsche will invest around 150 million euros in a long-term strategic site plan for its R&D centre in Weissach. The money will go to building a high-tech wind tunnel, design centre and an electronics integration centre, among other facilities. The sports car maker also plans to recruit 100 more engineers.

“The new system will help us to maintain Porsche’s top position in the fields of aerodynamics and design and to further extend our lead. Outstanding design with optimal aerodynamic efficiency have always been classic Porsche strongholds,” says Wolfgang Dürheimer, Porsche board member for R&D.

The wind tunnel will have direct access from the adjacent design studio, and separate entrances for the discrete completion of customer development projects, according to Porsche.

The new studio will offer more space for designers, who are involved from the earliest concept phase of the vehicle development process. Sub-areas which were previously scattered around Porsche’s Weissach site can now be grouped in the future electronics integration centre.

“This spatial proximity is a major advantage. The close interaction of our suppliers’ various electrical system/electronics experts and colleagues from related specialist fields during development will contribute significantly to the success of our work, particularly in the case of electronics, which now play a role in virtually every vehicle component,” Dürheimer explains.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Reeza on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Why need to invest? Just take the VW’s chassis and dress it up put a Porsche logo job done. Many people will buy because of the logo.

• lizamali on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:38 pm

good RnD will be good product release.

• seriusSAM on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:49 pm

while our “proud of the nation”; PROTON will spend 150 million EURO just to sponsor an F1 team for Group Lotus

I hope PROTON will learn from big car manufacturer on how they spent their money wisely
    I’m not saying 150 million EURO to sponsor an F1 team is useless; but they should know on where the priorities should be.

• rally_fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:39 pm

group lotus spends rm150million on ‘their’ F1 team. lotus runs as a separate company of their own.

• seriusSAM on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:12 pm

GROUP LOTUS plc don’t have 150 million euros and they don’t have their own F1 team
        even if they make a bank loan, who’s gonna be the guarantor? It’ll be PROTON

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Loss making carmaker try something big by join every racing series…1 big question mark who going to paid for it…for me it is no points to join every series racing…jz focus series that related to your road car series example audi / porsche did….and also bmw in dtm series…don’t be too smart later proton will be the loser then sell u group lotus 1 dolar to other automaker…when proton lose $$$ mean our 1 m’sia govt lose $$$…for more detail RAKYAT, the tax payer will be the actual big loser in the end…1 word to describe no brain group lotus…as usual proton dun hv good business thinking…even dont know how to do business…still stuck in 90an rebadged back lancer like in the old days for saga, wira, waja (taiwan version lancer fortis)…sorry no campro for inspira…..campro dah pi masuk longkang..

• Duit rakyat ma, for them they no need to think twice when spending it because thats not thier money, add more taxes and will earn back.

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm

this scenario seem like Group Lotus act like the actual big boss…by right Proton is the real owner…they did thing terbalik…proton only follow what group lotus said…this is not a boss should act that why…proton really need to show group lotus, proton is your boss…i decide, u follow ; not u decide, i follow…weird scene in business world…

• What for? All the 911 looks the same. Equally stupid.

• Diablo on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Porsches sell well and they are profiting. Doesn’t seem stupid to me. Looks are always subjective but until you’ve actually driven one you won’t know what you’re talking about.

• @szw, one of the things that make the 911 sell well is the fact that it still looks like a 911 even if its one of the most modern cars out there now.

• xavier lert on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:37 pm

its unimaginable how much monny they hav…

• Just collaborate with indocar…and put the tawon badge…preaty cool..

• Just collaborate with indocar…and put the tawon badge…pretty cool..

• Sruban99 on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Did anyone notice that the sculpture that the dude is doing actually looks more like a ferrari rather than a porsche. Mungkin they sapu this fellow from maranello kut!

• Jaybond on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Actually, that could be the final design mock up for Porsche 918 Spyder, which hopefully will be powered by a more conventional petrol engine instead of hybrid..I mean people is not ready yet for hybrid sportscars..

• thats the porsche newest model, the one with hybrid power. 9xx i forgotten

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:16 pm

not sapu lah….ferrari ppl kick him out, dun want him anymore…reject him no ppl want then proton ambil balik testing loh…mana tau apa2 racing series him also want…F1 also want euro 60m x 5yr = 300m…convert in ringgit 300m x 4 = RM 1.2 Billion …all racing series need a lot money to run…rakyat m’sia money in orang turkey hand sure expense as much as his like… Proton sure use that money for his Proton car design, R&D new model and don’t always give excuses too high cost for develop a new car…i guess proton malay boss like lumba kereta more than do business / make new car…may be that why m’sia hv so many MAT REMPIT on the road with high stunt skills…7 time world champion valentino rossi also not dare to try that hero stunt

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm

enter F1 buying 25% Renault F1 team for 60m euro per year for 5 yr term = 300m big money lohh…Not own the management team that hv power to run the whole team, but just only a title sponsor like PETRONAS in Mercedes hv nothing power to control the team direction & management authority…but the team still remain Renault with new name change to add Lotus at behind name…Renault using Lotus name for their shake to keep promote their brand for global attention…anyway RED BULL is alr strong enough keep advertise Renault name as new world champion…

• I wonder if i can afford that clay model…

• the clay guy is doing a good job

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:45 pm

They should.

Especially for their exterior dept. For now, even Cayenne seems outdated and looks cheap..

• CHONG KAT on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm

still froggy face