Mazda3 MPS spotted in JPJ Putrajaya!

Things are certainly looking good for those into their performance hatches, especially in manual transmission form. By the looks of it, the Mazda3 MPS – also known as the Mazdaspeed3 – should soon join the Renault Sport Megane 250 Cup on the drool list locally where the stick shifter brigade is concerned.

An example of the Mazda Performance Series offering was spotted at JPJ Putrajaya by reader Akmal Azmi (who is turning out to be a bit of a regular pix contributor!), presumably doing type approval, so expect the five-door hatch to be on the cards soon enough from local Mazda boys Prima Merdu / Bermaz Motor.

Granted, it may not have the cachet of a Golf GTI or Megane 250 Cup, but the MPS sounds like enough fun, with decent juice from the turbocharged MZR 2.3 litre DISI block offering 256 hp at 5,500rpm and 380Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, working with a six-speed manual tranny and a torque-sensing limited-slip differential.

Pretty flash too, with that hood-mounted intercooler scoop, body kit bits as well as a huge rear spoiler and 18-inch wheels, so the only thing left to figure out is how much will the thing cost when it finally arrives? Guess we’ll find out in due time.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1841]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=239]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:46 pm

what a nice car. hope it is a manual variant

• gaman on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:08 pm

of coz dude :D

• pumpkin76 on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:30 pm

didn’t you read? it IS a manual!

• ben yap on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:21 pm

so what if he missed it? he is human after all. it is as if you never made any mistakes.

• lepak bro on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm

dude, the manual trans was mentioned in the first line of the text. while i have made my share of mistakes, have to say nothing of this lazy kind.
          so yes, it is a big deal that he missed it.

• beatnik on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Why kena thumbs down so much? is it because they all DONT like manual transmission?

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:47 pm

of coz its manual! hehe

• rapidshifter on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:14 pm

yeah beautiful and manual … now if only i have enuff money… iskh…

• lanwm on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Mazda cars has really been nice lately

• evoskylancer on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:07 pm

true, but with the exception of mazda 2 sedan version of course…it looks awkward and disproportionate

• nabill on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:56 pm

it will be below 200k according the bermaz salesman….

• yes, it is. i heard from Azam Motor JB (Mazda dealer) around RM180+K…
      can’t believe it until it launch coz it’s only extra 40+K than the 3 hatch… and much lower than the Golf GTI..

• kwing on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:02 pm

yeah we have to pay extra premiums for those euro car, jap sport hatches are still the one to go for. but for lazy ppl like me, i just hope mazda come out with auto version wif its mps, mayb buy from others SST or DSG??!?!!

• vw supporter on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Save review in fifth gear saying that the suspension setting is very very stiff.

• vertigo on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:59 pm

damnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

• ayuarjuna on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:01 pm

i don’t know about u guys but i really hate Mazda’s version of the front ‘smiling face’… it seems that too much ‘smiling face’ from car manufacturers these days… hmmm, doesn’t matter coz i can’t afford the car anyway :)

• Jared on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Time to kick some ass! Way to go Mazda

• Any indication when this model will be in Msia? How much?
    256 hp at 5,500rpm and 380Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, thats a lot of power.
    Somemore with manual.
    COOL.

• clutch basah on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:15 pm

I wish they are extra sensitive with pricing. If it ranges somewhere between wrx and evo. which do you think people will prefer?

• 4agze on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:17 pm

i would say the price bracket would be around lancer sportsback price

• blackbox on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:31 pm

2.3 litter import tax is going to kill this car. Should expect it to be more expensive than the Megane 250.

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Drool over this picture:

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS&image=Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-14.jpg

Wow! Six-gear manual!

• gangully on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:40 pm

hmmmm… wonder if it is bermaz or prima merdu which will be selling this… if i am not mistaken bermaz don’t bring in the hatch version… so maybe prima merdu…

also… they cannot price it higher than the Megane RS250 right?

• this is a 4-door, so pricing depends on buyer’s pocket and willingness

• redwings on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Wow… they really bring in the very 1st mazdaspeed DNA to Msia?
    I thought it was just a dream…. Seem like Bermaz really serious about Mazda cars…

Thanks also to Bermaz to bring in Mazda full range… from 2 to 6, MPV 5 and 8, SUV CX-7 and 9 and the monster RX-8…

Next is the Shinari DNA…

• Alpha on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Cool!!I asked the boys at Bermaz before abt this baby and they told me it might be impossible to bring ths here as the cost will be high.But lookie here,ntg’s impossible!!haha~

My bet for the price will be around 190-220k.It should be 200,though,make it the same price as the FD2R is a nice idea as at 200k,the FD2R has a strong demand,and it might just work for this one too.I’d suggest Bermaz to “pimp” it a little,though.It looks too similar with the current Mazda3 2.0 Hatch.Perhaps a diffuser or a more impressive bodykit.

A noob question,btw,

Is the engine the same engine found in CX-7??

• redwings on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:37 pm

I guess the same… 2.3Turbo… but CX-7 only come with 5speeder ..Auto Transmission..

• Ethan on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Although their engine are same, but some actually claim that the Mazdaspeed 3’s engine has completely different tuning compared to the CX-7

• yes it is…one of the engines offered

• vw beetle on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:00 pm

yes, but cx7 is auto, mazda 3 mps (aka mazdaspeed 3) is manual

• captain_gaban on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:58 pm

yummehh!!!! i would expect the price tag will be in the circa of RM250k…

• ezracopters on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Nice!!

• nice toy ahead of 2011…..

but still pricey in bolehland…..

anyway, a great machine for a good spin ……

• Mayonaise on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:22 pm

According to a SA at the Mazda showroom along Federal Highway, the Mazda3 MPS is estimated to be retailing around the range of RM240K to RM250K.

• will anyone buy this car instead of golf GTi and scirocco or even civic type r?

• c14man on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:37 pm

gotta be kidding!! 0_o
      Renault Megane RS is only 230k !

the air scoop adds aggressive looks, but the smiley face kinda spoils it…
      even with the scoop and bumpers, it still looks “cute” >_<

• sutheshkumar on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:48 pm

really? I heard its below 200k, circa 180k.

• SSaturn on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:53 pm

I thought they say RM 180k? :(

• Used Diesel Trucks on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:01 pm

I think this is one of the best car design i have seen, a color is very fresh….

• kentot on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:05 pm

mazda tersengih

• Hoong123 on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Is a very nice car. 2.3 Direct Injection Spark Ignition Turbochaged Engine produce 256HP and Torque 380Nm 0~100Kmh in 6.1 Second. Using a 6 Speed manual LSD Gearbox. Estimated price to be below RM190K

• toyuta on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:17 pm

even Kia picanto looks better than this….Japanese car is going down…the only thing nice about the car is the nice paint…

• sepul on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:58 pm

this makes the type R and Evo sounds so lame.. a rare sight it would be XD

• Maserati on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Yeah,its confirmed the price of this car will be below RM 200k ,but exact figure yet to be known.

Anyway,still way cheaper and more powerful than Megane and Golf GTI and Scirocco

• Hukaka on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Mazda SA confirm 180~190K,already receiving booking by last year end.
    this it’s the cheaper sport hot hatch in Malaysia market.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:04 pm

yes u all may complaint why the price cost more than the renault, honda or gti. but remember guys….the power of this car is 53 more than the gti. making it more a Golf R opponent, a car that should cost rm 340k if it ever lands here. it also had more power than the renault or honda. granted, this car does not feel as nice to drive as the renault or honda, but what it lacks in fun it regains in comfort, while still enabling one to teach the gti drivers a lesson when needed =)

• Anti proton Inspira on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:39 pm

OMG, Evo X killer is hit the road already!!!!!!Really not expect MPS into our Malaysia road.OMG!!!!! I have seen this this car perfomining before, scary and powerful ever ride by mazda,Good Job, Lets smoke Inspira Gao Gao!!!

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:53 pm

another butthurt lancer owner? hehe

• adamm on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:19 am

with the money u save from buy from buying inspira u could put serious ‘fast and furious’ shit and pimp the ride….and really smoke this ‘standard’ car….

• Ordinary Joe on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:49 am

Am not an Evo fan, but this car is in no way an Evo X killer. Its too smiley to kill anything really..

• vw beetle on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:59 pm

this mazdaspeed 3 is NOT a evo x rival because it is a hatchback, NOT a sedan, and it goes only front wheels.

• Anti proton Inspira on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Again, Smoke Inspira Gao Gao!!Good Job, Mazda!!!

• polok on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:40 pm

ugly car for ugly people

• Great car for the ah bengs. No character….

• Trans on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Mazda as usual always technology behind. While others are going toward double clutch, they now offer 6MT! Mazda Caldina:S

• arcana on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:23 pm

if thats the case….civic type R and megane rs 250 is also behind time in terms of technology, since both come with 6 MT sticks.

there’s always a reason for MT, is becoz its really for pure driving experience especially in these powerful cars.

• when talk bout performance…stick is better then automatic or watever tronics

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:45 pm

hello softie. u noe, automatic cars are for girls.

• Hoong123 on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Mazda as usual always technology behind??? what u talking about??? that means Japan tehnology is far behind is it? Even toyota , honda, nissan all the japanese car doesnt have DSG lo.

• Can eat golf gti for breakfast.

But still beh tahan that smiley face.

• transformer on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:27 pm

HOT….

Any bumper kit to replace that smiley face…?

Will Theo do chop an Evo’s shark theme or even Audi’s Nuvolari to replace that smiley…? Thks!

• boring, better wait for exora turbo, bigger , turbo too

• littlefire on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:03 am

Exora turbo is only 1.6L and mainly is to improve torque of the louzy old CPS engine which is quite difficult to haul the big exora car…

So mostly it is a low pressure turbo engine which max fuel efficient & better torque. Except u mod kau kau maybe can have greater hp..

Anyway this Mazda MPS have been seen around Singapore for quite some time.. It is cheaper to own compare to Evo or STi, but if not mistaken it does not have 4wd & lower power rate…

• muittu on Jan 06, 2011 at 9:24 pm

size wise exora T wins hands down

• skyline35 on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:36 pm

is good car but the ron97 will kill it!

• osh_kosh on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:16 am

if u can afford to buy the car, obviously u can afford its maintenance & so & so.. let alone its fuel price.. right??

• BlackBJQ on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:08 am

rite.. turbocharged ron97.. definitely for pure petrolhead

• My friend has an MPS and I’ve driven it a few times, i still think the Golf GTI is a much better car and the interior is much more refined. If they decide to price the MPS at 200k, I would recommend going with the Golf GTI instead.

• Exora Turbo?problem as usual :)

Anyway forget about it!i really love this car!!!

• jolly_idiot on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:45 am

Hm. recently our traffic condition getting better? I see more and more offering manual variant. Is the manual demand that high?

• bien335 on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:10 am

They shouldve put this MZR into the Mazda6.

The Mondeo has a smaller 2.0 turbo motor.

Smaller displacement + turbo = win.

And no need to fill up with RON97 :p

• dondon on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:40 am

the price would be range around golf gti…but cheaper than evo x…what we expect? G want to protect local car (and cronies) but hentam duit rakyat kaw2…*worang kata bukan aku kata….

anyway, mazdaspeed3 is just my dream car…someday i will buy it…

http://www.mazdausa.com/MusaWeb/displayPage.action?pageParameter=modelsMain&vehicleCode=MS3#/exterior

• Harrier on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:55 am

Good car, but still prefer TYPE R…

Nice Engine sound !! and is a TRACK CAR.

• Scoobydoo on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:42 am

So much power but no Brembos n Recaro….wud b competitive only if priced below 190k…else wud b tough to go against FD2R n GTi in that price bracket…

• ex tonto on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:15 am

Paul, who is this Akmal Azmi (the guy get this pic). i bet he is the official PAULTAN.ORG TONTO in JPJ ……..

• eimsperfume on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:40 am

i’ll go for gold GTI even though its 2.0l for its premiumness. after chipped also can get 250bhp. DSG gearbox is just superb. continental handling.

this mazdaspeed, i thought only got power & speed.

• Nice car and impressive power and torque output. But somehow cannot take the car seriously coz of the smiley face. Imagine a powerful car coming behind u but with a cheerful smile. Megane will be a better bet.

• joe jungle on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:40 am

i think this mazda 3 will become trend after caldina fever…

• nighttrain on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Why can’t they beat Mitsubishi’s 2.0litre 4pot 300hp? I don’t understand..

• peeps on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:40 pm

interior sucks and design is ugly.. only got power but no brains. ill still go for golf gti anytime

• berombon on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:18 pm

heleh, it is not for you anyway! wahhh..golf gti got brains meh?? ohh i see..’use your blain, use your blain….’

• White Jack on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:32 pm

This car will win the competitors with a smile :)

I am in with the price of 160K :)

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:48 pm

i smell a lot of jealous golf gti drivers here, feeling scared, bashing this car. btw, moving on, my newly purchased Audi A5 3.2 (recon, euromobil does not bring in the 3.2) will smoke this anyday, and your poser golf gti’s. thank you.

• Coolken on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Heard it would be sub 190k. Would have considered it but it is only available in manual. Good bang for bucks.. Can tapau Golf GTI.. Look at those stats.. 0-100km/H in 6.1 secs. Drooling…

• Audi A5 3.2 VS Passat CC GT 3.6!

0-100Kmh ( Audi – 6.6 seconds ) VS ( Passat CC – 5.6 seconds )

MPS VS Golf R!

0-100Kmh ( MPS – 6.1 seconds ) VS ( Golf R – 5.5 seconds )

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 06, 2011 at 5:50 pm

dude…audi a5 3.2 is 5.8 secs….but i dono actually, nvr actually tried it. if u want to see the passat cc gt 3.6, there’s one in LX Mode showroom. =)

• Kumar san on Jan 06, 2011 at 8:35 am

I have been waiting for this ride for quite sometime already.This has been available in Australia since 2007 if i’m not mistaken.It’s got a turbo 4 pot,256bhp,6 speed manual and a Mazda badge so it should be fun.

I was told this would cost around rm170k.We don’t get many performance cars like this in our market simply because cars of this category have become stagnated over the years.

Then again,i’m getting one.Nice.

• I view their list :) not simply say…

• Nigel on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Heard from my Mazda sales guy it was going to be pegged around RM179k

• elden on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:32 pm

What a nice car, I saw all the pictures. it is very comfortable to all the way. i would like to say all the people, please see and think about buying.I thought it was just a dream….

• this is a UK born machine even the mother is from Japan..so..don’t worry about the handling and safety…and if any one of you tried a mazda b8 turbo before….you guys wont underestimate mazda cars…cheers… ;-)

• sakai on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm

i agree with u bob… mazda b6 turbo and b8 turbo especially 210 version… should be try it ;)