2011 Proton Saga FL launched in Malaysia – full details

You have seen the facelifted Proton Saga from our Thai Auto Expo 2010 coverage earlier this month, and now it’s the Malaysian market’s turn to get the car. Unveiled by Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal moments ago, it is officially called the Saga FL.

From the boss’ speech, and the new features, we know that Proton is trying to get the younger crowd to consider the Saga as their first car, urban middle class folks that would otherwise buy a Myvi.

The Blue Rock colour you see here is one of the two new colors (the other is Cafe Latte, a light brown hue), and is the same colour as the Thai show car. There are now two trim lines – Standard and Executive – down from the previous three. Manual (5-speed) and automatic (4-speed) choices are available for both trims, which mean that there are four possible configurations.

Powered by the same 1,332 cc Campro engine with 94 hp and 120 Nm, the Saga FL gets Proton’s new face, which will be sign of things to come. As detailed before, the new exterior consists of new lamps front and rear, new grille, new bumpers on both ends and new design rims. Standard variants ride on 175/70 R13 wheels while Executive FLs use 185/60 R14 rubber.

Most of the new features that the FL gets over the old car is for the Executive. They are dual airbags, steering audio buttons and USB/AUX ports for the Clarion MP3 stereo. New goodies available on both trims are side mirrors with LED signal lamps, rear power windows, rear LED tail lamps. The rest of the Executive-only equipment includes driver’s seat height adjuster, powered wing mirrors, fog lamps and slim rear spoiler.

The new Proton Saga facelift is now available in four different variants – the Standard M/T and A/T as well as the higher spec Executive M/T and A/T, which is one grade level less than the pre-facelift Saga, which was available in N-Line, B-Line and M-Line. Effectively, this means very basic N-Line with the cheapest price tag and the black bumper is not represented in the new line-up.

All models have the front and rear power windows, MP3 function for the audio player, and the side mirrors with LED turn indicators.

What the Executive model adds over the Standard model are the USB and AUX input, the dual front SRS airbags (Standard model doesn’t have any airbags), steering wheel audio switches, driver seat height adjustment, electric door mirrors, fog lamps, rear spoiler, a multipurpose container and side protector moulding. Wheels are alloys wrapped with 180/60R14 on the Executive, and steel wheels wrapped with 175/70R13 on the Standard.

The engine and gearbox remains the same as the pre-facelift Proton Saga for now, however Proton has indicated that they will be rolling out an update to the Campro engine family sometime next year, and this update could include the new Proton Saga. The update will include improvements to the normally aspirated Campro engines as well as add a new turbocharged variant for models like the Proton Exora.

The Saga is available in Solid White, Tranquility Black, Genetic Silver, and two new flours – Cafe Latte and Blue Rock. Our live galleries after the jump are mostly of the two new colours so you’ll know what they look like.

Of course, the most important part are the new prices. Prices have gone up by about RM1,000 to RM1,300 across the board, which is not too bad a jump considering there’s an extra passenger airbag in the airbag-equipped models. In the price comparison, we’ll compare the Standard with the B-Line and the Executive with the M-Line.

Saga Difference Saga Facelift
1.3 Standard M/T RM36,998 RM1,000 RM37,998
1.3 Standard A/T RM39,998 RM1,000 RM40,998
1.3 Executive M/T RM39,498 RM1,200 RM40,698
1.3 Executive A/T RM41,998 RM1,300 RM43,298

Story by Anthony Lim, Danny Tan, Harvinder Sidhu and Paul Tan.
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1798]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1797]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1796]

GALLERY: Proton Saga FL at the Thai Motor Expo 2010
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1740]

Spec sheet – click to enlarge

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fifteen on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:55 am

Sadly, the new nose makes the Saga looks like an aged Michael J Fox.

Sorry, Proton.

• agree.. the first one is better than this FL version..

• it look like proton send the car for ANCAP(Australia version NCAP) at crashlab sydney

• kimi_ on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Pointless facelift, i prefer they update or improve a bit the engine rather change the exterior…..

The dumb campro takes forever to pick up speed from standstill, so you will frustating if driving in city….Numb steering and leave alone the suck fuel consumption where the ten years old 1.6 WIRA beat it hands down!!

• kauader on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:50 pm

then go buy inspira..believe me this saga is not built special 4 u..

• ahuh, and for viva/myvi, amazingly quick after traffic lights, but can even be overtaken by a lori balak after 50 metres

• Faisal on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:01 am

i don’t agree.

• skyLine4ever on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm

what do u expect from 35k – 45k car??
            2.0 turbo engine??
            or VVTi/V-Tec engine??
            with lotus handling??
            come on, be more realistic…

• cyber on Dec 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

35-45k in malaysia off course you cant get higher spec, thanks to the high TAX on foreign car! if not i will be driving a ford fiesta, kia, pegeot and so forth.. Zzzzz

• Viswa on May 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm

exactly.. i agree… the tax here is freakking high!!! im frm New Zealand, and my experience there, i can get a jaguar s type for 18 thousand secong hand!! brand new 67 thousand.. in malaysia, that car brand new here wil b 100 to 200K. DNT BUY CARS HERE!!! BUY FRM OVERSEAS!!!

• mohamad on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:42 pm

loan pun dah buat…cakap senangla

• SMART on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm

If a 1.3 Saga consume more petrol like a 1.6 what the used of buying a low end car to save fuel rite. No wonder Proton continue making a fool with u its consumers. Fix the engine rather the design. Think we have the consumer power not PROTON

• it true rite fr the first video at the near end..i don know y u all thumb down

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:15 pm

This Saga FL is around the same price, but much much better than Viva Elite Executive. Perodua must come out with Viva Extra Emphasize Elite Executive Edition to compete with this Saga FL.

• pomenGTR on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:44 pm

only if viva can be oversized like they did on myvi/alza :lol:

• rifle on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:36 am

hey, did anybody have any info about savvy replacement??the project of savvy replacement had started since early this year i think..

• dunaluna on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm

well…i do agree with you even im driving viva elite nw….this saga FL is really good than viva n myvi…the space n all the accessories and the price..all good

• ahfis on Jun 03, 2011 at 5:29 pm

alamak saga fl tak kan dapat bezakan dengan viva jer….

• lollipop on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

saga have grow up, with more handsome face macho style
        p2 better think out something “edition” for self-help.

• Wisdom on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:57 am

Your rating conclude that this FL looks better….

And people will continue bash and curse proton. And they might already using other brand.

Until one day, that so-called better car than proton started to aged, felt harsh and noisy, and got problem, and parts are expensive, then they will start thinkin whether that car really worth more, double, or triple compared to this Saga.

• deli27 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Oklo,for me lah.for average malaysian needs.

• i like this FL.. its better..

• older on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:21 pm

and your base of liking SFL to Michael J Fox is?

• nebula87 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Wow fifteen, u can see a human face out of a car…u hav such “powerful” eyes ya…=.=

• frossonice on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Michael J Fox? You’re mocking my hero. :P

• joehans on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:54 pm

u have a powerfull eye dud,,coz u can see human face on it….hahahaha

• sagatron on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:54 pm

im considering convert this FL into honda ACCORD….=) the old model,ive convert it to SUBARU [SAGARU]..impressive aite??

• i think this is more sagaru la… try view it from distant, really resembles imprezza

• jtiongwl on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Agree. As it is in the group of low class and slavery series, we cant expect much…

The quality make no difference to the saga ( double stupidity ) launched back in 1985.

As chinese says, dogs cant change their shit eating habbit..

• Finerounddclock on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

What car do u drive really?

• mr_3m_wancer on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Hmmm..

I bet that his relatives who drove Saga & Myvi are slaves and low class :)

How about your parents who i would 100% bet bought a Saga as their first car. Are they also low class which brought up a son as low class as you? :)

• farghmee on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm

maybe veyron suits u, mi lord? :P

• Wisdom on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:12 pm

I think the price increase is very minimal compared to the additional feature included in this FL. Good.

Besides a redesigned front end (which should be costly, from drawing to mould etc), they able to squeeze in another airbag, rear power windows, power side mirror, etc.

I foresee Proton will get a good volume out of this facelift. But please remember Proton, higher volume could affect the quality if you’re not careful.

• bmbee on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

balanced comment , good

• Tengokje.. on Dec 18, 2010 at 6:07 pm

I do agree with you.

Please P1..don’t forget about the quality of the material being used for all of your line up. Other than that, the way the fitting in the car also must take into very carefull attention. Don’t just fit in for the sake of the volume.

Anyway..nice facelift with a little increase in the price.

Salam…

• skyLine4ever on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

wise words….

• kekuda on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:05 am

put nuclear engine and back to the future!

• mohamad on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:39 pm

cantik.tapi baru seminggu je saya pakai,alarm dah wat hal.menyesal beli..

• nazri on Dec 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm

out of thousand who buys saga you’re the unlucky ones…sorry to hear but there is a lot of others that doesn’t have any problem with their saga…

• I’m sure they can come up with a better name than the Saga FL

• linear_system on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

no need..FL is for facelift..is just a facelift,no need a new name..

• Kampret on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:57 pm

When it comes to naming, hand them over to P2… you’ll get texecutive elite limited edition bla bla bla suffixes…..

• this should be the new ‘Saga Iswara’, just like in 1992 lol

• AnnaLim on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:56 am

sigh… price Increase…..

• anonymous on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:43 pm

ok wat.. only up abit for whole new facelift..even the executiive only rise rm1.3k….
      not like P2.. touch abit only(bumper then, bla bla bla)….. then price go wahlao

• anonymous on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:46 pm

ok what.. only add rm1.3k to the executive one.. it is new facelift(i mean “face changed”)(they need do designing again)…. not like P2…only touch this and that on the exterior … then price go wahlao.. haiz..

• sagarian on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:04 pm

just 1k++.. reasonable i think..

• ultraman on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:21 pm

it’s not only reasonable it’s good!!
        this THIS IS WHAT FACELIFT SHOULD BE!!
        not like perodua or toyota…
        minor touches..increase price up to 3-5k of price…
        kudos to proton on this !

• ProProton on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:38 pm

of course laa.. what do u aspect? proton would decrease the prices??
      the first 1985 saga are sell for around rm30k… today was 25 years later and the b-line manual are still selling below rm40k…

• katob on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm

no,,
        first edition 1985 Proton Saga sell at RM17500 OTR.
        Then for 50 years of Malaysia Independence, Proton sell Saga Aeroback at RM27000 OTR.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:26 pm

hmm, you must be misinformed, Malaysia was formed in 1963, so it will only turn 50 in 2013.

• LOL some people just don’t know history of Malaysia. Bro, some still confused with Malaysia as Malaya. He ha no wonder proton sell damn expensive here in Malaysia compared to overseas. Why? why? may be one can ask the fat and filthy rich executives!!!!

• i no clever on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm

ask your mother how much is the sugar price 50 years back

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:24 pm

you don’t expect to get nasi lemak now at 20-50 sen like in 1980s, do you?
          22 year x 2-3% inflation = 44-66%. RM17,500 is RM25,200-29,050 after 22 years. so, the price is about right.

• wtf911 on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:43 pm

typo; ‘expect’ la weih. not ‘aspect’~

• Low-income-group on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

People who buy budget car like this one here, Only care about the Price Tag, all these Facelift comes with a higher price is really pointless. Still a good old cheap looking car for commuting purpose..

• wow!

• Well done proton! look much better from the front view..

• Jaybond on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Hmm..nondescript, .funny-looking car. Hahahahh..

• mfahd_88 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

this is what a ‘facelifted’ car suppose to be
    not like THAT car company
    just redesign the bumper, ,recolor the interior, and offering more color for the model to absorb more money from the customers.

• So, next time realease a model with less items and then release full items for FL. Then you get credit for a proper FL???

• kauader on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm

kalau dah 1st model dah isi complete apa lg yg tinggal utk facelift?
        kalau tukar bumper dgn headlamp aje kau bising ckp setakat tukar tu aje?
        ni facelift tambah byk pun ko bising jgk..

buat kete sendiri la..

• kennytan on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Proton must listen comment & complain only can grow up

• I think proton is tistening to that comment and complain. But I thing many will agre with me that we cannot satisfy everyone.
            dulu saya kutuk proton juga sebab saya kecewa dengan prestasi proton.
            tapi sekarang saya rasa proton sudah berubah. Model persona dan saga fl ini mebuktikan yang proton boleh meingkat maju dan saya bangga dengan proton.
            I’m proud to be a Malaysian and I’m proud to say that proton are able produce a good+100 percents Malaysian made car.
            But I think proton your response to us and defy critics with more suitable improvement for years to come. Cant wait to see newly hybrid proton EMAS.

• Im enjoy watching Perodua Meevee (not Myvi)being an object of jokes in Top Gear
        also Mr BEan Kelisa being thrown till dead several times.

• ProProton on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm

agree..

• vanquish on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:32 pm

agree with u

• ugly ler.. i think its the headlamps that does not match the body…. the previous model looks much better

• squawk on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Agree. Headlights look ok from the front but the side view just doesn’t jive with the rest of the body.

• think differently... everyone is unique on Dec 19, 2010 at 10:54 pm

beauty is at the eyes of the beholder

• I don’t like the front. The headlights seem a bit off and the whole thing has a “squashed look” to it (macam kena penyet). Everything else is ok though.

• I don’t see why ppl dislike my criticism. It’s not senseless criticism. If you look at it carefully, even the silver thing in front (like persona) is out of place, and the headlights terlampau tajam in the middle. But I do like the rear…

• simply because they can actually dislike your criticsm. u can dislike my comment too, i wont complain, but if i get more ‘likes’ i will be happy :D

• saga knight89 on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:39 am

i think u better look to latest model oh Mercedes Benz W212. it have great executive looking. they also the penyet thing at the front grill. its ok what?

• have they fix the ultra long throttle response time of the saga yet? if not den how are they gona make saga appeal to any buyer??? Fix the problem not the face. BTW, im not proton basher.

• pacifictuna on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm

correct. i drove one and it’s kind of turn you down when you first rove it. we can adjust to it though but how would proton expect other people especially the young ones to like this car…. i remembered a would be engineer of mine bashed the throttle response like there’s no tomorrow. he ended up buying Myvi…. which he also bashed before that…

• sean ZX10 on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

a would be engineer…bought a myvi after he tested both cars. No wonder he’s not “AN ENGINEER”…hahahah

do u & your engineer wannabe know how to use the campro engine? what are the difference to high-rev on both engines? 1 tips to feel the real power..please tailgate a faster car at 5000++ RPM and keeping up with that car when he tries to get away from u. DO this to both engines and see which is the winner.

• samkhairul on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm

nice attempt by proton

• labi365 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:18 pm

congratz Proton..

• he facelift is even uglier is not an improvement, its so dam ugly

• think differently... everyone is unique on Dec 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Beauty is at the eyes of the beholder
      for instance, I tpersonally think the new Honda City is ugly..really ugly..especially the car is manufactured by 1 big global japanese company..
      Then again, Beauty is at the eyes of the beholder

• labi365 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Tahniah Proton

• Hopefully no one will complaint about the number of led used for the rear lamp, like Exora last time..

‘Aiyaa, why they use 10 led for the rear light…..”

• John Doe on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Another overpriced junk in Malaysia. When will this ever end??

• how much d u think the better price?

• xavier lert on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:48 pm

maybe he wanna suggest 10 cent i guess….

• junaidi on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:24 pm

he wants it Rm 5000. And have ALL the proper creature comforts and safety equipment.

• i can sell my 1991 saga for 5 k. wan ah? :D

• squawk on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:46 am

The old MMC Sagas, though basic, were actually quite hardy cars. Wouldn’t mind getting one if I was looking for a cheap 2nd car to run around with.

• lantoi on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:26 pm

I got 1988 Saga 1.5I for 4k, u wan? Oklah, I tambah ori 13″ rim plus wheelcap lagi free

• lantoi on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:41 pm

After reading this page, I see that
            1. All topics regarding Proton and Perodua will attract at least 1,000 comments
            2. The bashers will compare with Vios or City (dey, itu berape harga?)
            3. Got 2 airbags, complain no ABS. Then got ABS, complain no ESP, and the list goes on.
            4. Some comments like “plucking from the sky” without no idea what they talked about.
            5. All comments will either in Autobots’s camp (pro) or Decepticon’s camp (cons).
            6. Me like to read. Got P1 and P2 at home.

• Mamat on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Maybe 10K would satisfied him!

• NGO PLL on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

masih murah lg,, berbanding dengan viva 850.. yg ni 1.3cc dan ada bonet yg besar..

• claxxion on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Do you think Perodua price their cars better then Protons?

• if u think this is overprice. go buy viva. the cheapest version is about 24k. i think u can afford it.

think before u comment. there is nothing cheap with decent quality today.

• noname on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:24 pm

overprice?? then what’s the resonable price? 10 cent?

• still no abs?

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Airbag is a good thing, but still no ABS in all model.., Myvi got ABS.

• anonymous on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:48 pm

wat ABS ?? ABS = Aku Brek Sendiri
      XD

• katob on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:51 pm

then,
      Saga FL still doesnt include multi-directional air cond blower.
      why Proton S16 fitted with this?
      Pls answer my question PROTON!

• theking on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:50 pm

wat r u talking abt bro?

• do you even know what is multi-directional air cond blower?
        it’s a blower that currently equipped in saga and pre-fl.
        if you cant adjust your aircond blower mean that your blower is stuck. if you can pusing2 to other direction, then it is multi directional aircon blower.

• katob on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:24 pm

nope I didn’t mean that.
          What I mean right now Multi-directional of air cond blow out. Eg. front mirror, upper blower, lower blower. Why PROTON does not include this as a standard?
          Even Kancil fitted with this.
          Can someone with clarify it?

• kauader? on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:05 pm

kalo ko maksudkan yg itu, yes BLM ader..
            upper blower yg kat dashboard..yg tala kat cermin depan pun ader, cuma yg tala kat kaki je xde.. oh ya, blower penumpang belakang mcm exora tu pun xder..

• pacifictuna on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

old saga got. but how many of us use it? why fit something people wouldn’t care of?

• aerials on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:33 pm

it’s hard to say. no bias, P2 cars are quite expensive.but compare 4 years old P2 & P1 cars with daily under the hot sun. look to the door’s rubber and all everything made from it, look to the wiper’s arms, all grey plastic surface, antenna,everything is tear down.. surely P2 car is way better and last longer. Im not bashing P1. I know it because i own Savvy. handling & FC is superb, but everything start to fall down after a few years. believe me.

• sagarian on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

they got big boot..

• ProProton on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:46 pm

myvi harga dia berapa bang?
      viva ada abs?
      kenapa tak cakap viva x de abs? viva sama harga apa dgn saga..
      klu nak compare myvi, compare kan dgn persona.. harga sama
      persona ada abs…
      lain kali, compare apple to apple bang..
      jgn compare kan durian dengan pisang..

• his compare is right..myvi and persona is different segment..

• ProProton on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm

NO you wrong.. i know saga is 1.3L same with myvi also 1.3L.. persona is 1.6L and it was different class. but u cannot compare with the classes.. u have to compare the price.. becoz when u buying a car, u need to compare what car can u buy with amount of money that u hav..

MYVI 1.3 = rm44k to 53k; Persona1.6 : RM46k to 59K
          VIVA 1.0 = average 40k; Saga 1.3: average RM40K

i know VIVA 660cc price are from 25k.. but im sory proton doesnt produce car such that, such nasi lemak kosong.. proton doesnt sell cheap cars.. they only sell affordable cars..

but if u think Viva 660cc is worth for rm25,000, just go buy it….

• i no clever on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

i like your explanation bro..

there will always be people that could not accept proton’s improvement.

living in denial.

xD

• ah zam on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm

ya lor ..if you want to compare CC, then VW Polo or even Golf falls into almost the same bracket

• Matchy on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:20 pm

Viva EZi got ABS la…

• Mamat on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:37 pm

then just get Viva ..dont make noise

• my viva ezi didn’t have abs…

• ProProton on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

im not saying that viva was a bad car, eventhough i am proton salesman.. viva was very good in city driving and also good for your 2nd car.. but saga, it good even for long distance driving and also good for your first car… becoz saga are more safety & more spacious..

• tah laa oii on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:07 pm

yes, viva is best 4 2nd car..tell you a.. stupid ppl will buy viva for they 1st car…
            but the dam2 ppl will buy viva elite.. batter buy myvi than viva elite lol..
            ( setuju ka for 2nd car )?

• oldman on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Really, saga for safety…?

Got no ABS also safety…think brader, think

What so executive about this saga when the ABS also cannot be installed…
            Sangatlah budus nyer ini protong…

• Kambing Gurun on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:11 pm

ProProton. Just say that Viva is a bad car. There’s no need to withhold that fact. At least the handling is crap. Thank God that Viva is my 2nd car. And thank God that my 1st car is a Proton. Sigh…

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Viva where got ABS lah! Unless tomorrow they launch Viva Super Elite Exclusive Meletup Kaboom Hot Anniversary ABS Edition la.

• michelin on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:42 pm

good one, rosdi..
            laughing terguling2 aku..

• hero86 on Dec 16, 2010 at 7:30 pm

me too! laughing like crazy in my ofis!

• Matchy on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:47 am

According to Perodua’s website, Viva EZi got ABS with EBD & BA… unless i salah baca

• bullet on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:01 pm

i like!!! hahahahahaha

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

I am comparing it against Myvi because Paul is comparing it against Myvi..

“..Proton is trying to get the younger crowd to consider the Saga as their first car, urban middle class folks that would otherwise buy a Myvi.. .”

Besides, I don’t consider Viva worth considering at all.. only the cheapest model (the RM25K one) is worth buying (for low income group, Viva is much safer than carrying 3 kids on their EX5), the other Viva variants only mangkuk will buy..

• autobot on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:09 pm

myvi also got great handling.. in parking lot.

• bobdbilder on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm

And its much more masculine looking that the Myvi or Viva. People don’t treat you like a wuss.

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Myvi is one of the wobbly car I have driven. Confortable yes, but handling?

• Malaysian on Jan 29, 2011 at 5:42 am

I totally agree with aerials .

I just went and check my persona i bought earlier about 1 month and notice the rubber on my side door that filters out the water is degrading… come on… just 1 month and it looks like its been 10 yrs…

the wiper is another one. it looks berkarat… damn..

I hope Proton will seriously consider about getting the proper material when building a car.

WHY PEOPLE SAY P2 IS BETTER BECAUSE THEY USE BETTER MATERIAL, YOU HEAR ME PROTON!!! DON’T SO CHEAP SAKE SUPER LOW QUALITY MATERIAL WHEN BUILDING THE CAR.

I CAN SEE THE TREND OF PROTON… IT IS FOLLOWING THE JAPANESE WAY OF BUILDING THEIR CARS EG. TOYOTA VIOS. THE INTERIOR IS FULL OF PLASTIC! WHAT HAPPEN WITH THE CROME TEXTURE?

After buying this proton… at first i like the car so much because of the design but i was hugely disappointed with the QUALITY and CONTROL and the MATERIAL used in this car… I buy it anyway because as mentioned, i like the design. Another huge disappointment is the driver car seat, it is so uncomfortable when driving this Manual Persona. Every time after driving it to and back from work, my back of my body will be aching, the lumber part, where as for MYVI which is used to drive gives me no problem.

• nebula87 on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:35 pm

i think it’s a gud news for BLM ver. owner..the price for “special” front n rear lights will dropping down…

• anonymous on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:39 pm

why proton always improve in their jobs XD

• Frankly, the front looks better with the facelift.
    However, if it’s still the same engine, a little let down.
    4 adults into that car and additional baggage, the car will be tough to drive.

• i wonder when are they gonna throw away the fugly instrumental panel and steering wheel design

• Nazrul on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:39 pm

I think they should call this Proton Saga Legacy, why? Look at the front, maybe this car was inspired by that model. I love the front so much, but the spoiller doesn’t fit the car well, I rather like it without any spoiller. Maybe it just my taste. But I belive soon, they can bring Saga to a better place by re-design the interior, several changes for the exterior and also improving it’s quality. With these, I’m sure Saga can take on Vios, City, Myvi and others. Well done Proton, can’t wait to what Proton can do in the future though!

• Jaki Jipang on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

IMO this saga is inspired by the iswara la I think..

• true… the ori saga has more squared headlight than iswara’s longer looking… the current saga also more squared than this longer looking fl headlight.

• mr jem on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:40 pm

from front side, the head lamp makes it looks like an accord…

• i wonder when are they going to throw away the fugly instrumental panel and steering wheel design

• nice improvement lol…..maybe suitable for low/middle income family…

• Suddenly the old feeling of the Iswara is come back, for me at least. Some suggestions on this car, the front is abit overhang too long and the wheels are abit small, dont bash me about the wheels, I am not ah beng, just it doesn’t look right when fitted in Saga’s bigger car body, other than that, its a great looking car, keep it up Proton, waiting for more of your improvement in the future, especially the Persona Replacement model.

• Fifteen on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm

And oh, the ‘FL’ nomenclature is sexually explicit too. Heehee!

• WinterAngeLs on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Overall a very decent upgrade for Saga FL consider the equipment included. The upgrades does justify the price premium. Great effort P1.

Unlike P2 coming out with all kinds of weird edition they could think of and ripping people off.

• seancorr on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Pity the pre facelift customers. miss out the airbags, rear power windows and many more. they should have just added the rear power windows from the beginning.

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm

the pre-facelift owner pay RM1000 less than this FL. besides, i rarely wind down rear windows. about airbags, some people would pay RM70k for Vios J which don’t have any airbag. but yeah, dual airbags should have been minimum standard in all cars by now.

• katob on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Vios USA version got 6 airbags.
        Toyota only care for consumer in progress country but only know about profit first with less safety on developed nations.

Think about it.

• kauader on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:02 pm

agreed..i mysefl feel nothing..coz this is normal when buying a car..i wont wait for 2 yrs 2 get this FL.. mybe dual airbag, but not rear power window coz i dont remember when the last time i need to wind down it..

• Looks like the subaru ver 10 in the front to me.

• Different angle give different perception to the looks of every Car.
    take a look at this Saga from the following pics:

http://paultan.org/photo/albums/Proton-Saga-FL-MY-360/001.jpg
    This one looks a bit “penyek”.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Proton-Saga-FL-MY-Exterior&image=100%25-FRONT_C.jpg
    This one looks just fine.

• sagarian on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm

scr peribadi aku rs headlamp current saga aku lebih cool..

tp bila ingat control button kat stereng, dual airbag, led tail lamp cuma up 1K++ je, arghh..
    tp x kisah la, compare ngn viva saga aku tetap best! :)

• makeitmine on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Proton, when you roll out the turbocharged engine, do not forget to develop safer cars for consumers and families that includes front, side and side-curtain airbags among its standard safety features, along with active head restraints, seatbelt pretensioners and force limiters.

I think many people will consider buying car based on safety rather than speed.

• anonymous on Dec 18, 2010 at 1:03 am

and lots of people will consider buying a car based on their budget…..

• currrent owner of saga blm on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:57 pm

It should had released a year ago, now mine looks old!
    myvi sales will be impacted greatly

• Firman on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm

The previous Saga looks better and sporty. This new Saga looks like China made and the rear lamp too small n kinda weird with saga rear wide body…

• CHONG KAT on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:00 pm

if proton down the price in the hiking malaysian goods price rise sure make some folks happy n be proton follower.

• currrent owner of saga blm on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:03 pm

now my saga blm look aged
    resale value might be affected
    myvi sales gonna be affected slightly
    ppl will wait for the so called- saga FL SE

• well, I would say rm1.3 k difference in price tag from the old one is not that much considering Proton pretty much change a lot feature in this car..not like Perodua stupid myvi and viva so called special edition..good job Proton

• rexis on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Its the cheapest car available but still feel expensive…

• majavaz on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

refresh looks, good price.

• Ze Ber on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Nice update!

Cannot really complaint becos of the price.

• turbo on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Fantastic..better than current BLM…a lot of improvement (4 pwr windw, air bag, volume cntrl on steering, new led lamps, side mirror led etc etc etc) and all this comes in just RM 1.2K increase from previous modell!!!!!! Good Goood……..

well done Proton

• nabill on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

the front looks abit like the renault laguna 2003 model…check it online !

anyway its not soo bad…if u check forums there r not many problems with the blm…so u can say its cheap and pretty reliable transport….it wil stil sell like hot cakes…

• slekuzen on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm

From what we hear, next year should be a big year for Proton.
    I don’t think anyone of us expected any big change for the new Saga FL (cosmetics basically).

However, as the new engines will roll out next year, it is then that we have to be harsh in our judgements.
    With the entry of the Inspira, Proton has definitely raised the bar high and Malaysian consumers expect no less for the refreshed Exora, new Persona and Saga.

The Saga FL should do the job for now (cheap, handles fairly well and should prove decently safe -dual airbag model- for city driving), but A LOT is expected for next year’s rollout.

Good luck Proton!

• zukruff on Dec 18, 2010 at 10:45 pm

hope they can make much more fuel efficient campro engine… especially d 1.3cc… if can fight2 with p2 1.3 engine sure win hands down 1…. huhuuuu

• learner on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

like the car, but fierce looking front is not matching with normal looking rear.

• captain_gaban on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

lovely!!! now we are talking about facelift…to P2 a.k.a viva-ridiculous-overprice-exclusive version..my middile finger is dedicated to u!!! ;)

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:33 pm

People,don’t judge a car by seeing it in pictures,go check it out in the showrooms and I bet it looks better in front of your own eyes.
    All Proton cars are not photogenic.

• buy and suffer & who with me? hahaha

• Cyberkayu on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:45 pm

i prefer the old look, look like Dacia Logan now…the front look

• joehans on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

nice…this is what i call FL -facelift- good job proton…..

• g4eights on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

When I first saw the photo of this new Saga, I hated it as well but until I saw the car in KLIM, I think Proton did quite a fantastic job on the actual car. Anyhow, Proton has yet to convince me to buy its product!

• arch808 on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm

evrytime ada kereta tempatan facelift ke atau kelaur model baru je, korang kutuk. Dah takde kerja lain ke nak buat kat ofis tu?

• Inspiralution on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:54 pm

wow…gorgeous Proton!!!

• autobot on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm

gud 2 have dual airbag and steering control button..

• shawal on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

(+) Its good that they got rid of B-Line models
    (-) Its really bad that proton STILL not offering Airbags, ABS, EBD , as standard on all models. There is no sign of progress, proton is just playing catching up with Perodua

If you see the link below… its a KIA picanto sold in the UK…. and please read ALL the safety features they are offering… I assume, proton saga will be sold about the same price in UK
    http://www.kia.co.uk/New-Cars/Range/Compact/Picanto/Specification/Safety-and-Security.aspx
    and heres a link to proton UK
    http://www.proton.co.uk/
    showing the price of proton savvy…

I guess we have to wait for another facelift for the saga to be complete

• that applies to all car models in Malaysia la…not just Proton…
      we all get sub-standard products because we have sub-standard policies…

• dondon on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:14 pm

nothing diff besides facelift and passenger airbag…i think the previous version looks better. keep improving proton…

• Paul any idea if we can integrate the interior of the Saga FL into the 1st saga? such as MP3 and the steering control?

• someone on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm

The design of the fog light part will look better if it is something like sonata or camry. Camry used to be like what saga is doing now, but after the launch of sonata, they changed it.

• pg qayyum on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

it’s look better than before..

• Happy Man on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

People who buy Saga SE will be really angry after see all this new SPEC!!!! demmit proton…

• learner on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:48 pm

why should they? saga SE is good, especially the maroon one.

• Tiadaid on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

It depends la, how recent did they buy the car. Its the risk you have to take, because if you keep waiting you’ll never buy the thing at all! Happens to me so many times, from buying iPods, to iPhones, even my Honda City (bought it 3 months before they launched the VTEC version)

• Happy Man on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

People who buy SAGA SE will be angry after see all new spec… demmit proton.. I use saga SE….

• again congratulation to proton by doing nothing except adding side mirror with signal light, sports rim, etc…
    FL – Fools Look?

• frossonice on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:13 pm

What do you expect from a face lift? Heart transplant? Boob enhancement?

• JohnDeep on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

They expect the facelift would become a camry, then everybody claps. See how little new things on facelifted Civic, but everybody claps till die.

• FL = First Love

• barber on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:44 pm

I like this car!!

• The price increase is justified for additional features. This is what we really call a facelift model.

• lazyf on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:59 pm

this is what we called as a proper facelift…
    Kudos to Proton…

• Scania360 on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:02 pm

TAHNIAH PROTON!!
    Congratulation.. nice facelift!!
    +steering radio button
    +dual airbag
    +4 power windows
    +beautiful headlights!!
    +cute rear spoiler
    +sporty bumper skirt.
    +..much2 value to money!!

so much competative price due to production scale of volumes..

GO PROTON!!
    MAY GOD BLESS U ALL PROTONians..

show that car ass to the stupid bashers!!

• they should force ppl to buy cars with airbags.

• rejab on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:22 pm

And ABS at least.

• did you all seen a lot of accident lately where the car is with abs also bang other cars at behind and what is so big deal about abs.

• peeps on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:04 pm

reasonable price range. i bet alot ppl would buy and trash the car =P

• frossonice on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

They won’t trash their car. Most buyers just can afford a Saga. It is the cheapest sedan available. Low middle income families can only afford this to haul their kids around.

• the power point’s point is very lame, seems like from a secondary school student.

Young executive making rm2000 above. well. this is kinda sad to hear this. its 2010 in malaysia. And its worse than 1990. young exe making rm2000 above, driving saga.

• bobdbilder on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:59 pm

You can’t have a high paying job when the people keep asking for cheap products and we keep producing cheap products. Yet give big dividends to shareholders coz you can’t retain them if you don’t. So other than the big Price:Earnings Ratio the fundamentals of your business actually shows little growth coz all you do is cater for local market and becoz you have less Value, you are not competitive in the outside world.

Banyak cerita lah. Lu org semua tau tapi saja buat tak tau.

• fzlyrawx on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

thank god its FL not FML. LOL

• seriusSAM on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

what’s the fuss

the price still affordable lah

wanna cheapest car? go build your own kereta sorong meh.

• Songel on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Good job Proton!!

Dun give a damn for what people say..they will never satisfy forever..even Proton give free their car..people still complaint and refuse to accept the free car..

Keep it up!!

• rejab on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Or REMOVE the fog lamp and add ABS

• Tengok Proton Saga FL baru lebih ranggi lagi mempesona ni, terpikat pula saya… Tapi saya lebih minat versi hatchback… So bila Proton nak produce versi Saga Aeroback? Cadangan saya untuk Saga Aeroback ni, guna saja semua dimension pada versi Saga Sedan tu, cuma bhg blkg tu buat “slope style” (mcm Wira Aeroback tu), jadikan pintu hatchback, tambah rear wiper sekali. Jika ada version tu, pasti akan dibeli… iya weh…

• majavaz on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:14 pm

dah ada dah. beli je GEN2.

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

If aeroback, what is the advantage it has over Myvi? Myvi worst point is ridiculously small boot. If saga also has small boot what is its selling point then?

• Saga Aeroback’s boot capacity (rear seat not folded) = Saga Sedan boot capacity.
        So Saga Aeroback’s rear seat should be folded type with 50:50 split (like Satria Neo, Persona ML & HL, Exora and Myvi) if the space of boot is needed to be accessed. So with this feature Saga Aeroback presents more advantages over Myvi, Viva, Saga and Persona BL…

• kazai on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:23 pm

saga aeroback = savvy

• scgtimk1 on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:11 am

No no

Savvy = Saga Hatchback

• Savvy NOT Saga Aeroback…. sebab dpn dan blkg berbeza sama sekali…

Look at this matchmaking:

Saga Aeroback identical (serupa) with Saga Sedan, as well as Wira Aeroback identical with Wira Sedan, cuma Wira Aeroback pendek sikit drpd Wira Sedan…

• anand mat pian on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

cheapest car with 4 door and boot with dual airbags,nice one
    now more people have better protection with dual airbags,

• Bagus!

Now let’s see what you get from the same Engine & Transmission of this car:

1. 11km/L (with aircond compressor turned off driving at 80kmph)
    2. Severely underpowered at low RPMs
    3. Windnoise, Tire Noise, Rattling noise after 100kmph (plus, the engine sound like it’s being worked to death at that speed)

I am already in the process of disposing this piece of SH*T.

Good luck to all new Saga buyers.

Hidup Proton!

Salam 1Malaysia.

• ataan on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

how much ?

• turbo on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:13 pm

its a saga not inspira or persona…if u need more power then go for these cars or other foreign car…..Price goes to quality….

• ntahaaa on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm

1. I assume U drive auto saga with that kind of fuel consumption.. so if compare with myvi then U right..
      2. from my experience, compare with myvi manual 1.3 and saga manual 1.3 both have underpowred at low rpm.. but myvi feels less power than saga.. <– tried on hill climb at 2nd gear
      3. i think myvi has better nvh, so wind noise and engine noise much better (quieter) in myvi. But for rattling noise, for me, saga is much better (less rattling) than myvi..

• dude, are you kidding me? my Saga can get 35+km/L cruising on the highway at 90km/h

• Are YOU kidding me? 35+ km/L or 82 MPG?

YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME AH? Don’t be stupid and post stupid things lah….

A Prius also can’t do that lah….u know what u r posting or not?

• wooops, i meant ~15km/L

LOOL i was fast typing,sorry for the f*cking typo.

• Are YOU kidding me?

35km/L = 82 MPG….

Even a Prius is not rated at 82 MPG la brother.

Don’t tipu lah….

• mlikl on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:44 pm

“the engine sound like it’s being worked to death at that speed”
      i don’t agree, my friend’s saga is just sailing smoothly saga at 100km/h

• thebugbud on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

the front looks weird.. but a good try..

the car is still have bad FC. After having for close to 2 years… i’m clocking an average 10km/l while my myvi is clocking and average 14km/l.

Some weird problems such as noisy rear brakes and after twice brakes services and still it persists.

Engine sounds weird.. exhibiting some metal loose noise when the engine is push a little harder (at around 3k rpm). The sound as if some coins ran loose in the engine. After a few service, problem can’t fix and still persists..

Rattling noise right behind the steering wheel. Power window, still working but somehow.. it’s slowing down.. (electric motor is dying?)

Other than that.. the car is great.. great handling, great steering feedback, great drivign feedback, great stability and really living up to the lotus ride/handling.

but sadly.. the accumulated small things are giving the unpleasant feel of quality though.

may be, I may consider sacrifice the lotus ride/handling for better quality car instead. Like Myvi, it’s not great in ride/handling but so far.. after close to 160k milleage.. it’s still serve me well and no real problem other than the usual car servicing (which i do every 10k with semi synthetic engine old) .

• freeze on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:40 pm

your disc brakes ok? Careful now you have two reasons to crash.

1. Lousy handling
      2. Bad brakes

Finally, do you know what happens when a MyVi crashes?
      The car catches fire.

You will be cremated in that coffin of yours.

• Good one bro, that makes me not the only one who experienced lousy FC for the 1st gen Saga BLM.

• everything i like except for the new face and new tail lamps… i prefer the old saga’s design

• Shahrul on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Saw 2 units on a trailer heading to Proton’s Plentong Showroom 2 days ago.

• JenggaJengga on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm

great and affordable car for 1st time buyer

• Sunny on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

First

Bravo saga!!!

Please, no bashing

• salim on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:57 pm

DSZ we the younger generation don’t buy Saga
    cos it just not our cup of tea.
    No matter how you package it,
    Saga just doesn’t impress us one single bit.

• Abraham Tawi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Please do not comment on behalf of the young generation

I am one of the young generation so I know what I am talking about.

As for me, I think the Saga FL looks brilliant. I will want a test drive one day.

• “we”???…did u ask all the younger generation bro?
      different people different taste…maybe your ‘younger generation’ officemate like..
      or it just u…whatever la bro..

• After driving this junk for bout 40,000 KM…. it’s hardly to shift to 5th gear now…. WTF…… Good luck to all new buyers….no joke… truely, madly, deeply…..

• Yeah,good luck to everyone who is thinking of buying this piece of crap.good luck in disposing of that junk of yours,buddy.I know I will…

• hmmmmm on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

mmmmm salesman?

• scgtimk1 on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:16 am

My saga already clocked 80,000km every still feels like new. No rattling or what so ever.

What crap are you talking about. maybe you Perodua salesman? selling hard eeh?

• ayo..i drove myvi manual transmission and the gear shifting is crap from the 1st time i bought the car. the 1st gear and reverse. olredi told to sc and what they did is just adjusting the clutch cable. sigh..

• katob on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Im also experience with the same problem.
      Harder to shift 5th gear in shift knob.
      Now I feel better with shift knob. Just change the rod assistance in PROTON SC.
      We got 5years warranty ma..

• Lambor on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Match tagline !

• After driving the saga for bout 40,000 KM… it’s hardly to shift to 5th gear now…. gearbox problem maybe…. the engine is rattling like hell now…. don’t know what trouble after this…. no joke…

• Bagong on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Its easy to solve your problem. Just change your fuel from RON95 to RON97. Don’t use RON95 anymore. You must use RON97 for your saga right now.

• linear_system on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

did u do your service accordingly?if no,u should service your car.
      did u drive your saga like no tomorrow?if yes,u should try driving your car behavely

• Steven on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Am wondering when will the turbo charged Campro engine for Proton Exora will be launched? Price, looks, features indication? Tks.

• wolfsburg on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

What a shame Proton… selling a car in 21st century without ABS…

• it s normal nah brother… coz have to see what is the buyer salary oso ma…. like vw…they introduce a budget sedan car in russia..it is without abs too

• Mata2 on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Vios J spec is also w/o abs, what a shame Toyota

• lazyf on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

if im not mistaken, Vios J is comes standard with ABS+EBD…only lack with SRS Airbag…

correct me if im wrong…

• mythbuster on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Vios J has ABS+ EBD + BA.
          All these function really important when driving at highways and apply emergency brakes to prevent collisions.
          i have been experienced once when a trailer breakdown at fast lane.
          For these brake system much more important airbags when u are often using highways or driving faster.
          But anyway, this Saga FL value added for money and could be better option as 1st car.
          good job proton.

• oldman on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:29 pm

what value added more important than life….?

• Mamee on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Nicely done !!! Looks good but engine part need to improve especially throttle response. Else marvelous…

• slimershine on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:25 pm

love it!

• spliang on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

wah…. nice car lar…. am should working hard to get this baby as my first car…. ^^

• Well,…..DSZ is doing his best to pleased all malaysian but somehow the manufacturing side & tidak apa attitude has coused the QC to suffer.
    Persone Sedan is a damn nice care. Design wise is ok. I think all CDK car QC memang teruk. Even Mercedez or BMW if its CKD QC is low. What to do we cannot afford an imported car. There are some lemon out there if you are unlucky you’ll receive a lemon. Its also true that if you are unlucky you also lemon can get a lemon imported car………

• Jack Jackal on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

nice car…

• terminate79 on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:00 pm

This is one of the good Malaysian car. I’m using the old variant since 2008. Its good for value and money with adequate comfort. New face lift looks better then before. But i still prefer the old rear bumper… :)

• bintulu rangers on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm

white one looks nice!

• nimosy89 on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

nice!!!

• Andre on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

I don’t mean to bash, but the design language of this new saga is a bit confusing. The accord-3 series front lamp does not translate well for this small car. Not to mention the awkward heightened appearance of the car.

As I see it:
    (+) Presence of 2nd airbag
    (+) Rear window power switch
    (+) Value for money compact car
    (-) No ABS or EBD
    (-) Awkward styling
    (-) USB head unit is sub-par in design and convenience

May look nice with some skirting and adjusted height though, but still we judge a stock car by how it rolled out the factory. If you’re planning to buy this Saga, better wait when they roll out the special edition with stock skirting. I hope they’ve straightened out the previous problems of this car (!).

• dragster on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:35 pm

If compare China made with P1 …i choose P1….If P1 compare with P2 …I choose P2….If compare P1, P2 with Japanese Model….I choose Japan….tat the human needs which cannot be satisfy…..kind of ugly…..front look like Prairie MPV from nissan way back to the 90’s…..

• bryan.jones on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:40 pm

proton should re-design the dashboard, ppl spend more time inside.

the current dashboard make people think it’s cheap.

• jackie on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

it’s a cheap (in term of quality, not monetray value) car. that’s exactly what people will think of it la.

• Protong Owner on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:42 pm

nice looking car! i hope the driving at least getting close to Waja after all this years. I just realized i been driving my Waja for 8 years! its not so bad honestly although we always hope it can be better.

• saga owner on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Its fuel consumption is worst than vios…

• mythbuster on Dec 20, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Dont’la u compare Saga with Vios.
      Different category rite.
      Vios price almost double to Saga.
      So, must be better fuel efficient than Saga.

• saga owner on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Its fuel consumption is worst than myvi…

• of course lah. myvi tu besar mana? trunk size pun kecik. barang xboleh banyak..

kenapa tak compare FC dengan SAVVY je? apa la lu orang.
      bawak kereta 140km/h, macamana nak save FC.

dah campro engine tu high rev engine, masa korang sedap tekan accel paddle tak pikir pasal FC plak. addhoii!

• Savvy org dah lupa kot … very very very good FC, go kart handling but forgotten …

• Myvi @ 140 km/h Also thirsty like Hell!!! 200km = 1/2 tank Petrol!!!

• will buy one next month. confirm.

• mystvearn on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Exteriorwise, I prefer the old car. Some people might change the audio system to ge a nicer ICE with a seemlesly mounted USB kit.

The car has mmore kit compared to last time.

• watever on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

After 2 years and 120,000km, I’d say this Saga is value for money. Period.

• hubby on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:05 pm

whatever it is….beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder!

• volks2 on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

expensive..not worth

• Jaki Jipang on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:16 pm

this is nice.. it’s good that proton are getting better.. but, srsly proton, is it really hard to redesign the steering wheel? just the steering wheel, bcause the mock-up plastic bolts on it is a waste IMO…

• agree with u. I think proton should run ” designing a steering wheel contest” campaign la.

• noname on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

a great car with good price range for those low income to own.. congrats proton ^^

• Arashikage on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Why ppl are so obsessed by ABS? I like cars with no ABS… it feels ‘pure’……and it trains you to be better driver…..you anticipate your braking point…..you learn the car’s limits…..? If you gonna crash, u crash also, with or without ABS+EBD+VSC etc…. The point is if you drive dangerously, no matter what safety features the car have…u die also…..

• safety expet on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Pls educate yourself on ABS,VSC technology using the video below..
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-hHWSQhKuc

by the way, it’s 2011 soon, not 1980 now, stop embarrass urself lolz

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:09 am

yeah man, agree.

dont be too dependant with ur ABS, more importantly dont be too confident with it. it avoids skidding. yes. but that does not necessarily means u ll not hit anything in any situation. especially in the rain.

u got to have the feel, when to release the brake and what to do when skidding. u cant learn this in an ABS car, really.

anyway, if u r stuck in a choice between ABS and no ABS, btter go for ABS la, of coz. but, for no ABS, its not necessarily a ticking bomb. it indirectly teaches u to feel the car more, response and control AND safe habits.

• mohdjiman on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm

wau…
    Viva Elite Executive RM 42K
    Saga FL Executive RM 43K

buyer will go to??

• mivec on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

is this baby inspira.. i see inspira design language at saga fl

• antu rayo on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm

exora turbo is under testing at road..northen malaysia..

• alf147 on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Sorri..I like this FL design..not bad…guys..no need to gado2..p1 or p2…both relates to mssia flag la..if u like p1..buy..if u like p2 buy…IMHO..p1 is really taking afford to improve ttheir brand…not much can we expect for a car price at this range…pity to p1 or p2..ape bikin pon kene bash…the price iincrease abt 1k pon mau bising?

• saga se body lagi cun rasanyer…

• budak on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:11 pm

saga se lagi cantik body dia kot….

• Heisenberg on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm

So this is another Smart Guy Gets it? so sure there is a lot of smart guy out there want buy this crap…

Dear Smart Guy…
    Persona still, STEERING BUTTON PROBLEM, breaking problem(master pump faulty) a strange noise during fully turn problem,Alarm siren problem, Fog light burn problems n the list goes on.

• chap_de_x on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:12 pm

says who…i am proud owner of persona….never happen to me at all

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm

ok, not michael j fox but faint hints of the nissan latio sport.

• haha..finally it been launched officially in M’sia!
    =)….looks sporty with its new design…well done..
    im goin to get it on Jan..haha.!

• car lover on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:44 pm

still is expensive… if AFTA apply…. then is cheaper… when government want to take away the duty and tax?

• makeitmine on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

The price of cars do not depend only on duty import rates, excise duty and road tax but also component prices, completely knocked down packs depending on whether imported or locally made, currency exchange, transportation cost and insurance.

AFTA = Always Finding Taxing Alternatives

When 4% GST coming our way, 4% GST will be added to every component and transaction until the car reaches your possession.

Cars getting cheaper.. dream on. Dunno who getting bankrupt first, car loaners, banks servicing car loans or automobile companies.

• GTS does not have compounded effects like that. For a manufacturer, you can set off your GST paid (when you buy input) against GST that you receive (When you sell output). So, GST only has a single effect to consumers (in best scenario).

• my name on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Does the FL means facelift? Why are they so lazy to think of interesting names?

• farghmee on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:03 am

may be they don’t want to waste their precious time thinking a suitable name for a facelift.

ah..leave the name-giving to the perodua. they have good name each time :P

• oldman on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:33 pm

after name-giving contest fiasco prior to exola, they dont even try again to find cute names in future….. biasa lah, as u said, lazy protong

• ChrisCK on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:51 pm

I might buy a potong car again IF all automotive players bankcrupt ^_^

• JoeGti on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Good Job proton, spacious, super ride handling, gud FC

• im so not into this facelift, look boring.
    however after i dropped by at nearest proton after work just now, my impression was change drastically.
    the car looks so SEXY in real life. I say it true, the car not-so photogenic in photos but in real world are way different. take a look in flesh! peace ^_^

• nolan on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Rubber tapper car in the making…………but somehow nice move Proton…..

• scgtimk1 on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Today rubber can sell Rm6.50 per kg

If you collect at least 25kg per day your income is RM162.5 PER DAY with only few ours working only.

If you lucky no rain you can get RM4875 per month

That is MORE salary than some engineer being paid in Klang Valley.

• amirBABU on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm

cantik menarik tertarik kau memang dabooom…..
    harga, luaran, dalaman, keselamatan memang ada kelas.
    tahniah proton.

• Anti BN/P1/MMM on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Finally we see the real facelifed.Sincere one

• Maserati on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Seriously ZOMG fugly man! What is PROTON doin?! This is what you call 25 years of excellence?

I reckon the previous Saga looked way nicer and more pleasant .Now it looks terrible! Hideous! Looks like they took a few metal pieces and screwed them together.Horrible horrible horrible!

And my god,the Campro engine is one of the worst engines ever to be produced on planet earth.Can proton do something about it? No pickup,rough like a sandpaper engine,numb and bland steering wheel.Sucks fuel like nobodys business.

You call this car cheap?! It more like throwing away ur hard earned RM 40,000.

Seriously,if i were buying a car,i would wait for the all new Myvi with 1.5l engine.I dont mind paying more for a good car with a brilliant engine.It makes more economical sense.

This Proton seriously was rubbish.And now they made it even more rubbish!

Thats 25 years of excellence for you guys!

Oyeah,Proton fanboys feel free to bash.I know you cant wait to bash this comment.I love it when ppl bash.Keep them flowing!

• seriusSAM on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:34 pm

damn you

lol

:D

• makeitmine on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Something you don’t like.. go away!

Don’t waste your time bashing Proton. The most you can only afford to buy 1 Proton car but Proton has sold millions!

• Wisdom on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Typical Myvi hardcore. Or Perodua salesman maybe?

Your comment just not making sense. Try again next time.

Btw, its a bit unwise if perodua come out with 1.5. Current model depreciation will be enormous. Current Myvi owner will have to bear the depreciation & will curse perodua like hell….

• gen2lama on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:12 am

i dont mind paying RM36K -BLM….RM55K -Gen2…and RM75K-exora….all camtakpro…

and proud to tell u …all 3 cars still in my garage….still working great….daily ride to work (60km)-Gen2….300 000km++ in 6 years

• h4dRi on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:09 am

wait for myvi 1.5? by the the time it come out, proton already put 1.6 turbo in their cars…

• 1.6 turbo can do 2.0 performance with better fuel consumption
        1.3 turbo can do 1.5 performance with better fuel consumption
        plus cheaper insurance
        yay!

• David on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Talked like a total idiot. IF you don’t like the car, then don’t buy it. Just because you hate it, and you own two Mercedes, which i can’t afford, doesn’t mean you have the right to treat this car as if it has to be of your own standard.

Like me, i’m just a college student who loves his cars, and you should obviously know not everyone can afford a City or any car of that sort unlike you. In short, this is a car that fulfills your everyday needs.

And, on an unrelated matter, you said in many Korean car posts that Korean cars are rubbish and will never succeed? Think again. They won 5 awards in the recently concluded NST-Maybank Car of The Year.

Stupid? No, it’s people like you that are foolish, just spewing lies and refusing to acknowledge reality. Well, these awards come as a big smack in your face than. Serves you right for being such an arrogant douchebag.

• passat CC on Dec 18, 2010 at 11:58 pm

i doubt u own maserati,those ugly, old ,non stylist myvi is the only thing u can proud off,daihatsu just smiles all da way thinking how fool malaysian people when they feel no need to redign new car coz malaysian just love that old ugly car..well done Proton!

• proton is really busy these past few years…good job!!

• No bluetooth? I rather trade the steering wheel audio switches with bluetooth.. Bluetooth is essential for handphone user and I guess everyone should have a HP now. PROTON, pls include bluetooth function in all the future model. PLS…

• kennytan on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Got Class…..Got Value….i respect Proton……….

• kennytan on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:10 pm

got class……got value…..i respect Proton……..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm

As usual the bashers are doing their job as they should do.
    Usually this kind human can be classified as jealous and don’t want to see Proton suceed and no matter how far Proton improved,they still can’t accept the fact that Proton is improving.
    Proton just launched this new Saga FL,but within hours or even seconds,many basher would say that this car looks hideous and ugly and the quality is the worst of all.
    What can I say,bashers are bashers,they can’t change their mindset about Proton.
    Well,we should wait next year when Proton launch their new engine and observe what will the bashers say about it.

• Oh yes, bring on their NEW engine….

Let’s see what the fuel consumption is then…. 10 km/L anyone?

• scgtimk1 on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:40 pm

10km/l ?

even my current saga 1.6L with cams and exhaust get that in 100% town driving.

You ‘pathetic p2 salesman rhetoric Proton FC figure” statement.

• i no clever on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

deep inside bashers’ heart, they still sayang proton.
    i knew it.
    dont worry, we (supporters) really understand the situation.
    let’s keep it as secret ok? ;D

• daniel on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Wify nearly 10 years old Punto Nouva with CVT beat this FL hands and legs down! Still stuck with the antique mitsu four speeder. Maybe signed contract with MMC Japan for X years with special incentives at the expense of RAKYAT yang di didulukan(back in TIME). CVT gearbox being offered to RICHER RAKYAT through MMC Japan reincarnated as INSPIRA in order to by-pass the protection.

• kennytan on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Got Class….Got Value….we respect Proton….

• shawal on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Is that FL badge necessary? seriously…..

• After driving more than 60,000 km, my sister’s trouble free 2008 Saga still going strong. Nice facelift.

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Somehow this model remind me of renault scenia..I prefer the old one..
    (dont bash..it just my preference)

• since many are comparing it to the OTHER brand (p2-myvi), lets see a reason why MYVI is still around and changing colours and badges instead of changing body design:

1) Myvi is the fastest selling vehicle in Malaysia, and probably 50% of home-owners in your neighborhood owns atleast ONE myvi (or parked infront)

2) Myvi is selling like hot nasi lemak because of it’s reliability, design, practicality and economy.. im not being biased – i honestly dislike the little critters.

3) Why would P2 pay more to change its fastest selling car when they are still being sold out day by day EVEN when P1 is selling larger, cheaper, newer, fresher sedan??

Like if people from all corners are flocking over to your nasi lemak stall every morning at 5am, selling out fast, you know you are doing right and it tastes good. Why change the recipe?

• Mat Korner on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Many people are still thinking that Myvi is a Toyota product, that’s why it is sold like hot cakes.

• Peterpj on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:56 pm

I guess there are 2 kinds of markets. The first car buyer and the second car buyer. I am the latter.

Today, I have a Myvi SE, which we got because we wanted a not-too-small city runabout.

If I was going to do it over and choose between the Myvi and the Saga today, I would still prefer to get a Myvi, I might consider the Saga for just-a-few-minutes, and that’s only because I think the Myvi auto is a petrol guzzler (for its size).

Having said that, I admit I have never driven a Saga for a considerable period of time. But if both cars are able to give me equivalent (or almost equivalent) results, I would choose the Saga.

If Proton could offer me a Saga with better economy (be it with a 1.6 engine or some weight loss) I would seriously consider it as a second car.

Oh yea, I am changing the Myvi in 2012….let’s see what Proton has to offer then.

Cheerios on the improvements made =)

• hhmmm….should remain one airbag or pretension sit belt for driver..

• hmm….should remain one air bag and pretention sit belt for driver in standard version..

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:49 am

to all . saga is only 1.3. give him a break. campro is like that one, i do think its not fun at all in the city. expect severe ‘underpowerness’ below 3K rpm (to some people). especially when the light turns green.

anyway, if u ignore it and just drive the god damn commuting thing, u l be fine. I ve clocked 50kms. actually, no problem. i am tired aredy to say this la that la. just drive it, enjoy the radio/music, talk to ur gf, mom. u ll be fine.

TIPS:

1. put the lightest rims u can find+less wide tyre. e,g lenso, kspeed, japan rims
    2. install 421 header
    3. use full synthetic oil
    4. install throttle controller for nicer response.
    5. tyre pressure: 230KPa front, 210KPa back
    6. make habit stop at the left lane at traffic light. relax… u ll not get any prize for beating myvi beside u. let them win, let them syok sendiri.
    7. try looking for other obsession. i stop obsessing cars, start being obsessed with music after 2 years not playing. this is really helpful and save ur money alot.

if you still not satisfied. don worry. nothing can stop you in this bolehland. go to DORI DORI and convert to 1.6cc. estimated RM3K… after that, PANCHUTTTT!!!! my fren convert already, wahlao with saga mad damn short ratio gearbox… u ll literally terpanchut!!

• izit 230KPa front..210KPa for back…
      better??? comfort abit? or?

• soory…erm..the 230KPa for front and 210KPa for back tyres are for?
      efficient fuel consumption? or? sorry…reason is?

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:28 pm

proton suggest 210 front, 190 back.

but, if u put 230 front , 210 back. comfort still ok lah. u ll feel the car become lighter a bit. save fuel a bit.

our tyre can tahan up to 260Kpa if I am not mistaken la.

• o..icic..thx =) woah..u r pro in cars?..haha
          i will try it..thxthx.

• Well Done Proton, at least this model is design by proton itself, we should feel pround of this effort from the proton, but it doesn’t mean i will feel pround of the “INSPIRA”, however, good job proton.

• daniel on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Proton Design!? You did not know design out-source to KOREAN in order to fast-tracked project to meet deadline otherwise will be like the EURO 2 dateline not only mutiple delays but finally EURO 2M. BMW have to figure what is M – the X FACTOR?

• nazri on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:59 pm

yeah korean also ask ex-audi designer to design their car and also design studio at germany

• i am typing on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:52 am

this is the car for who just need a 4wheels transportation to go here and there and also for who with less $$$ but want more $$$ features. p1 should have redesign this car much better from the old saga. Our Tun did came out with amazing KLCC,KLIA,SEPANG F1, survive the Soros attacks, blah bla…but when comes to P1 cars…ERMMMM..maybe cars is his weakness??

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm

klcc klia sepang IC all that design by foreigners bah. he decided that something need to be done and outsourced it, except for klcc, the rest have been less than impressive. proton, well we know all the sad tragedy that it is.

• WhiteFox on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:08 am

To this who say this car ugly it just ur own opinion only.
    No matter how a car design is suck there is still ppl who like it.

This car really look nicer in real life compare to picture :/

BTW hope future proton engine is impress us…

• claxxion on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:22 am

I dont know how you people drive your Sagas, or just plain bashers?
    Mine’s auto, and I get 9l/100km for city drives and 7l/100km for full highway cruising at average 100km/h.

• How long have you owned it?

• MoFaz on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:09 am

Australia has different standard of fuel consumption rating. it’s a combined cycle (urban, extra-urban and highway). Saga manual is 6.3l/100km, auto 6.6l/100km.

• ibk9955 on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:49 am

apa pun campro engine petrol makan sangat kuat. itu yg penting bukan FL. accord 2.0 JB-KL petrol RM45 sahaja. ada sesiapa boleh kongsi.

• farghmee on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:19 am

stock unmodded gen2 campro 1.6 plain.
      KL-Mersing RM50 @ rm1.90/L.
      average travelling time 4hrs.
      open ur windows start menu & open the calculator to determine the average speed.

u buy a car based on ur preferences.
      go for smaller car for FC. but keep in mind that FC is of lesser importance than ur LIFE.

if u ever drive the ayer hitam – mersing road, u’ll know want good handling is all about.
      i’ve seen one white nissan latio hatchback nearly kissed the palm tree off the road.

• norifumie abe on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:25 am

my gen2 cps,kl—–>kota baharu–rm60,ade siapa2 boleh share.

• braker84 on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

saga mlm auto aku, Puchong -> JB = 3 takah (each RM12.30) = RM36 = 355km
        speed average 100kmh

• nazri on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:56 pm

saga blm 1.3 manual s.alam -> kluang – rm55
          average speed 140kmph…

• silap ar tanya pasal highway driving, mmg campro best kat higher end speed
      hehe, takat accord tu apa barang nak bangga sangat

• satria neo kl-jb, ngam2 rm50. straight 170-190 all the way. night.

• seen the car in the flesh looks really nice and upmarket.saga fl will eat out sales of viva.. and myvi too

• bmbee on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

myvi pros:
    1. faster from from stop to go
    2. good fuel consumption , like kancil

saga:
    1. more stable at high speed
    2. big boot

if the first car has fulfill the need to ‘balik kampung’ event, sure myvi can fulfill the specs for second car, for city / commuting car, not surprised it sells liek hotcakes

however saga can be good first family car though.

• pros of myvi:
    1. good fuel consumption
    2. better pick up

pros of saga:
    1. big boot for ‘balik kampung’ event
    2. more stable at high speed
    3. bigger headlamps

no wonder if myvi can outsells saga, if it’s meant for second car, most buyers do commuting everyday rather ‘balik kampung’ / long journey once in a month

saga is likely to be the first car, can cater both short and long journey, campro itself is rev-happy, good engine at higher speed, good on highway

• pros of myvi:
    1. good fuel consumption
    2. better pick up

pros of saga:
    1. big boot for ‘balik kampung’ event
    2. more stable at high speed

no wonder if myvi can outsells saga, if it’s meant for second car, most buyers do commuting everyday rather ‘balik kampung’ / long journey once in a month

saga is likely to be the first car, can cater both short and long journey, campro itself is rev-happy, good engine at higher speed, good on highway

• Not a bad facelift. Should appeal to the target audience. Though must admit at first glance, the front looks a bit like a 10 year old Honda City Type-Z.

• I have a newfound respect for some of the people in this forum.

I respect them so much because they are so brainless by using facts which are obviously “plucked from the sky” and have the courage to post it here.

Eg:-
    Look at the guy/girl who said he/she could get 35km/L with his/her Saga BLM.

35 km/L!!! OMG. That’s 82 Miles per gallon!!!!

That’s even better than a Prius with a rated 75 MPG city driving!!!!

Seriously?

SERIOUSLY?

Wow….

Respect man……

• khuaguagugini on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

“Look at the guy/girl who said he/she could get 35km/L with his/her Saga BLM.

35 km/L!!! OMG. That’s 82 Miles per gallon!!!!”

please check back that comment.
      that guy/girl said that was typing error.
      the correction said 15km/l.

so, that show you just bashing people on old fact. not the update one.
      scroll back la… lazy fella.

• syockit on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:24 pm

If you’re so clever, you’d notice that the correction is made 20 minutes *after* his bashing. Oh, maybe you thought he could see to the future that a correction was going to be made huh?

• The above comment is sufficient to rest my case…….

And btw, i can accept if he/she put there 25 instead of 15 because of the close proximity of the 1 and 2 buttons…but 1 & 3? That’s a real gap….just thinking aloud.

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:17 pm

You know… he/she have corrected that…. he/she said it supposed to be 15 km /L…. but mistype it as 35km/L due to his/her speed of typing….do check it back above there…

cheers mate =)

• syockit on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm

And they say “wow, Proton is getting better by the day!” after seeing a facelift.

I’m beginning to doubt the real identity of people who say these comments.

• Seriously Saga FL is perfect,good car at good price!it’s 10x times better than Honda City!H.City kill ppl in the fire car!

• Pls lah even if you are a true Proton supporter, don’t over do it. Saga better than City?

I have a Saga SE & City, City way better than Saga. Diff. class for different target.

The only thing Saga better than City is that Saga feels more spacious due the design. City feels cramp abit.

Don’t talk about the finishing, engine and tranmission as Saga is way out.

• Its ugly

• Faisal on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:45 am

i like. much2 better than myvi. good job proton. but i still hope that car price in Malaysia can be lowered..

• swifty on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:50 am

The rim design from the pre-FL? IIRC the rim gets new design when shown in Thailand.

• rally_fan on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

looks so much better from the front.

• Proton still producing cars?..i tot..they were supposed to closed down after loosing so much money in cheapo car and sell it in higher price?..heheheh….must be the gov help

• are you from burma sir?
      this is year 2010 and yes proton still survive and somehow kicking.

• nazri on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:50 pm

b18a nothing can be proud.. mencemar alam/bunyi
      better sold to halfcut to african country

• facelift the SAWI please on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:01 am

Proton you can done this to Saga, so to Sawi please. Don’t leave it as orphan!

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

good job proton.. 2 thumbs up…..:)

• Maserati on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Ohyeah and I do know that deep inside those proton fanboys heart is that they only support Proton online. In real life, they dont even have the confidence to buy a Proton.

All pretenders here. I know its very easy to show ur support from the comfort of ur home and behind that Pc of yours. If so, pls make sure saga sales figures improve next year. Cuz what I see is that Myvi which os more expensive and so called has poor handling is doing way better than Saga which is cheaper and has ” brilliant handling” .

Go figure!

• I like this comment……exactly how I felt.

Thanks.

• i hv 1 saga blm 2009…b4 was saga 1986…

• alldisc on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:05 am

i used to own saga megavalve in yr 2000. wira in 2004. persona in 2008.

i am thankful.

• I just bought a persona last month and I’m really proud to owned it.

• oldman on Dec 18, 2010 at 8:11 am

of course, baru sebulan….see after 3 years…

• mamat on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:40 pm

i’ve got saga iswara since 12 years ago! nothing major issues ..don’t be sceptic!

• Blu Bird on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Good for u, got mine in 2006……..it moves with lots of soothing mechanical noises n delightful creaks.

No joke but it has a used nissan brake pump n sachs touring shocks running on bridgestones AR10.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 20, 2010 at 7:41 pm

yeah go on! put your money where your mouth is and get your family to do the same!

• Blues Gang on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Saga FL additional :
    -rear power window
    -audio switches on steering wheel
    -usb and aux audio input
    -led turn signal mounted on wing mirror
    -dual airbags
    -led brake lights
    – muffler tip exhaust

WTH proton doing this.. just add 1K++. The pre-fl not got all of this goodies. But pay almost the same amount.
    Why not put all this earlier on pre-fl saga. Owner rasa macam tertipu… They put their customer feel regret.

Looked at p2, although just redesign bumper and put new colour on their FL model.. but what they did will not make the pre-fl owner feel regret.

Shame on u P1… GTH la saga FL.

• Ze blur on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Precisely,…….I also kena like that before…..what to do…..fated.

Of course, heartache lah.

At least tambah 2k ke atau 2.5k, never consider the feelings who bought this model 6 months ago….haiz….

• har_reef on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:37 am

my neighbor also get screewed by p1 SALESMAN… He just bought old saga last 3 weeks…. they should tell la that new saga FL will be launch…. its not proton, its the people inside that make all the mess….

• hero86 on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:44 pm

can not blame the salesman la.. i also bought persona se 3 month before persona elegance got out.. for those who want to buy a new car, better search for any news if they want to launch new model or facelift or what ever la..

• Tiadaid on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:42 am

That’s why you have to do your own research. Salesmen surely won’t tell you that new models coming soon obviously, he still have to clear old stock cars! Come to Paultan often if you’re looking for a car to buy, especially Malaysian makes!

• barber barberian on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:09 pm

truly agree..it is normal because their target is just to sell their product..as customer you should make research, n joining car forum like Paultan before get your car because in this technology world you can get information even 1 year before the car launched..try get info as much as you can n make decision then..

• swifty on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Everything about P1 never fails to attract a debate.

• alldisc on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

truly agree,

new model susah, no new model pun susah. sell same price susah, incresae price pun susah.

this is the main reason why proton iswara stayed 10 years without facelift (1992-2003).

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 20, 2010 at 8:02 pm

or is it because they were unable to evolve the design further due to licensing agreements or that they were too busy making wiras.

• Orang Miskin on Dec 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

for those who like to bash P1, they are actually whiners…. you like P2 go join P2 forumlah, you like honda join honda forum, you like ferrari join ferrari forum (wait some cant even buy tata nano, sure malu to go there)… proton forum is for those who can afford proton like us….. saga vs elite, of course i take saga – bigger, more comfortable..price almost same.
    the fact that they join this forum actually shows their interest…just maybe they got some other personal interest…

• why do you guys like to complain ah? doesn’t it tire you to complain?

seriously it wonders me.

• Diff Salesmen attacking each other… ha ha ha… scare No bonus bcos their car dint sell well….

• inasmah on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:35 pm

saya beli citra 3 thun lepas
    harga masa tu 78K
    cc 2.0
    minyak banyak makan woi…
    tengok Saga FL cantek plak
    nak jual citra sayang milage bawah 40k km
    Apa pandangan bro semua…..

• hansome on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

booked it!! wait for my loan!! upgrade from my viva!! next year viva price for 2nd will drop really bad enough!! so, before new year.. i should be settle this first.. Luckly, my viva do not have to toppup…. just sell like that….

• fcukers on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:19 pm

aiyar, entry level model, don’t expect too much.
    From the looks of it, pretty darn good.
    People want LED, you get LEDs.
    People like Renault Megane, you get the lookalike headlamps.
    People like Subaru Impreza, saw some kids doing it with fake bodykit.
    People like to bash Proton… who doesn’t.
    But besides poor plastic quality, the car is pretty darn good for the price.

• pawang on Dec 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Fxxin Lousy Saga
    Don’t waste your time in this 1.3 model.
    This model will be half its value once they launch the so called turbo version.
    Same applies to Exora users. Blame yourself if the value oso drop cos you
    made a bad call !!

• watever on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:37 pm

how do u know Saga will get a turbo engine ? Do u work in the Powertrain department of Proton ?

• jtiongwl on Dec 19, 2010 at 5:18 pm

I agree. Mitsubishi turbo engine from Lancer line can easily fit in. Then can lap very fast. Even the old engine ” before it kembali ke rahmatullah” can be lap also, everytime using it full throttle. it will just sound like a sinful old slave, being drag out for putting to death, crying for forgiveness from the emperor…

• yea, like to see if Proton put in 1.5L workhorse as done in Saga and Iswara before :-)

• yea… like to see if Proton put in 1.5L workhorse as done to Saga and Iswara before :-)

• butterflower on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:56 pm

it’s funny how everytime proton comes out with something there are pro-p2 bashers trying to ‘unjustify’ the viva/saga/myvi comparisons. some simple example lah:
    1. you have rm6.50. what would you have for lunch?
    a) a slice of secret recipe cake w/out drinks
    b) fancy buns/breads (some roti pizza or sandwiches) and drinks
    c) nasi campur with chicken/meat/fish and telur and veggie plus drinks
    – here you pay the same price but if you choose fancy food you know you’ll be hungry pretty soon

2. if you want to eat nasi lemak ayam/nasi ayam, where would you go?
    a) madam kwan’s/secret recipe (or whatever fancy place with rm15++ price tag)
    b) chicken rice shop/rasamas/kfc/fancy kopitiam
    c) nasi lemak ayam/nasi ayam tepi jalan/pasar malam
    – here you get about the same portion. one bowl of rice, one pc of chicken. you feel full eating either one of them. you pay extra for the added luxury

so if you pay 40k go compare saga/viva/suria picanto/i10 lah, don’t put myvi in the list.
    if you compare 1.3cc cars, myvi/saga (abs/no abs or whatever stuff you want to compare), are you willing to pay the extra 20k?

makan ayam goreng pasar malam lg mau bising2 rasa tak sama kfc. haihhh..

on the FL: will need to check this baby out. learned from experience. i used to say saga blm is “pretty ugly”, prefer the kereta kebal more. i changed my mind once i saw one. yup, proton cars are not photogenic.

lari topic again: i wonder why people i know would put viva 1st in their list than ever considering for other cars. with +-40k they can choose (or not!) saga with 1.3cc and a lot more space (too big! takut nak bawak!) or suria picanto/i10 with 1.1cc and a bit more space (don’t know but we’ll not consider it anyways!) than a 1.0 viva. oh, well.. people love their secret recipe slice of cake on any given day

• i am typing on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

to produce better looking model/car, p1 really should get someone else who has better design sense in their exterior/exterior chief designer position. spend more money on this issue much better, will bring more profit in future instead trying to come out with their own concept/cars and which has failed them so far, i mean after 25yrs now p1 should be in another level..seriously. not trying to bash or anythin..just the facts.

• i am typing on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm

people choosing p2 viva instead saga cuz the design of the car itself. viva design are more attractive than saga. they care more on the exterior overall looks when buying one.
    is win case for viva if compare the design with saga.

• butterflower on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:16 pm

typical pro-p2.. if it’s about design i choose i10 over viva. cuter (coz it’s rounder), wider, higher cc (even though just a bit) with about the same price tag

most of the time comments i receive from my friend when i suggest test-driving a suria or i10: tak nak lah, nampak tak best. uhh.. hello.. test-driving is free.. what do you have to lose? then again she didn’t even test-drive viva. only see in pictures and tumpang her uncle’s car. ever tumpang a suria or i10? nope. ever try to sit in one at car promo? nope.

plus, my comparison up there, viva is like the cheese cake. it’s plain fancy. sedap but you’re still hungry [read: if this is your 1st car, you’ll want to upgrade your car once you realize you need to carry more stuff/people or travel longer journeys]
      saga is the nasi campur. not so fancy but will serve you pretty well considering the size
      suria picanto/i10 is the fancy buns. it’s half fancy, half full. not as big/ugly as saga, not as small/fancy as viva

• vios-06 on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Dear proton,

Its too rush…to chase big volume sales like myvi.
    selling this high fuel consumption car to Malaysians for profit is not good.
    Fuel price is getting increase people will suffer

Target market: Young graduates? our graduates are now asking how many km/litre?
    within 2 years fuel consumption will increase drastically now we are consider
    hybrid & start stop engine. Stop talking about electric car that need to charge for 6~8hours.
    back to reality.

By year 2012, some small car 1.33 + hybrid + cvt will get around 35 ++km/litre.

My sugestion:
    1. modify this campro engine, lets consider high torque engine rather than high rev power engine. we are not buy car for racing we buy for daily town use. NEW CYLINDER HEAD?

2. lets push on cvt development, don’t wait for our local r&d, find out good bisness partner or buy cvt box from well known maker combine it wiith new fuel save campro.

3. try push on hybrid.. just procure it.. no need to invest

saga chasis is excellent and suspension is superb could be better than Vios & city.

if saga can go for 25km/litre by year 2012 with quality level as good as perodua, trust me proton can be number 1.

• it’s true that “saga chasis is excellent and suspension is superb could be better than Vios & city” ???

• Bagong on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Yes right. I’am vios owner and my sister is city owner. I try to drive my nephew Saga BLM and the handling & suspension is best than my vios and my sister city. This compare is for Saga BLM standard with vios & city standard that no any modification.

• wira buruk on Dec 19, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Bagong: very honest comment so far … for the car at this price, ride & handling is better than high priced japanese entry level cars ..

• urm. I bet you still duno there’s a released on the reliability score on some popular car in Malaysia.
      P2 doesnt score any better than P1.
      From the reliability rating, P1 Saga score the same as P2 Myvi. which is 152 if not mistaken.
      and then, P1 exora score 12+, which is obviously better then a P2 Myvi.

Overall winner was Isuzu Dmax. which score only about 8+.

P/s i couldnt find the link on this, anybody got the link can share it up here?

• dont you now saga sales monthly now is better than Myvi?
      just asking. search for updated sales statistic

• makeitmine on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Saga chasis is excellent but Proton need to do more to match or exceed Chevrolet 1.4 Cruze quality and performance. Lotus may lend a hand in some areas.

Forget about competing with P2 Myvi.. this nasi lemak may be selling hot but this nasi lemak stall is not going global.

If people pay peanuts, you get monkeys to do the work.

• brianjgtc on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Time to make a hybrid version and and 1liter 3 cylinder turbo is better…it can improve mpg
    like 25mpg in the city and 45mpg in the motorway. with smaller engine boost with turbocharged engine. I hope Proton Saga can enter EU market, US market and Japanese Market. If Proton Saga approved with Euro 5 emission, i think EU market consumer can buy this bargain and have a good match with Dacia Logan….
    Sales matter, but important key is improve the quality of proton. Its vital, quality is more important than quantity

• Hafiz on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Look like Waja / Inspira from in front :P
    The overall design is OK je… Nothing much. Can’t wait SE version how it’s look like.

• waimak on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm

After going through this page, I solute Proton for making such an effort to introduce this model. I however cant get these few things on my mind and wondering why:
    1. When the rest such as Hyundai, KIA, Mazda and etc re-emerge with a fresh design direction, when cant the saga, Exora & Inspira come with its proton design, clearly, boldly and unmistakenly Proton. What I see is they are all different except for the grille. Come this so called “Saga FL”, it makes me more confused and that hasn’t include the “Tuah”.
    2. Looking carefully on the rear light, Proton could do better, bcos the separation between the brake light, signal light and reverse light seem geometrically well balance.
    3. I think Proton is the only company in the world who puts “FL” for its obviously “facelifted” model. And I believe its not necessary at all. For me “FL” is sooo affecting the Saga name itself. You then see “E” and “P” in the Inspira. What’s next? “W”, “G”, “AT for auto?”

It’s good to see proton embarking on new journey but little things like these when thye’re not carefully thought of will ‘killing’ the brand..

• phrase on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:50 am

VW also have done the same thing previously. they come out with Passat CC which stand for Cosmetic Change.

• Jack TrungKap on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

please study product life cycle before you comment.

• When P! produced SAGA BLM, I said to my wife that its design look to simple and quite bad. “senang serita tak lawa langsung dan mengecewakan”. But deep in my heart I think they can do better.
    Now, with this SAGA FL.
    I believe the new look is more appealing than its predecessor.
    Its simply BETTER.
    just agree with me.
    I just brought persona for my 1st car last month and now I start thinking to own this new SAGA FL to replace kancil as my second car.

• i like it on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:10 pm

i love proton…always got something to be amazed us. Common la guyz..support our local car la. Jgn asyik kasi komen itu la..ini la..buruk la..tak setanding la..aduh. Proton sekarang dah lain dah..boleh setanding dgn jenama lain. Kualiti dan pretasi semua ada improvement. Kalau kasi harga rendah, ckp tidak ada kualiti la..low class la..kalau harga tinggi, ckp tak sampai pun nilai keta tu..tak setanding keta import tapi harga lagi tinggi. Aduh..org korea kuar keta..tgk..semua rakyat korea pakai keta negara dorg sendiri..mereka begitu bangga skali. Kita sini..hampeh..langsung takde yg boleh terima. pastu ckp pla proton takde xciden prove..hah..semua jenama keta pun sama..kalau sikap pemandu yg buruk n bawa lebih laju, pastu xciden..sama juga kan..keta hancur,orgnya pun mati. tak kisahla kalau bw Ferrari ke, BMW ke..kalau dlm kelajuan lebih 100km/j pastu xciden..keta hancur jadi besi buruk..nyawa pun melayang sia2 je. So.. sikap tu yg penting..dont judge to early…you might kill somebody… Kalau org tu kaya n mampu beli keta import..itu kebebasan dia la…dia mampu..usah dengki.. Yg org beli moto pun nak mampus byr installment..plz dun said too much..setakat nak blagak pakai camry ka, accord ka..tapi setiap bln mcm nak mati gorek duit bayar installment..Syukur apa yg ada n jgn dengki…jgn blagak juga. Anyway…. Proton all the best..new Saga FL really amazed me 100%..i will not be shy to drive it on road..i will be proud to own it..im still waiting for new Persona R on year 2012. I love Malaysia n Proton too..

• Ya ..aku setuju….dulu aku pakai kereta proton…tapi bila proton banyak problem dan servis tak bagus..aku tinggalkan proton….aku cari kereta toyota….tapi kereta toyota tu walaupun jepun bikin…masih ada masalah juga..so aku insaf dan kembali cari kereta proton..kebetulan proton juga dah insaf dan memperbaiki produk dan servis..aku terus beli saga fl keesokan hari selepas pelancarannya… sekarang aku dah dapat kereta saga fl…memang cun dan berbaloi… dapat pulak full loan… sape kata tak de duit tak boleh naik kereta…..yang penting…belilah barangan buatan malaysia…siapa lagi nak beli kereta proton kalau bukan kita rakyat malaysia…

• middleman on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:10 pm

ok enough..hehe

• En. Khai on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Rasa rugilah pulak pakai Saga BLM versi lama walaupun dah setahun beli.. Kalau

Saga FL lagi memuaskan hati…. Tambah dalam RM1000-1300 je dah boleh dapat extra…

Passanger Airbag (penting nih~!)
    Rear power window
    Radio + USB
    Rear lamp LED
    nice design
    Muffler
    Side Mirror with signal
    Fog lamp
    rear spoiler (unless u buy SE lah)

Semua ni hanya tambah Rm1k++ je.. Pergh… Ruginyeeeee beli Saga BLM yang lama~!!

• En. Khai on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Rasa rugilah pulak pakai Saga BLM versi lama walaupun dah setahun beli.. Kalau

Saga FL lagi memuaskan hati…. Tambah dalam RM1000-1300 je dah boleh dapat extra…

Passanger Airbag (penting nih~!)
    Rear power window
    Radio + USB
    Rear lamp LED
    nice design
    Muffler
    Side Mirror with signal
    Fog lamp
    rear spoiler (unless u buy SE lah)

Semua ni hanya tambah Rm1k++ je.. Pergh… Ruginyeeeee beli Saga BLM yang lama~!! Owh nasib…

• proton tried their best to produce a car that everyone can buy..
    ask yourself..
    can u afford buying a bmw or merc if your salary just around 1k??
    then you all said that perodua are better..
    think about it, most proton cars right now like persona , saga etc are design by “anak malaysia”
    not some re-badge car from toyota or daihatsu..
    even they re-badge inspira from mitsubishi lancer is to let malaysian buy a “almost” same car but with low prices..
    think about it…
    don’t judge proton because they once fell before..
    if you don’t like cars that proton produce then don’t bother buy one and how about make your own company..

• For my opinion, This Saga FL is the car for most Malaysian…. most of the things It got & price is reasonable, just it don’ have ABS & EBD…. The looks? Ook ok lah~ Bank should offer special interest rate for ppl who buy Saga, like 1.88%???? if 4% or above….. U killing the low income ppl….

• Jack TrungKap on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm

looks like the designer is high on horse piss when he is designing this.

• Ali "The Proton" Ahmad on Dec 18, 2010 at 4:23 pm

WTF u talking about. no one drink horse piss in our company. i swear. really.

• makeitmine on Dec 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Proton, next time do think about pre-fl owners and let them have the options to DIY facelift. This will also increase your parts/accessories sale.

• makeitmine on Dec 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Proton, do think about pre-fl owners and let them have the options to DIY facelift. This will also increase your parts/accessories sale.

• Tengokje.. on Dec 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Please P1…don’t compromise with the quality of the material that being used in your line up. Keep it up and same goes for the fitting in your line up..anyway nice design and a little increase in the price tag.
    Salam…

• lolwut on Dec 18, 2010 at 11:28 pm

saya pergi tengok saga FL ni kat showroom tadi..

at first i was like. proton.. hmm.. then i was like.. OMG.. very nice quality..

seriously.. this is far better quality compare to the Gen2.. the seat are soft.. the plastic feels expensive and the finishing is smooth and clean.. really like it.. i gonna order one in january
      =))

• makeitmine on Dec 19, 2010 at 7:11 am

Proton, enforce quality control at each stage of production process and not only at the end of production. The workmanship, fittings and fixtures must also look good.

Do send each car for stress testing, so that you can weed out the loose fittings and improper fixtures. It is the small things that create problems to the car owners like central locking, steering pull to one side, high fuel consumption, fuel level float, noise from pillars, windnoise due to faulty windstrip, dash/windshield rattles, throttle delay, etc.

• 1 Malaysian on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:03 am

Fender tayar tu besarkan lagi supaya boleh masuk sport rim 16-17 inci. Baru mantap dan bergaya… senang untuk buat standard make up…

• 1 Malaysian on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:14 am

BEST MALAYSIA PRODUK tapi mintak engineer proton besarkan sikit fender tayar tu supaya org2 muda leh make up masuk sport rim 16 @ 17 inci… Baru la boleh bergaya.. Yg lain no komen sebab proton dah berjaya mengatasinya dengan cemerlang dengan penambahan beberapa lagi ciri2 untuk keselesaan pengguna.
    1) Power window 4 pintu.. -SGT BAGUS
    2) Reka bentuk depan lagi menawan- SGT BAGUS
    3) Minyak?? – SAVE
    4) Ruang luas untuk penumbang dan barang – SGT BAGUS
    Yg penting, org akan demand antara viva dan saga.. yg mana lebih sesuai…
    SYABAS PROTON & TERUS TINGKATKAN DAYA SAING ANDA.
    “Produk kita kebanggaan kita..!!”

• jembut on Dec 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

if u hv more money n wanna get powerful transport y dun u get heli or mayb aero perhaps? we hv high speed limit 110kmph maaaa….dun blame on p1 or p2… dun gado2… nobody perfect.

nak lagi laju naek j keranda.full spec

• Berita Semasa Online on Dec 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Apa-apapun orang kata, Saga FL terbaru ni memang bagus.Benda-benda yang sepatutnya ada masa Saga BLM dulu macam suis power windows 4 pintu,lampu led, dah ada kat saga FL ni.

Apa lagi yang korang nak pun tak tahulah.Ramai yang cakap je.Pandai kutuk, tapi sebenarnya xnak mengakui yang saga FL ni memang bagus serba serbi.

Kekurangannya mungkinlah pada safety.Ni je satu aku tak sokong pasal safety patut ada pada semua variasi.Tak kisahla premium ke, executive ke.patut ada ABS,EBA semua tu.dan patut ada beg udara pada varian lain selain executive.

Dan satu lagi, aku sokong kalau ruang tayar tu dibesarkan sikit sepatutnya.baru dapat tarik bebudak muda nak pakai rim besar bagi nampak sporty.

• Saw this new SAGA this morning.

In terms of look, it is way better than the pre-FL.

What I can say is SAGA has all what Myvi has but at the price of Viva.

I wish the engine and fuel consumption are good too.

Anybody has experience wth SAGA engine and fuel consumption?

• should be the same as previous version, since only change bumpers, Led & bla bla bla… Engine No Change….

• MAT KOBOI on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:52 pm

design ok…but fuel consumption….not good

• zainal abidin on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:22 am

What did you get for a full tank of fuel? My 1 month old FL auto gets about 300km (mostly urban + a little highway)… Is it normal? Thanks

• Steven on Dec 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Now am thinking where to send my BLM to have all the new specs found in Saga FL to be installed in it……………….any suggestion from the floor?

• so you have to change front and rear bumper, front and rear lights, side mirrors, at least. that is major works, good luck..

• Steven on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:21 am

Worth looking into it though judging by the after transformation look. So any good contact on good workmanship and pricing?

• ikat perut on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:04 am

for the sake of originality…just trade in ur BLM and get the FL wakaka…

• boombox on Dec 21, 2010 at 11:40 pm

wow! too many comments, cant read it all. whatever it is, i’ll support proton. I can see proton is making progress.Proton is getting better and its products also gettig better.

• Nobody on Dec 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

what ever it is u guys are talking about.. if its just the design that pleases the buyers eyes and not the interior engine and the quality… then whats the purpose of even launching one new FL..? the real fact that P1 is building a car is to please Rakyat’s eyes.. and its getting more and more expensive + engine is locally made.. and not a colaboration with mitsubishi/ renault. is this considered sucking blood..? i like to ask questions.. so u guys give me a feedback.. ask urself.. if the engine parts or car parts are in colaboration with japan/ european company, i don’t mind paying expensive for the car.. but right now it the fact that… locally made engine cost more than an engine that has been colaborated with japan/ european compay.. i dare u to just ‘shoot’ me back with ur reasons…

one thing that i agree with Jeremy from TopGear is that.. our local car is RUBBISH… even waja that is a 60k++ car has only a 3 star crash rating..

and if the government tax is abolished.. guess wat.. P1 and P2 already ‘jatuh’.. u can get better cars at price of 60k.. which is the toyota altis/honda civic/mitsubishi and etc….

government suck blood! only those ppl that are still ‘katak di bawah tempurung’ will stand up and say u losers! stop hating P1 and P2.. but in the fact.. they don’t wan to admit that this statement is true..

even the same case for superbikes…. over-charge because of the taxes… yamaha R1 cost like 90k++.. and i can buy a MPV with it.. BMW superbikes cost more than 100k++

ask urself if this is true! don ‘tutup sebelah mata’ and act like nothing is wrong.. cause if u don’t notice what is wrong.. then ur just pure DUMB.. just kick the bucket…

• heloo on Dec 22, 2010 at 5:31 pm

heloo…( Nobody ) you are suck dude…im a BMW X6 owner, i got 1 new estima and 2 merc.. Totally Sh!t man..maintenance fee is killing me..fuel is sucking me to death..the ori part make me cry to buy.. Ya..all my car is tip top quality and luxury..im not saying im want to action here. But im already test drive on Proton Saga FL..OMG..is totally good and the peformance also good..i go for the sharp conner turn, quick braking, U turn, and somemore la..yaa..This Proton Saga FL just do it better..i can simply handle it..bcoz of Lotus ride inside..im totally amazed with it..this one is true..the Saga FL driving handle almost my BMW X6..Proton really do their best to improve their product quality and performance..know what..im already booked 1 Saga FL. Trust me…. like the ( i like it ) said..love malaysia and support our local car..for those still thinking like sh!t..go la buy one Imported car..you just want to blagak only…i buy those imported car, coz i want to feel it how is the feeling when ride on it..not to blagak..for me..all my car almost same with New Saga FL ride. I cant wait for my New Saga FL..now a day our money value getting small…not every one can buy imported car…Proton produce their car that can provide more quality, safety, performance.and almost same with branded car quality that all Malaysian can buy..and proud with.

• P1 banzai on Jan 13, 2011 at 6:16 pm

@heloo

Please do not BS here, ask any car’s expert or even a child, they can tell you what is the different between your so called “luxury cars” and Your beloved proton saga FL. You are comparing pure gems with a unwanted Milo tin!!! I bet you are someone working with Proton. Furthermore, I suspect you are just a sore loser who claim he has this and that via online but in reality only have a proton saga FL. READ more foreign magazine or third part magazine or car’s expert advice, most of them will rate proton’s product as 1 or 2 star out of 5 star. ( i believe it deserve a no star but to give face, need to give at least 1 star lar)

• blabla on Jan 16, 2011 at 4:18 pm

since you can afford luxury car and want to save fuel , good handling .. GO BUY HYBRID CAR LA NOOB !!!!!!!

• zainal abidin on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:12 am

WOW !!! Lucky you !!! I’m an FL auto owner…So far everything’s FINE with the car….handling’s good too…I changed the tyres to Michelin XM1 for better feel…. But can anybody here advice me on how to improve the milage? Is it normal to get almost 300km for a full tank? (urban and highway). Thanks guys…

• calculator on May 20, 2011 at 7:01 pm

ooooo the specs say full tank is 40lit (http://www.proton2020.com/saga-specs.asp).

So ur FC is 13.3333lit/100km.

Looks bad bro!

• Ellen on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Ya, i think i also having problem of consume petrol, Rm50 only can go for 250km but sometimes less than that. Very high consume petrol.

• Jaki Jipang on Dec 28, 2010 at 8:50 am

@nobody you’re asking why proton’s own engine is more expensive than an engine made by collaboration? my answer: Research & Development.. the cost to research on making a new engine is really expensive my friend, while in collaborations, the cost is split between the collaborated companies, therefore reducing the price..

• This new FL are so much good & reasonable at price.The only thing I really frustrated is why don’t they put rear power window for the BLM version?Well at least they done it for M-Line or SE version previously.Plus,price range are very slim then this also means that its a loss to anyone who use BLM by this very moment,example like myself who bought the SE version.If I knew this model will have all power windows,I’ll not buy the BLM last time & if there are 100 people who think like me,I don’t think Proton will achieve their marketing target previously.Remember,be thankful to older BLM customer since because of them Proton can make it once again.I always support Proton no matter what but this time I suddenly feels that I’ve been cheated.Anyway,guys,correct me if I’m wrong since I’m not from economic or bussiness background but this is how i feel.

• fantausy on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:54 am

I saw from the photo on the driver side, they actually is giving 4 doors power window now!

• carcommenter on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:54 pm

the front headlamps mcm bru lps accident lahhh, i think the pre-facelifted is great, the design is simple but excecutive, i was very sad b’coz my farher loves this car

• SambalBelacan on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:20 am

I think the BLM SE owner will be very piss off. They spent more but they get less. No passenger side air bag, no led turning light, no led rear light, no rear reflector. Pity them.

• SambalBelacan on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:24 am

I think the BLM SE owners will be very mad becoz they spent more but they got less. No rear power windows, no passenger side’s air bag, no LED signal light, not LED rear light, no reflector, no nice chrome pipe tail. Pity them.

• mamat on Dec 30, 2010 at 11:38 pm

that’s we call ..IMPROVEMENT! ..so gonna want the old one? juz get it from EON ..then u gets RM2.5k rebate!

• bonceng on Jan 01, 2011 at 10:44 pm

yeah improvement from outside..how about inside the bonnet?still using old campro iafm..wake up dude..

• this car look like katak from the graphic photo…. but i like it!! for 1st car buyer…saga wil be better bcoz there is a boot to carry children trolley if u need to bring ur baby around during travel…. to carry older citizen wheelchair bcoz older citizen tend to fall and hv fracture … or cant walk due to muscle weakness due to old age… tak kan nak buang mereka kat rumah semasa pi travel ….. 2nd car viva wil do because save petrol

• izack04 on Dec 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

nice car…….good price for new facelift with add on

• dulu myvi sekarang saga blm on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:17 pm

I LOVE SAGA BLM..

• ZU PA on Dec 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

I love this car!

My only concern is that will it’s parts be ok over a 10 year period.

Strangely, I think the standard model should have at least 1 airbag……

• Faisal on Dec 28, 2010 at 9:01 am

Proton is improving!! Very good!! I like!! hmm.. but i still think the car price here is expensive.. hmm..

• wira buruk on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:27 am

Proton’s best seller now even better .. performance much-much better than Viva in the same price range … lebey hensem berbanding Latio Sedan?

• coco_nuts on Dec 29, 2010 at 2:07 pm

EON used to be very arrogant and so capitalistic, very much to the expense of PROTON in the eyes of the common Malaysian.

Simply added few gadgets (read: mandatory stripe, power windows, alarm etc), creating false high demand with speculators booking resulting in waiting period of Saga exceeded 8-12 months, thus the second hand PROTON price bubbled beyond the logic depreciation arimethic.

In the process, rewarding themselves with fat bonuses, big incentives, fantastic equity prices, very much at the expense of the Malaysian commoners.

Maybe PROTON has learned from their past mistake, letting other people control and enjoys the golden goose whilst the PROTON-ian are working around the clock for peanuts. Just don’t loose sight, who provides the goose with the cheese and mayonese, the Malaysian.

Nowadays, I see the exact scenario happening with Toyota and Perodua. My guess, the same game plan being transferred to them, enjoy the bountys whilst the Malaysian being held at ransom, they are laughing all their ways to the banks. Are we so foul?

Wake up PROTON, you have to redeem the dignity of Malaysian. Make us pride to own and drive PROTON’s, no more petty failure, no more Toyos quality of the 70’s.

PROTON, never say never! Stand up, be the true Kashtriya!

• dulu myvi sekarang saga blm on Dec 30, 2010 at 11:28 pm

this car will beat myvi sales and become best selling car model in 2011..
    well done proton!! good job..

really proud with proton right now..yes,kudos for proton designer and development teams due to bring this Facelift…

really good as rajagobal and malaysian football team…yahoo..tommorow is public holiday!!

• dulu myvi sekarang saga blm on Dec 30, 2010 at 11:51 pm

when this gorgeous FL park beside vious,i’m certain believe vious look so ugly..he,he just my 50 cent..

viva? ha,ha…ibarat pipit dengan enggang…jangan marah ha…

for those perodua salesman dont be mad okay..this is fact..maybe p2 should do something before their frontline sales person feel hard to grab their sale portion on the market..same goes to their existing customer or loyal supporters…

• 0rganicaDesign on Dec 31, 2010 at 3:40 pm

not propotion… i like the old one… =)

• ludy sofardi on Jan 02, 2011 at 8:45 am

i like saga fl,its better and may be i will get on IIMS,because i’ve just bought persona,more powerful.

• LimSamKo on Jan 02, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Don’t you guy think the front lamp looks like…….. New Mercedes-Benz E-Class… one…

• hero86 on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:40 pm

sorie guys.. i take my word back! its look awesome in real.. u got to look it by yourself.. ha3.. even, my father want one..

• Assad on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:01 am

Just noticed something. If you watch the 1st video, slide it to 5.32 and most probably you’ll notice something. The debris weren’t moving! Does the cruising actually fast forwarded?

Not bashing BTW.

• shaun on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:00 am

I think this is a pointless face lift. What is the reason for it anyway? Better handling? Better weight distribution? Better aerodynamics? Better Performance *snicker*? It’s 1k or 2k more expensive for the same drive as its predecessor then this shouldn’t be even produced. What a way to waste all those man hours in R&D Dept. If we can even call it that. Proton is definitely proving that what other manufacturers can do, they can’t. Make it worth our time as with yours.. Protorn. Oh and please excuse my reference to Proton being a “manufacturer”. They are just “car makers”. Btw check out Samsung made cars..They have really nice ones over in South Korea.

• samsung car is also only a car makers lo..they produce car mostly based on Nissan and Renault cars..

• Tiadaid on Jan 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

You can say the same about Toyota and their Vios facelift too. Only the price rise is much higher! So Toyota is a car maker too huh?

• shazwi on Jan 06, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Nice price and features . But the headlamp and grille abit ugly . If fix it abit like Kia Forte , this will be my first car .

• Fion Lee on Jan 08, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Proton Saga FL i like it,i book already now waiting only

• Auntie Rosmah on Jan 09, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Cheap car for cheap people! :D

• yunus ibr on Jan 09, 2011 at 9:20 pm

congratulation proton for introducing the 2nd generation saga fl. keepup the goodwork, of improoving through R&D. Try to concentrate at improving the engine perfomance/pover and fuel consumtion – introdusing the turbo teachniq for eg…….? At least now proton had already satisfied the majority market for basic car at a very competetive price,,, Congrats..

• AlexeiSaw on Jan 10, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Proud to have this FL to be anyone’s 1st car :)

• nazirul azizi on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:12 am

p1 hav 2 make sure all parts are in good quality….i bought brand new persona elegance and sadly the hon doesnt sound…check 2 workshop and found it broken on 1st day i get the car…icare only replace in one month that quality of management is sucks…it seems is name i dont care after i spend nearly 60k for my new car

• S.Roma on Jan 12, 2011 at 8:54 am

Dear All,

From my opinion…

Like – the rear look, LED tail lamp, the price increment is only a bit for FL model, side miror with signal light, steering with vol control, spacious like Wira.

Dislike – too basic engine (suppose CPS), front head lights, throttle lag / delay (Not sure if still got or not), fuel consumption is high compare to Myvi with same cc which is 1.3 (compare MT to MT).

Overall, ok lor… more like than dislike for me… for 1st car, i recommend to buy this 1…

• banzai88 on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:37 am

i agree..it does look ok laa..but somehow it doesn’t presenting the original look of a saga..the old saga looks tougher and bold but the new one looks very soft and fragile..

• OMG this look like America version 2012 Passat!

• Mr Jar on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:55 am

I don’t understand why people keep saying Proton is cheap and nice. Yes it is cheap by Malaysia standard but this is because our great government impose high taxes on all the import cars!!!!!!!! You can buy a City starting from Rm54000 in Thailand and if you compare side by side with a city, would you buy a proton ? I rather add extra 10k to be assure of the quality and driving comfort but unfortunately this is Malaysia where our great Government increase the price of other import cars to make proton look cheap and affordable. That is why Proton will never make it big in oversea cause their product SUCK for that price range. Just read any car review from oversea, and you will know that most of the proton product are sitting at the rock bottom.

• Say what? on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:40 pm

and here we are in malaysia..not oversea

• scgtimk1 on Jan 13, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Yeah let the swift price the same as Myvi and let see Perodua die natrally…

• P1 banzai on Jan 13, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Yea, unfortunately this is a reality. P1 and P2 are benefiting from our dear government policy. It is was meant to protect them in the first place. It is true if you put a proton saga and a city side by side with around the same price tag, a resounding 99% will go for a Honda city. Too bad, this is not happening. P1 and P2 has been squeezing the consumer’s money with a cheapskate product. I do not see this trend to stop and it will continue until pigs can fly

• ariza zarif on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Hi,
    i am considering to purchase a new car.
    The choices are Saga FL (Executive-Auto)1.3 and Persona (Auto) 1.5.
    Which one is better in term of engine and fuel consumption?
    Which one would you all recommed?

TQ..

• Accord on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I will recomend Persona.. Its 1.6 not 1.5. Persona much nicer than Saga

• SambalBelacan on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:39 pm

In term of engine, both are at the same quality(Campro iafm 1.3 vs Campro iafm 1.6). Of course 1.6 more powerful but the body weight of the persona is 100kg++ heavier than saga fl.Fuel consumtion is also identical due to high gear ration of the saga gearbox(3300rpm at 100KMph for saga manual, 3100-3200 rpm at 100kmph for saga auto, compares to persona auto:2800rpm at 100kmph).
      So you better make your decision base on other demand.
      Handling: Persona win.
      Stylish: Depend on your point of view but persona look more sporty.
      Interior design: Saga win.
      Value for money;Saga win.
      Weakness/common problems: Saga:IAFM module failure, weird sound coming from the suspension ang interior. Persona Elegance :ECU problem.(in some cases, this problem cannot be fix even after sent it to SC for inspection .)
      Space: Surprisingly saga feel more spacious! Don’t simply judge based on their wheel base:saga:24xxmm,Persona:2600mm. You ll have to test drive both car and i’m sure by that time, you will know which car you prefer most.

• Yep. a test drive is a must, then only decide based on how you feel and not what other ppl says. After all, who is driving the car? who is paying for the car? It’s YOU. so you decide for yourself.

**personal opinion: car is a depreciating asset. buy the cheapest one that fulfills your need comfortably and invest whatever balance money you have. who knows? 5-10 years down the road, you don’t have to limit your car choices to local-made only.

• Honda and Proton quality is the same :)

• P1 banzai on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:44 am

One of the biggest bullshit i ever heard. If Proton really have the same quality with a Honda then honda would have “gulung tikar” centuries ago and Proton will be one of the top brand in the world, hence they might even have a F1 team and a Robot named after one of our PMs. Google and read review, dun be a “katak di bawah tempurung” and thought being a Jaguh Kampung is the best achievement

• paultanfan on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

B a jaguh kampung first la..then improving la. latest from paultan, CUSCO buy satria neo in standard and equip them with their motorsport accessories. why company from oversea buy proton neo?? think guys, proton improving, produa improving..support local product la. read: http://paultan.org/2011/01/14/cusco-to-sell-proton-satria-neo-s2000-rally-car-in-japan/

• Tiadaid on Jan 15, 2011 at 2:20 am

Dunno about JDM Hondas, but that’s actually true for the ASEAN Hondas eg City

• kalunkoup on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Proton is getting worse..
    The Design language is just odd and rubbish
    I really don’t like the front grill compare to Kia (kia forte)
    The engine is underpower and Proton is very stupid in join venture for making engine
    They join venture with a power drill company (borsh) and lotus who are less experince in making engine..
    Proton like to copy design and engine juz like Proton Inspira.. I better buy mitsubishi lancer ex than buying that junk..
    And I think the goverment will go away from the national autocar maker.. They use Kia Forte to replace(maybe) The old underpowered and troblesome Proton Waja.
    I think Proton should hired a German or Italian car designer just like kia.. and try to remake the engine with a more professional car manufacturer just like Mercedes Benz, BMW or Audi.
    Like the British top gear always say to ALL MALAYSIAN CARS, the interior quality and design is RUBBISH..
    The interior look plastiky and hollow.. Doesn’t look appealing to the eyes and cause suffering throught your life for buying the worse car EVER!!
    Well, hope you enjoy my comment.
    Any comment, please comment my comment (weird)..
    Thanks.. Malaysian cars sucks!!

• jl@ipl on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Ha-ha-ha,

Emotion base comment.

Power drill company? BOSCH la wei, not Borsh!! Check it out, http://www.bosch.com/content/language2/html/index.htm.

It is a HUGE company with multiple technical knowhow. I was a former employee from one of their divisions! So, don’t “bull” me.

They are the right company to collaborate. Not just engine, but just about anything.

Malaysia cars great!
      Sadly, some Malaysia just don’t see that, unlike Korean and Japanese see their cars.

Do you know the reasons behind “rebagding” the Lancer? Coz, Naza can do the same to Kia Forte and enjoy the same benefit Proton get when the DEVELOP A CAR ON THEIR OWN FROM SCRATCH.

THAT THE FACTS. It is not PROTON screw up.

If that Forte so good, why my cousin’s neighbour died in her brand new Forte?

It not the car, it is the people. Always the people, the HUMAN.

• Homo Sapiens fault… The attitude should change, that for sure…. Sometimes we should try supporting our own National carmaker… they still learning n improving .

• rosdi on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:48 am

My wife just booked this car, Executive solid white. Now waiting for the loan to be approved.

• haiz…Mercedes or BMW is using plastic too but good plastic coz it’s quite expensive mah if u hate plastic then close ur eye and drive loh haha….Honda still can’t beat Kia and Proton coz Honda is so ugly yuck!

• to all saga blm owners, i think those who want to improve throttle respond, the cheapest way is to change the spark plug to iridium based. the standard one is ngk r platinum spark plug. u can choose either NGK iridium TR61X or Denso IT20 or Bosch iridiumplatinum fussion HGR7DQI.
    this spark plug is specually design for campro/campro iafm/campro cps engine. it will cost u around 100-150 ringgit per set. of course it will not increase horse power or torque of the engine but it help improving throttle response and a liitle bit help in fuel efficiency. u will feel the different instantly. in fuel efficiency, based on my experience using bosch iridium, it increase fuel efficiency around 5%. eventhough it is not that much, but its worth it since this plug can last until 100000 km before need to change. hopefully this info can help others.my fathers blm also using it and it help increase it throttle response.
    remember to buy original spark plugs, beware of imitation and dont buy the wrong ones because every engine use different type of spark plug, so get the right one.

• to all saga blm owners, i think those who want to improve throttle respond, the cheapest way is to change the spark plug to iridium based. the standard one is ngk r platinum spark plug. u can choose either NGK iridium TR61X or Denso IT20 or Bosch iridiumplatinum fussion HGR7DQI.
    this spark plug is specually design for campro/campro iafm/campro cps engine. it will cost u around 100-150 ringgit per set. of course it will not increase horse power or torque of the engine but it help improving throttle response and a liitle bit help in fuel efficiency. u will feel the different instantly. in fuel efficiency, based on my experience using bosch iridium, it increase fuel efficiency around 5%. eventhough it is not that much, but its worth it since this plug can last until 100000 km before need to change. hopefully this info can help others.my fathers blm also using it and it help increase it throttle response.
    remember to buy original spark plugs, beware of imitation and dont buy the wrong ones because every engine use different type of spark plug, so get the right one…

• atommen on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:36 pm

the new FL front facade resemble that of a suzuki super compact sedan.

• At least it have airbag on passenger side….and side mirror with LED….maybe this is my 1st car after i graduate~

• kickstart on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:21 pm

waiting for loan to be approved. expecting the executive solid white after CNY. FYI myvi and viva crappy for climbing hilly road. tested both and a saga blm auto. seems that saga is the winner. sorry perodua. yup i see a viva elite overheated on the side of the road during climbing. damn that 1.6 saga taxi is hard to overtake during climbing. even by a 2.5 hilux vigo. i wonder y guys drive a feminine car.. she-guy ka?

• Sambal Belacan on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:52 pm

I own a Saga BLM, Rubber at door panel broken since week 1. At 15000km mileage, IAFM malfunction. Now at 20000KM mileage, chair lose creating weird sound, door panels got sounds, steering senget sebelah.OMG! I just bought the car 2 years and it now drive worst compared to my father 25 years Toyota Corolla and my mom 13 years Iswara.

• kickstart on Jan 26, 2011 at 10:27 am

pity u. my father 2008 saga blm still in great cond. 40k-50k i guess. i hit n run a poor dog last time. no scratch at all. u drive like no tomorrow eh?

• Sambal Belacan on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:03 pm

i drive like gentlemen. I never speeding.Always keep the speed under 100kmph. Always servis at the SC. I take care of my BLM but it always bring me troubles! Why?

• dunaluna on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:21 pm

i feel sorry for you fifteen if u feel that way…this new look is really superb n looks like an imported car…even you don`t support PROTON….u at least say sth nice,because PROTON is our 1st car and already been arnd the globe…support MALAYSIA…^^

• fraz006 on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:50 pm

if I buy this FL, i ll definitely paint the fog lamp support and grills the same color like body color. saw few bright color Saga FL around here, they are not ugly but looks weird a bit.

if you want to buy this FL, buy dark color ones. it has old viosish look, not the dugong one, so take that as a compliment.

wait till there are bodykits ready for this version. try the slim waist type, like the current modulo bodykit, put 16″ multispoke rims, and it will look 10x better. fat waist type is tak masuk to my eyes, just look at current Kia Forte with bodykit as example, BURUK, gemok!

• TheKop on Jan 27, 2011 at 12:11 pm

im expecting to get my fl blue rock color tomorrow@next monday..approved loan on 17/1, get my reg plate 2 days ago. Anyway its a good value car for young executive..slow2 climb maa..

• fraz006 on Jan 28, 2011 at 12:42 am

Kongratulasi. best color choice. thats what i am talking about.

• June Lee on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm

I’m considering buying a proton saga…can you give me a list with information on car price, deposit, monthly payment, etc…thank you.

• Thekop on Jan 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Give me ur email..ill send it to u..i just got my car this morning…sad for ‘her’ need to wait for me to come since tuesday…

• Poorguy on Feb 04, 2011 at 1:05 am

More concerned on the performance & fuel economy. Petrol is expensive nowadays. The exterior is considered pass (headlights looks ok) but could be better with more sharper look especially at the back. To judge by the pictures, interior looks very outdated design and poor quality material, maybe otherwise it will not be cheaper…

I guess poor people are left with not much choices, and there goes the sales. I do not like it, knowing they are trying to add more features to it to attract and compete against others but with outdated design, low quality material and engine; again, maybe otherwise it will not be cheaper… But it just doesn’t impress me at all…

This car is meant for poor people like me. I guess middle class will not even give a second thought if he could afford better one. To me, a good car should not give owner much problem and cost. But a poor car could cost you much.

• aaaaaaaa on Feb 04, 2011 at 5:37 pm

this will be my first car..:)

• P'tre Chan on Feb 04, 2011 at 5:42 pm

I just got my New Saga FL 2011 on 19 Jan.
    My car came without the plastic wrapper for the seats (I wonder did they give me the display set). I asked the Salesperson and he said he removed for me because it is more convenient .

Within a week, I encountered 4 problems.
    [1] Wiper water (don’t know what to call it) is not functioning.
    * Proton fixed it
    [2] Left front tyre has knocking sound, obvious during slow speed and can hear it loud and clear when shaking my car while not moving.
    * Proton said fixed because my tyre pressure is too high, but I have not do anything about it. After I checked, it is still the same, I talked to the service advisor, his feedback: is like that one, this is factory specification, all the tyres are lock very tight, ask me to come back when reach 1000km first service.
    [3] Front seats Doors have many knocking sounds while my car is moving, especially driving on uneven road.
    * Proton said something attached with the lock knob is the root caused and it is already fixed. But it is still the same after I drove out of Proton Place.
    [4] Aircond is so cold in the night (very good), but in the hot noon (no good). sometimes cold sometimes not so cold, aircond breathing sound is very loud. I have not bring this problem to Proton yet, I doubt they wont do anything neither.

In general, Proton Service is bad.
    * Only open for customer complain on weekdays, unfair for working people like me.
    * SLOW, i booked my appointment on 9am, after waited until 11 45am, I went to remind the service adviser, he seems forgot who am I, and I can see he just started to explore my car’s problem after I reminded him. The 3 problems above were “fixed” within 30 mins.
    * I can see many people who just got their new car ended up in Proton, some of them have much worst case than me.

My opinion,
    * Proton Saga is definitely LOW POWER, RPM can go high but very unstable, I can always feel the car is very heavy…
    * I know that Proton is not expensive car and I cannot complain much about it, but new car should NOT have this kind of problems!!!! It is all about Quality, NOT price issue!!!!
    * Compare with My-V, My-V is so much better!!!!!!!
    * If can have second chance, i will CONFIRM buy My-V
    * But what done is done, I hope proton will fixed my new car problems, when I meet them in my first 1000km service.

Will update again, to be continue…………

• TheKop on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Proton cars is always like that. Always depends on ur luck whether u get a good new car or otherwise. Mine got my car for 9 days already..overall experience 1st of cos i find it very heavy to move from idle if u want it to move fast at traffic light or hill road. I knew its because i chose AT transmission. Its already mentioned in many blogs that CAMPRO engine is like that (be manual and AT). Its a HI-REV engine but slow to pick up. But once u get in to 2nd gear it should be OK. This i find it can be solve by using more power spark plug thats iridium base which will bring throttle response and pick up to a new level. So need $$ to spend la..but its ok because by having a quick pick up and throttle response..fuel also can save a bit. Im lucky because i bought my saga fl at COE Kesas (Proton HQ), so i got my car fast within 6 days, and i took my car at customer delivery garage underground which is full with new cars with untouch plastic wrapping waiting for the owner to take their car and it took hour for my SA explaining every detail and function of the car (recommend buy from here). I counter no issue of knocking sound so far but i do realised the car sound insulation is not so good. Because sometimes i can hear the engine roar sound which is acceptable for me since its entry level car. But comfortable wise, suspension performance when take cornering or driving on uneven road is great for me and its much..much n far much better than My v and Viva Super Elite Exclusive Extra Emphasis Meletop Kaboom Hot Anniversary Edition if compete with this saga fl. Its deceiving if people say perodua engine much better that proton. The answer is no. Everyday i seen this perodua with loud sound of engine from outside. Well, Malaysian Boleh land car. What do u expect??

• Looks like you hv been simply deceived by Proton again.
      Although this car is supposed to be entry-level, it should not hv that many QC issues at all, never mind the price alone.
      Better count your blessings on your 1st service as PESB staff would most likely tell you that all your complaints are considered “normal” to their standards.
      I-care line? Don’t bother.
      HQ? They will probably tell you to wait. And wait.
      Cannot wait? Sell your car & buy another lah. This is Malaysia mah…..

• Pioneer Car Player on Feb 04, 2011 at 6:11 pm

What is the purpose of buttons on the steering? I’ve already book the executive one, however I do not see the exact physical of saga fl as the roadshow only display the standard one.

• P'tre Chan on Feb 04, 2011 at 7:00 pm

I just got my New Saga FL 2011 on 19 Jan.
    My car came without the plastic wrapper for the seats (I wonder did they give me the display set). I asked the Salesperson and he said he removed for me because it is more convenient.

• Norbayah Yambang on Feb 06, 2011 at 9:32 am

saya bercadang hendak membeli saga fl, soalan saya apa promotion yang akan diberikan oleh eon pada bulan ini?

• P'tre Chan on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Today is my first service in Proton and I am now in Proton using thier customer PC to sulf the net.
    Waited since 9am until 2pm (current)! It is so hard to look for the SA!!!
    Just dissapeared !!!! asked poeple around just tell me dunno
    I am so sick of this….
    I wonder can they really fix my new car problem?? Or just another wasted day in Proton……… HELP!!!!!!!

• P'tre Chan on Feb 07, 2011 at 4:38 pm

There is still no improvement after 6 hours of waiting!!
    Please do not buy PROTON!! It is hopeless. You will regret it !!!

• TheKop on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:14 am

Suggest u try send to COE and report to them. Which SC u send ur car yesterday?

• Malaysia mah, what u expect?
      Change car lah, sure less problem one. Grenti.

• Rahkshi on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:15 am

get this car next week , black executive.. going be my first car to campus… so far i test drive , the handling is superb in that price compare to viva (same price) , i feel it is more comfortable on rough road compare to viva (same price) . but i feel this car has no power on its 1st gear (auto ) , but when get into second gear , it back to normal.. that is my though during that test drive as i normally drive my parents toyota camry and never drive other type of car … peace :)

• zainal abidin on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:35 am

My FL auto is about 1 month old…so far everything is fine except for the fuel consumption…can anybody advice me on how to increase the milage? I get about 300 km per full tank (mostly urban + highway).

• mohamad on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:12 pm

saya baru beli saga fl.seminggu.alrm dah xblh pakai…service pertama pun blum..baru 700 milage.1st time use proton..boleh komen ?

• aku baru jgk beli FL,ok je.xda masalah pape pn.baru lps 1st service

• klu perhatin skit, bunyi enjin kasar, gear MT tu gegar.
      fc tak brp bes.

• shanaz on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:44 am

look like honda..ouh man ,..i really like it,.thanks for the improvement in design..hope get imrovemnt in performance also..

• takashi on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:38 am

Proton Saga FL have one problem, the audio must switch off, defrozer also. I think must of them must switch off otherwise battery will drain fast. Please pass this to all your friend. Thanks!

• barber-san on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

takashi – thanks for this info..!

• my 1st car.overall is ok,but the aircond is so cool.i can’t stand on it.the cabin is spacious and the suspension is superb!

• KATAKPOYO on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:04 pm

SAGA BLM BOLEH X CONVERT SAGA FL DEPAN JA. MASUK X BRACKET? LAMPU JA

• cool ^_^

• full tank only for 200 km… mushkil2

• usup wilcha on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:10 pm

200 km for full tank..??i got 350++ for my FL

• slm..
        tumpang tanye bleh?
        saye ni bru bcadang nk pakai keta..proton saga la yg jd idaman saye..
        bleh saye twu mcmane proses nk bli keta..
        klw bleh bro tlg terangkan dr mula smpaila dpt keta tuu..
        then,brape down paymnt yg paling min. bleh sye byr?
        saye hrp adela yg sudi membantu saye..

• savvy88 on Jun 25, 2011 at 10:19 am

Just go to any Proton Edar outlet and ask everything to the SA. that’s the best solution for U.

• Sambal Belacan on May 01, 2011 at 3:17 am

Mine one can go 410++km with full tank under full load condition with 95%time with air cond turned on.BLM M-line manual.

• mine auto.. camna nak buat.. any suggestion?

• Sambal Belacan on May 04, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Mcm mana driving condition bila ur saga only managed to go 200km for full tank? Masa Traffic jam? U speeding over 140kmh?
      if not, then, u should go to SC ask for ECU retuning.

• lebih cantik dari model terdahulu.Amat menarik dengan harga yang mampu dibeli oleh majoriti rakyat Malaysia.Syabas Proton.

• tq bro.. follow up next level

• zainal abidin on May 12, 2011 at 1:52 pm

So far so good with my FL auto…..the only gripe is the 40 liter tank……I get 300 km for mostly urban and around 370 km for long distance trips aka: JB to KL with minimum a/cond of course…once the fuel indicator start blinking I guess there’s an extra 40 km but of course I don’t wait until the fuel runs out…. I suggest PROTON fit in a 50 liter fuel tank in the coming FL with SACH CVT gearbox (“,)

• Sambal Belacan on May 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm

I agreed with the 50 liter fuel tank idea but not the SACH CVT gearbox because it will make the car’s price increase drastically.
      Proof me wrong but i think for this kind of entry level car, a manual gear box is the perfect match with it small cc engine.
      Don’t give me the craps like have to use auto coz everday traffic jam. In europe, there also got traffic jam and many up-hill, down hill road but Cars with manual gear box still the choose for many people out there.

• Sambal Belacan on May 15, 2011 at 4:25 pm

I agreed with the 50 liter fuel tank idea but not the SACH CVT gearbox because it will make the car’s price increase drastically.
      Proof me wrong but i think for this kind of entry level car, a manual gear box is the perfect match with it small cc engine.
      Don’t give me the craps like have to use auto coz everday traffic jam. In europe, there also got traffic jam and many up-hill, down hill road but Cars with manual gear box still be the choice for many people out there.

• chang on Jun 17, 2011 at 4:29 pm

@DSZ,
    May we suggest u drive our FL for 1-month & send it to some PESB for service, then see for yourself the problem all of us facing with our new Proton cars.
    Unless you are used to being chaffeured around, you will not take this challenge.
    Peace. :-)

• mun90 on Jul 03, 2011 at 10:44 pm

i want to buy sagaFL but i donnot want pay the deposit can are not?

• The problem with Malaysian cars is that the QC is like non-existent. After one week, there will be problems here and there. Yes, for 40-50k, I don’t expect much from a car (like powerful engine or high grade material), but I’d expect it to last long. I mean, 40-50k is no small amount of money (at least for lower to middle class people, those in the upper class doesn’t buy these kind of cars).

They need to gain trust from customers, especially locals first, give an image that Malaysian cars are durable. Build more durable cars and give strict QC, only then they can try to go international. Even the cheap Honda motorcycle can outlast Malaysian cars. This is not an insult to Malaysian cars, just stating the obvious.

Good on job on the face-lift though. Hope it can last long.

• gile bola on Oct 01, 2011 at 7:47 pm

alamak! aku tringin nk pkai saga fl tp mhal sangat lar harge die. dahla gaji aku ni ciput jek! tlonglah trunkan harge die sket. below 300 sbulan jadik la. lagipon mcm2 bil aku kne byar. bil air, api, astro, streamyx la. ade tak krete baru y murah sket?

• Adhitya on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Bought Saga FL 8 month ago in Indonesia, and still happy with with its 17 km/L. My concern is on poor throttle response. Will try iridium spark plug next month :)

• M.A.Maniam on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:05 am

My friend recently bough 2nd proton saga FL , 2009 Model . The oil consumption is very high – about 24 cent per k/meter, short distance driving – lady driver – Dear friends, it is normal ?