Proton: how to spot imitation Proton Genuine Parts?

Proton has sent over a few images on how to differentiate between Proton Genuine Parts and imitation parts, which are often sold at cheaper prices but do not confirm to OEM standards, especially when it comes to safety.

According to Proton Edar CEO Mohamad Shukor Ibrahim, there are two types of acceptable components available for Proton cars in the market. One is of the Proton Genuine Parts variant and the other is called Proton Second Branding Parts. Proton Genuine Parts are components that have been developed by PROTON and are also known as OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) parts.

Proton Second Branding Parts are offered to customers whose vehicle warranty has expired, and as an option for those seeking lower-cost of ownership compared to purchasing Proton Genuine Parts. These are usually cheaper in price to buy.

And then there is the third type, which are manufactured by a third party designed to be fitted to Proton vehicles, but they carry their own branding and packaging and do not make attempts to imitate Proton parts. But what you should avoid are imitation parts that are made by unknown parties and packaged to look like Proton Genuine parts.

Here’s how to tell them apart:

Genuine Part Label – Bar codes have more fine lines and colour blue is of lighter shade.

Imitation Part Label – Bar codes are thick and colour blue is of darker shade.

ATF Fluid Bottle – watch how the Genuine Part on the left has a better quality bottle cap seal as compared to the imitation part on the right.

The Genuine Part fuel pump is on the right while the imitation part is on the left – look at the different shade in the material colour.

Proton Genuine Oil Filter – neat and proper printing of yellow and white logo box as opposed to the imitation filter on the left with shabby printing.

Take a look on the inside – the genuine part is on the right while the fake part is on the left, you can notice the difference with the filter.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i think you got it all wrong, the all on the left are only Proton’s real spare parts. The one on the right are imitation thats so well copied that it is better than Proton’s. Haha joke, joke! :D

• clutch basah on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:07 am

Sure it sounds funny to inbreeds like you, have ever thought on how many accidents could occur or already happened due to these counterfeit items? This is serious issue kid!

• sagatron on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:12 pm

well..are those proton inspira is a genuine proton car???just kidding….ngeng3……=p

• Material Ferum on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Are you serious about using this counterfeit item such as this could end up accidents? Please see carefully the evidence on the scene when all Proton car wreck in terms of structure rigidity of the proton car, material, and safety features such as airbag, abs, ebd, esp, etc. Please be very beware about the safety of the car and not just bias for low cost and pride of national car. Until right now Proton will not allow road department publish any statistic, research or survey for the most fatality brand car in Malaysia ;) For sure this counterfeit stuff might contribute the performance of the car/engine or better stuck in the workshop due to problematic car=more $ for business and safety for the owner for not driving dangerous car on open road.

• autobot on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:13 am

mesti ko jenis yg suka pakai jeans levi`s tiruan, jersey nike/ MU tiruan.. yg tiruan lg baik kan???

• dickybird on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:10 pm

hey optimus kau punya Transformers dvd itu ori ke, dvd9? lol

• xavier lert on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:33 pm

dvd9????….never tot i’ll here that in 2010..where we hav bluray..torent…

• what difference does it make? power windows still fail after 3 changes (motor). And please don’t tell me they installed imitation product into the car.

• Joseph on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Good one Ben. Hahahaha. In fact, the tiruan parts is much better than Proton’s despite Proton’s billion ringgit R&D sampah.

That’s Proton’s ‘Qua-lity’ for you.
      World class my foot. hahahaha

• jtiongwl on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:28 pm

To me, just keep everything cheap is okay! EON service center will only make you poor. if you scared of any accident due to loss control and etc, please use better tyre and dont simply modify the car as you like.

if you care about the alignment properly, loss control wont happen!

• Prismo on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Hey guys, read this….

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONpasangtingkapelektronik/Article

• I think you got it all wrong, the all on the left are only Proton’s spare parts while the right are imitation’s parts thats so well copied its better quality than Proton’s. Haha, joke, joke! :D

• wahh all look same la.

look like the real product factory are running night shift to produce look a like product.

maybe the ceo factory forgot to pay bonus for his staff.

• kgBaru on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:07 am

3rd party OEM manufacturers have better quality products.
    Don’t buy Proton filters and ATF cos there are better aftermkt
    products/brands in the market. ie from Eunos.
    Proton parts are overpriced.

• muserella on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:19 am

Proton’s Auto tranny is very sensitive bro.. even a well experiences racer that involved in auto-drag at MUSC used proton original ATF. Because they knew the the risk of changing it to other oil..

• kerimping on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

AFAIK, OEM Proton oil filter are made by UMW. To check, just peel of the O-ring and you’ll see the word UMW imprinted on it. As GEP products also manufactured by UMW, I believe it has the same quality as the OEM (and its cheaper)

• jl@ipl on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:42 am

Bro, 100% agree with you.
        My only method of checking the oil filter was to check the o-ring as you’ve said. For 4G13/15 engine’s filter, the o-ring actually reversible.

• Tracks on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

I disagree that Proton OEM and UMW GEP brand are of the same quality. If I am not mistaken, the bypass valve design is different. Proton OEM uses a metal spring while UMW GEP uses a plastic spring instead. Anyway, just use your hand to tap on the top of the filter. The one with a metal spring will vibrate. Try it out and you would see.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:08 am

Sama sajalah. as long as CHEAP, and it can be used. u see…the oil filter hav to be changed in every servicing isn’t it? The imitation product can last for that.

All the while we drive proton car. Do u guys think proton quality is that good??? Power windows problem u guys facing isn’t it? how about the black colour door handle u guys seen on proton cars?? and the cheap interior, who’s wira steering rubber that loosen after few years? Perdana’s transmission problems? Anything else? pls add in ya…

Inspira? is it something like imitation of Lancer? anyway… LanPa PaLan is the same…..

Come on la…..who want to drive Proton if the Import Duty in Boleh Land is not extremely high? Gov. pls play fair. Car price in Malaysia is the highest among all other country! Now the G said wanna floating the fuel price…..! For me, no problems at all, but pls remove the silly tax,…

Pls comment…only the words from yours heart.

• observer on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:30 am

power windows problem? pathetic dude. u still live in the ancient time I guess.

• i don hav power window prob…but i hav prob with the rubber mat not stick to the floor..my saga door handle grey in color..my saga i consider cheap hence cheap interior not luxury..wira is obsolete model

import duty car is only 30%, import duty thai (malaysian famous to compare with) is 80% but they hav lower excise duty <2000 cc 30%, 2001-2500cc 35%, 40% for 2501-3000 cc and 50% for over 3000 cc..luckly for them most car 2000cc below r built in their country, automatically not pay 80% import duty..hence only pay excise duty plus VAT

Thailand: Automotive Report
      http://www.eiu.com/index.asp?layout=ib3Article&article_id=937138678&pubtypeid=1112462496&country_id=1830000183&category_id=775133077&rf=0

• Unforgiven on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Do you want to drive a Saga or VW Polo if the price is the same?
        If so, please make that happen for future M’sian.

• Unforgiven on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm

http://www.carpages.co.uk/guide/proton/
          http://www.carpages.co.uk/guide/volkswagen/

Based on the car prices above, I myself will choose a VW Polo instead of Proton Satria Neo.

I wish the future generation will enjoy that, fair fight in car industry, man to man.

• BMW 325i Coupé thai B4.699million(RM489) malaysia RM379k

• autojohndoe on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm

but… why not all Siamese buy VW?

• Kancil_Redbull on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:38 am

Can you explain your logic? If Proton’s parts are bad, why should we choose a product that imitates those parts?

I’m not talking about Eunos here, because Eunos is an authentic brand and does work on its parts. I am referring to products that are not confident enough to have their own brand but choose to imitate and fool consumers by using other company’s brands to get profit. Bear in mind you can’t complain to the manufacturer of those parts if anything goes wrong.

• autobot on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:27 am

agree with u..actually there r so many ppl out there which cant afford to hv smthg ORI but still want it..so there prefer 2 buy copied 1.. same goes to pirated dvd, or pc software user..

they just mengkayakan lanun2 cetak rompak je..

• adeakukesah on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:59 am

last time my gen2’s door handle broken..checked with Proton Service Center, but no stock at their premis..have to order + wait for painting also!

no choice luckily Ah Beng workshop nearby my house got stock (of course not original frm proton)

IF i have to wait delivery from PSC, i can’t open the door for a couple of days ! have to use front passenger door instead to go inside my car!

• Carl Wong on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:29 am

My driver’s door handle was broken too, for the Gen 2, I changed to a slightly different colored handle at a service center. The car is red and the handle is orange…But it looks fine and it makes the car special :].

• Patrick Chan on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:14 am

We voted this way, so we live with it, right? Think carefully next round !!

• Joseph on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Undilah BN, and get to drive low quality car with expensive low quality parts :)

• autojohndoe on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm

if PR lead the Govt you think you can buy BMW cheap?

haha…

• jtiongwl on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:34 pm

BN will only protect current NAP. They are the one who make them.

You see, so many rounds fail, on the negotiation with Volkswagen, regarding their joint venture….

• Spanx on Dec 18, 2010 at 1:44 am

Guys… Guys… Whats all this bashing about original and imitation heh? I have been fortunate (or unfortunate) enough to be driving a ‘proton’ satria, the old one mind u… And swapped my engine to an ‘original’ mitsubishi 4G93 T the second i had a chance to… You’d be amazed at the quality and finishing in all the parts mitsubishi as compared to the exact proton ‘original’ part.. As for spares i always use original mitsubishi, and thats an honest answer….. Hehe… Plz feel free to rate or comment…

• clutch basah on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:23 am

Wow! From you post I’m guessing either;
      – you type your comment in year 2000 and post it now
      – you still thinking about yr 2000
      – you still live in yr 2000.. :)

One thing I want to add regarding the tax issue, the fuel subsidy has to go since it cost Malaysia and us billions every year, u don’t feel it now but you will suffer later. (look at Greece and Ireland)
      The tax on cars cannot go since it is one of Malaysia’s biggest revenue, why take out something very lucrative.
      Even with the tax I still see some Malaysian change their cars every 3 – 5 years.

• thepil0t on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:03 am

Malaysia is a oil exporter country la.. n our fuel price r one of the highest among oil exporter country..

• Tiadaid on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Oil exporter yes. But not in the same quantities as other oil exporters. Don’t compare with Saudi Arabia or Venezuela that produces millions of barrels of fuel per day. Malaysia if I’m not mistaken produces 700K barrels per day and uses 2/3 of those for our own consumption.

Pretty soon we’ll be net IMPORTER of fuel.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Don’t worry, a 100-storey building will magically rescue our economy and cushion the reduction of our net oil exports.

• thepil0t on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:13 pm

then?? stop emphasize saying how much money subsidy la blablabla.. cos we r producing more than our usage, thus there r profit not loss no matter wat price the crude oil r..

• jtiongwl on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:35 pm

The problem is the importer and exporter is different person. They have special license and own by those people….

For exporter, they do as they like. For importer, Petronas pay them high price until they make profit… Then G pay the difference to make them suitable for local market.. That’s how the subsidy being use.

• did u all know that Singapore is 19 biggest oil exporter (1,289,000bbl/day
          2007 est) n we r no 30 in the the world ( 511,900bbl/day 2007 est) ..do u know or did u not? Singapore produce non n imported 2,109,000bbl/day (2007 est)…we produce 727,200bbl/day (2008) n imported 314,600bbl/day (2007 est)

• don’t blame him…he is using imitation power window part thats why always fail.

• Ash Menon on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Actually if he using imitation power window it probably works just fine.

• stephen on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:40 pm

fuel subsidy cause $$… lousy management and wastage (cronies) causes even more $$$… well, i wouldn’t mind if the money is spent for a better Malaysia!…Anyway, for all I care, remove the unwarranted tax and provide 0 subsidy, I still save more!

• tishaban on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:35 am

I’ve said it and will say it again. You have far better chance of getting a job with higher pay than of the govt removing the car import duties. One is in your control, the other is not. Complaining about this issue doesn’t help so go work smarter.

• yongtj on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:55 am

ya..i am quite agree with you..
      sometimes genuine parts does not guaranty genuine quality..
      the PROTON sticker play an important role in controlling people mindset..
      people buy it is due to “..its original proton mar, of course better than those zap pa lang brand..”

• thepil0t on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:27 am

someone will ask u to buy other car if u don like or migrate.. they’ll always support proton no matter wat happened..

• Tiadaid on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:48 am

That’s the problem. Use cheap spare part then blame Proton for problems. This kind of mentality, if the G reduces car tax and price for cars go down, still you’ll go for cheap imitation parts, then blame everybody else but yourself for problems.

• littlefire on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:56 am

Yup, world price fuel, world price car… Vote for it!!!

• najibest on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:36 am

world price education and healthcare as well…i’m not supporting the tax they’re putting on cars but if they remove it, they’ll have to find some other ways for funding….

• DonkeyKong on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm

How about not buying submarines that we don’t need, and try not to build mega buildings while there is an office space glut, and stop subsidizing toll concessionaires for profits that they hope they could get but they didn’t get. These are all senseless expenditures that could easily be eliminated but will never be, and we’re told to tighten our belts instead!

• submarine that we dont need? malaysia is surrounded by sea mr donkeykong..
            100 storey building.. no for now.. maybe yes when the time come.. and subsidizing toll concessionaires just to make the toll more cheaper for rakyat also ur dont want ka?

• kauader? on Dec 18, 2010 at 1:53 pm

how do u know that we dont need submarine?
            should we wait until war happen then baru nak order kapal selam tuh?
            atau kalau perang berlaku ko nak askar kita lawan dgn tongkang je?

• 1) agree that our tax structure for automotive and fuel pricing need to be overhauled. In fact, the whole economic structure need to be reformed. Current one has a lot of unbalanced focus.

2) Proton car has improved in these couple of years. That window prob is old history oredi. In case u didnt know, even Wira has not been produced for quite some time. Perdana transmission prob is inherited by its original manufacturer (u know who la). These are old stories. Maybe we should focus on prob for current Proton cars. They are not perfect but their overall quality has improved.

• thai does not overhaul their tax structure..their import tax is higher than malaysia but luckly most of their passenger car r made in their country…but mostly the car is from either US or japan.that car from europe there r costly than us here eg

Scirocco 2.0 tsi in thai B2.46million(RM257k) malaysia RM244k
        Golf GTI thai price at B2.48million(RM258k) malaysia RM210k
        Audi A5 thai B3.99million(RM415k) malaysia RM400k
        BMW X3 old gen B3.3million(RM344k) malaysia RM333K
        CHEVROLET Captiva B1.64million(RM170k) malaysia RM151k
        PEUGEOT 207 thai B959k(RM99k) malaysia RM73k

• akinablue on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:25 am

u r wrong brother..
      imitate and ori are not a same although look alike.
      i bought my gen2 5 years back..my fren also bought wira 5 years back. i’m consistantly send my gen2 to proton SC but the wira owner send his car to ahbeng under the tree workshop. my gen2 still running fine..no problem at all with the engine. but what happend to the wira? always facing problems..especially engine..sangkut sini..sangkut sana. i dont mind at all to pay extra for the ori parts as long as my car run smooth.

only stupid people will say like u said..they think they’re wise saying this and that..tax la..plastic la..itu la ini la..but more they talk, the more they look stupid. tak abis2 dengan power window problem.nah, go and ask proton owner, r they facing this problem for cars built after 2007? yeah i admit proton got a lot of problems when it was under old management. i hate them a lot. but now?they are improving. u have to admit it! unless u’re proton rivals’ salesmen.

if u think the G is the problem, don’t vote them..vote others.tp da register pengundi belom. jangan cakap banyak tp daftar pon belom.

• if G abandon all the tax.. where G gonna find money? who gonna pay u free healtcare service? who gonna pay u son free education? who gonna pay the subsidies for rice? petrol? bread?

• Cocobear on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:10 am

Dear Proton, do u have replacement parts for all 4 sets of door handles and the window motor assembly? I have replaced them with OEM parts until sienz……………….

• exJAVANESE on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:32 am

now..the real problem is VENDOR!!!
      they wanna produce a low cost part manufacture on thier budget, then when the part got a problem…PROTON holding get all of curse,!!
      (padahalnya…vendor yg buat hal..proton juga yg bsuk namanya…PROTON, cantas je mana2 vendor yg tak guna!!)

• mizzuddin on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:05 pm

cronyism applied there!!!

• I bought persona 2 years ago….. thinking as malaysian should support malaysia….. but after facing so MANY problems with persona…. this will be my last proton…. even persona bit better than previous models and persona elegance ( I heard more problems, mainly ecu things..)
        This day when i saw new proton models, i lost my interest….. after finish my 9 years loan…. i will seek toyota or honda or maybe conti car….. even 2nd hand, my opinion it MUCH better than new proton….. to proton….. u just losing one more buyer…..and thanks for “cheating” my money…..

• michelin on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:04 pm

mr. pop, care to share with us what are the problems with your Persona, please? bought mine 2 years back too.. thank God still in good shape (minor problems only).. to me, if we really want to start pointing fingers, it should goes to Vendors + Proton’s QC..

• SKYTECH on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:08 am

X da beza sangat pun from outlook compare the fake and the ori, Just different abit from color . Is very very hard at all to know which is the fake and ori when we buy . If the fake without a “logo” , “alphabet” or bla bla bla then is easy la .

Anyways agree with above statement, many many more 3rd party is better then OEM for some of the replacement part . Mayb even the fake is good too . Had to test the quality 1st . huhuhu.

• lazyf on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:42 am

Anyways agree with above statement, many many more 3rd party is better then OEM for some of the replacement part . Mayb even the fake is good too . Had to test the quality 1st . huhuhu.

Agreed…
      for exp : OEM Myvi’s disk brake is lousy compare with aftermarket Myvi’s disc brake…
      reason : My Myvi’s OEM disc brake changed 2 times when it still under warranty period. Vibrate braking issue. Then changed to aftermarket one n problem solved…

• yeah, there is no telling them apart, except if you happen to lug around the original parts in your trunk for comparison.

• Parts Overpriced.

• Part overpriced.

• If car prices are not as ridiculously expensive as they are now, genuine parts will be much more affordable, therefore making counterfeit genuine parts not as profitable as it is now.

It is like the music industry blaming the consumer for downloading mp3s/buying pirated CDs, while they charge RM40 – 50 for a piece of CD.

Advertising on blogs and newspaper is not the best solution in countering these counterfeit products. The answer lies in improving the after sales service and lowering the price of servicing a car at your service center.

• only can differenciate when comparing both items at the same time.
    If only one, is hard to find out which is imitation or not.

• Along on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:30 am

agree with you. to rest assure genuine parts, buy only from authorised centres.

• Maserati on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:41 am

Whats the difference? Proton ORIGINAL parts break down so often,must as well use imitation.I think IMITATION PARTS break down less since they are manufactured by 3rd party which has more expertise in manufacturing car parts.

• najibest on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

there’s a big difference between IMITATION and 3rd party

• feisal on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:26 am

Maybe the one you are refering to is the immitation parts.

• scgtimk1 on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:50 am

Nak tipu pun agak agak la perodua salesman hoooii.

I have experience… my savvy lower arm bend due to my father driving it hitting a rock… then I changed to Imitation part lower arm made by “as*hi’.

You want to know how long the lower arm bushings can tahan? only 6 month. The other side with ori lower arm from factory is still fine. now already more than 2 years.

Next time I wont be using imitation stuff anymore. lesson learned here…

• wuu3xxx on Jul 18, 2011 at 11:37 am

Whatta blockhead’s comment. Use your brain man before make such stupid comparison man!

• ambientscape on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

Are you sure you’re getting the genuine parts if you buy from any Proton Service Centre? Those illustration above is only few of the products….and you cant differentiate it much if you do not compare it side by side.

• rejab on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:25 am

I think recond parts from japan is better than proton ori parts from local.

• they should have spot the imitation seller/service center program …
    it’s unfair for consumer to pay overprice-d fake proton parts…

• but first, people must stop going to ah beng shop…

• Tracks on Dec 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Becareful when you go to those so called authorised SC. Sometimes they are no better than ah beng shop under the tree. They overcharged and use spareparts of unknown origin.

• michelin on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:09 pm

150% agree with you Tracks.. so sooooo overpriced.. anyone here knows how much are Bosch brake pads? at SC are very very expensive..

• Saya beli keta saga flx se 1.6 pd october 2013,sebulan beli dah problem,masterpump brek
            leaking,tanggal dan karat pada casis dalam area bwh pump tu,komplen dgn SC proton,dia tangguh 2 minggu part takde,keta kena guna dulu sementara tggu part,tp seminggu je dah takde brek,dan kemalangan,komplen dgn sc proton dorg tolong repair sume,dah 2minggu dtg nak amik keta,dah start nk blk cuba buka bonet enjin nk tgk hasil keje dr pakar sc,terkejut dgn paip power stering bergesel dgn belt yg berputar,nasib tgk sblm jalan blk,casis spray baru,bumper dpn spray baru,so dorg suh balik dulu next baru tkr paip power stering tu,dah ok lepas dalam 6-7bulan tetiba aircond tak sejuk,isi gas asyik hbs je,check kt sc,tp yg buat outside pomen dtg sc amik keta bw pegi bengkel dia,dan sy tggu kt sc,bl dtg semula ckp condenser paip aircond bocor sebab bergesel dgn paip power stereng yg aloi btl2 dpn kondenser antara bumper dpn,so dorg ckp sy ada langgar sesuatu dan tiada waranty,sy jawap bukan dulu sc yg wat claim kemalangan sy dan mesti benda tu kaitan,tk check ke masa pasang semula,tp sc bg alasan tk blh claim kondenser,nk kena byr rm1k++,tp lau wt dgn outsider pomen td dpt harga rm650 sbb memg tk blh repair lg mesti tkr baru,raya tu sy tk ada aircond sebulan,so sy tk wt sbb sc ckp bwh 1k blh claim,atas 1k memg susah.sy hntr tpt kwn repair paip tu rm200 je tanpa perlu tkr baru,ni dah tahun ke 2,sy alami bunyi brek bila mula keta bergerak..panjang berdesing bunyinye,hntr sc dorg ckp sabtu tk wt komplen,suh dtg hr biasa,tp dah 6 bulan tk dpt wat,nk ke sc mcm takot dah..ntah apa plak kos tanggung..keta tk smpai 3tahun pon tp dah tk bleh plak nak claim pelik..

• lanwm on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:39 am

Proton loosing $ from 2nd/3rd party suplliers?

• jolly_idiot on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:46 am

Price the same? Or cheaper for imitate? I’m sure most of the shops out there is selling imitate as original to us with same price.

Should proton do something on this? We get cheated all the time.

• that’s why they are telling u to go to authorised service ctr…

• remove the tax , then everyone will not buy p1 or p2 … piece of junk …

• clutch basah on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:53 am

remove the tax their price would be 2/3 of current one.. they will sell like goreng pisang panas!!

• kayoke on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:56 am

yeah.. remove the 9-15 year installment plan as well .. it’s ridiculous.. might as well cap it at 5 years the max…

• Tiadaid on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Not 5, 3 years max. And then interest at least 7%. See how many people can afford a car then. Right now, for a 50K car for 3 years at 3.4% interest would mean you’d have to pay RM 1500 a month.

• then we will see whether p1 and p2 (p1 especially) are ready for the real competition…

• watever on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

i think even if there’s no tax, foreign cars wont be so cheap, because even when there’s tax, ppl still buy them. So they have a chance to get more profit

• If the genuine parts are cheap enough, people won’t go for imitation one…easy…

• clutch basah on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:55 am

don’t buy a vehicle if you don’t have money to maintain it. you can walk or take the bus

• haha so funny

• autobot on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:12 pm

agreed! i believe if ori part sold at lower price, pirate can reduce their price more.. n ppl still buy immitate part coz ORI part lebih mahal!
        pusing sana pusing sini sama je..

• easy said than done..imitation product r so many in malaysia..food, medical, electronic, electric appliances, personal item,auto parts, human(MJ lookalike) etc…the best country for imitation is from china even car n whole building or theme park they imitate..that mother of all imitation

• Alvin on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:18 pm

If you’re complaining about the high price of the Proton replacement parts then I think you can’t afford to own this car. Get something cheaper….then!

• SquarePetrolHead on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:03 am

Hey Paul, the first 2 pictures do not match the caption…

• Motorman on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:05 am

the oil filter comparison is cukup (pandai).. they want us to check by cutting it 1st?.. itu orang jual mau bagi potongkah? (unless u buy it 1st).. thx for the info anyway.. i don’t have a proton…

• slekuzen on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:19 am

What is especially surprising is where the hell are such parts produced?
    While it is good to inform consumers about the differences, where is the police to crackdown on such immitations?

But more importantly and more disapointing is how we Malaysians are: people advising to buy counterfeit because it’s cheaper. People who say such things have completely missed the point: first off, it is ILLEGAL, both by law and religiously/ethically. Second of all, counterfeit parts are usually produced by illegal parties, gangs, linked to criminal activity.
    If you think saving yourself RM5-RM10 and prefer funding criminal groups is the right choice, then fair enough. But don’t go around complaining about how retarded Malaysia is. Because one of the reasons of Malaysia’s retardedness is YOU!

Whatever anyone says, buying fake/counterfeit is WRONG. Period.

• jerami klaxon on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:01 am

I think the imitations are not manufactured anywhere near hell…. :) <— not to be taken seriously, BTW.

Seriously though, if the imitations look so scaryingly similar to the originals, could it be possible that they also come from the original factories (perhaps hijacked from production overruns by unscrupulous "workers" and reworked as "imitations"?

And yeah, where are the "law enforcers"? Could it be because this is part of a crime-syndicate with powerful connections????

• jerami klaxon on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

If the imitations look so scaryingly similar to the originals, don’t you think it could come from the original manufacturers themselves? Perhaps production overrun units “hijacked by unscrupulous persons” and then reworked into the imitation units you see here? Perhaps this imitation production line is linked to crime syndicates with powerful connections? Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps……..?

• Philip J. Fry on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm

A couple of years ago the police were victims as well:
      http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/7/31/courts/21963891&sec=courts

• alf147 on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:27 am

thanks paul for posting on this.

to all, i have been in this intelectual property thingy for queit sometimes and work with the authorities kpdn.maybe most of us are complaining abt the overprice original parts and its quality….oem is the options to get those parts and save some ringgit..but for this….they shud use their own brand and not to imititate proton and all………let say the quality of proton product is good….they imitate at a lesser quality..ppl buy..and how many of u knows whether it is genuine parts or not?then the item u bought kaput…then u mention..proton ORI parts is no quality…but actually u bought the fake part…
    i just to mention since proton,perodua,toyota and honda are my office clients…there are a lot of imitation for those co. just be careful…i think its ok for oil filter and all..but how abt drive shaft, cam belt and etc which might endanger the life of yours?save rm200, u loss the love one…

• RedLine on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:33 am

I think this issue of imitation proton parts is very rampant and has been going on for so long. If you send your car for service at normal workshop or at tyre shop, I bet many of them are using imitation parts, but they charge you the original parts price. And you go home feeling happy because you “save” money sending your car to service outside, yet you do not know how the imitation parts may effect the safety of your lives and your family.

• pomen_gtr on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:41 am

the oil filter was critical….

u see the imitation one have short internal spring and the filter element almost cannot move at all…

thats mean during high rpm your engine would starving from oil due to little flow from the filter….

check the original filter got ample space for the filter to move when high rpm=oil pump on high pressure=spring release the filter element to allow the oil bypass the element..thus reducing risk of oil starvation….

don ask why your engine jammed/noisy after doing high speed run/high rpm run when u use imitation filter…..

i’ve been warned

• I think u want to mention about petrol filter but mistakenly to oil filter..

• david on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:41 am

buy online. safest

• learner on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:47 am

why so hard, if you really think P1 parts is good, then simply buy from P1 3S centre! same goes to engine oil, if you want original petronas oil, just visit the gas station.and if you looking for parts at spareparts shops, just look at branded brand like bando, bosch, etc don’t look for P1 parts at these shops. but remember, imitation bando, or bosch is nastier if you think P1 ori is not good.

• civiclise on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:49 am

the only way to diferentiate fake n ori is by compare it side by side.. but how to know it if u buy it at sparepart shop.. at 1st glance u cant see any differnt

• T4VR-Ralph on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:06 am

Paul, can you ask one from Perodua?

• Ze Ber on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:34 am

Wa Lao…..very hard to differentiate.

Hope counterfeit got conscience and don’t give too lousy quality.

• if proton SC wanna make untung more, better they sell imitation parts.. no one know what.. customer only stay in waiting room while service.. we dunno what they put in our cars..

• JohnDeep on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Hex, I have no idea on how Proton SC established servicing procedure. Honda SC pack all used parts including oil and coolant containers for you to bring back home as evidents. Therefore you can always evaluate the parts and confirm that they are original from Honda or otherwise for you to file your complaint

• Waja door handle cost RM9 per piece but retails at RM30 plus spray add RM30 so in total RM60. Broke down again few months later. Multiple it by four doors.

Waja door carrier made by Delloyd (claimed as OEM) cost RM250 each. Another chapalang brand MT Automotive cost RM120 each. But both still crappy can’t wind down under one year only. Yes again multiple it by four doors.

Waja Campro engine oil pan cost RM750 but Waja Mitsu engine oil pan cost RM350. So much for the local design meant to be cheaper eh!

Waja ori fuel pump cost RM450 vs chapalang brand RM150 but both once reached half tank it always shows ‘Empty’ fuel instead.

Waja ori brake pads by Mintye cost RM56 per pair vs chapalang brand Trestor cost RM40 but both got ‘screeching’ sounds few days after installed. For long term better use Bendix Metal King pads cost RM120 per pair but twice last longer (and save more twice the cost) than ori pads.

Waja front lower arm ori cost RM120 each side vs chapalang brand cost RM70 but both out of alignment, funny kreok-kreok sound at uneven road two months later.

Waja ori thermostat long pipe cost RM125 vs chapalang brand cost RM88 but both leak from radiator pipe after one year.

Those telling Proton basher as unpatriotic think again lah.

But those ripping own rakyat selling faulty crappy expensive stuff is the actual Pengkhianat Wang Rakyat.

Even with 20-years warranty will never justify everyone to be patriotic buy crappy quality Proton.

• JohnDeep on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Ajaw, your money is your choice. You have so long list of grievances and yet still drive this car. emm…. If you guys feel that Proton is sucker and somebody claim that burn your money (which I don’t know where is your investment in Proton), please don’t buy proton’s cars. If I don’t buy proton’s car that doesn’t mean that I have no patriotism about Malaysia. There are many ways to show off your love about Malaysia.

These info tell us about imitation parts for us to differentiate which is good for our next buy.

• Waja door handle cost RM9 per piece but retails at RM30 plus spray add RM30 so in total RM60. Broke down again few months later. Multiple it by four doors.

Waja door carrier made by Delloyd (claimed as OEM) cost RM250 each. Another chapalang brand MT Automotive cost RM120 each. But both still crappy can’t wind down under one year only. Yes again multiple it by four doors.

Waja Campro engine oil pan cost RM750 but Waja Mitsu engine oil pan cost RM350. So much for the local design meant to be cheaper eh!

Waja ori fuel pump cost RM450 vs chapalang brand RM150 but both once reached half tank it always shows ‘Empty’ fuel instead.

Waja ori brake pads by Mintye cost RM56 per pair vs chapalang brand Trestor cost RM40 but both got ‘screeching’ sounds few days after installed. For long term better use Bendix Metal King pads cost RM120 per pair but twice last longer (and save more twice the cost) than ori pads.

Waja front lower arm ori cost RM120 each side vs chapalang brand cost RM70 but both out of alignment, funny kreok-kreok sound at uneven road two months later.

Waja ori thermostat long pipe cost RM125 vs chapalang brand cost RM88 but both leak from radiator pipe after one year.

Those telling Proton basher as unpatriotic think again lah.

But those ripping own rakyat selling faulty, crappy expensive stuff is the actual Pengkhianat Wang Rakyat.

Even with 20-years warranty will never justify everyone to be patriotic buy crappy quality Proton.

• 1Malaysia2020 on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:21 am

Paul, can you get higher resolution for the pics… thanks

• jerami klaxon on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:25 am

somebody earlier said it may come from the original manufacturers themselves… I too think it may be possible… I hope the law enforcers are sniffing out the culprits to stop all these… OR perhaps these imitation production are related to crime syndicates and powerful (untouchable) connections?

eventually it is the buyers who will cast the vote (i mean they will decide which parts and where to buy….amongst other things, of course)

• CHONG KAT on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm

oem or not, it’s the same, proton. famous with low qua, ah never mind.

• mondo on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm

summore HOCOM-Glenmarie mesti la semestinya bukan dari PROTON!!!!

• jerami klaxon on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:38 pm

HOCOM GMarie is where santaklos stez…. HO HO HO HOCOM :)

• aki_zz on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:19 pm

bro, you are right! have to read the fine print after this…:)

• SoMeOnE on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:31 pm

actually i beg to differ about the low quality dude. i have tagged along when my gf services her neo and i have realized a number of quirks.(up to u to decide good or bad). firstly the ‘original equipment parts’ are model specific and they are quite costly. 9 out of 10 times the service people wont bother telling about it and just assume u want the second branding parts due to the price difference. example, an original bosch brake pads which came with the neo costs over 200 bucks just for the front ! while the second grade mintye one costs 90 bucks or somethin.and btw the latter is the one most people use and hence u hear the squaky noices protons make at the traffic lights. its an odd practice but i can see the logic as many of the ‘rakyat’ would prefer a lower cost options. But we have been replacing only oem parts from day one and the car has done 90k and they really last and we have zero problems. But as i say, buying a Proton is like buying durian, u will either get a superb version or a really bad one coz u never know what ya gonna get. not a proton basher or supporter by any stretch of the imagination and my daily drive is a mazda 6. but credit is due where it is due. The oem parts are rather good.

• Pirate are getting powerful this days…
    Almost similar with the Ori…
    Do their technologies increased?

• anjez on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:00 pm

so who is manufacturing this imitation parts?
    if original sell at BMW spare part price off course ppl will use imitation spares for proton as it is proton no quality so what will be be damm f difference if use imitation parts?locally produced cars sell at import price bloody moron goverment rip off the rakyat pocket.thansk for Dr,M you ripped off the ppl over the years and continue ripping off with more useless models from proton like the latest inspira and saga FL

• Last week my Waja cannot start. First i was thinking maybe no fuel but after add still cannot. Then the problem was my fuel pump. Aiyo, waja famous problem

• pomen_gtr on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:26 pm

the fuel pump was ok…

its only the connector wire…

ask your mechanin to remove the pump and inspect the connector wire on the pump body…

believe me..u’ll save the money for better use..

• Unforgiven on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:11 pm

I used to service my Proton at the Proton authorized service center, unfortunately, they are charging the original price with the replica/imitation parts (water pump). I found out about that when I service the car again at Glenmarie due to the same problem. I wanted to go to the Tribunal that time, but decided to change car, I’m lucky that I never have to drive a Proton after that.

• kauader? on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:04 pm

u should lodge report to proton..

• Unforgiven on Dec 20, 2010 at 3:52 pm

I did report to the Glenmarie service center, but what do you expect?
        Honestly nothing has been done :)

• nabill on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm

original waja power window motor and cover is plastic…maximum two yrs and it wil fail..the oem APM is metal and lasts forever….

personally , engine,suspension,brake parts have to buy original…others it doesnt matter…

• Gavin on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm

wow the imitation filter has the emergency relief srping totally compressed already, how is it going to open if the filter is completely blocked.

dead engine

• kaminski on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:55 pm

This is a real interesting topic and I am pleased that Paul and gang have posted it up.Its good that Proton are trying to educate us on the ins and outs of counterfeit parts.However, just my merely showing pictures without giving any technical details is pretty much like fixing an ashtray to a motorcycle. Plastic mould injection specialists will tell you that its not possible to maintain the identical same colour or level of transparency on every component produced, hence slight discolorations depending on age and storage of such a component.
    Oil filters, the pictures show two filters split in half, yes we can see that each one is different, but given a 5000 mile test, how do they compare in terms of cleanliness, effectiveness, protection etc.Usually, OEM filters will contain more filter material, are able to handle cold starting, avoid system pressure spikes whilst fake ones are built to just filtrate and nothing else.
    What I am saying is that Proton need to give some specific details other than just eyesight detail.
    Counterfeiters have always found the means and the money to become more creative in packaging fake parts. In the old days you could spot a fake miles away, different colours, spelling, etc. In those days a counterfeight part would be 50 percent or more than original part price. The fakers got clever, they now price their fakes just below original price so that customers think they are getting the real deal in a competative market.
    I worked for a multi-national and know some of the techniques deployed to hide a counterfeight part. Today’s technology makes it easier for counterfeiters to package remarking, a process that has been particularly problematic and quite difficult to detect for the major players in the component industry. This method removes the markings from low-cost, low-quality brands and replaces it with premium-brand package markings. Technological advances have made it much easier to make this switch, which is almost impossible for non experts to recognise.
    One solution that Caterpillar have always used is the way they bar code each part package. It looks like any other bar code, thin lines and thick lines, all inter spaced correctly, just like what Proton have outlined in Paul’s article, but I had a tool that revealed a sequence of codes under neath the bar code, and Caterpillar are so paranoid about fakers ( it costs them over 100 million dollars a year in lost parts sales) that the sequence of codes gave you every detail about the part, it also told you what markings on the part itself I had to look for to ensure that the part and packaging were indeed one item as it left the Cat factory. Counterfeiters have never been able to crack Cat’s system. During Audits of inventory at dealers worldwide, Cat people would spend days scouring the parts shelves for counterfeit parts, believing that if they were to be copied, it would be from within.
    If you are wondering about the sequence of codes – the codes on an oil filter for example, I would scan the bar code which in turn reads the hidden code sequence,copy the code and put it into a Cat network system via my laptop and it would tell me where and when and at what time the filter was assembled,who supplied the tin for the cannister, who supplied the filter material, what shift produced it, when it was packaged, when it was dispatched etc.The code on the packaging bar code would tell me where to look on the actual filter for a corresponding code, sometimes this would be under the seal, laser etched onto the cannister or,don’t laugh, I would have to put on 3D like specs and look for it that way. I am sure that Proton have a means and a policy in dealing with counterfeits.

It’s a common perception that counterfeiting is a victimless crime. Who really gets hurt buying a knockoff DVD or fake Rolex watch from Petaling Street? But fake auto parts and lubricants/fluids shed a different light on the matter, don’t you think??

• This is what happens when we let Proton become the benchmark for car pricing.

Ideally, the Saga should cost around RM15,000 to match income levels in Malaysia. When we have enough disposable income to begin with, nobody would bother buying imitation parts.

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Would be happy if it was around 30k…..or 35k.

• scgtimk1 on Dec 20, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Nope the car price is actually reflective of other places in the world.

Daihatsu Mira an Suzuki Alto very basic spec with 660cc NA engine sold in Japan around RM33k.

Proton saga which is much bigger and 1.3L sells around RM37K.

The thing that is wrong is the inability of this ‘ketuanan” gov to bring the ‘rakyat’ income level higher.

Choose you vote better next time. 50+ years of incompetence should not be given another chance.

• obviously, the pirated one looks so crappy.

why go for counterfeited components and willing to jeopardize your life? (okay, maybe this applies to certain parts only)

• Well, in this topic i would said….is the genuine proton part really up to “Quality”. If not why pay more, i do rather pay imitate part which have same quality and lifespan to “ORI PROTON” part. Totally lose confidence with proton since last few car with it…..but not to late am changing to Toyota already, more safety, low maintainance & low fuel consumption….just 20k more but you get back on resale value….Proton, monthly installment like dump into river.

• anjez on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:05 pm

I agree with you bro.well said but proton still surviving despite all the bad repo they have its because other models are damm expensive so ppl with middle income will just have to settle for this crap proton cars.

• nowdays even canal earphone have fake version,so difficult to choose the ori and fake

• subhero on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:35 pm

“somebody” eat into the ORIGINAL price.

then “somebody” think creative how to save the price.

then people said , eleh proton je, pedehal. kalo mercedes lain lah..

bcoz of what? becoz of the price of proton servis centre damn highly price compare to local servis centre.

• defender_of_malaysia_industry on Dec 17, 2010 at 5:33 pm

I’m guessing most of you wiling to see Proton collapse. How stupid are you bashers? They are the one who makes the Malaysia economy grow better and better.

Indeed, Proton need to insert some unique ideas in their product. But that doesn’t mean you should banned Proton. Imagine you business have no customer because everybody banned it. Will you say “I promise I gonna fix you power window”??

Think twice la people. Live in Malaysia should have Malaysian spirit.

• Alvin on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Live in Malaysia should have Malaysian spirit? Can you explain what drives the spirit?

• anjez on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:12 pm

defender_of_malaysia_industry

do you drive proton?
      if you want to know why ppl bash up proton you need to own one of those crap piece of shit! you think proton boosting up malaysian economy?
      they only making the malays richer. but the rich malays drive posh cars the middle income ppl need to fund them by buying proton cars.All this was Dr.M dream when he took the PM post.He wanted to make the malays rich so he made it.That all
      you must be an idiot to support proton its a junk with high price tag.design like box,copy others design then sell at high price.
      Get a proton then you support proton

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

P1 will never collapse one lah, that is the reality.

As strong as Bank Negara or Petronas as at this point of writing.

Many bashers also own n drive P1.

• apadaaa on Dec 17, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Saya rasa mcm byknya orang proton sendiri yang menyelamatkan hinaan2 dlm komen-komen setiap artikel yang ditulis dalam website paultan ni.

Komen dlm ni dah mcm x boleh nak percaya jer, mungkin propaganda org dr proton sendiri dan mungkin juga propaganda dari salesman kereta selain P1 or P2

Byk pulak yg cerita pengalaman pasal kereta rosak guna spare part ori laaa mcm2

Tp the reality ….. kalau ada org nak kasi anda semua RM100K , adakah anda ingin beli PROTON ? ask ur self ………. only u know the answer.

• Kambing Gurun on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:37 pm

I will.

• i buy the cheapest but the highest spec available….buy saga fl RM44000 pay cash, petrol(RM2.00 future assume) RM17000 for 5yrs, road tax RM600 for 5yrs….balance down payment for buying dream house..good one rite

• Sagua on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

KZM, tiadaid, i know you both can only afford a P1, stop giving yourself excuses for not aiming high.

those buying RM100k car can actually afford 200k car. and those driving bmw and merc can afford 2 bmws and 2 mercs.

so stop worry about ppl stretching their budget, not everyone make as little money as you two.

so go drive your proton. yes, saga blm is the best, myvi is crap( but everyone buying myvi lol. how ironic)

• Tiadaid on Dec 18, 2010 at 1:53 am

Typical retort of a basher, no rational thoughts whatsoever in the post, resorts to attacks and belittlement of other posters. You didn’t even read the damn originating post in the first place. “kalau ada org nak kasi anda semua RM100K , adakah anda ingin beli PROTON ?” look at the keyword “ORG NAK KASI RM100K”. The OP didn’t talk about those who can afford RM100K cars, but what if you’re given RM100K to spend.

A car does not add to your net worth, but is a liability. Is having an expensive car a sign of being a high flyer, even though by the end of the month, the only thing you can afford to eat is only Maggi Cup? Even though you have to scrimp and save to maintain the car? How come millionaires like Ted Turner can make do with only a bog standard Ford Taurus as their daily commute? Ted Turner doesn’t aim high eh?

And FYI, I drive a Honda City. I also had a Gen2, but do to circumstances that was laid out on another post if you care to search for it, I had to sell it.

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Valuation based on asset value only, how about intangible valuation?

Sense of achievment, satisfaction or self-pride…..enjoyment with family, etc…….extra safety.

• Tiadaid on Dec 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm

You can have sense of achievement, satisfaction, self-pride through other means. It’s not just limited to cars.

• Please stop your crappy repetitive statement I have driven a Honda before. As if you’re the only one driving one in Malaysia. Most probably you don’t have enough budget to maintain one that’s why. Heck, if anybody can own a protong, obviously you can own brand new import cars (of any kind) as the cost of maintaining protong is way higher (compared to any other brands) in a long run. Not to mention its fuel guzzling nature, its overpriced milo parts and its overrated mamak lotus handling.

• Tiadaid on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Apa salah beli Proton? Kalau ada RM100k, beli Proton RM50k, lagi RM50k invest buat bisnes ke, save duit earn interest ke, at least buat something yang boleh buat duit tu lagi banyak, tak ke bagus? Tu masalah orang Malaysia, nak tunjuk status, kereta nak besar, nak branded, padahal akhir bulan makan Maggi je sbb takde duit nak makan. Sanggup hutang keliling pinggang asal orang nampak kita macam kaya.

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:32 pm

The right interpretation should be”if you have 100k to buy a car”….not like some smarties who suggest 50k buy a car n balance do some other thing.

The core is “if you can afford it, will you still go for a P1?”

Pls don’t abuse the ori context.

Thank you.

• Tiadaid on Dec 18, 2010 at 6:38 pm

No, read the OP’s original wording “kalau ada org nak kasi anda semua RM100K”. Translated is, “If someone were to GIVE you 100K.”

• kauader? on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

yeah i will..
      tell me when u’ll gimme that money n we’ll meet at any proton dealer..i’ll books inspira on the spot 4 sure!!

• neutral on Dec 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm

why dont we put it this way…if

saga vs VW polo priced at 40 k
        persona vs honda city/toyota vios at 60k
        inspira vs camry/accord at 90k

which one would u buy?pikir-pikir lar…semua tahu jawapan ikhlas dalam hati cukup..no need reply

• anjez on Dec 20, 2010 at 12:53 pm

if that is the case PROTON would have close shop long time ago and its workers will be selling fried bananas.But unfortunately they are surviving because MALAYSIAN GOVERMENT policy of hiking up import car price but wonder how the malays can but psh cars?

• What’s the same thing about the genuine and fake parts: They both will fail you @ around the same lifespan. Cause it’s the designs fault, not the quality of the product. XD

• oozii on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:45 pm

the faked filter looks cheap.. i work at a company which involve hi-tech machining, and i remember there was one senior engineer in the company that can make inner part of the filter. all he needs was a scissor which he bought from kedai runcit to cut metal piece and the filter paper, only with some help from simple machine process.more $$ when he sell it.
    while the fuel pump part took more time and harder to make. 1st need the actual part, take it measurement. after that, need to design it with CAD software with exact measurement. Next, a mould is designed using hi-tech machining tool. When done, the mold would be tested with plastic injection machine to see if any defect..if the product is ok…then it will be for mass production..lol

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Original Parts: RM200
    Imitation Parts: RM100
    Labor Cost: RM50
    Time Lost Due to Poor Quality Parts: Priceless

• Lousy ori Proton parts on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:02 pm

I was given 2 proton ori proton spare parts by pronton supplier. Guess what? They broken down in 3 months. Imitation works better than ori proton parts.

Proton wants drivers to use ori parts? Can. But pls improve the quality of Proton parts first la.

• Blues Gang on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:46 pm

i think ur not using imitation instead the aftermarket 3rd party parts. that’s why its better than original.

u must understand what is original, imitation and aftermarket mean are.

for example.. K&N air filter is way better than original OEM air filter. Do u think K&N is imitation part just because they not using OEM original brand name?

• SoMeOnE on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:21 pm

dude 15 k for a car?..in this deal u want a car with four doors ,a reasonably strong body,an engine/powertrain and 4 wheels?..ur seriously being really optimistic. the lowest a car should go before it should be considered unsafe on various levels is probably 20 k.

• jtiongwl on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:32 pm

This type of low class and slavery series member, from the begining the quality of the car already like shit! if you maintain it properly, it will make you become poor. To me, genuing parts or non genuing parts make no different.

Using genuing parts, you spend a lot on maintenance. The price is very much highier..

• altimasss on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Thanks PT.
    Very good piece of information.. I have always insisted for genuine parts for my wife’s Iswara from spare part shop.. damn, some of it could have been imitation..
    because the fake ones look so close to the original.

I think Proton is not the only victim of imitation.. I remember buying original oil filter for my Nissan and few times I have noticed difference in finishing especially on the printing outside.

I guess the safest place to buy original parts is by going back to the authorised service centres. :(

• workmanship on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:20 am

I just repair my Proton Persona
    Door Handle 1 piece RM 45.00
    Brake Pad RM RM 85.00
    Fuse 1 piece RM 35.00
    Wheel Screw 1 piece RM 12.00
    Labour Charges and service tax RM 21.00

Done it all at my friendly neighborhood ah-beng workshop just near my house.

Total RM 198.00

So I imagine how much Proton will charge me if i go to them?

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:25 pm

…double?

• autojohndoe on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:26 pm

what if all those thing got problem…

you’ll look for your friend or Proton?

• tah laa oii on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Fuse 1 piece RM 35.00??? kalo tak salah harga biasa RM0.50 jer… betul ker ni?? fuse aper??

• If it was protong’s workshop. They’ll charge you as if it you were driving a BMW or a Merc. Hahaha.

• adehhh on Dec 21, 2010 at 3:34 pm

wahh why very expensive this ahbeng workshop????

• ko malu saje... on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:51 am

Expensive la bro…

My door handle only costs RM25, fuse (for radiator fan) only RM 18…

• ya…i hope when ur ECU kong, proton will still cover ur warranty.

• jtiongwl on Dec 18, 2010 at 9:59 am

That’s why you shouldnt buy new car every time. You should use second hand Proton. To me, this is just slavery use vehicle. Enjoyment, nothing! I think you try to minimise the maintenance cost, as well as using old car. It will help you to save some money at least!

• Carl Wong on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:38 am

My goodness man, even Proton parts have pirated versions? Thanks I didn’t know that……

Ya I think their quality is improving. I have a Gen 2 for 4 years now, it had minor problems but it’s running smooth, I always send it to authorized service centers.

• autojohndoe on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

3rd party parts maybe better… but imitation parts doesnt….

• Jack TrungKap on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:47 pm

doesn’t matter. both have the same quality anyways.

• jtiongwl on Dec 18, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Like one of my friend case, we talk about Bracket Arm and Satay Bush.

Some Japan ” Fake ” parts are even more lasting than the original EON Parts. before this, the parts which I mentioned can only last one year, but with the Japan ” Fake ” were used up to two years already still not yet spoil.

P/S: Once this parts spoil your alignment cannot be done and control properly. Sure the tyre will function incorrectly….

• Leng Seng on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:32 am

who is imitation producer?? hahahah u know what i know…he the who hate proton the most….nowdays so many pirate items in malaysia..dunno why….

• ChengLok on Dec 19, 2010 at 8:33 am

The clone part is from the same factory that produce the genuine part.

• Justgothere on Dec 19, 2010 at 11:33 am

a few ways to tackle this

1. go for those producing the fake parts and fine (and or imprisonment) them for infringement of copyrights, patents, safety requirements, tax aevasion, money laundering etc and as a lesson to others; or

2. provide oem rights to them to produce according to guidelines and quality controls set by proton and allow them to compete amongst themselves to lower the cost of parts..

just my 2 cents

• jtiongwl on Dec 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Actually the price of the OEM parts shall be around the same as the fake one. it is just the “name ” of the original manufacturer, such as Proton = Stupid also cost some parts of dollar and cents.

You are paying for the stupid name in fact. The OEM or the fake one shares the same factory and the same production line..

• Errr…

Is there any difference?

I thought ori and non-ori for protong parts has the same level of QC/QA.

God knows, maybe the non-ori is much better.

Hehehehe.

• daneil on Dec 19, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Maybe Paultan can put on how to look at Toyota Parts (vios) and engine oil too. At least, we consumer know how to see when purchase

• Paultan published a lot of articles but anything to do with Proton never failed to attract a lot of comments – positive or otherwise.

To me, this clearly shows that Malaysian are actually@really care about Proton. Like many good films, someone need to take the role of heroes while other need to become villains. This love hate relationship really colours our auto world.

So, take your role but make sure all comments are constructive … if we can’t do that better keep our fingers to where it belong, in our pocket :-)

• clutch basah on Dec 20, 2010 at 7:06 am

You wanna know why they care so much? they all drive proton..

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm

or they are paying high car prices in support of proton and want to see an end to the lose – lose situation of lousy cars, high prices and now increasingly higher petrol prices.

• fake proton parts?…hey isnt it proton also produce fake car??..what the fuss? :D:D

• marcus on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Hi,

Recently i just had an accident around pj where by i was waiting for the traffic lights then all of a sudden a car which was supposed to be inside a Wedding Shop(house lot) got lose of it handbrake and fell backwards then subsequently collided into my proton persona and the house and that car is situated at the opposite direction of the road.

I did not report the accident to the police. As he wanted to settle it by monetary means, so he proposed to send my persona to his dad’s work shop in klang where else at the same time i went to my friend’s workshop he quoted me roughly below rm500.

The issue now in hand is that my car is only 1 month old, will his dad’s workshop being dishonest to swap my original parts out and replace them with the non genuine ones?

If so, how could i keep track? or argue?

Anyhow I will be proposing that if the price is about rm50 – rm100 difference then shall we save the trouble and do the repairs in pj.

Please advice.

Thanks in advance.

Rgds,
    Marcus

• Neouser160 on Dec 26, 2010 at 8:18 am

not all of these ciplak thing product are not good.
    some of them might effective as the original…not at 100% lah..
    i didnt go service at Proton SC whenever my car need service,
    just service at my own house or my friend workshop
    so far nothing happen, as long as you know how to care you car…

• infinity on Jan 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm

shit! my atf fluid is imitation…how???can last how long???

• Danny Maryanne on May 02, 2015 at 9:47 am

Original proton parts comes with part number starting with PW…imitation dun hv.somebparts like lower arm.the part number on rubber bushings not on metal parts.
    correct me if wrong..

• What kinda or color antifreeze (coolant fluid) I must use for Proton Gen 2? Organic Red, Blue or Green?

Sorry for the out of topic question.

• brazilian kimono on May 06, 2016 at 4:10 pm

No matter if some one searches for his required thing, therefore he/she needs to be
    available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.