Saudi Arabia’s KACST presents Proton Persona-based Aseelah car at Riyadh Motor Show 2010

What happens when you cross a Proton Persona with the Proton Satria Neo? The result is above – the Aseelah/Aseela, designed and built by the National Program for Automobile Technology, an affiliate of the King Abdul Aziz City for Science and Technology organization. It was exhibited at the Riyadh Motor Show 2010 this month.

There was news sometime ago about KACST and Lotus Engineering teaming up to develop Saudi Arabia’s automotive industry in terms of development and manufacturing capability. It’s not surprising that one of their first cars is based on the Persona, and a collection of other parts from the Proton parts bin it seems. In another arrangement, Lotus Engineering also used the Persona/GEN2 platform when it was contracted by China’s Youngman to develop Europestar-branded cars for the Chinese market.

Middle East-based news organization The Media Line reports that KACST will set up a vehicle production line at the cost of about 60 million Saudi Riyals to produce between 2,000 to 5000 cars a year, but the report doesn’t really provide a definitive answer on whether the Aseelah will be the first product being built by the KACST production line. But they did give an indication on how much a production version of the Aseelah would be sold at – under 50,000 Saudi riyals.

This isn’t the first time we’ve seen a car from Saudi Arabia – the first was the Saudi GAZAL1 Concept based on the Mercedes-Benz G-Wagen designed by King Saud University Students. Look after the jump for more images of the Aseelah/Aseela.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1789]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jimbet on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Good looking wheels and grill!

• why proton so many logos? 25 years of history need 1 logo per 5 years?

• dun think this is a proton though…

• abzaja on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:20 pm

learn to read first my dear friend…read first, even though your fingers were itching to bash

• rosdi on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:53 pm

itu bukan proton la.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:00 pm

It’s not Proton’s logo. It’s the logo of Proton’s Saudi partner who’s going to OEM this car for their local market. It’s like you’re saying Volvo’s emblem is another Ford logo.

• wiraoneSTUPID on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Hahahahahaha…dun think that this guy know how to read…

• pure bodoh or too excited to comment?read 1st lah.thats arab manufacturer’s car logo..this car based on our persona.just like our wira dulu2,based from lancer..hadoi..shame2…typical stupid basher

• jimbet on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Oh, and it’s getting Neo’s headlight!

• front grill look like dugong vios

• abzaja on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:21 pm

im also thinking the same

• DonkeyKong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I think they were trying to re-shape the front end to tie together the Inspira’s nose and Satria Neo’s headlamps with a Persona’s overall shape

• safarin on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

not nice la

• mrzimbo on Dec 12, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Proud malaysian , , where ever we are, what ever there are , , we should proud with our own country , ,

• fahmi on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

1st
    awesome… go arab…

• wow! beautiful! proton should consider to facelift current persona with this design!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:02 pm

What for.. there are no more facelifts in store for the Persona, the next version will be totally new as indicated by their Tuah concept

• lancerwannabe on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:22 pm

from thundercat logo to horse logo….

• virus on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:22 pm

read d article b4 comment.. haiyo!!! susah la ini mcm!!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Did you also ask “Why did Daihatsu change their stylized “D” logo to a stylized “P” logo can change their “Boon” emblem to “Myvi”?”

• shawal on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:23 pm

I hope proton in someway is making money out of this

• sure they making money from this~..do u guys notice something..proton name are getting popular within this few weeks..from fight for the lotus name then use lotus to buying Renault to became lotus-Renault. after that, enter the India market with Exora/persona/savvy..whats next??..use Campro to enter F1 in 2013??..hi hi~

• MoFaz on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm

don’t forget.. turbocharged campro could get 200HP

• 200HP is not enough. F1 technical working group members are targeting for at least 550HP. Complete re-works also not enough for campro engine. I’m not saying campro is a bad engine. If Proton/Group Lotus decides to invest in developing their own Global Racing Engine, i’m totally going to support that effort.

• reinforce the engine with other material
            and then put high pressure fuel injection
            sure can make 700hp engine

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:07 am

you’re right :)
            i’m not saying 200hp is enough, but it shows that the engine has potential. anyway, campro will be replaced in 2013 (the same year F1 will start using 1.6 engine). so proton’s new engine might be developed parallel to the F1 engine? one can only wish :)
            most probably, Renault is the one developing engine for Lotus-Renault. Lotus/ Proton could form alliance with Renault in that engine development, and share the technology, similar to GEMA engine.

• u are right. a racing engine usually have short stroke so it could rev high… campro will nv cut it… however, 200hp turbo is good by today’s standard, even if it is not excellent.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Anyone remember the Petronas-Sauber engine that made it to a few limited-edition Satria GTIs? That was supposed to be used in Proton’s upper-range cars way back then, and was locally developed with F1 know-how by Petronas-Sauber engineers.

BUT, due to some stupid politics between Petronas’ CEO, Mahathir and Tengku Mahaleel, Proton rejected the Petronas-Sauber engine to “teach” Petronas a lesson.

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:07 pm

no man, it’s economy of scale.
            why should proton build that 2.0 engine if they could only sell 300 cars using that engine every month. it will take decades to break-even the development cost, and paying for the intelectual rights to petronas.

• ayamxxx on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:34 pm

no it not, if the engine initially design of 2.0 cc, then it is not a problem of downsizing it to 1.6 or 1.8. But to increase the cc to 2.2 or 2.4 is a problem cz it need to retest it again, especially on reliability, the exhaust emission on so on.

the problem is that, the Proton CEO back then is to much ego, he think that only petronas know on how to built the engine.

then he makes a critical plan of producing the engine, named a campro. because of time constraint and budget limit, that why we only get a Cam tak Pro for about 5 year.

• shawal on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:09 am

I guess they are on to something big…

• Arashikage on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Looks weird…

• arch747 on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

is Proton getting any commission from this..?!

• Tiadaid on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Obviously. Arabs are REBADGING a PROTON!

• pomen_gtr on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:59 am

and look!

nobody bashing them :lol:

imagine proton rebadge other makes…..u’ll get???

• udasalleh on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Oh dear God..! what are the bashers gonna say when other people are rebadging P1 cars…!

• meh..they’re not gonna say anything on this post..haha..

• MoFaz on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

china and arab.. next is india?

• Proton is going to sell its cars as proton in india, right? not any rebadging, right?

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:43 am

yes, India will have proton brand. but the production / assembly will be handled by Argentum Motors. meaning, Proton would not build factory there at this moment. quite similar to DRB here, which handle productions of Mercedes S Class, and few other brands.

• Yes, India is next and we have Samy Vellu to help us …

• Yeah! Waiting for the bashers to say Saudi is taking one step back?

• who knows they have more precise supplier in term of dimensions than proton? as far as i’m concern, proton suppliers are the reason behind low quality… which strangely approved by proton’s qc……………………..hmm………………. proton’s qc and their suppliers………….. hmm………………

• e-tique on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:25 pm

haha biasalah proton, its actually proton responsibility lah to ensure supplier achieved the quality. its the ‘salahkan org lain’ punya mentality.

dulu salahkn consultant…edaglah, lotuslah, LGlah…soon Magna pulak.
          skrg, where’s nobody to blame…blame the supplier…..when will u learn? no wonder xnak design kereta sendiri…hehe
          accept the comment, make a thorough revamp. Syed Zainal had started the platform

hehe suddenly i’m out of topic pulak…….

• pilot on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:05 am

a new COMPANY making a start in auto industry by rebadging proton chassis.. they r moving ahead not backward.. proton used to say it out loud in their web since waja, they’ve never rebadge any cars already.. but now.. tats call backward..

• Someone on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:35 pm

It’s strange that u ppl keep on talking about ‘bashers’, when there are obviously more fans of Proton on this site.

• pilot on Dec 12, 2010 at 5:13 am

wats so proud of?? even KIA MOTOR which used to be par with proton r doing so much better now..

• agree… ppl in europe signals a strive towards mainstream for proton after the launch of savvy and neo… but that development seems to come to a constant…. unlike kia and hyundai which from proton standard, to imitators and finally trend setter…

• automatically their blind eyes will skip this post, miss-looked.lol

• abzaja on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:20 pm

well some of the bashers complaint about the frequent logo changing…lol

• Notoriez on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Now Saudi rebadging Proton car’s LOL

First China now Saudi…….way to go :)

• ProProton on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm

yes first china did a lot rebadging of proton cars.. now arab..
      Good job proton..

• actually i’m loving it… we can now find made in china spare parts or made in arab 1… no need kena cut throat by local incompetent corrupted supplier…

• wat is this thing ==

• @danielooi on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Proton should focus on Inspira to avoid resources wastage.
    I still miss my Satria GTI.

• Proton Inspira is not proton’s core model. Saga & Persona(&Gen2) are their focus, now and years to come.

• yeap… the next persona would be a C segment… despite proton’s best effort to say inspira as a C to D segment car, we all know lancer is a C segment… so clearly might just be a temporary solution…

• teamsleepnine on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Obviously proton will make money out of this…
    Not much though..as they plan to build around 5k unit….if they choose to use proton based as their first car that is.

• the looks is ok but view from side the headlight looks too small for the car. weird

• strada on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:03 pm

They’ll drift this in no time, bulldozing tons of curious onlookers in the process

• J@CK LIM on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:05 pm

i would get one if it launch in Malaysia =)

• lonewuzz on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:31 pm

why proton goes international not with the PROTON name and the ‘thundercat’ badge?

• MoFaz on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:13 pm

sometimes, you need to have joint-venture to penetrate the market. Korea has previously banned foreign car companies from setting up in Korea unless they have JV with local partner. JV is also one of the cheapest way to enter some market. if you do complete manufacturing or CKD yourself, you need a lot of capitals to build factory, hire workers, etc etc… with JV, all this thing handled by your trade partner.
      and when you have joint-venture to market your product, usually you let the host change the name to make it more localised. mitsubishi let proton use ‘saga’ and ‘inspira’ instead of mitsu lancer. youngman also changed Gen2 name to europestar.

• Ash Menon on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:15 pm

India is another good example of what MoFaz says. E.g. Maruti Suzuki, Hero Honda, etc.

• Assad on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:55 am

The same goes to Nissan. Labeled “Infinity” in US market. This is business.

• HazOne on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:00 am

If im not mistaken the company has two brands which is targeting to two different markets (infiniti= rich people, nissan= medium class).

same goes to toyota, it has lexus and honda, it has accura to attract rich people and compete with BMW and mercedes………

Correct me if i was wrong…….

• neh… quite a difference there….

• suppose u use this example tayota passo/perodua myvi, Dodge Caravan/Volkswagen Routan,Toyota Corolla/Chevrolet Prizm, Ford Galaxy/SEAT Alhambra.

• one more humpty dummpty…dont u know whts going on in here?this is not proton,this is arab car rebdage from persona…haishhh…so slow~

• I’ve dreamt about neo headlight on persona..Looks great..marvelous.

• Jaguar XF front alike!

• xavier lert on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:41 pm

wow..! im proud of p1…

• Lim Kopi on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:42 pm

How Bizzare …. how bizzare ….

• sp3d2 on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:49 pm

I hope proton got enough money there to create more efficient and greater engine for us here in Malaysia. Most of Arabs are very rich. Their fuel price also alot more cheaper than us.

• not all arab country petrol r cheap

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

even where it is expensive it is still cheap. is it any wonder, they can have a weekend land cruiser solely to go dune surfing.

• Syedz on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm

this is what im thinking when persona about to launch few years back, with Neo headlight !

• pk yew on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:58 pm

ugly front lamp

• Nazrul on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Not bad at all. But I belive they could done better. First I must say, the car looks better than the previous model, but even better if they remove those protector mouldings, that thing makes the car looks cheap (even though this car is cheap). From the rear, if they use the same bumper from Persona SE and remove the spoiller, that might look good. Not like this car is ugly, but I’m just give my idea. Anyway, good job.

• eat your heart out bashers!

• “under 50,000 Saudi riyals”

50 000 Saudi riyals = 41 767.732 Malaysian ringgits

T_T

• we have higher tax on both national/domestic and import cars. thats why.

• Jaki Jipang on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm

well said.. sometimes ppl dont know how tax works in our own country..

• bonceng on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:18 pm

it’s the government don’t want us to understand or “P” make huge profit..until now don’t have clear view from both side..fishy..fishy..

• dragster on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm

how about the copyright of the model?? can simply use other ppls’ design and treat as own???

• MoFaz on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

if they get license from proton, then yes.. they can treat it as their own. besides, it’s maybe for limited market only. you might not get this car outside of Arab.

• infinity on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:42 pm

the front bumper and bonnet has inspira genes!

• i think it looks quite interesting as if it has a big engine rear rwd style since the bonnet is bulging expressing north south layout , hope more coverage about this.

• reuben how on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:19 pm

saudi arabia will enjoy its time until the world finds an alternative to oil… ah hem.

• The Unicons on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm

VIP Style? Hahah…

• CHONG KAT on Dec 11, 2010 at 9:42 pm

will saudian buy this thing? even waja overthere price at 35k riyal, nobody care. make me wonder.

• MoFaz on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:24 pm

first of all.. not everybody is rich. but yes, they enjoying themselves because almost everything there is tax free.
      secondly, you never know what their gov would do. maybe they will introduce tax for foreign cars later?

• hello mofaz? there is a reason they do not invest here but invest in singapore, becos they are smart ppl, not like you, lol.

you can support whatever you can. do they really pay you for that? or you do it for the pride? lol.

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:32 am

again, another guy accusing me getting paid by proton for defending it. childish!
          don’t you have anything better to say, kid?

• autojohndoe on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

if they are smart… their oil company are managed by their ppl bottom up…

not foreigners…

• zolzol on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:03 pm

they are managing their oil companies by themselfs man !!
            u r speaking about somthing u dont know.
            they are using foreiners as you are using them in PROTON.

• the front looks like a mazda @@

• confr on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm

nooooo! arabs will get more beautiful design than malaysians , arrrgggghhhh
    anyway that’s business, cannot say much,
    i think the ca is good enough, better if can something to the headlightcoz it looks small, such as add the ‘eyelid’ on top of it , just to make it look bigger so that it’s proportionate with the bigger grille , and can add chrome style finish around the window frame to make it get it more ‘upmarket’

• Most of the car in Saudis is American made….

This Persona design have American Car DNA in it….

Coolzzz…

Horse Logo almost like Mustang logo….

• Ze Ber on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Hmmmm how come looks nicer than what we have here?

Pesona with a longer wheelbase……beats working with the Inspira.

Sadly……need better engine n gearbox….haizzzzzz.

• DewaSemut on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:08 pm

The front looks kinda Toyota Mark X I must say… haha

it’s a really good move made by Proton to “sell” platform/ models like current Persona/ Gen2/ Savvy etc to other manufacturers coz they have planned for replacement of these models in the near future… at least they can further leverage on the existing models to get additional returns on the investment Proton have spent earlier to build these models… so it will not go into waste just like that…

Wishing Proton all the best to win the Arab market… after all Arab always highly praised Malaysia to our pilgrims when they perform Hajj there… Cheers!

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:28 am

imagine our hajj pilgrims went there and see this car everywhere… they would be smiling from ear to ear :)

• Nice Job.

• nabill on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:17 pm

is it jus me or the front looks abit like the subaru legacy sedan ??

bt really good idea as alot of people tihnk that a 4door satria neo lokos will be awesome !

• Ash Menon on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:18 pm

I can’t decide whether I love the redesign or hate it. I love the logo, that’s for sure. The low-slung headlights and the logo-on-intake style reminds me of the signature SEAT front.

But bravo to P1, you’re making good headway in foreign markets.

• nabill on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:22 pm

btw aseela in arabic means sting like authentic beauty

• fantausy on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:43 pm

nice design, may the neo head lamp produce too much already, so fully utilized the part is the best way to cut cost…Frankly speaking…the Design is nice…common people like me will accept easily…

• anand mat pian on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:26 am

front looks like madza 6

• stiggy on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:43 am

well
    i hope they got a proper motorshow compare to klims

• naqib on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:46 am

i dont care if this thing is more beautiful or uglier than persona
    more money for proton, that’s good already!

• Mofaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:30 am

look weird especially the bling-bling grile, put it longer it become alfa romeo

• now ur saying it… it really do seems they copied the cues from a guiletta

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:15 pm

please take note that Mofaz and MoFaz.is not the same guy.

• NICE!

• elite on Dec 12, 2010 at 5:19 am

this very old lotus model already very overused

• akupunya on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:51 am

hahaha..the car looks great than the original persona…why??

then, do you think arabs will use this car??
    arabs need a large car /continental car..
    not a car like persona..

business is business..but I can smell this project is not going anywhere with this arab’s company.

even, the proton prototype in KLIMS 2010 are looking not attractive especially TUAH.
    nothing surprise me based on the design..totally out of date..
    and for sure the finishing or setting inside the car is similar like current model now with bare dashboard and sakit pinggang seat.

go proton go…u can go in malaysia only..and if no gov policy..u also dead..
    akakaka…

• bobdbilder on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:35 am

Saudi Arabia wants to bring themselves away from being to dependent on Oil as income. The Oil they produce is sold in a foreign currency which they have no input. They are realizing that they are suffering the ‘Dutch Disease’. In the past few years you see them developing downstream industries such as petrochemicals. Additionally they need to make jobs for their people. The auto industry can be their refuge as they produce none and consume all. However I don’t see them being competitive outside their local market. But the disease is not only with SA its regional. Whether they want to realise it or not, is a different matter.

• autojohndoe on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

where in the world that a govt has no policy?

• adlanar on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:43 am

good to know proton is thnking globally and doing what others have proven to be profitable. VW has been doing this for years in south america / spain / czech with the old golf & polo platforms. peugeot is still milking the 206 platform in china / malaysia. even premium barands like audi and mercedes is doing this with the old a4 and m-class platforms. this would give more cash for proton to develop new platforms like the TUAH for our market….

• finally! someone who talks with brains and real automotive development awareness!

• fyi tuah is using exora platform mainly to reduce development cost, and tuah or P3 by other name was designed by italdesign.

• Not bad mah,Neo mix Persona!jus like rojak :)

• ericmaxman on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

can sense the new sonata grille there…

• SoMeOnE on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm

i notice a number of ‘positive’ comments here on hope that the campro’s replacement will be based on th downsized ‘f1’ engines… all i can say is that besides maybe a branding exercise..those 2 engines will have nothing in common because one is a bespoke engine that is tuned to high tolerances to at least get 600 hp that may need a rebuild after every race and possibly last about 4-5 races while the other is a gonna be an efficient mass produced engine designed to keep costs as low as possible….i dont think they would even share a bolt with one another…rally car engines may have certain design aspects that may trickle down to regular engines but not f1 engines for sure….even the multi million dollar lexus LFA engines that has been designed to mimic v10 engines in sound and delivery and made to be ‘bespoked’ as it is humanly possible for a road car is just a half way house to an the F1 engines that were used in that era

• it look like a 4 door satria neo..

• this is vios+inspira+persona+ satria neo..
    walao eh.!!!
    become so complicated!!

• this is vios grill +inspira front bonnet +persona base+ satria neo headlamp..
    walao eh.!!!
    become so complicated!!

• kecohlebih on Dec 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm

ugly……..

• wau, it looks more elegance and classy than satria neo or persona…
    lets hope if proton can deliver something like tat for own ground of their upcoming refresh model.

• subhero on Dec 12, 2010 at 6:55 pm

the front look like a JAGUAR.

cantik jugak.. kalo kat sini confirm ada orang beli

• lanuncyber on Dec 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

according to my friend who study at Egypt, almost all Arabs don’t ever admit that Persona and other Proton’s models there were made by Malaysian, they will never accept the idea that Malaysian can made such nice cars. The Arabs will always say that these models are “Yaban”, which means Japan. No matter how the Malaysians there claim that the models are made by Proton Malaysia, the Arabs won’t accept it. To them, like us, Japan makes high quality products, and they agree that these they-call-it-Yaban’s Proton’s products are high quality. Funny Arabs. =P

• phatzilla on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:32 am

Wow interesting! thanks for sharing that little fact of yours :)!

• nolan on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Nicer than current Persona…….can it stand the torture of drifting…?

• transformer on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:34 pm

personally… ugly front, side too…. those tiny headlamp should suit only with short overhang front, not suit Persona long hood…. it look like a pair of just woke eyes…

rear part still ok… the best part is the rim, just wished that “complicated rim designed” Inspira opt to this design…. simple & nice rim…

• Faisal on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:57 pm

wow! go proton go!

• So far, from the comments above here are the cars that aseelah looks like:-

1) Toyota Vios
    2) Jaguar XF
    3) Mazda 6
    4) Subaru Legacy Sedan
    5) Alfa Romeo Giulietta
    6) Sonata

I’m thinking, this might means that all the cars above look alike or have traces of each other…if so, we seriously need a complete overhaul of car designs across the world.

• eimsperfume on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

i prefer our proton persona elegance better :)

• S.Roma on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:56 am

1 riyal = RM 0.835328

50,000.00 Riyal = RM 41,766.37

Yeah, gogogo Malaysia ! I like malaysia !

• if this calculation correct, we malaysian being “con” by proton again bcos we always buy proton car in higher price then others….really bad, how proton can do something which benefit the home ground buyers……

• clement on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:16 am

its always a “daylight robbery”….. nothing can be said. love or hate it… only….

• dude, all cars in Malaysia, both national/domestic and imports, have a damn fraking high tax. you can get a hi-line Exora for ~RM40k if without tax. Proton doesn’t control taxes, govt is.

you understand that?

• Tiadaid on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:25 am

Why, oh why that everytime people compare Proton prices in Saudi Arabia & Malaysia they tend to forget that the tax structure’s different? That they conveniently forget about Proton also having to pay excise & sales tax?

What you should do is ask the government why do they have to tax national carmakers as well?

• Faisal on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

haiyaa.. s.roma, alan n clement, our tax is diffrent from saudi arabia’s!! how old r u guys????

• Heard about tax?

• clement on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:12 am

nip and tuck….. not very nice.

• clement on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:18 am

is this what they proposed as “islamic car” ?

• nonama on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:27 am

The first para of the report in “The Media Line” about this rebadged car says

“It’s called the “Original” and marks the first time Saudi Arabia has launched a domestically designed and manufactured automobile sedan.”

No problem if proton’s name not mentioned but the “domestically designed” thingy is not true somewhat.

• nighttrain on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:31 am

This car is to be sold to the foreign labourers working there lah.. Why you worry, if the locals don’t buy it, the foreign workers will. Small traders like Pakistani carpet sellers usually drive Camry or Accord, the market for this car is probably for those making less than that, there’s always a market for it, don’t worry…..

• Do you seriously think those Middle Easterns will convert themselves from driving their huge 4 wheels or their luxurious Ferraris, Lambos, Audis, BMW or Merc to mere protong? Their continental/japs import cars are dirt cheap over there compared to us.

Remember few years back, that special edition protong wiralution? Stocks that didn’t do well in the Arab land and sent back to homeland as SE. Keh keh keh.

Same thing will happen with this Aseelah/Aseela … it will turn into Astagah~ in no time.

• MoFaz on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:33 pm

if i’m not mistaken, there’s no ‘small car’ in arab. No toyota vios, no honda city. Aseelah could be the first one there, and it could be the trendsetter in the future. not everybody is rich there, and for parents who have son/daughter in university, this might be in their shopping list. and it would be more successful if they widen the market to cater the whole middle east. maybe later.

• mostly people with negative thinking are not successful person.. maybe u are one of them.. pangkat rendah, gaji sedikit & start to blem others…

• lanuncyber on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

imho, there’s nothing wrong with Proton’s design with all of the models. someone said that the Proton’s design; the parts, the interior, the look and etc, are great. maybe there are several points that can and should be designed better, but overall, Proton is actually producing high quality design for their products. In the Europe, Proton cars are among the least problematic vehicles, compared to other make. Still, they are cheaper there, same goes to in the Arabic countries. So, what cause the problems in Proton’s products are:
    1. VENDORS – these are malaysian vendors. they have same quality of raw materials, but they just produce parts as lot as they can with less money and sell it with high price. they don’t give a damn about the defects products as it is so easy to deal with Proton when coming to defects parts, which is caused by…
    2. PROTON QUALITY CONTROL – it is very tough to deal with Toyota, Honda and other makers when it comes to defects parts, but, it is sooo easy to deal with Proton about the same issue. maybe Proton QC is still saying OK for 100 defects parts out of 1000 units. they just receive the parts and weld them together. and that habits lead to loads of problem on Proton’s cars; power windows, leaking, rattling noise, vibrating noise, less-than-a-year worn brake pads, broken drive shaft in 8 months and many more.

so, the solution is… solve these 2 PROBLEMS first. then, in time,the Proton’s quality will increase dramatically.

• tah laa oii on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

1st vendor, sejauh maner kejujuran mereka mbuat parts dari bahan2 yang sepatutunya,, semasa di kilang power windows, leaking, rattling noise, vibrating noise semua tiada.. prblm belaku sesudah kereta itu diambil oleh proton edar ( keluar dari kilang ) sebab proton edar tidak akan ambil kereta yg ada pblem dari dalam kilang lg..

2nd proton pula sepatutnyer membuka lebih besar pasarannya.. market kecik, keluaran kereta pun sikit,, jadi vendor mgalami kerugian,, dari sini bermula lah pertukaran bahan mentah untuk parts2 itu.. bayar pun lambt sampai 3bulan.. maner nak cekoh modal..

lanuncyber says:
      “maybe Proton QC is still saying OK for 100 defects parts out of 1000 units”.
      hahaha.. tak logik la.. setiap defects yg jumpa mesti di repair, jika tidak proton edar tak akan luluskan kereta itu..
      jika kata toyota 100% tiada defects out of 1000 units itu mustahil.. hahahaha

• Ali "The Proton" Ahmad on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

once u meet with proton Quality Department boss you will be amazed that you are still alive driving a proton. maybe you should check the disc brakes for cracks.

• neonda on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:36 pm

errr…front seems like Mers (lower bumpers) + Neo (head lights) + Inspira/lancer (front bonnet) + vios or kia (grill)…wahh mixed mess..hewhew

• Rotiboy on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:25 am

It looks much meaner than the persona, damn good job! If they come out with this edition I am going to buy it.

• Soonz on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:56 pm

White color looks yummy on the design

• makeitmine on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Perhaps Proton should collaborate with car rental shops in the middle east to gauge the consumer market.

It will also be a good way to introduce Proton models and Lotus sport cars.

• makeitmine on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:26 am

Proton should perhaps collaborate with a car rental companies/driving schools in the middle east/Africa to promote its brand/Lotus and gauge the consumer taste.

Proton may get first time buyers If their cars are used for driving schools/car rental companies.

• mzma73 on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

Govt impose tax cause to protect Proton & Modenas. That why all brochure & price list at car dealer now did not show tax/duty amount & percentage like 7 years ago. All this happen after Govt introduce NAP even Malaysia has to comply with AFTA . This is how our Govt try to hide import tax & eksais duty from public eye. Dont go far, just check sale price Toyota Vios & Honda City in Thailand. If I not mistaken just around <RM45K only. Why? Thailand comply 100% AFTA coz they dont have national car.

Singapore Govt impose higher tax/duty than Malaysia & charge several fees to protect their road flooded by car but spare part 2 1/2 time cheaper than Malaysia especialy conti car part.

• Ali "The Proton" Ahmad on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:21 pm

saudis gets all the good that we malaysians deserve.

• arabian on Dec 20, 2010 at 5:51 pm

what the crap is this? really pull down our standard, we saudi people only know what is super car and luxury car, this cheap car please keep for your own.

• rifle on Dec 27, 2010 at 3:05 pm

well,rebadging is normal right in automotive world?

• dats cool..! other manufacturer starts using proton technology.. bangga wey..