Mazda Minagi compact crossover concept previews CX-5?

Mazda will be premiering its new Minagi compact crossover SUV concept at the Geneva Motor Show this March, and has released the first sketches of the vehicle.

The company says that the vehicle will showcase its SkyActiv technologies and new Kodo design language, and is effectively a preview to an upcoming next-generation product – an entry-level SUV likely to be the CX-5.

No details as yet, but Mazda states that the Minagi will fully introduce the host of SkyActiv technologies available – it’ll feature a SkyActiv body and chassis as well as a SkyActiv engine and transmission.

From a design language point of view, the Kodo design theme on this one is said to “communicate pent-up energy bursting with vitality as the vehicle nimbly navigates a sprawling urban cityscape.” Do you see it in the renditions?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alpha on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

The front is like skyline g37 crossover and the rear is a clear reminiscence of the hyundai tucson.long live cx9~!!

• williaml on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Good…upcoming Mazda CX-5 on the way.

ZOOM ZOOM…

• kington on Jan 19, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Why can’t Mazda adopt these sort of styling in to their production cars?

I mean the current 6, CX7 and CX9 are cool.. but the smiley grin on the Mazda 3 just irks me… it may look cute, but it makes the current Vios less funny.

• redwings on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm

Wait the next generation…the new range will be on concept shinari..

• i’ll be trading my wife’s H-Siti to this when its launch!..woohooo :)

• Ash Menon on Jan 19, 2011 at 5:52 pm

It looks like this Kodo language was already used on the hatch versions of the 2 and 3.

I don’t see the pent-up energy part, it looks a little controlled. Perhaps a nice wacky aftermarket spoiler? Or jet wings. Or a thruster, I dunno.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 19, 2011 at 6:57 pm

The pent-up energy would be the driver’s, definitely at 6pm on a weekday, negotiating KL traffic!! Glad I don’t have to do this every day!

• paul..DNF for Proton. Chris Atkinson is reported to have crashed his PROTON Satria Neo. during SS1..huhu~

• sacofa on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:28 pm

look almost like Hyundai Tucson, hope pricing wise not too far away!

• WIRA VR4 on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Rear look sebiji just like Savvy, copycat Mazda

• Leseid Obrut on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:10 pm

you’d better get your eyes checked… (T.T)

• wallstreet on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:25 am

Yeah right, Mazda copied Proton……..no only need your eyes checked, get your brain checked too….

• Black Dog on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm

The only thing I can see is Tucson copycat

• Leseid Obrut on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm

that’s a bit like looking at an apple and saying that it looks like a banana…

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:10 pm

I spy…. a Murano…which just shows just how far up ahead the curve it was when it was launched in 2004.

It does look good though. But then again, the dawn of SUVs and CUVs have passed.
    Mazda has seemed to have lost some of its mojo. Most of its new cars are re-hash of old concepts. Long gone are the driving force behind the rotary and the spark that revived the “small british sportscar”,

Long live the Rotary Turbo!

• kitman on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:35 pm

this car is remind me the hyundai tucson,the only different is the front grill

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Kopi kat Tucson.
    What a shame.

• seriously it looks like a tucson but still nice design language by mazda