Your next holiday trip – a visit to the Nurburgring?

The Nurburgring is arguably the most well-known race track in the world. It is a place of many events – some a cause for celebration such as the Nissan GT-R trashing the Porsche 911 in terms of lap times, and also a place of sadness, such as the recent death of a Lexus LFA prototype test driver.

As it is used as a handling proving ground for many car manufacturers, even if you’re not there to enjoy the drive, just stand by the spectator fence and you’ll be able to see all kinds of strangely disguised cars with stripes, polka dots and what nots. And disguised supercars still make the awesome sounds that they’re supposed to make. This is thanks to the ‘Ring laptimes being used as benchmarks recently.

Visiting the Nurburgring is like a motorhead’s pilgrimage to the mother of all tracks. How would YOU like a chance to visit the Nurburgring, drive a car that has a few hundred horsepower on its legendary tarmac and come back with the experience of your life, claiming to have done what not many other car enthusiasts have done? We have something very exciting in store for you in the next few weeks so stay tuned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Got hotel in middle of ring is it? Or you want to mention play this track on GT5 for the PS3 :P

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Betul punya Nurburgring… bukan virtual! :D

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm

haha ok. Next, must detail the cost in the upcoming post:P AirAsia X is not flying to Germany yet

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Won’t be of any cost to you, if you’re lucky! :)

• mystvearn on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

I am already in UK, cheaper to bring me to Germany:P hahahaha. Or this is only open to people staying in Malaysia at time of contest…

• pomen_gtr on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:23 am

paul….can i tag along with u….

no matter how..just let me drive there…
        pls pls pls… ;)

• Outdoor Person on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Fuwaahhh..Im so goin to enter this contest!!

• stanlee on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Driving a Proton inspira there???

• trav_da_man on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Eh Paul this layout is the Nurburgring from the German GP from F1, not the original 20km Nordschleife, aka the green hell.

Regardless of what, if i going to backpack to Europe, i would love to rent one car and drive though the legendary Nordschleife! Then go hit the autobahn as well!

• andrewk on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:05 pm

You noticed it too…

Regardless, I’m game for a go at either track… where do i sign up? :)

• seriuosSAM on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:50 pm

damn this sound fun already

what type of car will they provide?

got MP4-12C ke? or any other exotic car?

http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/mclaren-mp4-12c-prices-2010-11-24

• libralcl on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:00 pm

I wan I wan =)

• bobdbilder on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Track days! Would luv it if the contest is not something that is so objective like filling up blanks for a moto or provide gratuitous amount of praising for a corporate entity. That would be a total sellout. Its going to be a German brand isn’t it?

Gonna fire up my GTR Evo on Steam. Logitech Momo FF (soon will be a G27) already humming.

Spring time in Germany would be nice. Hopefully the Euro goes lower by then. The Greek and the Irish did their best. Bets are now on Portugal and Spain!

• provide a lotus Evora to drive would be more than great!

• fried tape play on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:25 pm

i smell proton-ish here…hehe..but, dun care..i want!

• Kelvin on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:41 am

Am I eligible since i’m already in Germany? :p

If not, I’ll go there by myself and meet up with some fellow car enthusiasts!

Also, I’m trying to get a place in the BMW M3 Nürburgring Experience next year too.

• i’ve been on the track already with my lecturer’s evo 8 equipped with porsche ceramic brakes for our PRACTICAL. But sadly i’m on the passenger seat. I was a great experience just to be on the track… woot…

• 2fast on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:22 am

Great idea! Will be more than happy to go there again. Also include visit to some of the amazing car museums in Germany.

Ideal cars for the Ring will be the Porsche 911 turbo, Nissan GTR or the BMW M3. Sabine Schmitz as the co-driver will be nice too :)

• bobdbilder on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:13 pm

We need downforce. I’ll take a Radical SR4 thank you. Vickki Butler-Henderson to bitch about my driving.

• Wats it? Wats it? A competition? Can’t wait!

• rossi46 on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:05 am

My dream holiday….to learn to ride a CBR1000RR there and after that learn to drive a GTR @ Godzilla….later go for a sport touring ride around the Europe Alps on a Beemer bike…before going back to Msia, Fly to Canada for a Mountain Bike ride at Whistler Bike park…phew!, what an adrenaline induce tour package….

• jasonteh on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:47 pm

hi there!

i’m interested to join! … but could someone help and provide more detailed info about this event? :)

PLS…… :)

• Test drive a Satria S2000 thr

• bobdbilder on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Ich mochte dieses Spiel zu gewinnen.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:33 pm

You’d like to win this game? By all means, you may certainly try when the time comes! :D

• carpethair on Dec 01, 2010 at 12:28 pm

I WANT !!!!!!!!!!!11