The UTM/Proton-developed Saga EV breaks cover

saga ev 1

Ahead of the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show’s opening, Proton and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia today previewed the EV Saga plug-in electric vehicle, a collaborative effort that took 11 months to develop.

In case you’re wondering whether this is the same Saga EV Concept as seen more than a year ago, well, it’s not, even if you can’t run away from some of the EV-based fundamentals and the similar name – the current car also bears the Green Propulsion Concept sub-moniker the earlier version did.

saga ev 3

The project had a core team of 20 people, 10 each from Proton and UTM, with the UTM team made up of lecturers, postgrad student and technicians from the university’s Power Electronics and Drives Research Group (PEDG) of the Energy Research Alliance, led by associate professor Dr Nik Rumzi Nik Idris.

Effectively, Proton laid the foundations with a base Saga, sans standard drivetrain and powertrain, and specified – as well as purchased – the EV-based materials that were used on the car, with UTM primarily responsible for incorporating everything into developing the final product. The modification work was done at the FKE lab in Skudai, Johor and at Proton’s Research Dept lab in Shah Alam.

saga ev 5

Specifications-wise, the EV Saga fields an Azure Dynamics AC24LS 5.5 kW 4-pole, three-phase air-cooled AC electric motor (and corresponding DMOC445 digital motor controller) that can spin up to a maximum of 11,000 rpm, and which offers 47 kW (63 hp) of peak power and 92 Nm of max torque, working with a single-gear transmission and a 15 kWh, 50Ah lithium-ion battery.

The battery consists of 8 separate modules, and each module is made up of 40 cells (in a four-in-parallel, 10-in-series configuration), and together the assembly weighs in at 240 kg, though unlike the 12 module battery in the earlier Saga EV incarnation, it doesn’t completely eat up the boot space of the car (they sit quite comfortably in the spare wheel well area). Incidentally, weight-wise, the EV Saga tips the scales at just 150 kg more than a standard Saga, with the battery being the hefty lad.

saga ev 4

The battery gets its cooling via fan ventilation, which gets its juice from the three-panel solar photovoltaic system sitting on the roof of the car. Each panel is able to provide 5 watts, making 15 in total, just enough to get things going for the battery, but not enough to ventilate the cabin – the incorporation of a larger panel assembly is being planned.

Off a normal 240V point, the battery takes seven to eight hours to charge fully, though it can be fast charged if the need arises. Performance-wise, the EV Saga has a top speed of 125 kph and offers a 160 km range (in NEDC cycle mode), with a 0-100 kph time of 14.5 seconds.

saga ev 2

The gearshift in the prototype had a rather strange selector pattern arrangement (D, B, P, N, S, E, R), which turned out to be Drive, (regenerative) Braking, Park, Neutral, Sport, Eco and Reverse. Well, the Sport (full power) and Eco (the term is descriptive enough, no?) functions had to go somewhere, I suppose. A switch marked Regen Brake (with either Dry or Slippery mode, toggled) next to the shifter is essentially an adjustment switch for the level of regeneration being placed back into the system.

There are some points to note about the performance figures above, as I found out from talking to the UTM boffins – the top speed is that read from bench testing, and though the range under the NEDC cycle is rated at 160 km, testing under real world conditions (with traffic, as well as irregular stop-start and speed cycles) hasn’t ascertained what a realistic – and repeatable – operational range might be. So far, on-road testing has been primarily carried out within UTM’s grounds. And though the car has an air-conditioner, the latter hasn’t been factored in too.

saga ev 6

Final numbers notwithstanding, the effort is a sterling one from those involved in the EV’s development. As with all things new, the learning curve has been steep; the project has had its odd hiccup and expected difficulties while in transition from start to final product (the nastiest bit would be an incident during DC to DC testing, with an oversight effectively frying half the battery assembly’s modules). Still, there has certainly been much learnt, and learnt very well, so kudos are in order – take a bow, gentlemen.

A mention of another highlight in the EV Saga, which revolves around the lights. The car features the use of LED head and tail lamps, which isn’t exactly novel, but what is happens to be the system that drives things along – a specially-designed digital optics driver made by Penang-based company Digitron Research Laboratory.

saga ev 7

The system, which took two years to design, offers tunable and efficiently distributed light intensity and throw (up to 20 metres), with items such as phase and time shift as well as line vectoring all tailorable, depending on application.

Beneficially, in the EV Saga, the two headlamps use up only 12 watts of consumption, the tail lamp cluster 10 watts, and the interior lighting a further eight watts, making for a grand total of 30. Which follows the green stance of things to a T. Its developer says the real benefits of the system will be in the area of commercial lighting, which is definitely a very bright thought.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Is this car works in M’sia?Flood happen frequently!
    but congrats proton!

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:14 am

Flood??

You need boat then……………..sure can work :)

• boyxinan on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:24 am

good job proton! keep up the good work for EV.. people sure will buy this product if come true.. but i dont like the saga design, i belive others too.. please improve it, make it more fluidty, nothing wrong with your design R&D, but you need a creative person for a great design.. not the person that only now how to talk but the design not promising.. Malaysia have many creative artist and it up to you to choose, should be you do like akademi fantasia selection.. do some competition for design job..

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:13 am

there’s another Saga EV, developed together with UK firm. i guess that’s the one which will be commercialise. this UTM version maybe just for study purposes, develop more local engineer in EV field.

• i think they already do research on it…. or on others ev car from other’s ev car manufacturer =p

• Flood happen everywhere…

• 4x4Fan on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:49 am

Anyway..keep it on work Dude..Nice works PROTON..!
      So to all PROTON Basher, hentam la kat forum ni cpt2..So, kitaorg ambik idea2 kamuorg tu utk propose to this group research, utk kasi improve kan lg EV ni..hahaha…Silakan..silakan…

• boyxinan on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:09 am

thats why im not agree if gov want to merge p2 and p1.. if they merged, there is no competition and national car definately use old technology and they only sit on lazy chair without doing anything. and definately basher like us not exist anymore..

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:09 am

congratz utm baru betul….bcoz they design this tech…proton just send a white mouse saga for utm to test it…

• QUOTE: The project had a core team of 20 people, 10 each from Proton and UTM…”

• rexis on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

If submarine can run underwater on battery, there is no reason that we can’t make this car to go through flood or river or underwater, provided proper design is used. (Same as there is no reason to spend big money on a leaky parliament, but well, it happened)

• Chateau on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:23 pm

Cool paint job!

• dondon on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:25 pm

oh man i just loved the smoked tail light…osem…

• RON97 on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:53 am

ha ha ha ha.. put a bit tint film…look osem, put led (bought at elec hardware)…look nice.. poor proton owners, always being fooled.

• DBF8883 on Jan 08, 2011 at 3:37 pm

smoke tail light fully LED..really nice..i also like it..hahaha

• The best thing I saw is the headlights and rear lights, so damn nice

• freeze on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Very nice diamond plates…

• WhyNot on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:28 pm

I think it is wise to have the charger connection in the front rather then using the existing Fuel Lid on the side. Because most houses do not have full shelter in the case if it rains or having sun shining on it. I hope that the real model should have it amended.

• don^don on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:03 pm

you can always reverse into your home’s garage :P

nevertheless, a great effort from proton and local university UTM. the lighting system is very amazing, though i don’t fancy the front headlamp, could do with a better arrangement, but the backlamp is very sexy indeed.

oddly tony, why didn’t you talk about the solar panel on the roof. nothing special there?

the front bay is quite spacious after installing the electric modules. probably can utilize that empty space in future EV models.

• Whynot on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:50 am

I do agreed to a certain extend but I have a pillar allowing me inches between my walkway which if I drive head in first is OK even if I am short sighted but having always reversing all the time b’cos to cater for this little error in design by Proton, which I do think one day/night I might likely to bang on the side b”cos I am a lousy driver’s at reversing. Unless I got lots of monies to do a garage or to have my front porch with the pillar renovated which might probably costing about or more than RM15,000.00 which simply doesn’t sound feasible at all. Don’t you think so?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:38 am

I did mention the three-panel solar photovoltaic system in paragraph seven, which is used to provide power for the battery’s ventilation fan – there’s not enough to work in-cabin ventilation as of yet, but they do say that they plan to experiment with a larger panel assy. As for the tech itself, that’s not exactly a new dress. :)

• Armchair critiquer.. on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:27 am

For practicality purposes, its better to have the charging point at the front (preferably somewhere near the middle of the front grill). It’s easier to park and charge the car at home. Imagine having it at the current fuel lid place. The charging wires will have to be longer and run all over the place. You bound to trip over them, the tires will run over them and it’s just plain ugly to see such long wires snaking through from your car to the wall.

Plus, I’d imagine public parking places in the future may provide charging points as well as an added facility. You can park your car and charge at the same time. The above problems will then multiply ten-folds.

• I have problem, I stay in a condo, how to recharge the car ???

• MoFaz on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:31 pm

i want new saga design.. with RE-EV.. can?

• Neutral on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Good start Proton and UTM! The most difficult is to start something new.Then the next step will be more easier and more sponsorship. Simple and nice make over!

• Hasmizal on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Tahniah Proton dan UTM….

• i am from utm , so ok lah .
    an electrical car has to be engineered from the basic. shouldn’t be like a plug n play method. because the compostions of the running components are completely different, without the heavy engine in front, the engine looks kosong now .

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:54 am

Did not check EV diy sites did you? People have been doing this for years ok. Don’t do this.

• rexis on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Should utilize the space for more batteries, or boot space.

• sagatron on Dec 01, 2010 at 9:51 pm

can i convert saga facelift into this one??

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:18 am

B4 u do that, check out the facelift R3 version………………simply awesome!!!!

• Awesome job…..but….will it blend? :)

• kandiman on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Now this is Proton should do more! thumbs up!
    love the 160km travel range , and not too heavy battery pack, but if the car can hit top speed around 150 would be perfect!

• Tiadaid on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Take it one at a time. Perfect the technology first, then think about more power.

• lotsofidiotoutthere on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:13 am

If Proton want to be more than kampung champion, they need to speed up. They start well in EV, but to be a serious challenger to others such as Leaf or Volt worldwide, they need to move faster since the later already available on market now. Gov need to do more to push the EV cars, maybe compulsory charging facilities in petrol station maybe?

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:47 am

lower speed give you more distance, and higher speed will shorten your travel. the most important issue about EV is range. Proton got their priority right on this one. besides, the speed wasn’t that bad. you could still reach the fastest legal speed on highways: 110kmh.
      or, buy Lotus Evora Hybrid, you can get more than 150kmh as you wish.

• kandiman on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:37 am

if it is limited 125km, then majority car owner will still prefer fuel engine car. The fact is not many ppl satisfied with sticking to legal speed limit while driving on highway, Proton should work on this and i believe it is achievable, since Leaf can hit over 140km/h while GM Volt over 160km/h. If not, i am afraid most ppl will label the car as second car for wife to send kids to school or go pasar…kinda expensive for a big toy like this, and thus the market will be very limited.

• BadBET on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:27 pm

stay focus proton + UTM, make us proud to be Malaysian, hope in near future I can proudly point at Proton’s car and said ‘thats made in Malaysia”

• CHONG KAT on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:44 pm

universiti teknologi malaysia!

• when will other car manufacturers launch EV car in malaysia?? P2 ? apa macam,? daihatsu got EV to share with P2?

• the front and rear lamp are very stylo.. proton should mass produce it!!!

• bobdbilder on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:15 pm

I don’t intend to be such a damper, there were things just shouting right in front of me. I am just raising some questions;

Quote,
    “Effectively, Proton laid the foundations with a base Saga, sans standard drivetrain and powertrain, and specified – as well as purchased – the EV-based materials that were used on the car, with UTM primarily responsible for incorporating everything into the final product”

So what did the UTM students do? Is this (as it should be) a Diploma level project? Coz Paul mentioned its done by Postgraduates (with technicians help). Should I worry about my kids’ education now?

HEF ’88.

• drMpower on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:25 pm

the motor drives, programmings, synchronization are all postgraduate stuffs. proton currently have no electrical/ motor related division i believe

it is very complicated matters so i doubt it diploma level this is one. the brushless DC motors need to be simulated using special finite element modeller and of course we need to specially mould the motor ourselves including all those copper turns and the magnetic stuffs.

then we need to design the controller of which to get the right amount of current to flow into each of the motor. at the same time we need to take care of a lot of other elements like Hall Effects, harmonics, and stuffs. 3 phase controller is different to single phase controller and all. etc etc

i am not UTM people but i know postgraduate stuffs. infact some of the works are doctorate level.

• mspfaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:43 am

The study on developing the batteries is another complicated matter as it needs stable materials to make it last longer, faster recharge time, etc etc. it is not simply a matter of assembly but also optimizing the whole package/product. It needs students with higher level of education that have the basic in physics, chemist, chemical enginering, electrical engineering, materials understanding and automotive background to do these studies. Diploma students alone won`t have sufficient knowledge to do the studies. The input from postgrad students at the level of MSc and PhD are needed to study indepth of the work. Remember, research is not to study only on the surface of the work, but it has to involve understanding how things work up to the level of atom as well to predict the behaviour of the product.

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:28 am

You have got to be kidding me.

Academicians like doing FEA on ECMs. They like running numbers into Matlab. And what? Finds out the nut was oversized?

Production (in real life) would luv in-hub motors. Or cooling fins that run on the right side. Or better yet, better deep cycle batteries. Academicians love to spend 2 years of their time to rationalize things that in real life does not matter.

Have we come out with ways to replace the batteries in less than 30 mins? Coz THAT matters.

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:48 am

Doctorate level. You have got to be kidding me.

Academicians love to put numbers into Matlab don’t they? FEA on a EC motor? Oh
        come on! They are using production equipment. Its not like they use an Rabbit controller. Or an Arduino board.

My GMI trained Engineer did his Masters and he was appalled at what was deemed an acceptable project. You are not really pushing boundaries here are you? You can all say fancy TLAs but it does not mean anything. Did they get any patents for this?

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/garage/

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:35 am

bob,

I should like to have a coffee with you one day; it would make for a very interesting discourse, certainly. Finite element analysis, now that’s a term I haven’t heard in a while! :)

• this engineering stuff make me dizzy..maybe reading other comment this time.i do lacking in electrical engineering knowledge..am purist chemistry backgroung though

• drMpower on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:53 am

i am not kidding u

i know someone designing three phase motor drives. and he has to power motors with specific outputs. mostly hes doing stuffs like programming, so on and so forth. too complicated if i were to mention here. thats his phd. MATLAB is very powerful software i believe. purely educations. but yeah if we are to embark on discussion about educationist/ theories trying to rationalize things in real life dont really matter, i have to agree with u. but then thats what research and development is all about isn it. we try to create something that looked tidy and perfect but in the end our design or creation will be chopped in and out right and left in order to get it ready for mass production.

but the value of RnD still pretty very important. if not for RnD how can any creations be created. we are not talking about try and error. we need justifications for whatever we are doing.

what production equipments? apart from the chasis, i cant even think of something that production equipment.

the motor drives for instant, which power the front end tyres, need to be specifically design and moulds. like i said this is not try and error. because u need to design something with specific capabilities. DYI is for Geoff Eagle i Trust. and they failed miserably. but i guess for ur own filling up time activities, yeah u can try. but thats we call try and error. it doesnt matter whether its failure or not because it is for your own use.

there are some parts that can be patterned. dont worry. patterning is for someone to protect their products. any product. if proton decided to get someone doing very complicated and unique motor drives, they can apply for pattern. or they design a one specific motor, and after checking out theres no one doing that, yeah they can pattern it.

just like that guy who pattern the energy conversion device (ECD), a certain mr. Stanford Ovshinsky. who happened to discover ECD back in the 1950s. it has something to do with batteries technologies and he is now reaping benefits through law suits and legal actions onto companies like matsushita, toyota, panasonic etc etc.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:19 am

bob,

Certainly, not kids’ play, all this – while the specifications/outline may have been defined by Proton, the project team had to get it all cobbled together, and in the entire process effectively build the plug-in EV from scratch, so it is not diploma level, Airfix stuff we’re talking about.

As pointed out by drMpower, this is very much doctorate level work from a UTM perspective. The point is of the whole project is actually beyond that attained with the product itself – the research and learning levels brought about by it, both from a technology standpoint as well as a joint research and collaborative interaction perspective for both university and corporation. The academics learn to apply firsthand and use some elbow grease in the process, and the manufacturer gains valuable input from the exercise. You can call it tapping expertise, or you can call it networking, but everyone learns something, and that surely can’t be wrong. :)

• hey UTM skudai for degree and master la.. diploma at UTM semarak..

• Skidezourus on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Hi Bob,

I like your thoughts although I am totally disagree with everything except for this part.

“Academicians love to spend 2 years of their time to rationalize things that in real life does not matter.” and “Have we come out with ways to replace the batteries in less than 30 mins? Coz THAT matters.”

I’m very sure that while they are designing the car, DFM and DFD were not left out. But you made a good point there.

BTW…FEA is a design tool (not quite sure about the production tool claim)..for MATLAB..well..basically..you can throw anything into it.

• Wei Kiat on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Is that EMAS parking besides this Saga in the 6th photo ?

• pilot on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:28 pm

is tat means UTM students could do better n faster than Proton RnD team??
    wats happening now??

• drMpower on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:40 am

u are missing the point.

apart from Honda and Toyota, electric vehicle sudden emergings have the playing field LEVEL among all manufacturers. no one know what to expect. suddenly it is everyones game. even big companies pay second/ third parties to do the electric parts for them. richer ones will just absorb small research companies into their subsidiaries etc etc.

it is quite hard to design a hybrid, let alone fully EV. the part where proton and MOST MANUFACTURERS are lacking is how to get the vehicle moving without/ partially with the old internal combustion engine. currently the favourite/ the only way for vehicle propulsion is by having electric motors.

some gone into having 2 electric motors to the either front or back drive. some advanced (although it is no longer now) method is by having each of the wheel, a separate motor. this is actually to create a ‘4wheel drive’ system just like the one we are having pre-EV. but to get each and every motor working needs ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS engineer. the people at proton+most manufacturers are full with MECHANICAL/ AUTO ENGINEERING.

it may look easy but trust me, it is a whole new world. there are a lot of things need to be done for one motor. let alone 2. or 4. everyone is catching up tho.

UTM, through its power electronics/ engineering researcher is well verse in these things. that answers ur mere short sighted question.

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:45 pm

This would happen if your postgrads had no prior work in the industry as field engineers. Our engineers prefer airconditioned offices than getting themselves busy trying to do physically strenous activities like changing a v belt or aligning a pump. Our lecturers in the education system wants all of our engineers to become M+E consultants. Our attitude is to put engineers in a pigeon hole. If you are a Mechy, you’d have to wait for a Power guy to isolate the power, before you could take out the coupling and bring out the pump.

You go to a factory and the maintenance tech is expected to do everything. In ten years, he’ll be an Engineer that his subordinate can’t fool around with. That is real competency.

• QUOTE: “The project had a core team of 20 people, 10 each from Proton and UTM, with the UTM team made up of lecturers, postgrad student and technicians….”

• Lim Kopi on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:34 pm

honestly people, firstly, we should ask ….
    Has PROTON so far manage to achieve the level of making GOOD QUALITY NORMAL CARS yet ??

If your answer is :

A ) YES – then congratulations, its actually good effort in venturing into EV

However if :

B) NO – then whats the point of venturing into such a NEW technology which NOT even more established carmakers have gotten into …. its just a waste in P1’s own budget in R&D … might as well try to improve and perfect their current cars. We are not like the Japs who have the minds + budget + tenaciousity ….

Which answer , u decide lah :)

• Lets judge their cars from overseas standards. So far, not going well. Guess we might have an EV car, but with lousy build quality?

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:38 am

i’m not surprised reading such comment from someone who spent most of his time gossiping in kedai kopi.
      new technology? in term of concept, it’s not new at all. for your info, first electric car was created in 1830s, which is almost 200 years ago. petrol engines made the electric car buried in history. it only resurfaces now due to ever increasing price of petrol.
      besides, if proton only ‘wait and see’, you bashers will bash. so, why you still bash proton when they venture into this tech early? Proton will come out with hybrid, EV, turbo and completely new engine in few more years. don’t you see that they can develop more than 1 thing at the same time? many engineers are working in Proton. perhaps you don’t realise this because you only see 1 “pembancuh air” at your favourite coffee stall and you think maybe proton has only 1 engineer too…
      and Exora already beat Vauxhall Ampera in RAC challenge by far margin. for a 25 years old company, to beat another company which already has more than 100 years of experience… is something which you could be proud of. but bashers will never satisfied.
      how’s your coffee today? i hope it tastes good.

• lotsofidiotoutthere on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:23 am

you know what, just let other ppl express their opinion, no need attack them because they have different thought. Please be more matured and respect others rights to talk. Dont act like a monkey jumping up and down screaming basher basher basher when others said something you dun like.

• drMpower on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:03 am

maybe that guy just wanted for the others to know that it is not a petty, silly, easy job designing an EV. it could be his lingua that might u find excessive but its the point that matters

some people dont really know what is going on but they offer their opinions like they are experts in the subject. it is entirely annoying to hear especially when he knows the subject real well.

different thoughts are good. self indulgement based on wrong understanding is not.

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:35 am

you call that discussion and expressing opinions??
          from my and most readers perspective, it seems like he’s just belittle and looking down at other people’s efforts while they are trying to succeed. I’m quite familiar with his writing style all this while. this is what we call “busuk hati”, “hasad dengki”, jealous, and envious with other people’s success.

• pilot on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:09 pm

u r just another basher towards ur so called ‘basher’.. is tat mean ppl giving negative statement or dislike Proton is a wrong?? read around wat ppl over the country valuate Proton.. n u callled tat a progression n success..

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:38 am

Its NOT new technology. Academicians just make it sound that way so people would think they are important. We are better than Japs. Honest.

Yes Mr. H-Motors who come to do Predictive Maintenance with 3 people and one hand held vibration monitor. I am talking about you.

We just have engineers who wont go dirty themselves and pick up a spanner.

• oh my.. there you go.. why u have to have that mentality?? come on! believe in them!! u should praise and put your hats off to these inventors !! Proton has come up with a brilliant idea which other car makers hasn’t done yet and imagine if this goes well.. proton will rank up billions!! and also put a notch ahead in their domestic and oversea sales. proton buat ne salah proton buat tu salah.. lolx

• ploty on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:25 am

“venturing into such a NEW technology which NOT even more established carmakers have gotten into”

huh don’t you know anything about prius?

• prius not ev car lah…prius hybrid car internal combustion engine with elecric motor…\
        saga ev no engine just electric motor that way they call it ev electric vehicle. dumbass..

• Tiadaid on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:13 am

Prius isn’t pure EV. Don’t you know anything about EV?

• elite on Dec 01, 2010 at 11:43 pm

probably as easy as installing NGV…

using cap ayam EV components for education purpose…

• ex-skudai on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:47 am

Dude,,, Ford & FeDex also use same AZD EV components not your cap ayam kilang belakang rumah punya.

• cnmtc on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:52 am

bye luxurious petrol cars , i’m gonna use more advanced tech then yours, i’m in electric car you know, your cars are obsolete already, like tin buruk

• mustr on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:27 am

yes very easy…..to smoke those your old car behind, opps no smoke!

• Kancil_Redbull on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:30 am

Are you trolling? I hope you are because your comments reflect someone with little understanding of how EV works. This isn’t like putting battery into your RC car.

Congratulations to Proton and UTM. Credit should be given when it is due. A good news that brightens my morning. Too bad the Malaysian football team is not providing good news too.

• why EV use induction motor?

• Shaycoat on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:48 am

Why cannot used ka?

• if not mistaken this type of motor can regenerate electrical energy back to recharge the battery… damn, forgot the motor design already…

• shawal on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:05 am

This car is akin to google’s nexus’s Android ,refine until the level of HTC sense ,if you know whut i mean , Hide all the tech to make it as accessible as possible, and hopefully it will make into production

• Samsonite on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:35 am

Now Proton. Please hire those who design the headlamp and the taillight. TQ.

• As claimed by tun mahathir this should be priced less than 100k..
    if u think its great, then buy lo..
    civic hybrid RM109 only.. hoho

• Hafiz on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:37 am

i find proton rather funny employing utm people, no budget ka

• james on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:56 am

1. Green cars are not environmentally friendly, it acquires electricity from a power plant powered by coal/gas/oil/uranium, unless we are ready to tap the energy from the sun/wind/sea/geo thermal and etc.

2. it requires a lot of energy to mine and process lithium due to its low concentration on planet earth apart from a few countries such as Bolivia and Chile.

• Human is not environmentally friendly no matter how hard he tries…

• Tok Kadok on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:56 am

Mmmh, not really. At least we can reduce the carbon emmision i.e the amount of carbon generate by power plant is less than from the car as the latter has less efficient energy conversion. Yes, Saga EV is enviromentally friendly compared to normal Saga.

• aidil on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:26 am

if i’m not mistaken, our electricity comes from the dams, thus hydro power. TNB is leveraging on gravity and water so thats kinda green right? Whats not too green about this is flooding land to build the dam -_- …

But…I didnt know that about lithium

• verty on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:16 am

after this complaints against nvh are history

• Shaycoat on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:08 am

Salam and greetings,

UTM + Proton has make their best effort to collaborate. This is a kick-start project which shows that IPTA and industries can sit and work together. There are a lot of things that need to be done after this i.e. analysis on the power train etc. It is no doubt that a lot of EV conversion projects have been done by common people with no background of electrical eng. (you can find them in youtube). However, are their cars perform excellently? This is where academician take their role i.e not just convert but also analysis on how the performance can be enhanced. Nevertheless, this is a good move but i am wonder why some of the posting was very excited with the LED lamp???? 10Watt power consumption is very typical for LED (we know that LED consume less power) So what is the point quoting that the research have been done for 2 years (nonsense!)

• Jebon on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:00 am

Hmmm… did they developed their own electric motors and controllers? if not, this is just an EV conversion project, which is common and can be done easily. I dont see any value added, except for the control strategy algoriyhm. If I am not mistaken, the article said that both motor and controller are sourced from motor manufacturer. Where is the FEA and motor design by Proton or UTM? They are spending too much money for tbis EV conversion using of-the-shelf product. I want to see actual motor and controller design, not just buying of-the-shelf, put together and claim it as your R&D work. With enough money, ordinary people like most of us can also do this. And EV conversion is very common in the US. So, Protkn & UTM dont put wool over my eyes. Is this all that you can come up with using my tax money? Come on, I am sure you can do better. Show it to us.

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Yes Jebon. You got the point exactly. If we see a mess of self made PCBs and ugly consoles, it is showing that its really from scratch. There was only development by the Electrical Engineering Faculty. Nothing from Chemistry for batteries. Nothing from Mechanical for thermodynamics or airconditioning. Its a one-man-upmanship for FKE. There would be scores of professors and HEP people lining up to get their just deserves. Grinning to themselves.

Diploma level students should be allowed to do matching of the components. Coz the components are available on e-bay. Unis have been sideliniing Diploma levels for YEARS. Just for the sake of showing their postgrad programme is the greatest.

Postgrad engineer will never ever ever leave campus and get their elbows dirty. But diploma kids will and they will learn more and acquire more skills than master holders. They’ll advance better in life as they acquire more experience.

Guess who did the wiring, earth leak tests, continuity and play with the Fluke? The 10 Proton engineers? The 10 Master Holders? Or the 2-3 Techies?

• Annoy-nimal on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Beg to differ. Not many EV or even major car manufacturers for that matter develope their own ‘everything’. It would be economically foolish to do so. Unless, youre some rich guy who can afford a total vehicle development. Its called collaboration. Sometimes, its more economical to outsource and get the vendors to do research for you. Im sure you are aware of this if you know about the car industry. To put into perspective, if a mitsubishi evo uses recaro seats and garett turbochargers, does that mean Mitsubishi doesnt know how to design and develop seats and turbochargers? If you don’t have engineering background and commenting as a normal car enthusiast, then I would understand. Otherwise, youre just making a fool out of yourself.

• Jimmy Dean on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Actually Honda design and build their own IMA motor for Honda Insight. I’ve come across the design paper. General Motors also design their own in-wheel motors for their prototypes.

• Tok Kadok on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:01 am

W’salam,
      I wonder when actually we can have the technology of fuel cell?? chep and affordable I mean.

• I concured with Shaycoat comment pertaining to LED lamps excitement.
      As we know, LED is “GREEN ” but not efficient yet. Reason being only 20% of energy is effectively converted to light while the rest in the form of wasted Heat.
      In oder to achive such a high light intensity one needs high power to drive those LEDs,consequently, require bulky and intricate heat sink to dissipate those heat.

From my understanding, the whole LED world is trying to breakthru this technology. So far no one has claim it yet. Of late Audi has announced to using LED headlight (as optional) on new A6 saloon.I’m very sure Audi is working around it rather than breakthru. Otherwise Audi would have installed it on all new models.
      Well as a proud Malaysian I truly hope Proton or our fellow countrymen break this technical wall. Malaysia Boleh!

Good Luck!

• Jai Ho on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:38 am

D B N P S E R

Arghhhhhhhhh..too much to remember…

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:07 am

yeah.. hehe. and i would prefer P on top, similar to most auto cars. but hey, it’s still prototype, maybe it will be lesser in final production.

• izhar on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:56 am

congrats to PROTON and UTM…

• pug dog on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:07 am

Syabas PROTON & UTM.

• Jai Ho on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:13 am

How must it cost to replace the BATTERY?

• aidil on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:48 am

one small step at a time… and if they take this tech into persona or inspira and the price is right, I will buy it

• cardreamer on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:55 am

There it goes again…anything about Proton, first few comments on top will be very nice and smooth ‘knowledge sharing’…but as the list continues than the war of words starts…very annoying…

Just hoping that Proton wouldn’t mind much abt all those attitude of people around here…just continue doing what is best…doesnt mean that if you’re a loser you will remain a loser forever…who knows Proton might come out with a better EV car than a normal car? Thomas Edison had made 10000 attempts before coming out with a workable light bulb! If the was any forum on the net those days, Sir Thomas Edison would have been bashed to death, i supposed!….

A reporter aske him, would he give up? and he said why should i give up? I have known more than 9000 ways why a bulb fails!

So people, look at the bright side pls, and give constructive comments and credit where is due…

• Alex Chee on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:09 am

I have a problem i wanna ask. Personally im driving auto, but i could make any sense from the gears they have arranged, as the D is so far away from R. Wad if i stuck in the dead end and would like to make a J-turn? See how long i would need to slide the gear lever from D to R, passes all the unnecessary gears. If the gears such as Sport and other gears could be aligned in a way more ergonomic, this car is a two thumbs up. =D

• subhero on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:29 am

my question is ” why must proton saga?”

• ichi24 on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

it’s a b segment car, for most majority people who use it for their daily life usage

what? want to build it on Inspira? dream on idiot

• JoeGTi on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:31 am

Good start Proton, please involve more IPTA.
    All gud brains from IPTA could bring more idea that is always gud for Proton.
    Then offer them job after graduate.

• taboogen on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:36 am

hermmm led side mirror.. look a bit diff with the new Saga FL

• As claimed by tun mahathir, this should be priced below 100k.. With that price range will you buy ?
    I rather opt civic hybrid at 109k:)

• maxer on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:48 am

good.. first step for Malaysian alternative against the increasing fuel price.. :)

• zanggief on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:05 am

Is the battery going to cost super expensive?… as battery that keep on flat and recharge back to the life span will sure need to replace and it is no fuel engine that built in.

The whether in M’sia could be the bottom neck for battery set as hot and high humidity could shorten the battery service life compare to other countries…

• Anybody knows how much this should cost?

• no problem with the EV concept..however, PROTON there is still lots of work to do..please do not roll out the EV concept for the sake of rolling it out!…PROTON still have a lot of doubts over EV especially on its realibility, test results, convenience, etc…
    For design wise, PROTON is as those Chinese Automotive Manufacturer…a “low class” copy cat…
    Take “Kia” or “Hyundai” as a learning..Proton is nowhere near this..please buckle up and do the job realistically…

• temuchin on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:24 pm

malaysian people says proton should learn from kia/ hyundai.

now, the koreans mentality towards their national carmakers is not like what malaysians is to their carmakers – all the bashings, critics, belittling…

instead of looking at ourselves, we only know to blame others.

kinda stupid…eh?

• Peh.. pas ni cas kat umah je la. Tin2~ kene beli satu ni ‘p

• odi862 on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:50 am

About time……let Proton make the EV or hybrid car and sell it. Maybe when they do others are allowed to bring in their models and we can compare.

• cantiknyer, banggan jadi anak malaysia

• Jebon on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:37 pm

I really dont like this so called breakthrough EV technology by UTM & Proton. EV conversion is not R&D work. Perhaps this is a break through tempurung for these so called researchers from UTM & Proton. I think, we as tax payers want to see actual technology breakthrough in designing own motors, controllers, energy management system, fuel cell, hydrogen storage, ultra capacitors, lithium polymer batteries and so on. This is just embarassing, a tech savvy pair of father & son can do this in their own garage in the US using less amount of money and getting it done in probably half the time taken by this group of so called researchers.

• cite me ONE example.

• Jebon on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:15 pm

You mean the father-son EV conversion? I give you a book to read, much better right?

1. Build Your Own Electric Vehicle By Seth Leitman, Bob Brant (just use google book or better order it yourself).

2. http://www.diyelectriccar.com/ You can read through about many individual projects there. Example: 1984 Pontiac Fiero Electric Vehicle Conversion / From start to finish with a ride along

3. http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/ Read through and you can learn from extraordinary people in this forum.

4. http://ecomodder.com/blog/a-672-electric-car/ $672 EV conversion.

Happy now? You can find alot more of course. As I said, EV conversion is a common thing in the developed countries. I know a person in Malaysia who had done a few EV conversion; an EV minibus, EV rickshaw, series hybrid SUV, EV scooter (the size of Modenas scooter) – all these while he was in the USA. He had also assisted in UTM fuel cell scooter project by helping them figure out the motor sizing and the size of on-board energy storage required. In addition, he also help a research group in making a 200 horsepower sports sedan. I can’t put his name here as this is a public forum and he likes to keep a low profile.

• Vishnu on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:46 am

You have a point. Anyone can make an EV vehicle. But is it reliable and efficient? Would you put your life behind the wheels of a homemade EV with regenerative braking? And sell it?

If you knew how regenerative braking worked, you would not say that. It requires a lot of professional work, and you wont find them in forums or books. It is so difficult to do, Toyota actually recalled the Hybrid Prius to reprogram the regenerative braking systems firmware. You can do better? Dad-son combo can do better? I honestly think not.

That process, is called R&D. Designing the power electronics for an EV is a piece of cake, i can do it with my eyes closed. But finding the sweet spot for efficiency in the power electronic design? That is not easy, not by a light year. It is a breakthrough when you do find it, because no one publishes this type of data for commercial reasons.

To elaborate, The Chevrolet Volt can go up to 80km on pure electricity. Ford Ranger EV goes up to 105km, but is discontinued due to political reasons. Toyota and Honda hybrids are worse than both of these, but can run on petrol. I can give more, but do your own homework.

In contrast, the Saga EV goes all the way up to 160km, and is the first commercial EV I’m looking at that has solar panels and LED lighting combined. It isn’t the best, but its still a cut above the big boys.

• Jebon on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:44 am

Yes, if both dad and son are really into EVs. And yes, I do know how regen braking work and how PM motor works in all 4 quadrants. And you can actually set the regenerative braking level with most new controllers to suit the max charging current allowed for each battery type, or limp mode, phase advance of phase current, control the shape of the current waveform transitioning from six step to trapezoid to sine wave, etc. Can it be done by DIYers? Definitely yes and I’ve seen a bunch of fresh grads did it in FuturaTruck Challenge several years back (my friend was leading the team) but not to the level of OEMs since they don’t have any means to simulate the different drive cycles on a chassis dyno.

Based on your comment, I can guess that you must’ve work on EVs before. You can start with forward looking simulation of the system using known drive cycles then perhaps try HIL simulation if you can program the motor dyno to simulate transient loadings.

By the way, BYD EV can go much further on a single charge.

• temuchin on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:43 am

one step at a time, my friend.

• Annoy-nimal on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:30 pm

How do you know that what you mentioned about the RnD work wasn’t done already by Proton UTM? You probably don’t even know that the car seen here is a distance a part from their first prototype, which was a conversion trial. Ooo… you’ve never seen the first prototype havent you… too bad.

• Jebon on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:26 pm

I guess you don’t understand my intention. I know very well what UTM has done ( I was there), I know they are very capable in designing motor controller and I have also seen a damaged electric motor sent from UTM for repair (fail reverse engineering attempt perhaps?). You really think I would ask these questions if I didn’t know and haven’t seen it in person? So what’s your question again?

• Who needs to reverse engineer an electric motor when it is clearly a 3 phase AC motor? Your sarcasm just backfired.

• Jebon on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:19 am

Who says anything about 3 phase AC motor? It was a damaged rotor of an advanced permanent magnet motor with peak efficiency over 96%. By the way, it is not sarcasm, it did happened.

• gear selector indicator using SCRABBLE?

• gear selector indicator made from SCRABBLE?

• Vishnu on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:36 am

Its a lab prototype, not a finished product. It is just for demo.

• B2RDD on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Credits should also being given to the Department of Automotive Engineering,FKM and the Automotive Lab,UTM where the major modification works took place.

• autojohndoe on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:50 pm

UTM… Kerana Tuhan Untuk Manusia

• Vishnu on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:34 am

Why are some people talking about floods? If anything, this car can withstand floods better than a regular car because its does not have an exhaust like petrol cars.

Kudos to Dr Nik and his team, as well as Proton! Looking forward to this.

• 2023 now. Where’s the EV from proton?