Range Rover TDV8 Vogue and Discovery 4 TDV6 are here

Land Rover Malaysia has added two models to its stable – the new Discovery 4 and the TDV8 Vogue version of the flagship Range Rover. The Disco 4 is now powered by a 3.0L TDV6, which is improved on all fronts compared to the previous 2.7L diesel.

The Disco 4’s new TDV6 features parallel sequential turbochargers, used for the first time in a V-configuration engine. The first turbo aids responsiveness and eliminates lag by working at very low revs (84% of max torque in only 500 milliseconds from idle), whilst the second turbo minimises steep power fade at higher revs.

It has 244 hp and a mighty 600 Nm of torque, which is a mega jump from the 190 hp/440 Nm output of the old 2.7. I’ve tried that engine in the Disco 3 before, and while it’s refined enough, it badly needed more grunt for overtaking and acceleration. Problem solved. The gearbox is a 6-speed ZF auto.

New additions to a very long list of standard kit are 19-inch alloy rims and a reverse camera. The Discovery 4 TDV6 is priced at RM423,888.

The Range Rover TDV8 Vogue (higher spec than HSE) was previously available only upon special order, but AutoConneXion Land Rover showrooms now carry ready stocks of the RM688,888 luxury 4X4. That’s a RM30k premium over the HSE, and the Vogue justifies it by having Oxford leather seats, reclining rear seats and the wireless VentureCam (a mobile video camera that feeds images to the in dash screen). The TDV8 Vogue is equipped with a 3.6-litre V8 turbodiesel with 271 hp and 640 Nm of torque.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rangeroverboys on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:35 pm

its a bit too bling now.

• Paul

Disco 4 @ 423k, new touareg @ 433k..which is the better car from reliability point of view ? Should be the VW right ?

• ray_jay on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Bring in The Evoque puhleseee..!

• captain_gaban on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:52 pm

s**t…more than half a million??? though it may have all the luxury…but for that sum of money…tengok boleh la.. (this has nothing to do with those who can afford to have one)

• l3ryan on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:07 pm

what an engine!! 3.0 with 244hp and 600Nm of torque!
    compare that to Hilux 3.0 which has 163hp and 343Nm or Triton 3.2’s 158hp and 343Nm

• Gavin on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:55 pm

It’s a good sign that our diesel eventhough only euro 2 is good enough..

• Moneygod on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Ofcos bhp & torque big diff between land rover vs jap suv. See the price will know!

• i thought this Discovery 4 was here long ago a different engine perhaps?

• Naz@AE111 on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:06 pm

for the range rover, better prefer the rover sport.. but for landy, i can accept the discovery, most reliable SUV in the world.. i love LANDY…

• chuakz on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:39 pm

i’m not sure about reliability…but range rovers are, or WERE pretty unreliable cars…yes they are good off road, but electronics are bad. now they’re under tata…i think it has improved…but the defenders are rock solid though

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:54 pm

dude. have u seen top gear : bolivia special?

• RR is me ultimate retirement vehicle.

• basher on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:28 am

Its a pity the price of the disco is so high in Malaysia. Once you drive a Land Rover you will not even think of driving a Car ever again.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:55 pm

i agree totally. a land rover disco now makes sense. it combines the executive saloon, mpv and 4×4 all in one package.

• zanggief on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:33 am

3 years roadtax should be enough to settle a P2 viva…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:56 pm

i like it a lot. but it just got me thinking. what do i drive now into the jungle now dat the discovery has become a new yorkers car.

• RAZMAN MAJID on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:05 pm

WoW!!!!
    RM688K Only for Range Rover Vogue….? This indeed better deal than Q7 TDV6, anytime.

Owning a Range Rover….. oouch!
    Then Impossible, but now Possible.

I am ON.

• KL Stray Cat on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:37 pm

When is the updated Range Rover coming to Malaysia.
    Based on LR’s UK website, the new Range has the eight-speed automatic transmission with the jaguar-type knob gear selection (have no idea what it’s called).