GALLERY: New Li Nian Everus S1 is the old Honda City

dsc_1154b

Guanggi Honda, Honda’s Chinese JV company, launched own brand Li Nian’s first car at Auto Guangzhou 2010. Li Nian is meant to be a China-only brand and its “English name” is Everus. This debut model is called S1 and it’s based on the previous generation Honda City.

We previously posted up official images of the S1’s front and side, without the rear. With this live gallery from Guangzhou we can confirm that there are no big changes to the City’s original rear design. The light cluster shape and design plus a chrome strip are among the differences. The fresh front end looks a bit like the current “Optimus Prime” City to my eyes, especially from the side.

The S1 will go on sale in the first quarter of 2011 with 1.3 and 1.5-litre engines.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pow ^2 on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:05 am

i can’t believe that they are doing this to deceive their own pple, to think that our own market is alr quite a miserable one…

• Sagua on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:29 am

before ppl start to bash, go ask the price of the car first.

i’ll bet its half of the price here.

• laluan sehala on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:48 pm

who said they were cheating? if the market can accept a product like that, why not sell it then? if looks pretty decent too. if you have seen other domestic chinese made cars in the same segment, this looks like it was the best thing on earth.

• thepil0t on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:10 am

the model very pretty.. ^.^

• Johan on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

I agree, the model is way much better than the car. Now before everyone start talking about china quality, just keep this in mind, they do v-dub, GM, toyota and even audi CDKs way before we do. And the sales of one model in one province can equal the entire proton sales volume, so i suggest moderation before you say anything about china as the car scraps can sink peninsular malaysia.

• just look at their population we bout 30 million they more than 1.1 billion..that how many times malaysian population…true that china make thing low quality(china own brand)….do ever heard news bout they make “pau” from paper box and sell to people to eat..contaminate milk etc..its not bashing china product but mostly r true

• the 2 leg model rite

• I‘m not confident in this new brand.

• swifty on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:50 am

You don’t have to be because it’s not sold here

• mkrafz on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:32 am

neither do me..
      a better model than original Honda city?
      in terms of what?
      design=rebagde, so nothing to proud of.
      quality=improve slightly, but not adequate at all.
      safety=do u watch you-tube about china crash test? there a lot of them in different models. mostly failed with flying colours..
      technology= sufficient but surely not the latest ones.
      just because they have produce numbers of well-renowned brands, it does not mean that china produce a better car. the main reason why so many major car-maker out-sourcing their product due to ‘economic of scale’. there a lot of cheap labour in china for sure.

• kayel on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:17 am

i couldn’t believe this…my car is being copied by Chinese car manufacture

• lkf0512 on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:12 am

So what?

• manU supporter on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:09 am

whats wrong with made in CHINA, if i not mistaken nowadays more than 70% of our electronics items are all made in CHINA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mr Wancer on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:23 pm

No problem @ all if it comes from original source / brand factory.

But not from dunno what brand company which emphasizes more on volume than quality.

• swifty on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:51 am

Not ‘your’ car but a Honda model is being copied/based-on/shared

• kayel on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

i purchase it before, so it’s belong for me and my own…any honda owner will say like that ma

• speedyjack on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:33 am

is it use cvt transmission?

• alldisc on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:15 pm

i think the china market still prefer manual transmission, especially with the lower income people buying people’s car like city, vios. the reason is simple – fuel saving.

• that is why re-badging is never a good move. People has the tendency to think that it was a stolen design and idea without the approval from the original company. Foreigners like China Chinese probably have the same thoughts – what? u malaysian curi lancer’s design?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:06 am

the malaysian version of lancer is sold as a captive import

at least they are honest about the re badgeing

• hey, Li Nian is honest too, read the article. it says JV Company. JV stands for Joint Venture. That is essentially a rebadge, not a stolen design from Honda.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Proton’s honest about rebadging the Lancer too. They announced that they will be rebadging the Lancer as the new Waja more than half a year before the test mules were spotted, but that didn’t stop the dumb Lancer owners from kicking up a fuss.

• malaysian on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:51 am

this guy still don’t know the different between rebadge and curi design. haloo..grow up la.

• I said even if it is a rebadge design from lancer, foreigners might not know, to them, they will think it is stolen without approval. They will think proton must be some useless company stealing other people’s design coz we’re some 3rd world.

• i don think foreigner think like that since many car in the world is rebadge one another only Malaysian a bit shallow bout that…foreigner that think the design is stolen might be Malaysian in foreign land

• maybe foreigners who do not do a lot of reading like you might think it is a stolen design.hahaha..stupid comment!
          plz do not think that people will think just the same way you are thinking k!

• thepil0t on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:00 pm

i only know foreigners think the same way as i do.. ‘proton is a crap’

• DonkeyKong on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Americans have seen “rebadged” cars all their lives and they know it’s normal for cars to share platform and even design elements. Only shallow-minded katak-bawah-tempurung Malaysians who think that cars are exclusive items that should not depreciate in price would feel that rebadging or JV rebranding diminishes the car’s value.

• I’m giving this a thumbs up just because we share the same opinion. Awesome, dude.

• Typical katak di bawah tempurung guy/girl…

Have you been overseas ah my friend?

I was in Michigan in my uni days and you know what i drove? A Chevrolet Prizm…wait, hear me out first….go find out what’s a Chevy Prizm before you say anything…please…for the LOVE OF GOD, go google it up…..

Foreigners don’t know anything about rebadging? Oh puh-leeese. The mighty Americans also do it la……don’t say Malaysia.

• awg1031 on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:21 am

i don’t mind as long it is cheaper than a city and maintain it’s honda quality..

• anti-first on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

put the letter ‘T’ after the word ‘Everus’ and what will you get? :)

• orgbiasa on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

rebadging is not a bad move for some country like china n msia. look at da best selling car of da year 2009, P.Myvi, den u know wat i mean

• montana on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:29 am

our saga look beter

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:36 am

To be fair, the company’s a Honda JV so maybe it’s a way for Honda to recoup some more money from the old City platform.

• laluan sehala on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm

agreed. if nissan can sell their old sunny platform for so many years, why not honda? afterall, it is good profit for the company as the costs may have already been amortised already. and don’t simply say “honda making money out of this” as nobody goes into business to lose money. remember, business aren’t a charity and they remain steadfast to provide better value for their stakeholders.

• subhero on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:47 am

malu lah.. copy and paste je..

something like lancer = inspira.

new business strategy also?

• Anti Proton/Mitsubishi on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:51 am

Is good to hear that our 2005 facelifted City still sellable in other country. To be frank, city is very economical to use and high practicality car. I guarantee this!!

• honda following the proton steps.

• Souper on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:39 am

Ha ha ha….hidden in every posting got a Proton reference.

No lah, nobody can follow Proton 1 lah.

Honda is private entity, if they fail,,,,,that is it.

Proton is a GLC…..even if they fail, it doesn’t matter, just change top management only. Bonus a bit less only.

Proton….25 years and many many more to come.

This “City” is more modern than any offering under Proton now with the exception of the licensed Inspirrrra.

This is actually a Honda factory, it is just that you need partner in some countries otherwise, don’t bother to sell in vol.

• Unforgiven on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:55 am

How many years do you think they need to be baby seated?
    25 years? I don’t think so…

• lalala on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

the rear looks better than the city it copied from..

• lalala on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:21 am

the rear looks better than the GD city IMO.

• ong chin aun on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:32 am

Be fair, the LI NIAN Car is nice looking. Also , it is power by 1.3 L or 1.5 L just suitable for majority of market. Three Salute !!! China is not a or 2 decade back. No need to say much Time will prove the truth.

• Goproton on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

you mean mitsubishi?

• anti-first on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:06 am

put the letter ‘T’ to the name “Everus” and whaddya get? :)

• Wow!! Proton rebadge Lancer is bad…but Li Nian rebadge City is good & got many supporter…
    so…everything from malaysia is bad lah but everything from China is good…

So better you all move to China….the place of heaven….

• everything from China is goood….
    everything from Malaysia is baddd…

so…better leave Malaysia & move to china…stay there until you die…

• mrkthxbai on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:35 pm

nooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!! this is nightmare!!!!!!!! even my city got clone. wth…

• jolly_idiot on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:16 pm

What engine its using? Honda? If this were to sell here,anyone wanna buy it?

• bluelite on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Smart people learn from own mistakes, intelligent people learns from others mistake….hahahahah

• mitlanevo on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm

if sell rm30-40k, then i dont see any problem…

• Beautiful!!!!
    I mean the showgirl…………

• bluelite on Dec 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

hmmm

• normal practice whaaaattt..

cheaper than developing from scratch whaaaaatt..

we never say we want to be successful global player like VW whaattt..

we become at par with Li Nian also OK whaaaatt..

(according to Proton)

• taufic on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm

proton useless company? just because they rebadge?
    think again even aston martin doing it
    vw, suzuki, ford and the list goes on

• Rovert on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Well this old citi trumps the new one in almost every department – sparing maybe looks (which are subjective) and price.

• I like the grill,can i change the grill to this ar?

• reDalerT on Jun 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm

where to i click to like or thumbs up…. the model :D