Mercedes GP Petronas releases rendering of MGP W02

The Mercedes GP team, which is of course sponsored by Malaysia’s Petronas, has released the first image of its 2011 car. This rendering is of the MGP W02 that will be driven by Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg for the coming Formula 1 season. The new Silver Arrow will be unveiled tomorrow at Valencia when the team starts testing, so there won’t be a grand launch this year.

We’ve also put the outgoing MGP W01 car here for you to spot the difference. Body wise, the most obvious change is the higher nose of the W02 than last year’s car – the rest we’ll find out later. The livery has also gone through some change as well – Petronas gets more prominence than before – their logotype is now in white over green as opposed to black over body colour. This can be seen on the front wing, sidepods and rear wing.

The sponsor list looks to be unchanged, but of course the Bridgestone logo makes way for a Pirelli one. The Japanese tyre maker has left F1 and its place as sole tyre supplier has been taken by Pirelli.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lanku on Jan 31, 2011 at 9:35 am

best nye..!

• Jimmy on Jan 31, 2011 at 10:46 am

For a while, we all forgot that there’s Petronas in the line-up too. So much for the quarrel the Lotuses had!!

• Wow, the subtle changes actually makes quite a difference.

I think it looks much nicer. It’s got a nice flow to the colours.

Liking it a lot!

• opinion on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:02 am

look much more better than lotus renault gp and “team lotus” livery.

• Wait and see the performance, no doubt the design is look more agressive than the previous car, Micheal & Nico must put them self to the limit.

• insperut on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:49 am

like it
    so now we call it greenish silver arrow lah! LOL

• RH PumpkinKing on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:02 pm

I see a bridgestone logo on the nosecone, I suppose it should be a Perreli ?

• Reinmuster on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:29 pm

that’s 2010 dear. The Pirelli on the 2011 nosecone.

• My View on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:52 pm

The car with the Bridgestone logo is the MGP W01 (bottom picture), the MGP W02 has the Pirelli logo.

What a beauty.

• lalala on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Definitely better than last yr’s one. with green background behind petronas name, its awesome. Go go go Petronas… err.. I am using other oil co by the way