Proton Kasturi Concept – Saga facelift teased at KLIMS

The Proton Saga facelift which made its world debut in Thailand earlier his week makes an appearance at the KLIMS 2010 as the Proton Kasturi Concept, which is kitted up but not quite the same as the Proton Saga R3 Concept shown in Thailand.

While that one’s kitted up by R3, the bodykit on this Proton Kasturi Concept is by Proton Design, and the car is done up in a black on white theme. The rear end features clear LED tail lamps, but unlike the Saga facelift and the Saga R3 concept facelift, this one doesn’t show off its rear muffler.

The interior has also been blinged up with a white and black theme, and the meter cluster also gets a new design which you can find a zoomed in image with more detail in the live photo gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1761]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1765]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericmaxman on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:05 pm

R3 looks better..interior too “bling” for my taste..

• abeng on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:48 am

yeah…try sell this in europe.

• protonglova on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:25 pm

haha…£1 down payment? why cant we get that kind of promotion here? Damn…we are the one sacrificed for 25 years of expensive cars in order to pamper this giant baby…

• don’t say like that…if p1 bankrupt there will be more than 15k workforce losing their job…kinda pity. so, like it or not, please support p1and the big dreamer Dr.M.

• michael on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:12 am

support P1 b’cos of the workers future?? This is not a strong point to make people supports that maker.. Support them?? dare to sole thier product in the lowest price lah.. Dont waste money b’coz of that high price rubbish looo.

• nightReader on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Wah..Jebat not publish yet..but I think the car behind 1st photo of kasturi is Jebat. Is’t right, paul?

• sayer on Feb 12, 2011 at 9:50 pm

no, that is proton emas, it was launched in geneva middle last year…… jebat looks similar with proton inspira but with a sportier look with proton r3. this is the photo of jebat at the KLIMS http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/163790_1775896477774_1250190673_1972707_8275921_n.jpg

• tuah,lekir,lekiu,kasturi…where is jebat???make sure the fierce look one

• JEBAT on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Where is JEBAT???

Inspira = Jebat?

anyway ..ayammmm 1st!!!

• why concept??

• abeng on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:58 am

already put on new headlight, grille, skirting and steering what! New interior color scheme also. What else do you expect?? bash bash bash…you pay peanuts you get monkeys mah…
      and dun even try to compare with other cars, you wont be able to afford it as long as Proton is still here.

• ray_jay on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:16 pm

R3 Edition shown @ Tomyamland car show looks better… i yam just sayin’

• Saga disguise as Kasturi…

Nice..

• scgtimk1 on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:22 pm

This concept car is just plain ugly. The finishing is poor, the rear bumper spoiler is aerodynamically restrictive, the color combo sucks.
    What’s with the steering wheel anyway? very ah beng style.

The standard and R3 face-lifted Saga is much better than this.

Whoever in charge of this project should get a kick on the backside after this.

• Popiah Basah on Dec 05, 2010 at 8:35 am

the person in charge of it is the Proton’s Head of Styling… :p

• safarin on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

design macam2. lekir la lekiu la tuah la, kalau sekadar concept car takde pape nak dibanggakan. baik dibuat banyak2 dan jual

• ray_jay on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Komen macam-macam… komen membina tidak apa juga. Ini main hantam sahaja. Banyak pandai apa kata u apply jadik designer proton… put where your mouth worth..

• michael on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:20 am

They dare to take wht we say from our mouth, we sure dont mind..Think and use eye to c the lowest grade design and word b4 publish out. That type of name with saga design???? This is concept car????booosit man.. 1st copy lancer as wira now copy lancer as inspira, later ast as kembara then lancer hatchback as inspira aeroback. This is design???? Lotus in F1 they let go coz segan, now waste money to sponcer renault???? booosit again to p1.

• mohdjiman on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Like the steering design

• PootieTang_85 on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:28 pm

nice concept by proton…

• lkf0512 on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Thanks Paul!

• Jared Green on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:31 pm

It is an improvement, but I feel the R3 kit had a better concept and colour scheme.

Go Go Proton! I just hope they bring these awesome new changes to Oz for us Proton fans Down Under!

• donadoni on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:34 pm

looks like a final year project of a nerd college student

• iamisiamwhatiam on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:41 pm

The interior has too much whites, I think. Still, its better than R3 design, not an obvious copycat.

• meane on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:41 pm

normal je…

• zanggief on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Is this R3 or FL model that launch for bolehland?

The steering is sourced from Jap (momo that found in Toyota or Daihatsu)…Workmanship of the door decorative sticker need some improvement…haha

• apexg2 on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:46 pm

i think this is the facelift saga “SE”…y not!And i think they should make it blacktop!

• drMpower on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:50 pm

OMG. stop. stop.
    please stop.

these concepts are awful. please.

they are putting a new, wrong definition into the word ‘concept’ with these few vehicles. please.

this saga for example is nothing apart from the normal saga with some abang shop bodykits, and rims, and god know where comes from steering wheel.

persona, saga, now already post facelift times. we must have proper concepts in place in order for those to be produced in 2012 or 2013. atleast give me drawings. thats the very least proton can do.

infact, if drawing also already a bit late. it was them who say something about doing what toyota and honda are doing i.e getting the cycle 7 or 9 years for each and every model.

i want proton to succeed. thats why i say alot of things. but by looking at these so called concepts, i must try harder.

• Peter on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Concepts are cars which havent come to production.

The R3 concept Saga and this Proton Kasturi concept havent come to production yet.

Furthermore, its just some special add-ons.

Just like Mugen Civic, TRD vios, Impul Sentera ,etc…

:)

• drMpower on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:54 am

mugen civis, trd vios, impul sentra arent concepts. they are production ready vehicles of which mugen, trd and impul got their hands on and tweak it from the inside as well as from the outside.

concepts are meant for studies. for future, unborn models.

that outrageous mazda i forgot what its called, is a concept. infact there are many mazda concepts for the engineers and people working for them to concentrate their efforts and attentions into.

airflow studies, drag coefficient studies, i dont know but concepts mostly an imaginative version of such vehicles so on and on. but then as imaginative as they are, still the designs need justifications and reasons. meaning u cant create something out of thin air. or just u like it.

these few concepts are not exactly i am looking for. and they are not in anyway, ‘concepts’

• fraz006 on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:48 pm

ye ke proton kata concept? ke paultan je yang cakap? kene siasat dulu tu bro.

• nice..

• youtube on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:02 pm

LIKE SHIT!!

• lolzz on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:14 pm

the r3 version wayyy better than this….

• wow.. nice..

• Hey if you dont like it please dont bash it, it’s true the r3 version of it is way better looking and “hensem” to..but for this, well done proton, the manage to create something differ, still Malaysian here keep bashing.

For once and once in your life quit whining, when proton decide to come out with turbo people hate it, when they said nothing also people hate it. why? cause most, I quote “Most” Malaysian wanted something like ferrari but at the price of a “basikal tua”, if you dont like it please just move along.

It take Malaysian to be a real Malaysian, if you dont have it just keep it to yourself and shut it, if you must, Quoting “MUST” comment, do it in proper manner, Malaysian have ethic if you can’t don’t call yourself Malaysian until you can.

To Paul: Any word on pricing? especially the R3 Saga, coz i really wanna convert my lovely fuel saving reasonably price Saga to look a lil like it.

• antera on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:32 am

nope, we deserve something like polo TSI with the price we paid, not skirting like this…we can do it ourself at sunway bengkel. and, lets lift all the protection taxation and see what car you buy…dont like what people criticized? get over it and get on with it.

• Get over it? come on, all I see here is people saying ” owh its freedom of speech”, with that said, have proper way of speech, people can say anything they want, I support that, hey comments are always good in improving something someway.

Just have respect towards someone and somethings, like proton, the pricing is it really that worst, lets judge.

going to some shop for bodykit cost a fortune, hell maybe even more. Doing something for “production” save a lil. let’s take it this way, cheaper and insured or cheaper and insured by your own pocket, don’t tell me your pocket is way better then insured.

Do some checking and calculation.

as for this car, you might be right, compare it to polo TSI since they have been working on cars for quite some time, VW that is, and yeah correct me proton have been making cars for almost 100’s years ( sadistically saying if I must). So coming up with this car is very poor of proton after 100 years working on making cars. (again sadistically).

• antera on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:01 pm

can’t understand your english…please translate in bahasa or chinese.

• 1st picture i thought Saga hatchback..

• GoProton on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:56 pm

where is the proton evo wannabe?

• How can a current car be kitted up and passed off as a concept? Come on now…

• typoerror on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:02 pm

earlier this week.. not “his” week hehehe =)

• Budak Jengka on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:07 pm

cun giler

• 4x4Fan on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:09 pm

R3, KASTURI…Huh..Guud improvement…!

• laths on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:21 pm

vyn: i like u comment. proton teruskan usaha anda …

• Imran on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:41 pm

where are jebat?

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Lovely!!

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:21 pm

lawa

• POLICY on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:23 pm

only tuah, lekir, lekiu and kasturi!!
    where is JEBAT?

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Macam-macam komen, ada yg ok, ada yg mengutuk, kalau kretif sangat, better apply jadi designer Proton la,
    Just a showcase, japanese car yg concept/model car lagi hodoh dan tak praktikal langsung lagi yang korang puji.

Well said, this car is ok, atleast there’s an idea to entrepreneur yang nak design dan market bodypart accessories to Saga owner.

• Pure! I would like to buy this car!!

• kandiman on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Among all 4 line ups, I would say this is the least appealing one. Would suggest Proton to keep Saga lineups simple and focus more on safety, functionality, comfortability, instead of the ganas element.

• hmmm,,, teased SAGA SE ???

• makeitmine on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Congrats! Proton, you got it this time. Two tone body kit and two tone interior. You missed the two tone leather steering cover.

Integrate with some gadgets like tire pressure management, battery voltage indicator, GPS with Head Up Display, car GPS tracking, etc. This car can beat the Koreans/Japanese.

• nolan on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:55 pm

my gosh…..they(Proton) forgot to paint the skirtings…..

• cracker on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:00 pm

great concept

• blackjkx on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Proton marketing team, just let it in standard factory version

• lolwut on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:03 pm

the first picture.. the car at the back.. what is it?

• Type F on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Wtf, another modified Ah Beng car…

• what’s the car (half of it) on the left of the 1st picture?

• hmm.. not my taste… R3 design better..

• greasemonkey on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:12 pm

like the Thai version more! thinking of getting 1.

• I thought it’s a toy car…

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:11 pm

I wish the above-shown Proton Saga can be sold at the price of the current low-spec BLM price.
    Best wishes to those with limited income.

• Katak on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:11 am

The more I look at it, the more I loose my appetize….

• lamerz on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:57 am

hmm, i would like to know whats is the price for BLM facelift. anyway, the design look really edgy.

• Troll Bait on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:27 am

omg I had those wheels on my old Wira years ago! dammit potong, old does not = classico! more like old = oldskool hehehe losers.

• pomen_gtr on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:51 am

paul…that white plastic interior have smooth texture or just like a painted standard dashboard???look nice in the picture btw…

• lazyf on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:31 am

One thing i like bout this car….its METER CLUSTER…

• I have seen better modified good looking Saga by owners.

• cantik steering dia on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:35 pm

proton, berapa mau jual steering dia?

• Joshie on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:41 pm

All the white will turn black… in 3 months

• Nice car.

• makeitmine on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:02 pm

You can still make it simple and appealing by using carbon fiber stickers. Perhaps Proton can sell the carbon fiber sticker templates for those who want to add colors or decorate their cars.

• Too much cheap plastic painted with anchor spray paint. Still.. it may appeal to some.

• nice! but instead of making such concepts… increase safety features la..
    yall nk wat racing breed.. tp safety tak concern.. badan keta da cm tin biskut danone je..
    ingt nyawe org niey ayam2 je ke? go figure! dearest proton.. do improve ur safety features.. such a waste investing on diz FL craps! SAFETY dlo lah!

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:53 pm

another Brother’s style modification… yawn…

• ricerboyzz on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:17 pm

im not a proton basher but this car really is a joke, anyway: democratic country; everyone entitled to an opinion.. so dont take it against me.. but this car is ridiculous.. its like hyundai/kia in its early days. The other concepts look awesome though

• how come no model standing beside p1 car? :D

• woi proton!! what’s with the GTR2 steering?? beli dekat Brother arr? Please la, the more i see the car the more i……. aaaarrrhhhhhh!!!

• fraz006 on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:54 pm

i guess this one is the work of young designers who just joined proton. maybe a group of them, fresh grads.

seriously, the color scheme is just wrong. i mean its not wrong. but, black is more to elimination effect. u put black if you want the parts to be not visible. obviously, we want the skirting to be visible, so what the hell? it looks even taller than original. dah jadi macam 4wd plak tinggi2 sgt.

hahahaha. LOL.

• i really cannot eccept this design…. i know concept is cars haven comes to production. But also don’t simply take out the facelift saga and show it to ppl ma. I know Proton is our car, but also don’t simply put one saga change colour add thing, (macam i beli saga baseline lepas tu tambah kit, semua jadi macam ni.) then call it Kasturi la.
    Show concept car with Innovative design pls!!!! IM A SAGA DRIVER!!!

The other more funny!! u make new inspira based from lancer, is ok!! i can eccept, BUT U USE INSPIRA N PUT IT IN UR MOTOR SHOW SHOWING YOUR CONCEPT CAR??? WAT THE HELL???? the lancer designer GONNA burst into laughter.

• congratulation to the PROTON design team for doing nothing!!!….please fired the the head of design at PROTON for allowing such design to rollout at such international show!..what a CONCEPT CAR – not even close to PERODUA

• Sam2347 on Dec 05, 2010 at 2:50 pm

i hate to say this but this car is for sure not worth to be called as concept car.. what is the concept after all?? if proton wants to sell this it wolnt go any further cz it doesnt suit to all age variety drivers.. only for young fresh who wants to show off their chantek car..

I’m planning to buy saga next year and that will be my first car… i do realize that saga and proton especially has less to offer to all of us but what to do.. i need a car and that’s all that i can afford.. above all, a car is just a car.. of course we want a better choice but need to chech out our pocket also…

i will definately buy the facelift one instead of this whity shitty plug-in and drive car.. however, i think proton is moving ahead positively but there are still tons of rooms for improvement.. i really hope to see Proton to be as good as Toyota,etc.. I’m still hoping for that to be real!!!

• i saw a trailer full of this car at hicom proton today…hmmmm

• mamat on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:33 am

PROTON!
    tolong la jangan membazir nama kereta..
    buat la design lain..
    benci la tenogk..
    dah la modified model yang dah sedia ada..
    buruk pulak tu..

GAGAL

• michael on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:24 am

respect all the comment, eye tired to read all booosit to praise P1. That y P1 cant improve in design & performance coz above comment loooh….Macam nie pun sokong… maju utk copy cat….maju utk mkn duit penyokong2…maju pakai perkataan concept…. ha ha ha

• Jay SP on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:54 am

I really hope our M’sia car are up to the standard and much cheaper to M’sian people like how japanese are enjoying their car price there.. as well as good quality.
    As for the concept..I would rather say facelift.. they should’ve introduced R3 versions.. but hey..why worry..as long as proton is a goverment’s pet..we m’sian are not going to enjoy good quality cars which are affordable..

• mat koboi on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:39 am

buruk la….saga r3 is better than saga kasturi

• K A Cheah on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm

This concept Hang Lekiu SUV name sounds like 69 in Cantonese/Hakka but the Hero Defender of Sultan Malacca can be renamed with a stronger name with a stronger aggressively bolder nose like concept Hang Tuah and stronger shaped body outlook with larger alloy wheels but run by the more powerful Permanent Magnets Electric Motor say 100 Kw and with larger storage capacity batteries packs and probably the Range Extender is powered by the most efficient Direct Drive Micro-Turbine Generator under license from say Capstone, leader of the Micro-Turbine Technology using flexible fuels instead of a Petrol or Diesel Internal Combustion Engine with Regenerative Brakes that could send electricity to recharge the batteries packs. The Batteries Packs could be sourced from the most competitively priced sources probably from say BYD the Battery Leader with their new batteries’ technologies of producing cheap and affordable large storage capacity and safety of their Fe-battery Technology under license for their JV with Berjaya to produce the batteries locally. Every best wishes for the success of the first Malaysian made Proton E-REV SUV ok?