Toyota recalls 1.7 million cars over potential fuel leaks

Toyota recalls 1.7 million cars over potential fuel leaksHere we go again – another recall, and again from Toyota. The Japanese automaker has issued a global recall for almost 1.7 million cars, with various issues involved in the recall.

The main body of recalls are in Japan, concerning potential fuel leak problems, with the number being close to 1.3 million, making it the second largest recall issued in the country. A further 245,000 Lexus cars in the US were also recalled over similar issues. Affected US models are the 2006-2007 Lexus GS 300/350, 2006-2009 IS 250 and 2006-early 2008 IS 350 sedans.

Toyota said that the problem is caused by an improper installation of a sensor to measure fuel pressure, which may cause the device to loosen as a result of engine vibrations, possibly causing fuel to leak.

The recalled vehicles will be inspected for fuel leakage, and the sensor will be tightened if there are no leaks; if a leak is confirmed, the gasket between the sensor and the delivery pipe will be replaced, the company added.

The same problem was also found in Crown and Mark X models sold in Japan. Toyota says that there have been no reports of accidents or deaths due to this issue.

Elsewhere, recalls were also issued for 141,000 Avensis models sold in Europe and New Zealand, this time involving a fuel pipe-related issue, with irregular work possibly leading to cracks and fuel leakage. The problem was also found in 16 models sold in Japan, including the RAV4 SUV, Noah minivan and Wish MPVs.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysian are the luckiest car owner in the world… what ever problem or recall by any of car manufacturer… but those car in malaysia are no t involved!!!

• cybermaster98 on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:39 pm

that bcoz our toyota made in siam

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Toyota should never be associated with quality anymore………..never……

• tigana on Jan 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm

So how is it that Toyota in Malaysia never recall cars? Maybe because Toyota thinks that Malaysians are more tolerant to failures and life is cheaper here?

• the best car ever made!
      MALAYSIA!!

• Jerry on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Will Japan Toyota help us with recond JDM Toyota user?

What have happen to Toyota?

What will happen to us the end user?

• Tan Ooi Keong on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:24 pm

The Japanese are honourable people. They got problems, they make recalls no matter what the consequences cause safety of human life is of prime importance.

BMW on the other hand, got so many problems, with the E90 and F10 breaking down too often, yet there are no recalls. Very suspicious. I hardly see any Toyota breaking down and yet, Japs are so honorable to do many recalls.

But BMW, go so so so many breakdowns and failures, yet, hardly hear of recalls. Especially BMW Malaysia, everything seems so fine for them but the F10 and E90 got so many problems, with so many customers complaining to a dear ear.

• mazdalama on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm

They are forced to issue those recalls.

• aparaa on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Really? I thought Toyota knew about many of these problems even at the assembly line but management chose to close one eye even though it could’ve been fixed right there.

However, they are now more likely to issue recalls after the great PR fiasco last year.

• sukakereta on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Mr. Tan, breakdowns are not a reason to issue a recall. while some cars break down, there are many other cars of the same model that do not. Even toyota’s breakdown.

Recalls are only necessary, when something in a car that potentially affects safety either due to design problems, or parts quality is identified as being prone to fail. Even Proton has done several worldwide recalls with items that could affect safety, like potential cracking of rims, collapsing jack..etc.

in fact, this whole string of toyota recalls started with them getting in trouble with the US govt. because they didnt initiate a recall that affected safety in one of their cars even though they knew about it. how honourable is that??

• Car Enthusiast on Jan 28, 2011 at 9:25 am

Breakdowns affect safety lah.What if I am driving on the highway trying to overtake, suddenly got engine failure, habis lah I kena langgar lori. BMWs got lots of total engine failure. I think the 3 Series needs a recall cause all my friends who have it, have to send their car in perpetually for problem solving. It must be big and serious cause often, the car is in the service centre for days.

Anyway, spending 300,000 on a car should at least give you problem free and no headaches..

• mzma73 on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Can refer to BMWClubMalysia.com refer to F10 problem to date any you will suprise with BMW Malaysia action again unlucky owner… speed above >120km, the complain like bull rider.. F10 drag to left & right so are this you classified as no safety issue.

• tokmoh on Jan 27, 2011 at 11:16 pm

20 Toyota/Honda salesmen liked this comment.

• Ash Menon on Jan 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

The Japanese may be honorable people in general, but I wouldn’t call Toyota’s act of hiding the pedal issue for 4 years as “honorable”. Let’s face it, they’re doing it now because they desperately need to recover their PR face. They need people to start thinking of them again as the reliable people, before someone on SNL starts making jokes about Toyota’s issues.

• handofslave on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:25 pm

i think toyota has setup a new department call – “Recall”

• lazyf on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:55 pm

lol…

• They should have another R & D department ( Recall & Dismantle Department)

• No…Its Called TRD – Total Recall Department

Already existed for years…

• Ash Menon on Jan 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Apart from TRD (nice one, btw) they do have a R & D department – Refuse and Deny. It was set up during the first round of accidents.

• mazdalama on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

nowadays it is downright shameful to own a toyota/lexus.

paying so much more and still getting substandard, haphazard and dangerous product.

• At least they have the guts to admit that they’ve made mistakes. Only by making mistakes do we improves, I believe with all of these new issues faced by them, they will pump in even more money into their R&D making sure issues like these never occurs again.

Can you name me one car company that doesn’t or never recall their cars… ever? Nobody is perfect.

• autojohndoe on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm

perodua not making a single recall yet i think…

• venven81 on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Others made mistake too but only very few times. Toyota is making headlines for how many times already???!! You can do the counting but the more isn’t the merrier but embarrassment! Gosh…

• sukakereta on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

its not about guts.. if it affects safety like a potential fuel leak in this case, you must order a recall. its against the law not to do so. Toyota got in trouble with the US govt about a year ago when they did not issue a recall even when they already knew about it.

• Tiadaid on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Why is it when Toyota’s making recalls everybody says “they have the guts to admit that they’ve made mistakes”? Don’t these people remember the circumstance of the first recall by Toyota in 2010 that started this whole mess? They only recalled after a family had died in one of their cars. But still they try to deflect the blame here and there. Only when they’ve taken a PR beating did they reluctantly started to recall voluntarily.

• kington on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:10 pm

The fact that Toyota is making these recalls falls to the point of them being honest.

With wear and tear ANY part may malfunction and lead to other breakdowns.

Remember Mitsubishi’s scandal in the 90’s?

• sukakereta on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm

you remember mitsubishi’s scandal in the 90’s, and you dont even remember toyota’s scandal early last year??

• mazdalama on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Wow recalls left right centre from Toyota.

• Again, I think msia model will not be ‘influence’ , wasnt it?

• aparaa on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Toyota QC in Malaysia is the best in the world, that’s why there’s never any recall here for Toyota.

• made in thai maybe

• Made in Section 16, Shah Alam.
        The best Toyota car ever made in the world!!

• littlefire on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:12 pm

I think the only model affected should be those AP imported directly from Japan.. So please think again before buying from those bloody AP holder..

• mazdalama on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:40 pm

again and again and again…

• gaman on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:43 pm

toyota,seriously they have to improved their QA/QC..

• mr. rk on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Prius how ah ? Got battery recall after 10 years ah ?

• bmpower on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Sooooo long build car also don’t know to make proper unleak one ah?

oh.. ic .. black wiki leaks .. they start the leak syndrome.

*still proud with toyota? lol!

• cybermaster98 on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Same thing i can say for Porsche. So long build cars but still develop cars which can catch fire in 7 countries. Hows that now for comparison?

• cybermaster98 on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Same thing i could say for Porsche. Built cars for so long yet can produce a brand new model that caught fire in 7 countries. Hows that for comparison?

• bmpower on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm

i mean blame*

• ladydriver on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:15 pm

The so call system of Kaizen is underprocess..

• LOL…

lucky P2 dun have to recall their cars ………

another recall story from what some of us really proud of car maker…..

*sigh*

• sukakereta on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:06 pm

must be proton fault….LOL, everybody blames proton for everything

• tokmoh on Jan 27, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Dang, baru nak kata inb4 proton haz moar probz yo :P

Just waiting for this one encik power window to give his speech of honour now :)

• jbartist on Jan 27, 2011 at 6:07 pm

must be proton fault..LOL

• toyota have the guts to recall their car,whenever they find a potential hazards.This is good and responsible action.Encounter a problem and solve it better than just smother it.

• WIRA VR4 on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Toyota recall but where is our Perodua a.k.a ‘Grade AAA Toyota’?

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Total Recall

• Dak's Quacks on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Recall is a pre-emptive measurement, and is always good.

• S.Roma on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Dear All,

Its hard to trust any car brand nowadays. even they have a lot of exp, still like that…

Conclusion – nothing is perfect…

• aparaa on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:26 pm

once bitten twice shy.

got bitten so many times already. what to do?

close shop and go die lah toyota! (harakiri!)

now that is the reaction proton will get (from p1 bashers) if the same thing happens to them. now the bashers(aka toyota lovers) are shoving down our throat the “nobody’s perfect” tagline in championing the japs.

traitors!

• tranformer on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm

good to see big org such as Toyota recall voluntarily…. at least they care their product owner, their customer….

does anyone care about Rakyat who drive milo-tin all these years ending up in Ops sikap Statistic…

• Most accident in malaysia r due to attitude of the driver not coz of car…many of them r selfish, incompetent driver n do not admit their mistake…i have several moment with that type of driver..the type don admit their mistake..they even given middle finger to me just bcoz i geleng kepala due to their action in the road n i tot polite enough not to tekan hon or giv light signal even though it can cause me to get accident with other car….

• aparaa on Jan 27, 2011 at 11:56 pm

tin milo cars such as avanza, vios, perodua cars, are all toyotas.

pity those stupid rakyat, buy expensively and still got those rubbish. go figure

• Wisdom on Jan 28, 2011 at 9:28 am

Toyota you’re going greedy…

We know that your marketing approach using ‘recalls’ has been so successful, now you dare to call millions of units? greedy people will always lose in the end.

I dare toyota to make a recall in Malaysia. Why not? coz our loan repayment 9 years and no value (for you) for us to trade in.

*in the US, loan repayment period up to 3-5 years only, once fully paid, they do this ‘recall’ exercise in order to persuade owner to trade in for a new car. That why the recalls involves 3-5 years-old model. Clever.

• carsut on Jan 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

I’ll not buy a Toyota for my future car!!!

• yc.low on Jan 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Lets be assured that our local Toyota will issue a statement that our Toyota are not involved. We are the most fortunate people in the world – where cars are recalled for defects – but ours are always not involved – we have the best cars in this whole wide world.

• 1Malaysia on Jan 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm

When Toyota making recalls, means they are honest and honorable; but when Proton make a recall, kena hantam habis habis..