Proton announces displays for KLIMS – Saga EV, Exora Extended Range EV and EMAS hybrid head the list

Click for enlarged teaser image

Proton has announced its displays for KLIMS, which begins later this week – on show at its 1,500 sq metre booth will be 20 vehicles, including eight concept and show cars.

Highlights include the Saga EV (electric vehicle), which is driven by a brushless DC electric motor and powered by a 15 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery. The Saga EV can be quick-charged in just an hour or charged overnight between six and eight hours, with an estimated driving range of 100km.

Also on call will be the Exora Extended Range EV, which is currently undergoing the final phase of testing and validation, being targeted for commercial production as early as 2011, as well as the EMAS concept hybrid car and the race-winning Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car that competed in this year’s Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) and Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC).

These will be joined by the new Lotus vehicles that made their debut at the Paris Motor Show; while the full list of Lotus models to be exhibited remain a surprise, the all-new Esprit is definitely penned in as an exhibit. Proton will also be having a live styling studio.

“Proton has come a long way over the last 25 years and the showcase at KLIMS 2010 is to share these accomplishments with all Malaysians,” Proton’s managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin said in a statement. “Visitors will be able to have a better understanding of the technical capabilities Malaysians today possess, and we also intend to share with them some of the initiatives currently being undertaken moving forward,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• way to go proton…forget those bashers…move ahead and prove them wrong…

• can’t wait to go

• Nazrul on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Can’t wait to see these cars on the road!

• sambal on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:03 pm

hope proton can be more improvement in the quality…

• paul, i think u should put up a banner at the top like the story of proton inspira and mitsubishi sportback that u did for the upcoming KLIMS

• takin on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:08 pm

im so gonna be there!
    :)

• savvy88 on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm

the pic above is Proton or Lotus?

• Samuel on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm

No Saga Facelift?

• Bius Dogong on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

model barukah itew?

• cant wait…

• Proton Supreme on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Proton has come a long way over the last 25 years and they are still good in copying people. look at the led lights.. sigh**

• what’s wrong with the LED..?

• 12RAIXA on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:36 am

That’s the trend this day and if you said Proton copying those thing than you seriously in the last century guy.

• pomen_gtr on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:14 am

oit…

then volkswagen copy audi u didn’t call them copying other ppl LED light??

porsche also use LED lights but did u care??

proton use LED only u bising why???

• comrade on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:21 pm

see it at KLIMS then… hopefully the varieties of cars especially cars that unavailable in Malaysian market can be seen… better see first how the Exora looks like…

• zaff1984 on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:27 pm

hope full Lotus new model/concept car will at KLIMS…. and 20 cars for Proton alone, nice !! if Pesona R included in that 20 cars by Proton, better…

• persona R still in development…impossible for P3 to be in the line up

• PutraRocker.Com on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:28 pm

nice proton

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:28 pm

i’d love to be there early… but i play badminton on friday, go fishing trip on saturday. so, see u guys on sunday :)

• aduss on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

see u at PWTC..

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:58 am

100%

• nolan on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:58 am

yeah…..Proton salesman really really want to see you…….bring along deposit for Inspira booking…..

• did u forget people here (or some of us) said “we the malaysian people subsidize proton (said in sarcastic way)” so that mean u also the shareholder bro

• Whynot on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:34 pm

All unsatisfied previous Proton Owners should visit KLIM to voice their dissatisfaction in order for Proton to know and improves because it is still very much belongs to all 1Malaysians. But be sensible too as Proton vision is still very much high in their heads.

• Other car brands owners also should come…

• Whynot on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

As 1Malaysian I agreed that those not Proton’s car owner should come too! But I don’t really care much about them. B’cos it is Malaysia that we r concerned but you can bash to those not made by Proton’s.

• yewyan on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:44 pm

nice lamp…
    wad is mean by exora entended range? elongated exora or….??

• you should really read the news before putting a stupid comment like this…

• farghmee on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:38 am

i think it’s Range Extender (RE)
      REEV – range extender electric vehicle.

• akinablue on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:04 pm

yaaa…longgggg exora like a xpress bus!
      you never read the article ya?aduhh..

• elite on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm

while the EVs are on display inside, outside the exhibition centre and parking lots still filled with motorcycles and milo tins..

• Wisdom on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Proton is looking good and heading to the right direction.

The quality of their cars is improving and the brand image is getting better especially with the winning of Neo on S2000 rally.

In China, Youngman is doing a good job to represent the models.
    http://www.carsoftheworld.eu/index.php/News/auto-china-2010-beijing-lianhua-youngman.html

In Indonesia, Proton name also going up and become a hot debate in the web. So does the rest of the world.

The problem is, we can still see some ridiculous and negative comment from ourselves, Malaysian on the web. We know the power of internet and should use it wisely. Prospect buyer from all-over the world can read it and don’t want to buy Proton.

Proton spent millions of our money to market the car, but we ourselves criticize our product and scare off the prospect buyer. Later we complaint Proton not doing good globally.

My suggestion, if you really have problems with your Proton, and not getting enough compensation from Proton on the claim, you can use BAHASA to bash’em on the net, or write to newspapers (at least it is local) rather than bash your own b*tt and show it to the world.

• akinablue on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:20 am

betul..aku setuju.
      Proton is improving nowadays. aku tgh drive Gen-2 auto 2005..kalo nak banding dengan model sekarang..mmg jauh beza.
      seriously..aku mmg sakit hati dengan pengurusan dulu..depa banyak buat taik.
      aku pernah bercakap dengan head of quality dept proton(masa tu dia da jd operation manager kat kompani motor yg proton beli tuh).bila aku soal pasal perbandingan kualiti proton dengan toyota..boleh plk dia kata proton pnya production high volume banding dengan toyota..x terkejar nak check satu2. dalam hati aku mmg kaw2 aku kutuk mamat tuh. ni la mentaliti pengurusan dulu.
      but now different..the Quality is much2 different. i drove my brother’s saga BLM..pehh..jauh beza seh dari gen2 aku tuh.

• waja2007 on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:51 pm

aku pulak nak setuju dgn ko. Aku pakai Waja Enhanced 2007 (manual) dah hampir 100ribu km tapi takde masalah handle pintu tercabut atau power window kong. Beli cuma RM56k (after discount), leather seat, 2 airbags dan ABS standard. Dashboard guna soft quality plastics (better than Exora’s hard one). But Waja lebih luas (bukaan dan ruang) dari but Persona dan Inspira. Memang berbaloi dgn harganya.

Perlu diakui kualiti Waja sebelum 2007 memang teruk terutamanya batch awal. Tak perlu diulang2 berkali2 sebut pasal masalah lama power window tu. Masalah ini masih ada, tapi dah kurang sangat. Brand lain pun ada masalah ini.

Cuma yg perlu ditingkatkan ialah enjin yg power & jimat minyak, NVH dan kualiti pemasangan. Dalam hal ini, Proton perlu akui Toyota & Nissan still the best.

• skyLine4ever on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:29 am

aku pn setuju….
      tp sume nk kutuk dlm internet, x berani nk komplen kt proton atau pihak yg berkenaan….
      kdg2 aku tgk sesetengah org malaysia ni bli kete, tp x pandai nk maintain kete…
      pas2 slhkn proton kualiti x bgus, padahal sendiri x reti jaga kete…
      klu nk bli kete cume fikir harga kete dgn insuran je, kos nk maintain x fikir…
      aku pun pki proton satria 1.5 GLi, taun 2002 pny…
      sampai skrg elok lg…
      x pernah de problem…
      servis kete 2 ikut time/milage, elok la kete 2…
      klu bli toyota ke honda pn, klu x servis tul2, sme je…
      rosak gk…

• peyno on Nov 30, 2010 at 7:45 pm

yg ni aku setju..satria kau gerenti take masalah power window belakang problem kan? door knob belakang tercabut pun take kan? aku gerenti punya..

• rifle on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:53 am

agreed..the problem now is not at proton because they’re improving a lot,but the problem is the malaysians that doesn’t appreciate malaysia’s brands..i hate those bashers!!

• farghmee on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:45 am

there’s lianhua ev since 9/2009?
      interesting

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 30, 2010 at 4:11 pm

s2000 is not relevant since the car is not a road car from the assembly line. as for scaring off prospective buyers, if the product is good people will buy but if word of mouth says its rubbish then you have a very big problem.
      as for voicing out dissatisfaction, if it is good ppl will say so, if its bad ppl will also say so. if you cannot hack that or air muka nipis and want to amok saja, dont make cars or join a forum. so you can take your advice and go back to that tempurung you crawled out.

• paul , u should write down on a summery of all cars that r confirmed to be at the KLIMS and post it here

• Cucukman on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:40 pm

I will be there.. HAHAHAHAHA…

i want to see latest Proton car, not Perutdua…

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm

APX seemed quite nice. Dead project already?

• where will the KLIMS be held??

• turbo technology not going to display ????

• hero86 on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm

love to see all the lotus model.. look really awesome..

• bboyahman on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Proton……V Need more gd Surprise from u……!!!!!!!!!!!

• mfahd_88 on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

2o cars?!WAOO!
    it may takes a while for me to read its review in this blog!

• hazwa on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

cannot imagine what produa will lunch if they join the motor show..
    viva elite exclusive se?? hahahhahaaaaaaa

nice proton.. go proton!!

• Andrew on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Is the Electric Vehicle suitable for our country?Its wet and dry all the year and in some places get flooded…so is it suitable(electric shock/ charging station whatsoever?)… Are we really ready for an electric vehicle?Anyway to Proton please SUPRISE US! and show us how you have achieve this past 27 years…Inspira? Don’t BORE us…

• Andrew on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:56 pm

…hybrid yes definitely but total electric vehicle…no…prove me wrong…

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:51 am

some people have the same paranoia when combustion engine and NGV were introduced. people were afraid that they might burned to death, or blown up to pieces if the NGV tanks explodes. prius has been around for about 10 years, have you heard anybody electrocuted in prius? go search video of chevrolet volt flood test, and watch how they conduct tests to prevent such case from happening in the future.
      after that, ask yourself.. are you still paranoid about such incident?

• I didnt know that petrol/diesel car can go through flood…your car submerge, semi-submerge or float when go through flood? really interested…you know lar how KL nowadays suddenly got flash flood….

• reuben how on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm

proton has come a long way from 25 years ago ? I’d like to have whatever drugs that he’s smoking. Definitely not from a customer’s point of view!!!!

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:27 am

negativities won’t help. you think japanese did it in 5 years? you think koreans did it in 10 years? well, how old are you already?.. have you achieve your goals? your ambitions? if not, then shut up.
      and rest assured that positive minds will always take your words as challenges.

• rally_fan on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:49 am

in general, the japanese took more than 30 years.. plus the fact that they were already a heavily industrialised nation. dont forget, they built the largest battleships, and also one of the best fighter aircraft ever. At that time, we were only farming in malaysia and tin mining.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:59 am

And yet most of our Malaysian mentality today is still the same as at that farming time you’ve mentioned.

• peyno on Nov 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm

proton has more than 75 years of technology now. Remmeber Lotus>?who bought them? using who’s ah pa’s money wei? 75 years tech still cant beat hyundai ka?

• peyno on Nov 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm

proton already have more than 75 years of tech now. remember Lotus? they have tech since the 40’s already.who bought lotus meh?

why buy lotus when cant utilize it? be smart. Now they said they wanna merge with perutdua pulak? walaw wei!wanna use prutdua bumper technology kaa?

• skyLine4ever on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:51 am

reuben how

do u think how many years nissan & toyota were established??
      10 years??20 years??
      think before u say something…

• i cant wait for EXORA ER…….Good job proton!

• walter on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:42 am

KLIMS begin next week ? means from when to when…? anybody ley me knw… i wan goooooo……

• 4x4Fan on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:54 am

Too all Paultan’s commentators..Let’s “reunion” at PWTC coming soon..hahaha…

• captain_gaban on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

Its a good thing to see that proton is progressively introduce their new variants of vehicles..but sometimes it makes me wonder, can proton relly afford to ‘chew what they bite’?? I mean in a sense to ensure the after sales service for this type of model. Not to be a basher, but just share something to ponder.

p/s: I’ve read the new TG mag (m’sa edition), Lotus is also set to introude 6 (if not mistaken) new model of their super car and they intend to beat 458, 911, panamera, etc…and it will cost them something like UK 150mill to do so…and their new CEO (Dany Bahar) says that most of the fund will come from their owner, i.e. Proton…. thats a lot of quids if you have to ask me.

• amel8488 on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:20 pm

good job proton, keep it up…

• Reinmuster on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:51 pm

China is a very big market, Proton need to protect them.

• Dear Rifle,

Yes indeed P1 has improve no doubt but overall quality still so-so… My family have both persona n saga blm… first 2 years ok no problem… after that u can hear ratting sound from the doors, dashboard n so on… n the SC guys have no idea where does all this sounds come from… sigh…

• Paul Tan on Nov 30, 2010 at 6:03 pm

I’m very curious, how come the Proton logo is round in the teaser image given by them?