CUSCO to sell Proton Satria Neo rally car in Japan

Pretty soon, MEM won’t be the only company around doing up Proton Satria Neos as rally cars as today Proton announced that Japanese auto parts company CUSCO will be buying standard road-going Satria Neo bodyshells to engineer and homologate according to FIA Group N regulation competition use.

CUSCO is famous for their aftermarket suspension systems and other parts such as LSDs and chasiss reinforcements and naturally they’ve also been involved in motorsports including rallying. Being a Japanese company naturally the rally cars that they’ve dabbled with so far are cars like the Impreza and the Lancer Evolution.

With the Satria Neo, CUSCO is essentially Proton’s customer – they buy the bodyshells, equip them with CUSCO-developed race components, and then sell the completed Group N rally-going Neos to customers who will compete in Junior Rally Championships in Japan and Asia Pacific. Way to go, Proton Motorsports! :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• FaredSYGPROTON on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I like~~

• khylie on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:43 am

more and more company start to appreciate Proton’s hidden talent.

• MoFaz on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:14 am

Cusco won Asia Cup and Proton Won 1st and 2nd place for APRC in China. Maybe Cusco have witnessed Proton Neo’s potential in the races, or perhaps they have ‘test drive’ the car there.. :)
        hanya jauhari yang mengenal manikam.

• This is great news for Proton. Getting exposure in other countries with motorsports.

• linear_system on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm

NICEEEEEE!!!!

• noorliza on Jan 15, 2011 at 10:25 am

Good Job!!!..congratulation Motorsport Team, Proton,Malaysia:-) Mohd Fadhlan Zahari, Suriya, TDjan…

• Ash Menon on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Sweet! Now THIS is a moment that Malaysia can be proud of.

• alldisc on Jan 15, 2011 at 10:52 am

even though satria new launched in 2006 and only in its 5th year got recognized through APRC, better late than never.

i feel so proud even though i do bash proton a lot – especially on the management.

• VIGOSS on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm

gila lah.. kalau jualdekat malaysia,jadi berapa ni?

• Annoynimal on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Wow… not bad. Way to go indeed!

• kokopai on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Wow… that is impressive. It means that Cusco recognizes satria neo body shell capabilities. Wondering what powerplant will be put in by cusco? Mitsus?

• LandCruizerzz on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:08 pm

even the body shell platform of Satria Neo is still using the old Mitsu Mirage (P1 just did some changes on the body panel to make it a ‘Neo’). So what do you expect men…

• amirzaheen on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:43 pm

really???…or neo is one of the car that p1 engineer built them self??…

correct me if im wrong, isn’t car waja, neo, gen2, persona and exora are cars proton built them-self??

• artworkz on Jan 15, 2011 at 3:23 pm

yes but waja, gen 2, neo is based on mitsubishi platform. is platform share not chasis. pre-version volvo S40 also use mitsubishi platform, like waja.

• squawk on Jan 15, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Hmmm… and I always thought S40 shared platforms with Ford Focus and Mazda 3 since Ford owned these 3 companies.

• only the Waja used Mitsubishi Carisma/Volvo S40 platform laaa, aiyoo..

• artworkz on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:13 pm

stupid lah u, s40 1st gen is share platform with mitsubishi lancer/carisma. i say is BASED ON and proton gt MODIFIED original mirage platform. cant u ppl noe wat is car?

• brianjgtc on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:49 pm

This satria neo is not using mitsu mirage platform, this one use Rover platform same as gen-2….

• aki_zz on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:19 pm

rover intended using gen2 platform for their car, not proton using rover platform. then rover bungkus.

• artworkz on Jan 15, 2011 at 3:19 pm

neo is base on mitsubishi mirage platform, CJ model but oni platfom share. proton done alot of modification & development on chasis. if wan to say, oni mounting n suspension bolt pattern sharing.

• artworkz on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

u take half cut of CJ model crossmember , rear arm etc, u will found u can fix on neo as well. if neo is not share then is copied mirage design

• tyou cant plug and play cj model suspension on neo without modifield it. thats why tein develope specifield suspension for neo. Because its different with cj model.

• aki_zz on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:37 pm

rover intended to use gen-2 platform for their car. but then rover bungkus and bought buy china company.

• Can you provide any reliable source of this statement? I’m writing an article about proton.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:58 pm

This one even worst.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm

oops I accidentally posted at the wrong place
            Sorry.
            I suppose to post it on brianjgtc post about the rover platform.

• sepucps on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Any source man bout your statement?

• That mean the mitsubishi suspension should fit into the neo…how come cannot ah?

• rally_fan on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:19 pm

it is not a mirage platform. and you’re probably the only person on the planet who doesn’t know.

• bodoh,,,they dont use mitsu mirage platform for satria neo la bodoh,they develop new chassis…read fact before comment,u must be a man with less brain cells do u?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

There is sometimes we should use the term STUPID,because some may know nothing about a car.
        Satria Neo’s platform is a reworked version of the original Gen-2 platfroms or I think its a whole new platform developed by Proton and Lotus.
        So,you can’t relate the Proton Satria Neo’s platform with the old Satria/Mirage.
        Such a completely useless person.
        Few days ago,someone telling me on Paultan comment side that only a fool can call another person is STUPID.
        But he’s wrong.

• aduss on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:42 pm

hahaha.. neo is new platform.. ia tak sama mcm gen2 or persona kecuali 1 part (sekeping) yg sama.. lain tak serupa langsung.. malah lebih berat dan tebal dari part kereta lain.. it is a good body shell.. tapi we need the new body shell,, neo sudah mau tua la… neo replacement pzzz…

• Notoriez on Jan 15, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Yes you are correct. Neo kerb weight is actually heavier than BLM which has longer wheel base and 4 doors :)

Neo chassis is one of the best hence not so surprised that foreign auto makers / performance parts maker would like to use Neo as their car..

Even Top Gear who bashed Proton up and down used Satria Neo MME Rally Cars for their ashes challenges..

Kipidup Proton.

• I expect u can afford to own a landcruiser…or not even satria neo.

apeyangkomerapunisetan

• montana on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:27 pm

boo basher

• Nizam80 on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:51 pm

After reading your comment, I can only conclude the following:

1) You could be deliberately trolling
        2) Maybe you are just plain ignorant
        3) You are trying to attract attention
        4) You cannot accept the fact that a Japanese company is involved in this
        5) You are trying to be an asshole

• u are the funniest man in the world

• Nizam80 on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

After reading your comment, I can only conclude that:

1) You are deliberately trolling
        2) Maybe you are just plain ignorant
        3) You are trying to attract attention
        4) You can’t accept the fact that a Japanese company is involved in this
        5) You are trying to be an asshole

• vote to change gov..than ask new gov close proton….

ps: don angry wit me..just wanna remove so called “proton blind supporter” by some people here

• pacifictuna on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:14 pm

another politician here. balik kampung la….. automobiles are too comlicated for you guys….

• thepil0t on Jan 15, 2011 at 12:01 am

lol.. wat u’ve done now will only prove wat ppl said to u is TRUE..

but honestly, NEO platform look too alike to previous satria platform dy.. look at the pillar, front n back.. really like using the satria platform n curve abit certain area only..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 15, 2011 at 2:16 am

I believe what are you trying to say is the design and the shape of the car not the platform.

• hayden on Jan 15, 2011 at 3:04 pm

similar but not the same, that’s two different word..you’re a pilot..go back to your damn jet / plane..don’t bother about car.

• ko malu saje... on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:18 am

every car is the same, got 4 wheels, 1 steering wheel, 1 engine…

• notanidiot on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:01 am

Neo is completely different than Satria. I’ve own both, and i know the differences. The chassis is absolutely different. Just look at the A pillar…neo tend to block your view, and sometimes, its hard for u to overtake because of the big A pillar. Plus, if you sit in both, you’ll know that neo is slightly smaller in terms of headroom. The back seat is much more comfortable in satria compared to Neo. However, you can do highspeed with neo without worrying about the car losing control. Its weight make the car much more stable, compare to Gti or normal satria…tried doing 200kmh, and i can say, i felt much safer in neo…

Anyway…this year marks the 5 years of neo existence, from what i learn, they definately working on a replacement model at the moment. Neo RS will be released soon by R3….saw the brochure design and the car color n bodykit, its nice…It is said that they will only release around 70 units…and from what i understand, there going to be a last push for the neo variant before it been replaced, but im not sure how true is that….

• cosworth also stick their name loh..

• ikramz on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Yah P1!!!!

• jules on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:49 pm

All right. Another way to promote Proton…

• azrink on Jan 14, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Good news indeed

• nice!gud job PROTON!!

• Commenter on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Itu Vios Dugong ngan Honda Siti Cusco takda layan okay? Sedarlah diri padan muka.

• GTR-Godzilla on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Bro, comment apple 2 apple. Vios and City are entry level B-segment cars, not unlike the Saga. They are just overpriced HERE.

I’ve driven both cars and I think it’s safe to say, both cater to very different segments. As was their purpose.

• thats the reason why i own satria neo cps..eheheh

• berry on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:20 pm

SUPER PROUD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• CUSCO !!! japan some more.. now they will be called malaysian wannabe!! :P

• SoMeOnE on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:26 pm

like i said b4 in an earlier post..the neo is one of the best engineered standard fwd cars in the road today period. i can see why others are discovering its potentila coz the basic platform (which is a stand alone one i think) is so well resolved…….i have a lot of respect for it coz i think it is one of the best handling cars i have ever tried..bear in mind it does not have anythin fancy like lsd..or all wheel drive or any technical mumbo jumbo..not even traction control!….its pure mechanical grip…though i dont own one ( my gf does) it really is….. something…p.s the handling does become a little freaky and tail happy once the tires wear off which is where u start wishing for some traction control..lol….my daily drive is a mazda 6 btw…but i truly respect this neo….

• I don’t understand why someone must buy the car from Cusco, why R3 cannot build the rally car meh?

• i think you dont the understand the news. cusco actually bought from proton and customized it into group n rally compatible car. which mean it will retain campro non cps engine since it bought from proton australia for group n race for their car. if somebody use this car or cusco alone enter group n race they will fight along with the like of subaru wrx, mit evo and others. it excite me to think what kind of performance can cusco relish from satria neo non cps engine.

• Dr. M on Feb 06, 2011 at 2:03 am

What do you guys think the reasons CUSCO choose to buy a non-CPS (110bhp) than a CPS (125bhp)?
          Does that mean a non-CPS has more potential to draw higher output performance than a CPS?
          Any sifu can enlighten? Thanks

• chaku on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:00 pm

because this is Cusco tuned car. not R3 tuned. Different car meh.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm

I don’t think R3 has the ability to produce a rally car because they’re mainly expert in producing sports car for racing like drift or for the competition like the merdeka millenium race,maybe they should consider to produce a rally car too.

• rally_fan on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:54 pm

i think its not that R3 doesn’t know how to prepare rally cars. R3 has won malaysian rally championship before with a Gen2. the point is, building a full blown group N car, there must be a market for this, and i think in Malaysia, there is none at the moment, or very limited, since these cars cost a lot of money- easily over rm100,000 and above for a new car.

• Because R3 is an independent tuning arm, not controlled by Proton. They handle their own business, Proton does theirs. Not sure if Proton pitched it to Cusco, or Cusco got impressed by Neo S2000; either way, Cusco came to Proton to buy the body shell. Any business is good business, so why turn Cusco down? It’ll be even better if R3 too prepares one. Then we’ll see even more Neos in rally. R3 stands for Race, Rally, Research btw, so yes, they do know a thing or 2 about rally.

• Prismo on Jan 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm

So, what is bashers gonna say?

• cunnn nyerr rims dia

• sepucps on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Hopefully some Japanese will worship the MDM like we do for JDM here huhu..

• this is what i said before…. u need to gain their trust by keep doing research etc etc… gain their trust and they will start looking at us….

• A proud neo owner.. But wait cusco neo? Sound a bit wierd.. Kudos proton..

• Waja VR4 on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:26 pm

It proven that Cusco choose Campro CPS engine because its better than Japanese own engine.

• exJAVANESE on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Well done proton!
    Satria Neo actually have a magnificence handling, but I only have a problem with the head clearance area, maybe need a Proton Human Factor (HF) Dept. ghetto define and improve on it.
    Other than that, good job! thumb up.

• words saying that they develop a new seat for neo which will solve the issue but still it just rumor i heard.

• mohdazizee on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

as a rakyat malaysia, hidung tengah kembang kempis ni. very proud. lol

• Next time what?HKS?!OMG><

• Next time what?HKS?!OMG!!><

• omg!!!!next time what?HKS?!!

• CHONG KAT on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm

just eligible for junior rally championship. i think no need to shout out, proton. but it’s ok.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Still can be consider as an international championship involving many teams.

• l3ryan on Jan 14, 2011 at 8:56 pm

they’ve kept the rubbish interior door handle intact! :D

• SoMeOnE on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Mork says:
    14/1/2011 at 8:09 pm

I don’t understand why someone must buy the car from Cusco, why R3 cannot build the rally car meh?

because cusco wants to promote thier products dude…the neo was selected as the platform for them to do it….customers that buy it from them to race will be a doing a form of advertising for cusco.almost every motorsport has this kind of agreements which is why we have ‘customer’ teams…

• autobot on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm

but y neo?
      y not dugong, city or jazz perhaps..

• I’m sorry bro, but the cars you mentioned are meant to be passenger compact cars, bought for city driving and even aimed for the more “feminine” market. Nothing from the high center of gravity to the technologically-ancient suspension, is meant for any form of motorsport. They don’t even make good driver’s car for the street, even with all sorts of aftermarket parts you can slap on it.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:06 pm

I do hope that Proton produce a new version of the Neo,use the same platform but with a new exterior and interior and the new turbocharged engine too.

• chaku on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:43 pm

same platform? might as well use improvised version of the currently good platform.

• Proton selling back to Japan… way to go! Now they will know how good Lotus and the Europeans (Renault) can do to Proton!

• Neo.S on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Wonder what engine is inside , Campro ? CPS ? still a Mitsu ?

• rally_fan on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:56 pm

group n cars are homologated based on the actual road car produced by the manufacturer. engine change is not allowed.

• Waja VR4 on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:19 pm

Cusco choose Campro CPS engine prove it better than Japanese own engine. Plus a great chasis engineered by Proton and Lotus.

• ordering cusco satria neo fully adjustable absorber high/low soft/hard

• anynomous on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Hahaha..nowdays Japanese also going crazy!!

Proton bagi Jepun ppl makan duit? hahaha…..LOL

• paul,more pic plzzz

• teamsleepnine on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm

The headlines dhould be something like this.

“cusco to sell proton group-n rally car in Japan”

Just to let you know…cheers..

Not s2000…

• to be correct…Group-N is mostly in national level rallying eg japan, malaysia..In WRC group-N rallying as support rally to WRC n they r known as P-WRC (P-production based car)….

• Neo.S on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm

CUSCO interested in Campro Engine ?! o.O !!!!

• banko on Jan 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

i dont think they interested…. maybe they want to prove that they can improve anything….to tell the world they are good…..

anyway congrate again to proton

• hope proton produce satria neo rs (rally spec)
    super light weight,all basic ok, manual a/c ok,thin window glass ok,thin body metal ok ,steel rim ok, but got lsd…nice

price same mitsus rs,super cheap…nice!

• Paul, can share more details on the modification?

Can ask ah Beng to do the same to mine :-)

• Sulaiman on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm

So what????Feel so proud??? Den malaysia gonna have holiday cozs of this?
    Pronton still stupid proton and forever required others manufacturer/engineered parts/technique to support them!!! aduh!!! bodo

• haha.. feel proud also same.. feel not proud like u even worst.. at least we know which one is better… hey, proton neo/cusco on sale in japan? i think it’s awesome…. yeah!!!! (feel proud is good for ur liver…duhhhh~~~~)

* Proton not Pronton

tq

• Prismo on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm

what about perodua? This car really make myvi, the best selling model in malaysia look like a jaguh kampung….

• Japanese will not allow Malaysian automakers to overtake them or be on par with them.. this is the FACT.

Besides stronger Yen has impact on Japanese automakers.

• Prismo on Jan 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm

ya ya.. Myvi actually still look like a jaguh kampung eventho T&D behind P2…

• teamsleepnine on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm

“others manufacturer/engineered parts/technique”

you sure ahh dungu…proton the only one that required other “others manufacturer/engineered parts/technique”

can you explain why mahle,borg werner is technology partner to audi,porsche???

does that mean audi and porsche (among other) is also stupid???

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:00 am

HAHA,this guy probably can’t accept the truth.

• insperut on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:04 am

this is CUSCO la bodo!
      not 2 ringgit tuner company

stupid fella

• ah beng on Jan 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm

yeah.. maybe he tot CUSCO is juz another workshop beside JUSCO

• Stiff on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:45 pm

What’s the debate on proton and rover here? I tot gen.2 is based on mitsu carisma chassis same as waja. Just the wheelbase shortened.

• annayn on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:53 pm

some people still don’t know how good is the proton’s handling, waja, gen2, neo, savvy, all have very good handling, it’s difficult to make person to appreciate it, unless he drives it, when talk about handling it’s not only about the steering response , really you have to feel it yourself, as some people said, just try to thrash it hard at corners , having ‘sticky’ tyres on roads, and of course feel safe because it’s all under control even at high speed, it makes your driving surprisingly fun

• Hafizz on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:29 am

ha ha ha ha. so funny.

• AlongKualaKetil on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:18 am

Kau tu yg funny Hafiz… mungkin kau tak faham ape itu handling pada sesebuah kereta

• hayden on Jan 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm

agreed….drove 200km/h with my honda stream on PLUS highway heading to the north and a persona cps cucuk my blakang like nobody business.. = =,

• very true indeed. many Neo CPS and Persona cucuk my dad’s Ford Lynx RS maaaany times, at speeds over 210km/h…Lynx RS here only has 4 speeder autobox..need to find a Mazda manual tranny to outrun them lol.

• this means that proton do have reputation.

• fadhli on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:10 pm

huhu…im proud as a worker in proton!!! way to go

• teamsleepnine on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:29 pm

btw….i saw on facebook that there is also r3 satria neo “concept” based on satria neo cps…..and on the same booth there also wall full of r3 accesories!!!!!!!!
    as if r3 will be available in japan.
    can you explain this paul?????????

• Syeikh_Nasri on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Japan use our car….although just a body shell…main point is, what will u think a car without a body?

cheers bro….he he so proud maa…

• KickingDust on Jan 15, 2011 at 2:18 am

Nope, its Group N mate, its the whole car. Its a Proton in Japan :-)

• mohdjiman on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Awesome!!!

• ah long on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:39 am

first satria neo R3 non cps own by japanese dude..from japan embassy here…that guy bring that car to japan…maybe alot japs there admire neo, esp R3 version…but cant get overthere…but now wth neo cusco..dream come true…proton car esp after jv wth lotus in std form handling much better than japs normal car..u can try ur self to feel it..only who know nothing will said dugong is good handling…bout chasis maybe they copy a bit from mitsui but they oso redesign it to make it better wth lotus touch…thats y we can put mitsui engine and absober just plug n play..only need minor modification…

• sparco on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:51 am

Is way to go for Proton to gain his reputation once again. Frankly speaking, there is nothing wrong with Proton Just that is Made in Malaysia…basher feel excited.

My understanding,
    Proton gain his engineering expertise from partnership and re batch. Their in house technology mainly come from Lotus as they have access to their engineering. While technology from Mitsubishi is just locally produce with Proton tag. Of course, there is a lot need to be done for Proton Engineer to enhance whatever they receive.

Even though you can say Proton sucks, at least my Satria 15 years still running on the roads, completely original engine done once overhauled. The reliability of old satria will continue with the Satria Neo and is proven from the rally race recently.

Originally satria is a sport 3 doors hatchback, so don’t complain about the headroom, legroom and so on. Given them a turbo campro engine later, will run like a golf gti and we are talking how much we want to push the car and how much we willing to spent.

Always, to gain reputation of the car, you need time. Slowly people will appreciate it like what Satria Neo did with the MEM and Cusco.

well done!

• inline 6 on Jan 15, 2011 at 2:14 am

who will want to drive a Proton in japan when they found out there are so many old models of japs car being used in the country of where it produced??

• A real racer wouldnt care much about how new is a car.. It’s how good the car that matter..

• peYno on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:39 am

coz u are malaysian …japanese not that stupid like malaysian, they know car better than malaysian like you

• Ramun on Jan 15, 2011 at 2:16 am

Skyline (including GTR) is an engineering marvel because of the strength of the engine, awesome mechanical marvels & the best part superb chasis. The humble chasis is able to cope with minimum 150% of the stock engine power without extreme reinforcement. That is how a racing legend is born. Chasis strength.
    Indeed Satria/Wira have a very good chasis. Road handling is great. Way to go P1! 2 thunbs up!

• rickyll on Jan 15, 2011 at 6:03 am

Be fair to P1, credit must be given where it is due. Personally, I think Satria Neo is one of the most balanced cars ever designed by P1. P1 certainly tries hard to improve, if not because of the sub-standard parts supplied by its vendors and the over reliant on Campro engine, P1 can actually go quite far.

• dickybird on Jan 15, 2011 at 3:12 pm

so why arent p1 ditching these incompetent vendors that have been the cause of much bad PR for p1? untouchable is it?

• squawk on Jan 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

No need to ask a question with such obvious answer right? :-)

• now made up my mind. gonna get neo once p1 update the campro later this year. now how to convince my better half that i’m not gonna use it to court cikaro…

• subhero on Jan 15, 2011 at 7:44 am

its kewlll u know..

its JAPAN u know. OMG… SPEECHLESS..

menyesal i sell my Neo last year.

• Woody on Jan 15, 2011 at 7:45 am

more pics at

http://www.cusco.co.jp/motorsports/cat551/tokyo_2011_day1.html

• Kevin Lee on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:35 am

i used to own a neo automatic, too bad the oem parts are a bit inferior, but the car is an awesome drive, migrating from a dc2 integra, this car shines, though slightly underpowered being an automatic.

i hope cusco would do wonders and achieve milestones that most malaysia tuners havent. having limited choice in tuning parts for the proton sucked, but hopefully with much enthusiasm in japan, i hope others will follow suit. who knows maybe we’d have an european tuner dabble with it , maybe like abt neo cps, alpine neo cps, etc, etc, we can only hope

hopefully kazunori would be interested in the car and adds it to the gt5 patch, heheh

• let’s pray that Kazunori will be interested with ALL Proton cars (except rebadge ones), put them in Gran Turismo 5’s next patch, as Premium models :D

that’s one of my biggest wish as a gamer and automotive enthusiast.

• clemenza on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:39 am

OMG! this is a bad news for proton basher..haha

• Hadi75 on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:55 am

Proton leave f1…..rally is ur calling….keep up the good work…really like neo look but not practical for me…..

• MoFaz on Jan 16, 2011 at 10:44 am

F1 for Lotus. Rally for Proton. both doing marketing the same way: motorsports.

• armandd on Jan 15, 2011 at 9:19 am

haha, take that proton bashers! =)

• I’m not surprise, the chasis and body structures is the reason why this car’s handling a superb, and Satria Neo don’t look like any other car, so it’s in a class of it’s own plus it’s good looking!

• WTF? its lowering down the grade of the CUSCO brand! What the hell you thinking CUSCO? i need remove my Cusco bar liao.. sien

• exJAVANESE on Jan 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm

What wrong with u buddy?? i use cusco for my 80’s toyota DX. So, is that mean I’m lowering down the grade of the CUSCO brand?
      Come on, what car did u use? ferrari ehh?? Then, it gives u shame if choose CUSCO brand although u can go for VERDI or HAMMAN though…

• Kassim on Jan 15, 2011 at 10:50 am

So now we can start save our budget to order Satria Neo Cusco half cut and others performance parts! : )

• gaman on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:21 am

CLAP5!!..way to go proton..

• bryan jones on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:53 am

proton bashers must be hoping for a myvi tuned by cusco to fulfil their BENG desire..

• omg the ‘JDM’ Neo CPS R3 looks so dang awesome!

http://www.cusco.co.jp/motorsports/assets_c/2011/01/022-thumb-400×267-3040.jpg

put the R3 turbo engine in that car, sure sell like hot cakes there..

Proton FTW! Malaysia Boleh! :D

• normal_user on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Here’s hoping that Cusco Satria Neo will appear on the next installation of GRAN TURISMO!

That would be great.

The original Satria GTi appeared on PS2 racing game (British TOCA racer) 7-8 years ago, and also a computer rally game featuring both the Satria and Wira (Evo 3)!

• ezracopters on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:47 pm

1. WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

2. that red car not japanese CPS R3, it’s supposed to be facelift CPS in Malaysia which will also produce 145hp..dah lupa tgk kat maa..

3. so proud!!! i own 1.. btw lookin forwrd for CUSCO NEO halfcut..hehe (janggal nak sebut)

• hypermount on Jan 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Proton are global car player, unlike some imitation brand in our market.

• biggerfire on Jan 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

its like driving a lotus in a rally track…

• Waja VR4 on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm

This show how competent our Proton car again Japanese car.

• Maybe the Neo should not come out with a replacement..
    Instead.. It’s time to make it into LEGENDARY…
    It’s a Legend… The future should just adding more touch up to become more muscular with more performance..
    just like the legendary Mustang..

• Kakonek on Jan 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Satria Neo ni dah jadi anak emas proton la pulak. Apa daaa. Habis, model proton yang lain tu kenapa proton tak nak naikkan reputasi dia sampai peringkat antarabangsa? Model selain satria neo ni taraf sampah & taraf makanan anjing agaknya. Itu yang proton abaikan kebajikan model-model macam waja, persona, Gen2, savvy,exora,saga tu. Ini tak habis-habis asyik-asyik neo neo neo jer.

Satria Neo didahulukan
    Model lain disampahkan

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Apa masalah kau,bro?
      All the other Protons car is not related to performance.
      Neo is all about performance.
      Saga,Exora and Persona are cars for family and everyday life.
      But Neo is totally different,and the sales for this Neo is so small that Proton need to do something to increase the sales.
      Proton is slowly promoting other cars too,and recently the news to enter India with Saga,Persona,Exora,Savvy and maybe the new Emas.
      Takkan nak letak Exora dalam WRC pulak.

• the Satria Neo platform and body is very suitable to be made into a rally/race car. do you expect those MEM/Cusco/Proton R3 guys to turn an Exora into a rally car?

Waja = used in the BTCC (they pwned BMWs) & also used by T.Djan as drift car.
      Exora = Range Extender-EV prototype kicked Chevrolet Volt’s ass in a competition in UK.
      see, they don’t turn into ‘makanan anjing’. therefore, your argument is invalid.

i know your post was just a joke, but it’s not funny.

• What do u really want exactly…? An Exora goes on rally competition…?
      Funny lar u bro….

• saga enjin magma on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

proton is flying high…thx 2 bashers..it is their job anyway

• saga enjin magma on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:26 pm

after we won suzuki cup..this is certainly a great news!!!

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

yeah its really a great news.. a big fan of TEAM ORANGE D1GP that their LSD system tuned by CUSCO!!!

Yay! now waiting for Keiichi Tsuchiya Japanese Drift King to comment about this ???? ?????? ?????? project!

it look like CUSCO already made alot of racing modification stuff to this project..
      PROTON CUSCO car for D1GP Professional Drifters event in Japan! :)

• truth on Jan 16, 2011 at 1:34 am

so how much did Proton spend to bring their car to Japan?

• bankoo on Jan 16, 2011 at 3:29 pm

are u sure proton spend money for this? i tot CUSCO spend their money …
      u still cant believe it right? please learn to accept that proton make something that malaysian can proud of…

• kepada basher kat atas yang bodo on Jan 16, 2011 at 9:35 am

CUSCO tu menang juara #1 Asia Cup 2010 rally seluruh Asia.

juara rally Asia tahun 2010 Yuya Sumiyama dari CUSCO akan pandu kereta PROTON SATRIA NEO ni untuk kejuaraan rally Asia tahun 2011
    http://www.cusco.co.jp/motorsports/assets_c/2011/01/P1080014-thumb-400×300-3004.jpg

PROTON dah dapat tarmac master 7x menang round rally, Gilles Panizzi dan juara rally asia 2010, Yuya Sumiyama untuk pandu kereta PROTON SATRIA NEO ni.. harap PROTON dapat kumpulkan semua data, statistik yang berkaitan dalam sukan rally ni.. lagipun PROTON dah rancang nak bina enjin sendiri bersama LOTUS, harap dapat contohi macam Mitsubishi yang bina enjin MIVEC gunakan data sukan rally serta Subaru yang buat enjin boxster juga gunakan data dalam sukan rally yang diaorang tanding sebelum ini.

• ONEcountry?? on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:38 am

Congratulation to Proton!!
    This year 2011 is the Satria Neo 5 years old. Any Good news for Satria Neo replacement??

• ONEcountry?? on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:40 am

Good news and Congratulation to Proton!!!
    This year 2011 is the Satria Neo 5 Years old. Any good news for Satria Neo replacement??

• maybe i can drive neo gti on PS3 someday!!! hiiii….

• truth says:
    so how much did Proton spend to bring their car to Japan?
    ====================================================================
    Want ‘cheap cheap’ can use Air Asia, want cheap some more can use tongkang !!

• donno on Jan 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

What most rally faternity in Malaysia has been waiting so long for… A group N satria neo.

But the sad thing is, this thing could be easily done 3 years back with Malaysian engineers and technicians if just Proton itself believes and backs Malaysian peoples capability. Working to and homologating a rollcage to group N standards, dog engagement gearboxes and rally suspensions can be done, and has been done by Malaysians, and proton going to foreigners for this, after all this years is just heartbreaking personally for me… Hard to cheer “malaysia boleh” when you know malaysian talents are just not being appreciated…

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 16, 2011 at 10:44 pm

i think it is because PROTON marketing strategy, ally with CUSCO to sell PROTON car in Japan.. i think they should do this a long time ago also since CUSCO is very good in tuning the racing car, especially the LSD system.. sometime it make me dizzy to choose whether the CUSCO system or HKS system.

• Yo, we might get another public holiday if they ever win any mickey mouse cup.

• adakah aku bermimpi ke apa ni?? on Jan 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

CUSCO tu adalah tuner rasmi Mitsubishi Evolution dan Subaru Impreza di Jepun..

giler arr.. sebelum ni diaorang dah banyak kali menang kejuaraan D1GP main drift kat jepun.. bagi 3 bulan je kat diaorang, diaorang akan p tune macam giler kereta tu.

sekali Tengku Djan (raja drift Malaysia) kata nak p tanding main drift di jepun pula bersama team orange dengan PROTON SATRIA NEO pula karang.

CUSCO ni memang pakar buat sistem drift LSD, dah banyak kali menang kejuaraan D1GP kat jepun ni.

tadi check website ni, ada video kat situ CUSCO panggil PROTON SATRIA NEO projek..

dah jadi projek main drift pula PROTON SATRIA NEO ni
    http://www.cusco.co.jp/motorsports/wrc/post_118.html

website rasmi team orange Yuke’s CUSCO D1GP : http://teamorange-drift.com/e/machine.html

website rasmi PROTON JEPUN : http://www.proton.co.jp/index.html

• if you translate the page, satria neo become satorianeo. i dunno if the japanese write that way or the translation made it that way.

• RH PumpkinKing on Jan 17, 2011 at 11:54 am

That’s Japanese Katagana pronunciation.. nothing wrong.

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Tengku Djan (Head of PROTON MOTORSPORTS).. now you can go play drifting in Japan Drift D1GP in Japan with PROTON SATRIA CUSCO under Team Orange project. :P

the first car featured here in official D1GP video tuned by CUSCO and JUN
    ~ TEAM ORANGE D1GP PROFESSIONAL DRIFTER!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dm1vCSkmDg8

just uploaded this video to support PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO project

kumakubo and his yuke’s cusco d1gp drifting machine.. lol
    http://i3.ytimg.com/vi/MvdZTjEmm0M/0.jpg

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 16, 2011 at 10:48 pm

i notice the word COSWORTH there, so the new PROTON engine with LOTUS will be build together with COSWORTH, since PROTON and LOTUS already announced they will make own racing engine starting year 2012.. LOTUS ally with COSWORTH owner in Indycar competition.. now with RENAULT-NISSAN ally with PROTON-LOTUS, it is a really big question about the racing engine.. now we know the LSD will be collaborated with CUSCO!

• kickingdust on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:17 am

Hi mate, its Carrosser on the fenders & not Cosworth. Carrosser is the company that produces Cusco products.

• Satrianeodreamer on Jan 16, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Aku minat giler Satria Neo tapi tak mampu nak pakai….mahal sangat…rasa malu pulak nak pakai kereta buatan Malaysia tapi rakyat sendiri tak mampu.

• Ramun on Jan 17, 2011 at 12:07 am

Glad that P1 achievement comment outnumbered operation comment. Hahahahah!

• Akang90 on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:10 am

Always support our own product…

• iamisiamwhatiam on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:46 am

Sunyi pulak bila tak dengar suara P1 basher :D

• azrai on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:05 am

This is what motorsport can bring benefit to a car company. Can’t wait Proton sponsoring The Fast & The Furious franchise. Sure also ‘buka mata’ one. Now japan wannabe a.k.a. JDM gangs should think again. Even japanese proud of having Proton. There’s a story a few years back that a Japanese student who exchange student in Malaysia bring home (to Japan indeed) his Satria GTi, though there are Mitsubishi mirage there. See Japanese wannabe?

• sranua on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:40 am

Way to go Proton…feeling proud about this news also.

• is time for me to sing “Standing in the eyes of the World” ?

• Faisal on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:46 am

wow! all the best proton! i like!

• areoulz on Jan 17, 2011 at 11:42 am

Nice.. But why using baseline model. Use those R3/CPS/GTi body kit please..

• Nothing to be proud of! Proton should have the capability to modify it themselves and sell it themselves. Not through the modification of another company. What a shame!

• linear_system on Jan 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm

its cusco who bought that satria neo..its not proton that want cusco to modified the neo…

• banko on Jan 17, 2011 at 5:07 pm

then why cusco take subaru as their previous project?
      oo,then we should say “shame on subaru” too … can i?

• PC.OK on Jan 19, 2011 at 5:08 am

come on. like seriouly bro ? can you come out with some sensible comment ? you really made my day. lol.

• fazron80 on Jan 17, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Alot of people mistake persona and gen2 since it’s from the front it’s quite the same. Only gen2 have cps engine.

• Proton Boleh on Jan 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Soon CUSCO will replace Evo or STi with our NEO! Mark my word!

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 18, 2011 at 7:03 am

engine tune by COSWORTH.. i wonder why

• Any power window from Cusco?

• banko on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

i think you are still in 90’s… now we moving to 10’s

• kickingdust on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:26 am

Cusco are opting for the Original part power window from Proton, OEM parts only, group N. The Neo S2000 rally cars. both winning the APRC China also use the same power window unit. May i suggest you change your nick name here pls ?

• banko on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:08 am

seriously,,, i impress with proton achievement in rally…. we never imagine they can go this far……

they should use this credit to enter china in more aggressive mode and also india…
    look forward, would cusco able to improve campro engine..

• PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO COSWORTH on Jan 18, 2011 at 1:50 pm

checkout this PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO COSWORTH

the engine is specially tuned by COSWORTH ENGINEERING
    http://www.cusco.co.jp/motorsports/cat551/tokyo_2011_day1.html

and checkout this TOYOTA SUPRA powered by COSWORTH 2011
    http://speedhunters.com/archive/2011/01/14/car-feature-gt-gt-sats-cosworth-supra.aspx

got PERTAMINA INDONESIA sticker somemore there.. indon also can proud of this

• kickingdust on Jan 18, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Pls allow me to correct you, the Cosworth sign at the backgroup is meant for the Subaru Impreza race engine which is nor visible thru the pictures.

Its Proton-Carrosser (R3 & CUSCO parts) that are VO – homologating the car for Production / Group N Championship.

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm

we will see then, PROTON-LOTUS officially announced that they will build special LOTUS racing engine for Indycar racing car series for year 2012.. PROTON-LOTUS ally with the owner of COSWORTH company in Indycar racing series.

and then come this PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO 2011 project which also got COSWORTH engine launch together with PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO 2011 project for japanese rally competition series.

currently PROTON-LOTUS want to send 25 Malaysia engineers to learn in F1 technology in LOTUS RENAULT GP F1 project 2011, hopefully can also send many Malaysia engineers to learn the CUSCO LSD in Japan later.

engine change in PROTON SATRIA NEO CUSCO is very possible since last year 2010, PROTON enter APRC rally championship with a PROTON WAJA RENAULT CLIO 1.8L engine, and then MEM and PROTON modify that engine to be 4-cylinder 1998cc so it can compete in Asia Pacific rally competition.

for this PROTON SATRIA CUSCO 2011 rally car project, since they race in Japan, then japan will set the rule of this rally competition.. anything can happen in the future, it is possible that PROTON will field 2 teams in 2012 World Rally Championship (WRC) since it is said the regulation will change in WRC year 2012.. maybe PROTON preparing for the 2012 WRC project.

as it written there
        “Proton announced that Japanese auto parts company CUSCO will be buying standard road-going Satria Neo bodyshells”

therefore the type of engine most likely is that COSWORTH tuned engine..

COSWORTH tested that SUBARU WRX STi engine before this in their factory, few months before this
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=af4Nx7ip1T4

COSWORTH also tested the 4B11 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X engine, few months before this
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZK70WqexfM

and as we all know both of this cars are associated with CUSCO previous project, it look now the puzzle is about to be solve.. the new PROTON-LOTUS engine will be COSWORTH tuned engine, maybe PROTON-LOTUS will do like Mercedes-Benz that rebranded that Ilmor engine factory to be Mercedes-Benz High Performance Engine division but this time it is COSWORTH to be rebranded to either PROTON or LOTUS high performance engine.

possibility is there i think.

• kickingdust on Jan 20, 2011 at 11:05 am

The engine are Campro AIFM – Satria Neo 1600cc, same specs that meets EURO4 requirements. Nothing to do with COSWORTH tune engine, Its a complete stock production cars :-)

• PROTON SATRIA CUSCO DRIFT TEAM ORANGE! on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:13 pm

we will see then. :)

• found somewhere the spec for cusco engine is 135 whp and r3 neo next beside it is 145 whp.

so it’s not completely stock. it been retuned.

• FR Geek on Nov 10, 2011 at 6:53 pm

anything do with the DRIFT TEAM ORANGE ?

• aries on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:52 pm

huhu bangga bangga..

harap dapat tengok CUSCO neo dalam option video atau hot version dengan Keiichi Tsuchiya bawak keta nie kat touge course..mesti best.. dan aku percaya neo mesti masuk dalam list collector’s item org jepun…sebab kat sana keta nie rare..betul tak?

• banggadgnproton on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:07 pm

fuh…that would be d day la…msti proton basher telan air liur xtau nk cakap apa…

• lanku on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:47 pm

yay.. R3 power..

• Lolx just make Japanese laugh of this thing :D hahaha cheap and ugly!

• Love the Neo.

• nescafe_ais on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Niceee….congrat proton

• Dr. N on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:16 am

What do you guys think the reasons CUSCO choose to buy a non-CPS (110bhp) than a CPS (125bhp)?
    Does that mean a non-CPS has more potential to draw higher output performance than a CPS?
    Any sifu can enlighten? Thanks

• afizan99 on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:20 am

easy. cps have more moving part and switchover cam. which make it good as a DD. But race/rally car doesn’t need those thing. U can put high cam to increase power. But on the downside it will lose low end torque. But since in racing u will be on mid to high rpm range, it doesn’t matter. Even R3 don’t use cps in their sepang 1000 or MME satria neo. Got it?

• amir butt on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:24 am

its good cars

• amir butt on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:25 am

its good and liking cars too………………