2011 Mazda5 MPV now available in Malaysia – RM150k!

mazda5 1

Bermaz Motor today introduced the latest incarnation of the Mazda5 in Malaysia. The vehicle, which made its debut in Geneva earlier this year, rolls in wearing the brand’s “smiley face” front as well as those rather flowy Nagare lines, even though that design is set to be replaced by the new Kodo language.

Tagged as a C-MAV (compact multi-activity vehicle; yes, the designations get stranger by the day), the vehicle on offer here continues to wear the familiar MZR LF 2.0 litre four-cylinder pot, though there are subtle revisions to the numbers on offer – it has 142 hp at 6,500 rpm and 180 Nm at 4,500 rpm to its predecessor’s 136 hp and 175 Nm. For further comparison, the MZR 2.0 direct injection spark ignition unit, which features start-stop technology, puts out 148 hp and 191 Nm, so the reworked figures here sit nicely in between.

mazda5 4

The five-speed auto tranny is now equipped with an Active Adaptive Shift (AAS) function, a slope control feature that determines the gradient of the road and automatically selects the optimum gear with which to traverse it.

The exterior gets a fair amount of reworking – that front and flow lines on the doors are the most direct giveaway, while at the back the high mounted tail lamps are gone, replaced by a more standard looking assembly. The dual powered sliding doors of course remain, but feature newly adopted safety mechanisms, like a front latch safety mechanism and a touch sensor strip.

mazda5 3

Inside, changes and refinements include revisions to the dashboard design as well as improved leather seats with better finishing and detail, among other things. Meanwhile, the 6+One seating arrangement has been retained, which means that the central walk-through passageway and the hideaway Karakuri seventh seat are still to be had, with the difference being that the Karakuri seat is now larger, and it can also accommodate a child seat – you can now attach child seats to all three seats in the second row.

Elsewhere, the rear ventilation system has been improved to ensure an adequate flow of cool air to keep occupants of the second- and third-row seats more comfortable, and the multi-information display on the instrument panel is now placed higher for easier viewing – the display also features new character illumination to improve legibility.

mazda5 2

New safety features abound to add on to the already comprehensive list of items, and these include the adoption of three-point seatbelts on every seat, an improved level of pedestrian protection and a cabin structure that features increased rigidity.

The new Mazda5 2.0L is available in seven colours, these being Clear Water Blue, Copper Red, Aluminium Metallic, Stormy Blue, Crystal White Pearl, Metropolitan Grey and Brilliant Black, and is priced at RM150,000 on the road, without insurance.

Gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1751]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nikolo98 on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Nice… I like how the tail light pull up so far the side of the car…… always did like the 5…….

• MoFaz on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:16 pm

but for the price.. i would choose to add a bit more and buy Pug 5008 instead.

• scgtimk1 on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:19 am

For that price better go for Hyudai Starex or save more than 40k and get Era Komuter. More people can be lug around in and can do part time ‘Bas Sekolah’

But for those badge snobbery people buy all means just go get it.

• POLICY on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:19 pm

yeah!! go for pug..better

• mohsin on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:37 am

Put monitor one la! Better if it have a reverse camera mah!
      Hehehe! broken English

• mini cooper freak on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:21 pm

This is not a facelift, paul. The facelift has been selling for quite some time already….

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:39 pm

mcf,

It’s a bit of an in-between, methinks. Not really a completely new car, but significantly reworked enough. It is missing the “all-new” classification term to make it a totally new offering. And even Bermaz calls it “New Mazda5 Facelift,” in the given material to further obfuscate matters. Nonetheless, changed so as not to confuse further.

• mini cooper freak on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:23 pm

This is not a facelift model, Paul. This is the third generation of Mazda 5.

• beautiful!

• comrade on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:29 pm

looks nice.. hmm

• jialat on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:31 pm

see from photo i guess the size is same as toyota stream

• garfield on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Yep, either “Toyota Stream” or “Honda Wish” size….. LOL

• A.Walker on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Nice work BermazMotor!
    Been waiting this since its facelift in other countries,
    Competition to Toyota Wish & Honda Stream?
    It’s cheaper than both of them,
    I’ll definitely go for it but I’m curios to know its resale value?
    Anyone knows?
    Btw,
    I’m curious to know this answer for years,(since I’m not rich, can’t buy so don’t know)
    Who knows that which brand’s maintainence $$ is cheaper?
    Mercedes-Benz/BMW?
    For example 3-series & C-class.

• A.Runner on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:41 pm

“I’ll definitely go for it but I’m curios to know its resale value?”…..???

Belum beli dah nak jual….pelik betul.

• I am driving a BMW 325. BMW come with first 3 years free maintainence. Based on my records with Auto Bavaria, you have to be prepared to pay something from RM10 to 15k per year after 3 years and 20 to 30k per year after 5 years, excluded tire with cost at least RM700++ per piece.

• rulered on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:10 pm

If you want a good resale value, buy a house.

• cardreamer on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:01 am

Guys, pls give the guy a courtesy…just answer his question..he just want to know the resale value of Mazda car…If you don’t like his question, just leave him but not to insult anybody okay…show some respect to others..

• i think if u really care about the resale value, i suggest u to think about stream or wish.but if u’re type of person who just dare to be difference,not following the trend,mazda 5 is a good choice.

my personal choice,whatever it is,i’ll go for mazda 5.

• Renault Power on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:37 pm

facelift? if so. a damn good one. thumbs up mazda.

• MPV shopper on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Look like 2nd facelift to me!

If this is the new model, then I would say it’s interior is dangerously similar to the previous model. Disappointed that the A/C vent for second row seats still mounted so low like those in the saloons. And of course not happy that A/C blower for the occasional use third row seats, which is useful in our hot and humid weather.

• m4xspeed on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Beautifully crafted MPV from Mazda…. sleekness like Toyota wish. Mazda MPV often get the best awards all around the world for its performance and all around safety in it. What make the of mazda is the design itself which standout more than other in it class. Well done!

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Why dun the photographer take the shot of photo for the third row seat????What we can see only the nicely dashboard and exterior only????How spacious is the third row???

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:01 am

I have not seen the Mazda 5 nor sit in it, but I have seen and sit in Mazda 8. The 3rd row seat for M8 is about the size of that of Innova, don’t know why, given the fact that the wheelbase is much longer than Innova. This Mazda 5’s 3rd row space must be quite poor.
      BTW M8 looks smaller and less bulkier than Alphard/Estima, why so half-baked one huh Mazda?

• Alphard and Estima are larger because their 3rd row seatings are placed after the rear tyre,gives more space but the ride quality and comfort for 3rd row passenger is compromised cuz it will be bumpy/jumpy,like sitting in the final row of a bus.Mazda places its 3rd row above the rear tyre,this increases comfort for 3rd row occupants and the M8 is shorter than Alphard or Estima to increase aerodynamices.Try driving the alphard at high speed and at the opposite lane another car passes by at high speed,the entire car wobles.

• I really like Mazda. Their probably my favorite out of all the Japanese car makers. However, the Pug 5008 seems like a better buy with a more powerful engine and a much higher quality cabin.

• Agree, Mazda hv better exterior but seen like 5008 hv better interior

• Oh Bermaz, when only will you learn to price your cars competitively?

• wolfsburg on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:57 pm

A 150K MPV with only 2 airbags and 4 speaker? Everyone should just go for the 5008….

• rodimus on Dec 01, 2010 at 5:59 pm

I wonder how’s this compare to Toyota Wish(second gen), which one worth 2 buy?? Can anyone pls give some advise thx.

• The second gen din introduced in Malaysia i think, UMW still wanna cheat people with 1 gen Wish with high pricing

• i think mazda 5 still a better choice because its a brand new.Fact that u could get the 2nd gen wish at gray importers,still it is recon…

better go for mazda 5

• Die Lar.. on Dec 01, 2010 at 6:38 pm

2nd gen toyota wish only a taxi in Spore,, hiks..

• Better go for this Mazda 5.

The road holding , comfort, better seat , better safety and engine with WINS hand down over the WISH .

The new design and look is definately look much modern and refreshing than than WISH

WISH look and design is getting dated and tired now !!

• Ordinary Joe on Dec 01, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Yeah, i think its gonna face tough competition from the pug 5008, not to mention the Stream RSZ and new Wish. Should have introduced the version with screen sat nav and reverse camera to give it more of a fighting chance…

• anti-first on Dec 01, 2010 at 6:28 pm

what’s this now, MPV-launch galore this time of year?

imo, madza 5 really looks good and madza itself is a fantastic brand….but due to lack of competitive pricing and equipment level compared to the 5008, it’s not hard to see which MPV the public may end up buying the most.

anyways best of luck to both brands!

• fairsyah on Dec 01, 2010 at 6:30 pm

i wish the back and tail design of EXORA be like this… is it so difficult. nice…

• MoFaz on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:19 pm

it’s not dificult, but i would say it’s cost-related issue.

• IpohPostmaster on Dec 01, 2010 at 6:39 pm

malaysians really need more mpv below 100k

this 1 gonna be just like grandis

• MoFaz on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:17 pm

we have exora for below 100k

• IpohPostmaster on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:43 pm

and we need more…… so people like me will have more to choose

• kandiman on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:43 pm

current 1.6 exora is not good enough, seriously underpower, same as Avanza and 1.6 Grand Livina. Looking forward to the turbo version and hopefully it delivers good HP and torq similar to Wish and Mazda5.

• Kuman on Jan 18, 2011 at 12:12 am

then there u got an MPV with 2.0, under rm100k, with 5 years warranty for engine. it’s called chery eastar. so, the choice is yours.

• Ezalian on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:08 pm

First thing in mind when I saw this back in Brunei is “Hearse”. Kereta Mayat, the one that’s used to carry dead people to the grave yard. :D

• Protong Owner on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:27 pm

good! bring on the competition!

• nice than ‘wish dugong’

• yewch on Dec 01, 2010 at 7:47 pm

5008 3rd row seats are not comfortable enough for adults, tall legs can bang up the back of 2nd row seats, better exora coz 3rd row seats are comfortable enough for adults, just see the level of the floor at 3rd row is low enough thus give ample legroom
    go exora, turbo one!!

• railing for a sliding door spoil everything.. i think they should learn from toyota how to hide the railing like toyota did in their estima..

• dondon on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:22 pm

i just like it…very suitable for family with kids (below 15 years old). i think the third cabin spacious would be the same as previous model. hence, almost all interior design same like previous model (this one im not so like it).

after all, mazda would be offer 5years warranty with 2years free service maintenance –> am i right?

• Independence on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:50 pm

actually for me the best value for money MPV – 7 seater is Cherry Eastar …

• hyundai starex / trajet cost less than 140k..

• tishaban on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:14 am

The main thing I don’t like on the Mazda 5 third row seats is that the seatbacks are fixed unlike on the Wish where you can adjust the recline. On my Wish I could move the seatbacks forward a bit when I need to put a little bit more luggage in or I could recline it further if the kids were trying to sleep at the third row.

Otherwise the Mazda 5 is a nice MPV. Too bad Bermaz decided that safety wasn’t important to Malaysian buyers and only brought in the low spec 2-airbag version.

• SoMeOnE on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:17 am

on sheer metal for cash the chery eastar is good value but technologically its still a generation or 2 behind on the japs..anyway i cant help but noticing the funny situation that effects Mazda in Malaysia…many blogs compare it to Toyota Honda etc and say that the other provide better value..this happens to all Mazda offerings in Malaysia. The funny part is when a 6 ,3, rx8,5, cx7,cx9 stops at the lights…its TURNS heads like no other jap brand..or when u are busy parking one in a mamak shop..or something..u see a lot of heads turning (i do) ..infact many have said that they never actually taught of Mazda when they were shopping in the segment and then u telll them how its fully imported from japan and when they take a closer look ( or ride if its a fren) and u see buyers remorse setting into their faces for not even considering one (they actually forget lol )..its a peculiar situation thats only found in good old Malaysia..i drive the older 6 and even until this day i get admiring glances and comments….im not a mazda supporter by any stretch but i always get..the golden question…. ‘resale value’ ?..well the FACT is fully imported cars (from country of origin especially Japan) never really drop tremendously in value except maybe the koreans(for now) and some europeans(fiat comes to mind) go test them properly..im sure u will be swayed a little by it ;)

• Kuman on Jan 18, 2011 at 12:19 am

yes agree on the 1st statement. with rm140/150k, u got 2 chery eastar, compared with 1 mazda5, or worst rsz. with rm70k balance, money wise, u can do lot more on eastar. hey guys, think about it. that’s what we call, value for money.

• cardreamer on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:09 am

A good design and look for ths new Mazda5. Been inside the previous model, the interior is so cramp…looks big outside but small inside. Just go to NAZA auto mall and make your comparison between wish, mazda5 and others…even grand livina has better 3rd row space than the current mazda5….and the karakuri seat is not that too important aspect for people too i guess…people are looking at more space…don’t really knowabt the new one..should check on it later…

2nd hand price for current Mazda5 is good to the prospective buyer, but again due to the relatively small space inside, demand is not very good…people would go for recond wish…

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:12 am

Paultan This 3rd Generation Mazda5, Mazda5 is from japan……

How Much Mazda5?
    Thank You
    Paultan….

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:14 am

Paultan This not a facelifted Mazda5 but a third Generation Mazda5.

How Much Mazda5?
    Thank You
    Paultan….

• i think paul already stated the price and stated that this is new version of Mazda 5…maybe u need to read the news first before commenting or inquire anything..

• 5008, c4 or M5 on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:21 am

weiiiiiiiii Paul! ….where’s the THIRD ROW pic……….the photographer is amateurish or what…..this look like a pic short for a sedan……. a pic shot for an MPV NEED to have a third row seat shot and the luggage compartment shot (the main reason we buy a MPV instead of a YUMMY coupe)…..unless somebody trying to hide something…..heheheh

• intermilan on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:10 pm

—– 5 0 0 8 —-

• A Bear on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:59 pm

This is definitely a better buy simply becos it is fully imported from Japan.

Must have special import permit otherwise it will cost even more.

Great car….i wonder how is the service centre support, bringing in spare parts, etc.

• new pug 5008 anyday….more hp and torque plus the seat modularity and all leather interior is ooh la la la………class

• nolan on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Mazda build good cars…..but somehow they forgot to put necessary accessories together such as touch screen dvd player and reverse camera…..

• waimak on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:26 pm

I went to check to car out. To my surprise it looks much better in metal. If ranked, I’d give Mazda5 a 2nd after wish, in total. Overall package considering technology, interior , exterior, practicality, spaciousnes, Wish still wins. Wish’s seat are more lavish and confy. Mazda5 lacks this one. Overall I’d put stream a 3rd althought its exterior is outstanding..

• gileMPv on Jan 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm

wow factor still goes to stream, new wish second, Mazda 5 third… 5008..? have u see the third row…. very disappointed ..

• how many unit this mz5 have been sold until now….anyone who can give the figure…paul????

• Leewirefly on Apr 12, 2011 at 1:48 am

How about the Mazda 5 in comparison to peugeot 5008? Which would you get? Can someone comment on this too?

• starexroyale driver on Apr 16, 2011 at 6:47 pm

want a spacious mpv? u should choose starex, guarentee satisfy..if u want the stylish, aerodynamic , modern looking ,then u choose mazda5..rm no 2

• Dun buy madza, a lot of problem and the service is bad

• don’t bay madza, a lot of problem and the service is bad

• U should try service at bermaz HQ.petaling jaya.The service is good,and my mazda 5 had no problem at all..

• can anyone advise on fuel consumption? how many L/km?