2012 Toyota Vios Artist Impressions based on new Vitz

The Toyota Vios and the Toyota Vitz are basically hatchback and sedan siblings, and in fact in some markets they both share the same name – the Toyota Yaris, differentiated only by its bodytype. Since the new Toyota Vitz has been launched in Japan, it’s only a matter of time before a new Vios sedan appears to complement the new hatchback.

Theophilus Chin whipped up these renderings of how a sedan based on the new Toyota Vitz could look like. The Vios was launched in 2007 and was facelifted in 2010, so a new one could be due by the end of this year or early next year. The Vitz wheelbase has grown longer from 2,450mm to 2,510mm but I don’t think a new Vios will grow any longer than its current 2,550mm wheelbase, which is already longer than the last generation hatchback.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:11 am

the car looks decent enough…., but the renderings are awesome…!

• makoi on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:17 am

vios fan boy is gonna go crazy!!

• ESSO/MOBIL on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

This new generation Vios sale will sell like hot cake again as usual like the 1st & 2nd generation will be the best selling models again…Vios design never look bored…

• first gen vios is best looking, i think

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 1:31 am

I agree that 1st generation Vios look the best.
        Subsequent facelifts made it into a dugong

• ttooyoot on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:29 am

erkk,, still dugong look….

• bankoo on Jan 23, 2011 at 6:41 am

wonder how hensom are u

• what has a person’s appearance got to do with this car’s looks?

• banko on Jan 23, 2011 at 6:23 pm

i am malaysian… those malaysian give thumbup to me…now i wonder how ugly u are…

• what? on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:43 pm

What has nationality got to do with this commentator’s look or view? Who care how good looking your are? Even if you are good looking, it still doesnt help to make the car prettier.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:32 am

No wonder you speak like a typical third-world country citizen

• peYno on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:06 am

headlamp copy from saga FL???
    prrrrtfhhhhh

• kimi_ on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:04 am

Are you blind???

• Mr. Biggy on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:40 am

Are you high or something? Nowhere near does it looks like a saga FL.
      It looks quite decent, more like a 2010 design rather than a step forward.
      Great rendering Theophilus chin!

• BeemerFreak on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:22 pm

First time in my life, i will admit that a potentially cheaper Proton is much better looking than a toyota, courtesy of the Tuah concept.

• Hafidz Moro on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:00 am

I second that!!

Who call this piece a design please stab yourself to death!! Toyota designer must be at the edge on ‘pencen’!! (not Teo Chin ok..IF Toyota came up like this..this is a shame..)

Toyota is getting ugly and uglier day by day..no direction and hantam saja design ..AhBeng sure beli one! no taste maa who says this is superb design..what the heck!!??

Toyota, BMW, Merc (except new CLS), Honda and Subaru are all still struggling with design language for their cars now days..this is part an parcel in design strategy and advancement process..but to those who know nonsense..please just say its ok or nice laa..not super excellent best design of 2010 wat so ever!! teruk laa u orang! haha :P

Im a designer..i know laa what am saying..
        PROTON?? hahahaha..at 1st its almost better..
        suddenly INSPIRA came out? haihhh..
        (but i really know why they came up with INSPIRA..)
        its just..EITHER U LOVE IT or HATE IT!!

cheers! :P

• zhongbie on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:45 pm

erm…….u can’t say this as copy, instead u can used the word similar. =)

• Nikolai Makarov on May 21, 2012 at 4:10 pm

But you can’t use the world similar with proton. You can only say proton is a copy of everything else in this world. How fair

• elite on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:12 pm

that saga FL headlamp design is proton engineers’ idiotic attempt to incorporate lancer design language into proton lineup

• makoi on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:24 pm

peyno is a funny guy who is driving a sawi sedan and imagine he was in japan before.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:34 am

Peugeot sure is idiotic to incorporate the 308’s design language into the 207 and other cars in their lineup. Same goes for those morons at Audi, BMW, Citroen and Lamborghini, trying to give their cars similar design cues.

• asheikh on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:22 am

SAGA FL copy from VW

• alias on Feb 05, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Peyno bangang.. Asyik prfthh je, sama bunyi mcm kerbau pendek..

• toyota is having crisis with their styling, they should really reflect upon themselves when the rest of the world is overtaking in terms of design. Look at Hyundai, look at Kia, LOOK AT PROTON

• peYno on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

no wonder they copy PROTON SAGA FL’s headlamp

• alexpoh85 on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:10 am

pls compare saga fl smoked headlamp to latest volks polo smoked headlamp, n u’ll notice ur beloved saga FL headlamp isn’t that original after all!

Design is very subjective, and it’s harder n harder to be 100% original nowadays with so many cars of various designs released each year.

• _xXx_ on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:08 pm

wat to look at Protong? Latest rebadging technology?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:40 am

Potential Lancer GT owner detected. Grow up, man.

Persona? Rebadged from which model? Tuah concept, rebadged from which model? Their latest release, Saga FL, is rebadged from which model? The Exora turbo which will launch soon is a rebadged model?

Oh I get it. You are encouraging auto manufacturers to spend $100 million for R&D for a low-volume product that will recoup $10 million in sales throughout the product lifecycle.

I can guarantee that you’re not a manager, company director or are in any management or strategic planning capacity because you do not understand the reasons behind platform-sharing.

• Hafidz Moro on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:04 am

Kesian..most people dont have the facts about building a car!
          They thought car came-out from microwave oven..
          or chop shop sambung2..hahaha :P

Malaysian is like dat, love to talk nonsense and crap!
          when people 2nd their thought it becomes true story!
          either true or false..

• _xXx_ on Jan 24, 2011 at 3:38 pm

dun worry, mine grows every morning

• murad on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:12 pm

I don’t about about others, looking at Toyota, quote from one previous comment somewhere they give yesterday’s technology with tomorrow’s price. The current Vios is such a kosong car with that heft price tag on it.They are just selling based on ‘i’m a Toyota’ and nevermind the technology, or the other stuff that other car makers are giving, we will sell cos ‘i’m a Toyota’. I think they should start competing on what car makers have to offer or soon this segment car will be taken over by the Koreans. Basically there is no bang for your buck!

• Anti asheikh on May 26, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Toyota should bench mark Hyndai.
      Previously, Japan (Toyota) copy Western & they ahead Western
      Nowadays, they should accept their practise to accept tha fact that Hyndai is better then them
      They should learn from Korean but NOT Proton

• Whynot on Jan 23, 2011 at 7:38 am

Has Toyota been cutting to much cost on front and back or is all the parking lots around the world are shrinking by length? It sounded not so good should an impact occurs to both front and back, don’t this engineer ever think of that?

• Tiadaid on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:15 am

To be fair, this is only a rendering by Theo Chin, not a Toyota sanctioned design. But still it proves one thing – turning a hatchback into a sedan is not that easy!

• sagatron on Jan 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

is it dugong or a car???

• kickingdust on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:16 am

they still remain the bulky head concept, why ? The Asian taste is something sleek, stylish & sharper design. Not so much of elegant design in mid size car segment.

• yotoya on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:57 am

anyway. its look better than current dugong/chipmunks/etc.

• Once drive a Toyota forever will be Toyota. Nothing compare.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:42 am

Hahahaa!! Nothing compares? Dude you should ride in a Teana and compare it with the Camry, or just ride in a Citroen C5 and compare it with a Camry. Alternately, at the lower range, you should also try out the Peugeot 308 Turbo and compare it with the Altis.

You really gotta get out there and try more cars, seriously.

• tycoon88 on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:09 am

the current shape of the vios is more rounded dan the 1st generation.

u guys wont b surprised T will make d lines more leaner cleaner for 2012 all new model!

then u guys can no more call it “viogong”

Our dear TC’s artist impression is only using the shape of the current vios and superimposed it. it’s fine for now!

• bryan jones on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:32 am

damn ugly japs..

• Sigh! From bad to worst…

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:27 am

Great job.
    The 1st generation pre-facelift Vios IS still the best looking. Toyota just have to do minor modifications on it to be the 3rd generation.
    More work should be done on the current grill.

• wajarays on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:28 am

nothin special…

• jolly_idiot on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

If this the new Vios. sure it’ll sell like hot cakes no matter what the price is.

• hahahha, really talking like idiot^^ RM90,000 for 1.5 you want to buy ah><

• Nephil on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:10 am

Guys, please be clear that these pics are NOT from Toyota. They are just rendered versions of what might be. So why do we be so much of a critic of Toyota? Just enjoy the pics ;-)

• murad on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:58 pm

it more of commenting about Toyota rather than this soon to be model.

• Wan Serting on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:11 am

For me, it’s worse than current vios.really bad design.

• mdfarizal on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:15 am

makin teruk muka dugung nih…

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:19 am

like!

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:20 am

beats driving a saga! out of date impreza wannabe.

• aryll8257 on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:27 am

in my opinion..

still a bit weird.. TC done a good job on renderings, but still look weird.

Toyota should get something like 1st gen design for vios

• Fifteen on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:31 am

The recent changes at the lower rung of the market might prompt Toyota to rethink the positioning of the next Vios.

Well, just a thought anyway…

• swifphy on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:35 am

as in the same categories/class….da new hyundai verna/accent will beat this vios…in terms of design n performance wise….

• If you taken the emblem out from the rear boot, sans sacred T; it really ugly. Not very much different than Saga BLM/FL.

Korean can do better job or even Persona deemed better looking. Having said that, if the price is correct, RM60k with compulsory SRS Airbags for ‘trapped’ Malaysians, this is a decent buy.

• mfahd_88 on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:39 am

i bet that the future saga replacement will look far more better than this

• yotoya on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:59 am

this one look handsome than current dugong/chipmunks.

• The Vios was NOT launched in 2007.

• Paul Tan on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:37 pm

It was unveiled in Thailand in April 2007 and launched in Malaysia in October 2007.

• Tiadaid on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Technically, yes, Vios was not launched in 2007. It was launched in 2004 I believe the 1st Generation Vios. Paul’s talking about the current generation Vios.

• sidspub kkg on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:49 pm

why on earth would anyone assume he was talking about 1st gen ?

• Then it should be worded “The CURRENT Vios was launched in 2007”. TQ

• Once a dugong…always a dugong!!!??? hahahah

• tmt1881 on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:23 am

bergambar di kl ke ?

• Thrust on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:26 am

The tail light looks exactly like Suzuki SX4.

• Be sensible, this is just an “Artist Impression”. The real deal could turn out a LOT different than what you are seeing here..! You can hate/like it after you see it!

• ewwww….still so ugly……but atleast got improve than previous version

• kington on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Bottom line remains… it will still sell with its bullet proof image and reliability.

• cynical on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Still as ugly as its predecessors

• T4VR-Ralph on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

probably the new perodua sedan…

• artworkz on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:43 pm

feel like latio sedan. agree?

• gogo2 on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

What the hell? Why so ugly? Japan car is going down the drain. First Honda Civic with its copycat design from Forte. And now dugong style Vios again.

• nabill on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:10 pm

UMW will probably offer once last ‘limited edition’ of the curent vios ONLY then the new one comes out….

• nebula87 on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:34 pm

bigger interior space plz…

• Carl Wong on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Looks funny, I don’t know why.

• Carl Wong on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Engine and transmission and fuel efficiency figures?

• Without T emblem this Yaris sedan will deemed uglier.

• zookri on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Hope d new vios with dual vvti..

• stopa on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:07 pm

kot2 mana pun kena complete dgn full bodykit baru gempak!!
    kosong camtu seolah2 seperti model sbelum ni dgn sedikit touch-up!!

• adehhh on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:30 pm

okla..tapi tak berapa cantik, nampak pendekk

• DonkeyKong on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Not as ugly as the current dugong, but still looks somewhat awkward.

• mfinerva on Jan 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm

IF this is the replacement model for vios,i bet that our next gen saga will be more handsome than this one.

• Zidane on Jan 23, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Can’t they design something different?

• Sorry to say , it’s not that nice .

• Once drive Toyota, Forever drive Toyota, Nothing compares.

• Looks LATIO’ish to me. Except the doors are from the current vios. lol

• Once we drive Toyota, Forever we’ll drive Toyota. Nothing compares.

• Alpha on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:22 pm

SX4’s rear~

• adiddaniel on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm

i will wait for this model to come to malaysia its looks just nice for me.

• Looking like a cheap Rm30k car

• Mat sabu on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:14 pm

This is suck …. design FAIL. What if it is from proton … sure everyone hate it. But put T logo there, ok la, acceptable la, whatever laaaahh. To me, no thanks.

• peYno on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:41 pm

saga FL design looks nicer than this ugly VIOS

• Gavin on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Toyota have it good in malaysia, the can put the words ‘Vios’ on practically any car and it will sell itself, no need for much hard work which anyways is no need since their cars are like IKEA, flat packed, standard components

• about 80% same with current suzuki sx4 sedan

• Car Lover on Jan 23, 2011 at 6:04 pm

errrr… urgly and stupid look….

• gosh .. chill guys… it’s just an interpretation! Give credit where its due!

• boring…zzz

surely still gonna be the same old engine and 4 speeder?

• Front is quite nice and sporty but rear is not nice,anyway for me Saga still look cheaper than the Vios coz Saga is really cheap i mean if Vios compare with Saga FL price.

• think on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:32 pm

really nice…i do not at all like the current vios at all (rear portion like a fish’s tail )…the previous generation looked perfect…anyway what should be included in the latest vios
    1) the cvt box from latest altis
    2) better interior quality

think

• Overall looks OK to me except the A-pillar. If Toyota really adopt this A-pillar, it will share the same fate as old City. Even new City moved away from this.

• acerman on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:44 pm

look promising, another alternative choice for my cute wife

• For hard-core Toyotanista; Theo Chin’s Vios replacement look BETTER than uglier inside out March Sedan aka Sunny 2011.

Why Malaysia authority do not follow Thailand, low end CKD car prices significantly RM20k-RM30k cheaper than us, CKD D-segment or Hybrid over RM10k cheaper than us BUT imported one we have upper hand; substantial saving for CBU prices in Malaysia.

Very bad to pay 4-6 year-old reconditioned cars about double (to triple) than brand new car in Japan.

• tranformer on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Wow… its looks much-much better than current one(Belta)…
    can’t wait to see the arrival of the next City face off this one…

• Automotive Parts Supplier on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:29 pm

It looks like the same old Vios, nothing new. Honda City 2010 still looks much better than this. Too bad Toyota.

• Dak's Quacks on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:40 pm

I’d never like Vios design, Toyota’s design center should work together with European partner to come out with more forward looking Vios. Btw, new Altis is another huge let down.

• If you think it is ugly don’t blame Toyota because they have nothing to do with the design … not yet at least.

Blame Theopilus Chin, who rendered the design :-)

• murad on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:22 am

Actually designs coming from Toyota, it’s very predictable and expected as again Toyota giving yesterday’s technology incl. design with tomorrow’s prices cos they are ‘I’m a Toyota’ would always use more or less their base design chassis for at least 2 to 3 generations and change or round them a bit exterior wise. Look at the Altis, so called new body but inside same old space and sitting volume, at least H and N being Japs are working from ground up into their chassis to ensure better sitting volume and interior configurations. So i’m not #!@$ing surprised that even if Toyota launches new Vios it will be utterly same, they probably move the meter to the driver position and the rest same old VVTi with 4 speed torque converter and call it the “all new Vios”,Jeremy C. once commented on a car maker for not being passionate to built cars but rather overly emphasizing on profits. Car buyers these days are changing, probably not for those ‘ah beng’ would like these type of sharp dull designs and later strap on body kits, glaring HID lights which obviously original reflectors are not designed to house them and grand turismo wannabe exhaust system, and yet they still forgetting it’s just a 1.5. Anyway enough said and Toyota by now should have the economies of scale to produce and offer tomorrow’s technology at today’s pricing. Hope to see direct shift gears or charger system for their engine instead of the old torque converter and the usual variable valve systems, and doesn’t really matter if it’s dual, triple or quad, it’s still base on the old technology.

• Perodua is basically following Toyota marketting model, change a bit and marked up the price.

Just look at Myvi. Perodua had change the design of not the car but only the bumper for maybe a hundred times and with each change, the price will surely revised to the north.

• Is it another Toyota hatchback with a booth?

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Darn. Mati-mati I though that was the real thing! Great job Theophilus.

• nolan on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm

a little bit ugly A pillar……need to redesign….

• Blame m’sian government for the high price dumbass… its cheap in otr countries… dunno anythin just simply say… if u can afford dun buy Toyota, buy BMW lar… the new front design has the similarity wif the Lexus design…

• acumm on Jan 24, 2011 at 11:52 am

ok,,then remove automative tax and increase personal tax salary to 50%?

• If like tht, I be the government better^^ all tax tax tax…….never think of Rakyat~~

• alpha999 on Jan 24, 2011 at 1:01 am

regardless of watever design they can come up with, will emerge top sales for non-national make…..

• Hafidz Moro on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:08 am

of course..

some kakak from putrajaya will but this,
      some amoi from HR or account department will buy these too..
      some uncle and aunty with ‘pencen’ money will buy this too for morning market shopping..
      some just graduated degree students with 3mth salary will buy this too (and straight to kedai ‘Abang’ brothers to add this add that TRD laa what laa..hahaha)

so..they will score..on what ever crappy and dumbest design they come out with! :P

• Rabbit Year on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:56 am

the dugong has turn to the dark side and angry ……

• cslee on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:32 am

so so only…

• NASTA on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:27 am

LIKE DECEPTICON!

• Ordinary Joe on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:20 am

New Toyota’s have always made me yawn, and this one will continue to make me yawn. But none-the-less, it will still sell…

• Vijay on Jan 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

You guys will never get it. Proton will never get it. And thankfully, Japanese car makers do.
    It is not about the car. In the sub-100k category, its about ‘ownership experience’. People money to spend on a car which will get them from one point to another, safely, speedily, comfortably with minimal fuss, acceptable styling and above all, ease of servicing and repair, without getting cheated.

So it doesnt matter what design they throw out. Ppl still buy it because they believe the ‘ownership experience’ is the best value for money in this country.

• alldisc on Jan 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

and for this reason only, Vios was the best selling non-national car in malaysia… with 33,000 units sold in 2010 and a total of more than 140,000 units bought from malaysians since 2003.

Ratio of units sold with Honda City is 4:1

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:43 pm

tough sh*t for those potential new Vios buyers who think this looked ugly. Theo Chin’s rendition normally looks better than the real thing.

• Samarkand on Jan 24, 2011 at 1:50 pm

i like! Toyota & Honda have better 2nd value than other brands in Malaysia….Yahoooo!

• Tallboyz on Jan 24, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Look like SX4 sedan to me.

• ben yap on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:54 am

most likely toyota will reuse their current old vios engine in the new vios.

• Hate Proton on Jan 25, 2011 at 4:56 pm

renderings! all you guys just moron.

• neonda on Jan 31, 2011 at 12:25 pm

sorry…still lame as the old vios…nexttt

• nlpnt on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:03 pm

It’s better than the Versa/Tiida and Fiesta sedans, probably more practical than the Chevy Sonic sedan, and short enough to be sufficently differentiated from the Corolla (Axio).

That being said, it’ll be rental-fleet fodder in North America and Australia, one for the old folks in Japan and nonexistent in Europe so southern/eastern Asian reaction will make or break this car. So far, the comments look pretty scary, especially if Toyota’s sitting on a production version that closely resembles this rendering!

• kAJANG GUY on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:04 pm

HEY GUYS,
    WHY ALL OF U TALK ABOUT CHEAP CAR??? CHEAP MEANS LOW QUALITY. MORE NOISE THAN SPEED.

LETS TALK ABOUT VOL. PASSAT CC. I LIKE IT VERRYYYY MUCHHHH.. GOOD DESIGN, AND EVERYTHING GOOD.

Kajang

• Whatme on Apr 23, 2011 at 11:53 am

One word that perfectly suit you….F U G L Y

• irwinng on May 10, 2011 at 10:14 pm

The new vios has been beat most sedan 1.5 cc however I want to see Honda, Nissan how both them perform, if both never beat toyota vios then sure Honda will be become 2nd, nissan will be 3rd…..so I am looking ahead. The Vios will sell between RM 80,888 to 85,888. Proton how about u????

• WeaKorea on May 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Malaysian Chinaman love to complain about Jap these Jap that’ when Chinaman can’t even build a proper car. It’s ugly? Are you a design engineer? If you’re so great go apply these your own car, It’s not easy task as exterior ergonomics affect drive performance.

And Korean cars? What a joke. If you really think they’re good go buy them. But the truth Chinaman will keep buying Toyo and Honda because they know its more reliable and Koreans can’t build a good engine to save their lives. The cost of a Vios/Yaris in North America is as little as $15k. This is suppose to be a cheap car.

Msians expect an $85k quality build when the manufacturing cost is less than $10k to offset profits. Blame your corrupt government for insane import duties, blame your own people for not being to develop your own car instead of rebadging Daihatsu and Mitsu, blame UMW for outsourcing to local parts to kill you village idiots for domestic profit.

Don’t go blaming Toyota and Japan. And lastly, you have a choice. NO ONE forces you to buy a Japanese make. Go buy Korean or American. God knows, i want to be the only person driving a Civic.

• WeaKorea on May 26, 2011 at 2:57 pm

VW PASSAT = Typical overpriced german rubbish car and unreliable.

VIOS = Japan Belta is great quality and 100x more reliable than Audi/VW.

UMW = Corrupt org outsourcing Toyota to local parts and making a killing

• WeaKorea on May 27, 2011 at 12:29 am

Another thing consumers don’t understand about Korean cars. Korean DO NOT know how to build cars. Toyota may not be good at producing the best looking cars, but that’s because they are a very old and conservative car company that is well respected with old values. Besides, what is deemed good looking is subjective. I find E Class to be ugly. Audi A4 to be hideous. But that’s just 1 and my opinion.

Korean cars have some of the most unreliable engines next to the horrible Opel in the 60s. So the Koreans need to offset this by compensating with more aggresive styling than Japanese makes and provide more interior luxuries like usb connectors, iphone chargers, etc. Same with China’s Cherry. They offer more extras and compensate in the looks department to make up for technology of their engines. And trust me, a car engine takes decades to perfect and Toyota has been in this industry before Koreans were making bicycles.

• WeaKorea on May 27, 2011 at 12:45 am

kAJANG GUY

I have driven and owned more cars than you have women. And all this before you were even born. Everything from Opel, Volvo in my Varsity studies in England to an old Datsun pully and 3rd generation Corolla Crown. Brought myself to own a Polo in Australia and tried almost any car you can think of except most super cars.

You are the one who is acting like an ignorant child. Grow up and experience more cars before shouting GERMAN makes like they are god.

• WeaKorea on May 27, 2011 at 1:40 am

Paul, do you have any new on the release date of this Toyota Belta?

I’m seriously considering to trade in my car for a 1.5

• Cars Philippines on Jul 01, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Vios is good for people who are after fuel efficiency.

• m.yusoff on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Harap harga xmahal laa..

• mirul on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:15 pm

had buy 2010 fl vios after looking inside whats kia had inside their engine.Theres an ugly metal works inside every kia..dont call vios kosong just because others can feed your eyes.Taste it with your tongue.

• Area51LE on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Looks much better compared to the current dugong

• viousfan on Dec 02, 2011 at 5:23 pm

please dun compare vios RM80,000 and proton BLM RM35000 (Dam Urgly)
    cannot compare lah….proton is for malaysian only.

• this new vios come out in malaysia?

• Quattro on May 12, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Toyota should design it like current honda city> this is what proton did on preve

• yesBoyYTL on May 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Vios is ugly. Long live 4 wheelers!!! Want to kiss my Hilux bumper you cute old ugly vios…muach muach muachh bucuk bucuk