Proton Satria Neo R3 Concept at KLIMS – 200 hp, 250 Nm!

Hidden in a corner of Proton’s big display area at KLIMS 2010 is this, the Satria Neo R3 Concept. This mean looking Neo is powered by a Campro CPS engine tweaked by R3 to make 200 hp and 250 Nm of torque! The concept has a sole objective – ultimate performance.

In R3’s hands, the 1.6L Campro CPS gets a turbocharger, R3 forged pistons, steel conrod, performance camshafts, reworked cylinder heads, carbon airbox, a new exhaust system and management computer. The results are 200 hp and 250 Nm (170 hp and 200 Nm on wheel), which is a huge 75 hp/100 Nm jump over the stock engine. The manual gearbox is a close ratio unit.

Like the Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing, the R3 uses a complete AP Racing brake kit comprising 4-pot calipers, 295 mm floating discs and performance brake pads. The fancy Ohlins coil over suspension also make an appearance here. The show car wears 15-inch wheels with 195/50 Bridgestone Potenza RE55S semi slicks.

Looks wise, the Neo R3 is in black with a yellow stripe running the length of the body, like the Saga R3 Concept we showed you from Bangkok. The sides also come with a yellow chequered flag patterned stripe. The carbon fibre bonnet, body kit and add ons are similar to that of the limited edition RM115,000 Lotus Racing Neo, with bronze coloured lower front/rear bumpers.

Inside the Nappa and Alcantara covered cabin, you’ll find Recaro seats with Sparco harness, a Sparco R323 wheel with 60 mm spacer and a bolt on 4-point half roll-cage in yellow. The base of the gear lever (shiny knob) and door cards are in yellow too. A 2-DIN touch screen ICE system with GPS takes its place in the centre stack and analog instruments have been replaced by a single digital panel.

Sounds tasty, doesn’t it? Unfortunately there are no plans to put this to market, although R3 won’t say no to a Neo owner that hands them a big bag of cash! Live gallery from KLIMS after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1778]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• holly cow! :D

• holy duck! :D

• holy animal batman! :D

• Nazrul on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Well, look at this, a knight dress in fancy heavy amour and equip with machine gun, what could be better? The exterior are awesome but maybe one day, they could make a change on this Satria’s interior and improving it’s quality and also it’s engine. Its not like 1.6 CPS is bad but, come on time to say goodbye to 1.6 and hello to 1.8 and 2.0. That would make our beloved Satria stand out and ready to take on others for example Subaru Impreza, Nissan 370Z, Honda Civic Type R and more! Maybe it just me who ask a lot, but I’m sure one of you out there are just like me. On the other side, good job Proton and also you R3 dudes back there! Triple thumbs up! (I have three hands?)

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 05, 2010 at 9:26 pm

PETROL NOW GOING UP, U SURE GOT LOTS OF CASH TO BURN, BRO.

• kanai on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:50 pm

totaly agree with Nazrul .

• who said we are leaving 1.6
        remember F1? they are now using 1.6

see the new GOLF? 1.4 twincharger

see Scirroco? is the same 1.4

ppl are getting wiser and smarter
        technology are getting precise every year

we are now talking about energy efficient now.
        Producing the same power with less energy consumption

and definitely for low price road tax.

• Nazrul on Jan 29, 2011 at 11:33 pm

I didn’t said that, I just “harap” Proton build larger engine and of course, more powerful one. Not too large, maybe from 1.8 to 2.2, which not that bad at all, and also quite fair on the road tax. And of course, people don’t buy Proton cars with these kinda engine for “jimat minyak”, they buy it because want to drive with power! Style! Proud! And for those who drive it, suddenly be more handsome!

• hadi anwar on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:05 am

sounds like youngsters. yeah, u have so much money to pay road tax and more petrol. even the elephant sedan like jetta using 1.4L. bro, energy efficient la sikit, dont be like american, the bigger the better. WTF? hensem tp pokai watpe? lu kaya bole la. haha. kami rakyat biasa. nak kereta super jimat. kalau boleh x payah isi minyak. pakai solar. free Allah bagi.kan? ni terpengaruh dgn fast & furious la neh. =.=!

• Zrasss on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Holly “CHIT” !

:D

• enchekere on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:26 pm

this looks very nice.

• sairedz25 on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:29 pm

wow..
    wonder how it performs on track or on road..

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:12 pm

R3 only hype bout the equipments it has, how much hp and so on. I dun believe there’s a review on how well it drives… maybe, they shud had it over to Tiff Needle of Fifth Gear for a test drive, and get an unbiased review, I hope.

But seriously, I won’t get my hopes up.

• Practical on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:19 am

There is no such thing as unbiased (auto) journalist. You don’t live in the same environment as them. You don’t earn as much as them. You can’t live as comfortably as them. You have different values as them.

• Icecold on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Agree…the only true unbiased reviews are from the normal ppl who use it on daily basis.

Auto journalist reviews are normally to give an over view of the product it self. The best review will always from the experience of the ppl who owns one.

• Civic_RS on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:55 am

but i think outlook of neo is really need to change..

• recond on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Of cos thr’s no such thing as UNBIASE, I did say “I HOPE”.

Dun get me wrong, I dun hate it, am jus saying it shud be properly tested and reviewed by someone reputable. i.e. Tiff. For those who’ve watch Fifth Gear will knw why. NOT TO BE CONFUSE WITH JEREMY CLARKSON!

But what I hate is how unimaginative Proton is. If u think bout it, any Tom, Dick or Harry can but expensive equipment and throw them in yr ride. I expect something better than this. Its jus another suped up car… which u can find in many tuner around Sunway.

Also, why I din mentioned any local programme like Driven. Why? For simple reasons, what car’s hv the presenter driven? U need someone who’ve driven the best and also the worst to give a proper review.

• pomen_gtr on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:29 am

R3 no need a review mate…

its just need a proper use…last month an original S-GTI R3 placing 3rd overall in Malaysian Rally Championship Rd3 held at Melaka….(100% tarmac surface) that GTI-R3 was road legal car with no rollcage or fancy exhaust….in fact..it has the most lowest exhaust sound level over all competitor….

1st place was 1.8 putra rally spec. with loads of perfromance parts in it…
        2nd place was even greater 1.6 satria with dogbox close ratio+LSD+brakes bigger than your dinner plate and driven by Faidzal Alang (not faidzil)

do u need further elaboration on R3 performance???

• Eyesore on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Damn it’s nice!! I want it…. really really bad…..

• Eyesore on Dec 04, 2010 at 7:32 am

lol..? saying i want the car would get me a thumb down…….?

• 17 inchers 40 series will pose batter

• proton future engineer on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:56 am

15 inchers 50 series will unleash more horsepower and increase its handling as it reduce unsprung weight… not for pose only, for racing purpose ea…

• Notoriez on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:44 am

Too much torque will create wheelspin on smaller tyres..

I would say 16′ is just nice :)

• fraz006 on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:10 am

not quite if you put semi slick. for pure racing, its the best decision. 15s and semi slick. light and grippy. of coz la they know about this, the people in R3 are racers drifters dude, not ahbengs

• hadi anwar on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:13 am

betul. bergantung kepada berat keseluruhan, titik graviti, radius pusingan tayar dan saiz arch. bukan main sarung je. fungsi lebih penting. 15 inci torque pull lebih baik. race dalam trek kena ada torque response yang baik. rim besar berat nak pusing dan membawa momen yang tinggi bila nak berhenti; dan lebih tekanan kepada brek untuk berhenti. tayar lebih lebar baik untuk stability & cornering.

• skiborne on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:34 pm

production please! tired of concepts

• mitchy on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:48 am

no need… u r not gonna buy it…

• classsic haha.
        proddy version is gud, but most of the time some malaysians will cry after seeing the price. everyome wanna own fast car but dowan pay premium price fer it. :P

• Steven on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:15 pm

bro i am a realist..and I would buy it if its worth my money…simple

many sport cast today are not premium priced they are put in categories similar with their competitors…like the type-R, Evo’s, scubby’s and even the GTI suffer frm this…

Your are not payin for the car only u are actually paying for the brand name, marketing,commsion and most of all our silly tax policies!!

go figure, the oni new performence car wif real value <100k[current market value] in my eyes is the neo…it it were to be an open market than below100k will c the likes of the lancer, pug,even the polo wud b a g8 buy if it were blow 100k!!

• Go Steven on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Tax..tax..tax…a whinny always a loser…

• Icecold on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Can u afford it????

If so just get over to R3 and put down your money. Saying u want it is simple…every one can say that to.

• haitt on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:37 pm

love it

• vertigo on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:44 pm

damn!

• Just a concept again, why no production model? Everyone carmaker make a concept easily, but the hard path is to make it into production!

• seludang on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:53 pm

wait n see….huh!!!

• BadBET on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:04 pm

many people want this car, but how many really can afford it? I dont think Proton can come out with this car at RM 115k.

• Happy Man on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:58 pm

true… it MAYBE cost more than continental car… however.. Proton prove that campro Engine can do around 200hp…

• cikguCRZ on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Paul,

IS there a CRZ showcase at KLIM’s honda booth?

• aki_zz on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:11 pm

yep there is one. too bad there are no brochures about it…

• Not Paul on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:43 pm

The answer is YES – http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=klims-gallery-1&image=dsc_4905.jpg

• r3 now working on BOT kit for cps…

• Zidane on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

Bro, you know when it’s coming out?

Is this the same one for the new Exora engine?

• Francis on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Paying to those equipment in this machine is is lots more worth than paying to that Lotus Edition Neo…

• this is proper malaysian made race car!!!

• freddie on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Better than Korean and Japs car!!

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:23 pm

u sure? u driven it?If not, thn how would u knw it’s better?

But if u hv driven it, my apologies to u.

• freddie on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:13 am

Never driven before, but I will say again, its better than Korean and Japs car! (at least on the paper heheh)

• ProProton on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:57 pm

200hp just like toyota supra…!!! this could be the fastest car proton had ever build so far…

• ha?toyota supra?its like comparing a cat with a tiger….

• Karamsinking on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:00 pm

maybe he means older supra, or maybe celica..

• S.Neo on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:58 am

or maybe a stock Supra

• netracer on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:06 pm

I have a JZA80 MKIV Supra and CPS NEO both as a performance turbo ride and daily fun-handling ‘more than enough’ ride.

Current stock CPS with (meant for road-driven, not track)
            – improved exhaust (‘illegal’ decat and 4-2-1 extractor, proper positioning the mid section and s-flow box – tuned for improved torque midrange)
            – improved ignition (iridium plugs, improve grounding cylinder head to battery)
            – improved intake (better free-flow filter, stock design not bad)
            – improved suspension (r3 springs, standard shocks are B-road friendly)
            – improved driving position (if could add spacer to steering = 40-60mm without sacrificing airbag)
            – improved weight reduction (remove spare tyre, replace front bonnet with cf/fibre, stock rims replaced with even taiwanese 16in weighing 7.5kg, stock 8.9kg each)
            – improved braking (braided hoses, mintex pads, no need 4/6/8 pots caliper!)
            – improved driving skills (essential)

All in less than RM60K, what else one could ask for to have a wide smile everytime you zoom past others during corners and narrow lanes especially B roads and around town like a kapcai ?

I have owned EVO 7,8,9 and now Supra, to be honest, high HP and huge torque does not relate to ‘better enjoyment’ in daily ride unless you are aiming for drag racing, track event or all-out performance which costs lots of moolah and time and effort and painless patience to make everything work in harmony.

Take a neo for a ride, use it for a week then go back to your current ride. You will notice how much fun you may have overlooked our national made neo.

• neo raida on May 26, 2011 at 6:51 pm

hey rave,,,
        CHIT !!! la you,,,
        my ride is satria NEO,,,,
        wanna some prove huh!!!,,

let do some spinning,,,my ride ”NEO” vs your bla,,bla,,bla,, ride,,
        you pick the track and lets see,,ade BRANI????????,,,,

CHIT !!!!,,,,

• Tiadaid on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:58 pm

What the Lotus Satria Neo should have been…

• JaguarXJ on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:00 pm

THIS IS SEXY!! long live proton!

• Andre on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Sweet ride! Hopefully the door trim and the dashboard does not rattle when you put the pedal to the metal! :)

• learner on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:05 pm

wondering what the hp and torque of exora 1.6l turbocharger will be.

• Petrolhead on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Thumbs up if you think they are idiots to not plan to market it.

• ubikayu on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:10 pm

put it on production now.. i want to have it.. yeah!!!

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:08 pm

u wanna pay 100k for this???

• redkde on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:21 pm

dude, 100K for 200hp car…it worth…

• afiqms on Dec 05, 2010 at 8:36 pm

plus the racing spec equipments it have… now the lotus edition neo looks overpriced… but for those who value its rarity will appreciate it~ but for this one, I would say money well spent~ :)

• kakacps on Jan 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm

ou yea i will

• kowreck on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:14 pm

THIS IS WHAT I CALL A HOT HATCH. CONGRATS PROTON N R3.

• wow,soo gorgeous..i wnt2

• OMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGoshOMGosh!
    Damnnnnnn, I want this Satria NEO so fuckin’ bad :(

• Tan Tee Lim on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:16 pm

No need for AP Racing and Ohlins. Brembos and a nicely tuned (non adjustable) suspension will do just fine for the most of us. It will also keep the price within reach.

Also, 15″ wheels??! Come on, the Satria GTi was on at least 16″ wheels

• bobdbilder on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Its good for Quarter Mile drag strip. Semi slicks on small weight. Less unsprung weight means more power to the rubbers than trying to cope with the inertia. Added bracing by the semi-roll cage. You don’t see race cars with big huge rims do you? Big rims are for showing off. This car means bizness. Let’s have a guess at its 0 to 100 times.

I’ll think it would beat 9.2s.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2010 at 4:32 am

LOL..only 9.2?

My old and tired satria with a single cam 1.8 runs 8.6.

If it don’t break into the under 7s, there something really wrong.

• bobdbilder on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Pug 308Turbo Prince Engine at about roughly the same engine power output gets about 9.3s (approximate).

You’d have to realize the car would be heavier than the 1200 kg Satria Neo CPS due to added mass of turbo, chassis strengthening, stiffer suspension, you’d have it pretty hefty.

Whereas the Satria GTi has about 1000 kg weight would have less to deal with. But it does not have the safety of a crumple zone chassis. But then again, I doubt your 0 to 100km/h claim on stock DOHC 4G93P engines of 131PS and 177Nm.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:16 pm

You can doubt but thats what it runs. Perhaps the Gtech isn’t as accurate as it is, (however back to back test on the track show that the timings are usually fairly accurate, just the trap MPH is a few mph off)

I used to have a 1300kg E39 FWD galant which is just as heavy if not heavier with a 2.0L 4g63 non turbo making 150hp/200Nm (stock only 134hp/185Nm) which runs the century mark in 7.8 and the 1/4 mile in 16.1. This is timed on the drag strip with proper chrismas tree and timing lights.

My bone stock Turbo AWD with 195hp and 290NM weighing in at nearly 1500kg does 6.7s century times with 14.9 1/2 mile times despite the added drivetrain loss.

If this R3 Neo can’t do or even best my N/A Galant, either the figures are overrated or the driver can’t drive. Your pick.

If it doent go quicker than 7.5……if I am an R3 engineer that did that car, I would have no place to hide my face.

I know what I am talking about.

9.2………hah..my rental toyota minivan does it in 8.5.

• Owh yeah talking about 0-100 it’s pointless, show all your car some corner, i’m sure some of them even swirl like there is a hurricane blowing them.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:49 pm

What makes you think my cars don’t corner? You assume too much.

Each of those have my own suspension tuning for the occasional circuit/autoX use.

• phas3r on Dec 04, 2010 at 5:37 pm

9.2 secs is what you get from around 150hp car.
        with your knowledge i’m surprised that you said a 200hp car should target 9 secs.
        golf gti 200hp could managed 6.9secs to 100 although i admit its DSG gearbox and massive 280Nm helps

a 308turbo has 140hp/240nm and the facelift gets 156hp/240nm.

• bobdbilder on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:12 pm

I am just ASKING based on what CURRENT production cars such as a Pug turbo. I have more respect for Torque than bhp. Coz torque has direct relation to acceleration (Nm = mass x acceleration x distance). But I’d give the Satria a lower weight than the Pug.

Current 2.0L NA Duratec Ford Focus 3 door 1300kg kerbweight has 143hp/185Nm does it in 9.2s

This Satria turbo engine has 170hp/200Nm to the wheels after calculated losses. So there’s give and take in my guessing. What would be yours?

• VIGOSS on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:37 pm

tengok la engine kereta ko tu tahun berapa, 90an semua emission tak macam sekarang ,semuanya terkawal, baik ko comparekan dgn honda , da tentu ko nya 4g kebanggaan kena titik dgn engine2 honda tahun 90an tue. btw engine buruk banyak ragam tak abis2 kena pergi sparepart, lulz

• bobdbilder on Dec 05, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Wa rasa dia merapek beb. Lu tengok sendiri 1.8 GTi dia kata pakai Single Cam. Kereta sendiri tu…

Lotus Elise 900kg, 134hp/160Nm 0 to 100km/h in 6.5s (1.8 NA). Dia kata Galant dia sama laju beza 0.2s aje.

• -1.8 mmg ade single cam lolx

-yg 6.7sec tu lak die kata turbo…tapi kete turbo ape ek 195hp/290Nm??

• Tan Tee Lim on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:49 am

but if its for 1.4 mile, no need for ohlins. I’d like to see proton (or R3) make a decent and mainly affordable performance oriented hot hatch for the masses like what they did with the Satria GTi. No need for concepts like these were they put in a lot of unnecessary stuff which is just overkill (especially the brakes and suspension)

• droll on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:14 pm

15″ better for performance! :)

• Chris on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Uhh.. why? I’d use the smallest rim that will fit the brake calipers. Less weight more speed!

Oh wait.. petrol expensive.. must put brick under gas pedal…

• mrkthxbai on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:59 pm

haiya. 15″ enough already maa. just look at its rubber. it’s r888 bro. keep this in mind-bigger doesn’t necessarily mean better.

• bobdbilder on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:34 pm

In issue 38 of ProActive magazine Steve Williams wrote something about a study on unsprung weight. In conclusion if you had additional weight on the wheels and hub to counter the effect of performance loss can be recovered ; quote “through design changes to suspension compliance bushings, top mounts, PAS characteristics and damping

• Ordinary joe on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Nope. Not r888s, but even more serious potenza re55s!

• 195/50-15’s are the best, imo!

• Assad on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:27 pm

I bet the rim is double the price of the rim you are currently using.

• put the turbo kits into exora…. luv to see the ouput.

• Gavin on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:32 pm

can use RON95?

• mystvearn on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:32 pm

So whats going to happen to this concept after KLIMS? Someone in proton going to get a rare R3?

• Seriously on Dec 05, 2010 at 11:43 am

Chances are it’ll stay a concept for engineering studies/ R&D

• donno on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Nice…

Now just do a major facelift of the neo, put in the Campro Turbo destined for the Exora, and i’ll buy one.

• Renault Power on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:42 pm

nothing special. so much for the power, but, can it be used everyday? if it is for races, then it’s seriously underpowered and the chassis isn’t strong enough.

• MoFaz on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:24 pm

people who buy turbo cars have 1 thing in common: they want performance, not just a simple car for everyday use… 200hp is underpowered? that’s the same hp you find in Toyota Supra la bro!
      the chasis not strong enough? ask those 2 rally drivers in KLIMS about Neo 2000. they both won 1st and 2nd place in china.

• jonijonjon on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:15 am

toyota supra = 280hp. but i agree this neo 200hp with 1200kg is something to look at..good hp for a 1.6L..just we dont compare to 200hp golf GTI..different league. 2.0L with massive torque. i guess it will go 0-100 under 7 secs.

• bobdbilder on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:44 pm

This is a concept dude. But you know, even though its not as nicely wrapped up for show like the other models, it looks real life. Its not there for show. Its been around a few laps. It looks used. And that’s a good thing.

Proton’s got Lotus 2-11s, Exige and Elise for track days lah. Either one of them can beat 2’42” of the Megane on Sepang. No matter what you say, Proton owns Lotus. Like VW owns SEAT. Like Toyota owns Perodua :)

If you want the real thing a few guys in Klang Valley do bolt on kits for a lot of cars. Some in PJS 11 Bdr Sunway. But having R3 do it, people know they don’t mess around and you know there’s reliability.

• typical basher, nothing is right with proton

• recond on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:32 pm

that’s the prob, thr’s no road test reviews. R3 r jus hyping bout 3rd party instruments they dump it. and here we hv ppl say how great it is… is it cos it has 200bhp?

• kadir on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:11 am

again, last minute job just in time to dispaly this car. after KLIMS, can tutup kedai.

• Ordinary joe on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:19 pm

You obviously don’t know r3 and what they do..

• lalalalaman on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:51 am

I (read as we) personally never doubted R3 ability…. for selected few. Don’t get it? Its for VERY limited Neo Lotus, rally team & R3 + P1 insider.

Cmon bro, we all know P1 have some difficulties in their financial. Thats why I am not against Inspira. good for fast cash. Very conservative step. But for how long P1 shld be risk adverse & hoping cash inflow come slowly?

Put this into production. With less greedy on profit margin I bet even Asean racer will turn to P1 & break Jap monopoly on racing machines.

P1 in general have decent chasis & quite chicane friendly. IMHO its a loss R3 keep their expertise for expo purposes. Such a show off one. Market it. Generate income from it.

Straight A’s student (like R3) wont get big bucks from their parents. It will come from their career… depends how they sell themselves.

• Renault Power on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:53 pm

on paper it surely says 200hp. but its like one of the tuned up cars in sunway. nice on paper. nice on dyno. but loses every race. including against those stock satrias gti’s at the traffic light.

• bobdbilder on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Good racers don’t race on the streets. Not when you become a hazard to other people and there’s no prize in it anyway. We common people should appreciate that.

• recond on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Exactly my point. Just looks like a boy-racer toy…

• mrkthxbai on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:04 am

woah. how you know the chassis is not strong enough? u r an engineer? lame. typical basher. nothing is right when it comes to proton. if the chassis is not strong enough then u go bang this car with your olskool renault. see which one stronger.

• Practical on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:23 am

There’s a yellow coloured steel pipe that runs over the chassis. That’s reinforcement of the chassis. Its like a roll cage. That in itself says it has been strengthened.

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:35 am

Chassis isn’t strong enough?
      Does it fall apart when it hits 180++km/h??

• wahedenator on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:49 pm

i don’t know why, but if it is related to satria neo, there are very less basher
    maybe satria neo is the most succesful product of proton
    proud to own one
    :)

• the produa supporter cannot bash this car..they only bash sedan car… this car look like perodua if you just see at it’s behind….

• If you only drive perodua, definitely you can only see Neo from behind….
        Neo CPS…200 km/h…sap sap sui only maa….

• seludang on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:56 pm

cps with turbo………………production plzzzz proton!!!!

• yeah cps wiith turbo..bring it on..put into exora..sure i can smile when going to kelantan..don’t want campro kosong + turbo…

• is this proton most desirable car? it is.. hell yeah..

• linear_system on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:01 pm

nicely done..hope can upgrade my neo to this one!

• mata katak on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:17 pm

omg!!!! Look at that ugly gear stick surround. Yellow??
    What a color matching disaster.

• Hafiz on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:24 pm

this is the type of cars we have been waiting for not like those stupid cars like hang jebat hang tuah which is a waste of time n it is ugly…. inspira is also a total fail..

• fifos2187 on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:25 pm

pergh…cool!! when they going to change the rear light to LED version jz like persona n saga…

• shawal on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:27 pm

2 thumbs up!

• Jimmy on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Dunno, just asking. Is the chasis tough enough?

• sure dude. neo s2000 as for the example. It still can withstand massive 280hp with 271 Nm torque.

• civicEK on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:32 pm

deymm!! if it sell below 80k surely i’ll get it one! (but it won’t happen hehe)

• Johnny on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Damn it R3. Dont just build cars for hobby. Produce n sell will ya?

• malaysiakini on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:59 pm

mean machine !

• rain rain on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:20 pm

This is the P1 that all malaysian want to see…high performance, great realibility and affordable… give us more,P1 baby!!!

• there will be a neo turbo cfe because DSZ did mention. but maybe its in more civilised street purpose. might be shelled with cps body . people do like the neo even though they got family because they already got waja or persona or exora.

• bobdbilder on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:36 am

I’ve got a Waja for work. A Trajet for travelling with the family. The Satria Neo CPS is my choice over the Inspira. The Neo is for me. No one else. I have held back purchasing a Neo for a few years. But fortunately they always upgrade it.

I would want to take out the back seat, plump a 12 in subwoofer (or two) get a carbon bonnet and send it to Powerzone for nice upgrades.

But a Neo 1.6 turbo would be expensive for me. Maybe a 1.3 turbo is more down my alley. But until then, it’ll be the CPS.

• sagatron on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:36 pm

what!!!!200hp!!!!r u sure?????????is this beast can beat ferrari??

• RadzLee on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:06 am

what kind of nonsense is this? beat ferrari????

• Tiadaid on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:41 am

Can, a Ferrari from the 1960s

• What ferrari?
      458 Italia 562hp..
      430 483 hp,
      GTO 660 hp..

• BadBET on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:08 pm

find a very tight corner and yes, maybe can beat a ferrari, neo should be more agile

• sean ZX10 on Dec 05, 2010 at 2:30 am

of course can beat any ferrari in malaysia. The driver for any ferrari in malaysia are just dumb stupid! They just cant drive. Its like giving them a porn star and dont know how to use it

• tHe^CuLpRit on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:55 pm

stopping short of a full production, concepts like this gives those buying the Neo an idea as to what they can mod, and what the car is capable of.

Also gives a chance for R3 to showcase their expertise, plus the parts are surely available for sale too.

so stop making senseless comments ya’ll!!

• ingress regress difficulties of the rear passanger, especially in the rain.
    hard to get in and out, hard to put on the seat belt

but people still like it.
    the handling, the sporty look. always put you to a smile

• this car design for 2 adult ma…for behind seat is just for naughty kid that easily take out head at window ( for normal car la)

• bobdbilder on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:28 am

Not all of us likes to drive a nice little comfy. There’s some people who have a penchant for having fun. There’s some of us like pushing the envelope. This car is for us. Not you OAP

• mrkthxbai on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:54 pm

1.6L producing 200hp and 250nm of torque. this is nice!

• ismazri on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:03 am

Danny how much rpm?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 04, 2010 at 4:00 am

R3 did not disclose rpm figures for max power/torque

• Chasis is damn tough i tell u~!! my fren’s bro corner at highway at accidentally hit the side barrier and over-turned~..
    Guess what. well, the airbag didnt burst out, probably cause there’s no front collision.
    but then, the car is half damaged.
    The bomba tried harder than usual to cut the car and pull him out.
    he is safe. no major injuries.
    The Satria Neo undergoes warranty claim for rm20k.

• eadgez on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:03 pm

it seems the lotus ride & handling failed to do the job. hahaha. :P

• hi, forget to mention: it was midnight. His family was awaken to rush to hospital before the sun rise. The Lotus handling and ride have not failed. it was due to low lighting or blur vision at night.

• recond on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:53 pm

This i dun blame the car. It’s human error. If u push a car too hard, more than what i can take, thn accident happens.

Glad yr fren is fine.

• Ahim M on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:38 am

Wowww…turbo!

• gymmy on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:43 am

wow! well done proton!!!!

• GooD ThinG. Proton Campro engine can withstand 200hp.
    Dont play play… Now sure alot ah beng very dare to put turbocharge into their Proton Campro dy.
    REV IT~!!

• h4dRi on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:48 am

a lot of campro with bolt on turbo are already on the street since 2006 in case u dont know…

• die ler! on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:14 am

WoW! 200bhp from 1.6 campro turbo? at par with prince engine liao,, can fight with Cooper S, Pug 308 GTi, Renault Clio,, SYABAS Proton!

• Bruce Lim on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:17 am

This is a good neo,unfotunaly is that performance part all are high quality and will cost very high,,Lotus neo cost $115k,if this neo turbo really got product may cost $140k.But I hope this is not a dream,I really interesting this type of manufature made high performance race hot hatch,wow…,AP RACING,OHLINE,RECARO,SPARCO,DIGITAL METER,SEMI SLICK TYRE,ROLL CADGE AND INTERCOOLER TURBO etc..,this is what I want.

• shooter on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:34 am

i’m a bit disapointed…for all that hard work, theres no mentioning on anything about the trannie??? is it the same old 5 speeder? why not a 6 – they can slap on APs and Ohlins, why not a Getrag, Borg Warner or ZF? and a fancy diff too to reign in the inevitable torque steer.

maybe its the flash, but the interior looks garish. throw in air bags as well please. and a full suite of electronic nannies to take care of the rich buggers who can afford one of these babies, but would’nt even come close to using 50% of its full potential, on the street or track….

make it a production model with cigarette-paper thin profit margin, and if the bashers raise a ruckus about it, just ship em’ overseas… the world’s a big planet you know… they’ll be those out there who would snap these babies like hot keropok lekor.

Hell, if P1 rolls em off the factory floor, and my pockets are deep enuf, i’d scoop up one and take it to The Green Hell, and show those Mat Sallehs… u know, M’sia Boleh!!!

• They can put to production the question is, will so called “Malaysian’s ( you know what )” buy it, really good performance from a .6 liter engine, also don’t forget CAMPRO tech makes the engine just like V-Tec turbo engine.

• WhiteFox on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:00 am

not a bad choice to put in my garage if i got $$$$
    hahaha if the price is RM 100K +- 10%

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2010 at 4:29 am

thats more like it.

Please, more go than show.

liking where this is going….now…when are you going to put that into production?

• FAReast on Dec 04, 2010 at 6:29 am

wonder whether the R3 will do inspira R3

• SoMeOnE on Dec 04, 2010 at 6:54 am

i have to agree…people are less likely to bash this proton coz it actually looks the business..even in stock form i see one in my mirror and i get out of the way by impulse !( i drive a mazda6) coz it looks realy menacing ..

.on the issue of driving..well the most important aspect on any performance car for it to ‘perform’ is chasis rigidity..the more rigid the chasis the better it is.. the holy grail of makin a car is makin sure that it is rigid as possible while still managing to keep it supple which is still being perfected by major car makers until today.

.my g f’s car is a bog standard manual neo 1.6 which i drive a occasionally and all i can say is it is one of the best handling cars out there ..for fwd it corners likes its on Rails! while stll managing to be refined and comfortable i have tried my best to be as reckless as i can into the curve and it just grips! (it did throw out once in the wet to be honest but i was askin for it lol). due to that, it can easily outcorner more powerful cars ..the Ohlins trick suspension is just an icing on the cake..if u ask me..the suspension and chasis of this car is so well engineered it can take all that power without much changes..the weakest point of the neo (besides the rather hard plastics) is THE ENGINE …..

though ithe Campro in the neo has been tweaked for this application its suffers from a personality disorder. For example,if u just wana cruise its gutless and weak but when u torture it…….. it suddenly sounds and feels like a wild animal…..it does take time to get goin..but when it does..it realy does go which explains why most neo’s on the road are driven realy slow or really fast (try observing)….there is no grey area where u can just cruise on the torque like most other cars thanks to the weird engine !…

.im glad they made this even if its a concept..if the tricked out engine can deliver the numbers its gonna be a riot! i had so much fun with stock version…i think the people here that own a MANUAL NEO know exactly what im talkin about..i cap the manual part coz thats how i feel u should enjoy this car and my experience is from a manual version…its an achievment by proton in my opinion..its sad to see it not being sold in greater numbers.. there’s nothing sold in its segment that even has HALF of its ability….. a better engine. and better interior ergonomics is all that it needs….

• h4dRi on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:15 pm

well said…

• i agree with those weired engine you said. iafm and cps doesn’t really solve the matter.
      slightly improved yes.
      they said its going to be vvt added even to the lowest spec and the vvt turbo at the higher spec,

still it takes almost another year to be released., yes almost endless when talking about when proton will give us the engine that is docile at all situation and driving style. frustrating. i would never consider other makes although they have good engines because i always think proton can do its best. i believe we the underdog, can prove we can. but its a long frustrating piece of wait. we can understand the situation. but no choice, we are in business we have to go for a batter equipped engine technology

• altecs on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:32 pm

You have a gf that drives a manual transmission satria neo? You are one lucky guy my friend.

• Assad on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:24 pm

My wife drives a manual & drives that put many men to shame. She hates auto tranny as I much as I am. So, I am lucky as well?

* speculate as much but, it’s true.

• Proud2BMalaysian on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:26 am

agreed man, my wife’s stock auto’s engine also got some sort of wierdness (that i like).. push the pedal during cruising seems like it doesn’t want to go anywhere but if you just hit a little bit more, the gear drops and the needle shoots up!

• Mr & Mrs Xix on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:30 am

agreed with you too man, my fiancee car also neo manual in lite version but what I can say, its very good in handling, I can cilok in federal highway and I tried too with reckless driving + sleepyhead but its still can be control even the car almost twist at that time. I believe my FD2 mod to be R is not same like neo. the passion is different, I admit it feel very well and has comfort whilst driven, weird engine I need to live with it. another thing yup I can see certain neo really fast in fastlane and somemore very slow. Thinking going to cheer up my fiancee neo with LR bodykit with NA performance in next project. btw heard some rumours Neo final version will come soon, is it true? hopefully this campro turbocharger are available in variant soon…dreaming and wondering… :D

• ambientscape on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:38 am

If it’s really out in the market…..might be around 180K? Maybe?

• jwalker86 on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:35 am

wow imagine they put this engine on the new upcoming turbocharged exora.. chun la like that

• Tiger on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:31 am

So it will be a pure 2 seater, the back seat will be useless with the sparco? plus, look at the gear box, still using the cosmetic-plastic-nut-looking mold, how sincere! for RM115k? Besides the tuning, I believe they still can do more cosmetic than that! even have the extra money to buy more riceboy stickers like recaro, vtec, nismo, mugen, DOHC, ermm spyder, and yeah significantly TURBO.. and ……

• saki77 on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:02 am

what r u talking about man?……RM115k?…do u even read the article?

• bobdbilder on Dec 05, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Tiger’s totally missing the point what a Satria represents. The turboed Satria neo showcases what you could do to a current production model. There’s a reason why marques have different models, they cater for different market segments. This is for the purist drivers out there who wants to get a car they can throw around. They also want low cost of ownership if something goes wrong, There’s also after market parts and service industry that are affordable which cater for taking this to a higher level. From cams to piggy back ECUs. But if you are not in the game and don’t read local mags like Hypertune/Shift, you wouldn’t realize this. We don’t care about the back seat or even the front passenger’s. Neither do we care about the plastics. Though the display is VERY interesting. If this is all to much to accept than please move on and leave us alone.

• stick this engine in the lekir and we will see proton smoke golf gti, renaulsport megane and mazda miata!

if not, this car could smoke a mini cooper s and polo gti itself!

• makeitmine on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:08 am

It is not whether Proton can sell their cars or not with the various concepts in Malaysia. But I am pleased that Proton showcase what they can do with their cars and engine.

Proton sure Boleh! but general Malaysian Boleh? bayar harga tinggi!!?

• i canceled my purchase a neo CPS last time. hoping for neo turbo.
    so i hope my dream will come true. i always put this to the perspective because i think DSZ did say one of the turbo to be in the neo last time. probally a neo with turbo cfe and 6 speed civilised for street.

now that the fuel hike, proton must roll out its cfe now

• kozos on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:23 pm

bila mau tukar itu barang… sulah lama la… patut tamatkan itu punya production ma..

• Robert on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Lotus Neo had a very short production run which caused the price of the car to be high. If this was to be mass produced and not just a limited run, it could end up to be more reasonably priced.

• where is BMW, Merc, Audi etc at KLIMS???? so sad.

• sulaiman attan on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:33 am

The German/European marques do not want to be associated
      with bottom feeders like Proton and the like.
      They are planning to have their own German/Euro car show
      with lot of prestige and class.
      Truth hurts but that’s reality. :)

• budlee on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:31 pm

now this is what Neo spec supposed to be like…

• Brian on Dec 04, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Thumb up for proton….first time for 200bhp….first time for turbocharged…..hey proton…sell it….good for satria r3 turbo….how bout rm130k?

• a6mar on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:47 pm

will proton make a 4-doors coupe? high performance car with 4-doors. i want neo but 2-doors make me think twice.

• sawi owner on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:00 pm

aiyakkk… crbon fibre bucket seat? how ppl backthere want to move in n out…
    roll only wont enough i think…

• Weelow on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:16 pm

proton don wan 2 use the old black with red side stripes anymore ka? huhuhuhu

• Proud2BMalaysian on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:46 am

DSZ said something about rebranding R3, maybe this is their new corporate colour..

• 48k i want!

• luffykewl on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:41 am

u wan dis car with 200hp and 250Nm for 48k?
      bro, plz be realistic..
      48k can only get saga SE or persona baseline oni..
      zzz~~

• sulaiman on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:34 pm

so what are they waiting for. bring this on production lah. even for limited. put it on road, and on track ( MME). show how good campro can be. and kick some japs/Europe racing car.

• joker on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:06 am

agree with recond..

pass the car to jeremy clarkson from top gear maybe he’ll try not to blow-up the car…..

• JoeGTi on Dec 05, 2010 at 10:04 am

Come on Djan!!
    Bring it to production!!
    At least you did something else rather than drifting

• Seriously on Dec 05, 2010 at 11:49 am

Finally we’re talking… now that’s a car.

• fazron80 on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Dear Paul tan,

Will R3 consider installing the turbo kit to current cps owners who’s interested(one is me of course)? I know it won’t be cheap but nowadays any people who are involved in car mods know that money runs the game while talk is only talk. What’s the price you think?

• Affey on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Nice to read but can proton produce it? showing off is meaningless!

• berry on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:38 pm

even JC n Hammond praise neo s2000 LOL

• VIGOSS on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:57 pm

r3 can release stroker kit 1.8 for campro?

• Chris on Dec 05, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Send it to top gear… They’ll make a nice video out of it, and say it’s probably the most exciting Proton we ever made.. and

“but you can’t get it… sadly they’re not going to make it..”

And you should go “awww…” by now..

I wonder how many time this happens already….

• sulaiman attan on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:27 am

You can talk until the cows come home cos
    in reality the R3 will still remain a dream.
    Change lah R3 motto to “The Power of Dreams !!”

• molala on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:26 pm

look like project car rather than production car… but nice.

• handsome*dude on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:35 pm

can proton really put this into production???

is this engine stable enuf?

• Kelvin Tee on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:36 pm

I’d try not to be rude as PROTON is our national car, but seriously this is all they do. Concepts after concepts, Special editions after editions. “Pahlawan” series – Haiz. Seriously speaking, PROTON is trying to fly before it can walk. Yes, it is still CRAWLING.

Quality is improving, designs are improving, but price is NOT! How can PROTON survive if they charge us, MALAYSIANS for more than they charge foreigners to buy the same car? – I implore the Govt. to open up the market immediately. The most I’d give PROTON is 2 years extra protection.

In this 2 years, if I am the PM, I’d ask PROTON to stop churning our stupid concepts and focus on maybe one or two viable concepts or ideas only. What good is spending money funding so much concepts and getting non-feasible ideas? If PROTON is Mercedes or BMW or Audi, which focus is technology and innovation, yes they can spend more to fund R & D and concepts that may or may not work.

BUT, if PROTON is a company struggling to fight FAIR in its HOME market, then no. PROTON should focus its efforts, time and money to help reduce costs/ ensure quality/ achieve better efficiency. The way PROTON is going right now, sorry to say – it’s bleak for us Malaysians.

This Neo R3 CONCEPT (concept again) is close to the Lotus Racing edition, albeit with modified parts, engine, power, etc etc. Now I’d say, is PROTON an aftermarket tuner, or a car manufacturer?

Some will argue BMW, Mercedes and Audi also have their in-house tuners, (M Division, AMG, etc) but these companies FIRSTLY had great cars to begin with, and made them GREATER. Not having mediocre cars and selling them at a premium. I dare say that if PROTON went to Germany and sold their cars at the same price albeit after conversion in Malaysia, they’d be crawling back in a year.

The issue now about PROTON is not quality, but price. As I said, quality may be up, but the price has not come down. If not for the exorbitant taxes, Korean imports would have ruled here. Such is the improvement of Korean companies. I did not say PROTON did not improve, but I do say that the improvement is not fast enough.

Let the market decide, Govt. If PROTON can reduce their costs to compete fairly in a free market and still survive, at that time, I’ll be proud as a Malaysian to call my national car a PROTON. Till then, I think PROTON is eating our hard earned $$$.

I quote a friend, “As Malaysians, we have no where to go. If you buy PROTON, you are directly supporting PROTON. Buy imports, you are ALSO indirectly supporting PROTON through the taxes collected.” – What choice do we have? All we ask is a level playing field. As a Malaysian I loved PROTON when I was a kid, when I sat in my dad’s PROTON Saga in the 80s and 90s. The car was reliable, oozes Malaysian patriotism, and is good value. But now, after so many years, and finally understanding that without PROTON, the car we could have back then would have been a Honda or a Toyota.

If you are rich, you have choices. If you are not, you are left with P1, or P2. From the ever increasing sales of P2, one can clearly understand why P1 is judged badly. I am not rich, so I rant. Hoping that the Government will finally heed our call.

• S.Neo on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:00 am

well said, Govt need to improve management & Proton need to improve their tech & pricing for us to promote to those foreigner who pay us a visit. Word of Mouth Marketing is not cheap !!!!

• proton is car manufacturer and R3 is aftermarket tuner… clear. thats why R3 come with performance part.. wanna daily car, go buy std proton.

• azrink on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

spot on!

• waklanproton on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:37 pm

big boy toys…
    anyway u can get tuner to install bolt on turbo..
    exe camproturbo well kown nowadays…
    180hp onwheel biasa dah…(tonnka banana i like it)

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:36 pm

sweet car … nice job R3

• berry on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:38 pm

testing….

• cooper s=powerless than neo r3,more expensive than neo r3
    which will u buy?

• Kelvin Tee on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Refer to above comment bro – The problem is, can we even buy it?

• S.Neo on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:47 pm

well if given the situation that you have capability to purchase it , which one you will choose ?

• chap_de_x on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Lot of people here said Proton are showing off only bla…bla…bla…later when Proton really produce it and of course in limited unit and price it >100K people will say who wanna buy a 100K proton…To produce a car you need to have strong business case…if the business is not strong enough like tiara and Juara why waste time and resources to produce it…further more this tune was made by R3 team which is official tuner for Proton cars…so its normal for them to show off their capability to strengthen their R3 image…R3 selling performance parts and tune package for proton cars…so they displayed this neo as marketing tools of their R3 product at the same time strengthen Proton Image. nothing is wasted. Anyway congratz to R3 team for producing a very cool concept car…

• Bolt on.. the blue silicon at the piping joining spoil it..

• Cooper S

1.Mini Own BMW
    2.World famous brand
    3.Stylish and sporty

Proton Neo R3

?

• farghmee on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:07 am

Cooper S

1.Mini Own BMW
      2.World famous brand
      3.Stylish and sporty

Corrections

1.BMW Own Mini
      2.agree
      3.depends on one’s taste

• eimsperfume on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:40 am

because satria neo lotus racing is priced too high already,
    this neo r3 which got more power than that should be more expensive
    but they cannot do that neither..

anyhow, i realy like to see this on production if proton & r3 can do it.
    way to go malaysian performance car :)

• Angry Customer on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm

i’m one of those out there who used to blieve proton is improving on their quality, BUT after owning a Neo CPS and constantly getting new probs coming left and right, I’m really pissed off n wud jz hope that Proton or the govt does something drastic to change everything tat is Proton currently.

As for my Neo CPS, its been really troublesome as everytime I wud need to repair my car during EVERY servicing, n i also found out proton uses old stocks they kept such as some alarm or captor system which for me has been giving me prob twice now. Its a hassle needing to take leave, make appointments, going to their supplier (CAPTOR in Batu Caves). Wats worst is that the Proton staffs themselves cant even fix a taillight properly! Seriously, how can u support them when this is wat u get in return?!

And investing in F1? do they not see the need in investing in more R&D to improve quality and services since they are still one of the worst out there instead of trying to fly like Ferrari? Probably someone nids to giv them a good tight slap on the face to make them realize that they nid 2 build TOP QUALITY CARS before they build SUPER CARS!!!

trying to conquer the world when ur not even ready… VW shud hv been allowed to take over…

• copycat on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:34 pm

The reason why Proton don’t agreed to VW request, VW request all the undertable sub contractor factory to close down. Where else got commission for the Dato2 who wait for the big cheques from cut cost Proton sub contractor?

During Tun Dr. M time, Proton has invested only 20% to do some modification but still overalls are piece of plastic and junks. But now Proton has invested 0% majority of the effort are spend to sell Japanese car by re badging. This is a cheapskate tactic from profit oriented organisation. The Japanese off course smiling because Proton is a hypocrite, Tun Dr. M once said buy Malaysia made car, no Japan car, now they are selling Japanese car. These politicians are liars and remember Najib said no increase in petrol price, today the petrol price increased tremendously.

• Dr. Kervokian on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:10 am

i wanna watch the stig drive it, and jeremy clarkson have a go at it!

• Dr. M on Sep 24, 2011 at 1:34 am

Hopefully some expert can do a test drive of both Satria Neo of Supercharged (180hp, 200Nm) and Turbocharged (200hp, 250Nm).

Then put this into market, sell both at RM85k ~ RM100k. Can consider buy both, then swap with wife whenever you like.

• Dr. M on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Please consider also Gen.2 CPS turbocharged. We want speed and practicality.

• hadi anwar on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:23 am

i’m wondering about the engine management. @.#.
    my daddy figuring out about how to upgrade the exora cps. its already good enough with proper driving skills. but. i want more kick when pulling with full load. 6 people + luggage & etc2 is a bit too much for standard exora i think, but then it turns out a grin on my face. a few tweek it will perform better. XD

• Nostalgic dude on Jun 27, 2023 at 12:59 am

We sure had high hopes back in the days…and look where we are now
    I have no words for how appalling everything has become over the years. Proton, you’ve seen better days.