Proton Lekiu Concept – an Exora-based SUV at KLIMS ’10

dsc_0750b_770

This is the Proton Lekiu concept, part of the group of Proton Pahlawan Series concept cars on display at the KLIMS 2010. It’s an Exora-based SUV concept that uses the Exora’s platform, and the styling especially the front end also borrows heavily from the Exora with some offroader style design elements added.

dsc_0757b_770

This may or may not be sold as a Proton but we were informed sometime earlier this year at a briefing that Proton and Lotus Engineering were developing an SUV for Youngman Europestar so this could in fact be that project. If there’s a business case though, I don’t see why Proton won’t sell this. What do you think – should an SUV be part of Proton’s core model line-up?

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Lekiu Concept.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1756]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1758]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GoProton on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:20 am

this should be go into production…i mean a proton SUV…but not this design la….

• bajet on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Mitsubishi ASX or Nissan Qashqai design are so much beautiful and tempting i must say
      i don’t like this design at all. Proton should hire better staf for the designing

• 12RAIXA on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:21 am

**** they give this to china mainland.

• The previous mysterious has been answered by paul.
    Proton Lekiu!

• doesn’t look anything like an SUV, more like a bloated MPV.

• Proton nowadays comes with a lot of surprise…..
    Now, we can see that Proton do have a lot of progress…
    Caya lah Proton!

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:24 am

looks good..a bit like murano from the front..hope they’ll make it into production!

• TallPan on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:12 pm

srsly dude? look more like ugly innova than murano la dude ^.^

• HanafiDesigner on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:33 pm

agree2.. very dislike the rear design, it somewhat looks too boxy for me. but really love the front lamp.. really creative :)

• get your eyes checked.

• Kanda on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:26 am

Definitely should be part of Proton’s core model line-up~
    Guessing how much this will cost…..
    Below 100k would be nice….=)

• maybe this is the answer of the weird-exora-look test car that had been caught recently?

• rockstellar on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:29 am

very very.. lekiuish mpv… ;)

• Bob Tahar on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:31 am

I want one…

• 12RAIXA on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:34 am

I Maybe wrong is not it be a little similar to those on the page
    http://paultan.org/2010/11/29/spyshot-mysterious-proton-prototype-disguised-as-exora-continues-to-make-its-way-around-town/.

• Er, I prefer the Proton Lekiu design than that caldina look alike one

• firza on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:08 pm

that is only a mule for proton to test their future technology such as engine, electrical system etc….it will not be produce….confirm…..

• waldan on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:38 am

GOOD WORK! will be nicer if the tyres are bigger…

• hang tuah on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:59 am

Typcal Msian shallow mentality
      Bigger tyres and Bigger exhaust !!!

• udasalleh on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:34 pm

shown on 215/60 on 17 inch rims…. just change to different sets… not a big problem

• Hang Lekuk on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:39 am

Very nice…..not the car but girl beside…….wow

• superb designseries from Proton…
    can’t wait what’s Jebat’s prototype looks like…

• odi862 on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:42 am

Got the looks but Proton better do something about the engine if they planning to sell it. Please don’t put the Campro 1.6…..

• mohsin on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:45 am

looks like an Old Ford Focus eh?

• fairsyah on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:51 am

nice butt… hehehe

• Alanore Chong on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:54 am

so Scenic 4×4

• Carfan on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:58 am

Unimmaginative.. Get a European designer and start a new design language. Looks what Hyundai and Kia has done in a short period of time. They concurred the world!

• still they have done a good job with this car, even though the LED lamp look weird…

• this look like exora from the front view, harrier from the back view,CRV from the front-side view

• ericmaxman on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:01 pm

If it’s a Youngman exclusive model (meaning China only), would any one of you all import this in?

• ray_jay on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:01 pm

>> http://paultan.org/photo/albums/proton-lekiu-suv-live-gallery/dsc_0756b.jpg

Nice behind… you know which 1 :D

• TingDK on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:06 pm

What’s with all those ugly naming system? Anyway I think its better for proton to concentrate on improving its major sedan models such as the upcoming persona, saga and the exora itself. (especially in its interior design)

Plus SUV’s aren’t really a big seller among middle income families and really a niche market where most of the buyers are actually businessman or small enterprise owner in which is already flooded with japanese imports; murano, land cruiser, pajero, asx, cr-v, etc.

• apexg2 on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:16 pm

i think this shape is wut people have spyshot recently!correct if im wrong!

• azrai on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Exora crossover.

• budlee on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:24 pm

ah? is this the exora with the roof chopped off..

that would be nice.. especially with a turbo engine..

• Selamba on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Great design must map with technology & hope the engine also…

• looks like Samyang design direction that goes back 10 years a go…emmm,…designer have to work out more maybe!!…as concept car, it should looks much better for the styling…this is toward production kind of looks…but if this going to be production, eemmmm…i got no word for that…hope not!! i belive they can make better design….just give some time to theire designers…maybe they ar still sleeping….AZLAN, kick them up…

• limowreck on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:37 pm

cool looks!!!
    if this going to be in production line, think proton will trim its fancy appearance, anyway…

hey, wonder where are those bashers???

• zanggief on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Is this going to be crossover or real time suv. This is common in many car manufacturer like nissam (grand livina cross), volvo, audi, skoda.

The exterior can be modified from the existing one but what about the inside like engine, offroad drivetrain (mild or hardcore)…P1 got to invest more on these…

• this is more stylish than the Exora.

• udasalleh on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:19 pm

well.. it should be… leave the exora for the makcik n pakcik with the family in tow… an SUV / crossover should have a more macho look like this… dontcha think so? hehehehe…

• Tengokje.. on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Not bad at all P1. Strive more towards perfection.

Salam…

• SWEET…

• clutch basah on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Nice! Both fron and back are well proportionate, my type of SUV.
    I don’t see why proton shouldn’t market this one, provided the price is right like Exora that is.

Anyway I love big but’ts.. thus “both” models could go a lot of mileage with me.. you know what i mean. :)

• cardreamer on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Looking from behind, the rear glass profile is so similar to the mysterious proton car spy shot…

If there is any, proton should sell this SUV locally too since there are no more cheap 4wd in the market right now ever since Kembara beinf discontinued..Proton should grab the market…especially corporate vehicles looking for cheap 4wd..

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:55 pm

X-trail rear?

Em..anyway I think they need to change the front look to be more mean..Because this current look is to ‘soft’ for an SUV..

• Peter on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Very cool design.

Hopes Proton releases this concept SUV in Malaysia

• udasalleh on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:43 pm

NOW we’re talking..! Way to go P1..! This would be a great addition to P1’s future line-up… even an aspirated / turbo 1.6l engine would suffice as a start (ala Pug 3008)… Sig me up..!

• udasalleh on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:16 pm

hmmm… just to add.. if its gonna take some time to produce this SUV/crossover vehicle… could we have it be an EV with the range extender…?? That would make it a real plus point…

• orang malaysia on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:12 pm

nice.. not bad

• The Unicons on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Is this the prototype what we saw on the road? Is based on Exora platform of SUV!

• The Unicons on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Is this the prototype what we saw recently? Exora based platform SUV..

• mantapz

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Definitely sellable if priced around RM90K.
    Quite nice.
    Roda needs to be a bit bigger.

• Proton definitely should add this SUV into the line-up in Malaysia !!!

• jolly_idiot on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:15 pm

What is all this name about? Lekiu? Twisted abit will sounds like Proton 69 (Cantonese).

I wonder if I drive this car out with this name. How people will look at me. 69 on my car or 69 on me? What a joke.

Proton Exora front with Nissan X-Trail alike rear. Simple job for the designer. Copy-Paste.

Btw, SUV is coming on their way. Everyone today is trying to get more with less. I foresee SUV market will replace 2/4 door hatchback where it’s similar in design but different in size.

• TallPan on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:46 am

yeah agreed. but a lot of ppl here say nice. target market i suppose :-)
      even been compared to a murano. heavens! fanboi blindness or what?

reminds me of another lame proton effort called…. ARENA.

• i agree, they need their eyes checked. It looks NOTHING like an SUV. Looks like a Murano?? what the hell are they talking about??

Proton fans are so weird.

• mizzuddin on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:58 pm

should an SUV be a part of proton core line-up?
    sure. why not. this one quite impressive… i think to boast further in the short run, proton really need to improve their interior build quality… not demanding nappa, walnut or kayu jati… but how about better fitting gap, power window switches and no more “keletuk keletak” for the signal and wiper switches..?

• mizzuddin on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:06 pm

believe me… u guys have shown quite impressive job recently… investing much more effort on the interior build quality may elevate much further…
    improving the engine, drivetrain, traction and other high-tech gadgets to be on par with other makes may require huge investments and time consuming… but i really don’t think the interior built quality does not as much…

be thorough! no cincai2 anymore. u came with no silver edition saga lmst no more!

• ciput on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Highly recommended and just put it into pipe line.

• fantausy on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:41 pm

We Malaysian still need an SUV, but the not too MPVish like this…
    please make more muscular…

• Andre on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:46 am

Be real man. I can’t believe 6 ppl are supporting your statement. Why the heck do you need an SUV for? I can’t think of any other reason except for those living or having some business in rural or poor terrain condition to own an SUV; the rest of those are just wanting to show-off to others that they are able to afford bigger, and less economical FC car. But then again you guys are the ones who nags whenever the fuel price is increased.

• oh man! u are just surprised me..its not for other reason except for passion

• Proton Exora Allroad!!!

• Nik Amirul on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:02 pm

very ugly la…

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Rear lamps need to be re-worked. Please see how Harrier do it.
    BTW there are a number of FWD-only SUV on our roads, so developing SUV from Exora, withou 4WD nor RWD is possible, I think.
    The tracks should be made wider than Exora, if possible, for the SUV to look better.

• shawal on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:01 am

-Tidy up the design , make it more muscular
    -power it up with a diesel mitsu engine
    -Improve durability and reliability
    -Should sell well in in East Malaysia and Australia

• anakSarawak on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:09 am

Hopefully make it to meet our Sarawakian road “standards”…!!!!!!Driving would be a very memorable one here…and hopefully this one stands out!!!

• Whirlwind on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:44 am

Looking at the current trend. compact / mini SUV are on the rise now. Eg. Mit ASX, Nisan Qashqai/Dualis, Nissan Juke, Kia Sportage 2011, Hyndai Tuson ect. This poject should be expedite if they wisht to be comparative in this class of cars.

Don’t be a late comer as the did with Exora.

• mohdazizee on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:37 am

nice ass. ;)

• realistic on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:47 am

Future SUV will look good with more texture and a bit edgy like in the design because its adds up the sense of strength, durability and confidence in harsh environments. So, perhaps Lekiu need to get rid of its plain and smooth feeling to the car, because it’s too much like an Exora/family MPV. It would be more impressive if the design can creates the kind of strong feeling when you see Range Rover and Nissan Murano. So a little tidy up in the finishing and front design to look more strong kinda feeling should make the car deserve a top interest.

• SUV!!??jika ada platform for SUV then lagi cakap lah=.=”

• so proton … so ordinary …

• Coolken on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Looks like Oda-san was right about no re-badge of their ASX and other future Mitsubishi models. Thank GOD!!

• Protonmaniac on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:09 am

I think this must be the new exora turbo. Like proton kasturi. the appearance really look like the new saga facelift model. same like jebat also the new inspira. But so far my favaorite would be the Tuah design. really futuristic. hope it can be the real gen2 replacement..

• Syafiq on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:20 am

Need more sporty look for a SUV…. This one not sporty at all la… For the bumper, pls no grey la… Grill need more modifications,..

• Lampu belakang mcm lampu dpan sikit bagi nampak tajam n cam sport n urban-suv,
      lagi pun skrg suv org gne pun kt atas jalan je,

• EN AN on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:09 pm

try your best la ploton

• Harith on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:54 pm

like a HONDA CR-V..

• mamat on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:35 am

YUCKS!!
    this is piece of crab!!
    x lawa langsung..

GAGAL

• macam pajero saja!

• K A Cheah on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:05 am

This concept Hang Lekiu SUV name sounds like 69 in Cantonese but the Hero Defender of Sultan Melaka can be renamed with a stronger name with a stronger aggressively shaped body outlook with larger alloy wheels but run by more powerful Permanent Magnets Electric Motor say 100 Kwh and with larger storage capacity batteries packs and probably the Range Extender is powered by the most efficient Direct Drive Micro-Turbine Generator using flexible fuels instead of a Petrol or Diesel Internal Combustion Engine with Regenerative Brakes that could send electricity to recharge the batteries packs. The Batteries Packs could be sourced from the most competively priced sources probably from BYD the Battery Leader with their new batteries’ technologies of producing cheap and affordable large storage capacity and safety of their Fe-battery Technology. Every best wishes for the success of the first Malaysian made Proton E-REV SUV ok?

• haha i like new models of proton lekiu

• Chek Siti on Jun 10, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Cool! Nice design! Those who keep on giving negative comments need not to buy or test drive proton products… just but imported cars then! As for me Proton is not that bad at all! A lot of persona and saga are on the road. So?????