Naza Kia to launch new Sorento at KLIMS 2010

Naza Kia will be launching the new Kia Sorento at the 2010 KL International Motor Show (KLIMS), a welcome addition to the Naza Kia stables here in Malaysia as it will finally be offered to consumers. Fans of Kia’s new design language have been spotting the new Sorento running around KL with a registered number plate for quite some time already – we understand that unit is a Naza management car.

From what we understand, the new 7-seater Sorento will be launched with one engine option – a 2.4 litre inline-4 DOHC CVVT engine producing 174 PS and 226Nm, mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission. We were informed that there are no plans at the moment for a diesel variant. The car that we snapped in TTDI was a V6 .

It has a 4WD system, and rides on MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link rear suspension. The list of features also include 18 inch wheels, push-button start ignition with a smart key, a “Supervision cluster” which is basically Optitron-style illumination for the meter panel, an electro-chromatic mirror with an integrated 3.5 inch rear view camera, an in-dash 6-CD changer with aux-in, USB and iPod connectivity, steering audio controls, Bluetooth connectivity, dual zone climate control for the front passengers, HID head lamps with auto-levelling, Hill Start Assist Control, Downhill Brake Control, ESC stability control, active headrests and 6 airbags.

The second and third row of seats can be folded flat, with the rear row being a 50-50 split and the second row able to be split 60-40.

No price at the moment – it will probably only be announced at KLIMS 2010.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Too bad…just the petrol version, guess most will turn to the santa fe instead

• nyawere on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:56 pm

What…??????? No Diesel…????

People buy this car before becoz it was a Diesel…!!! Thats why i bought one.! Now it looks like i need to find another alternative. Nasib baik Santa Fe ada engine diesel baru..!

• transformer on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:56 pm

hope it comes with its ultra GREEN Diesel!
    eventhough Bolehland still 3rd world diesel…

real SUV should comes in 4WD and 7 seater!
    others FF/FR 5 seater should be classified as midi-SUV, or compact SUV…

• apamau on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:03 pm

oh shit… where’s the diesel variant or any change to place order for diesel, for petrol, sorry lar, not really interested.. with such a big body and 7 seat, 2.4 is good for the sonata sedan.. , even if have the power, the fuel consumption will not be good.. i believe there’s quite some complaint from singapore buyers.

• transformer on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:10 pm

paultan.org has help a lot of car maker promoting their products, and even data mining such as pricing thru viewer feedback… more positive feedback will lift it price further while negative reverses… I believe some people from Naza(or even other makes staff) are logging to this page 24/7!

Few days ago i read somewhere, where paul replied paultan.org ranking tops in Msia…
    Congratulate paultan.org for being informative and positive contribution towards bolehland automotive industry! (eventhough auto sector had been left out in NEP, NEM, NKEA & etc.)

• how come no Diesel engine offer for this new Sorento ???
    d diesel is an award winning technology from both Hyundai/KIA …..

wht a pitty

• Unless it is priced significantly lower than the Hyundai Santa Fe, it is already starting off on the wrong foot. Where is the diesel?

• i asked a kia salesman and he said the price will be around 150k and there will also be a panaromic sunroof as well. definitely a much better buy than the santa fe.

• Vincent on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Overall look good, only the rear look a bit not nice!

Guess how much ler? RM135K?

• BOO! Why no diesel option?

• donno on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:57 am

The quality of diesel in malaysia is so crap, that it destoyed quite a few of the old sorento’s engine, designed for euro4 quality diesel; causing naza to spend quite alot for warranty. This experience might be the cause for naza not to bring in a diesel option.

• Budak Jengka on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

any news regarding KIA OPTIMA coming to Malaysia?

• bboyahman on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:05 pm

NAZA + KIA very aggresive ……..good for malaysia automobile industry…

When they wan bring n K5 , k7 n couple….

Keep the price more competitive

• The Loner on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Better not bringing in the diesel variant. The quality of the diesel here will cause problems (due to high content of sulphur) for Euro IV and above diesel engines.

• arcana on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

if hyundai can offer diesel variant for their santa fe, no reason why kia shouldnt……
    big on power, small on consumption…….what is naza kia thinking?

• think on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:01 pm

i was really dissapointed to hear that the new sorento will only be launched with a petrol engine…why does the naza is making a wrong step..they must provide the diesel variant,,,as what they have now…this is the most bad offer from naza with a vehicle ,,which have been waited for a long time to arrive…if hyundai santafe are offered with diesel engine ,,this one shouldn’t have any problems…think

• dragster on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm

nice design…can’t wait for the launching of this new model…..how’s the engine setting for M’sia model? hopefully more advance engineering…..last model everytime change battery need to tune back in NAZA-KIA service….

• BeemerFreak on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm

After delayiing so long, they still cant deliver a diesel….Hyundai proved it is possible why not the Sorento

• didie on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:22 pm

I luv it!!!

• WooGoo on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm

What a big disappointment from Naza. The whole point of having this Sorento is the R diesel engine. The petrol engine is simply too small for the large SUV!!

If Hyundai can bring in the R diesel engine in the Santa Fe, why not Sorento?????

• ko malu saje... on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:37 pm

seen the real one, darn this is one good looking beast!

• jason on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:55 pm

i thought will launching new sportage before new Sorento?
    Correct me if i am wrong

• Imran on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Surveyed in the UAE,
    the 2.4L inline-4 base model costs about Dirham75k= RM60k,
    the top of the range 3.5L V6 full option with navi costs Dhs125k=Rm100k. No diesel options in UAE… Its mid size SUV is smaller and lower ride than the current model.

Didnt test drive yet.

The new hyundai santa fe looks bigger and more spacious..

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:03 am

UAE don’t need diesel….their ppl own oil refinery…he3x ; )

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:37 pm

You need EURO4 minimum to run the R.

• apamau on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:40 am

I believe is not about this, very much corporate strategy of hyundai/kia.., santa fe is bring in the 2.2 R, they will generally tune or mod the engine for our diesel..

• JasJos on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:58 pm

I think if they bring in the diesel, Santa Fe no need to sell already. Maybe a bit later after some sales of Santa Fe.

• Najibest on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:12 am

perhaps Naza don’t have much capability for servicing diesel engines thus the reason why no diesel option

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:05 am

yeap, maybe…sime are good wt diesel….their diesel’s beemer, focus tdci, hyundai starex & santa fe….but, why they did not brought in the Tucson wt r-series diesel?

• najibest on Nov 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm

yup i’m wondering as well…why no car with smaller diesel engine like the ford focus TDCi from sime darby….then again they have extensive experience with diesel engines which includes Land Rovers as well….

Naza meanwhile, have experience only with the old Sorento and the Pregio if i’m not mistaken….and from what i heard from previous gen Sorento owners, many have engine problems…perhaps the down tuning was not done properly to suit our diesel quality and thus why they’re afraid to offer the R diesel anytime soon….

• that is good news ,, how about the new k5 (optima) ?? it is a good thing if naza plan to launch this car next year .. so KLIMS can be used as a preview orf this car and then see the responde , if good responde, why not bring it earlier so u can catch some potential buyers who r now looking at the new sonata , new teana, facelifted camry and madza

• Jimmy on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:06 am

Cannot be priced too near Santa Fe. At least a difference of RM10K to RM15K. Perhaps a little lower than Tucson 2.4L will be the best.

• apamau on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:41 am

if they price very near to tucson, tucson have to say bye bye already, coz there’s another sportage coming in 2011..

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Cheaper than the Tucson? you serious?

Then where will KIA position the Sportage? Have you got yourself confused between the Sportage and Sorento? The Sorento is a much bigger car and one size up from the Tucson.

If anything, the Sorento will be very close to price to the Santa Fe. The Sorento will still one-up the Santa Fe in design (the Santa Fe still runs on the older design) and the Santa Fe may end up only moving the Diesel versions. So technically, it is cheaper than the Santa Fe diesel so they are not really encroaching on each other.

Don’t think it would be any where less than 150k.

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Santa Fe petrol at RM158K while diesel about RM166K….my guess, sorento petrol pricing will be in btw. Only RM10k btw them, diesel santa fe will be the winner….197hp & 440nm of torque with better fuel economy VS 174hp & a pathetic 226nm of torque wt bad fuel economy,….hmmm easy choice unless u really hate and have yesterday perception of a diesel will buy the petrol

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:04 pm

This is likely how it would play out.

Hyundai dropping the 2.4 Tucson, Kia sticks with the 2.4 petrol Serento, and Hyundai concentrates on the 2.2CRDi Santa Fe.

10k between them.

• KIA FANS on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

syabas untuk naza kia. walau apa pun komen rakyat malaysia, kami staf naza tetap menyokong segala usaha naza kia. biar bagus mana sekali pun produk KIA, tetap ada suara-suara sumbang yang ingin memperkecilkan produk KIA. bagi pihak yang tidak mengikuti latihan teknikal berkaitan model KIA, anda hanya tahu komen mengenai keburukan shj. nasihat saya anda tunggu dan lihat shj model baru KIA yang akan di lancarkan…SUPPORT KIA FOR EVER……

• 4x4Fan on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

Petrol…?Diesel…? We still burn our “money” to run car..except EV..hahaha…

• rossi46 on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:06 am

Review from whatcar:

The Sorento is available with a 172bhp 2.4-litre petrol engine, but most buyers will choose the 194bhp 2.2-litre diesel instead. This generates oodles of torque, so it can haul you and your family along swiftly, although the optional auto gearbox has a rather tall top gear that forces it to kickdown for overtaking on the motorway. A diesel hybrid model might be offered later.

• japfan on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:18 am

It is indeed cheaper than Santa Fe and also the 2.4 Sonata but fully loaded with latest features.
    For families who want to carry up to 7 people with space for luguages, this is definetely a good one to consider. It is a much better alternative to Fortuner and Pajero Sport and the miserable 2.0 Honda CRV.
    I m looking forward for the future K5 launch which will undercut Sonata price by 15%-20%.

• apamau on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:45 am

Generally this car have very good review, but most review are not on the 2.4 engine, and In US, most people will not get 2.4, they get the V6, go check out those forum, whereas in europe, are on 2.2r diesel or bigger engine, even elsewhere except singapore have diesel.. so do not be mislead by the good review of sorento, it’s not on the 2.4.

• zanggief on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Should they bring in diesel as well…

In Korea, i saw most of this model and other suv model are carried the VGT engine. The diesel model is likely to be more powerful.

• Wat a disappointed news, been waiting long time for this car to lunch but not petrol de. 2.4??? i do rather spend 20k more for recon harrier 2.4 which believed provided better reliability, fuel consumption and most importantly resale value…..tooo bad for no diesel variant model. Unless petrol selling at around 130k…may be can considered.

• Selamba on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Petrol or Diesel is subjective… the important is the CAR\SUV it self should come with great quality… everybody know our diesel quality are poor & price almost same petrol… looking for consumption.. don’t talk about SUV & better go to VIVA to get better fuel consumption & low maintenance…

• apamau on Dec 01, 2010 at 12:33 am

It use to be subjective, but with the petrol hike anbother 15 cents tomorrow, we have to be very objective now.. the diesel is not hiking yet, and it’s still more fuel efficient that petrol….

the price of all petrol n diesel going to hike and hike and ron97 going hike even faster…well, i hope kia can see this as well.

• Guess you never drive diesel car before only you could comment such way…Yes Viva might be the best in fuel consumption but not power…With diesel(Turbo Version), we can enjoy acceleration power (torque) at the same time have good fuel consumption. Am having Hilux 3.0 version for work, tell you what i love it very much 0-100 take less then 9 seconds, even motor pickup also need to give way to my car. Lastly it can go average 700km/tank??? can your viva perform the same???

• Btw, before Hilux i drive Fortuner 2.7V. Torque very teruk to carry big heavy body, fuel consumption with normal drive and yet it couldn’t pass 400km/tank??? mostly 370km/tank….So i could imagine this sorento fuel consumption will follow the fortuner petrol step….but luckily it is toyota with good resale value but if it is “KIA” then it resale value will be like second “NAZA RIA”….liao kau mak bei jin kia

• Just saw advertisement in newspaper today. Kia Sorento is open for booking. Just wonder how much will it be?

• didie on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:23 pm

160k hampeh…. it suppose below 150k don’t buy not worth! arrogant!

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Fuel price going to hike again. How to buy la 2.4L Petrol not diesel? Naza Kia must bring in the 2.2L R Diesel engine than can sell. but price must be RM 138,888 like that

• Sincerely speaking, am been waiting for this car quite sometime but on the diesel Version. As i hav the hard time when i was driving the fortuner petrol previously. If one day, even the diesel price equal to petrol price, diesel engine still my preference at it provide additional mileage compared to petrol at the same time can enjoy the huge torque & power that attract me most.

• winningEleven on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:28 am

Best 7-seater in Malaysia so far. With a 6-speed transmission, petrol consumption won’t be a big issue now. It’s been almost a year this car being sold in brunei, can someone tell me the difference in terms of its interior?