Mazda to build Premacy variant for Nissan in Japan

Mazda and Nissan have announced an agreement to expand the scope of Mazda’s original equipment manufacturing (OEM) supply to Nissan – as part of this new accord, Mazda will begin supplying its Premacy MPV to Nissan from May this year.

Mazda will supply a clearly differentiated version of the Premacy – which is of course known as the Mazda5 outside Japan – to Nissan for sale in Japan. It’s certainly not new territory for Nissan; the company’s OEM business involves cross-platform sharing with a large number of automakers across the globe.

The two companies have already been collaborating under an existing mutual OEM agreement – Mazda provides the Bongo Van/Truck to Nissan, which is sold as the Nissan Vanette, while Nissan supplies the AD/AD Expert to Mazda, which Mazda sells as the Familia Van.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Finally, Nissan will have a good MPV to sell…. Hopefully, their pricing structure will be cheap enough for most Malaysians to own!

• alpha999 on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:38 pm

body design looks fludic….

• sixtythree on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm

This is the way automakers doing biz, and yet few M’sian dare to argue why proton sell the Lancer as Inspira…

• rossi46 on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Yeap…what the big deal wt proton doing the inspira…

• Because before Inspira, some people said Perodua rebadging sissy Daihatsu car while Proton car is based on 100% own R&D.

Thus the fanboyism war begin!

• waimak on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Paul, I’m looking forward to your test drive report of the new Mazda5/ Premacy. When is it coming? There’s only one unit available for now, in the whole country I was told.

• speedyjack on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:31 pm

here we are. rebadge/platform sharing is the way now! (proton basher can shut up now)

• proton is just milo tin , how to compare to mazda ?

• abdKhalid on Jan 28, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Wat kinda platform sharing/JV materialized from the
      rebadging of the Inspira/Lancer ??
      Nothing !!… it was a no brainer from the start.
      And yet P1 “ball carriers” think it was a major coup !!!.

• speedyjack on Jan 28, 2011 at 10:48 pm

go test drive first. u will find the different in term of ride and handling.

• yup bro… better still test drive an inspira and try to drive the lancer for comparison too.. my friend, a lancer GT2.0 shuts his mouth up after test driving the inspira…..

• ezracopters on Jan 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Design language, still prefer Toyota Wish. Performance wise, hmmm Premacy seem promising.. but we’ll see bout it soon.

• wan_knox on Jan 28, 2011 at 10:33 pm

the next grand livina from Mazda :p

• Can you imagine Livina with a smirk… ewww!

• they share parts is to keep a better price for consumer, as to keep the cost lower. here ppl copy but wanna out do the maker w/ lower the QC!!

• mitchell Williams on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:29 am

I have a 2011 premacy and is need of an air filter for it. can anyone help. I live in jamaica