Hyundai Grandeur (Azera) – first images released!

This is the sole official image of the new Hyundai Azera, or Grandeur in some markets. Turning out to be exactly like the sketches we showed you last week, Hyundai’s big saloon gets a dose of the company’s “fluidic sculpture” design to match the rest of the range. From this image, we can see that the old car’s characteristic rear haunches were retained.

Immediately recognisable as the Sonata’s bigger brother, the Azera slots in between the D-segment Sonata and the luxury rear driven Genesis saloon. In the US, the Azera should be taking on the likes of Toyota’s Avalon and the Ford Taurus.

This car’s predecessor was sold in Malaysia by Hyundai-Sime Darby and it came with a 3.3-litre V6 engine. Launched in 2006, the ‘TG’ Azera sold at RM220,000 back then. The XG from another generation back was also sold here, and there are still a few running around.

UPDATE: One more image after the jump!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mfahd_88 on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

toyota camry wanna be with better exterior

• azera diff segment as camry duh

• observer on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:52 pm

yup. sonata compete with camry accord. azera compete with toyota crown and honda legend

• I think you meant Toyota Avalon. Toyota Crown should be competing with hyundai genesis.

• zimba on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:38 pm

LOL… If u go do some research, Toyota Crown is cheaper than Toyota Camry outside Malaysia.

• autojohndoe on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:44 am

so… can we buy it outside?

• zaff1984 on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:19 am

Yes you can… but if you bring here, you have to pay tax… and no warranty from local hyundai i think…

• squawk on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:57 pm

This Azera is Avalon class.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:03 pm

LOL.

Camry no where near the Azera. I would forgive you if you said Avalon…. but given you probably never seen a Toyota Avalon…..

• handsome*dude on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:33 pm

guess u never seen a toyota crown??

• hmm..front looks like a camry

• JamalPakTongko on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Good as company car.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Hard to tell not seeing the new Azera….but having driven the Genesis, this looks larger and something in bettween the Genesis and the Equus.

And serious, OOT on the Genesis, after driving that…hard to imagine why anyone would buy an Acura TL or the GS400

• blacky on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:15 pm

mazda likes smiley faces but hunydai likes to squeeze the face

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Mazda happy, Hyundai Sad…they show their feeling emotion by how they design their car face line up…pretty good reason!!!

• Doubt on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Look like camry?
    for me it’s totally diff shape.. lol
    *this looks so much curvy than camry and the front lamps.. totally different la…

• scania on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:46 pm

damn like this fluidic design, wonder when new elantra will come here… c

• Paul Tan on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:48 pm

soon after they finish the right hand drive production i guess. they unveiled LHD only.

• Emily tan_15yrOld on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:36 am

I use both hands to drive why there restrict ppl use only left hand?

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Just like here, RHD – right hand on the wheel, left hand on the phone. :-D

• shawal on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Whoah, It has imposing looks ,i’ll give you that , raised rear waistline is the highlight of the design

• Ha Gnih on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Looks NOTHING like the Avalon. The curvaceous details on the Azera is Oh-So-Sexy. The Avalon looks somewhat boxier and bulkier which translates to ? B-O-R-I-N-G. The Sonata is a very excellent drive by the way. The 2.4 is so much more powerful than the Camry’s. Must be the new 6 speeder theta II engine. Mileage wise ? I get an extra 85 – 145 km on a single full-tank compared to the camry as well.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Thank you for those who given me the thumbs up. Toyota and Honda have been getting the good ratings all these while, and luckily, I’m not a sucker for ‘word of mouth’. I actually went down to the Hyundai dealer one day and asked for a test drive. I asked for the 2.0 variant but instead, the sales dude got me the 2.4, which he claimed to be so much fun to drive, and guess what ? It really IS !! Albeit the 2.4 engine, unlike the Camry’s, the cockpit was totally silent and even at full throttle, I can only hear a wee bit of the engine noise, unlike the Camry’s, at stand-still, the so-called ‘power’ noise of the engine actually leaked into the car and I thought Toyota must have screwed up the dampers for MY car. So went over to another friend’s and asked for 2nd opinion, he too complained the same. Needless to say, after giving him a ride in the Korean, his Sonata is going be delivered to him in 3 weeks time. :)

• dragster on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:23 pm

wah! Hyundai copy, copy ,copy become camry’s twin sister…..but one thing about this brand…the resale value suck!!! remember the old sonata 2007 model…..lasti time costa treasure when purchased….now RM 400000 ppl not interested…..coz spare part…..In east M’sia….i mean

• lol? you simply bash because of the resale value? Does it matter for you? You got buy Hyundai? And thats a long time ago story. Copying Camry? Hyundai need to? Every cars from them now looked tons better compared to T & H, why they need to copy? T & H looked so BORING and I think everyone agree with that, Hyundai and Kia looked alot better and younger.

• then you are copy copy copy like others saying that hyundai’s resale value very low… T&Hspare part price here is low in terms of original part or recond parts? heheh
      Fortunately my family drives the car until it’s like 10+ years? So resale value doesnt bug me tho. =)

• Ha Gnih on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:36 pm

duhh : I hear you brother. My family does the same too. We buy one car and rarely sell them off, well in this case, we sold the camry for the sonata and really didn’t regret doing so because the Sonata really IS a great car. Nice shape, very good handling and most importantly, fuel economy.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:43 am

C’mon dude. When one can afford a Hyundai, I don’t think resale value matters anymore. Hey, with the economy these days, I don’t think resale value earns you much anyway. People are looking for smaller cars already. If you can afford a Sonata, chances of you selling it back to the market is very slim, because you will be so thrilled driving it that you totally forget about how ‘shitty’ Koreans used to be. One thing for sure, I traded-in my camry for a sonata and guess what ? It was the best choice I ever made. Theta 2 engine ROCKS yo !

• tanSri_Paultan_dunPlayPlay on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:54 am

ROFL since when ppl says “When one can afford a Hyundai…” U meant the Singaporean and Korean taxi drivers? lolz

• Ha Gnih on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:57 pm

ROFL since when ppl says “When one can afford a Hyundai…” U meant the Singaporean and Korean taxi drivers? lolz <—– You have just made me LMAO. Nuff said. :)

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Resale value of RM 400k, ok what…. :-P

• one word can describe “bravo”!!!

• funny car on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:32 pm

The motto ‘fluid’ at its best. Too fluidy to my liking

• 2nd value is still driven buy demand and supply forces..
    Owesome looks yet nobody buy still a trouble ..

• keven21 on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:19 am

it looks like Camry had sex with Sonata YF…..

• reuben how on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:16 am

will never be a success in Malaysia, but it is a good car. The Genesis won the North American Car of the Year award in 2009. Have driven the i30, sonata ix 35. Unfortunately, the same dealer sells the Camry Hybrid. Hyundai doesn’t plan to make RHD sonata hybrids, so ended up with the camry…

• nolan on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:31 am

nicer than the boring Teana…..

• Anti P1/MMM on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:38 am

To be frank, Hyundai exterior design was good at the first sight, but wont last looking long after several years. I found hyundai car exterior shape was improved these few years. But still not as good as japanese car design. On the other hand, KIA vehicle shape may done better, but engine technology not as good as Hyundai. My only chince was still japanese made model. But, i hate japanese when second world war.

• tanSri_dannytan_comePlayPlay on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:00 am

yea i hate the Japs too, they raped and tortured my friends’ grand fathers and mothers and my friends’s friend grand grand fathers and mothers! But, i luv jap av after second world world.

• zimba on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:36 am

There’s goes the point: Extreme desing usually only looks great at the first sight, but u get bored easily, simple design looks dull initially, but later on u love the simple look as it’s more practical.

• Raymond on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:54 am

I could not have said better, you have hit the right spot. Indeed, Hyundai design looks good only at first sight. After its novelty wears off, the design is an eye-sore.

Hyundai squeezing design only works for exterior, at least on the first impression. Looks terrible on its interior.

• zaff1984 on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:37 am

I also felt the same, nice but after few years it become boring… i think it because they design according to trend not their own traditional design language… e.g previous Sonata totally different for current Sonata… taking Audi A4 such as example, they don’t look too different from their previous version… timeless design.

BUT, honestly I still like all these Hyundai new upcoming model like new Sonata & Azera… actually it really nice.

Just my opinion. :)

• reuben how on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:52 am

I’m also wondering. With so many car makers overtaking proton, whats the use of keeping proton alive? The KOREANS have overtaken MALAYSIA, and they didn’t even have lotus…. Imagine, in the UK you can compare i30 and ford focus… Proton…. i dunno, maybe now it is even behind the chinese hahahahahahaha.

• JoeGTi on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:53 am

This brand already top in europe market.
    They should increase 3S facility in Msia to boost their market here.
    Korean car is doing well to compete or even beat the T and H in europe.
    Please consolidate your 3S here and I will consider u, but pls dont downgrade ur spec as what the T and H had done.

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Looks like a camry with lousy engine performance

• Ha Gnih on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:54 pm

If you claim the engine performance is lousy, then allow me to show you this and tell me why the better performing engine can lose out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INBnV2kZx34

• zaff1984 on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:45 am

you test drive it already..?

• walao on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:35 pm

so the new Hyundai all look the same. just choose the size… small (accent), medium (avante), large (sonata) etc etc… the european “designer” can goyang kaki and makan gaji buta2.. :)

• zimba on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:32 am

agree~ Hyundai looks boring ady. if just according to what u say.

but hey… Almost all BMW or Benz looks similar too and many more super car brand.
      I think this is what they call a ‘Professional Standardized Design System’.

• Car lover on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Korean car outlook is catching up, the car preferment yet to improve

• Ha Gnih on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:15 am

That’s because of the ‘out-dated’ mind set of the individuals we have today. They only stick to what they know best and never dare to venture out of their comfort zone. *sighs*

• Looks more like a mangled Toyota Camry, beb.

• another sleek korean car while japanese car are getting boring

• I own both car, camry and i45. Both car are greats!! But I prefer Hyundai coz the handling and power are better!!