Go topless! – Peugeot 308 CC launched in Malaysia

Nasim kicked off the 2011 new car launch calendar today with the market introduction of its Peugeot 308 CC, the first of four new models the company is planning to unveil here this year.

As mentioned previously, the 2+2 arrives here in THP 156 form, with the 156 hp and 240 Nm Prince twin-scroll turbo, direct injection 1.6 litre block at the heart of things, working with a six-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic and a sport mode. Performance figures include a 212 kph top speed and a 0-100 kph sprint time of 9.8 secs.

The good news is that the pricing is well below that of the indicative one from last week – the 308 CC rolls in at RM186,888, on-the-road with insurance. Two body colour choices are available, these being Pearl White (with contrasting Integral Vintage leather for the interior) and Mocha Brown (with what is a very exotic sounding Luxury Grey Lama leather interior).

Exterior-wise, while the Pug family face is pretty evident upon first glance, the CC features a steeper-sloped front windscreen and a more distinctive sports bumper to help differentiate it from its other 308 siblings. Elsewhere, there’s dynamic directional xenon headlamps with automatic height adjustment and washers, LED rear lights, 18-inch alloy wheels (with 225/40 series tyres) and a twin rear diffuser as part of the exterior parcel.

For the interior, there’s plenty of leather about, with seating, steering wheel and even the dashboard getting the cowhide treatment. Features include dual zone air-conditioning, electric front seats (with memory functionality for the driver’s seat), cruise control, instrument dials with white backgrounds and a retractable high resolution 7-inch 16:9 LCD screen.

For entertainment (as if the car isn’t enough already), there’s a CD player/MP3 head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, partnered to a JBL Hi-Fi audio system replete with 10 speakers and a 240 watt amplifier. As for the two-piece electrically retractable hard-top roof, this one folds up and down within 20 seconds; boot space volume is 465 litres with the top up, and 266 litres with the roof folded.

As is the usual, a host of three-letter acronyms abound here: ESP, ABS, EBD, EBA, DSC and Anti-Skid Regulation (ASR), surely enough TLAs to convince. Meanwhile, passive safety kit in the 5-Star Euro NCAP-rated vehicle includes a rear roll-over protection system – comprised of active extendable aluminum roll-over protection bars that pop up within 20-miliseconds in the event of a roll-over – as well as six airbags, which include the world’s first side head airbags, housed in the seat and deployed laterally from the head restraint.

If you’d like to get a closer look at this topless act, then the Nasim roadshow – which runs from tomorrow to Sunday – at Bangsar Shopping Centre is surely the place to do so.

Live gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1842]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nice car..
    but the steering is a lil bit plain and bare..
    there’s no any buttons that eventually looks cool..

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:40 am

that is very fine for PUG fans dude~ :)

• ong chin aun on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:46 am

It is cool without any distract button !

• LionTua on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Typically Pug have a plain steering wheel without any distraction compare to most Japs model. The auto cruise/speed limiter switch located on a stalk under the signal/lamp stick. The audio controls were on the opposite site. Look carefully at the cockpit pics..:) Like it or not..it’s conti styling..

• 308turbo on Mar 06, 2011 at 2:36 pm

sold out already

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:50 pm

got gps?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:12 am

There’s no mention of it, so no, don’t think it’s specified here.

• Su ber on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Just got one for RM 399 only, should not be a big issue if it didn’t have one.

• Neutral on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Nice!Long time ago,Daihatsu Copen was very popular because it was among the earliest car have the retractable roof mechanism in Japan

• er, maybe they dun have 206cc in japan? 206cc started all the hard top trend. lol.

• Gajen on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:00 am

go topless? lol the girl or the car,haha…anyway this is a nice car,however i think i’d prefer the slightly more expensive miata

• i love both the exterior and interior of this car…It’s superb.
      If this car is not Pug brand… this is my best choice dy.

• if this is not pug, its wat? mercs SLK? at rm186k? or wat? audi? BMW?

wait, u mean a miata? or s2000? all those are more than rm186k, and look at the quality…..no jap car can come close

• Gajen on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:32 pm

quality in this 308 is good but in my opinion,i prefer the mazda miata/mx5 cos it looks sportier and not bulky

• pacifictuna on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Pug IS FINE. they reignited the trend for CC body type. they are also known for rolling out hot hatches….. so it’s a “hot and topless” guru in the automotive industry.

• Alpha on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:06 am

i thought the girls are gonna be topless to promote this baby!!haha!

Nice machine.The specs itself is well worth the price.Add a round 30k to get this rather than the 207CC.But the front is kinda unimpressive..

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:06 am

Very nice..better get this than 208 CC as it is kinda pricey at over 160k..

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:24 am

Correction : 206 CC

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:42 am

again..u need another correction. it should be the 207CC at over 160K

• Alpha on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:11 am

Correction again.I thnk you’re talking abt the 207cc.

• Peterpj on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:12 am

Actually, I prefer the 207cc. The 308cc is wee-bit too big and bulky for second car.

Too bad they don’t import it anymore though =(

• rosdi on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:45 am

Gorgeous!.. I like the leather…. both of them.

• what? on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:46 am

imagine drive this when balik kampung…yeah…so cool

• J@CK LIM on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:07 am

Paul, what is the engine capacity,cc of this car?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:16 am

I knew I forgot something! It’s the EP6CDT 1.6 litre block – added displacement in to story.

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:46 am

mostly all the engines of PUG now (except diesel) is using the mighty 1.6 Turbo… and this is another model using that….all the 308 variant..the RCZ~~ 3008~~

• skiborne on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:15 am

the seats look really inviting!

• guruman on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:28 am

Anthony, can u post a back side shot of the model ?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Er, aren’t DSC_6343 and DSC_6399 in the gallery rear shots of the model?

Unless you’re not talking about the car. That one, let’s just say it would be rather incriminating …

• Topless cars is also known as eat dust car, really not suited for our tropical climates unless the owner wish to show off and get attentions.

• i rather say they want to enjoy their life since they work really hard to earn so much money. i don’t think those who bought this car will use this car as their first one. most likely this is their 5th, 7th or 8th car.

• TurboMan on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:07 pm

I disagree.

I own a topdown car. If u drive around KL, its a big nono. Unless you want to eat dust.

But if u do countryside driving, then its really awesome. Drive to cameron, drive to genting, drive to rawang, heck even drive to ipoh using the old highway not the Plus highway its one of the finer aspects of life.

But thats just me. Cause i don work in the city. If you work in the city, and spend 1-2 hours in the rush hour crawl daily, then this car might not be suitable.

• SYeNi69 on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:03 am

Car looks nice … should have came with a more powerful engine to go with the looks … cant wait for the RCZ though :)

• RCZ comes with same engine and same power and torque unless you are talking about the manual 200THP version.

• shawal on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:17 am

Schweet ride, schweet price tag, the interior is tastefully done …
    If it was distributed by sime darby, auto connexion, im sure it would’ve cost 220k or something, so…. thank you naza!

• the interior leather color makes the car looks luxurious..
    must be customizable, i guess so.

• Nice but in our so hot and humid condition, topless is only for showing off.

Those with sunroof can testify the frequency of the utilization. If sunroof is forgotten after a while due to the unsuitability, just imagine going topless.

• 4agze on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:09 am

aren’t those girls from KIA’s booth in KLIMS?

• Ash Menon on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:31 am

LOL Anthony your “read more after the jump” link should have been “Click here for more topless pics!”. Confirm 100% viewers click.

CC’s are not my thing, but I can’t deny that that is a very handsome car!

• Jaybond on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:39 am

While basically the dashboard layout is quite simple (as it is lifted straight from std 308) , the leather wrap around certainly give it a better finishing touches & a more sense of occasion. Overall nice car!

• Lancastrian on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:58 am

Nice car. For me, for this price I can get a sexier Sirocco. The interior of this 308 cc however, is miles ahead of the 1.4 VW -leather seat, LCD… yummy.

• Simon VW on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:12 am

This car not practical at all in our country how often do you open the roof even cars with sunroof and moonroof is in use at all.

As for performance how to compare to VW , they don’t even have and double clutch gearbox.

Scirocco 1.4 cost almost the same and looks better.

• lifeisbeautiful on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:50 am

for heaven sake…

why dont u compare a coupe cabriolet with another coupe cabriolet ?

if you want to argue ,compare this 308cc with the VW Eos….

• VW_fan on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:08 am

a lot of people dont buy cars based on performance or practicality.

it is a stylish car.

though i like the scirocco, not everyone thinks its beautiful.

• TurboMan on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Ya. A satria with 2 liter MIVEC engine pumping out 400 hp is the most practical of all.

Can tapao ferrari, golf gti, porsche. Fixed roof, so no need to eat dust.

Gaya oso. Can put spoiller big big, hang wet underwear and towel from the washing machine.

Nothing can beat that satria. Best car in the WORLD!!!

( im being sarcastic, don take me literaly )

• Ordinary Joe on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:36 am

Look like a really nice car. IMHO looks nicer with the roof up.
    Just wondering, are the rear seats sufficient for adults? or strictly for kids? Can’t quite positively make out from the pics…

• you should try out the rear seats this weekend at BSC. i have and they’re fine. very spacious for this type of car.

• laluan sehala on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:46 am

bro, much more spacious than the 207CC or the 206CC. at least this one, you can have friends at the back and they will still be your friends after sitting in there after a long journey ;)

• Curious on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:38 am

Just wanna get some public opinion..

Do u think this is a chicks car? Or guys will also look good in it?

• PakAbu on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:41 am

Looks girly to me. Maybe it’s the white colour that match the lady model’s dress. Or the reddish brown leather that match her lipstick. Or the smiley grille that match her smile.

;-)

• Peugeot Malaysia always highlight (in their newsletter) something than we won’t get here in Malaysia. I supposed the 308CC in the Europe market now comes with a 200bhp engine.

Seems to me the new 308CC have almost same mechanical specs with the new 308 Turbo minus you don’t have the retractable hard-top (which is OK to me consider our climate) and a re-defined interior looks.

I agree with some of the comments here, you will definitely looks cools driving this for your balik kampung trip or you want to impress sexy girl(s)!

• Topless on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:44 am

Car topless what for? Pretty girls topless then bagus la. Bodoh punya Naza.

• what nonsense are you saying??
      u dont know how to differentiate between human and vehicle?

• Fatty on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:48 am

This is a beauty.

More like buying a piece of art.

It has useable rear seats as well.

Small engine good for our times of ever higher fuel consumption.

I guess it needs…….Ronny 97.

• putra_rider on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:50 am

buy this car can get topless girl ka?
    i like topless..hahaha

• clutch basah on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:50 am

Hoping the models to go topless too.. :)

• VW_fan on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:13 am

the leather treatment makes the interior very up market.

not many people will be able the tell the diff between this and the regular 308 from the front though.

somehow i think its still more of a car for chicks. and its dangerous for ladies to drive around with the top down around KL.

• _xXx_ on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:30 pm

…can’t imagine if u drive this topless car behind a lori sawit / bas kilang…this is NOT Calif/Europe…

• Andre on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:38 pm

The interior is very tastefully done. I really love the sporty rear look, but never a fan of peugeot’s “big-smiley-face” look.

Enough with the “not suitable for our country” comments. Convertible are made for enjoyment of rich executives with lots of time on their hand and want to impress future clients. If you can’t afford it then its too bad for you.

• intermilan on Jan 07, 2011 at 1:09 pm

price / cost comparison with vw eos, another convertible in our market.

308CC price is RM186,888 OTR

as for the vw eos..
    price is RM249,888 NSP, therefore.. ~RM257,000 OTR

the difference is .. RM70,000…

if purchase 308cc or eos with 7/9 years loan, the difference could balloon up to RM90,000.

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:34 pm

agree…

but the engine & the gearbox the EOS win ~ 2.0TSI

but then i guess the outlook this 308CC kill the EOS, especially the new model of EOS~ so square..

• lionel on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:18 pm

nice car…

• Chicharito on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:23 pm

wonder why so many ppl say bad about open roof car, hey, the car have the cover laa. If dunt want eat dusk, just turn on the roof button….nite time can go topless…..

ppl have brain, not necessary go topless under the sun….

• TurboMan on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Agree 200 percent

• laluan sehala on Jan 09, 2011 at 9:30 pm

agree 400%!

• Darius on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:59 am

Agree 1000%

Yes most of these have people never owned or driven or sat in a convertible car and have no idea how it feels. Only know Myvi Vios or City.

But talk like expert and millionaire.

• boleh tahan..

• elpaciko on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:04 pm

mmm…. maybe it just me… but i think 307cc looks so much better… more macho and better proportion…

• johndol on Jan 07, 2011 at 6:00 pm

if i ever get a hand of this 308cc, i would go topless through the night all the way in kl to show off and find any girl that would jump in the car and go topless so that people would think topless car will definitely gets topless girl and stop thinking on how topless car is not suitable for malaysian weather. Come to think of it, if i can ever afford this type of car. Oh well, better work hard now… *sigh

• azlan on Jan 07, 2011 at 6:26 pm

How is the back seat? spacious? really considering to get this car

• yes it is. just read a few posts up and if u hv time, go to bsc to check it out. really very spacious at the back.

• azlan on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:41 pm

yep yep, I went and it spacious, but car can only arrive in Malaysia after march

• this is one cool looking ride minus the cut throat prices…..

guys wouldnt mind driving this. shod with 18″ wheels looks ganas……

leather on the dash is another first in this price range……

this is one hooked up ride…….

• kaiser on Jan 07, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Personally I would not buy this car. It’s “convertibleness” is not usable most of the time as in Malaysia it is either piping hot or pouring with rain. The convertible treatment makes it fantastically slow as well.

But thats missing the point isn’t it? This is an accessory, not a car. Look at it, it is shameless with the diffusers and and beige leather. People buy this car based on how they feel not logic.

I’m sure i’ll be seeing quite a few of these on the road soon. Hopefully with hot chicks in them not balding middle aged men.

• tempoyak on Jan 07, 2011 at 7:55 pm

emm, a topless model..

• ezracopters on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:40 pm

i wont buy it. but im looking forward to see it on our road..

• osh_kosh on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:48 pm

ugly car… when the roof is on…

• somesay on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:51 pm

this is Langkawi’s car. I would drives it in Langkawi. Parks it at the marina or maybe in front of a hotel lobby. Look at me, i’m driving 308cc or better 308sexy….toplessss

• transformer on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:50 pm

i would change that 5spoke wheels(4nuts) and rear lower diffuser if got one…. dream on….

• SpeakUp on Jan 08, 2011 at 4:43 am

Saw the car today at BSC, she is pretty. Her lines are smooth and graceful. Love the interior, the leather is just soooo sweet. This is one care that is making me think that its time to get a nice weekend car BUT I was informed by the sales person, who was pretty honest, that the resale leaves a lot to be desired.

Syiok to buy but worry about depreciation … maybe its time to enjoy and not care about how much you will lose in 5 years time. Decision!

• arcana on Jan 08, 2011 at 1:06 pm

well most 2 door cars let alone topless ones generally depreciate very fast coz low demand from 2nd hand buyers. at a RM180k+ price tag, its just a big toy for the rich boys/gals to play with.

• that rear diffuser makes this beautiful car looks cheap. it would be nicer if they put twin tail pipe. (like golf gti)

just my 2 cent.

• kuching on Jan 08, 2011 at 10:54 am

very nice car but dont have enough budget to buy. i owned peugeot 206cc beside my prado and coupe. Enjoy them all with diff taste. Maybe waiting for another years to add my collection.

• Jeff Choo on Jan 08, 2011 at 4:51 pm

I’m surprised if convertibles take off in Malaysia considering both the heat (everyone prefers a/c) and the crime/theft risk.

• laluan sehala on Jan 09, 2011 at 9:27 pm

most who buy convertibles almost never open the top. so, it is not a matter. it is more of a stryle statement rather then to buy it just to take the roof off. they would most probably do it when in the highlands or at night near nightspots.

plus, this is a folding hard top so, the security is definitely much better than a real soft top.

• I like VW Eos 2012 :)

• now this is price under rm190k..
    I bet if Proton coming out the lotus sports car.. should definitely price it right..
    If not.. This Pug simply looks more georgeous and more value.

• racotua on Jan 09, 2011 at 10:51 pm

to be fair, the proton lotus sports car is of a different genre compared to this. can’t really say one is better than the other as each have different purposes and target markets. so, the pricing would probably not have much relation to each other.

• the convertible roof can be operated in seconds. you dont leave the car parked with roof open. what does it man when we say fear of rain and theft?? The roof comes up faster than opening your own umbrella.

• azlan on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:10 pm

got this car already, unfortunately, got leaking issues from 1 of the roof seals

• racotua on May 17, 2011 at 10:33 am

it’s sold out already! no more units coming to malaysia. just wait for the rcz now.

• Soon Muzamil on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Peugeot spare part are expensive :(