BMW 1-Series M Coupe is finally out in the open!

This is the hottest version of the 1-Series that has been a long time coming. Called the 1-Series M Coupe, it’s clear (from the posed images) that BMW sees it as the spiritual successor to the original E30 BMW M3, as they’re closer in size (just 33 mm longer but much wider), and the M3 has grown greatly through the years.

The M Coupe is powered by the twin-turbocharged 3.0-litre inline-6 from the Z4 sDrive35is, making this the first car by M division that uses a standard production engine. The all-aluminum N54 engine puts out 335 hp at 5,900 rpm and 450 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. An overboost function adds 50 Nm at full pelt. Redline is at 7,000 rpm.

The fastest One does 0-100 km/h in just 4.9 seconds on to a 250 km/h limited top speed. A close ratio 6-speed manual gearbox transfers drive to the rear wheels. As comparison, the 420 PS M3 Coupe (with DCT) sold here does the century sprint in 4.6 seconds, so the gap is just three tenths of a second.

To stop the car, the 1,495 kg M Coupe’s brakes are M3 grade, says BMW. The internally-vented, cross-drilled cast iron discs measure 360 mm in diameter up front and 350 mm at the back. Each disc is connected to a floating aluminum hub by cast-in stainless-steel pins to reduce heat. The condition of the brake linings can be checked from the dash display. The wheels look familiar? They are 19-inch items from the M3 Competition Package and M3 GTS, wrapped with 245/35 rubber up front and 265/35 rear tyres.

The aluminum suspension on the M Coupe was “originally conceived for the current-generation M3” and tuned specifically for this application.

The front struts, swivel bearings, central subframe and an additional thrust panel below the engine (to maximize lateral stiffness) are all in aluminum, as are the dampers. Front/rear weight balance is 51.7/48.3.

The M Coupe is fitted with a variable M differential lock. This generates lock-up torque on-demand and variably to provide optimum traction. The DSC includes ABS, ASC, Dynamic Brake Control (DBC), hill-hold assistant, Cornering Brake Control (CBC), a brake fade compensation function and a brake drying function. For raising the intervention threshold, M Dynamic Mode (MDM) “enables slight amounts of dynamic oversteer under specific circumstances”. BMW says that this mode gives the fastest laptimes, but one can still fully switch DSC off (ABS remains on).

There’s also a M Drive button on the steering wheel that we first saw in the 2006 M5. Pressing it activates a razor-sharp throttle response program.

Looks wise, the front is dominated by three large air intakes. The central one is covered by a honeycomb grille while the two outer intakes are left completely open. The right one feeds air directly to the engine oil cooler and the left hole supplies the supplemental coolant radiator. On the sides, you’ll find trademark M chrome gills and wing mirrors that have the same shape as the M3’s. The rear end sports a lip spoiler, side openings on the bumper and quad pipes – two on each side. The front and rear lamps have slight changes too – LED eyebrows for the Adaptive Xenons and L-shaped rear elements.

If you’re wondering, this car is 5mm longer and 53 mm wider than a 135i Coupe. The tracks are 71 mm wider up front and 46 mm wider in the rear. Widened fenders and rear quarter panels were needed to accommodate the tracks. There’s no option of a moon roof, which saves 15 kg and lowers the centre of gravity.

The 1 Series M Coupe comes with Air Curtains, which were previewed on the Vision EfficientDynamics concept from Frankfurt 2009 and used here for the first time in a production car. It works to improve air flow around the wheel arches and significantly reduces turbulence.

The Air Curtain system consists of openings in the outer section of the lower front fascia that route high-pressure air through ducts at each front corner.

The ducts (approximately 10 x 3 cm wide) are designed to channel air to openings at the front of each wheel arch, where it is discharged through a very narrow opening at high speed. This air stream covers the side of the front wheels like a curtain, reducing turbulence.

There’s no Air Curtain for the rear wheels, and the rear openings you can see aft of the rear wheels are for style.

Lastly, the cabin is in dark Alcantara with orange contrast stitching covering the door panels, door pulls, instrument cluster binnacle, dash panel, and gearshift and handbrake lever boots. You’ll also get an M-specific instrument cluster with gray dials, red pointers and white backlighting. More M logos can be found on the driver’s footrest and door sills.

Large gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1787]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rexis on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Standard production all-aluminum M54 engine that puts out 335 hp at 5,900 rpm and 450 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

Wow… that’s some standard…

• h4dRi on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

those big headlamp makes this car look cute,
    M cars not suppose to look cute

• seriusSAM on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:09 pm

nah; I don’t think it’s look cute
      This bimmer looks awesome

• peeps on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

thats right… somehow the design look weird to me, but this monster eat alot car for breakfast.

• shawal on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:53 pm

That is 1 schweet lookin ride

• nabill on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

the car looks over tyred….too big for the body…but such engine with manual box is awesome…

• SaddenMYS on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm

A driver’s car… purposeful , powerful and must be very fun to drive!

But again, due to Bolehland’s taxation, it would be sold at min RM400K when reaching our shores. Got to wait for 3-5 YO recon units when the Brit or the Jap get bored with their toys… errr….

• Unknown on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:42 pm

In bolehland even a bmw 135i costs me about 430k inckuding road tax… this M coupe will cost at least 500K… but wait its M ! so bolehland will price it at 550k onwards..

• autojohndoe on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:38 pm

BMW at japan is cheap eh?

• usedcaronlybuyer on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:43 am

Hardly meet anyone bought new sport car in bolehland…

• Unknown on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Wondering.. should i trade in my135i for this? or… just use procede to stage 1 and bring it to 360hp… but. this car is an M … hmmm …. im confused !!

• lame duck on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Paul,
    in terms of dimension, is this close to the E30 M3?? the one that started it all?

• the new 2 door 1-series is forever ugly to me, can’t you see how nice is the ancestor ?

• sixtythree on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm

this is one ugly ‘M’ and at expected price of RM550k rather get myself a GTR (haha how i wished!)

• SaddenMYS on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:17 pm

I do not agree your comment that this 1 series M is considered “ugly”. But I do however agree that it is a good idea to utilize the RM550K for a GTR instead, if it is priced at RM550k.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm

With the longer-headlamp BLM facelift getting into showrooms possibly by next week, I think it’s just a matter of time before our innovative local bodykit designers and producers come up with “extreme modification” bumpers, grills, fender arches, etc. for the BLM facelift to impersonate this small, compact M1

• JonLing on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:20 pm

Everything looks perfect for me. If I have to be rather “picky”, I think it’s slightly over-styled. But maybe it needs that kind of styling to let people “recognize” that is no ordinary 1 coupe.

Anyway, with the right pricing, I can’t see why this would become a huge hit in many markets. It’s an authentic M car after all!

• chuakz on Dec 10, 2010 at 3:57 pm

so u mean…if they sell it with the wrong pricing…it would become a huge hit? confused

• droll on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:29 pm

0 to 100 in 4.9s????? this used to be supercar territory. what is happening?!

• this car in bolehland sure 600k

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm

How mcuh will it selling??? Nice car!!! But odd rear view!!

• Wisdom on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Am I the only one seeing the styling of this car is boring…

• Virosh on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:27 pm

I think you are the only one, many see this car as a work of art.

• Merce on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

U drive Kancil better lah. It’s not boring. Maybe you are :)

• If u say this is boring then i’m assuming that you are driving a Reliant Robin. That car suits u best :)

• Interesting that they are using the older twin turbo N54 instead of the newer single turbo twin scroll valvetronic N55 engine found in the current 135i and facelifted 335i

• mr.wiseGuy on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm

2 laa pasal..any logical fact anyone ??

• Apparently the twin turbo N54 has more tuning potential than the newer twin scroll N55. Also interesting is the redline is 7k RPM based on the pics, which actually matches the stock N55 instead of the standard N54 which is just over 6k rpms. Looks like they may have tweaked the N54 to rev higher in the 1 series M coupe.

• A bit too aggressive-looking for me, but I know a lot of people will dig the design. How’s the legroom for the backseats?

• bazet on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:24 pm

wish the car will be more ugly and menacing shark look…..

• TonyT on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm

What happened to BMW’s designer lately? This is one ugly looking car, especially the front part. Even the new 5 series looks too ordinary compare to the stunnung E-class.

• starting from the outlook, interior design, this new 1 series coupe cannot match the beauty and stylish proportion of our famous honda city. Wonder also how the engine technology can catch up with city also. Far less vibrant than FD2 in many aspects though especially engine pick-up

• edmond on Dec 10, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Yes new 5 series looks ordinary but the new E-class looks Ah Pek with small little 1.8L inline 4 engine.

• From the side, looks like New Saga with 2 doors.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:44 am

i like it

• confr on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:48 am

nice for some, not for me

• JonLing on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:45 am

may sound a little bit too much and off-topic, but if possible, can paul, danny or whoever writing articles for paultan.org put up all, or most of the pictures in their original sizes?? no problem with that large gallery, but it would be more awesome if they were all in their original sizes, which was like 3750 x something or even higher resolution. Thanks! :)

• jonny blaze on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:44 am

that’s one cramped engine bay.. no way dropped nut and bolt can be retrieved

if the stereo is removed from the dash.. we can see the back of the 6th cylinder

• west meets east on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

what new name is suitable for this car? that’s will be M135i.