RON97 petrol up 10 sen to RM2.50 per liter tonight?

RON97 petrol up 10 sen to RM2.50 per liter tonight?When I first read Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) president Hashim Othman saying the current situation in Egypt could disrupt the supply of oil and make the price of crude oil go up, resulting in a RON97 hike according to the government’s “formula”, I knew a fuel hike was on the way.

I did not know it would be so soon, as after I read the PDAM president quote this morning, newspieces by the online editions of major dailies started appearing in the evening saying RON97 could be hiked by 10 sen at midnight tonight, bringing it up to RM2.50 per litre. RON97 was last hiked in early January 2011 by 10 sen to RM2.40 per litre, and before that the last hike was on the 1st of December 2010, also by 10 sen. If this 10 sen per month trend continues, we could be at RM3 per litre by the middle of the year.

Interestingly, from the graph above crude oil prices today seem to be a little lower than it was during the last hike. And this WSJ story says: “Crude oil futures were steady Monday as unrest in Egypt showed no signs of easing and attention turned to operations at the Suez Canal, a key world energy hub.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Less than a month ago we were sad with the hike , now again this happen. If only the hike were after the holidays.

• Jimmy on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:22 pm

While the Ron 95 still remain reasonably priced, I think for the sake of transparency, and to avoid further embarrassment to the Najib’s administration, it is best for the government to disclose the formula for the free float and subsidy calculation. A daily adjustment (as done in the US) would have been better for the people to see, since there will be fluctuations, i.e. up and down.

The days of subsidy is about to be over.

• totot on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:49 am

Today i saw RON95 priced RM1.90 per liter. I thought its suppose to be RM1.80. Long time no fill this fuel so did not know the price of it. Did it hike too?

• Can anyone tell what was the Oil price in July 2010. If I am not mistaken, it did not changed at all. In between there were some ups and down but base on today rate, don’t think any fluctuation. Just wondering on what basis or formula the Gomen calculate.

• lost78 on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:00 pm

bangsat! up but no down… we down here suffering!

• Annihilated on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:00 pm

i would not mind if the hike could save me and thousand others from paying higher ron95 fuel..

• artworkz on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:05 pm

after ron97, next is price hike is ron 95 with the reason narrow down the gap between 95 n 97

• Up2u2la on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Big present for rakyat since won DUN Tenang…So rakyat should happy and berTENANG… :-P

• transformer on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:06 pm

(B)oleh (N)aik ma……

rakyak senang lupa….

• when is my salary increase?

• Franco Baresi on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Same here!!!!

• mine expected this month 5% increase…hoho

• blackjkx on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:24 am

with inflation 4%, just left 1% increase to be proud of.

• Fence Sitter on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:47 am

Inflation is not 4% but about 2% according to CPI so can be proud of 3% hehe

• murad on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:56 am

only on paper 4% inflation rate, actual is over 10%

• CPI only stated 2%?? I dont know how it calculated, but i quite sure that figure totally cannot reflect our actual life..
            Look at the items below, the price hike > 10%, and all items just a essential items, but not luxury one..
            (1) Sugar from RM1.65 to RM2.20 per kg
            (2) Milo ice from RM1.50 to RM1.80 per glass
            (3) Baby formula Xnfa from ~RM60 to ! RM80 per tin
            (4) GardeXX bread from RM4.00 to Rm4.50
            (5) Cooking gas from ~RM18 to RM20
            (6) And bla bla bla…

Those 2% only a self satisfaction figure (siok sendiri) for the G!
            I believe those earn ~RM5k or below may know that 5% increament mean nothing compare to the actual inflation rate.
            For those earn RM50k and above, kindly ignore my comment, since RM2.5k increament (5%) just ngam ngam cover that inflation..

• Ash Menon on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:54 am

“Boss, petrol price gone up 10 sen, salary increase!”

“No problem. Your salary also increase 10 sen.”

• Young Sim on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:10 pm

to our gov, “wow…please….do it again..”

• acerman on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:56 am

reminds me britney song….. oops! I did it again… its to jimat AGAIN.

• Arthur on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:13 pm

yes, its confirm… unfortunately….

• Arthur on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Yes, so it seem… its been confirm another 10 cent raised, effective 12am tonight

• mystvearn on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Does anyone know how or what is the formula used by the Malaysian government to fix the oil prices at it is currently is? Is the government still subsidising the fuel? What about neighbour countries prices compared to Malaysia?

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:08 am

Manila costs higher around RM3.10/liter as per my last visit on Oct 2010. Anyway, the car price is around 30% lower than Malaysia.

• Money on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:36 am

Taiwan’s price for RON97 is also at around RM 3.10/litre there but the Toyota Camry 2.0E and Honda Civic 2.0 is selling at RM 80k compare to RM 145k and RM 131k respectively here.

• Let say a car with price RM100k, 30% mean RM30k..
        (1) RM30k divided by 5 years (5 years X 12 months) = RM500/month
        (2) RM30k divided by 7 years (7 years X 12 months) = RM357/month

In another words, we already pre-pay the petrol subsidy by our own which cost RM357-RM500 to the G when buy a new car?.. =(
        Then we prefer the G cut off the petrol subsidy and also take out those tax on foreign cars, that only fair to us..
        But the G keep emphasis that we have a lot of petrol subsidy compare to other country, but never mention the car tax that we have in Msia. Furthermore, we Msia supply petrol also.. =(

• acumm on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:30 am

what about interes rate cor car loan? are we the highest?

• artworkz on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:11 pm

yes, our loan interst rate is higher. in thailand, u buy a ford with 0.99% PA for 10 yrs.

• rapidshifter on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:34 pm

whatever price increased, end of the they still win election what….

• acumm on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:27 pm

so majoirty people love them…. the minority come to paultan to have caunseling session :P

• Brunei is Cheap!!!! just beside My country…. can reach by Driving…. =.=”

• 47.50pesos (RM3.28) to be exact n the price diff for each brand..the im showing is the cheapest..n bout 20% cheaper car

• openmind on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:47 am

the cars are much cheaper in manila lah….some car even 40% cheaper…try nissan xtrail for example..

• Formula = Sesuka hati when news related fuel shortage or price going up.

Within short period up so many times.

I really curious 1Malaysia Rakyat Didahulukan!!!!! (Fuel Price Up we suffer)
      When Ron95 going up? May be soon after chinese new year.

Pencapaian Diutamakan!!!!! (Fuel Price Up 3 times since Dec 2010)

Great Job!

• thank for the people who let BN win the TENANG by-election !

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:58 pm

So if hamPAS win,what will happen.
      FUEL PRICE CAN GO DOWN IS IT ?!!
      Bloody useless.

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:58 am

Well, it can at least make d govt think harder before hiking d price… Especially since today FT day, n Thurs is CNY. Consider d timing la wei…

Abis tu nak buat camne lg? Vote Barang Naik dapat ni, vote PR dpt ni gak, nak sruh org buat apa? Ubah gaya hidup? Keluar dr msia?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:07 am

Change your mindset,if wanna go to nearby shop use bicycles or walk a bit,check your car tyres air pressure,make sure enough if not enough it may affect your car fuel consumption,check out some tips from the web is better than complaining about fuel prices and the gov.

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:04 am

In other words, ubah gaya hidup. Thank you Pak Lah in disguise.

• Angra on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:43 am

Agree with tokmoh. The useless people are the ones without brain who always make simplistic statements and assumptions. At least with hamPAS, the PM’s Office won’t setup a ‘first lady division’ and the wife of the nation’s leader won’t travel around the globe at rakyat’s expense.

Perhaps the government had to set the hike earlier to recoup whatever grandiose amount spent on that lady!

• Ya, Petrol Price Then G buy new Nissan Fuga as their Official Car as Perdana replacement, if no mistakes they already bought a lot of Camry to replace the Perdana… =.=” “Proton Perdana replacement is the Nissan Fuga – only for top level government use, no private sales planned” 1Malaysia? Rakyat 1st?

• autobot on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:24 pm

camry to replace perdana? u means past G at perak rite..

• autobot on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:21 pm

guna hybrid la dol.. kalau x mampu jgk pki ron 95 sudah la..nak pki yg xde subsidi pastu bising harga naik plak..

• if PAS won general election, theres no way theyre gonna keep the price down… they’re broke! they need money! haha..

• pedum on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:09 am

wah, u can predict future eh..please read ‘buku jingga’ by PR

• JustmeRX on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:31 am

If PAS wins, Gov won’t be so daring to increase price. with a BN win, Gov thinks the rakyat has gain confidence of the Gov and they can do what they like again…

Vote BN out!

• we should thumbs up this guy!

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:44 pm

If fuel price is going up to RM2.10 per litre of RON95, Malaysians will buy more hatchbacks. Look at Indonesian auto industry, they are like the hatchbacks because of the high fuel prices and traffic jams in Indonesia.

• acumm on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:47 pm

people at tenang need wakil rakyat that concern about them..and can bring their problem at state level that control by BN…….. if they make Pas win…what will you guys did for them? we done nothing for them,,,help them during flood?? will u guys here come and help them? ,dont just blame them because what they did to survive….

• nabill on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:43 pm

how many think its time to do what the egyptians are doing now???

to sum up the public feelings in three letters….W.T.F ?

• lifesun on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Do think about it. Use Ron95.

• kia forte on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:36 am

so naive. then they’ll raise Ron95, stating lame reason such as trying to narrow the gap between the two.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 04, 2011 at 11:35 pm

If they raise the RON95 price to RM2.10, Malaysians will going to buy hatchbacks not limited to Perodua Myvi.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Do it lah,later our fuel price will increase from 2.50 to 10 ringgit.

• lifesun on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:45 pm

as long RON95 price fixed. still OK… to me .Spending wisely…

• Gavin on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:53 pm

lets see

Ford focus TDCi
    Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi
    BMW 320d
    Triton, Hilux, Pajero Sport

Decisions decisions decisions

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Complain-complain.
    You think the amount of tax you all paid enough to give cheap fuel price.
    How many things should the gov subsidised,sugar,palm oil,diesel,petrol,bla bla
    Later also complain road not good,bla bla.
    Typical Malaysian,you think the so called working for the rakyat on the other side can give you cheap fuel price,they even have problem in their party,how to handle a country.

• kington on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:52 am

Look, no doubt the opposition have their probelms, every party does. To most, the last results during the election were pleasing enough, to bring a bit of check and balance to the running of the govt.

It’s all about voicing it, so parties can fight for it.

Govt subsidies too much? Open your eyes.

• littlefire on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:20 am

Yeah! Reduce the peoples subsidies and built 100 storey building.. WOW!

• Wow!!! “Proton Perdana replacement is the Nissan Fuga – only for top level government use, no private sales planned” Wow!!! Wow!!! Wow!!!

• Ronan on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:57 am

Unfortunately oil prices will only go up, and that’s the reality of the situation. Crude oil is getting harder to harvest, the oil fields are shrinking, there are now too many cars on the road using petroleum, which is and has never been a renewable source. What do you really expect?

And lets face it, the way Malaysians drive on the road doesn’t really scream fuel economy. All we do is jam hard on the accelerator, tailgate the person in front of us and when he makes a sudden stop brake hard. Know how much fuel is wasted there? Honestly, here we are complaining that fuel prices are high but our driving habits is the exact opposite of what we should be doing.

It’s time we look to renewable sources, such as electric, hydrogen, fuel cell, gas turbines and what not, and do it soon. If we get a head start on others, then we may be able to profit from this.

• Do you expect the gov and malaysian are willing to do RND or just wait and see?
          haha

• autobot on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:43 pm

biofuel n other alternative source org dah lama wat RND la, ko je x tau..haha

• why this renewable energy still don’t commercialized?

• rear light on Feb 02, 2011 at 2:41 pm

most of the time, i think stuck in the traffic jam is most likely than jam hard on the pedal..so, traffic jam is rakyat’s fault too?

• AP lover on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:01 pm

just spoon feed the IPP banyak2 and let the kroni buncit forever…

kalau makan dah ditanggung, elaun & claim dapat, bil api air sume free, dpt duduk mahligai free, keta & driver siap skali, sume kos aktiviti dan sumbangan charity leh claim…

JANGAN LA BAGI RAKYAT PULAK SUSAH!

ini la akibat bila melantik pemimpin yang sejak kecil makan bersudu emas

• klguy on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:57 pm

soon Ron95 will go up also. reason to b giv by Dato Seri : ‘Sebab Ron 97 dah naik byk kali, Ron95 dah lama tak naik’. Hidup BN Hidup BN Hidup BN. My votes for u. Have the GE tis yr pls b4 i migrate to Thailand next year.

• Our Ringgit appreciated 11% while oil price went up 12%. Maybe my math is not good, but shouldn’t petrol price remains the same as the increase was offset by the appreciation.

• vote BaNtai us party!!! on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:06 am

NajiB ask us to vote for them, so they can BaNtai us again after this next election.. vote BaNtai!!! so they make us pay more & more for less & lessss ….WTF!!!

• aku dah tahu on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:16 am

B’arang’ N’aik…..

Mau tanya pada semua yang byk kompen2 nih. Are you sure yang PR akan turunkan harga petrol dan diesel sebaik saja dapat pegang Malaysia? And are you sure yang semua barang2 kat Malaysia akan turun harga?

If Malaysia PR pegang, no more subsidy nih. DAP will lead and we will turn like singapore. Happy everybody when we all equal? Wait! You all miss something…..

The price will always be at ceiling compare market value. You have to pay parking at your home. All monies will not use for subsidy but for military. Schooling fees will not puluh2 ringgit lagi. Road tax? No more RM70 lagi for car below 1300cc. Summon? will be like normal thing mcm makan nasi…. And many2 more…… Everthing is RM…

Dont be too dumb when heard opposition promise like sweet candy story. When they start promise, you should think what their answer if they cant satisfy their promise. It is so easy to put blame to others. It so easy to make others black sheep. But it is not easy to satisfy the promise…..

Lee Kuan Yew ever said….. only chinese can ‘teach’ chinese. So dont feel too happy… Lee already prove it. And Lim Kit Siang will follow the foostep. Like Lee’s monarchy although legally called democracy…….

• kington on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:00 am

We’re not falling for the promises from PR or anything, all we want is just lower cost of living. If PR were in control at this moment, we’d still voice our dissatisfaction.

YOU HAVE A VOTE, you have a choice.

• littlefire on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:15 am

Bro, have u been in Singapore or Penang? Have u seen those elite malays living there? Have u wonder why they can improve so much in a few years compare to ur own place?!? Just think about it..

• pedum on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:14 am

Why can’t be like Singapore. Salary higher compare to Malaysia, best transportation, clean country. U sound racist la.

• Katak dibawah tempurung. Have u been to Singapore? Have u met any Singaporean Malays?

If indeed we – malaysia are right, then there would be a Tsunami of Malays migrating from Singapore to Malaysia. We don’t see that. Conclusion? The Malays in Singapore are happy.

Stop listening to Mahathir’s nonsense.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Singapore and Indonesia are going anti-Malaysia program. They are the best in ASEAN.

• mafia87 on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:19 am

Serve U right PEOPLE OF TENANG!!! F**K U BN!!!

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:42 am

Peoples of Tenang still sleeping mah! Support Barang Naik BN. That’s why tonight oil price hiked.

• Squeezed in the middle on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:01 am

How many people in Tenang do you think use RON 97?

• kuching on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:12 am

Tenang people not use petrol. Jalan kaki ayam saja.

• hexagon on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:54 am

naik sampan saja…sekarang ni kan banjir..hahahha no need to use petrol, dayung dayung.. row row ur boat laa…haha

• then ron95 might up also..reason by the government, as b4, to reduce the gap between both..

• Estimosis on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:42 am

It’s not a price hike… it’s a price adjustment!! That’s whats the ministers of the bloodsucking BN will say..

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:28 am

“Good” news! Yay!

• HybridFan on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:28 am

Hidup BN..Ber TENANG all… ha ha

• sukasuki on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:29 am

why not blaming US for the hike? because they are the goddamn culprit of the problem and making mesir in chaos, and also controlling the oil price.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:23 am

Good point there.

• rear light on Feb 02, 2011 at 2:50 pm

it’s easy to blame everything on the West, but in fact all focus should be on ourself…

• BeatTheTraffic on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:34 am

Please increase RON 95 too to ease congestion in KL !

• RideHandling on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:07 pm

prep up good public transport first..remember, congestion starts because ppl dont hv sufficient option to travel.

• alexpoh85 on Feb 02, 2011 at 9:31 am

increase d so that u can have all the road to yourself driving around kl smoothly without congestion? Bloody selfish comment u idiot. Not everyone as rich as u, if RON95 increase, what are we going to use? how are we goin to travel to work? not need to work? Stupid public transport can’t even accommodate 1% of kl population, and doesn’t cover most suburban in klang valley.

Use your freaking head to think,
      Here is not singapore u selfish idiot.
      Here is malaysia, doing all the opposites of every developing/developed country is doing. More and more and more roads but rail network throughout penisular malaysia didn’t change much since British colony.

you must be one of rich that don’t feel affected by petrol hike….
      Oh ya, if RON95 increases, less n less cars will be on the road, so that our beloved Najib and Rosmah can have all the roads to themselves too =)

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:40 am

According to Malaysian Petrol Dealers Association president Datuk Hashim Othman, the Finance Ministry confirmed the price Monday evening.

“It’s a monthly review based on the world oil price. The ministry performed the assessment and decided on the price increase,” he said when contacted.

?????’Based on the world oil price’……. !! OK….Thats fine, YOU GOMEN should review Malaysia car price based on the world car price, isn’t it!!???

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:16 am

World car price,never heard em before,never really exist in this world.

• littlefire on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Bro, u really katak di bawah tempurung… Do u know that car have also open market price? Go check those car selling in Brunei, Arab nations even US also.. In Malaysia u still can enjoy tax free cars in Langkawi & Labuan.. U will know how cheap a car should be!

• Then,
          Open Market Cars are more cheaper than Langkawi and Labuan.

• this is the most TERBAIK CNY gift from the G…. hay….

• Go green on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:01 am

Let’s go green.

• hadi75 on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:19 am

chinese new year angpow maaa…..
    every things going up…and the rakyat can only bising2 aje….
    those at the top never listen…..
    they don’t feel what the rakyat bawahan feel maaa….
    only turun padang and see the rakyat when election time….

• droll on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:24 am

no surprises here. the federal government is playing a dangerous game. push as much as you want to gain increased savings / taxes / etc but without pushing the citizens and economy over the brink. problem is, they don’t really know where the border line is….

• droll on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:24 am

time to buy hybrid i guess!

• droll on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:25 am

i forsee the 2011 extension for the tax exemption on hybrid vehicles is to give proton a chance to launch a hybrid vehicle. so let me place my bet that we shall see something in 2011 from proton…??

• Fat crony... on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:13 am

jom kita naik basikal!

• i dont use ron97

• ron 97 only used by fraction of motorist, people getting used to pump ron 97 at cheaper price that why some negativity here

• Imbhotep on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:25 am

Seems rakyat is indirectly pay for mahathir’s debt worth RM372bil in 1999…And after 12 years,gomen can afford to pay RM10bil for this debt(today’s gomen debt RM362bil!!!)
    So…gomen have to abolish fuel subsidy to pay-back huge debt made by our 4th PM & RAKYAT have to pay price in premium prices without subsidy!
    Therefore….Thanx to our nation’s destroyer-mahathir mohamad!! ;-p

• Malaysia towards bankruptcy..

• imbhotep on Feb 06, 2011 at 12:48 pm

not really ‘towards’ bankruptcy….malaysia already bankrupt at 1998….when (Debt-asset)/GDPX100%=

(RM372bil-RM75bil)X100%=110%!!!

meanwhile Greece technically bankruptcy at 105%!!!so what in your mind when debt/GDP is higher than Greece?!?! ;-p

• I am not surprised by all this development. Like I have said earlier to all my family and friends in Malaysia that the RON95 will be about RM2.00/L by early 2011 and RON97 will be hovering around the range of RM2.40 – RM2.70/L. Price of a cup of kopi ‘O’ will increase from RM0.80 to RM1.00 per cup (think this is for Penang). This is a hike of 25%! Salary sure does not go up that high in a year.
    I just pumped Shell V-Power which is rated RON98 and it costs only $1.45/L (after 4cents discount). Please don’t use forex as I earn here and spend here so dollar to RM, I am still better off. Where else can I afford to drive a Volvo, even more so a XC70 Cross Country! Certainly not in Malaysia. I truly emphatise with you all but unfortunately the reality is that the RM is really shrinking in value.

• Salamander on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:30 am

Seriously all you guys here pour down RON97 petrol everyday?

• kington on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Yes, i do.

I think most petrolheads or enthusiasts would too.

• meane on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:30 am

“ubah gaya hidup… “, said f.l.o.m husband.

• Komuter on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:52 am

I use public transport to work so I don’t mind! I just wish that they can allocate the subsidies to us public transport users instead! Lower the fares a bit especially for the ERL! We don’t create pollution and congestion so I guess we deserve some reward!

• aku dah tahu on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:33 am

Many here wants the petrol as cheap as possible. Why not you’re asking government to provide free fuel?

Always blaming government….. Are you think after chosen PR After PRU, PR will turn everything back in 1980’s? All things cheap….. No, that only PR fake promise before win. After win they will silent, no comment like Selangor and Penang do. Learn economy then you will know that promise is impossible !

Mate! This is not political issue. Its global issue.

Remember, Malaysia is not free market economy like US. Free market is bloody expensive ! If you dont like Malaysia government, please name 1 government that you wanna be role model….

• TurboMan on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:22 am

Dude.

Car price is expensive. Remove the car tax. Then we talk abt non subsidised fuel.

Another misguided soul. See the world first before commenting.

• Bro turboman,

Come on.. U want talk about non subsidies fuel if no car tax? Wah!! U can eat sand is it? When Iran remove their subsidies, fuel price hike 4 times!! Mean if 2 per lit now they have to pay 8 per lit.. Open ur eyes mate.. Be grateful my friend.. Don’t talk nonsense.. U won’t be happy even u can afford ferrari if no subsidies for fuel..

• TurboMan on Feb 03, 2011 at 10:49 pm

My friend.

RM8 per litre? That would require oil price to be USD200 / bbl. Don talk nonsense too. That kind of simplistic reasoning u did is extremely misleading.

Think abt the oil price of the other oil producing country. DOn look too far. Just look at our next door neightbour. Brunei.

You think our fuel is subsidised much? Do your math. How many litres in a barrel and the petrol yield each barrel of crude. Just do it. You eyes will be opened.

Who said anything abt a ferrari? Most malaysian cant even own a proper safe car with a working airbag ( satria airbags are known not to pop even under the worst collision ).

• dude..if removing subsidies means only oil price is affected, i can agree with you, but can you be so sure everything else is not affected by abolishing the subsidies?

what to do if car is cheap, but everyday have to eat roti canai that price rm3?

today i saw toyota prado owner pouring the RON 95, maybe he’s cannot tahan already the price of RON97.haha, have to pay huge amout of roadtax, but cannot afford premium oil in malaysia anymore

it is sad when you think about it

• Luxury Taxes for the Pickup Trucks on Feb 04, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Add car taxes to pickup trucks like Triton and Hilux, but remove taxes from smaller cars such as Lotus Elise and Toyota Yaris Hatchback… Look at Singapore Price, the price of Triton will be over RM200,000 if exchanged to Ringgit… Better decision to add and remove tax.

• inderaloka on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:35 am

Its confirmed. Read here: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2011&dt=0201&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_05.htm

• littlefire on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Wow.. We still have people reading Utusan from Dinosour era…

• pedum on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Small article only in UTUsan Meloya regarding the fuel hiking. If the opposition issue comfirm cover half of the front page

• utusan is a “cari pasal” press..
      not all but some news that they create by themself.. but not a fact.. =(

luckily not work in utusan, or else sure kena pecat tanpa sebab after give comment like this.

• tycoon88 on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:44 am

TENANG dah MENANG, RON97 up 10 Sen. Rakyat no longer can berTENANG.

Juz imagine if they’ve WON GE13 yesterday, RON95 will go up by 40 sen overnite.

They will give lame excuse dat price gap btw RON97 & RON95 is too big, so have to bring the prices closer so that Country won bankrap by 2019 as per your good fren, Idris said.

Saudara Anwar…where r u hiding now, when we needed u most :)

• Kimberly on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:50 am

Everyone so fast to blame government but no one wants to blame commodity speculators who started the whole mess in the first place. Good luck when crude oil prices get played up till pre-subprime days (i.e. USD 145 per barrel).

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Well, it’s easier to blame the government for everything rather than greedy speculators.

• RedLine on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:58 am

I think the Government should completely float Ron97 prices, so that the prices is fully determined by market forces and individual petrol stations. That way the people can’t blame the Government for every time the price increase or decrease. It seems that Malaysian people just don’t understand the concept of Float, or people just trying to find any excuse to blame the Government.

Who uses Ron97 anyway? Do you use? I bet most people who complained here do not use Ron97. Only people with big/fast cars and RICH people use it. If the Government want to tax the rich people more, I am fine with it. It doesn’t affect me.

So why complain? The Government is taxing the RICH people more, I think this is a good move. We ordinary people can still use Ron95 as the prices remain unchanged. So I see no reason to complain.

But if you are poor, or struggling to make ends meet, and yet you use Ron97, then you should really use Ron95 and save your money.

• _xXx_ on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:45 am

You are naive. Visit one of the busiest kiosk and watch yourself how many big/expensive cars are fed with fuel comes out from the yellow gun…

• RedLine on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Helloooo, you COMPLETELY missed my point. I wasn’t talking about Ron95. Of course the majority of people (including big cars owners) use Ron95. That is obvious, don;t you know that? I was talking about Ron97. People are complaining about a petrol that the majority of people don’t use. That’s my point. Do-you-understand-now?

• autobot on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:02 pm

u r true dude.

• rear light on Feb 02, 2011 at 2:59 pm

RON 95 also hiked, u idiot…

• Bronx on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:23 am

Use public transportation. I don’t mind if the gov subsidize bus or taxi fare. Helps to reduce traffic. Instead driving to work and getting stuck in road park and ride at any LRT station. It starts with you!

• pedum on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:37 pm

malaysia has the worst public transportation system. need a car to go to LRT, wait for the LRT to come. then wait for the bus to ride to the office. wasting time. What happen to our billions of money for the public transport investment. Still the same.

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:25 am

NB: Please note the sarcasm, ok.

“Stupid G go increase fuel prices. Why don’t they just continue subsidizing fuel la? Just cut down on other subsidies, like University fees – surely the students don’t mind having to pay more for their uni fees. Or hospital subsidies – let the ppl pay morelah to go to hospital, at least reduce the number of ppl waiting in line. Who cares about the consequences, as long as I could fill up cheap RON97 for my 5-litre V10 BMW M5”

• Kevin on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:33 am

Why not raised the price b4 won the Tenang election? Better fill up your Ron 95 with full! Sure they will raise the Ron 95 very very soon! Maybe during Chinese New Year… u see la!
    Thanks for your CNY present …good luck to only Ron 97 user!

• yotoya on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:49 am

Oil/gas prices doesnt related to election/festive season.

All, just use RON95, 97 good for certain cars.

• _xXx_ on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:06 am

what I said previously about price hike after by elections is now materialized. But this is just part 1. Part 2 should not be too long from now….let’s see

• Squeezed in the middle on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:08 am

What if:
    1. Car price at market value, with some tax based on price.
    2. No road tax, at least not according to c.c.
    3. Fuel at market value, plus some small tax.

Cheap car, expensive fuel, no reference to engine capacity. That will promote efficiency and stop subsidizing the rich.

• deGonggok on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:24 am

High tax on Car price is already from the rich.

• acumm on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:28 am

then ,,, gov no income? fired all those gov servent? many people jobless…yeah just to make sure that u got car at cheaper price ….

it responsibility to manage a country,,not responsibility to get cheap car for u…

car tax is for rich people,,or people who ‘perasan’ they are rich people…. i rather choose high car tax rather then high income tax….

• pedum on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:42 pm

yeah, why not we fired all the none productive gov servants. It will make them more competitive. Will save a lot of gov money.

• Now,
          Civil Servant now reach 1.2 Million.
          Totally USELESS!!!

Better sack them out!!!

• Our public servant is bloated. we have more or less the same amount of government servants as Japan. Japan has a population of 127 million, we have 30 million people.

Where is the logic?

The government’s job is to MARCO manage the country and economy, not to MICRO manage it.

• hexagon on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:48 am

change to PAS, and give them time to prove their ability,
    if not, we change back to BN again…its democracy, we have our own ability
    to change G, so use it laa…

• Medusa on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Alaaa…look at Kedah la…water price oso want naik, overall no improvement at all, just continue from previous government saja. In my kampung’s district, water flow like ‘kencing’; raya time u die la with no water. Moral issue? Aiseh, getting worst.

Just go to Central Square Sg. Petani or Pacific Alor Setar and u can see how many anak muda shows ‘morality crunch’? And at Pantai Murni, still there are lots of people hanging around during Maghrib? Paling senang, Kedah Football team, still wear a short showing their lutut…I tought the KFA President’s is the Menteri Besar???

• akuGunaRon95 on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:49 am

for those who driving a ron95 compatible car, filling ron 97 and bitching about rm0.10 increase.. stop bitching and complaining.. you knew what to get into when gov decided to stop subsidizing..takde performance effect kalau pakai ron 95. itu Hanya ANTI KNOCK INDEX!!!!

semua bende nak murah…… malaysian manja!!

• hexagon on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:06 pm

we Malaysia are not manja, we are just not so STUPID to be step on our head directly. anyway, are u malaysia or not? ouhh sorry, u’re BarangNaik supporter. haha keep ahead man. BN need people like u.

• akuGunaRon95 on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:40 pm

hello im not a BN supporter, who one of them….. dont be stupid la … why u tuang ron97 in a ron 95 car… it just plain stupid….

• akuGunaRon95 on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:41 pm

hello im not a BN supporter, not one of them….. dont be stupid la … why u tuang ron97 in a ron 95 car… it just plain stupid…

• kuching on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:53 am

Voters who voted Barisan Najis in PRK Tenang now can happy with the increment because they can share $0.10 per litre. Dah nama orang FELDA..nak buat macam mana?

• kuching on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:56 am

Hope government will increase the price up to RM5.00 per litre. RM2.50 is too little to be as a Negara Berpendapatan Tinggi as planned by our half educated PM.

• for goodness sake, this is an auto blog peepss…

• babyboy on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:13 am

ron97 dah naik.. so standby for ron95..
    rakyat sbnrnya boleh manja sbb minyak tu ade kat m’sia..

• sukasuki on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:52 am

better upgrade RON97 to RON98. so that it will rise higher! and also let the oil company decides the price for their oil. demand and supply theory, customer will enjoy the benefit.

• scania on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

aku pernah terbaca dalam paper baru2 ni yg minyak tak akan dinaikkan dalam masa terdekat… yeah.. hell true… looks like bn really dig their own grave…. well done

• smokey on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:23 am

look at the crude oil price chart, current price still lower than December…
    like this also want to increase???cb

• Car lover on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:33 am

Don’t simply give comment about car performance if you don’t have prove to support your statement. You are just making a fool out of yourself..

• Totoro on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:46 am

I just can hope the car prices here will become cheaper….. I don’t mind the fuel price hike because I work in oil&gas industry -I know it will not become cheaper. I hope the G can offset the fuel price hike by reducing the car excise duty.. i.e. no fuel subsidy + no car excise duty = balance. People can own better car (beside PROTON and Perodua), I believe Malaysians are smart enough to control their fuel consumption -‘Travel when needed with Better machine’.
    To date, I still own a used car… isk isk

• Totoro on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Just want to share:
      Fuel price in Thailand:

http://www.shell.co.th/home/page/tha-en/products_services/on_the_road/fuels/fuel_price/app_fuel_prices.html

They got no RON97 there and everything is more expensive (Yes, Thailand is not an oil producing country) but the car price there is very cheap (and better spec.):
      check out this Mitsu TH website…

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.th/en/model-lineup/pajero-sport/price.php

• littlefire on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Bro, u forget to mention their fuel standart is also better than us.. If not mistaken already EURO4 standart..

• murad on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:10 pm

2008 when petrol prices went up to RM2.70 per litre, everyone literally was making a fuss and panicked, and then the media and everyone started talking about car pool, taking public transport, motorcycle, walking and the list goes. When came back down everyone forgot about it and back to single car occupant, new car launch people go crazy and book. Now petrol up again, same story happen, everyone goes frenzy and start talking about car pooling, walking and the list goes on again. So does it mean if petrol is RM1 per litre everyone goes and buy a car or change new car forgetting they have to pay for the interest and the installment? because petrol cheap?

The point is cars these days are getting more and more expensive, but people don’t calculate the big amount but rather on petrol prices which they already know energy increase is inevitable. New models from H, T or WV 6 figure, people would go to the extent of paying over 50% of their monthly pay for installment, and yet they complaint about petrol prices.

• artworkz on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:17 pm

new car is safer and better fuel comsumption, that y ppl change. if u like stick on ur 10 yrs old junk n happy with the fuel price hike, than u keep it.

• murad on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:12 am

The whole point is to change your car at a reasonable price in accordance to what you earn and in a reasonable amount of time, obviously the older technology will have more FC, but at the expense of higher price being paid. I think you do not know how to decipher what people trying to say, again to reiterate for 10cents many people are complaining, but when come to expensive cars people will pay thousands and thousands for monthly installment, some whom may not have finished their installments are going trade ins and new car and start with a higher installment again. So in simple terms if you can pay thousands for your car, you’ll have to condition yourself to pay for the rising energy prices.

• Totoro on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Just want to share:
    Fuel Price in Thailand:
    http://www.shell.co.th/home/page/tha-en/products_services/on_the_road/fuels/fuel_price/app_fuel_prices.html

:-) They only have up to RON95 there.

• openmind on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:51 am

why dont we compare singapore or Taiwan, or australia ????

we need to look forward to the developed or more succesful countries. …no disrespect to thailand, but i think they belong at the same level like us.

• walaupon mahal, tp aku still setuju kerajaan menaikkan harga, sebab harga pasaran minyak sekarang sudah meningkat naik, kalau kerajaan x menaikkhan harga ikut harga semasa, pihak kerajaan pulak yang rugi

• _xXx_ on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Bang, negara kita ni negara pengekspot minyak bersih laa bang…paham ape tu pengeksport bersih tak?

• Medusa on Feb 02, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Yes, we are ‘slightly’ oil exporter since a portion from 700,000 barrel/day is ‘excessive’ (if I not mistaken, about 100,000 is for export). From the 700,00 barrel, not all is own by government via PETRONAS, remember Shell in Sarawak? And please see the following calculation:

From USD100 a barrel of crude:
        ——————————————-
        10% (USD10) goes to the government via royalty

50% (USD50) goes to the contractor (Shell/Exxon/Petronas/Talisman etc.) as a cost recovery for the ‘money’ they put in to suck the crude from our earth. The cost is kept increasing by year even the world economy has go down.

40% (USD40) is profit sharing for the contractor based on their ownership percentage for the PSC e.g. PETRONAS 40% (USD16) : Exxon 60% (USD24).

To be fair to all contractors, let’s imagine their ‘burden’:
        USD450k/day for rig rental
        USD20k/day for a vessel
        USD60k/day for an FSO rental
        The staff salary etc…

You do the calculation.

• if the price of ron 97 is floating then the retail price should go up and down as well depending on the price of crude….it cannot perpetually go up and not come down at all.

so when crude is high the retail price goes up and when crude price drops the retail price should adjusts downwards as well.

• _xXx_ on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Bet the new price for 95 would be 1.95 or even 1.99 in the next hike. Just to make u guys feel that it’s still reasonably low…

• adiddaniel on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Padan muka semua rakyat malaysia tak belajar dari parti yang memerentah sekarang semuanya naik tapi masih menyokong mereka kepada rakyat yang berpendapatan rendak aku puji kau semua kerna menyokong pemerintah sekarang biar mereka kaya kita jadi hamba mereka minyak naik barang keperluan nain bn naik lagi. GOOD

• Andrew on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:35 pm

bro… rakyat yang berpendapatan rendah takde internet access… manalah dia orang tau apa-apa yang kita orang bincang sini. BN is a spin doctor… they will not tell you that we have one of the most expensive average car prices in the world based on purchasing power parity all in the name of protecting Proton and Produa + a few thousand jobs and let the rest of the millions of Malaysian suffer the effects of incessant price increases on everything because of the mis-allocation of resources.

Vote wisely… At least I know in Selangor I get free water from the tap for voting for the right party. It is all about putting a check and balance in the system! Else we are going to end up like Egypt one day after the govt of the day pilfer all the riches from the land and people.

• Siggy on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:17 pm

The saying goes ”once bitten, twice shy”. But it seems that we’ve been BitteN 51 times and still not quite shy.

• i can’t believe until today there’s still so many retarded malaysians… no wonder BN still can win lah..

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:15 pm

I see. So those supporting the opposition are “enlightened” then?

Please don’t forget that one of the opposition party is filled with former UMNO members who left because they & their cronies didn’t get a piece of the pie! Would things really be different? I doubt it. It’s just a case of swapping one crony for another crony!

• hmm…i wonder where do they get the funds to fill up their EVO eagle or some crap name..ooh its from the rakyat’s income tax.. so if we are paying for their fuel..why should they always tell us the increase is necessary?? the govt always have excuses whenever they increase the fuel..but i can also bet they are holding a FREE FUEL card and is used to pump ron 97 into their alphards and their merc’s..im pretty sure the cards are given to their whole freaking family to..including their nenek and datuk…

• metafos on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Change the current G and we could ease our suffering!!!

• Abdul Kalib on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:16 am

Egypt issue is a good reason for our gorvernment hike the price, within this year the price might go back to RM 2.70/ L for RON 97 and after that the next target will be RON 95….

• Peugeot Malingsia on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:40 pm

We love you!!!

Malaysians will buy more hatchbacks if the RON95 priced at RM2.10.

• poyolahkau on Feb 02, 2011 at 9:54 am

Thank you Barisan Nasional for such a wonderful Chinese New Year ang pow!

We owe you so much, we will repay you during the 13th General Election! Yaaaam seng!!!

• Joseph on Feb 02, 2011 at 4:49 pm

you have the Felda folks of Tenang to thanks for this.
    Thank you village idiots.

• vw beetle on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:35 pm

If RON95 raised prices to RM2.10, Malaysians will go for hatchbacks, just like in Europe and Indonesia.

• Peugeot Malingsia on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:36 pm

The fuel prices in Indonesia is too expensive, so those people turned to buy the hatchbacks, just like the Honda’s Jazz has outsell the City there, and Toyota’s Yaris Hatchback outsell its sedan (Yaris Sedan / Vios) counterparts. The Ford Focus TDCi in Malaysia is available in sedan and hatchback, but in Indonesia, it’s hatchback only.

High traffic jams also let Indonesians going to buy hatchbacks.

• bersyukur la, gomen da cover 30 billion setahun subsidi minyak, rakyat malaysia tak tahu bersyukur…bila da jadi negara perang baru korang tau….apa2 parti pun sama kalo memerintah…makan tetap makan, jolok tetap jolok, sebab semuanya tak maksum.

• Peugeot Malingsia on Feb 03, 2011 at 9:38 pm

You’re crazy.

High fuel prices are the better way to let Malaysians to buy more hatchbacks.

• vinnan on Feb 04, 2011 at 12:03 am

Good, this most recent hike in RON 97 petrol jst one day after the Tenang by-elections clearly shows that UMNO is bled badly by the oppssition by all the by-elections. I want to see what kind of price increase to fuel and basic goods prices after the Merlimau by-election. Looks like the opposition strategy of bleeding UMNO as mich as possible at every by-election is working very well.

• i think those guys in Pjaya all r using NGVs ….