Hyundai Santa Fe prices announced – RM159K to RM170K

Two weeks ago, we revealed to you the engine options and specs of the refreshed Hyundai Santa Fe, which is more than just a cosmetic facelift. To be officially launched at KLIMS, the locally assembled seven-seat SUV will come with two engine options – a 2.4L Theta II petrol and the R-series 2.2L CRDi. The gasoline engined variant will cost RM158,888 while the diesel is priced at RM169,888. Prices are on the road including insurance.

As a recap, the Theta II is a Dual CVVT engine with 174 PS and 228 Nm of torque. This engines replaces the old 2.7L V6 unit in the Santa Fe and also does duties in the Tucson and Sonata. We also hear that it will power the new Kia Sorento that will debut at KLIMS, keep your eyes peeled for more on that.

But the big news for this car is the debut of the ‘R’ diesel engine, which packs a real punch – 197 PS and 442 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 2,500 rpm to be exact. This commonrail with electronic variable geometry turbocharger (e-VGT) will be the mightiest oil burner in the market, beating even the Nissan “Mother Trucker” Navara’s 2.5L engine into submission.

The kit list is more comprehensive than before, too. Keyless entry, steering wheel audio controls, electric driver’s seat, GPS system, reverse camera, Nappa leather seats and a sunroof are included. Other interior changes include the addition of carbon-fibre paneling, rearranged switches, chrome treatment and an organ type accelerator pedal. ESP is also standard on this 4WD (with lock button) SUV.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm

WOW!…kudos to Hyundai Sime Darby for bringing the “R Series Diesel”….yeap, will be my future 7 seaters mpv replacement. …442nm of Torque..woohoooo!!!

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm

from a 2.2 liter engine!…low road tax, low FC but big on power

• ron100 on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:01 pm

does that figure reflects our euro-2 diesel here?

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:44 am

shud be…after slight mod for euro2 M….paultan did a review on the 320D using our diesel recently, more or less power the same

• apamau on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

I would say kudos to hyundai, but too bad to Kia sorento, got to sacrifice the diesel variant for now…

• transformer on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:16 pm

WOW! very cool 2.2CRDi but as a prospective car buyer, i would also hope that its “easy to maintain” (including easy on pocket too) High Pressure Turbo = Higher wear and tear, where as LPT engine should last longer and easier on pocket, but still depends on owner’s foot pressure…

• kington on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:22 pm

A friend of mine used to have one.. worked fine, until the suspension started giving out creaky noises when going over speed bumps and uneven surfaces after 3 years. Required a major change in suspension parts which would’ve cost him RM5K according to Hyundai.

Sold it eventually, and opted for the current Prado from Naza.

• Now, we are talking business here! :)

• tooyoott on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:49 pm

haha,, now i feel harrier very3 expensive.. cr-v? damn overpriced.. good job hyundai!

• l3ryan on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:54 pm

wow that diesel is a beast!
    any ideas on what gearbox it will be using?

• jonny blaze on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Is the engine longitudinal or transversely mounted? CBU?

• The Loner on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Is this diesel engine Euro IV compliant? If so, is there any DPF (diesel particulate filter) and NOx trap installed?

• Maserati on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

More Korean Junk.As usual ,always big specs on PAPER.But in real life driving,it cant perform.

• David on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:07 am

Junk? My goodness, you really have the ridiculously biased mindset towards Korean cars. All bad remarks? What’s wrong with people like you man? Can’t you even give some respect to them, and not just jump to some utterly silly and baseless comments.

In fact, in the UK, the reviewers actually like this new diesel engine, saying that this is simply one of the best engines Hyundai/Kia has ever made. Not to forget that this is one of the highly-rated SUV’s out there for that kind of money.

If you refuse to accept such reality, and continue attacking people like us with your baseless comments, by all means, go ahead. That should show the visitors to Paul Tan that you are really a miserable, pathetic troll who only does nothing but view Korean and other non T & H makes as POS brands.

Pathetic. Seriously.

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:41 am

maybe he’s a Jap car sales man

• Duncare on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:57 am

Calm down David….. It’s not the first time and definitely not the last time that some pathetic people simple put up negative comments about cars or makes from a specific country with baseless and totally biased mindset. And in most cases with almost uneducated manner…

Just the other day, we got two “geniuses” at the Peugeot 5008 thread figured that “only heartbroken people”, “blind people” and “poor soul” will buy “that ugly car”…

Making you totally speechless, weren’t they?

• RON97 on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:22 am

dude..that was me. i have xc90 with 2 infants, so don’t bother buying mini van/mpv. likewise, if you buy this santa fe, you don’t need mpv. be smart, dude

• Come, if you drive a like for like, I challenge you to a race-off.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Dated looks but the diesel is a real cracker of an engine.

Hyundai is definitely catching up to European diesel performance…if not surpass them already

• creator mind on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:57 pm

great, time for real serious stuff kicking T & H… haha! i can’t make it to KLIMS, hopefully u guys who made it can give some perspective on this model. will be waiting for ur feedback…. thanks. better still, details on the car’s specs. would be deeply appreciated. hv fun there

• pls, not biege interior.

• COOL

• still a five seater on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:14 pm

better get a golf

• Now here’s a comment that deserves moderation. Mssrs. SAFS, why oh why would you do a price point comparison between two different categories? An SUV vs a hatch? Sheesh…

• Imran on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:20 pm

will this be under Hyundai badge or Inokom?
    this included kit are very luxurious: built in GPS, NAPPA leather, built in reverse camera, sunroof,
    i hope the diesel engine is quieter.. esp at higher rev.. or improve noise insulations
    i have been into one of these new ones in the car showroom in the UAE..
    much better finishing and more spacious than the new sorento..

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

Go read the review at Whatcar.com …..the new R-series diesel are very quiet and smooth…almost petrol like

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:40 am

This is quite a big car as big as pajero

• anticipate the review sooner..

• The most sensible 4×4 by far. I don’t mind at all this car a Korean as the quality wise, engine department, and everything made uglier, weaker Fortuner a total unwise choice unless the buyers really into offroading.

• JonLing on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:35 am

Huge fan of the diesel variant, though can’t help but think that it’s overpriced, especially if you add a few thousand ringgit more to that price for east malaysia market. Well, it’s still too soon to predict whether it can do well or not with that price tag, but really hope that this santa fe will have less issue than the previous one. My boss, who is a hyundai dealer himself, used to have a current generation santa fe, the 2.2 CRDi variant, but sold this year after the mechanics can’t resolve some noises coming from the “base” of the car (i think it is somehow suspension-related).

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:38 am

No worries….comes wt a 5 years warranty

• Could be one off lemon as is normal with car manuafcturers. I keep mine serviced as scheduled if not earlier and so far no such creaks and cranks. One thing I forgot to mention in my review in previous PT entry was the fuel used. There was a massive difference in performance between the P brand and the E brand. I use P but was forced to use E one day when I ran out of fuel ( after 875kms :) ). Had some problems in the mornings and pick up was slower considerably. Reverted to P when tank was empty (at about 850kms). Sorted.

• This might help.. on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:28 am

This is the owner review of santafe with R enigne(diesel) from Australia.

http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/topic/20113-santa-fe-highlander-2010-review-21000km/

• hahahaha on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:54 am

Fortuner wil die. haha. Spec wise, it has the lowest spec than Pajero Sport & Santa Fe but the price is the most expensive.

• kucau on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:34 am

My i know what kind of GPS the system running? as long as the map support Malsing or Malfree maps that would be a good good GPS .

• Imran on Nov 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Hi All,

In the UAE, this car is not categorised as 4×4, it falls under SUV category which doesnt has differential lock, its called as a softroader which meant for tar road and not for outdoor or dirt road..

So its not at the same class as the 4th Generation Pajero (not Pajero Sport) which is a true 4×4 with limited slip gear similar to Nissan Patrol, Pathfinder, Toyota Prado and also the made in indonesia Fortuner…

I have been into all of these vehicles… and Santa Fe finishing is quite good.. compared with Sorento…

2.7L Petrol Fortuner drives like a pick up truck because it is one, likewise the Pajero Sports

If you are working at the logging camp.. Pajero or Prado is the best..

• Kyrill on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:50 am

Pity… they put in so many good stuff and left out the cruise control… that one addition would have made it perfect.

• Gavin on Dec 06, 2010 at 6:30 pm

you’re absolutely right, i would get rid of the GPS and sunroof to get the cruise control

• ?Mit what? on Jan 15, 2011 at 7:41 am

Government will the diesel one :)

• Tested! on Jan 15, 2011 at 5:43 pm

After a long wait, this is car is in the show room now. Tested this car with diesel engine. overall drive experience is good. As claimed by Hyundai, the diesel engine is powerful, When accelerated,it is very responsive and I can feel the sudden jerk and ummmphhh. Bare in mind, this is when half floored. Didnt get the chance to floor it because was on a congested road. Engine noise is minimum from inside.

Nappa leather is in dark brown. Not like what you see in the brochure or from this website. Carbon fiber panel is nice. There is air cond at the middle row ( left/right doors) and third row. Equipped with Touch Screen A/V and working GPS ( not sure what program). There is a microsd card slot. Speaker quality is below average for me.

the only very potong thing is.. inokom badge… but.. who cares. after sales 2nd re-badging is a common thing in msia now.

Paul Tan, pls get test drive this car and have a more detailed review! Thanks

and btw, im not hyundai sales man, Im here just to share what i experienced

• Paul pls do a review on this!!! Should be interesting

• pAUL, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

THIS CAR IS AN ELEPHANT THAT RUNS LIKE A CHEETAH. please review.

I WILL PAY YOU IF HYUNDAI DOESNT~ :)

• Allan chin on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:13 pm

It must be noted that the current model on sale In Malaysia is actually a face lift model. Consequently those who have already bought the current diesel crdi model will regret once the new 2012 model (already on sale abroad) are made available locally. I was told that there several major improvements not found in the current 2011 model on sale locally.

• Freddy on Sep 28, 2012 at 3:37 am

This is great for us Hyundai lovers. would anyone tell me which other engine would fit in my Santa Fe 2.7L petrol of 2002? I need to replace the engine ASP.

• Simon on Nov 11, 2012 at 12:20 pm

I bought the current version knowing the new one is coming out, manage to use is as a reason to push the price down by close to 8K, not to mention that at this point the dealers will be willing to let go and throw in goodies ( if you know how to bargain). Personally this is good enough for me :)