KL Mass Rapid Transit system – initial details revealed

MRT 2

When work begins next year on the proposed Mass Rapid Transit system that will serve the population of the greater KL and Klang Valley, it will mark the start of what will be the largest infrastructure project in the country.

More than 130,000 people will be employed during its construction, and the project will develop RM3-4 bil annually in terms of direct gross national income contribution from its construction and operations, and a further RM8-12 bil generated from spillover effects.

The project will kick off with the construction of the first service line beginning in July 2011, which will run through a Northwest-Southeast corridor alignment. The line will ply a 60 km route between Sungai Buloh and Kajang, and take six years to complete. When built in 2016, the Phase 1a part of the project is expected to have more than 400,000 users daily, and serve a population catchment of 1.2 mil people.

It will contain 35 stops, with four interchanges linked to existing rail services, these being the KTM Komuter lines at Sg Buloh and Kajang and in KL, the Putra KJ line at Pasar Seni and Star Ampang line at Maluri.

These were some of the details revealed about the initial phase of the project at a briefing held by the Land Public Transportation Commission earlier today, which was presented by its chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar and CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal. While there’s plenty to digest, we’ll just start the journey with the facts and some figures here.

KL Mass Rapid Transit system – initial details revealed

The Sg Buloh-Kajang line that will eventually come about will be a variation of the original MMCG joint venture’s proposal. MMCG originally proposed running two lines from Sg Buloh, one to Kajang (via Kepong) and the other ending nearer to Seri Kembangan (via Kota Damansara).

The LPTC briefing revealed that the plans would now go with the Minconsult option, which has the original lines merged into a single line, using the top half of the Seri Kembangan route and the bottom half of the Kajang one (see first diagram) in what is tagged as the Prasarana Line 3. Prasarana is the appointed project and asset owner for the MRT development.

It added that the reasons for starting the system with the Northwest-Southeast line was because it is integrated into things, part of the proposed Urban Rail Development Plan due out in March next year.

And, from a feasibility point of view, it has been extensively studied, having been originally proposed by Prasarana back in 2006 as well as by MMCG and Minconsult. Lastly, it would serve public needs, as the corridor is, as the LPTC puts it, underserved.

Structurally, the plan is to get Phase 1b going in 2012, and Phase 2 in 2016, with the entire three lines of the MRT project to be completed in 2020. When finished, the 141 km-long infrastructure will serve a population catchment of close to 3.4 mil people over a radius of 20 km from the city centre, with 1.17 mil users anticipated on a daily basis.

The estimated cost of the entire project, as initially scoped by Gamuda, is RM36.6 bil for all three lines, not just for the initial Sg Buloh-Kajang one, though the LPTC says that the complete eventual cost has not been finalised.

lptc men

This cost will involve tunnelling, building the underground stations, elevated guideways, elevated stations, depots, track works and system works. Rolling stocks and land acquisition, where it is needed, isn’t factored in to this initial cost estimate.

From a project structure viewpoint, LPTC will be the supervising and coordinating agency, while project and asset owner Prasarana has a bit on its plate – it is to appoint RapidKL as the system operator and MMCG JV as the project delivery partner, as well as create a subsidiary to manage property and commercial developments around the MRT assets.

As for project funding, the Ministry of Finance is to set up a special purpose vehicle company as the infrastructure’s funding entity.

Next March will see the public display of the Sg Buloh-Kajang line alignment, where everyone will finally get to see which areas the MRT line will run through and how it will all shape up – the LPTC says that public must be consulted, and feedback obtained. Undoubtedly, some may find cause for complaint, but for many, the idea of this has been long-awaited, and very much a godsend.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• meane on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm

hm.. hopefully these rail will be good.

• CHONG KAT on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:04 pm

the journey to make malaysian poorer?

• ataan on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:25 pm

when no public transport plan,,,,,people say gov bad
      now they have a plan,,,,still bad…..what do u want?

• CHONG KAT on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:18 am

“The estimated cost of the…….. eventual cost has not been finalised”. lebuhraya pantai timur (lpt) in 2004 estimated cost was 1.9b but now 2010 is 4.9b. where the gov get the money? we cannot print the money just like that. wi r not zimbabwe. try use the cell of your brain. in 2004 our power purchase parity 16k dollar n singapore 40k dollar. the now .my 14.5k n .sg 45k. that’s y the fourth runaway n blame the fifth n sixth to cover his stupid n hazardious policy. for the note 1990 ppp of .my n .sg was 12k n 30k.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

He just want his piece of the cake, whatever that is. Tell him the MRT will make him rich and he will support it to death. Heh.

• Iskandar on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

True,

When the government built the PLUS Highway, the skeptics complain. But now the same people who complain can’t imagine going back home during holiday using 100 % jalan lama.

This MRT is a superb new initiative. I can’t wait to see traffic in KL to be as smooth and civilized as in Sydney.

Complainers and skeptics, my suggestion is for you guys to FIX your personal and family problem before trying to fix massive problems — like the MRT project.

May you skeptics rest in pee.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Dec 29, 2010 at 9:13 am

We know what we want. We want ‘a good’ transport system in Sarawak because it has been in disgrace for a very very long time. The road in Kuching is the worst in the country, the quality, the safety aspect… you name it! The traffic is getting worst each day and the is no proper mass transit for a city with 2 city halls! The bus system has been a disaster for a very long time, the buses are too old and the new companies have the worst punctuality record ever. And the lists is endless! WE NEED A GOOD TRANSPORT SYSTEM HERE! WE WANT LRT, WE WANT COMMUTER TRAINS, WE WANT QUALITY ROADS! AND YOU NEED OUR VOTE!

• Jeffrey on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:31 am

As for Sarawak case, after my few visits there and some short interviews with countryside longhouse chief and elders, I discovered that if you want to reclaim land to build highway or any kind of public transportation in Sarawak is quite difficult due to tribe land dispute and distribution. The government need to change the mindset of these tribal chief and elders including other long house villagers so that they will know the benefit of these developments. That’s why road from Kuching to Sibu is still in bad shape, winding, long, narrow, dual-lane only, lack of road lamps and etc (partly due to bad maintenance). But unfortunately I believe a lot of Sarawakians still can’t accept the idea of paid toll highway too (in fact I don’t like it too, but I can’t help it).

• I’m usually civilised with comments but this one gets on my nerves…

People like you are the cynics who complain and nothing is ever right with anything people do. Unfortunately you yourself don’t even know what you want.

If you have a solution, share it.

• sucks………. wait lah next GE then u know :-)

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

If there is not enough money, they can always cancel that 100 storey Menara Warisan and channel that RM 5 billion here. Or is Menara warisan going to have one of the stations of this new MRT. Kind of like the Putra line was with KLCC?

• drMpower on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:57 pm

u are not listening
      that 100 storey thing is to be built by PNB money
      PNB money is PNB money

gomen money is gomen money

PNB from people who buy PNB whatever i dont know
      so unless u are one of the people having something to do with PNB
      it best to stop this nonsense Say No to 100 Storey something

obvious people talk like they champion

• hetfield on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:42 am

actually the 100 storey tower plan already visioned by PNB for many years now but suddenly Najib hijacked their plan as one of govt’s project in the budget presentation. This give an impression to ill informed rakyat that the govt is using the budget to build this tower but in reality the money comes from PNB..not the govt.

• odi862 on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

That is typical…..they always do that especially when it is near GE. Always take credit for someone else project using someone else money.

• odi…agreed v u. but seen majority public have a sincere mindset….

• monkey on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm

and PNB money come from where? Out of thin air is it?

• Nolar…from all the supporters who pay taxes…

• towfx on Dec 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm

did everyone realized when PNB introduced billions of share for ASM/ASW, and the allocated shared sold out immediately… thats where are the funds for 100 storey coming from!

• bryan.jones on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:16 am

they have profits from investment.

you think they solely rely on funds from public?
            they made money & their cash reserved (diff from public fund) also can build the 3 billion 100-storey tower.

idiot.

• Think on Dec 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

as long as investors of asn, asb or wateva can cash out their money anytime added with yearly profit, it up to pnb to splash out their money to do wateva they want. prove it if u say all their capital is from taxpayers :)

• lanwm on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

if its pnb why does the gov need to reveal it in the budget!?

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

My ASB money…. They can cancel the 100 storey building and use the money to pay RM 1 ringgit dividend per ASB unit! At least I can double my ASB money easily!

Anyway, Najib’s hijacking of the PNB plan to build the tower really doesn’t take into account the people’s mistrust of all things Government. So now, eventhough PNB’s forking out the money, the Government, especially the BN are the ones in the firing line.

• ataan on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:29 am

i am dissapoited too……but the money is there..because this is malaysia..soembody who are greedy have to take it…. if not current gov,,,it will be next gov….. it keep happen …. :(

• Iskandar on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm

@Tiadaid,

You sure sound very dumb.

Firstly, you can withdraw your ASB anytime. Nobody points a gun to your head and say you cannot withdraw the money.

Secondly, if you want RM1 for each RM1 of your money, you should go and join Pak Man Telo. Warren Buffett and Peter Lynch who are both stock market guru believes that even if you get 20 cent for each 1 dollar spent on your investment, you should be well off.

Thirdly, ASB is the only mutual fund in the world where you are guaranteed to not lost your capital. If you do not know this, or don’t appreaciate this, I suggest you join other mutual funds, enjoy the higher rates and also enjoy the higher risks.

If you don’t like how PNB is spending your money, get out. Are you dumb enough to let others control your money and life?

• rejab on Dec 24, 2010 at 6:16 pm

And what happend if the project fail…gov will help…and gov get money from where?? btw how many project that gov already help using ppl money??

• Last time I checked at laman PEMANDU, programs under ETP will be funded up to 99% by private companies. Government contribution under ETP (in several NKEA areas that I read i.e. Education, Greater KL, Tourism, Wholesale and Retail, Agriculture and Healthcare) will be less than 5%.

For the sceptics, critics, supporters and fans alike, it’s the contract (terms & conditons) between the Goverment and Private Companies that we should be worried about IMO. We don’t want unfair contract burdened future generation.

• sparcov on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Hopefully it will run via Damansara Damai from Kota Damansara to Sg buloh

• Peterpj on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:06 pm

I think it will run the Jalan Sungai Buloh route before entering Kota Damansara.

I have some property in Kota Damansara and am eagerly looking out for the final alignment. Hopefully the upgrade Persiaran Surian at the same time to smooth-en out traffic at the same time.

• Hoping the Kota Damansara line is near to my house,LOL, maybe gonna ask direct infront of my house ( as if possible) hahahaha..

anyway, good start, (when it should have been started couple of years ago, sigh) anyway, will ease up the congestion, now can leisure drive~

• humaizi on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:36 pm

thanks to government, hope this will come into reality very soon as per planned.
    we as a tax payer really hope this will benefit country and citizens as a whole.

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:42 am

print this comment and bring it to bank negara. They give petrol vouchers for suck up comments. Lame.

• SpeakUp on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:29 am

Joseph … you are one sick man. This is an auto forum. Want politics go to your PR forums la … then bash BN all you want. Malaysia is very sick today.

• as u mentioned we as a tax payer, we hope the infrastructure will implemented equally in whole Malaysia, but not only keep focus on KL and nearby area only..
      ppl from other states also deserve it..

• Steve Jobs on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:13 am

Yes but when comes to this big big big money spending infrastructure projects, the money must be spent on the highest priority area, which means the area where people need it BADLY.

That doesn’t mean that on your area there won’t be any infra project like this, but as long as the people on your area can travel with other kind of public transportations e.g buses and taxis, that’d be good enough.

Moreover, people on Klang Valley areas consist of bigger portion of taxpayers than other areas.

It’s not the question of equality for the tax payers, but it’s more on the PRIORITY. However I believe that someday your area will be included as well.

• joehan on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm

For sure , it will cost massive traffic jam during construction .. get a cheaper hybrid then for those who living near the ‘mentioned’ area … huhu :p

• vtec200k on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:13 pm

make it 2 new lines is far more better . . . kepong and kajang area are too congested . . . and masjid jamek shouldnt have too much line passing through as it’s already quite populated . . .
    MMCG JV proposals; neither of the new lines pass thru kl sentral . . . kl sentral have to be the transit for all lines . . .

• Paul Tan on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:19 pm

http://paultan.org/image/MRT-1.jpg

this Sg Buloh-Kajang is the first line, part of a larger MRT system that they’re planning. the other lines have not been announced yet but if you look at the image above you can see the black line that runs in the circle (referred to as the Circle line) thats supposed to be the key in good city interconnection with the other lines.

• Salamander on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:10 am

Sama as Yamamoto Line in Tokyo. Those black line will be the busiest of all.

• The circle loop will be the heartbeat of KL. and the property inside with around it gonna be inflated like crazy. Seen this with major city worldwide.

Well, one of the planner came from Japan.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:23 am

Well, invent something new, like 2-storey coach that will run only on the black line. Surely people can do it. It is a matter of creativity.

If China are planning to build huge rail-bus that will run above normal street, we can build double decked MRT that will run on the busiest line.

• towfx on Dec 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

laaa… just add moar train coach mannn… simple! no need for any reinvention…

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

There goes any thought of buying properties here in KL. When’s the bubble going to burst here? It’s getting out of hand the price of houses in the Klang Valley area.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 26, 2010 at 5:11 pm

buy now, there is never a bad time to buy, prices will always go up. even in the crisis times, house prices never really dropped alot.

• jamal on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

too late now. the end is 2012

• ataan on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

if that day not happen? what u gonna do? blame gov?

• jamal on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

the more developed the country, the more railway/trains in the country. thats a fact. what i’m trying to say is the gov should come out with this project MUCH EARLIER. all the cities in malaysia should be connected with reliable fast trains and the MRT should connected the people in the city. paklah and khairy should not stop the train project some years ago. now the cost already up 200%. haish

• ahmad durah on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm

from my reading,it will be on Hari Asyura(10 muharam) but which year is not known

• senzu bean on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:04 am

It is not the end, but its just the beginning.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:25 am

I suppose that you should not bother reading Paultan or doing any other things except pray, pray and pray 24×7 until doomsday come.

Why waste time commenting here? :P

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:25 pm

looking good in general, now lets see the details. hopefully they will price the tickets fairly to encourage ridership and have trains long enough to cater for demand growth. in short, learn from the cock-ups that were made by the LRT.

• Francis on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Please connect Old Klang Road too

• tunomura on Dec 24, 2010 at 6:01 am

connected via seri petaling line extension
      >> http://transitmy.org/2009/09/03/route-of-sp-extension/

• speedyjack on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:57 pm

i hope we will have bullet train in Malaysia one day..connecting north region to south region. imagine travel from j.bahru to penang in 3-4 hours..wahh

• subhero on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm

i really hope MRT station for KAJANG is near to the TESCO KAJANG.
    so then, my housing price akan naik melambung.. @ saujana impian..

ye huuuuuuuu

• People will always hope that public transport – MRT will make their house more valuable.

What if it is just in front of your house. Stop hoping.

• JohnDeep on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:58 am

Gorv. spend billions of money to improve transportation efficiency here in KL for hardly 5% of msia population which you have had everything in a modern city. At the same time everybody is so greedy to gain some benefit for his/her pocket. I pity kampung folks who are still using sampan and motorbike for their daily transportation.
      “Rakyat bandar didahulukan”

• Shaekey on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm

And how much income tax do you get from those kampung folks that you mentioned? How much more income can you generate if you were to invest and develop those kampung with billion ringgit investment? Those 5% population of Malaysia probably brought 50% of the country total income and by investing on efficient and better infrastructure would potentially generate more income to the country.

I’m not in any way saying that we should just abandon all those rural area and stop developing them but do not be blinded by self interest that when this kind of thing happen you quickly came up with a conclusion that Malaysian rural area has been unjustly treated. There are lots of “social obligation” project for rural areas to provide basic infrastructure such as running water & electricity. Just don’t expect to get “advanced” infrastructure that kampung folks would hardly need or use anyway… that would be a waste of the country’s money.

• towfx on Dec 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm

oiii… you forgot the million of taxpayers also migrate from kampung! kampung deserve development too!

• Although I agree with your view on development based on necessity, I must disagree on your” 5% bringing 50% of the nation’s income, so give them bigger piece of the pie, so they will be richer and can presumably can contribute more” line of argument.

Based on this assumption, you are promoting the already widening gulf between the rich and the poor. What we want is more people to able to contribute to the nation’s revenue, and thus reducing the dependents on the gment handouts at the same time; rather than the rich become richer, while the have-nots will still depend on the “social obligations” that you mentioned, which are a more waste of government revenue in the long run.

I thought this is the very thing that most commentators on this website seems to abhor.

Personally, I’d rather have the rural areas and under-developed cities like Ipoh be improved in a well-planned manner. It will slow down the migration to the already super-congested Klang Valley.

• What about Sri Damansara and Kepong area?

• Ronaldo on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

The line wont pass Sri damansara, kepong, ols klang road, kuchai lama, sri petaling area as these are chinese majority populated area and u guys VOTE for Opposition Rocket/PKR !!!!!!

• Harapan on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:56 pm

You mean the Rocket/PKR government. It’s BN that is the opposition in most of those areas.

• dickybird on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:06 am

and we dont pay taxes that will fund this mrt is it?! this govt has a duty to protect and serve ALL malaysians, at home and abroad! if it does not feel like it then please go run a BN members only club instead of running for election. bodoh punya BN and its supporters yang tak faham konsep!

• Then how about Asia Jaya, Tmn Jaya, Tmn Connaught and others which all these while got LRT? Kepong is itself in KL & 5 min drive to city centre. Compare la to those congested & outskirt valleys of Kajang & Sg Buloh. Duh

• kepong already hav komuter

• tokpaya on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm

as usual some criticsm, hopefully constructive.

1. why sg.buloh-kajang. isn’t there already KTM line serving this area. upgrade the line (faster!) and services, call it something fancier instead of KOMUTER, rakyat will be happy.
    2. why kajang? kajang is already congested (i live nearby, so dont really know the north station). extend the line further down south perhaps to bandar seri putera and you can get a larger area of land where people from the south take the highway, park and ride the MRT to KL. oh, if it’s still kajang, please make it very-very close to hentian kajang/any center bus stop around.

now some positive
    1. the overall plan (with the black loop) looks appealing. hopefully they’ll integrate it further with the highways and bus lane (just watched Jakarta’s similar plan on Discovery few days ago, a lot to learn from there).
    2. glad to see some local expertise being used here. hopefully the employment figure means work local’s are willing to accept, not benefited to ‘others’.

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:03 pm

The Sungai Buloh-Kajang MRT line cuts through the Damansara area where public transport is scarce and the amount of people living there are large. If they didn’t go through Damansara then your point is valid.

• Kokopai on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Nice to see Seri Kembangan got its name in the plan. But where is Shah Alam? – Dont expect us to take the Komuter… it is so unreliable

• transformer on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

i would only say :
    a) more projects to feed cronies
    b) more to leak everywhere

• in the end u will still use it if u need to

• bangmo on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:13 am

we re forced to use it. It is still our money, just that the hard earn money will go into cronies pocket with multiple x the actual cost.

• nonama on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:15 pm

hello, what your money?
          the fact is that all public works in the world are funded by people money.

Rakyat works, got money.
          when they spend, the money circulates.
          when they save in the bank, the money also circulates.
          these money re-invested by private cos and govt again and again.
          in many forms – shares, bonds, derivatives, physical assets etc
          and we got benefit, capital gains, dividends and all sort of convenience in lifestyle, transportation etc.
          we then go to work again as we need to live, and the cycle resumes, like blood working in body system. Each stage requires the very same money like each body organ requires the same blood.

Once the cycle breaks, the system will crippled.

Who is the chain breaker?

Those selfish people who always think that their so-called hard-earned money is really theirs and keep them under their pillow, sitting idle outside the system.

Even if they are not the chain breaker, they reluctantly contribute into the system but keep barking my money is my money. Only they do not realize no asset can be absolutely owned by people. Nothing. Try to find it everywhere on earth, you’ll find nothing!

It is also understood that corruption is part to blame. But you don’t stop a good project fearing of corruption, just as you don’t kill your self just because you have a virus in your body. Just apply anti-virus or vaccinate your body, and you on the run again.

If you think your money is absolutely yours, think again.

• hetfield on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:43 am

then let our country to become stagnant..development only feed cronies as u say.

• odi862 on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:19 am

You can’t change that……no matter who’s on the helm they’ll do that.

• linear_system on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

i dont mind so much if the projects go to cronnies.but pls make sure they did it professionally.dont corrupt on materials,price and so on..its ok to give to cronnies,but make sure the cronnies are expert in that area,professional and trusty.not stupid cronnies that will just pour the money into their pocket..

• How can our Malaysian cronies not doing these? Malaysian is professional in many areas, apa pun boleh, talk is cheap, do nothing.

Not like the corruption will get you a death sentence, it is just few years in prison.

That is the truth, if we never change our rules.

• The People on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

dear transformers,

prove it…. don’t just talk…. if you have prove ….launch formal complain to SPRM ke, SUHAKAM ke, PDRM ke wikileak pun boleh. the bottom line is….

given to whoever pun…… as long its make sense economically, timely, benefits public generally, increase nation GDP, increase efficiency of transportation, improve quality of life among other benefits and positive impacts…… does it really matter? unless you are one of the project bidder tp tak dapat laaa.

• tustus on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

no need more project la if like that.

• I hope this time they use the same train system for both the lines instead of introducing another 2 different system onto KL’s 5 existing system.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:30 am

It’s MRT, which means bigger trains than the current 2 lines are using. It should be as big as normal KTM Komuter, if not bigger. It would be great if the use standard gauge rail which can cater wider trains.

• Yes, I know the difference between MRT and LRT, that is why I said I hoped they introduce 1 type of system for the 2 MRT lines, instead of the 2 different system (Star and Putra) as they did during mahathir’s year.

1 unify system means good integration, semaless transaction. 2 different system means cannot intergate – different ticket, transit must check out then hope to the other station.

• MBX Boy on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:44 am

Good! Taking one step is much better than taking none.
    But I must say that this project should have been done more than 10 years ago. With the current Klang Valley population, it would be great if we had another 10 more lines to compliment the existing lines. It’s about time we have a good and extensive rail system if we want to call ourselves a developed nation.

• baharin on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:05 am

Well at least we know that there is a
    36.6bil plan which will benefit us Msian.
    Unlike Proton who is commiting 480mil pounds to Lotus
    with nothing to show for nor benefit us except for Lotus !!!

• infinity on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:14 am

a noob question here…what is the difference between LRT and MRT??

• tunomura on Dec 24, 2010 at 6:12 am

LRT – light rail transit…low and medium capacity
      MRT-mass rapid/rail transit….high capacity

By the way, only building this system is not enough. It also need to include into the planning some items such as re-route the bus system as a feeder system to the mrt lines. This is important because MRT alone is not enough. 2 cents

• littlefire on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:24 am

Go search google.. U got tons of answer from there.. Mostly is about the amout of people which can be transported in it..

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:46 am

LRT – initiated by cronies, bail out by rakyat.

MRT – initiated by government for cronies, will also be bail out for rakyat.

Similarity: rakyat having to bail out in the end, as it will fail.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:44 am

You are not so bright, eh? That is why all you can think of is politics.

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

You’re naive to think that business entities in Malaysia are independent of politics.
          Name me the tycoon, and I’ll name you their political link. Kids like you need to back to school to understand the realities of life.

Even your dear Proton vendors are political patron of UMNO, which cringes at the sign of higher and stringent QA.

You can thank you Raja Eleena Azlan Shah and Syed Mokhtar for robbing the rakyat of RM36b.

10 years into 2020, Malaysian government cannot even solve public transport woes for KL, just KL. RM36b just for Klang Valley, imagine other states like Ipoh, Penang, etc.

• bryan.jones on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:26 am

then YTL & TPC also got projects what. do you call them robbery?? then what should we do? invite foreign company so we’re transparent from cronism?

idiot talking. if PR become govt also same la, cronies are everywhere. without them, political figures are useless!

• lee.h.oswald on Dec 27, 2010 at 3:24 pm

can i quote you on this one?

• lee.h.oswald on Dec 27, 2010 at 3:30 pm

can i quote u on this one???

• LRT is light rail transit… MRT is medium rail transit…
      which generally means MRT is a bigger capacity train system… imagine possibility of 4-6x the size of a LRT train which also includes the station size increase and traffic increase by a few folds… so u dun get packed like sardines in LRT…

• reader on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:15 am

L = light… M = Mass…MRT is supposed to carry more passengers than LRT…

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:35 am

The difference is LRT starts with an L, MRT starts with an M

• Cucukman on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

just alphabet, L & M.. that’s all

• Steve Jobs on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:24 am

Use my rival, Google.

• dongdot on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:23 am

i hope there in no cheating buy mrt locomotive with high price into own pocket and at the end passenger pay higher to go work.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:25 am

good plan..but pls do make extra coach for all area…..need higher capacity in carrying ppl…..

• Ronan on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:33 am

I hope TTDI has a station and it’s well connected to other transportation hubs. That’s my only concern as for a long time, TTDI and the areas around it (Bandar Utama, Damansara Utama, Damansara Uptown) is very much in need of better public transportation, what with the jams plaguing this area (with traffic from KL – Damansara Toll Plaza and LDP toll plaza near Flora Damansara).

• I hope the government willing to restructure the ticketing price for these LRT/MRT/KTM etc. It’s a bit expensive if compared to other train operators all around the globe. In Singapore, you can travel the whole island using MRT in and out every major station with SGD10 (and still have change left after that).

In Malaysia, average RM10 return trip (say from KL Sentral to KLCC). I have not included the bus fare or taxi fare yet. Total spending by KLites on public transport would easily exceed RM15 per day. Not to mention the safety aspect (being bugged by ‘kaki-pow’, ladies got harrased by Indons/Banglas and etc.) very cramp, late and other poor service you can imagine. In the end, most people still drive their own motorcycle or car.

We still have a very long way to go.

• gangully on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:49 pm

SYOH… RM10 from Sentral to KLCC? i think you have never taken the LRT before and if you have,.. u must have paid first class ticket…

• Thanks for the heads up. Haven’t ride public transport for quite sometimes. But if I include my bus fare as well (and return trip too) I’ll hit RM10 (more or less). If I take taxi from house to KL Sentral, it will easily hit RM30 (return trip).

• i wonder why the new proposed line must pass through city centre….i think interchange system will work well…but of course…more people waiting at the interchange station…hehehheheheheh…but we can increase the frequency from interchange to city centre

• lanwm on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

Early Xmas gift for MMC Gamuda, as if no one else can do the korek2 job

Yeah, where is Shah Alam? Its the capital state and yet its not connected via a good rail transport

• alf147 on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:21 am

i definitely welcome this kind of projects…hope to have more for other places too like jb,malacca,penang and etc…i have no prob f the petrol subsidy to be used for this mega project….to PNB ..i think u better invest for the public transport rather than the 100 storey building ok…

benefit of public transport:
    1) if the petrol price escalate..not a big worry for us anymore;
    2)traffic jam will not be an issue anymore;
    3)accident is lesser since the car or motobike is less on the road;
    4)we save money for petrol,toll,speed trap summon and other kind of summonses,maintenance;
    5)price of sugar increase to promote healthy life?nonsense la..with public transport,we have to work a bit…at least 1-2km perday…exercise is the best way to create a healthy lifestyle la!

but..the above will only be true if we have efficient public transport and the tic price is reasonable!..use season pass.

• Cucukman on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

Don’t be too excited guys…

Still remember Double Track projects in 2003 postpone due to new PM, our beloved Pak Lah desicion to hold the MEGA projects.. later in 2008 it decide to start all over again…

2020 is far-far away to go..we have to faced maybe 2 more election before 2020, maybe.. everything can happen.. maybe DSN kalah next election, DSM his TPM become PM then the SUPER MEGA projects hold for a while..who knows…

but, honestly..pity to MGJV hahahaha..they come with the proposal..but have to fight with others tenderer to bid the projects..

Those who design the track, make sure they declare their property to government, so they can prove they not designing the track line near to their properties.. because we can see there is different proposal from Minco & MGJV ..who got more interest and benefits? hehe.. think about it..

• ataan on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:34 am

i like it….. to me i can say this is gula2 before pilihanraya? hehehe

• najibest on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

hopefully for the city circle route, they can do it like the Chicago EL lines…the train runs on top of existing roads, zig zag between buildings and all…just like how our current monorail system works (but monorail is way too small)…save some money by skipping the tunneling work….

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

I doubt it can be done properly. MRT need a bigger turning radius than monorail. Unless they are using shorter coaches, it is best to keep MRT in the city underground. Then there is the issue of noise pollution. I can’t stand the shrieking of train’s wheels.

• najibest on Dec 24, 2010 at 5:22 pm

i do believe it’s doable…i mean the Chicago EL runs on a tight rail as well…refer here (u can see clearly in the picture that it’s doing a tight corner) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicago_%27L%27

furthermore the City Circle route is meant to circle just outside the City Center, not inside it, in which areas such as Gombak and Sentul would be covered. these areas already have roads with big enough lanes so putting an MRT track on top might no be such a bad idea….

but yes, i agree that inside the city center, it might be a bit too tight to put up a full scale MRT system…

• xavier lert on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:08 am

why not extend it until rawang…. :(

• squawk on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:13 am

Whatever it is, we still need a public transport system and this looks workable. The area in and around Sg Buloh (Kota D’sara, Mutiara D’sara, Kepong, Sri D’sara) is already very congested. Just try driving on Persiaran Surian or LDP after work, or after rain. Just make sure that the RM37b cost is not actually marked up from RM18b (hypothetical example) cost.

One suggestion to planners – if you can’t provide proper feeder service to the areas around the stations, please ensure there are enough parking lots and drop-off points at the station to cater to the neighborhoods.

I’ve used the Putra line before. It takes me just 20min to walk home but 1.5 hours by feeder bus (1 hr wait, at least, and 30min to go around the taman-taman perumahan), so I ended up driving myself to the station but usually there’s not enough parking and many of us end up parking on the side streets and collecting saman. Ok, we broke the law but we didn’t have much of a choice since we’re already there and we, the regular commuters know how to park on the side so that we don’t obstruct traffic flow. So in the end, it was pointless for us to support the use of public transportation.

• try learn to ride a bike la..either motored or just plain bicycle, can cut your fat oso

• squawk on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:59 am

The way some people drive their cars plus potholes on the roads… you dare ride a bike? I don’t. :-)

Btw, I used to ride a bicycle and not just around the taman. Quit because I can’t tahan the traffic and pollution anymore. Too many close calls.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 26, 2010 at 7:05 pm

what was your route? i used to ride too but then i got my myvi and then i got lazy and now it is raining everyday! :( getting fatter!

• Wisdom on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:16 am

Its a big project but do the rakyat’s ready?

1st, the operator. Can they operate efficiently and down to seconds accuracy? will it be reliable and not causing people late-to-office?

2nd, the maintenance. Not only the train, but also the tracks. I remembered my 1st time using KTM Komuter when it was just open to public in 95/96. It felt very smooth and comfortable. But now? The cars swerving violently left-right (uneven tracks), knocking sounds from undercarriage and

3rd, the rakyat. Are you ready? Commuter train usually more packs and full before & after office hour. A lot of sexual harassment cases even some operator considering ‘women only’ cars. A lot of pick-pocket and grab cases. Even worst, the under-educated or plain ignorant rakyat still end up sticking chewed gums to seats, vandals, leaving rubbish, and even smoking in the closed, air conditioned cars. Look just like a group of gangsters at the back seat of a bus in the 80’s.

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

ermmmm. why only kl valley pupils get big budget from gov but out from kl the road & civil transportation still bad… hopefully after the MRT project the oil price in klang valley must high than urban area.. that will be fair for all malaysian..

• Malaysia definitely needs better public transport!!!
    Provide train service not only in KL area, other big cities like Penang, JB, etc deserve it also….

i think if the public transport is good enough…
    this will somewhat relieve the traffic jam issue in the cities….

We want a better Msia!!!

• wow from my impression not to compare or biase….more like London Underground train & Melbourne tramp Line. Circle Line Is the most busiest train and other is InterCity Line…Good planning :D….Btw Just My 2 Cents, Cheers~!!!

• apooo samy on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

if all this project for cronies..who u think or what company will able to run this project?? as what i know…the company that handle this project is very capable and sudah buat banyak LRT or MRT like overseas….or maybe ur papa or uncle company can do better?? hahahaha lawakk siut…

• Do we really know what is Crony?

The company is capable, because of the good staff and management in the company, which includes manger, project manager, engineer ……

Crony is a few, who do nothing and get some commission out of the billions. Most of it is the top senior directors and the Malaysia ministers who are involve in this project.

Believe it or not, Government has the biggest crony community.

So god bless Malaysia, if the project does not fail.

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Which MRT and LRT did MMCG do overseas? You write down now, size of project and value. As far as you know, you know nothing. Are you from JASA KPKK. Go back do homework first boy.

KIJA (Kementerian Idris Jala) and the McKinsey boys loves acronym, and for this project the acronym is PDP, Project Delivery Partner. LoL.

The loser, rakyat. Just like Proton, TNB, … rakyat lose again and again.

• I think the operation and safety is more important than the development. The government is emphasizing the development will provides jobs to thousands and few cronies, how much it will generate for Malaysia income, short sighted government.

Can it be as efficient as in Singapore and Hong Kong? The train seldom late and is very efficient during peak hour. Can Malaysian follow the rules of using public transport, not delaying the journey.

• squawk on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Maintenance is very important so that the billions poured into this project isn’t wasted. I remember how quiet and comfortable the LRT was when they were new and almost too expensive to ride on a daily basis. But now it’s screechy and jerky.

In contrast, our southern neighbor’s MRT has been around a long time and even the older lines and trains are still comfortable.

• 36 billion is too expensive. google and check the cost of railway all over the world.

and we are spending 36 billion from sg buloh to kajang. wonder whats the cost per km stands…

malaysia boleh…

• Cucukman on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:15 pm

because u know nothing about the earth structures.
      KL area underground mostly from limestone.. and to support any structures and any void in the lime stones they need thousand, maybe billion cubic meters of concrete grout !!

and they also need to pay compensation for the land owner due to the land acquisition… bla bla bla…

dont compare malaysian price and others price… it is different at all..

RM36 B is not for sg buloh to kajang.. it is for the whole project.

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

36 Billion for 3 lines la, not 1! Read properly.

• Tango King on Dec 24, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Our southern neighbour already embarked on a 40 billion Sin Dollar MRT expansion. CCL already partially completed, followed by DTL (already started construction) and TSL/ERL (yet to be announced). Expected date of completion is 2020. This will expand their MRT/LRT network to almost 300 km. Most (if not all) stations will be underground.

• jimson on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Should extend to rawang town because KTM suck!

• karaktuamuda on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:13 pm

what ever it is iether funding,political or else…do you guys wonder how long its gonna takes you from start station to end station and what it will take cost for that..its sound goods for looking another solution of public transoprt but its still make people think twice for that.

• shouts on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:49 pm

why cant we be like singapore government. they are very efficient and they walk the talk. here the government promise many things like the lrt, komuter ktm, monorail but look what happen. the ktm komuter and rapid buses are not efficient. i think our mrt is going to be the same. late arrival, inconsistent and not efficient, tengoklah nanti. same old story if people dont want to change their work attitude. i feel like want to shout at these civil servants please change your attitude la.

• LNick on Dec 24, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Learn to change your attitude 1st la. Project haven’t even started also cast doubts already.

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 7:51 pm

You never learn your lesson do you.
        Even the first LRT, Monorail, etc the rakyat had to bail out because Uncle Vincent and his kawan2 all cannot make money, what makes you think this one also will be different.

• LNick on Dec 26, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Its not easy for public transport to make money especially in Malaysia, too high price and Ill be taking the car.
          Now a goverment controlled company is handling this project and I have no intention for the government to make money from public transport, I just want to use it and so do many other Malaysians.

Hopefully public transport will help the country in indirect profit but I don’t care, I just want another option beside driving.

The goverment bailed LRT and monorail out and they’re doing quite ok,. So why do I want it to be different? Sometimes infrastructure is for the people, not to make money.

As long you got money yourself happy already la, you want the goverment to keep all the money and spend it on them self or just invest till I get old?

I dont use public transport all the time as KTM sucks, sardine + slow moving during peak times but Ive sat on the LRT and its quite adequate even during peak hours.
          So I think there is hope

• bryan.jones on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:32 am

Monorail is AI baby from the start. go check when he was in govt. and now u vote him to be PM. i hope he will smoke my exhaust pipe!

• adnan on Dec 24, 2010 at 7:03 pm

I”ve used the Putraline. Ok what. On time and frequent. Peak hours is packed like sardines but it is expected. In Japan they employ people to push passengers into the trains during peak hours.

• labu labi on Dec 27, 2010 at 1:35 am

singapore is small country and rich, easy to handle and take care…and ppl there cant open their mouth if not agreed with what goverment did…. its totally different with malaysia ppl attitude…..

• azrink on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Anything which benefits the malaysian and the economic I will support 100%. But RM36B? Is it really cost that much? I hope this ain’t going to be another PKFZ fiasco. Politician always forget that every cents they spent are the Peoples moneys.

• Kenapa tak sambung terus Kajang sampai Putrajaya?

• WK Tang on Dec 24, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Before project started, the three lines have now been reduced to combined the green line and red line into one. Disappointed.
    My dream Klang Valley MRT alignment would be Line 1 (or the red line) – Sungai Buloh, Damansara Perdana, Kota Damansara, I U, Uptown, follows closely SPRINT via Eastin Hotel, National Science Centre, Parliament, City Centre, Mines, Serdang
    Line 2 (or green line) – Sungai buloh, Jalan Kepong, Jalan Ipoh, Jalan Kuching, Jalan Loke Yew to Kajang
    Line 3 (or Black Line) – circle line via PWTC, Jalan Tun Razak – National Library, US Embassy, interfaced with Loke Yew Sungai Besi, Istana, Mahameru, PWTC
    Line 4 PutraJaya/Cyber Jaya mimics LDP to Puchong, Sunway Pyramid, Kelana, SS2, Uptown, IU and ends in Sri Damansara
    Line 5 Kepong, Batu Cave’s MRR2, Melawati, Zoo, Wangsa Maju until Bandar Tasik Selatan.
    Line 6 Rawang, Jalan Ipoh switches to Gombak Sentul PWTC City

Complimented by extra loops (like Singapore’s LRT) of
    Loop 1 PJ South (serving Newtown, Old Town, Gasing, Sunway Subang, USJ)
    Loop 2 PJ North (serving Sect14, UM, Sect 16,SS2, Uptown. Kota Damansara, Kelana)
    Loop 1 and Loop 2 to have a seamless transfer at AsiaJaya with LRT
    Loop 3 serving Shah Alam Klang
    Loop 4 serving PutraJaya and CyberJaya
    (extra loops required on future basis (Cheras/Ampang), Puchong/Old Klang Road, Serdang/Sri Kembangan, Jinjang Kepong Bukit Maluri Menjalara Sri Damansara,

KL Monorail to expand/branch out to Midvalley, KL Sentral, Bangsar, BSC, Damansara Heights, Kiara and ends in Jalan Kuching

Mega underground stations (serving 3-4 lines at least, example uptown).
    Passengers can take from point A to point B with several options not necessarily take one particular train line.

• WK Tang on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:17 am

Add-in Line 7 (mimics Federal Highway) serving PORT KLANG – klang sentral-bukit raja, uitm, mpsa, worldwide business centre, glenmarie, subang parade, motorola, asiajaya (serving 4 lines, including Kelana/Putra LRT and the two PJ Loops), can mimic Kelana/Putra LRT until KUALA KUMPUR SENTRAL

Three new elements / terms that will overhaul transportation. Wiki these terms for more understanding of advantages:
      1) RFID tickets proven to be faster than the archaic magnetic strip currently in used by our beloved LRT. Ex: Hong Kong’s Octopus, Singapore’s EasyLink/CEPAS, Tokyo’s PASSMO. Actually Malaysia is using (Touch and Go?)
      2) Transit Oriented Development – future major property development in Klang Valley only allowed to be built, say less than 500m from an MRT station. Government and property developers should be commited and practised “green development” which they so loudly proclaimed. MRT at your doorstep.
      3) Cross platform transfer. Passengers need to walk across the platform (maybe say less than 50 steps) to transfer to another line – ala at Singapore’s City Hall station from Pasir Ris (EW Line) to Woodlands (NS Line). Certain stations that will have majority of passengers from one specific direction transfer to another line in another specific direction.

• Mr. X on Dec 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Hope to the gov to consider peoples from Shah Alam / Setia Alam as i’m tired driving to KL City Center. Thanks Datuk Najib.

• FYI.

I have seen the MRT plan way back in 2002… I was told then that it was planned way before the financial crisis. it was shelved due to the recession.

Afterwards, post recession, somebody tried to revive it. But somehow it did not materialized.

I am glad that it was revived… It was long overdue..

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:11 pm

You must so out of tune and naive to think that GMJV will not fall into cost overrun and eventually require bail-out like past projects. What makes GMJV so special? You think just because KIJA creates fancy acronym like NKRA, NKEA and PDP, this project will not fall into overruns?

Even a small project like refurbishing Pudu Raya has ran into cost over run and delay, initially it was PROMISED by UDA to be only 3 months and now?

MMC RM1 billion SMART STUPID tunnel ? How smart was the tunnel when almost the entire KL in 2007. That’s MMC ‘experience’ in digging a hole for you.

Wake up silly Malaysians.

• lee.h.oswald on Dec 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm

show me a government on this planet thats infalable, i’ll show u a flying monkey.

• Trevor on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:03 pm

I would love a City Planning expert to stand out and make comment about this plan, and suggest accordingly.

None of us would want additional disjoint public transport units on top of putra-star-kommuter-monorail

• mzma73 on Dec 25, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Pada pandangan saya ianya amat baik sekali tetapi pelaksanaannya yang tidak bagus. Contohnya seperti STAR, PUTRA & Monorail. Ketiga-tiganya bagus tetapi hanya 1 hala sahaja, dimana ianya tidak praktikal. Dengan RM3-4B seharusnya dibina 2 hala supaya orang ramai mempunyai pilihan arah tuju.

Maksud 2 hala adalah satu lane bergerak mengikut arah jam dan satu lagi bergerak melawan arah jam. Ini akan memendekkan waktu perjalanan dan pengguna tidak perlu berebut-rebut untuk naik pada waktu puncak.

Misalan, STAR-LRT stesen Sentul disambung terus ke Kelana Jaya & Ampang stesen. Penumpang yang ingin pergi ke Kelana Jaya tidak perlu naik koc yang menghala kepusat bandar begitu juga jika ingin ke Ampang.

Jika MRT masih dengan rancangan 1 hala ianya memang tidak praktikal kena penumpang akan menempuh keseluruhan stesen sebelum sampai ke destinasi yang dituju, sama dengan yang ada sekarang.

• WK Tang on Dec 27, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Tidak setuju sepenuhnya.
      All MRT lines in the world are bidirectional from outskirts towards central region.
      Then all lines are interconnected via a “circle line” therefore bypassing busy central region example Singapore up and coming CCL (to avoid busy City Hall and Raffles Place), London’s circle line, Tokyo’s Yamanote or Moscow’s legendary Stalin’s “coffee cup ring story” Koltsevaya line.
      Possible solution to your predicament is to have multiple lines criss-crossing the valley ala New York’s metro. Then you will have a choice to choose which MRT line to take to arrive to same destinatation at the same cost as charges will be based on ‘distance travelled.

• opuoiu on Dec 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

my suggestions:
    1, should TRY first how difficult it is to go to work everyday by commuter/lrt
    2.build ENOUGH parking slots at the stations
    3.ON TIME arrival and departure, time is precious, money must come with good service
    4.COMFORTABLE waiting seats please, with BACK SUPPORT not only pipelines alike seats

isit too much to ask?

• jgtyt on Dec 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm

my suggestions:
    3.ON TIME arrival and departure, time is precious, money must come with good service
    4.COMFORTABLE waiting seats please, with BACK SUPPORT not only pipelines alike seats

isit too much to ask?

• jgtyt on Dec 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

this is my suggestions:

isit too much to ask?

• WK Tang on Dec 27, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Again disappointed to hear that the 2 MRT lines will be combined onto 1 line to save cost.
    Sad that up to this day public still squabble about who benefit, corruption.

My dream transportation for Klang Valley : 7 or 8 MRT lines including 1 circle line (each costing 20 Billion example) complemented by 8 or 9 local loops (each costing 10 billion example) and current 2 LRT lines and 1 expanded monorail. Total cost should be about 200 – 300 Billion at current rate. We will have more than 350 km of rail coverage (MRT + LRT (including KL Monorail + Loops) by 2030 and still expanding based future needs on the MRT “backbone”.
    Extensive MRT will attract foreign talent, increase productivity, increase people happiness (less stress), improve air quality (less car pollution, MRT running on electric)

Urban mass rapid transit is a must for any big city in the world to sustain itself as soaring private vehicle ownership will surely cramped and crumble the very lifeblood of any big city. Standard of living can deteriote. Only a comprehensive network of electric mass transporting humans. As we moved towards a develop country, it is sad to see that the basic insfrastructure called public transport in the capital city is in such a “joke” state. See Singapore’s or even China’s vision of future and strategic mass public transportation. That’s long term planning for you.

To thrust Kuala Lumpur to the future, to compete with the best cities in the world, to be called itself proudly a world class green city, or simply just to remain a liveable growing city, with my humble suggestions above as an example, the MRT is a must.
    Stop Squabbling. Start Now.

PS. Unfortunately I woke up from my “dream vision” and found forummers/public/government still squabbling over excuses not to build the MRT

• Jeffrey on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:36 am

Hopefully the government cronies companies will not be able to get their hands on this massive project and destroy it. I guarantee if the cronies can get their hands on any part of mrt project, main or sub-contract they will definitely destroy it. Maybe RM36.6 will become RM100 billion but still building the same thing that is supposed to cost lower. GO TO HELL ALL GOVERNMENT CRONY COMPANIES, STAY IN HELL WITH YOUR FAMILY TOGETHER FOR ETERNITY AND ROT IN HELL FOR GOOD!!!