Third-generation Mercedes-Benz SLK roadster debuts

Mercedes-Benz has introduced its new R172 SLK, with three model variants of the third-generation roadster available at launch, all with a BlueEFFICIENCY suffix. Two are 1.8 litre four-cylinder versions, the SLK 200 BlueEFFICIENCY and SLK 250 BlueEFFICIENCY, offering 184 hp and 204 hp respectively – performance figures include a 0-100 kph sprint time of 7.0 sec for the SLK 200 and 6.6 secs for the SLK 250. The seven-speed 7-Gtronic Plus gearbox is standard fitment on the SLK 250, and an option on the SLK 200.

The immediate range is completed by the SLK 350 BlueEFFICIENCY – the V6 block, which features third-generation direct injection, piezo injectors and multi-spark ignition, pumps out 306 hp and manages a 0-100 kph sprint time of 5.6 secs. Mercedes says that despite the level of performance, the trio is up to 25% more economical than their predecessors.

Shape-wise, the front represents quite a bit of change from the previous generation R171 – the upright radiator grille, with its contoured fin, is certainly eye-catching, and together with the clearly defined headlamps (now equipped with LED technology) bring about a look that not only follows on the link with the SLS AMG and new CLS but is also a homage to the hallowed 190 SL of the past.

Other cues also offer a nod to the past – the ventilation grilles in the front wings, with a chromed fin, are reminiscent of the famous Mercedes-Benz roadsters of the 1950s. Not that it’s all just to do with style – the bonnet and wings are now made of aluminium to bring weight down and, despite the larger, more striking frontal area, the R172 SLK is aerodynamically slicker than its precedessor, with a Cd of 0.30 to the R171’s 0.32.

For the interior, there’s plenty of plush, from brushed aluminium trim bits in the base version to the high-gloss dark brown walnut or high-gloss black ash wood as things move up the scale. Other bits of kit include a multifunction sports steering wheel with a flattened bottom section and a thick leather crown as well as optional sun-reflecting leather.

There’s also Airguide, a new draught-stop system consisting of pivoting transparent plastic layers attached to the reverse of the roll-over bars – the driver or passenger can swing them to the centre of the vehicle in a flash to tame turbulent air flow.

It’s on this SLK that Mercedes is offering, for the first time, a choice of three variants of the lightweight-construction vario-roof. The base version is a roof painted in the vehicle colour, and alternatively there’s the option of a panoramic vario-roof with dark-tinted windows.

The third variant is a world premiere item – a panoramic vario-roof with Magic Sky Control, with the glass roof switching to light or dark as you wish at the press of a button. In its light state the roof is virtually transparent, offering an open-air experience without the air, and in its dark state the roof provides, well, welcome shade.

Three is also the number of suspension versions SLK buyers can choose from – a conventional steel suspension comes as standard, with the second being a sports suspension with harder springs and dampers. The third is a Dynamic Handling package, with an electronically controlled fully automatic damping system that includes a Direct-Steer system and Torque Vectoring Brakes as part of the parcel.

Since it’s a brand new SLK, Merc has decided to celebrate its arrival with an “Edition 1” special model, which comes in a special paint finish in glacier grey, and standard spec equipment for this one includes a panoramic vario-roof, the Dynamic Handling package, AMG bodystyling, two-tone designo nappa leather with contrasting top-stitching and Airscarf.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1872]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Thomstho on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Hmm…. Why is their exterior…. so ugly? Did they asked a blind designer to design the rear’s exterior?

Regards.

• Lookwise, I still think the previous SLK looks better. The F1 nose is unique and very identifiable. I will rather get that one for which I think will be a classic. Hopefully price will drop more once MB launch this here.

• Peterpj on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Dear, won’t this look nice next to my W123 ;-)

– if only he was that naive

• shawal on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm

It maybe exciting to look at because its new , but it doesn’t have that WOW factor exteriorly and interiorly to match the Z4 , BMW still makes the more desirable roadsters

The sport package front bumper is to square and doesnt go well with the curvaceous lines of the car, especially the back i think..

• Mini SLS . :)

• 2fast on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:38 pm

They are using the SLS protruding nose design on their new cars. Even the updated new C class have a subtler version of it.

• bryan jones on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:47 pm

wrong proposition throughout the design.

• Alpha on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:51 pm

really nice,but no surprises.if it’s me,I think I’d rather have the E89.

*SLK 200K recon price gonna drop yo!!it’s already hovering around 200k~

• Ok, BMW has clearly won the competition with their lovely E89 Z4.

This thing is ugly!

• Frankie Tan on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Alamak the latest R272 SLK is no longer my aspiration, instead I really appreciate the R271 more than before, the same goes to W204 in which I favoured the W203 or is age catching up already with me ? I think so because I have been thinking of a LWB W126 everyday or may be my income ability has subconsciously influenced my taste !!!

• 111222 on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:18 pm

One of the worst looking car made by Mercedes Benz ever!

• somehow doesn’t look proportionate in pic .. maybe need to view in flesh. But then .. first impression…EPIC FAIL

• Christopher Loh on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm

It’s ok for car makers to have a ‘family face’ for their range of products, but i don’t like it when they FORCE it onto every model whether it is nice or not!

this is one example of when ‘family face’-ing goes wrong

• Han!h on Jan 13, 2011 at 11:37 pm

SLS junior? =D

• Alan Lee on Jan 13, 2011 at 11:58 pm

OMG, This is SUPER UGLY…speechless…

• Kevin Lee on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:33 am

looks like a swap role, the c-class front becomes an sl, while the slk becomes a c-class front, lol

• 2B lover on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:44 am

come on… it is 2011 already, if u look ugly never mind, at least u have some electric motor in it to attract people…

• nebula87 on Jan 14, 2011 at 1:29 am

Eh…rupa macam cacat saja…anyhow, rupanya macam BMW Z4 roadster baru…

• front want to copy BMW’s nose, behind want to copy 350z. the chrome fin doesn’t looks aerodynamic at all, it looks uncle….

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 14, 2011 at 4:26 am

nononono…mercedes trying to hard to get that nose in. Does not work. Maybe it looks better in the flesh.

does remind me of the 1971 R107 SL though. Maybe that’s what mercedes is aiming for.

• Kevin D on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:24 am

the back looks much ‘tamer’ than d previous edition ;(

• I don’t think this car is ugly!must see this in person…for me exterior is not that important,i need good performance,safety and luxury brand!

• DaveDiablos on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:10 am

well, our taste of cars here in malaysia is different from abroad… from what they say, this is better compare to last time which looks like a ‘girly’ car…

Apart from that, can consider an ok car…

• albag on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:22 am

i think it’s nice… turns out to be more mature compared to the previous one… just that the rear looks bit dated… overall it looks fine… looking forward to the AMG one… i like the roof!

• budleee on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

it reminds me of the mercedes gullwing..

nice….

• The backlights looks like the Porsche 911’s..

• KLdude on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:52 pm

i have to say that ‘shocking’ is the word i would used to described the latest incarnation of the slk. the first edition was a real beauty, with clean clear lines but a bit feminine and tame. the second edition came out looking better, with slr-inspired lines, more masculine and brutish. alas, the latest one, in an effort to save cost i presumed, they have done a remodel ala proton saga!!! the mixture of curves and angular lines just do not gel, no matter how one looks at it. bad on your mercedes!!! fyi, with the remodel of the c-class, i am also disappointed as it spoils the natural lines of the current model, a facelift should just remain as a facelift, do not go overboard and label it as a new model!!!

• i will on Jan 16, 2011 at 2:03 pm

the lamp just like BMW design….so fucking..!!!!!!!!!!!!!! do not launch this car…

• NOOOOO, wrong wrong wrong…
    the outgoing SLK looks much better; this looks like the C-class
    same for the E-class, out going version looks much better…
    damn.. shit shit shit

• 99chan on Jan 18, 2011 at 3:14 am

we all know that most netizens have bad taste in cars.

therefore i must guess its an assurance that this car is definitely good looking.