Formula 1 to use 1.6L four-cylinder engines from 2013, ban on team orders lifted for 2011

Yes, that’s right. The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) has approved new regulations which will see 1.6-litre four-cylinder engines replace the current 2.4L V8s from 2013. The goal is to be more eco friendly, as the smaller powerplants are expected to be 35% more frugal, whilst providing the same level of performance. Energy recovery systems and additional energy management will be utilised to ensure this is possible.

“The WMSC approved the introduction of a new specification engine from 2013, underlining the FIA’s commitment to improving sustainability and addressing the needs of the automotive industry. Following dialogue with the engine manufacturers and experts in this field, the power units will be four cylinders, 1.6 litre with high pressure gasoline injection up to 500 bar,” FIA explains.

The new regulations will also further limit the number of engines at allocated to each drivers. Currently, it’s eight units a season, but this will be limited to five in 2013 and four for subsequent seasons. Rev limits on the new engines will be reduced from the current 18,000 rpm to a maximum of 12,000 rpm.

At the same WMSC meeting, FIA bigwigs also made some changes to the rules for 2011. Among the major revisions are the removal of the ban on team orders, the introduction of driver-adjustable rear wings, outlawing double diffusers, stricter bodywork deflection tests and a requirement for one gearbox to last five race weekends, from the current four.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• toyoott on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm

WoW!!,, BMW will use Prince engine?? haha

• the_fighter on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:22 pm

BMW is out from the game

• Najibest on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

then again going to the smaller engine might entice them back in….i mean all major manufacturers have 1.6L engines at their disposal (minus those high performance and some luxury car manufacturers) and this can be their test bed on testing the limits of those engines….it’s no longer developing specific engine for F1 which would have minimal trickling down effect on road going engine….

• pomen_gtr on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:00 pm

BMW still got those mini cooper 1.6 turbo/supercharge engine….don’t forget that….

• rosdi on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Haha!… my 1.8 inspira will tapau all F1 cars anytime now!!…. hahaha!!..

• LOL…can your 1.8 inspira produce 700bhp like F1 1.6 car

• Mr Genius have a 500 bar turbo charger in his inspira mah …
        i wonder how long could it last … 3 sec ?

• pomen_gtr on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:03 pm

not even close to 5bar the engine already explode :Lol:

• borgbong on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:59 am

bro, 500 bars is fuel injection pressure not turbo pressure…as i know tuner from japan, veilside was made R34 wit 2.7 bars boost (twin turbo) that produce +-1300bhp…somebody know how much boost for american (supercharge) drag car used?

• Yooooo on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm

So Proton can use its 1.6 CPS engine to run F1 cars that time…. Haha…

• put it in my persona
    sure meletop!

• paul will it be a turbo

• From what I read before in international F1 forum, some said NA (Natural Aspiration) engine. But some said it will turbocharged.

• Drift Master on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Yes, with a turbo.

• Akmal on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Campro 1.6 bring into F1??

• Guys, this is not your normal 1.6 L engine. This engine if what I read from cosworth will produce 700bhp. Maybe not a turbocharged but high pressure gasoline injection. 500 bars is for injection pressure. But better wait and see.

• Zidane on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:47 pm

The guys are just making a joke out of it.

• Tengku Rex on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Taken from cosworthf1 tweet

@CosworthF1:What’s everyone think of ’13 F1 engine regs? 1600cc Turbo & KERS electric motor together producing over 700bhp – same speeds 35% less fuel!!

• handsome*dude on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

now u see the 1.6 Turbo engine rules !!

• yuppie on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:08 pm

F1 is supposed to be an ultimate car race… it was V10 back then.. then V8.. now 4?!… aihh missed ayrton senna’s glory day… should be limitless.. only the most brave, skillfull driver+manufacturer stupid enough to enter… not some crappy, overhype, favour-sponsored driver to enter it and then not even pass the qualifying round of the race(not pointing finger to anyone)… Schumi/Mika will be the last respected F1 legend if this go on… aihh.. 2015 -> gas powered car.. max speed 110km/h.. 1 cylinder car..

• Driver on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

I don’t understand the bad rap the new regulations are getting. Sure, we’re going from 2.4-litre V8s to four-cylinder 1.6-litre units, and revs have effectively been halved from what they currently are – but they’ll still be producing the same power output as the current generation of engines. Does no-one else find that impressive? I mean, isn’t this what Formula 1 is all about: cutting-edge technology rather than simply bolting on a few extra cylinders?

Horsepower isn’t the only way to improve a car’s speed. A smaller engine is a lighter engine, so the car’s power-to-weight ratio will change. Likewise, it will be easier to optimise weight balance and centre of gravity because even if the cars need balast to achieve minimum weight, the teams will be able to place that ballast more effectively. And then there’s regenerative power devices like KERS and talk of ground effects coming back for 2013. If anything, the 2013 cars will be faster than the current ones.

• Steven on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:13 pm

I do understand the need of F1 to go green and be relevant in current times. It is the supposed highest echelon of motor racing[arguably bcz the lemans cars a faster and more fun] . It is the breeding ground for new tech.

I choose to be a lil more idealistic here, F1 was created to be the the absolute top level of motorsports and float in the clouds so to speak. A level oni a hand full can reach and most of us dreams to be associated with. The 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, and 90 somewhat kept to that tradition. BUT now its too safe, too much tech and too much politics.

I persoanlly want F1 to be a palce where the best drivers drive the best cars package with the best teams. NO budgets, no silly rules etc. I know this is not ideal or practical and F1 will kill itself if it choose to run this way but hey tats what it is supposed to be right!!..th absolute TOP!!

Sadly a few years now since I feel Endurance racing especially The LeMans series has taken over. Do you guys remembers the Lemans 24 this year where the Pugs whooped the rest of the field and not win!!!..long story short, more exciting, more faster and more tech to get that car racing so F1 being the TOP not anymore i guess ….;!)

• Norman on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:13 am

I am ok with the smaller engine capacity, but FIA should retain the best-of-max-12-laps and 107% qualifying format. Oh, keep the refueling back pls.

F1 is not just about top driver with fastest cars. Team strategies and team work also play important roles. That’s what had made f1 exciting, in my opinion anyway!

• yuppie on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:54 am

sorry but I’m not talking from only the perspective of the engine only… yes sure you can put a 4 cylinder+turbo+kers and develop more speed/power but you won’t have the chance to see a standalone(without aid e.g turbo, supercharge, kers,etc) NA engine to the limit… how much the RPM would go.. and how big cylinder head/how much cylinder(V10? V12? W16?) could they use to get the NA ultimate engine… and then the car.. should be no rules on how the aerodynamics should be… what the limit of speed the car can go through corners.. this idea would be not wise on the safety side but this is what should be in the top racing tournament… Hi-Tech is maybe the main point for F1 today but this from my point of view is where F1 losses its purpose… with everything computerized and programmed, man+machine would not be the talk of the day again in the future… don’t get me wrong.. it is still very hard to drive an F1 car.. but not as hard-sweaty-until-i-die as before… heck.. if Hi Tech where F1 are aiming.. there might be new rules where ASIMO robot to drive the car in the future..

• Najibest on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:32 pm

let me guess, u just started watching F1 a few years ago right? they used 4 cylinder turbo way back in the 80’s already la………….

• Drift Master on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Thank you Najibest, for pointing that out. People today probably don’t know what small-capacity turbos were all the rave in F1 in the late ’70s to the late ’80s..YES!! We had small engines in F1 before and it was good fun then. The Yellow Tea Pots (Renault was the first to use turbo-charging in F1 and then everyone followed after that) with 1.5L turbo and 1400 hp !!! Crazy stuff back then .

• Woozy on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Aryton senna days were using 1.5l four cylinder turbos producing 1500 hp. They have massive turbo lag and have zero driveability. The V10’s ‘only’ has 900hp. Btw, I wouldn’t call f1 drivers of today ‘crappy’ and ‘overhyped’. Maybe you can teach them a few tricks in your very super duper fast average car ;)

• Ferruccio on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:23 pm

In the 80s you had teams running inline 4, V6, V8, V10, and V12. No of cyls was free. Only cc and type of induction (NA or turbo) was specified. When turbos were banned we saw V8, V10 and V12 on the F1 grid. Then they decided to tighten the regs further and it became 3L V10 for something like 10 years.

I say let them each team choose how many cyls they want. Inline or vee

• ayrton senna ?? he drove a 1.5L V6 turbo 4 cylinder engine….

and now how u miss ayrton senna again?

• forgot to mention..it was 900bhp..

• Diablo on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:17 am

Eh? How can an engine be both a ‘V6’ and a ‘4 cyl’ at the same time??

• yuppie on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:12 am

sorry but I begin to watch senna/F1 when he already started racing using Mclaren MP4/4… which use V6 TURBO engines.. so, yes I don’t know much about racing days before that… after these V6 they already using NA engines… btw, V6 is 6 cylinder engine… aiihhh… back to basic 1st please…

• BadBET on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:48 am

the Mclaren MP4/4 engine come from honda, 1.5 liter in capacity and their glory start from there (1988). so, nothing wrong with 1.6 liter engine, this is F1, what ever the regulation, the result still the same = super speed and stability.

• Najibest on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:38 pm

engineering a small capacity engine to have similar power output to 2.4L V8 engines while being more reliable and using less fuel is no easy feat….the small I4 turbos back in the 80’s last like 1 race or less per engine…now we’re talking about using on 4 or 5 engines per season…

formula 1 is all about showcasing the ultimate of automotive engineering and this definitely serves the purpose…not to mention it would attract more automaker to join f1 since 1.6L engine is basically a staple for most car manufacturers…we definitely don’t want to go back to the days of Supertec, Playlife etc engines which powers half of the late 90’s and early 2000’s grid which are basically the same old engine rebadged by different teams

• Now everone is berangan to be like F1 driver.. Haha! What a news..

• 4agze on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm

f1 has become a laughing stock right now with the rules keep changing every season…no consistency at all

• semut on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Rule changes are ok as long as it makes the race more interesting for example the 3 round qualifying rule.. And why do they really wanna lower the cost so much? So what if the number of teams are small if the cost is high? Or are the ‘smart’ people of FIA believes quantity is better than quality? If they really wanna do this they better let the engines be turbocharged or else it will be definitely not attract new fans..

And since when does racing fan care about fuel consumption and gas omissions? If every racing fan care about those two things then fans’ favorite car will definitely be the Prius.. Racing fans only care about unrealistic speed and superb corner drifting, just like Top Gear always says ‘Racing driver has no IQ’..

By the way I believe that most F1 laps records haven’t been broken since 2005/2006, when they were still using V10..

• AKUIJAN on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:47 pm

car size???

• meane on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:58 pm

lighter.. but faster…?

• Ferruccio on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Paul, Danny,

I think you guys forgot to highlight the fact that the engines will be turbocharged.

• transformer on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm

still remember Nissan got one SR16VE N1 producing 197bhp & 181Nm, just in NonTurbo form, no variable valve timing at all… cool…

• seriusSAM on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:39 pm

what the fuss?

when V8 is said to replace V12 engine; all people said the speed will reduce
    but look at the fastest time set by today V8 engine compare to V12 fastest time

so this 1.6 litre high presure injection will surely set much more fastest time than today V8

F1 engineers will always know how to find the speed out of the engine; combine with what ever aerodynamic they develope for the F1 car

• rossi46 on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:07 pm

How’s bout allowing diesel to compete in F1 too….bet, Pug & Audi(VW) will bring in their excellent HDi & TDi sportscars….interesting to see F1 petrol slug it out wt those oil burner (advantage on reduce fuel stop for the diesel and punch out of corners due to high torque at low speed)

• Pug & Audi(VW) sport car? its not bout GT racing car u know its bout F1 car!!! did u ever see safety car running around when F1 car accident….mercedes amg look very fast n drive like crazy but cannot run away from very slow F1 car!!!

• 1btgnaik on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:13 pm

wow….after 2013 can get f1 halfcut or not?….

• nighttrain on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:34 pm

How the heck do you produce 700hp from 1.6litre 4 cyl NA? I telling you, exciting times ahead when they reveal how this is done. But for now, any ideas?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Producing 700hp from a 1.6NA is not impossible. But producing one with a rev limit of only 12000 certainly is interesting…

I would suppose this would be turbocharged.

• brianjgtc on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:36 pm

This is 80s…nooooo, the screamer is gone

• The Unicons on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:06 pm

So even the road car and some sport cars out there will be faster than F1 cars? 2013 will uses 1.6L 4 cylinder engines. What next? 850cc or 660cc? – Just saying only.

• mystvearn on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Will cars be slower? Or more like records done with the V12, V8 era will be untouchable…

• autojohndoe on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:13 pm

this must be because of Proton…

Proton has no other bigger than 1.6!

same like diesel in malaysia… not improve bcoz Proton no engine diesel…

haha… i am joking only..

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm

1.6 mini cooper s?

• transformer on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:55 pm

since F1 had implement drastic measure to cut cost in all area, now we only wish it will also reduce ticket pricing…. please?

btw, F1 should go diesel as its more green, more milage and more torque….

• YouFailed on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:27 pm

F1 wants to cut cost,developing a brand new engine will not help that cause.

• raybrig on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:36 pm

switch to electric lah…more greener..

• kaiser on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Welcome back to the 80’s! Wonder whether Honda will reenter the F1 scene with this news.

This year, everytime I watch F1 I seem to fall asleep halfway through. Good F1 races are rare these days. A lot of the good races this year come not because of F1 rules and regulations, but because of the curve balls thrown by mother nature(rain etc). I think Bernie should relax the rules, making them frameworks for the teams to build upon rather than detailed blueprints.

Because the regulations are so detailed and tight there is no way a new team can be competitive (the 3 rookie teams this year are perfect examples). The tight rules means that the quest for speed in F1 is linear and the older teams that have gone through the learning curve will have a unsurmountable advantage. By relaxing the rules, some genius 27 year old engineer from an unnamed team can come out with a brilliant engineering solution and put his team at the top of the grid.

• Carl Wong on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:58 pm

High engine displacement does not always give better performance, morons, and I think even in motor-sport now they have to meet strict emission standards to reduce those CO2. The level of performance is the same can’t you read English? Or it could even be better with the use of the ever improving hybrid technology and regenerative braking, and so on. Even if the cars are using a small displacement engine, F1 will still be the highest level of motor sport.

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I have to back you on this. Even with 3 dislikes.

True, F1 is always the pinnacle of motor sports.

Regardless of the era the mixed of V12 V10 and V8 on the grid,
      1.5L Turbo Charged vs. 3.0L NA, then the V10 3.0L NA, and the current V8 era, it always have the state-of-art race car and motor sports technology.

Valve timing control (namely VTEC), electronic suspension, traction control, paddle shift and a lot performance related car electronic controls are derived from F1 cars.

In terms of engine displacement, the already dead A1 GP, Indy Racing, Le Mans Series, Super GT, V8 Super Car, these series has larger displacement than a F1 car, but the performance is not the same class.

I don’t think a 1.5L Turbo Charge engine will make F1 slower, these engines are racing engine, never relate them to any production 1.6L engine, I would say, not even a Lamborghini V10, Ferrari V12, AMG 63 series can beat them in terms of output.

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:50 pm

have to back you on this. Even with 3 dislikes.

True, F1 is always the pinnacle of motor sports.

Regardless of the era the mixed of V12 V10 and V8 on the grid,
      1.5L Turbo Charged vs. 3.0L NA, then the V10 3.0L NA, and the current V8 era, it always have the state-of-art race car and motor sports technology.

Valve timing control (namely VTEC), electronic suspension, traction control, paddle shift and a lot performance related car electronic controls are derived from F1 cars.

In terms of engine displacement, the already dead A1 GP, Indy Racing, Le Mans Series, Super GT, V8 Super Car, these series has larger displacement than a F1 car, but the performance is not the same class.

I don’t think a 1.5L Turbo Charge engine will make F1 slower, these engines are racing engine, never relate them to any production 1.6L engine, I would say, not even a Lamborghini V10, Ferrari V12, AMG 63 series can beat them in terms of output.

• Rockmebaby on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:20 am

F1 sound more & more boring…Can’t wait for the day they will start using foot pedal-powered car hahaha…..100% oil-free & healthier too ^_^

• Driver on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm

There’s talk about FIA move to use 1.6 l powerplant actually to lure manufacturer like porche/VW, BMW, Honda,Toyota etc to join back in F1. Hope the manufacturer take the bait. Will be awesome.

• VIGOSS on Dec 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

VTEC ALSO GONNA KICK YOUR ASS YOOO WITH B16A 1.6 ENGINE LULZ

• kanai on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:07 pm

lighter can go around corner faster, can break later.
    so next one will be 700hp on 220kg F1 car powered by nuclear.

• ayamxxx on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:26 pm

will F1 engine get VTEC power-ed?

• Well, I’m sure S60 will say “yes” as according to him a VTEC engine is better compare to the F1 engine.. A VTEC engine is the best engine in the wold

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm

All F1 engine have Valve Timing and Electronic Lift Control.. you can call it MIVEC VTEC Double Vanos.. etc etc etc..

• transformer on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:56 pm

not all hybrid or EV is green… conversion from batteries(electricity) to generates motion produces heat which is consider a loss…

moreover, to charge those batteries also need a lot of electricity and more losses in conversion… so as to electricity supply generation from electricity companies… Only solar, wind, geothermal and hydro are consider green… ( are bolehland main supplies from these??? )

burning coal, petroleum, gas and even nuclear power to generates electricity aren’t green at all…

• Carl Wong on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:31 am

When we’re out of fossil fuels in the future, what do we race with??? Possibly hydrogen powered or electric cars and so on, and they’re emission free when traveling.

• Haidir on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

500 bar!, doubt abt it. i think 500psi is probably right. “500 bar r u mad”

• F1 just like any other races, was supposed to help automotive industry garner technology advancement for general public but we have seen very little contributions or transfer of technology from F1 to the industry. I think this is a good move by FIA to make F1 more relevant and beneficial.

• Jaybond on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:40 am

I was expecting FIA to follow what was implemented back in the 80’s, to let the manufacturers decide what kind of engine configuration their turbocharged engines will run. Those were the great times, you even had an Alfa V8 powered turbo F1 car back then.
    Unfortunately FIA has done it again, with the introduction of spec engine configuration. Boring as s**t!. I mean, a 4 cylinder Ferarri? That might put off some F1 fans….

• Wisdom on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:07 am

1.6 huh? Proton should throw in that Campro since we already have our home team.

Joke aside, im pretty sure the reduced capacity, the addition of turbo charger, and limited engine revolution will change the engine note. Dont know whether the engine will still scream as usual or replaced by lower tone sounds which will change the entire F1 identity…

My reason may sound silly but would you like to hear the cars sounds like A1GP? (which now a history)…

• orgbiasa on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:35 am

1.6L rev at 12k rpm? sounds initial D any1? =) may i replace it wif my current engine. i don mind if thy can detune it to 180hp to inclease its sustainability. rm20k i willing to pay thou i know thy don sell.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Actually, thats what it was used for.

At least on the Formula Atlantic.

Actually you can find some of these “crate” engines for sale….found one on ebay once….for something like 20 grand…..

• JohnDeep on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:42 am

It is far better to watch car manufacturers competing in F1 instead of energy drink and air liners who have nothing to do with automotive industry. We would like to see VW, Audi, Porsche, PSA, Ford, GM, Hyundai/Kia, Honda, Toyota, Mitsubishi or even Proton competing in F1. If F1 is the leader in advanced automotive technology, it is a wise and rightful decision to show some corporate social responsibility to the entire world for going greener. It is a good start.

• WithTheFlow on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Limitations on the engine will force other parts of the F1 car to advance don’t u think? Early days of F1 is about powerful engines. Then comes new things like kers, diffusers, further aero trimming and so on. just my 2 cents =).

• Bring back the good old day of turbo for F1!

• paparadzi on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm

What F1 need is not a limit on horsepower or type of engine. What F1 should do is have unlimited engines, unlimited technology, aerodynamics or otherwise. Just have a dimension (width, length, height), minimum weight, and LIMITED AMOUNT OF FUEL. Let the car companies develop any technology to get the maximum power, using any engine technology, as long as the car can last the race with the fuel allocated.

As for team order, I agree. Why bother run 2 cars per team if team order is not allowed? A team should play as a team, not as individuals.

• Drift Master on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Funny how things come full circle these days. Turbos are back in F1. And it’s going to be lots of fun.

Renault should the advantage here since they were the first to use turbo-charging in F1 back in the late ’70s. Sadly, they won’t be a team anymore but they’ll be supplying engines to many teams I suppose.

Another interesting turn in F1, in this day and age of climate considerations. Moving with the times. Good for them.

• Now i can fit an F1 engine in my EK civic…

• babyboy on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:47 pm

hehehe.. now my waja can racing with f1..

• Awang on Dec 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm

The lifting of team orders ban is good in my opinion. Coz it was silly in the first place. Team orders still exist n they (FIA) know it. Also, what constitutes a team order?

Remember Istanbul 2010 when Button was told to “save gas and look after tyres” rite when Hamilton was challenging him? That shouldve been considered team orders too, coz just a few laps before, Vettel hit Webber and had to retire… and obviously Mclaren didnt want their driver so crash, so Button had to yield since Hamilton seemed the faster driver (and Button didnt want to let go). See? team orders are coded. Ferrari made a mess however at Hockenheim.. “Fernando is faster than u”.. too obvious. They couldve at least use the same Mclaren tactics.

BTW i dont think by lowering the engine sizes can make more car-makers enter F1 easily. Coz F1 engines are not like the mass produced engines where the parts used are cheap and made to last long. F1 engines are built on the limit.. minimum weight possible, max power possible, toughest material, etc. It will still be expensive. So it doesnt really mean cars like Proton can easily enter using a Campro and win.

• Awang on Dec 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

The lifting of team orders ban is good in my opinion. Coz it was silly in the first place. Team orders still exist n they (FIA) know it. Also, what constitutes a team order?

Remember Istanbul 2010 when Button was told to “save gas and look after tyres” rite when Hamilton was challenging him? That shouldve been considered team orders too, coz just a few laps before, Vettel hit Webber and had to retire… and obviously Mclaren didnt want their driver so crash, so Button had to yield since Hamilton seemed the faster driver (and Button didnt want to let go). See? team orders are coded. Ferrari made a mess however at Hockenheim.. “Fernando is faster than u”.. too obvious. They couldve at least use the same Mclaren tactics.

BTW i dont think by lowering the engine sizes can make more car-makers enter F1 easily. Coz F1 engines are not like the mass produced engines where the parts used are cheap and made to last long. F1 engines are built on the limit.. minimum weight possible, max power possible, toughest material, etc. It will still be expensive. So it doesnt really mean cars like Proton can easily enter using a Campro and win.

Lets just wait and see.

• Awang on Dec 20, 2010 at 9:26 pm

One more thing.. whoever owns a Formula1 Championship Edition/ F1 2010 PS3/XBOX360 game better keep it.. gonna be classics later! I keep my F1 CE coz got Kimi n Montoya haha.