Peugeot 5008 set for KLIMS launch, RM165K estimated

Nasim Sdn Bhd, official Peugeot distributor, will launch the recently spied Peugeot 5008 MPV at the 2010 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS). The seven-seater will have an indicative price of RM165,000.

Like its 3008 sibling, the 5008 is powered by the THP 156 Prince engine. It’s a 1.6-litre twin scroll turbo engine with direct injection producing 156 hp and 240 Nm of torque. It’s paired to a six-speed auto gearbox with Tiptronic. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 7.9 litres per 100 km.

The dashboard design is similar to the 3008’s, which means you get a wraparound driver focussed “cockpit”. As is the norm for recent Peugeots, the MPV is very well equipped, and standard kit includes a head up display (HUD), leather, 18 sq ft panoramic glass roof, 17in rims and Distance Alert.

The latter has a radar which measures the time in seconds between 5008 and the vehicle in front, transmitting this data to the HUD. An alert can be set between 0.9 seconds and 2.5 seconds. The Available Space Measurement aid gives a visual indication of whether the 5008 can fit in a parking space.

There will be two 7-inch LCD screens in the front seat head restraints, two Bluetooth wireless headsets and a connection console for a DVD player or game console. This makes it possible to connect two video sources simultaneously – one screen for one rear passenger. By the way, the second row comprises three individual seats that can slide, recline and folded flat when you want the maximum 2,506-litre cargo space.

Safety wise, the five-star Euro NCAP rated 5008 has six airbags, Hill Start Assist, ESP, ABS, EBD, EBA, Anti-Skid Regulation, Dynamic Stability Control and anti-whiplash front seat headrests. Click here to see official images.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rossi46 on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

What Car UK 2009 MPV of the Year!…very good review esp for the Hdi 1.6 & 2.0 (not coming?). These THP 1.6 is the best for its petrol version.

But, how come its sister the Citroen Grand Picaso 1.6THP is selling cheaper at 140K????

• idaho5307 on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

If you look at the version their selling, it is a low specced from the one sold previously.

Though it came with a 1.6THP, the Grand C4 is using the ECG gearbox (Automated Manual) but the interior specs might not please everyone.

• Naza the Best!!!

• rifle on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:07 am

i think i go through exora reev..yess!!! ;)

• POLICY on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:14 am

wow!! nice MPV…

• Hi Paul, any idea whether Nasim going to launch Peugeot RCZ at KLIMS?

• very nice and high spec!

• I used to own a peugeot 307 SW from 2004 till 2007. hopefully the 3rd row seats in this 5008 (based on 308) will have more legroom and the gearbox will not the a problem area.I have always found peugeots to be pleasant and comfortable to drive

• idaho5307 on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:57 am

Yeah, not only that it is comfortable to drive it handles well also due to longer wheelbase and stiffer suspension. In fact it handle better that 308 turbo. 200kmph is nothing in 307SW! good for scaring the germans on the NS hiway.

• intermilan on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

yeah i’ve always found lots of 307SW been driven so fast on the road or highway..

must be 307SW with the EW10 2.0L engine.

• i don’ t think exora has problem at 200km/h , still stable like hell

• jaguarXJ on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:27 pm

exora can reach 200 km/h?WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW

• aroma on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:52 am

mich is a liar, I heard Exora can reach 250 km/h, stable like heaven

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Agreed… Peugeot is the best…

• LoMaK on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:33 am

design like exora…vw copy proton? hoho

• the juke on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

165k is f**king expensive price

• Joseph on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:13 pm

No money, buy Exora la. hahahaha.
      Exora – No value for money.

• tooyoott on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Wrong! P1 Juara maybe suitable for him,, more cheaper!

• wait till exora hybrid save hundreds of fuel cost every months , really value for money

• bobdbilder on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:22 am

Yep. Look at the Total Cost of Ownership. If they do come out with the EV+Range Xtendr, It includes lower initial outlay, lower compound interest, lower emissions. Will bring down our household debts. More money for the OTHER important things in life.

• guanerrr on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:58 am

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso is cheaper. Better buy citroen, you can see all panel is digital unlike Peugeot 5008.

• citroen? who is the distributor? i tot they tabao dy?

• anti-first on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm

cheaper as it may be, how can an all-digital panel be better? it will suck a lot from that MF battery which may have to be replaced after a year in our hot, hot climate.

although most cars are electronics-driven, it’s not smart to let the bits and bytes to dictate your driving – you are after all, the driver.

macamana pun, we love both the C4 Picasso and 5008!

go contis!

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Nice MPV…

• RON97 on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm

dude, only sad, heartbroken people drive mini van/mpv

• Joseph on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:14 pm

yeah, like ONLY cheapo no-brainer drives Proton right?

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:41 pm

haha..how did you come up with that conclusion?

Are are you in the same camp that insist that wagons are for dead people?

Owning an MPV doesn’t preclude you from owning a 2nd more insteresting car.

• wow.. once you have kids, u’ll be heartbroken? how about if u have lots of kids and u want to balik kampung? take the train? busses driven by drug addicts? or buy a limo? ure crazy mon..

• only cheerful ppl, who get married and have kids drives a MPV.

a loser who cant get any girls and cant get laid will drive a beat up P1, lol. or waja, or wa-lan. lol

• sighhhhhhhhh..... on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:18 pm

let me guess u either a single resless yuppy or widower who is infertile or let go the kids to ex wife……….so u alone, got sport car, free and mobile BUT unfortunately got no social life……so u spend ur time reading a BLOG about A FAMILY CAR (mpv cant be a sport car is it) …….SIGHHHHHHHH

• ron100 on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:32 am

yeah..and i guess you prefer to cramp 7 people into your happy,cheerful and young-at-heart 2-door coupe.

only an @$$hole would make such @$$hole statement

• edward on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:01 am

Hey tat is insultive comment. What is wrong for a single guy like me who is worshiping a RB1 Honda Odyssey Absolute….200bhp mvp…

• mfahd_88 on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm

nice feature
    lcd for back passengers
    but i don’t think that the same spec will be offered to our shore

• Thedaoaks on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm

I heard from their last meeting, the indicative price is 155,888…? Now 165k.. Wow!

• keluangman on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:52 pm

they “pau” extra RM10k for good luck, haha!

• gellardo on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm

10k for paultan.org la for 5008 advertisement here..ehehe
        just joking paul:D

• BeemerFreak on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:13 pm

CBU, CKD??????

• ahmad on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Perfect car with the specs many wish for. I hope they could bring down to below RM160k…
    RM165k is a bit steep, but OK for a conti MPV considering prices of other MPV – even the new ToyWish recond 2009 is being sold at RM15+k.

• yah, wish they sell at just below 160k.

• JohnDeep on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:24 pm

I wonder who will buy a recond T/wish for RM15+K, where you can get a 2.0lit here new.

• tming77 on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:12 pm

the RM15Xk recond Toyota Wish ahmad talking about is the latest version (2009). UMW Toyota wish with 2.0lit camry engine is 2006 version

• observer on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:32 pm

nice. 1.6 turbo engine. later exora also will come out with 1.6 cps turbo. hope the torque on par with the THP engine.

• wat? cam tak pro cps turbo? lol. how to compare with BMW-PSA Prince engine?????

bangun la, jgn mimpi la.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Perodua fanboy…….. I bet you must think your Myvi engine is the best in the world.

• tiery on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:49 pm

i believe the dream can come true with proton, think positive

• let’s wait and see, anything above 150hp with high torque is ok, can move the exora fast from start (stop) , campro cps is 125hp, it’s possible to reach that level, not really difficult

• tikus on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:31 pm

reach to 150hp is easy…Ah Beng work workshop also can do it!! But the REAL thing is can it least?

• bobdbilder on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:47 am

How about a torque from an electric motor? Less moving parts. Less mechanical wear and tear. Less petrol to burn.

• Danny / Paul

What is the seat belt arrangement for the second row middle seat? Full retractable 3 point or just a 2 pt lap belt?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:50 pm

It should come with three-point belts for all seven seats

• tishaban on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:24 pm

I’ve seen the real Peugeot 5008 in France and it has 3-point belts for all 7 seats

• Lim Kopi on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Paying alot of attention to seat belts u guys?

how about the car itself ? :)

• nighttrain on Nov 28, 2010 at 4:13 pm

You’re not really smart, right? This is an MPV, family carrier. Of course ppl will ask about safety.

• even the 207 comes with full 3-point ELR seat belts at the rear for all 3 passengers. strange why some more expensive cars in the same segment or even in the segment above don’t have it. peugeot has it for their cheapest model to the top most.

• Faisal on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:38 pm

nice car, good review. but i think rm165k is too much for me. still prefer exora as a good buy mpv.

• ugly like hell. Even uncle wont buy this crap. only those who are blind will buy an ugly car, and console themself by saying “this car more feature than other brand, etc ”

ugly is ugly. full stop. no cure to it.

any poor soul gonna buy this ??

• Duncare on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Are you in the running for the award of “most hated comment” in paultan.org?

What’s wrong with you and some of the people over here? Anyone buying this MPV is considered “blind” and “poor soul”? I’m really curious what kind of car for an artistic smart ass like yourself is driving!

And there is another champ up there even considered drivers of MPV are heart-broken people? Not all car owners are loners and like driving to groceries store like Vettel setting the fastest time during a qualifying lap!

Every cars introduced in the market are targeted for specific group of buyers. If this is not your cup of tea, either shut up or post your opinions in educated manner. No need to use harsh and insulting words to condemn people who think otherwise. The world is not revolving around you. Grow up pls!

• come on guy .. just pity this DRV guy ,,, he is a salesman from “T” and still have a few unsold “WISH” and it is already end of the year ,the car value will drop further next year .. so where to find customer.. everybody is now looking at this continental babe

• what are you driving? garbage truck?

• JohnDeep on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Do you need a panadol?

• squawk on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Maybe drv is a Grandis or Stream or Wish salesman? :-P

• TallPan on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm

@drv i think u’re the poor soul without good taste. one of the classier, sexier looking MPVs out there :-)

• ok i know why you gave such comment, you want to win the highest thumb downed comment award , right?
      paul i suggest you put the highest thumb upped and downed comment on 1st january every year at this blog, just for fun, ok or not?

• Duncare on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Noticed that DRV’s comments also got 4 thumbs up?

I wonder if it was his family who supported him unconditionally, he clicked it himself via 4 different IPs, or he simply has three other fans who are thinking just as negative as he is?

• the 4 fellers are:

1.) Recon Toyota alphard/estima salesman
          2.) Honda Stream Salesman
          3.) Toyota Wish Salesman
          4.) Himself

• s60 over at the Renault RS250 post is thrashing drv here though, leading with 133 thumbs down and four thumbs up.

• LCD monitors should be put behind the 2nd row seats.that should keep the kids content in the last row

• nighttrain on Nov 28, 2010 at 4:18 pm

I seriously don’t think we’re gonna get any of the fancy stuff like LCDs, or SatNav display.. We usually get the idiot dash here. I have never seen anything below half a million with a full featured dashboard here in Bolehland.

• squawk on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Paul, can the 2nd row (and 3rd) seats be taken out like the old 806 and 807?

• Apparently you can’t remove the seats. They all slide though.

• i don’t know.

165k comes with 4 holes?

• hukaka on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm

donno why picaso grand c4 can cheaper then this?

• vertigo on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:02 pm

i see 4 lug holes there.

• is it comfirm lcd at back row?.. please bear in mind.. this is a europe spec pictures.. some of the futures is taken off once enter malaysia

just look at 3008.. malaysian done have GPS

if it is true.. then it worth for money :D

• cardreamer on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Oh.noo…i’ve been waiting for this all these while hoping for a decent ‘malaysian price’…been years considering to buy an mpv, but after seeing pug5008 adv in PT, patiently waited for it to come to the shore…alas..the price is not to my expectation…

Really hope that NAZA have a mind to make Pug peoples’ car by reducing the spec and the price…there are people like me out there whom really don’t need all those LCD monitors, panaromic roof and the radar etc…extra air bags is worth to consider..but not all the unncessary high tech thingy….NAZA pls make versions of these Pug 5008…and if u can price it 140k below, or lower than 130k, then more people will grab it and Pug will again roam malaysian roads like the old days when teksi sapu also was a pug!

Please Naza…

• keluangman on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:53 pm

not in your lifetime…OR with NAZA…

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm

It’s Nasim, not Naza.

• tishaban on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:28 pm

I’m surprised there are so many negative comments about Naza/Nasim here. Remember guys these are the people who sell the Peugeot 308T for RM118k, the Peugeot 407 for RM125k and the Naza/Kia Forte for RM80k.

RM165k is indicative pricing, let’s wait for the final price before we pass judgement.

• bobdbilder on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:03 am

Do they still sell F430s, Brabus, Mazers and Panameras? They’ve got this nice piece of land in front of KLCC.

There is no reason to bring prices down. Maybe when Spain needs a bail out from the IMF and the Euro tumbles. But not just yet.

• osh_kosh on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:00 am

@cardreamer… keep on dreaming man, pity for you.. just get yourself an Exora, that’ll surely make a few of P1 salesman here happy.. LOL

• keluangman on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:50 pm

similar car like Picasso C4 but RM30k more expensive? What gives?

Very FAT profit margin?

• wolfsburg on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:22 pm

One week to KLIMS but the information about the cars to be displayed is so little…

• uncleJohn on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Good car paired with lousy dealership…sayang

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:08 pm

If Euro specs without downgrading, then a value buy.
    Someone is driving Mercedes R class MPV, is he heart-broken/foolish/insane or what? BTW that is the least expensive car in his list of 5 in his garage.

• MPV shopper on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:28 pm

I have been looking for a replacement for my wife’s Vios + 3 growing young kids (age 4-10) and this model has been on our radar since it was launched in Europe. Finally it is about to be sold here!

First of all, I sincerely hope the RM165K estimated selling price announcement is just a test from Nasim to find out how’s the Malaysian public react to it. I bet Nasim’s staffs are monitoring this particular thread closely. During the pre-launch of 3008, it was widely rumored the selling price would be around RM150K but it was sold around RM140K during launch. Since 5008 is one size bigger with 2 additional seats, plus a little be more toy, I can accept a max RM15K more expansive price tag. That means, hopefully, selling at RM155K when it is launched next month.

Nevertheless, the recent shocking price dropping of its cousin Citroen Grand C4, I wonder if Nasim still proceed the pricing game as before. If the 5008 would be priced at RM145K (slightly more expansive than Grand C4 for being newer and probably more beautiful), that will be dangerously close to 3008’s and would definitely affecting its sales… So Nasim going to bring down the price of 3008 to around RM130K? My guess is unlikely.

Either way, both the 5008 and the Grand C4, IMHO, are still better deals compare to the Japanese models. Toyota Wish are recon units without multiple years of warranty and Stream had gone through a facelift, which means likely to be replaced pretty soon. Regardless, these two models do not have what I consider ‘one of the utmost important feature” -> second and third row seats A/C vents. I am sure all the daddies here experienced whining and unsettled kids begging for cool airs during hot days. MMC Grandis is the only one who has them all and even offers value for money for its size. But the aged 2,4L, outdated 4-speed, plus 7 years in production does not appeal to me at all. There are of course cheaper MPV around but they are not on my shopping list.

Nasim, if you are reading, offer us a more attractive pricing and sure me and quite a few daddies here will be rushing to your showrooms and get one unit. One more thing, please don’t make us wait for 10 months to get the car, like the 3008 case. Even though I can tolerate with that, my wife and kids will not!

• rulered on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Agree with you Mr. MPVshopper, I have 4 growing up kids as well and probabbly have gone down similar road as you have since last year ,after my H stream was stolen which is another reason why I resisted to get another Japanese MPV. I have looked at Grandis which is selling at 163k with lots of goodies but then as you have mentioned it is probably an outgoing model. Currently I am using Civic 2.0, crampy if you asked me. What interest me is the FC for this MPV is at 7.9l/100km whereas the Civic is 11.63km/L (about 8.5l/100km) which is a big plus for our family pocket.
      For 165k with 2 headrest screens, DVD player etc, I think is okay, but I hope it is not a standard accesories. I guess a price tag of 155k is more attractive minus some of those things. What I like most about conti MPVs are that they don’t try to look or act like a fast sports car (eventhough this has 156 horses) unlike Japanese MPVs therefore they are not so pretentious in its outlook.

• MPV shopper on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:42 pm

One of the reason I need a MPV is the reclinable back seat so that my kids could sleep comfortably and safely. The greater reclining angles (the decisive reason we did not take 3008), the 3-point safety belts, plus properly positioned aircond vents on B-pillars (assuming same as Citroen Grand C4), and two LCD screens surely help to keep them entertained, cool, and able to sleep comfortably and safely.

And of course, being a Frenchy, the comfy and assuring ride should come as standard.

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:54 pm

I’ve sat in an MPV with individually reclinable seats. Yes, very comfortable for long journeys and I like the flexibility of seat configurations as you can lean back to sleep while the person next to you might want to sit upright to look outside, or play PSP.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:41 am

the diesel HDi version is more frugal but NA ; (

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:46 am

Agreed wt MPV Shopper comments…but i’m looking for a full size MPV, all this mini MPV are still too small for me (need those wt walk thru cabin ..ie 2-2-3 seatings arrangement and not 2-3-2, to attend to the precious cargo at the back …ie the kids)….Sharan/Starex/Mazda 8 is more my taste…..wondering when Pug going to replace the ageing 807?

• hukaka on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:17 pm

it will be nearly RM 158K as the SA told me.

• Renault Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:23 pm

pls buy more of this and less of that estima

• rossi46 on Dec 01, 2010 at 12:15 pm

but most estima owner bought it for its size….unless Pug replace the ageing 807

• Lim Kopi on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Way to go Naza, another reasonably priced / reasonably good product…..

What I personally think most commendable is the number of AIRBAGS that is almost synonymous with the number of passengers it can carry ….

I dont get the point of some MPVs having just 2 airbags …. i mean, so the rest of the passengers safety don’t count is it?

not to mention a good engine + gearbox tranny … never been a PUG fan but at this price, who wouldn’t consider :)

• bobdbilder on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:29 am

This is well, rather nice…..But nothing beats a Camper. Veedub must be kicking themselves silly for not having the guts to pull it off. But if they foul it up like what they did to the Beetle, there will be lots of angry people.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:40 am

heard VW bringing the Touran for a slice of the mini MPV mkt….but i wish they bring the full size MPV , the Sharan

• nolan on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:32 am

for the fisrt time i praise Pug for this…..

• autojohndoe on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:31 am

with such features… its a good price…

• osh_kosh on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:48 am

should be less than RM150k to instantly grab mid-size mpv buyers… more than that i think they will wait for Exora Turbo just in case…

• darth on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:37 am

Are you sure we going to get those generic spec listed, which I believe should be for the european markets? the safety ones could be, but I doubt it comes with the LCDs and so on.

• Grasssoil on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Really Waited for this car some time. Though of getting wish 2009 earlier, but change my mind to wAit after spotted this car here. After Test drive on 308 gave more reason to wait 4 this car. If priced rm150k, nasim sure can grab my order.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:39 am

the latest wish don’t have rear aircond…..guess, in hot & humid msia, this is better

• epoi080 on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:02 am

Agreed with Mr. MPV shopper & rulered and i’m same daddies with 4 kids like u all.
    GO GO 3008!!

• Aliens family :D

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:04 am

Looks like a great car. Just one minor Q… does it have aircond blowers for the rear passangers?

• tyknoc on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:57 pm

the big drawback of this 5008 is the 3rd row seats are not comfortable for adults, their legs will bang up to the back of 2nd row seats. if this is a concern, better go for exora , it’s ample third row seat legrooms for adults. real mid-size 7 adults seater mpv

• rossi46 on Dec 01, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Bro, the 5008 is a mini MPV, sort of 5+2 ….their full size 7 seaters MPV is the ageing 807

• MPV shopper on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:15 pm

That’s one of my primary concerns. I suppose 5008 has it ready like it’s cousin Citroen Grand C4, which is priced at an unbelievable RM138K.

Check the following website for more info
      http://grandc4picasso.citroen.com/my/?CiTRoBOPreview=1

(select benchmark comfort -> thermal comfort)

• wuyoo on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

to paul/danny,
    driven 5008 for almost a mth now and got nothing but praises for it. however, the salesman got me really confused with the recommended fuel. he advised me to use ron97 from esso/mobil/bhp for better performance. but i live outside klang valley and damned hard to get them here, has to go out from the area, but plenty of petronas/shell. what say u? do the ron95/ron97 really differs from one gas station to the other? thanks.

• Laughter on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:08 pm

I have used the red/yellow brand but find that their fuel makes my car jerk. Sometimes it is smooth sometimes it is really irritating. Not very consistent in quality i think.