Airbags to be made compulsory for passenger cars (except 4WDs) in Malaysia from 2012!

Fantastic news such as this doesn’t come very often for Malaysian motorists – according to Transport Minister Kong Cho Ha, local car manufacturers such as Proton and Perodua have agreed in principal to make at least one airbag standard issue in all passenger cars by 2012. This will mean the most basic Proton Saga will be equipped with at least one driver airbag next year, and the same goes for the Perodua Viva.

Hopefully this will also spur all foreign badges to make airbags standard in their cars as well, although nearly all foreign makes already have at least one airbag in their cars. For some reason though, 4WD vehicles are excluded from this “gentleman’s agreement”.

Nevertheless, it’s about time the government did something to reduce road accident fatalities. Next – how about stability control and ABS brakes?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm

well, better late than never….. good news

• inline 6 on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:46 am

yes! good news~~

but will the air-bags of Proton’s are as fragile as their power windows? if so… that could be scary!!!~~

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:32 am

i always pray that i ll never use my airbag..

• you are out of date aaa,,,

• inderaloka on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:18 pm

What autobot means is that he always pray he did not get any accident.

• Luri was replying on inline’s comment. Meaning Proton has been putting airbags in its car (not all) and no complaint so far except for the clock spring recall not too long ago. Even then, the airbag was not faulty.

• lansy on Jan 22, 2011 at 3:15 am

Paul, the airbag made of Plastic material isn’t it? I thought they said it’s bad for the environment? government also discourage the use of plastic type of ‘bag’ on weekend no?

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:36 am

then ask ur car manufacturer to use paper 4 ur car airbag..

• Stephen on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:33 am

common…handphone use plastic….
        car have lots of plastic.

the drive to reduce the use of plastic bag is try to reduce our usage of it which can be replaced withsomething else. which is possible for plastic bag

can your life be replaced? if there’s no air bag?… something if we need to use plastic then we have to….. of course if someone can invent a reusable air bag then its great.
        but at this moment this life saving gadget need plastic.

• tokmoh on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Reduce plastic bag usage is mostly to do with reducing littering. That’s the main concern to discourage plastic bag. Ppl throw plastic bag everywhere, drain gets clogged, n if it goes to rivers n seas, some marine creatures eat n die blablabla

• makoi on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

they got paper bag one. lol

• Plastics are not bad for the environment. they last very long, and most of them can be recycled.

ppl that threw plastic bags all over the place are the ones who are bad for the environment.

• Iskandar on Jan 22, 2011 at 6:07 am

Airbag is useless in Malaysia because most Malaysians don’t wear their seatbelts.

Most people don’t realize that their airbags will :-

1. Not be deployed if they don’t wear their seatbelt — at least in cars like Honda (I learnt this from my Honda City car manual )

2. Or, worse, will kill you instantly if it activates and you didn’t buckle up.

So, if we don’t buckle up — airbags won’t help, unless your head is made of steel.

• stephen on Jan 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

there’s also malaysian who need or appreciate their life.

• Vincent on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:56 pm

same thought came out from my mine.. better be late than nothing…even the policy is 15 years late, but it will safe life …

Obvious thing I cn say is, since SAGA FL got airbag, then they make it as a must..

SO Proton Engineer in there, pls lar, make all your car equip with ABS, EBD, so that we can have new transport policy to have ABS and EBD as a “MUST” before 2013….

• airbags on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Nice.This is good. To me,ABS should also be made compulsory. ABS is really useful not just on rainy days but on normal days too.

• yongtj on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm

those who press dislike are having good braking skill??boooo….

• makoi on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:46 pm

only malaysian are so naive to think of what braking skill. there isnt such a skill.

if your car milo tin, can you train yourself to have stronger bone or thicker skin?

just go make more money la

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Yup agree… ABS is as important as Air bags too… anyway ABS being useful everyday while ABS is for worst case scenario..
      EBD should made compulsory also, this is important when braking at cornering….

• carlover on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:05 am

Agree!!!!
        ABS is preventing accident
        Airbags are preventing driver / passenger getting injured

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:41 am

the most important n most useful is safety belt..

but even already equipped, not many ppl want 2 use it..

can see easily passenger n even driver didnt use it!

• Yea,actually with safety belt,you don’t air bag. But with ABS,you can prevent accident.Not 100% la but better than slidding especially when braking on wet condition when driving down hill. ABS should be made compulsory together with airbags. Then maybe later stability control. Maybe the G don’t really understand how ABS works.

• kimi's fan on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:17 am

I guess the main reason is that someone is afford to install, might be another move of “the protection policy”. anyway IS A GOOD NEWS…….but why need to wait until 2012 ?

• rossi46 on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:18 am

Yes, and Vehicle Stability Control mandatory too!..very important to avoid loss of control & possibility of rollings…ie avoid accidents!!

• I think this is to allow car manufacturer to adjust their manufacturing line accordingly and also to allow them to finish current stock. Anyway, if car manufacturer is so concerned, they can always start early. No wrong in that.

• Arashikage on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Finally our prayers are answered…

• Black Dog on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:36 pm

How about more enforcement for those bullying demons?

• mystvearn on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:41 pm

One airbag, driver lives, passenger sits next to him dies…

4×4 people thing their car are quite tough is it:P

• CHONG KAT on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:43 pm

until just now malaysian have some certain live value n that just for the driver. pity folk. developed country? pooodah.

• Great 1st step towards safety.

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Great! No excuse for P2 to be skimpy on equipments anymore. P1 too…

• tetek on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm

ABS should be made compulsory as well… there’s a few times my ABS on my Mercedes saved my life…

• Ridiculous only airbags ? What about ABS,EBD,BA,DSC,ESP,VSA,VSC, Curtain Airbags ? and at least a 4 star ENCAP for all car !!

• zhongbie on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:05 pm

lol !!!

• zhongbie on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:07 pm

lol !!!!

• its nice to hv it too but dont complain if the car price go high. everything hv a price…you get what u pay.

• that is where Proton and Perodua should be abolished .. you will know how important all this safety aids are when it comes to emergency maneuvers under severe conditions and I have experienced between life and death situation, thanks to Honda’s VSA, I manage to escape. I guess the cheapest car with ESP and TC is the Ford Fiesta Sedan.

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:03 am

my fren also died in his BMW.. not old but new model 1.. what would u say? the fact is what in ur mind. u drive safely..u’ll safe..

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Not really. Look at cars in Europe. Most have at least 4 airbags, ABS and stability control, even if they don’t have aircon. And such cars start at around RM 40k, with 19% tax and the manufacturers still making a profit.

• Peter on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Then be prepared to foot the basic price : 50k

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm

why cannot?! now you earning 3k a month is considered HIGH INCOME by MITI, u know. so 50k price for car is sap sap sui lah!

• why list so much lol actually DSC, ESP, VSA and VSC have almost the same function.

usually ppl call all that kind of shit ‘Traction Control Systems’ or TCS you know :D

• ABSOLUTELY WRONG !!!….TC and ESP is different but both work together to maintain stability of the car.. TC is an enhancement of an existing ABS system that prevents wheel spin while accelerating on wet or slick surfaces, while DSC,ESP,VSA or VSC helps “steer” the vehicle where the driver intends to go by braking automatically to individual wheel, such as the outer front wheel to counter oversteer or the inner rear wheel to counter understeer. You need both to work perfectly, but these days DSC, or VSA comes together with TC in it

• rossi46 on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:54 am

well said….earlier comment by mim basically sum up the ignorance of msian towards auto safety.

Child in cars without proper child restrain seats are rampant here in Msia (scary if somethg bad happen). You can even see kids/toodler standing at front seats equips with airbags….just imagine what happen if its activated???

These ppl can afford expensive cars but cannot afford proper childseats for their luv ones, Thats how naive are msian….

• well, pls don’t mistake my comment post as an ‘ignorance of msian towards auto safety’

it’s just a joke. and actually i was confused between ‘ESP’ and ‘TCS’. thanks to that ‘Well’ guy for clearing that up.

• that’s right, this Govt should have also included at least ABS as a requirement as well. As for airbags, at least for driver and front passenger lah!

btw, of course this ruling should apply to all cars sold in Malaysia, not just proton and Perodua. it’s only logical.

• Alpha on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm

and when they did all that,u’ll complain abt the price pulak.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Bro, when they mass produce the BOM cost will be lower la… pls think la before type… those who say no need airbag buy DEMAK motorcyle la no airbag and got roof also…
        If you cant afford a new car buy a second hand… other wise DEMAK motorcycle… bicycle or lastly public transport la…

• Chris on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:35 pm

I think all cars should have the ASD system. Anti Stupid Driver System. Most of those high tech equipments do not need to be compulsory in cars if only there’s less stupid drivers on the road.

• Tiadaid on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:12 am

Exactly. In fact yesterday I witnessed one stupid driver on the highway who saw a police car at the side of the road tending to a motorcycle and suddenly slowed rapidly in an instant, and all the cars tailgating him were braking hard like mad, smoking their tyres in the process!

• i think that car got drug inside la…that why braking when see police..nyway it still not good action i think.

• kentot on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

ASD should be implemented inside myvi.

• Of all you’ve mentioned, like DSC,ESP,VSA,VSC, they’re actually the same thing. the only difference is with the different names adopted by different manufacturers.

DSC= BMW, Volvo.
      ESP= M.Benz, Hyundai etc.
      VSA= Honda.
      VSC= Toyota.

ESP is the general name for this system. It’s co-developed by M.Benz and Bosch.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Made it compulsory la ENCAP is part of test, at least 4 star rating for ECE crashability test ,,, Both P1, P2 & P3…

• davechia on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:18 am

If the drivers remain reckless, whatever active or passive safety measurement do not help much to save your life though. However, I do agree P1 & P2 should have achieved at least 4-star in crash test, this makes more sense about how safe is your car in stead of putting airbags only.

• Vincent on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:02 pm

ABS and EBD is something reasonable to be a “MUST”..DSC,VSA,VSC still way to wait, may be 2015???

Anyway, it is creative to see some put ABS as: Aku brek sendiri, Aku bawa slow slow…

THe real facts is, even with the speed of 50KM/ H, ABS do make different.

My accord ABS help me to avoid few possible accident. and my 206, even a too slow lane at speed of 40KM/H, it can feel the different that ABS help me to avoid the accident….

• “the European Parliament has passed the law which will require all new models to be sold in the European Union starting 2011 to be fitted with Electronic Stability Program (ESP) as standard on all vehicle versions, motorspain.com reported.
    The first recommendation to introduce ESP as standard was made by the EU in May last year. According to EurotaxGlass’s, an European automotive business intelligence group, the ESP is the most important safety feature after the seatbelt. ”

I guess to make ABS as standard safety feature here is not too much to ask right? or at least make ESP optional in our cars. Its not that expensive.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Who says its cheap… ESP or VSC is important for europe due to their weather especially during winter… for us ABS and EBD is more important than that..

• which is why ABS and EBD should be standard while ESP optional for our market. Certainly our lives worth more than the price we pay for ESP feature?

• littlefire on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Dude, do u know how ESP or VSC work? Please check the net about these features before bashing that these options have no use..

Besides that, please ask those driving with ESP or VSC cars and c got activated or not? I can tell u, most of them will tell u especially rainy weather the ESP or VSC function will on when u drive into a slippery corner or over cutting others car or trying to avoid high speed cars at highway. I have stories that people life are saved thanks to this function and it is proven it can cut the accident rate!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

Read & do research be4 saying that this function have no use or not!

• we getting toward develop country…

• nebula87 on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:09 pm

LOL…if the car quality for example the body structure is weak, got how many air bag also die la…the most important is, dun drive too fast and drive smart…

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

i feel the same way 2.. when sm1 drive 2 fast, or while drunk, or sleepy nothing can save him.. just make sure we drive follow regulation, under control and alert..

• littlefire on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm

That why oversea have all these safety rating, if not what the use of these NCAP rating?!?

Luckily our country starting to have their own rating (MIMOS or what de?).. Bud sadly only a few tested? Please be active a bit and prove to our public that all these safety features really have their function.

• it’s MIROS and they have conducted a lot of research. Just that it is not an enforcement agency. So, they can give cars rating, but has no power to ask manufacturers to improve it. They can recommend but no power to force them on manufacturers.

Or do you think NCAP also has that kind of enforcement power?????

• paparadzi on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Good news especially for younger car buyers that can afford only Sagas and Vivas. Should make ABS / antiskid compulsory as well.

• Neutral on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm

good action!

• whenever a particular car model get to this side of the world, suddenly what seems to be of high safety level doesnt seem so anymore. All the important safety features get thrown out of the window. Eg:

“Chevrolet Cruze has recently been awarded with a five-start overall safety score by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), thus becoming one of the first vehicles in its class to be tested under the revised New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) for 2011 model year.

The Cruze is offered with multiple safety features as standard, including the following:

10 air bags including front knee air bags – a first for the segment
    Front passenger seat occupant sensing system
    Panic Brake Assist and Enhanced Smart Pedal
    StabiliTrak electronic stability control
    Rollover sensing technology that enables timely head curtain side air bag deployment
    Three-point safety belts in all five seating positions
    Safety belt retractor pretensioners and lap pretensioners in the driver and front-passenger positions
    Safety belt load limiters (with pretensioners) in the front safety belt retractors
    Child seat latching system in the rear seat
    Tire pressure monitoring system
    Daytime running lamps and automatic headlamps

Over here? Yes we get a fantastic dual SRS airbags without stability control….Obviously Asians lives are worth less.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Ha ha ha yes poor asians get only the face…. the inside feature all cheapskate, NAZA should offer better specs…

• easy, dun buy chevy

• its not just limited to chevrolet. In fact its apparent among most of the car marques, even T and H. Like klx points out, its due to our sky high taxes here that that car manufacturers are reluctant to include these safety features, which would drive car prices higher.

• couldnt agree more, BUT our gormen is imposing so high taxes on the cars, if all these features put in, car prices sure rocketed, and car cannot sell, brand became lousy. until the issue of high taxes is tackled, dont think we will see these features any sooner, unless of course, every car seller here used the SKD method lah….then you get reasonable price cars with loads of safety features!

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:08 pm

yeah..they should reduce car tax..as exchange raise tobacco tax more.. n oso alcoholic bev..

• stevo on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:16 pm

its a good news…however,not only the cars need to be more safety but the road condition needs to upgrade..no more lubang2 sana sini and the accident will reduce..

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm

That one involve JKR also… they need to improve their communication with other parties sharing ROW of utilities… or else today new tarmac next week telecomm company lay new cables… next month TNB new cabble… the following month SYABAS new piping…. no wonder our road is just like a face with pimple scars…

• please use tolled highway..
        haha.

• bryan jones on Jan 22, 2011 at 8:36 am

the road condition at tolled hiway also suck. how can they just patch the patholes on hiway? our road is getting, got hundreds of lubang on our road in kl.

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:20 pm

so the highway is straight from ur home 2 ur office door huh? ur parent at home town?

• albag on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

but but but 2012 is the end of the world… we will be dead before we manage to see the law being implemented…

• this is great news for me as i just graduated and looking for a car though might have to delay the purchase till 2012.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Then u wait la… when 2012 comes… New rulling then u wait some more 2013… then 2014… the some more years… finally u ended up changing ur bike…with another bike….

• malaysian on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:19 am

True! this was supposed to impose on July 2010. Somehow both P1 and P2 beg for differ to another date. But when 2012 come, I believe that this will differ again.. Same goes to AFTA, AP abolishment..

• why do you need to defer when most of the brands already have airbags even for the basic entry model? even local brands like Proton, Perodua, Inokom got airbags, just that the very basic entry model does not have 1….

• safety first, it’s about time and maybe ABS too…

• Jimmy on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Don’t make us pop open the dashboard to install the airbags.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Jimmy Neutron… AIr bag is not plastic bag …. its a firework with control firing sequence…. the Air bag tuning require precision millisecond sensitivity…. think properly bro… Sorry I am a bit technical here

• Gov mean basic one airbag, so, no need to pop up da dashboard coz only change your stering wheel with wiring…. ;)

• Lambat lah.

• Slow ho ho ho.

• kickstart on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

yeah.. sure price up even for the basic model. still a 3star car

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Euro NCAP rating changing everyyear… 2010 standard is lower than 2011… the governments there include various criteria like 3 point harness, EBD, ABS, airbags etc… the price of course they need to revise due to new equipments being installl… just be considerate… a win win deal …

• Amryl Malek on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:49 pm

The question is at what price?

• 4G63TDSM on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm

The question is, at what price NOT to have proper safety gear?

While the rest of the world have moved on, 6,7,8,10 airbags are not uncommon. 6 being the standard. We make headlines for a single airbag. I suppose thats progress at some level.

Maybe proper Latch/ISOfix system for child seats?…those can’t cost more than a few ringgit.

I suppose you need to spend more money to get better safe of mind….kindda like buying life insurance.

But of course learning to drive properly and not getting in an accident is the best way to go, but then again, you are not the only one on the road…..can’t really speak for others.

• firefox on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Did anyone know why 4WD vehicles are excluded ? double standard again….!!!!!

• why no free airbags for old proton and perodua cars like they did for rear seat belt?..scared bankcrupt is it?

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:26 pm

free? not totally free.. only labour charge is free.. but u have 2 pay the belt cost.. think again if u pay airbag cost, >1k u know..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Ah,Malaysian(certain Malaysian especially here in PT)
    It is good to hear that airbags will be made compulsory,but you know LAH.
    Some say,”Buat kena marah,tak buat pun kena marah”.
    I really don’t understand this kind of people.
    Some Malaysian will surely condemn every good effort that our government wanna do.

• theanswer on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:35 pm

i’d prefer abs..but not many knows how to use the abs(still pumpum the brake)..so airbag is accepted.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:45 pm

The airbag mandatory issue has been settled. Now we have to pray for ABS and at least 4-star Euro NCAP body structure to be made mandatory. And for motorbike users, let’s pray that fuel injection is made compulsory for all new bikes including kapchais, as Siamese kapchais have been equipped with fuel injection starting from Honda Wave 125.

• agree!!!
      even Honda EX5 price is expensive due to duty excise and sales tax.
      Gov want to MODENAS build fuel injection technology into their bikes first then other motorcycle brand will allowed to fitted with this technology.
      Car is sky-rocketing price, kapcai’s is sky-rocketing price too. Go compare kapcai’s price with Thailand. You will shocked my fren..
      haha.. http://www.motorcycle.in.th/staticpages/index.php/Motorcycle-prices-in-Thailand

Malaysia Automotive Industry – VERY LACK OF COMPETITION!!!

• autobot on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:54 pm

haha… while other start think that saga n viva without airbag n abs was not safe enough, u still think of FI on kapcai? haha..

motorcyle contribute highest death toll u know? means most unsafe compared basic line car..

better ban kapcai from production begin 2012..

• Do you think all the Malaysian are rich enough to buy car as their daily commuters?
        As i said before many low and mid-income used their kapcais for going to work. Its reliable and save the money pocket too..
        Please ensure all the car price in open market and not in the heavily tax condition.
        This suggestion only can reduce low and mid-income from using the kapcais.

• Airbag have expired date, so we need to replace the airbag once it expired. Extra side income to OEM airbag manufacture and service center.

• some car maker said 14yrs(skoda)…some say as long car running(volvo)…some say do not know when it exactly expired(expiry date just easy escape)….replacement price per airbag ranging from $200-$900(google browsing) + price the airbag system(don know)……the complete system must be replaced

• vertigo on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:08 pm

wiralution owner might want to install back the 4wd system they dumped when converting to evo engine

• good move,if single airbag just let passanger in back seat,or make sure the person infront got big personal accident insurance

• justice on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm

good news…n agree better late than never. BUT dont be too late..again

• If only one airbag is compulsory, then it will create more ‘Duda’ in malaysia…

• adrian yap on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

well done.before that ballons were used.

• if saga basic (no line) with airbag price = rm40,000 then forget about the rule

• linear_system on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm

but eventhough with all those safety equipment, drivers in malaysia still drive recklessly…very hard to give signals, luuuvvv to cut que, park at the roadside, drive slow at the fast lane, mobile phone use while driving…too much to complain..and all these make me angry while driving.the only bad habit that i do while driving is driving fast when i think it is safe enough i.e in empty road or highway..but still bad habit..

• airbags does not save lives, it is a passive restraint, not active like ESP. it’s only helps reduce injury criteria, not so effective in saving lives compared to seat belts or ESP. Airbags are activated when vehicle collides, meaning accident, not the true essence of road safety. Safety is about preventive, so that we are not put into a dangerous situation. Respect the road, respect the road users. In return it will save your life.
    On another note, something is fishy with this proposal. The sole airbag maker (read monopoly) in Msia is Autoliv Hirotako. It’s majority shareholders are MCA & Umno. It smacks of crony smells. However, not against it. If you like it can join them, buy the company’s share. Can offset the price increase abit when you purchase car in 2012, hehe..

• Just i said before none of PROTON tender will in open tender.
      The tender has been filled up by politician, crony..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:34 am

Are you trying to say that Siemens who supplies ECU to Proton is among them?
        HAHA.

• Yeah…
          Siemens IAFM produced knocking sound in the engine..

Now, BOSCH is fitted for a new IAFM..

• it’s continental now, siemen sold it’s automotive business

• sukasuki on Jan 22, 2011 at 6:19 pm

i guess continential tyre used by OEM tyre proton also own by crony?perhaps KJ?? lol

• GreenFuel on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Some excuse to increase the car price. Don’t see the point of forcing them to install airbag. Airbag is to protect the driver and the passenger during the collision, while ABS will prevent the collision. They need to force all the car come with ABS, preventing collision is more important than protecting the passenger in the car. The stupid P2 will be happy with this, their viva elite exclusive and the Myvi LE come with airbag, but no ABS!!!!! By the way, there is a service life for the air bag (2 years for some airbag), what if the airbag fail to deploy when there is a collision?

• In normal cases when airbag fail to deploy, P1 and P2 will ask it’s airbag maker (in this case Autoliv Hirotako) to investigate. Once they found the root cause, the car owner will still have to change the airbag while probably still suffering from injury from the accident. In the event, they found the deployment failure due to car owner fault, then car owner have to foot the bill for a new module. Otherwise, P1, P2 and its airbag supplier is responsible for retrofit. But then it comes the more pressing question, why the airbag fail to deply in the 1st place, which was it purpose in the vehicle. Not only car owner paid for the useless airbag, but experience double the suffering from the accident. How reliable and robust is the their safety restraint design? Or is there any design at all, Hehe..

• GreenFuel on Jan 22, 2011 at 8:21 am

The airbag maker will not responsible if the airbag is end it service life. FYI, there is a small canister in the airbag containing compressed air. During the deployment, the compressed air will be release to deploy the airbag. After some time, the compressed air in the airbag will loss their pressure, which is the major cause for the airbag fail to deploy. Future more, the old airbag may punched, which is another cause for the airbag fail to deploy. There is a recommended service life for each airbag, do check on your car user manual.

• Yes, normally 10yrs for airbag service life. However, i’m not sure if it is mentioned in P1 or P2 manual. P1 and P2 airbags used a chemically induced pyrotecnic to inflate the airbags, not compressed air. Most other makes are also same. An electric signal from ECU will ignite the chemical, causing the chemical to react with oxygen to cause a controlled minor explosion. The explosion will lead to a burst/ guss of air causing the airbag to inflate. The airbag will not be punch, but may tear during deployment by sharp objects crossing it projection path. This will lead to a poor inflatable airbag force & timing, reducing it’s effectiveness of protecting the vehicle occupant. Hope this helps.

• ericten on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:24 am

its a good move by G..
    but cars as taufu as the Viva, if got airbag but the car will kemek after collision whats the use?still die also?

• No premature deployment of the airbags, please.

• sechai on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:45 am

new air bag price = my old sunny price…do i hv to install it also ka??haiyaa!!!cruel Govenrmnet!!!

• jl@ipl on Jan 22, 2011 at 7:39 am

lol!!

I doubt that the rule include existing car…………….

Paul, can you please clear the air?

• tommy on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:04 am

i believe it is only for new cars.

• autobot on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:28 am

installing airbag is not like installing new audio player maa..
      airbag need sensor to work..not just put new steering with airbag inside..

come on, this regulation only 4 new car..

• nabill on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:45 am

traction controls and abs are more important than airbags…

• Looking at Proton Saudi Arabia selling Persona at RM35K while our Bolehland sells for RM65K, standardised airbags is nothing lah.

Still got balance RM25K, so Proton can afford to add more standard accessories to all models such as free ABS brakes, ESP traction control, another side curtain, knee airbags, immobiliser, GPS anti-theft tracking system and yeah, 10-years warranty with free service plus parts and labour.

Boleh kah Proton?

But hey all of those are standard items full-spec for Persona Saudi at RM35K!

Btw, Proton told Inspira buyers to go to any Mitsu service centre to fix any of their Inspira faulty parts instead. PFFFTTT!!!

• Malaysia have high tax for both domestic/import cars lah aiyooo. if you want cheap cars then migrate to Saudi laa.

btw, i think you’re wrong. here i’ve seen many Lancer owners service their cars in Proton SC.

• Antiroll on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:11 am

This is the fact the real Muslim country, they will not put the price too much regarding the real Muslim religion rule…”I mean no riba for their income”. This is same as Brunei also. I think Malaysia is not totally Muslim country but most of the BN crony suck our Rakyat money. That why all price increase like hell….even our fuel price…..

• you maybe true, but i hv different opinion.

i think Proton sell at arab saudi with minimal profit or almost no profit at all. their present in arab is not well known yet. so i think they sell it to build their brand name. to do that, they need to lower the price- as one of the method.

++they need to make sure proton price there is competitive compare to others there. i believe, because of lower gov tax or watsoever tax they have, other OEM car price is lower. if not competitive enough, how to sell.

just my amateur point of view. bash if you dont like. i don mind.

• Whynot on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:06 am

Why should you be bashed or looking at yourself so low, my man! It is politic that is taking us all down. If you are strong enough and stand tall as 1Malaysians, I could not see how you can’t change your destiny. Proton is not as you said making no profit. There is no such things as no profit selling car outside Malaysia. It is because we are over taxed by Malaysia Policy Maker. If you sell car more expensive and less quality in overseas, you as might well close shop. If advanced countries can sell cheaper and better car than P1 and it making profit, why not P1? Get the Logic?

• jl@ipl on Jan 22, 2011 at 8:24 am

I remember long time ago, northern Malaysia, whole family died when their car (hyundai sonata 2003 model) hit a bus from rear. The news shows that the airbags was deployed, yet all of them perished.

Why? Cause, the car went under the bus!

Government, please consider make it compulsory for the bus and lorry to fit the impact bar under their vehicle. This will prevent car from going under the bus/lorry and safe life

• Looking at Proton Saudi Arabia selling Persona at RM35K while our Bolehland sells for RM65K, standardised airbags is nothing lah.

Still got balance RM25K, so Proton can afford to add more standard accessories to all models such as free ABS brakes, ESP traction control, another side curtain, knee airbags, immobiliser, GPS anti-theft tracking system and yeah, 10-years warranty with free service plus parts and labour.

Boleh kah Proton?

But hey all of those are standard items full-spec for Persona Saudi at RM35K !

Btw, Proton told Inspira buyers to go to any Mitsu service centre to fix any of their Inspira faulty parts instead. PFFFTTT!!!

• i hope gov can sell car at real price. please eliminate AP and reduce tax. if this can be done gov also can remove old car on the road (car old than 15year)..what ever abs, airbag everybody can buy.

• Off topic for a while….

Check this out dude….

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_uedZBUE6wls/TTnX2o7FRtI/AAAAAAAADRA/4pNZfjzsALg/s1600/kesan%2Bkenaikan%2Bminyak.gif

• yc.low on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

I am afraid the compulsory air bag in all local cars is going to make someone inside very rich. When profit is so lucrative, they may want all local cars to be fitted with ABS or even traction control with all good intentions to make our cars safe. The prices of cars will be pushed up further and the poor car buying public will have to dig deeper into the pocket. Well, on the positive side our cars are safer and the loss of lives on the road will be less hopefully.

• 2012…no problem…I think P1 and P2 all new model already got airbag…but would like to see what the price of the basic car with airbag. Btw which one you all prefer ABS or FRONT FOG LAMP, I would choose ABS.

• vincent on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:27 am

Dual Airbags have been made compulsory in USA 20 years ago, now even traction control might become compulsory soon, on the other hand, we only talks about 1 airbag here. That really shows how cheap is Malaysian’s life. Substandard safety cars that comes with high price. Malaysia Boleh!

• this include old car or car production from 2012 onwards?

• ayuarjuna on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

should be done earlier..

• Is this for new car? I am still driving an old 25 years Proton Wira, What should we people do? I think I will do nothing.

• i’ll prefer ABS as compulsory..

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:43 pm

good move for all involved. but how about the crappy roads we drive on? why are they rubbis, no money to maintain yet want to build more white elephants like the mega tower and nuclear power plants?

• ariff on Jan 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm

roads in selangor is poorly maintained, see which party selangor menteri besar from

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:58 am

the roads in kepong, kl are rubbish and who is charge of the federal territories?

• AshRaf on Jan 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm

how much airbag cost…?

• The Dude on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

While the introduction of the mandatory airbag installation can be lauded, i would like to caution everyone, AIRBAGS are only effective if used together with seatbelts………..yup, u must wear your seatbelts for AIrbags to work properly……………if u dun, they can be fatal and i kid u not…………………………….

WHY?

During an accident, a seatbelt holds ur body/torso in place while the airbag deploys rapidly (with the aid of explosives) to decelerate/cushion/slow down the rapid motion….thus preventing u from having hit the steering/dasboard/windscreen.

In the event u dun wear a seatbelt and the airbag deploys……………u will be flung sideways onto the windscreen/dasboard/door…………….severe injuries may occur…….

What about children?…………if u have a child seat at the front, u must deactivate the passenger side airbag (most airbags are never built for children, only for adults) b4 u plave the child seats there……..

• yup. airbags should be use with seat belts. airbags are also dangerous to children, where it can lead to death in certain situation. That is there is a airbag notification on the front, usually paste on the sun block. Please read it, especially parents.

• the_fighter on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:54 pm

i got involved with accident yesterday..my front right tire meletup, the car swerved to the left, hit the TNB pillar and hit piles of big rock..the car turn over ..f*%& the airbag doesn’t deployed !..luckily my seatbelt save my life..i crawled through the window..no major injury, just minor cut due to broken glass .. the real story air bag

• No name on Jan 22, 2011 at 8:36 pm

what car u drive dude?

• the_fighter on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:14 am

pick-up truck dude

• Air bag will deployed when the sensor hit object… in the manual (my car le) mention that if front collision, saying collision with pillar, it might not deploy the airbag as it is concentrated collision and not hit the sensor…same if u hit rear bus or lorry, if ur car going under the car, the air bag will not deploy..

• someone know on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Don’t you wear seat belt? Air bag won’t deploy if you are not wear the seat belt. better read the manual book; not every accident make the air bag deploy… one more thing, do you know the impact of air bag will make you die asap if you not wear the seat belt…

• the_fighter on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:21 am

i did wear seat belt …thats the reason i did survive without any scratch …just some pain at my neck when my head slam the roof when the car upside down…if i not wearing the seatbelt …hard to say man…

• Better focus on active safety (abs,ebd,traction control, stability control) first rather than passive safety like airbag….or better both

• go saga on Jan 22, 2011 at 5:02 pm

most important … how u drive your car…. like the evil or like the angel….

• AshRaf on Jan 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm

how much airbag cost?

• overman on Jan 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm

finally..i tot they always going to blame the driver’s drivin pattern when there is accident..

• errrrr. which foreign brand doesnt come with airbag? china? I thought foreign brands always have their airbag as standard accessories.

• Stephen on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:57 am

not sure about china model sell at Malaysia but i know China domestic use car…be it their local brand or foreign brand do have airbag plus all those Acronym mentioned here that keep people safe.

Even if the people is still with low mentality to feel the important of seat belt or even how to obey traffic light rule….they put those safety features since not everyone will be low in their IQ or mental state.

If we don’t convert….just direct compare the car price. China’s car is high but when it was convert back to RM…their car is always 40 to 50% cheaper because or lower tax….since we have high tax. Some might argue this is not fair comparison but as many electronics/ component for a car are traded with foreign company which might still trade using USD. I do it still show Malaysia car is crazy.

We are being denied to get better safety (be it ABS/ EBD / Airbag and others) because we have to pay extra tax to protect the life of certain car maker. How ironic. Even if many envy our low fuel price…. some how they get shocked with our tax.

• YeapyEvo on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:31 am

Airbag in Viva is simply not enough with its milo tin chasis which deformed until u can’t recognized the car.

Gov can make those ABS,EBD,BA,DSC,ESP,VSA,VSC, Curtain Airbags compulsory without adding making rakyat to pay more for it simply by removing car sales tax and excise duty.

If BN really cares about rakyat (rakyat didahulukan) life they should make safer car affordable to the people!

• Stephen on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

Not only enforce to make a safer car….as all this weird condition are related to our national car…they have to press hard for both car maker to find a way to be independent.

without them having the ability to compete with others minus protection from gov.
      I really feel its tough to get more features in our car introduced…be it for entertainment or safety.

• Proton/Perodua No More! on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Totally agreed however if Government remove sales tax, then no more AP’s then how to make money la?? AP’s are not for Government to make money but for cronies to benefit and rakyat to suffer paying more for car

• Proton, the sitting bull! on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:42 am

Anno 2011, a car brand has no airbag for new cars?!?

Excuse me but you will be global player with this handle!!!???!!!

The world is not which you see from your warm seats in tangjum malim, open your eyes… or it will be late!

Best regards, from an expert. ( former middle east and balkans strategic department expert by Daimler AG in Untertürkheim)

For bashers: The truth is hard to accept, sorry ladys!

• Government should make it compulsory long time ago, as well as other safety standards mentioned in UNECER??.
    As long as Government didn’t make it compulsory [ammend the current Road and Transport Regulation], the car manufacturer of course will revised their car specification safety feature, material and equipment level] to suit Malaysian Road and Transport Regulation.
    End of the day, we only can drive the car with less safety features….

• seancorr on Jan 23, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Crap…one airbag only? They don’t care what happens to the front passenger eh? They should have just made it mandatory for dual front airbags and next stage make it mandatory for ABS and so on. This ruling is half assed!

• stephen on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:24 pm

so when we are forced to fetch someone…we must remind them…car pool at your own risk :)

• Whynot on Jan 24, 2011 at 1:46 am

In a critical accident and for a passenger car of 5, 1 airbag could or might save 1 life but definitely 4 will die or even all 5 will die. Where is the mathematics? 4 x 4 wheelers might not have the statistic of normal passenger car but it is equally risky as any ordinary passenger car. Still this don’t really helps at all especially if there is still lots or maniac, crazy and irresponsible bus drivers around. The best ways, as almost every 1Malaysian knows is the important of having traffics policemen presents at major accidents prone area but sadly this still fell into deaf ears all the time. No point to collects millions in summons here and there and even at parking lots. Frequent compounds and summons issued to a particular driver means that he/she is very irresponsible and should be put out of the road. Not just be settling these summons will do. He or she is a dangerous people and might even cost other lives. Will JPJ or Police will be held for this negligent? Will the government pay for this lost of lives? Summons collected don’t settle problem after one died. It is still a big questions mark for JPJ to answer until today.

• Well it is about time but it is half hearted measure to just leave out 4WD and just one airbag as compulsory on cars. Here in Victoria, Australia all passenger vehicles must have stability control as compulsory from 2011 onwards. I have just helped a relative bought a new Nissan Micra and it has 4 airbags with ABS and stability control as standard even on a base ST model. It even has 3 point seatbelts for all. No more lap belt centre rear seat.
    My ride has 6 airbags, ABS and traction control standard a few years back. I wonder how long more Malaysians have to wait before safety measures are standard.

• lau ym on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

No point, if the chassis is like “taufu”. Goverment should look into Euro 3 NCAP as the basis 1st, then only talking about additional features like air bags, ABS or ESP. without strong chassis, 8 air bags also no pint. But Euro 3 NCAP, our brother in Perodua sure make noise, as Viva and Myvi even the safety bar also deleted to safe cost. Proton, i am not sure.
    if not, every year run champaign 60 km/h, if not more people suffer on the road.

• eimsperfume on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:33 am

airbags does not guarantee the safety.. this news does not impress me much.. more like “ok la… better a bit..” :-|

• One airbag minimum, its ok since most cars have only one occupant making our roads congested.

• airbagsgo on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:59 am

I thought all cars in Malaysia has at least one airbag.. can you guys tell me which one doesnt???

• dato kong… u work ½ u should get ur salary ½ too…
    min 1 a/b??? should be at least 2 front a/b and curtain a/b on all cars on the road in m’sia… currently only conti cars c/w fr & curtains a/b (6a/b)… wut bout those who cant afford for conti car… but wanted japs or p1/p2 cars with high safety features… ???
    or else compulsary for car maker to give optional for additional a/b is a must!!!
    if not u think we can install additional a/b in abc car accessories ???