BMW X1 xDrive20d and sDrive18i now CKD in Malaysia!

BMW Malaysia has just announced that the BMW X1 is now assembled in their Kulim plant in Kedah. As with the CBU models that were available from launch, the new CKD X1 models continue to be available in a choice of a torquey xDrive20d turbodiesel with all-wheel drive and a rear wheel drive sDrive18i model.

There have been some changes to specs as well as price to the two cars. The X1 sDrive18i adds ront and rear Park Distance Control (PDC), interior and exterior mirrors with automatic anti-dazzle function and a new sports leather steering wheel and all new interior trim finishers. The price tag for the less-equipped BMW X1 sDrive18i CKD is now significantly lower than the CBU at RM238,800 versus RM263,800 before.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1792]

The X1 xDrive20d with 177 horsepower, 350Nm while outputting 170g/km of CO2 emissions gets new 18 inch double spoke light alloy wheels, a new “Fineline wave” interior wood trim, and gets an iDrive screen with BMW Navigation Professional, Bluetooth connectivity and a better specced HiFi loudspeaker system. The xDrive20d has a RM1,000 cheaper price tag at RM298,800.

The first locally assembled BMW actually rolled out in 1983 at their assembly facility in Kuching, Sarawak. Then Sime Darby took over assembly at their AMI Shah Alam plant in 1987. The Kulim plant in Kedah rolled out their first car – an E90 BMW 3-Series in 2008.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• comrade on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:30 pm

turbodiesel… nice

• ckd only cheaper by 30000 only ar? why bother then?

• junaidi on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:52 am

30,000 is worth alot of servicing. at least for 3 years.

• Robert Tan on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:49 am

The CKD F10 5 series always breakdown all the time. Does this car also breakdown as often?

• Robert DeGrandis on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm

The word CKD or SKD is misleading. Cause whenever you ask a BMW saleman about the Malaysian parts, they say its 100% German parts but, “Only assembled in Malaysia”. They swear there is not even one part Made in Malaysia.

If this is so, BMW cars cannot benefit from CKD tax incentive. So how come they are still getting CKD tax incentive? To get CKD tax incentives, the car MUST have a percentage of Malaysian content. By right the BMW should be taxed 300% as it is using 100% German parts.

Why the double standards MITI? Why can’t our Porsche and Jaguar also benefit from the same CKD tax incentive also then? So which is true? Are BMW saleman tellies lies saying its 100% German OR there are special privileges given to BMW to gain CKD status and yet have 100% German parts?

Volswagen, Audi, Porsche, Jaguar and all the others must insist that they also be given CKD status, yet not using local content.

• Calvin on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Well, you see, they ‘claim’. In most cars they HAVE to use Malaysian parts, for example, the CKD Mercedes E-Class (W210) uses a Malaysian-made stereo head unit, or whatever you call that, and many parts are also sourced from Malaysia. Blame the salesmen for preaching the false truth then.

• pg qayyum on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:36 pm

i love bmw x5 more than bmw x1

• huiyoo on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:40 pm

thanks for this price, i was able to buy a bmw for a first time!!!!

• cheaper by 30k, or 10% will make you afford the car? are you sacrificing your kids education fund?

forexample, myvi selling 10% cheaper, rm50k ro rn45k, that will make ppl more afford it? come on.

20% to 30% la acceptable for ckd. are you salesman?

• IMHO X1 doesn’t looks like other SUVs. It looked just like elevated Station Wagon when i first saw it on the road, something like Audi A6 Allroad Quattro, just a bit higher.

• bikinpanas on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:50 pm

its BMW….

• tikus on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Diesel just 1K cheaper only? Better CBU then.

• tikus on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Diesel only cheaper by 1K only.Better CBU then!!

• k_man on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm

upset with the CKD price for the 20d

• sixtythree on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Volvo xc60 is better to me…both looks n performance

• tishaban on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Does the BMW X1 still not have rear AC blowers? The CBU didn’t have them and I think it’s unacceptable at this price range.

Oh and I think the X1 is fugly too :D but obviously that hasn’t stopped people from buying them in the UK…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:11 pm

mahal la…ckd not worth it

• rulered on Dec 14, 2010 at 7:45 pm

At the mentioned price tag, I would say there’ll be plenty of options still.

• CocoBear on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:15 pm

This is a stupid expensive car. I wouldn’t give a damn with that ugly wooden strip!
    In photos n during pre-launch, this X1 looks awesome. But, once I got inside the cabin, all I can touch and see are the the cheap plastics. Worth still, the price is so ridiculous for the small and cramp interior.
    X1 is not worth mentioning in the motoring industry. Get over this BMW!

• Jimmy on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:56 pm

For a lady as a spare car, maybe, or city rundabout.

• Abuden on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Best fit for my lurvly mistress!

• small car on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:20 pm

i hate to say this… fugliest of bmw car…

• The X1’s exterior looks nice actually in real life. Interior quality, meh. Seriously.

• lkf0512 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Mouthful names don’t you think?

• JohnDeep on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I saw this car yesterday on public road driven by a man.
      1. The shape especially rear look very funny (similar feeling when you see the SX4)
      2. The driver (a man) did not match with the design of the car, may be good for female driver.

• handsome*dude on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:47 am

actually how does the BMW CKD work?? why is it only reduce so little?

same case goes to MERZ~~

can some one tell pls??

• Robert Tan on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:54 am

simple. If CKD and the price remains more or less the same, it means BMw Malaysia is screwing you up for more money lah.

Most of my buddies were ardent BMW fans. They eyed the F10. But when the CKD pricing came out and screwed all those waiting for substantial savings over CBU, they all left the brand and went to Merc.

Now with this X1, more poeple are going to relaise the con and move away to Merc.

BMW buyers are generally stupid, they cannot see how BMW is squeezing them left right and center. Remember the 320i and 325i? One fine day, they decided to screw you up and introduce a low bhp 323i at the old 325i’s price.

• CPirate on Dec 19, 2010 at 10:57 am

Pefecto. x1 here i come

• Mohan Nair on Dec 25, 2010 at 7:26 am

Wow thats a lot of money at myr238,000. The base version is available in India for about myr 151,000 .

• CBU is always a better buy….