CNBC TV: Proton entering India in 2011 with Saga, Savvy and Exora – currently sourcing for diesel engines

CNBC TV: Proton entering India in 2011 with Saga, Savvy and Exora – currently sourcing for diesel enginesProton will finally enter India next year with three models, the Saga, Savvy and Exora, CNBC TV18 reports. The Indian business channel’s sources say that Proton is close to announcing the entry.

It adds that Proton will dive into the market on its own without a JV partner, but is likely to use Argentum Motors for contract assembly. One of the men behind Argentum – which has a facility in Surajpur, Noida – is BVR Subbu, the former Hyundai Motors India President that was appointed to the Proton board earlier this year. Subbu will head Proton’s assault on the fast growing Indian market.

According to the news report, Proton is currently re-engineering the cars to suit Indian roads and are in talks with certain OEMs to source diesel engines. Indian market leader Maruti Suzuki uses Fiat diesels for their cars; since the Multijet oil burner is already a known quantity, could it find its way into Proton’s trio? And if this diesel engine partnership (with whoever) takes off, will we be able to buy torquey and economical Protons in the near future? Here’s hoping!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alibaba on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:07 pm

way to go Proton, this is a good news.

• Budak Jengka on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:12 pm

I hope so. I think with sales in india and new facelift SAGA selling in INDIA, PROTON can sell their car in india around 50k unit yearly, and easily overloaded their factory for CBU unit from Malaysia. :) what is more, they will be able to reach 200k unit yearly, and as soon as they start EMAS and persona, they will sell it at 300k unit yearly, and as soon as hybrid/EV fully launch, PROTON car sold 500k unit world wide, and they become among the best with BMW, merc and VW. wow.. all taht in 5 years to come…

• Eyesore on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:53 pm

tho i like the sound of it…but that is too much dreaming…. but if they can do that, it surely will be great for them and malaysia =)

• Proton beat volvo…. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_industry#By_manufacturer

• MoFaz on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:25 pm

by volume, yes…. safety? NO!
            Proton Jumbuck (Arena) is the worst car on Australian roads in term of safety. it scored only 1 star in ANCAP crash test. i hope Proton could spend more money for safety and improve on this. just like how they spent on hybrid and turbo engine development.

• kozekx on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:08 am

why isn’t produa in the list?

• Proud2BMalaysian on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:49 am

P2 is in the minor manufacturer list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minor_automotive_manufacturing_groups

• TingDK on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:04 am

I hate to rain on your parade but sadly, even all the China manufacturers (which we usually associate with low quality goods) are even on a higher ranking thank Proton.

That being the point, sales volume could not be an indicator when this country does not abide by the free market. Lately I’ve seen a lot of engineering advances in Proton which I am quite impressed, but sooner or later, the protectionism must be lifted so as Proton could be more competitive and grow as an international brand.

Thus such practice as sub-contracting parts to other local manufacturers should be stopped as they induce more unrelated costs due to double handling and profiteering. Doesn’t it bother you when Japanese products, if you minus all the tax and duties have almost relatively the same price as our Malaysian made products, but then again in Japan they are paid in wages threefold than us? Where does all the extra costs comes from?

• eimsperfume on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:17 am

:-D very proud.. very proud..
            proud to be malaysian.. heheh..

• Proton did not beat Volvo. If you look at figures these are only for the heavy commercial vehicles made by Volvo. Its passenger car is merged with Renault, so these are divided in two. Proton is none the less doing a great job. I believe it will sell more cars in India than India selling in Malaysia.

• shawal on Dec 08, 2010 at 4:46 am

you work for proton izzit? neway , its good to dream , i hope with that money they can really invest in R&D

• RON97 on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:59 am

good luck proton…after one year they will back-off…ha ha ha

• mohd-yusof on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:14 pm

I hope the indian ppl aware of what kind of ‘quality’ product they r buying then…. god bless india!

• BadBET on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:51 pm

40k car should have quality at par with 400k BMW? grow up man, we not living in the edge of darkness, or you still have “kita jarum pun tak boleh buat’ mentality?

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:59 pm

But do you really think our 40k car have quality on par with the international brand? Just think about the QC problem… Forget the tax effect in Malaysia and compare Saga with Vios, Accent, Latio… PS: Latio and Accent are sold at just $9999 in US so you won’t have excuse to say that they are more expensive…

• chaku on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:31 pm

do you really think well known automaker like nissan and toyota having top notch plastic in their car? u must be kidding. god bless you.

• Eyesore on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Well if you dare to take out your foreign cars blinders you will see the plastics used in saga are the same as the one used in Vios….

If you want to drag tax etc into the argument…please look at the buying power of the ppl, the cost of owning a car in the country, the tax structure etc…then only it’ll be fair…

• TingDK on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:46 am

You have to open your eyes to what is happening around the world. I hate to drag the tax structure into this argument because I know that’s how our country earn its revenue.

But then again, sooner or later while we are still in this small bubble trying to improve ourselves, other countries will have left us behind this game very far, as we can see with the Korean and Chinese manufacturers. P1 and P2 hold a very big burden – the citizen trust to produce good and affordable local cars, but then why does the others can produce even better cars at even affordable prices?

I understand that P1 and P2 does sell at lower volume comparing to its counter parts thus, the higher profit margin, but one thing that baffles me is that (I REALLY need this answer):
            Why does the P1 imports have much better quality and a better price that we should deserve? Why does a high spec Gen-2 cost a merely 36k in Riyadh when we are paying 56k for the same product?

• Tiadaid on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:56 pm

TingDK – A high spec Gen-2 cost 36K in Riyadh and 56K in Malaysia because of taxes. Proton, despite its national status cannot escape from paying sales and excise duties, albeit at a discounted rate than other non-national makes. So…we could have gotten cheaper Protons & Perodua if they’re completely exempt from all the taxes. It baffles me that national carmakers aren’t exempt from taxes.

• TingDK on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Tiadaid – Thanks for your info. But then again, RM20k in sales and excise duties difference is tad expensive. I bet minus the shipping and promotions, gen-2 may only cost RM28k fresh from the factory. The ideal price for a local car really should be minus RM10k from their current prices right now.

The local car makers really should have some serious talks with the gov’t in order to reduce such ludicrous taxes and duties on locally manufactured goods. But then again political profiteering comes into equation and such ideas will be buried immediately. ::sigh:: :(

• exJAVANESE on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:12 pm

hmmm…how about tata nano? i think proton are way better quality though…correct me if I’m wrong…

• Wisdom on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:51 am

Even if you have problem/s with your Proton, its wide to voice it in Tribunal Pengguna or even newspapers for god sake.

Proton is investing millions of your money to enter Indian market, open showrooms there, later, Indian prospect customer which just got interested with Proton surf the internet and saw your comment like this, here, few chances of doing business there go down the drain….

You’re real stupid countrymen….

• hazwa on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:11 pm

way to go proton.. compete with other car as toyota and honda in india.. yeah!!!…

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Honda is just a small player in India… VW, Ford and Chevy outsells Honda always…

• Mohan Nair on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:17 pm

What about the other players in the market like Tata, Mahindra, Maruti-Suzuki, Hyundai, VW, etc

I give Proton about 20% chance of any success, it will be among the also rans.

• adeakukesah on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:12 pm

fuyyo…in India, Exora will compete with Mahindra Xylo..
    Savvy will compete with Tata Indigo/Indica
    while Saga will compete with Mahindra Logan (rebadge from Renault)..don’t forget about Maruti Suzuki with it’s famous Swift there…

but overall i would say Proton is the best among those car…i’ve been into the Xylo, Indigo and Logan and their quality & material used are SUCKS!

gud luck proton! perhaps you should produce autorickshaw also!

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Don’t forget about Hyundai… Hyundai is the second largest in India…
      Toyota also just release their Etios… Have to see how Saga can compete with Etios…

• adeakukesah on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Hyundai only market its i10 & i20, Santo & Getz…as well as Accent .. only few Sonata..didn’t any Starex there…

• Popiah Basah on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:32 am

Owh damn! U are right… it is not just TATA that Proton needs to worry about… it the Korean! Damn they are doing great everywhere… Hope Proton keep on fighting! Korean can do it, why can’t we?! we must give our full support to our product. Be positive! Malaysia Boleh!

• Mohan Nair on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Really, Having been in a Proton couple of years back and recently in all those vehicles you have quoted, The quality of Indian made cars have improved leaps and bounds. Proton is going to have a tough time selling since there is no brand recognition and finally value for money.

Renault and Peugeot called it quits in India. Indian consumers are discerning and look for value for money.

• najibest on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:24 pm

please put the diesel engine in the cars there, test their durability + compatibility and then bring in to Malaysia….well if it can survive India, it definitely can survive Malaysia :)

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:54 pm

India is currently on Bharat Stage IV (Euro 4) emission standards in all major cities

• littlefire on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:09 pm

While our country still with EURO2?!? Are we behind India all these while?!?

Anyway P1 should involved in diesel engine, as it is proven to be economical & easier to maintain compare to those sophisticated hybrid or ev car…

• arcana on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:35 pm

lol despite most cars are plain jane models in india or rather outdated ones (some of em)…..their quality of fuel is ahead of us……
          we need quality diesels too……u hear that proton???

• we are on euro 2 due to subsidy concerns. We dont produce our own diesel(or not as much) so the govt reluctant to pay more for better additives in higher diesel standards.
            India is probably paying close to market prices for diesel, and also environmental concerns (diesel mainstream in india), so the need for higher diesel standards there

• Eyesore on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:45 pm

i don’t why are you saying that to proton??? You want better quality diesel…ask the govt lor.. why proton???

• just somebody on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:55 pm

you want Euro4?? then the price will be higher than now laa..ppl will start making noise again instead appreciate what the gov do..

• gilabangang on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:10 am

the same people will shout they want to change gov if gov were to introduce the new diesel with new price.

• Garfield on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:28 pm

I don’t know if my comment will sound stupid but here goes: Why don’t the G introduce Euro IV compliant diesel and keep on selling Euro 2 diesel as a low cost alternative for lorries and buses? Just like petrol RON97 vs RON95?

That way those who are concerned about the environment just pay more for floated (un)subsidized diesel with all other benefits that come with the latest technology diesel engines. Let the old bangers use the Euro 2 diesels for now but introduce incentives or tax breaks to promote the use of better engines.

I think that will keep the balance between still providing (old and inferior) subsidized diesel and providing alternatives for those who can afford more expensive (but more efficient) diesel. Have they thought of this or am I behind in what’s going on? Please enlighten me.

• mivec on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:58 pm

euro 4 for emission .. how about diesel quality at india? anyone hv any info?

• Euro 4 in 7 major city

• nationwide in india is Euro 3 standard start this year..E4 only those 13 cities

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:27 pm

but those 13 cities and the radius of 90 kms around

so it is still around 50% of the country cuz the car sales are more in these “13 cities”

• r u sure?

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Haha! That means that CPS cannot make it there!

• bangang nak mampus gak budak neh..tak baca title gamaknya..CURRENTLY RESOURCING DIESEL ENGINES to suit the market there..then there’s no CPS engine perhaps..MISTA NOOB!

• xuwenchao on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:07 pm

do you know that to comply to euro4 emission standard, they change the catalytic converter only and the ecu setting. i believe proton cars exported to australia, the uk and even china comply to euro 4. here in malaysia, only next year the regulation requires newer cars to comply to euro 4.

• Euro4 simply means, that the emissions have to be within a certain level even in the first 30s after a cold start.

This is ‘simply’ done by preheating the catalytic converter (takes about 10s at temperatures below 0 degree C).

• malaysia suppose getting Euro 4 and skipping Euro 3 starting next year base on revise NAP last year

” V. Clear Roadmap for the Implementation of Fuel Standards Since September 2009, EURO 2M specification for petrol and diesel has been implemented. The Government has now set a clear target of implementing EURO 4M specification for petrol and diesel by 2011. The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment will establish a roadmap for fuel standards and quality.”

http://www.maa.org.my/pdf/MEDIA_RELEASE_NAP_Media_281009.pdf

• littlefire on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:14 am

Well, the G suppose not to up Ron95 price until next year… But still they Barang Naik again this month!!! WTF!! I dont believe them at all!! I think next year got Euro3 standart already happy already!

• Garfield on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Oh I see, it’s here already. So are we really getting EURO 4 by 2011? When will we know since 2011 is round the corner only…..

• IpohPostmaster on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:26 pm

and why on earth we malaysian not getting that?

i used to drive 2.0 white color wira diesel back in 90s…. it’s slow but it produce lots of black smoke that will annoy lots of people which the only reason i like that car so much.

• anti-first on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:52 pm

somehow i find the comment to be genuinely amusing. :)

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:21 pm

I guess that’s the same reason why bus drivers love being bus drivers.. ’cause they can piss us off with their black smoke

• saki77 on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:25 pm

haha…nice….

• the_fighter on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:53 pm

hahaha what happen to the car now dude?

• IpohPostmaster on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:19 pm

i sold it off to evo wannabe back in 2001
        becos of the engine capacity was 2.0, the engine transplant process and registration were easy.
        it was a good car…

• exJAVANESE on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:20 pm

hahaha..i really can imagine that!! Its like Merc 200D Taxi in early 90s… Bad ass smoke… sweet memories..yeehaww

• beezle on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:02 pm

even the car is slow, at least you “smoke” everyone car….lol

• cardreamer on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:54 am

the car is not slow dude, i’d used wira 2.0 diesel too before..and the torque is even bettter than some current 2.0 petrol..

• banko on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:24 pm

without diesel engine … p1 will be suffer in india … i really hope p1 will be success … its a prove that we can do as what korean car did….

my guess, even if p1 success in that diesel euro4 market ,,,i dont think p1 will sell diesel engine in here … :( reason, gov keep squezing us to death …

• Rabbit on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Good positive news but I bet the people in India will get a Proton that is higher on quality, specifications and safety that meets global standards at a cheaper price than the Protons that we’re getting in Malaysia. We Malaysians are paying one of the most expensive cars in the world coupled with low salaries and wages.

• yea, p1 will fight head to head with suzuki, hahahahahahaha, and vios and city…..kantoi la…..hahahaha

• banko on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:36 am

erm,, looking at p1 pattern,,,yes i agreed on higher spec,,,

what i know they only pay road tax once and i done some survey last year car price is about 3/4 cheaper then malaysia(i am compared i10) … so we pay 1/4 higher then them …… BUT look at their road ,,, really,,,, please look at their road… i not saying toll highway,,,i am saying a normal road…. …please go there and then you guys will say ….. we prefer pay 1/4 more for a good road (but of course guy, if u want to move forward , please compare to uk,germman,japan etc)

• teamsleepnine on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:48 pm

aweesome!!!!!

good luck proton!!!

• Orang Timur on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Proton will need to incorporate at least 7 bottle holders for 1 liter bottles in those models! =)

• i think they ll put into our market as well.

exora TDi hehe

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Y dont bring Inspira ???P1 should feel ashame to show off thier copy cat product leh!!! Dont hide your pride, show the world you got Inspira that together developed with Mitsubishi, then see how they feed you…..

• it will be tax higher in india….

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Eleh, berlagak… meh tengok kalo perodua ada telur nak bawa myvi or viva or alza ke sana…

Tau la butthurt Lancer hang da xde second hand value!! Padan muka keter jepun fanboy!!! Muahahahahahaha

• betul-betu-betull.. first time proton sudah kasi tembak itu Mitsubishi second hand value… manyak rugi itu jepun fanboy… hahaha

• banko on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:38 am

eh,,,i dont think you got the reason of inspira to p1, it totally for local market,,,,

• The deal was to rebadge Lancer for Malaysian market, not the whole world. Be sensible….

• tommy on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:48 am

Say that Mitsubishi, say that to PUG, say that to Citroen. Say that to Subaru for its subaru Justy. Say that to GM (They copycat the most though among their brands heh). You are just plain idiot. Groe up, that is what we call rebadging! Proton produce new car, then u will say, use our money to do the RnD, not good in quality. Just shush dude. I am ashame of you for being malaysian.

• renault diesel is not bad for the engine.
    plug into savvy diesel must be from renault. but parts should be made locally to reduce import tax.

my opinion is that diesel engine best should come from europe.

• wah proton going into low class land… hope that they wil do well…. indian market is very weird one… they dun like branded thing one…. for example, the fluorescent tube here : got philips brand, got shanker, got other indian brand…they like indian brand more than philips…then very fast spoil d the indian brand… i buy a bajaj ceiling fan… one month the capacitor spoil d…. another table fan, khaitan brand.. one year spoil d… aiyer low class land…good luck proton

• ever heard word “nationalism”?

• as if u r buying all the local brand

• we are not talking about me as i’m not indian. we talking about them; india indian. right?

• adeakukesah on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:17 pm

indian government is the most inefficient body in the world…dealing with them is like a disaster…many Malaysian Companies entering business with Indian Government are having the same problem…hard to get progress claim, difficult to resolve issue etc…and they are still using the same working system for the past 50 years ago,…

• banko on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:23 am

hehe…inndia is a place for people who never appricieate how good is malaysia,,, (but of course to move forward we must compare to uk,german,japan,etc)

• potatomasala on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:53 am

do we need a racist bigot in this blog ? for heaven sake,”low class” ? in what terms ? i bet you have never even been to india before….

• paultan, is proton campro iafm tek tek sound issue solve now? first impression is the most important thing in a new market… hope tat no such issue

• banko on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:54 am

for india market…. since the road that bad,,,they will not notice about that tek tek sound at all,,believe me

• PElegance on Jan 30, 2011 at 11:01 am

this “tek tek” sound still persist when I start the engine early in the morning or when the engine is cold. I’ve asked the SC mechanic but they say it’s normal & when I insist them to really check, they are puzzled till now. I think they should bring this problem to their engineering team to identify…..

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Finally Proton open another market… Hope they can get it right and don’t end up as the second Renault in India with a failure Logan..

• CHONG KAT on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:13 pm

waiting the price.

• Katak on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Proton Diesel engine for M’sian??? As usual la. Foreigner first!! M’sian tunggu dulu laaaaaa….

• Prismo on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:22 am

bcoz commonly Malaysian didn’t appreciate every effort by Proton in boleh land.. So why complain?

• agree with u… orang malaysia tak tahu menghargai.. mungkin kesan dijajah banyak sangat penjajah.. sampai pemikiran drg pikir produk dari penjajah ni lebih baik.. & letak pemikiran negatif pada kemampuan negara..

• Joseph on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:33 am

don’t support ? Malaysian have been ‘forced’ to support Potong for 25 years already. Talk with your below head aaa?

• tommy on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:52 am

heh. who forced you to buy a proton? you don’t want it. then dont buy. Basher.

• Because India gets better diesel than ours in Malaysia…

• tommy on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:53 am

as usual? only two models. usual?

• rossi46 on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:45 pm

A diesel exora using proven fiat multijet’s diesel will be great…low fc & more power/torque…me loike

hmm….no wonder Msia did not proceed to go for euro 4 yet, there u got…..waiting for P1 to get a diesel 1st…hahahahahaha…as already guess

• Viosuser on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Ok make sure you produce results….. I sincerely wish Proron can get results fast so Malaysian would not be burden with all the tax and duty !

A lot of people do not agree with me but this is how I tell my 5 year-old. As long as you produce results, you can play computer game 2 hours in a row and i would not kacau you. And he end up to be the top student every term.

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:51 pm

what if he hooked up with wrong ppl as he grow up… and at the same time producing good result… will you stay with this approach?

no bad thought intended… but, i wonder, what if it happen…

• IpohPostmaster on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:25 pm

i’m a big fan of diesel…

but not so many diesel car that cheap enuff for me to buy.

ford focus tdci is a good 1. it is expensive tho.
    sadly, they didnt have diesel fiesta.

now, my love on diesel will blossom again as they might bring in the cars.

• Gajen on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:54 pm

good job proton…saga will definitely sell well there,they like cars that size [logan,vios,city,etc]..savvy and exora will be good as well,there are lots of innova there,exora will surely penetrate their sales

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:56 pm

You are wrong they don’t like the car of Saga size, Logan and City sell at a very tiny amount and Vios is not even on sale in India… What Indian want is a car of Savvy’s size… i10, Micra, Polo, Spark and Alto is the car that most Indian buy…

• Gajen on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:36 am

true also..ive been to india like god knows how many times,well put it this way they like cars sizes ranging from savvy to altis/civic..after the size of altis/civic,i hardly see bigger cars..

• kekuda on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:48 pm

I heard comment from indian expat here, they like kancil very well. A small car with air cond!!!

• mivec on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:59 am

i read at india tax based on size of car.. larger car = more tax

• reuben how on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Eh, u think indian consumer that backwards ahhhh? If can get Hyundai-kia et al why would they go for Proton, Please…….

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:53 pm

the way they look at proton not same as the way you look at it…

same like if American look how Malaysian praise Japs car, but at their country, the japs maybe nothing much…

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:52 pm

But it is a fact that Proton is still inferior in many ways compared to the Korean… Even if Proton got the right product and right engine may not guarantee their success because India is such a price sensitive market… Proton need to put their profit margin very low until they can compete with the Maruti-Suzuki and Hyundai…
        The way you said Japs is nothing because that is their minimum standard and you should know that Proton is below the standard set by the Japs and this standard is achieved by the Korean already…

• makeitmine on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Way to go.. may you succeed in India.

Do look for European partner to make diesel engines for India and Asian market.

Diesels are known for getting extra mileage out of every gallon of fuel. They offer better torque than many gasoline engines. And their price differential over gasoline models generally is much smaller than that for hybrids.

Diesel engines are getting cleaner. Thanks to cleaner diesel fuel with lower sulfur content now available in the U.S. and new vehicle technology that filters or traps troubling engine particulate emissions, diesels are becoming cleaner than ever.

In fact, Mercedes touts its Bluetec as the “cleanest diesel in the world” and has joined with Audi, Volkswagen and DaimlerChrysler’s Chrysler Group to spread the Bluetec name across other diesel models in the coming years.

• walao on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:16 pm

proton can capture india’s market provided…

they give free cars to the people there.

• greasemonkey on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:39 pm

True,diesel’s good,but maintenance is quite high compare to petrol.

• littlefire on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Are u sure?!? Do you know that a diesel engine have less part compare to petrol engine?!?

The only thing that make diesel engine unable to perform is our louzy 2M diesel standart!!!

• chap_de_x on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:39 pm

True diesel engine have lesser part but does not mean it reliable…The common problem with today diesel engine is the reliability of the injection system and those turbo commonrail..

• I drove one VW Golf TDI, 9 VW Passat TDI and one Audi A4 TDI over approx. 1.5 million kilometer in 25 years and never had any problems with the ‘reliability of the injection system and those turbo’. Actually, no car ever broke down.

May I can ask you, where you have your information from?

BTW: If Turbodiesel’s are so unreliable, why are all 40ton lorries are turbodiesel then? ;)

• littlefire on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Bro, that only happend a lot in Bolehland, thanks to our inferior quality 2M diesel.. Please check whether in Thailand got this issue a lot or not?!?

If those technology is not good like what Mohd said, why all big lorries, European cars also using diesel?!? Katak di bawah tempurung..

• wat maintenance that is high?…a little detail?

• james24 on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:30 pm

hope proton can a big success in india market…! also hope proton will be 2nd giant auto carmaker like toyota on someday…^^

• waimak on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:44 pm

India is a unique market. Hope proton could make it. All the best.

• quattro on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:14 pm

hope proton will have diesel engine thus time and bring it to rakyat malaysia

• Rejab on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Savvy? I thought P1 going tp stop producing it.

• banko on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:18 am

i think it good idea to sell it at india, savy in malaysia have a bad impression coz of it engine, since p1 need to hv diesel engine and the indian version of ‘NAP’ give low tax for short car, that would help p1 sell later…

• Prismo on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:39 am

Stop producing for boleh land market. Same thing goes with P2 kancil many years back when P2 bring it in boleh land as a new model.

• Proton plans to enter India but don’t have an engine ??
    What a brilliant business stretegy!!.
    It took Hyundai a long time to establish themselves here
    and Proton is taking a big risk coming here without a local JV.
    Don’t try to be a hero cos in this plot the hero dies !!!

• exJAVANESE on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:51 am

Good then! I think proton company should hire you as their best maketing front man..

“Goa, u hired! Now.. make a brilliant business stretegy for Proton and make sure it succes!” – DSZ said

• Mohan Nair on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Hey Bud, Truth hurts, I give Proton just 20% chance of success.

• Faisal on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:40 am

all the best proton!

• Theva on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:59 am

Everything gonna fall apart..Trust me those roads there are not as good as Malasian roads..

• diesel engine in the milo tin ?

• proton türkiye forum on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:52 am

WE WANT DIESEL !!!!!!!!

For turkey we sad it since years, DIESEL is must ! ! !

• Every minute there is another sucker born into this world

• I want a Multijet diesel :)

• Bob Tahar on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:37 am

Hope proton cars will be a regular features in bollywood movies… :)

• littlefire on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Like those day, using old saga to be demolised in movies… Haha..

• “Proton is currently re-engineering the cars to suit Indian roads and are in talks with certain OEMs to source diesel engines”
    What proton cars need for indian roads:
    – though tires that wont burst easily
    – steel hard wheel that wont bent easily
    – steel bar around the car
    – lots of place to hang flower or fruits
    – a diesel engine that can be easily turn off and on at traffic light
    – and the most important of all — a very very very loud horn!!!

• kekuda on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:52 pm

air cond is considered luxury there. consider the top can store a lot of bags or even extra passengers.

• makeitmine on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:51 am

Exora may be selling well in India if one study the success of the Bolero, an SUV manufactured by home-grown automotive manufacturer Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M).

The Bolera is the right vehicle for India: It can be used for both livelihood and lifestyle purposes. It suits India’s rough roads, and it gives great mileage. It’s a value-for-money buy.

After dropping her husband off at the office, a wife could use the vehicle commercially as a school bus, for home delivery services or other purposes. This way, [the family] can afford to pay the bank [installments] as well as enjoy the vehicle for family outings in the evening or on weekends.

• aibaks on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:26 pm

i saw kancil were use as a van a.k.a delivery vehicle in KL area.. haha..

• Don’t know much about India’s car industry,but I do know they have a lot of dancers in their movies!!……good luck Proton…..maybe if ‘Datuk’ Shahrukh Khan can help Proton to boost their sale there…hehe…just like what Datuk David Arumugam did for Saga!

• Mawai on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Yeah, make him the ambassador of err.. exora perhaps. later kalau tak boleh jalan, kasi tan sri pula. & Big B also dont forget aa…

• squawk on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:07 pm

The India market is very unique and fragmented. I hope Proton has done their own proper market study.

• Wisdom on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Proton can consider put railing around the car for people to hang/ hitchhike.. in bulk…
    peace India

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:31 pm

one piece of informations

Mr. BVR Subbu acquired the Noida plant which is the erstwhile Daewoo plant in India when daewoo officially launched its Matiz and Cielo sedan.

When daewoo went bankrupt(with GM coming to rescue) GM did not purchase the NOida Plant and it was deserted. A fully furnished manufacturing facility in the most prime industrial hub of the country was “abandoned”, later acquired by Mr. BVR subbu

• Samarkand on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Exora can’t be hit in india…look at the engine, very slow la!

• makeitmine on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Considering the poor state of India road, Exora is good enough.

• Chilavert on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:59 am

i think what’s best for proton if it want to penetrate foreign market is to develop a manufacturing plant in India or China to take advantage of the cheap labor and raw material. they cannot compete with the foreign car maker by exporting cars manufactured here simply because of the greater cost since the cost of labor n material in malaysia are greater than in china or india.

yes, building a new manufacturing plant in foreign country seems to be very expensive but it will be worth in the long run IF proton has a plan to be a world class player, not only jaguh kampung. anyway, good luck proton!

• makeitmine on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:24 pm

You must really understand the concept of comparative advantage.

In terms of output, low wages don’t mean low cost. You ignore the relevant question: Low cost at producing what?

I believe Proton has been looking at China, India and also Europe for world car production. Perhaps the Malaysian plants will be destined for HQ, R&D and rebadging.

To produce a car with 100% local content means ignoring the theory of comparative advantage and how businesses work. What works is increasing expertise in car content manufacturing.

No economy can survive without borders and just look how car industry businesses have become unstable over these past years. They will go to where they are wanted and jealously protected.

• Samarkand on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:46 am

Indian people also have a very highed taste! Ford, Toyota & Honda already have thier die hard fan over there…

• aibaks on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:23 pm

can proton engine take up with diesel technology? hmm… even the diesel price also quite high nowadays.. huhu.. good luck then!

• Shahrukh Khan could become the ambassador for Proton.

• Mohan Nair on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:05 pm

With all the automotive majors in Indian market, the question is what can Proton offer to the Indian consumer that other automotive manufacturers are not offering? Well nothing different or unique.

Adding to that Proton is an unknown brand name, out of curiosity some might check it out.

Well Good luck.

• shivanand on Dec 11, 2010 at 2:02 am

As proton has good sales in 27 countries, i hope they will in the Indian market for longer period. They tai up with Hindustan motors.

• I think the New Proton Saga will be good for the Indian Market. It is compact and tough but has good luggage space and has offers Lotus Ride and Handling.