Hyundai HCD-12 Curb Concept to debut alongside Veloster

We already know that Hyundai will be showing off its Veloster at next week’s North American International Auto Show in Detroit, as they’ve released teasers of that hatchback/coupe. It won’t be alone though; the fast rising Korean carmaker will also show this off – the HCD-12 Curb concept.

This teaser shot (we’ve brightened the dark bits for a better view) shows a compact crossover, a Nissan Juke rival that sits below the Tucson perhaps? It features a slim, aircraft cockpit style glasshouse and blackened A-pillars. There’s also a prominent character line that flows down from the rear lights to form a figure 7. Swelled wheelarches house big wheels with claw-like star spokes. Doesn’t look too outlandish for Hyundai, which has a range of bold new models.

The cabin however, is pure show car. Image is after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• why can Proton come out with this kind of ideas even after 25 years in the industry…it’s something which cannot be accepted by each and every malaysian…!

• i also have no idea why..look at the luxgen, taiwan car maker, not just a good design, but also packed with technologies..their 1st car out in 2009 is better than the whole proton car..
      http://www.luxgen-motor.com/

• yulon motor (luxgen parent) exist far before proton..not only in 2008 they produce their own first taiwan brand luxgen n 2010 tobe brand….they r well protected n assist by taiwan gov from 1953-1990…in which malaysia copy for it national car..u can blame them for given idea to TDM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yulon_Motor

• I beg to differ, althought yulon is protected (as claimed by you, heck using the most unreliable source, wikipedia), they’re protected but the result is outstanding!

Protong protected but the result is disastrous to Malaysian motoring industry.

Can you see the difference?

• drMpower on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:23 pm

maybe we should do exactly what they did in korea then
      get rid of all those nissan toyotas merc bimmers everything non proton
      leave malaysians with proton only
      then the nationalism increases
      proton got more money
      of course there are people oppose this act of protectionism
      but after 20-30 years, they are all died edi
      then new generation become more appreciative of proton
      cash flow proton increase
      market definitely control by proton

then we can think about asking them to do something like this

• lol, loser, you do whatever also lose money and bankrupt one la.

lazy and dumb.

do you know how cheap are those korean national car in their own country? your own country man also cannot afford your national car, all taking motorbike only.

your nick shows how immature you are.

• yo, is the korean car company private fund or using tax money?

u go sell pisang goreng or ramly burger can la.

you use our tax money, now you wanna say, lets force all of them drive a proton? thick face. really thick face. god bless you with a small brain,lol.

• lala1 on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:21 pm

typical M thinking. how to fight with korean? who can you win? your indon brother, harimau malaya, wakakakkakakaka.

if you enter world cup, i think PM will declare 1 year holiday….in your dream. lol.

• it can be done but success rate is low like what Taiwan do for its auto industry not so success

• weewangwang on Feb 19, 2011 at 3:31 am

wat the heck are you talking about? get rid of other brands car? are u stupid? Protong is like rakyat bonzi scheme…. all the proton are like paper cars… cant even compare.. after 30 years they will be the same… their best stradegy is use the money to buy the whole design from other company and produce it.. thats all the protong can do. it is a smart move anyway…gov shud just get rid of the fucking import tax

• This is only a concept car, bro and who said Proton did not come up with such idea. Go and compare it with Lekiu, a concept SUV from Proton.

• Dei … do not equate the proton with Hyundai, they have been established for nearly 40 years … proton is established for 25 years …. however, they have succeeded in creating the future of cars (Proton Gold) …

• gangully on Jan 07, 2011 at 3:05 pm

forget about the inside… if the exterior comes anything close to the design… it will be a seller… especially if it slots in below the tucson… lots of college kids with rich father mother will get this..

• shame on you proton……..look at your younger brother…he is doing much better than you despite of you being much senior to them…!

• Shame on you for not doing some reading.

Hyundai Motor Company was established in 1967. The company’s first model, the Cortina, was released in cooperation with Ford Motor Company in 1968, That’s > 15 years before Proton was established.

• hyundai does have a good background to start with.

however the world is not waiting for proton. people don’t care when proton started their journey. what they care is a car with an acceptable price which they can afford.

• Agree! Keep on emphasis that P1 still younger than other automobil company will not help anything.
          25 years is a long period, even a baby already can become a father oredi..

• and what about luxgen from taiwan?..2 years old company..what about chery from china?..u might say the china cars no quality, but this is one of the fastest growing car manufacturer in the world..established in 1997..now even have their own ACTECO engine ranges from 0.8l-4.0l with EURO IV standard..and now even Fiat use that ACTECO engine..proton until now only produce campro 1.3l & 1.6l which is pathetic..luckily the mitsubishi doesnt allow the campro to be fitted in inspira..

• they r older than proton…luxgen brand is from Yulon motor(1953) that r self develop by them…luxgen(yulon motor) do get help fron taiwan gov

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yulon_Motor

• lala1 on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:19 pm

so, 15 years later, proton will ….rebadge korean car? lol…..wakakakkaka.

is korean car, using taxpayer’s money???????????

wait….you did not go to school, so you do not know.

• they don use tax payer money but they get tax incentive from korean gov until 2009

• pandai on Jan 08, 2011 at 1:11 am

FTO, perlu ke cakap pasal proton kat sini?

• MazdAstina on Jan 07, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Nice. Go Hyundai ! ! ! Make the japs run for their $$$!

• Inline 6 on Jan 07, 2011 at 7:14 pm

forget about Proton, just respect the KOREAN !~

• shawal on Jan 07, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Makes the juke looks like a joke…

• toyuta on Jan 07, 2011 at 7:54 pm

see what the Korean can do….i don’t see the japanese with car like this…they don’t even have concept car….japanese car should close down….the Chinese and Korean are the future of automobile!!
    as for proton….they should just rebadge china and korean cars..

• Yeah.. right. Korean has the best design, best technology, best .. best .. and after a few decades, they can’t even get to the top 10 best selling car in Malaysia.

• TOP 5 in the world year 2009. Production volume – 4,645,776 units. Proton produced 152,965 units, 1/30 of Hyundai/Kia Volume. Hope Proton will reach that figure 30 years later, when celebrate 55th anniversary!

• squawk on Jan 09, 2011 at 11:37 am

The Koreans are now consistently on the top selling list in Europe, US and many other countries. What is Malaysia to them?

• ezracopters on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:36 pm

wow.. cute & tough looks..

1. whilst the interior do look modern, (lil’ bit EMAS pun ada) , the color tone didnt really match for me.. it make it look too cute to to match its outside look. and if they do make it exactly like that..well i guess lotta star wars and star trax fans must be super happy..hehe

2. i dont know why, first impression i get seeing side view of this crossover is Proton Logo..(the tiger head) hmmmm

3. i do agree with gangully, if the exterior comes anything close to the pic above, it’l be pisang panas!!

• Awesome design, thumbs up for Hyundai ! Proton needs to learn a lot from Hyundai & Kia

• agree but they must take control malaysia market first like korean car maker do control 95% market share

• chris on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:49 am

Proton should produce value for money good quality car.

Not just know how to copy cat.

Then I guess Malaysian will started slowly to accept then as serious car MANUFACTURER!

• hangtuaha on Jan 08, 2011 at 9:57 am

how they control the market? are their car as expensive as us? touch your heart, and ask how many of your fellow country man that can truly afford a national car without sacrificing the quality of their life? proton for 25 years, i only see 9 years loan repayment, and car price is going up every year, not down.

pls compare car price in oversea, and see if they increase so much through out 25 years.

becos of high car price, second hand car price also higher. it makes our countryman poorer. so, rainy day also, all taking motorbike

• i hav compare the price of many country especially price of car country near to us it look quite similar….maybe except Brunei

• Have Proton improve the Inspira? From a 3 YEARS old Lancer?

Why the price of Inspira 2.0 at RM 91K (claim 40%-60% part local part), about the price of a Naza/Kia Forte, which have an identical engine, better safety features (bcs lack of CVT?).

Control the market? This is not the way they can control the market!

• squawk on Jan 09, 2011 at 11:41 am

But Proton did nearly control the market. Then they got cocky, complacent and lackadaisical resulting in at least two generations (people who owned Protons and their children who had to experience their parents’ cars) disliking the brand for what it meant, not what it’s supposed to stand for.

• bryan jones on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Proton gotta be more serious in design.

• Jimmy on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Big wheels compared to body, cantiq.

• JoeGTi on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:46 am

Bravo!!
    Bring it faster to production!!
    Establish your 3S in Malaysia and you can beat H and T easily.

Proton should move quickly to bring YM SUV to Malaysia soon but please don’t
    betray your loyal customer with bad quality.
    Buckle up Poroton!!!

• c’mon proton.. and malaysian govt pls wake up.. even use protection against conti cars proton will nvr beat conti cars.. jz accept the facts.. but im asking proton to fuck off.. even if malaysian car price lowered by 30%. proton wont go bankrupt. i dont understand why dont proton think of targeting customers with motorbikes.. family with motorbikes.. proton isnt the answer to conti cars..

• Samarkand on Jan 09, 2011 at 9:47 am

Whatever cars comes out in the market, Toyota & Honda have better 2nd value for Malaysian! Moving forward…yahooooo!

• David on Jan 09, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Don’t talk rubbish. This so-called better 2nd value is utter rubbish, especially when most of us ordinary Malaysians would keep a car ’till its death. Even my pop’s old Honda Accord, despite giving problems, still runs good, so why should i worry about resale value unless it costs a bomb to fix it problems. Typical pathetic Malaysian, only thinking of resale value, and not the merits and demerits of the car.