Proton Lekir Concept – would a Proton-badged Lotus Europa sports car work?

The Proton Lekir Concept is essentially a Lotus Europa with a Proton badge. It asks a very interesting question – could a more affordable Proton-badged Lotus Europe sell?

Word is that the Lotus Europa was supposed to be a Proton in the first place, and it was known as the Proton Sepang project, but along the way it was decided that it would be sold as a Lotus instead, and of course with that came along Lotus prices. The Europa was short-lived and the position of a more comfortable Lotus has been filled by the Lotus Evora.

Seems like quite a shame to let the Europa go to waste – now imagine this, a Proton-badged Lotus Europa priced below RM150,000 and powered by the upcoming turbocharged Campro engine. A true rakyat’s sports car?

Look after the jump for a full live gallery from KLIMS ’10.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1759]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1760]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• erk.. this is not true

• erk.. something not right here

• rasta on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:37 am

wah..below 150k..confirm i will buy this..no hesitate at all!!!

• Yes it will definately sell. It could become a pseudo upmarket Putra replacement. Sort of coupe touring hybrid. Given its Lotus roots, its performance is surely bang on for the buck. Build it and sell it!

• rasta on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:37 am

wah..below 150k..confirm i will buy this..no doubt at all!!!

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:59 pm

if they do that, they’ll kill off Lotus buyers. And Lotus will lose its reputation… and the stupid LOTUS TUNE/HANDLING labe nonsense on the back of Protons will be meaningless.

• odi862 on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:40 am

Before sell it in Europe, try selling the model in home land first!!….

• Robert on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:14 pm

This car has been sold in europe for years. So I dont understand what you mean by testing the market of the car in malaysia before selling it in europe.

• Yooooo on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:44 am

Proton should do this ealier…. btw, they start to chase back the Korea Car Manufacturer now…. great.

• LeK Ir on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:46 am

Wow…

• proton, pls bring nack pm5

• proton, pls bring back pm5

• mohsin on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:50 am

No, thanks!

• hang tuah on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:52 am

Lotus Rebadge = Yes !!
    Campro Engine =No !!
    It just downgrades the Lotus branding.
    Even MMC did not allow P1 to use a CamXpro in the Inspira.

• I also dont think proton want to use campro when they have opportunity to have MIVEC

• you sure dont know how car is made…changing engine required lot of change to engine mounting and so on….basically if proton want to use campro more investment is required…so, stick with mivec is the best way…

• they need to sell well with low cost , so why need to put campro

• The Necessary on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:53 am

definitely will sell…for sure…like 100%…with warranty of coz

• ericmaxman on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:56 am

okay. go above 220km/h, parts will fall off. if you’re lucky, maybe it’ll rattle like crazy

• ray_jay on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Wah… you must be from the future… coz NOBODY drives it yet currently!

OK, your job here is done… please go back to the ‘future’…

• Ayecaramba! on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:50 am

I’m sorry, Europa is sold out of this country already like 3 years ago? As a Lotus. And Proton being Lotus’ parents, they cut on costs and the car was plasticky and ergonomically flimsy in a lot of parts. It is cheap but it is old. Just so you know. Loads of people driven it. Go google Lotus Europa Reviews. ==

• Naiem on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:34 am

another guy with no Malaysian spirit. Go make your own car la

• firza on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:57 am

what about buying the right of ESNA Venere….?…really want to see it cruising, roaring on Malaysia road…..

• Anonymous Coward on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:58 am

Release this and I’ll buy the shit out of it.

• malaysian on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:03 pm

aiyooo…’lekir’ ? pls la proton…use another interesting name la for this kind of car.

• Garfield on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:10 pm

It’s a concept naming la, not the final name….. what’s wrong with a little pride in own Bolehland?

• pronounce the name lekir in English, it sounds okay tho

• if this car become the “rakyat ” sport car and make it less then rm120k ,the bashers will become the lovers … the one who already loves proton will become the dreamer and the glory of proton will happen once again , just like in 1985 when the saga came out in which make every one proud to be a malaysian

• Ash Menon on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Not that I wouldn’t like that to happen as well, but I don’t think a RM120k car can be classified as “rakyat”. 120k even though it’s cheap for a sports car is still quite expensive for the majority of Malaysians, and with rising fuel costs, and car theft rate, buying an expensive sports car simply doesn’t make as much sense in Malaysia as it does in Europe or US.

That being said, I’m quite proud of what Proton has done with these five concepts, and I love the naming.

But really, abu, I feel that Proton’s climb back up is already happening. It’s no more an “if” scenario, even though it won’t be an overnight success. Hopefully Proton doesn’t encounter any more problems.

• azrai on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Yes, this is rakyat’s sportscar. next will be Evora. i really like to see Evora came as Miata or RX8 in proton stable. look at the roundish logo of the Thundercat there.

• cool!..

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:09 pm

nice rims …

• observer on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:10 pm

see the emblem? they use only the tiger head logo not the usual proton logo! nice!

• hero86 on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:34 pm

i love it too! maybe this can be the logo for p1 sport car in the future..

• Think an average income guy like me can own this sports car if it is Proton-badged?

• Proton should not come up with an excuse such as “it was supposed to be a proton but we sold it as lotus anyway” to justify this Proton Lekir Concept’s existence. This is probably the first step of rebadged lotus being sold as proton, it’s shameful. who would become the next victims? Elise? Evora? Espirit?

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:57 pm

go read more. there’s a lot of articles written on this. Europa was supposedly manufactured in Malaysia, but they changed the plan.

• 12RAIXA on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Why not with proton price range.

• kadir on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:44 pm

the Brit will hate us for this….

• You think they’ve been liking us all this while? They hate the French, German and in fact they hate everybody especially those who make cars.

• well, I think the round shape Proton logo looks better than current one…
    What do u guys think?

• luffykewl on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:46 pm

agree agree!
      that logo surely look garang..

• Ash Menon on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:23 pm

I think maybe need to be a bit more minimalist, maybe remove the circle shape and the proton wording, and leave it as the tiger shape. Personal opinion :)

But I like both this circle version and the current version.

• mnazri.tan on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

i am all in baby

• RadzLee on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

dude, its just a concept lah… y emo2?
    wait n see when they produce n ppl start to use la. then we will know whos the one who r bodoh… those proton ppl or U

• Jaybond on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Why not? This could become Proton’s first ever sportscar regardless of the car’s origin (It’s Proton owned Lotus afterall!). Only thing is Proton should at least tried to change the front and rear face, a total redesign of lamps is needed so that it would become less obvious that it’s a Lotus Europa!

• Finally A Lotus for Rakyat Malaysia

• Another copied model, with another stupid name.

• Steven on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Dear Jlee,

If you wish to coment use BRAIN la haiyo!!..

1]Copied yesit was, but it was concept which was supposed to be a proton car originally not a lotus car.
      2] It was stopped in the final stages as the factors such as cost and the practicality of selling and building the car here was not good then unlike now.
      3] Brather, name wise it IS A PROTOTYPE la name not final just a theme thery were gettin at.

I dunno readers now days so shallow. Gota spank them le. If tin kosong go fill n come bak le, dun so noisy here.

• recond on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Do u knw wat concept car means??? HAIYO!!

I quote fr Wikipedia: “A concept vehicle or show vehicle is a car prototype made to showcase a concept, new styling and new technology. They are often shown at motor shows to gauge customer reaction to new and radical designs which may or may not have a chance of being produced.”

But this so-called CONCEPT CAR is a copy of Lotus.

So before u go hammering on others, I suggest YOU go use yr brain 1st. Or maybe spank yrself, if u pls.

Proton is lame, and so are u.

• problem is that, years ago, the Lotus Europa S was supposed to be a Proton model under project ‘Proton Sepang’, but then change to Lotus in final stages of development. you understand, punk?

• khaix19a on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:33 pm

it just a concept not the real deal why you have to be emo about it

• syahid on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:52 pm

this concept was originally proton with code name proton sepang..then proton decide to sell it as lotus europa s.now its proton turn to show the people how well proton can do..

• altecs on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Who cares if it’s a lotus rebadge in order for the rakyat to enjoy a sub 150k sportscar? Not happy with the logo then change it man, for what people like me are concerned is that its a friggin’ cheap sportscar with real performance. Proton haters will be haters, but you are a proton hater and a racist. So please get out of here and go drive your slushy automatic transmission dugong with sampan transmission.

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:50 pm

talking without knowledge… go check what sepang project first… then comment…

• Critic is good, what matter most is sale.
    If there is a market for it, why not?
    Common business sense.

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:05 pm

I was liking where this was going until you talk about the CamPro engine =.=’ potong stim

• to buy it?!
    if below 80k — yes…
    between 80 – 100k… better get a 2nd hand mr-s…
    150k… buy fairlady!!!

• rm80k-100k for a toyota mr-s? it’s 10 years old’s price.
      rm150k for a fairlady? well… It’s 3 years old dy.

But to think about it.. when u only got a small sports car and fixed with mere Campro turbocharged engine.. I remember the CBU Smart roadster is priced at rm150k. so for this local made Proton should priced under rm100k.

• i dun think it would affect much of performance if the campro turbo can produce 160hp or more… yes this is heavier than elise but still it would be feeding golf gti and renaultsport megane with 160hp.

• Steven on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:45 pm

ur rite bimb…hope they be fair to us by pricing it fairly in d market n not by attaching it lower than the other mre established makes…

• hurmm.. not bad… same like lotus.. =)

• Orang Timur on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:25 pm

“who will want a Proton badge in sport car of Original Lotus…”

Errr, those who can’t afford to pay for the Lotus badge…?

• Now when proton come up with a great car, everyone wohooo..rebadge useless~ did you read this statement by Paul

“”Word is that the Lotus Europa was supposed to be a Proton in the first place, and it was known as the Proton Sepang project, but along the way it was decided that it would be sold as a Lotus instead, and of course with that came along Lotus prices.””

Proton OWN Lotus, essentially ITS OUR CAR ITS PROTON PROPERTY. So rebadge or not that is proton property. 350Z? haha that heavy no good fuel guzzling car, I love the design of the Z but hate the engine and weight, y? design by american!!

And for another news, SO MANY CAR MANUFACTURER REBADGE Y U ALL ONLY BASH PROTON!!

• hero86 on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:52 pm

dont get 2 mad there my friend.. they do no know how to read.. or they are just dumb! yes, p1 own lotus.. and automatically all their technology are p1 right.. so, there is no wrong if rebadge.. if this car ever get into production line, isnt it great to see our people have their own sports car..

• tah laa oii on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:49 pm

SO MANY CAR MANUFACTURER REBADGE Y U ALL ONLY BASH PROTON!!
      sebab mereka baru keluar dari ceruk dapur,, tahu nak megata sahaja..

tapi biar la lotus yg keluarkan kereta mcm ni.. buat kat malaysia dan guna jenama lotus.. bg saya dah cukup bangga, tak perlu la proton nk sebok2 buat sport car… proton lotus, lotus proton.. tak der beza, semua org tahu…

• well said.

many dunno but even GM rebadged elise/ exige as opel/ vauxhall/ saturn with the engine in the europa. never see ppl complain bout GM on that move though… instead it was quite a successful 1!

• Estimosis on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:51 pm

At least saga aeroback ‘keretakebal’ kept the dashboard! A lotus at 150k or below, it sure be selling hot ..

• orgbiasa on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:50 am

150k wif 5 years 200,000k warranty. gd deal! but don thk it would be set at tat price, unless Campro Turbo under hood.

• Shinji on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:59 pm

nice!

• trav_da_man on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:04 pm

This is exciting! For the 1st time, i felt more anticipation on Proton new lineups, prototypes and Lotus new exciting sport cars lineup in KLIMS. Seems that KLIMS this year is worth our money!!!

• 4x4Fan on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:08 pm

brp byk da PROTON kluarkan keta ni..Pmbeli akan smakin binggung memilih..Anyway..Congrats PROTON..!

• Robert on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Hope it uses the 2.0 Turbo as per the lotus model and not chuck in a Campro.

• you sell, i buy, ok?

• aizad on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Selling this in the name of proton would highly improve protons name. But, will turn down the standard of Lotus. I think maybe Proton would like to sell this rebadge version for Malaysian market only instead of taking it overseas. RM150 +- for this type of car, plus campro turbo will be a great Rakyats sports car! I would like to see this car with campro ruling Sepang Curcuit.

• Steven on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:53 pm

buddy if it were to be just a rebadge then it would be very hard for it to rule sepang as you say…

it wuz built as a GT so weight was not reli cut down unlike the exige and the elise S…turbo charging it allows it to have high output but on the track it cannot sustain it self as I have seen 1st hand….

it will b a godd GT car tough not a evora n not n exige..its a clas by itself…not the best lotus but still definately better than the 350Z..hehe

• najibest on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:13 pm

now gimme one of those and i’ll be happy!

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Jebat is more appropriate as it goes against the grain of family oriented sedans which is the main staple of Malaysian drivers. Jebat is our own anti-hero and sheds off everything to uphold virtues and principles he held in his heart.

If it was made a Proton it would only fill the vacuum that was left by the Putra which only appealed to the adventurous and the restless. It would have been a low volume seller. It was appropriate to be a Lotus in that sense. But it came at a time when the drivetrain to pull it off wasn’t there for a Proton. And it didn’t fill any vacuum in Lotus lineup when everyone was (and still) looking for a new Esprit.

• ntah.. on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:00 pm

nice.. but weird name..=.=??

• kandiman on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:06 pm

I do believe there is a demand for lightweight smart/sports car among young professionals in the upcoming Asean and China. if the price is right, it can go head to head with mazda2 and mazda8.

• would love to get my hands on one of this..well, if they produce it la..

• Oh yeah, forgot to mention go to youtube take a look at new lotus, proton wont drag their name down, they got new lineup for the coming years

• albag on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:35 pm

it’s a shame

• teelim on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:37 pm

If its powered by Campro (even if its the turbo), no thanks…

• dukeKTM on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:52 pm

the hell with all those bashers…. keep improving Proton… Lotus is Proton property after all.. I’ll be happy to buy it….. finally an affordable sports car…. make it real please Proton..

• Someone on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Great idea, except for two things: One, I’ve never been a fan of re-badging; Two, the car will be outdated by now, the Europa is quite old.

• Steven on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:57 pm

old yes but stil few cars aroun tat can beat it in terms of wat if can do on the road…

if it were to be sold at RM150k u will be silly not to buy it if u got d cash…its competing against the 350z and other 2 door coupes…no doubt its no world beater but it stil a respectable car non the less

• khaix19a on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:40 pm

europa may be might be outdated, take example ferrari 599 it also outdated design, but ferrari keep improving it like improve bhp, bodykit and recently convertible and gto. it still sell like hot cake, i think if proton improve the europa design or quality maybe it will sell here in malaysia.

• it’s a ferrari laaaa….a supercar should at least last for 10 years ==’

• nolan on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:59 pm

hahahahaa…………………..i told you guys before that Proton will rebadge Lotus……see, its easy to predict right….?

• MoFaz on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:54 am

it was designed by Proton, not Lotus. they sell it under Lotus brand. and it was supposedly manufactured in Malaysia too, but Lotus want anything branded as Lotus to be done in UK.

• kecy82afr on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:34 pm

if my memory serve me right, i’ve seen this car but as Lotus Europa during KLIMS ’06. I didnt know that it used to be a proton project during that time. Quite sleek in term of body design. i stil have the europa photo somewhere.

• Call it Putra. Yeah a Campro CPS R3 would be ok to put the cost down and another one with a light turbo.

• Proton should change the badge as this…
    this round emblem is cooler!

• munro on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:01 pm

so with that i can say:

bye bye evo

bye bye impreza

bye bye golf gti

bye bye polo

bye bye clk

bye bye m3

kiss my arse!!

now i’m only main cucuk angin with lambo, ferrari etc

• PakAbu on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:30 pm

I do not think rm150k is possible because lotus chassis ia not designed for mass production.
    If proton only copy the shell … then maybe … ;-)

• S.Neo on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:31 pm

oi ? surprise nobody comment about this ………………

well if campro / CPS can produce 200bhp without any reliable issue is a good thing. as i think everyone is hunger to get that chassis to play around with……i think …..lol

• Steven on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:02 am

S.neo,

the 200hp CPS is not a reliable engine, as proven by their race team in 2 previous MMER…if it were to built for a specific target i.e short races, even autocroses amy be but I do not think its a reliable roadcar…

I am saying this based on the similar engine componets in the MMEr neo n Gen 2..although both were NA cars most of d parts are carried over frm their racing programme..they commonly use it to test new tech…

• OLD is GOLD…. :-p

• Renault Power on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:53 pm

lol such stories

• mystvearn on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:59 pm

WIll never be done. Because, if proton had any intention of getting a true rakyat sports car, they would have a Putra replacement by now.

If you can take a Toyota Celica and rebadge a proton on it why not. Will sell even though in small numbers.

• mystvearn on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:46 am

Another thing why this will only be a concept car and not made into reality is I don’t see Satria Neo GTi anywhere yet. Got limited 25 year edition. But where is the GTi??

Proton will not make niche cars again. Even inspira which is not that niche is rebadged. Good because concentrate on core models. But then peopel will not be able to choose proton sports car.

• toucan on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:26 pm

a lot of people seem to not know that this is designed by Proton in the first place but badge as a Lotus, unlike other Lotus models!! so if Proton really like to launch this as a Proton, it is not strictly a rebadged Lotus. The patent of this model in UK is hold by Proton, not Lotus! So this is technically Proton’s, not Lotus’s, although everything that belongs to Lotus also belongs to Proton naturally because Lotus is fully owned by Proton anyway, but not the other way round.

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Becareful of niche-market car, especially for a small carmaker company with not-very-good brand image.
    Careful marketing survey must be done first.
    If it is a true Lotus 100% and ‘Proton’ is just for tax purposes and it it reckoned to be profitable, then hopefully it may work; I mean CBU with just logo change.
    No point add another production line using home-made Campro Turbo engine, it surely will fail.

• khaix19a on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:05 pm

agree with u, proton must done some survey first before launching the concept car. if the they didnt have positive response from the market there no point to make the concept car real if no one will buy it. it just business really if you produce thing that people will not buy, so what the point producing it

• droll on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:00 am

150k for a car that has nothing in it (the interior is so bare)? i’m sure the pricing can be lower if it is mass produced on proton’s manufacturing lines.

• Commenter on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:19 am

come on, make it real. sure gonna buy it. i don’t care what engine, campro turbo or lotus-toyota engine, but must be 200hp or above. Price at RM140k-RM180k.

• Malaysia 1st 10second car….i loike

• Naiem on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:31 am

I’m thinking this one will replace Proton Putra

• realistic on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:35 am

good sports car…why not Proton chuck in first the Campro Turbo engine or something. Then offer upgrades in the future for more powerful engines at minimal cost. Or better still, chuck in the old Petronas E01 engine and test. Sure the car flies to the sky..! Then sell at 80k-100k…sure hit one!
    Then, join the car in the GT Racing, then can get international eyes on Proton…

Wish its that easy…

• Jaybond on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:34 pm

All those supposedly weird names are as I believe, only meant for concept car purposes. The production cars should should have a more commercial & presentable names..

• anonymous on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:38 pm

If really below RM150,000, I will snatch one without hesitation even just for the looks.

• Damn!! The name is wrong. This should Hang Jebat!.

Rebelious and scary!!

Grrrrrrrrr!!!

• yes, i want one please!

• 9teen on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:43 pm

lotus europa with campro turbocharge engine..
    with proton exotic “lion head only without shield” emblem..
    pricing for the lower price of lotus..
    thinking…
    thinking…
    why not? more affordable.
    it is slower but go faster, minyak go like tap water. want?
    ok lahh niiii.. tak buat, salah, buat, salah.
    go proton!

• father's car user on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:45 pm

if i get the chance 2 hv this, i’m gonna eat megi 4 everyday..

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:56 pm

OMFG, 1st they take a Lancer and called it Inspira/Jebat, now an Europa and calls it Lekir. Damn lame.

• khaix19a on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:43 pm

proton own lotus you cannot say anything about it, if im the boss also i might do that because i own lotus to earn some profit that just business , for mitsu that different story

• recond on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Well, thank good they can only afford to buy LOTUS. Otherwise, all their ‘concept’ will look like their sister company’s design. lol.

Whn u acquire another more superior (can I even say that? cos Lotus don’t even produce their own engine) car maker, it’s about sharing of technology. Not just rebadging. By doing so, what’s to become of future Lotus clients? Ask yrself, would u buy a Europa or a Lekir?

To me, it just lack ideas and creativity as Malaysia’s largest car manufacturer. And again, they hv abuse the word CONCEPT.

• Karamsinking on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:58 am

lotus have the best suspension systems.. at least that’s something.. oh and since your creative why don’t you go offer yourself as an innovator or designer at p1..

• recond on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:39 pm

the best? who rates it? you?

for ppl like u, if proton slap a turbo on any of their cars, it’ll set yr tongue waggling.

btw karam, yr comment is rather childish.

• Bendahara on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:04 am

i will buy..nice..

• Dak Ajan on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:53 am

LOL!!
    Pernah dengar Vauxhall VX220 Turbo??
    Pernah dengar Caterham 7???
    Both of it rebadge by Vauxhall and Caterham.
    Hey, Proton is the boss for Lotus. Even a rubbish waste at Lotus belongs to Proton.
    Hahaha…..

• recond on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Fiat owns Ferrari, do u see any Fiat models that looks like a Ferrari? pernah tengok tak?

• I see a Lamborghini Gallardo being rebadged as the Audi R8. Same chassis, same engine, only a different design. Your point?

• The cluster meter and air cond blower look like previous saga (kereta kebal)…
    by the way it’s a nice car

• not an engineer on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:22 am

so many “engineer” in every post

• BadBET on Dec 05, 2010 at 10:59 am

it seem so many people cant accept that lotus europa is a proton’s in the first place.

• azfar on Dec 05, 2010 at 11:05 am

what the price??

• gingkong on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:09 pm

150k.. the top price product from malaysia…

• The designer of the LEKIR told me that the car is just a concept and will not be in production just yet.

• All this proton bashing.. the only thing i have against them is the import taxes in place to protect them.. just came back from aussie and a golf gti there is the same price as a civic 2.0 here…

but this car would do a world of good for the rakyat.

• Would be great to see Lekir in production. Any engine will do in this car as it’ll be quick given the lightness of the car. Of course there will be some cost cutting in the interior, equipment, but you know what? I don’t think people would mind at all and besides, it could salvage the Europa somehow given it’s been reviewed not a proper GT car.

• there a superb prototype..
    they imagine it.
    they like it
    they build it
    they use it…

• feisal on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

Rakyat? Sports car? In the same sentence? What are you thinking? You want sports car, you pay.

Proton should exist as a business entity and produce cars that sell not only here but worldwide. Bring back the profits, distribute to shaholders and pay taxes.

• I dont care if there’s a Lotus underneath the bonnet,
    i’m not buying it if it’s call LEKIU.
    Heck! i wont even consider a lotus anymore!

• carbon on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Yess…Put Lekir in the production line at Malaysia…btw malaysian company was built the body panels….

• rook_1e on Dec 16, 2010 at 7:32 pm

u can call it inspira lekir or even proton pisang. With that design and performance i would definitely want to buy it if i could afford it.

• Crish Mckanzie on Feb 11, 2011 at 4:13 am

its like “Copy n Paste” from lotus to proton….anyway, it looks nice…! Can i know how much is d cost..?

• i love is car…i must buy it..

• bustard father hell on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:17 pm

mr/dr.amirul…can u singing with my band…i wanna u created one song for your father misali….hes has four fingger now!!!hahahaha…i love u so much…muahhhh

• korang yang membangkang ni kepala otak nak bangkang je..apa pun tak boleh..bodoh macam mak korang gak.. hidup x bersyukur..bukan korang yang buat keta tu bodoh..