Team Lotus unveils first images of its 2011 car, the T128

Team Lotus’ 2011 F1 car, the T128, was launched today exclusively in Team Lotus Notes. The special launch edition of the team’s magazine contains a number of first-see images of the 2011 car.

Also in the magazine are insights from key players within Team Lotus into the design and build process of the new car, including people from the aero, R&D and vehicle dynamics, design as well as from the senior management.

Here’s a sampling of what they had to say about the T128.

“I think that basically this car looks like a front-running car in every area. We said very clearly that we want to start challenging the established teams and I think that’s very achievable. The 2011 challenger is almost a totally new car.” – Mike Gascoyne, chief technical officer.

“We’re definitely going to take a step forward with this car. Quite how much we’ll close the gap to the teams in front of us we’ll see, but my hope is we’ll be competing with the teams that were a second or two ahead of us last season.” – Elliot Dason-Barber, head of R&D and vehicle dynamics.

“You can just see that this car will be faster than last year’s. It’s got the right sweeps and curves on it – it’s the very latest iteration of what an F1 car should be.” – Keith Saunt, chief operating officer.

“The biggest design challenge was trying to package everything a bit smaller. We were trying to get that area around the driver really tight so the aerodynamicists were happy with it.” – Lewis Butler, chief designer.

“I think the front half of the car is quite a big step away from the 2010 car. Last year’s car was a bit blocky in the sidepod area, but this one looks a lot racier – it’s a lot smoother and curvier around the sidepods.” – Marianne Hinson, head of aerodynamics.

“T128 takes Team Lotus in exactly the right direction. We have said since day one of the Team Lotus dream that the plan for our second year was to take the fight to the midfield, and with this car we are all confident that is what we will be able to do.” – Riad Asmat, chief executive officer.

And of course, let’s not forget the man.

“There has been so much focus off-track, it’s a thrill to be able to get back to talking about racing. The launch of the T128 is a big step forward for Team Lotus and I want to thank the whole team for the amount of hard work that has already gone into the car, and I want to thank Renault and Red Bull Technology for their tremendous support in helping us make this step forward and for being such great team partners.” – Tony Fernandes, team principal.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Reinmuster on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:31 pm

T128? not TL11?

• rahimPJ on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:41 pm

All the best lads at Team Lotus !!
    Jarno & co !!
    Time to turn the tables as this is the best opportunity to go all out !!

• fareast on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:43 pm

why do i feel the proton logo is deliberately placed upside down…

• Nazrul on Jan 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm

There is no Proton logo, buddy :-(

• eVilsin on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:01 pm

that is team “fake” lotuslar

• lindan on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:45 pm

u r right bro!

tony team is not the ‘real’ lotus.

the real lotus is a ‘Car manufacturer’ !

but this fake lotus is about low cost flight and 2 star hotel only lorr.

support the real lotus wan!

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:45 pm

nope..thats not fake lotus..

it was actual “team lotus” the very same team compete in f1 many years back…..its just different ppl running the team..thats all….

while lotus renault team was lotus factory…(the diff is…one was pure race team..one was factory of lotus cars)

• frossonice on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:20 pm

I believe that soon you comment will be thumbs down by all the TF hater. They can’t differentiate between those two teams.

• Wisdom on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:08 pm

I believe this post will get more thumbs-down than his…

• SeriuosSAM on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:05 pm

there’s no PROTON logo meh

• udasalleh on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:28 pm

What’s the matter with u..? Where have u been..? No Proton logo in any car in the F1 la..! And don’t have to try looking for it at Lotus-Renault GP car either. Proton is not sponsoring ‘directly’ in any F1 cars… except thru Lotus Group. Wake up dude..!

• racefan on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Eh?? There is no Proton logo on the car!

• gangully on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:44 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHA…. PROTONLOGO!!! hahahaha… funny lah you people…

• ladydriver on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:44 pm

that’s lotus logo darling~

• Tengokje.. on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:38 am

No Proton logo in my view, my friend..may be the curve of the Lotus logo that’s similar like Proton.
      Salam…

• xuwenchao on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:11 pm

it’s not proton’s logo. it’s lotus acbc

• mfahd_88 on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:15 pm

is this team can be considered as lotus team since there’s only single tiny lotus logo on it??

• tokmoh on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:53 pm

heh, that could be the only Lotus logo they can put. Anything else, they’ll have to ask Dany Bahar :P

Fuh fuh, bring it! 2011’s gonna be interesting :)

• trav_da_man on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Bring on Team Lotus (Tony & Mike ego) vs Group Lotus (aka new Lotus or Bahar’s Ponzi scheme!)!! May the best car win!

• khuaguagugini on Jan 31, 2011 at 4:33 pm

dunno…
      since they claimed they have get the rights of the name from the previous owner of lotus f1 team, they declared as it. (although the real lotus does’t involve with them at all at this time).

personally, the lotus-renault should get the rights. not them. but, wait and see…

• frossonice on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Does it matter how big the logo should be on the car? Look back into history, Team Lotus F1 car always feature quite a small logo on the front of the car. Oh well, pointless to explain it to anybody that have full hatred on the current team.

• osh_kosh on Jan 31, 2011 at 8:41 pm

is it just me? or that it look like u r now ‘softly’ attacking anyone who didn’t agree with TF a.k.a Team Lotus… why is that? we can’t have our POV?

• Just drop the logo and replace with Lotus flower, they can still call it Lotus Racing. So its Proton going to sue them again?

• tokmoh on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Oh, btw, didn’t put news about Ferrari’s F150 launch? They’re gonna get in trouble with docs again for that more-obvious-than-barcode Marlboro livery…

When’s Red Bull gonna unveil theirs?

• osh_kosh on Jan 31, 2011 at 8:44 pm

true bro.. this year livery remind me more of Marlboro than the barcode ones.. can’t wait for the docs comment hahaha

• don^don on Jan 31, 2011 at 4:22 pm

sounds familiar…

oh! the lotus T-125 track car!

http://www.lotuscars.com/motorsport/en/lotus-exos-and-125

• Paul Tan on Jan 31, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Looks like the LR8 energy drink has been renamed EQ8.

http://eq8energy.com/

• Annihilated on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Looks like some Tony or the other fella had a problem with trademarks and copyrights..

• if no proton mean it fake! on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:02 pm

the original lotus always have PROTON backup!

here i give u the link of original lotus :P
    http://www.lotusoriginals.com

• frossonice on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Why we are bickering whether TF should use Team Lotus brand name or not, even though he have bought it from the previous owner, the rest of the world are questioning Team Lotus decision on the use of split airbox on top of the car. If you care to remember, it was banned last year when Mercedes used it. Have Team Lotus found a loop hole?

• Nakal on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:51 pm

got the name, but never get the soul

• anonymous on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:12 pm

is split airbox intake allowed this season?

• yamseng on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:29 pm

thats the spirit man!

• Johnny F1 Sr. on Jan 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm

The team has been studying the ’11 rules and regs since it was released. The airbox design is legal due to loopholes. We’ll see how it pans out during the season though.

• They can have the name “TEAM LOTUS” but not the Lotus LOGO since their rights are for the name only…..

• Mike Gascoyne is just lost for ideas in designing F1 racers, since Toyota days his designs look so similar especially the high nose front design. The 2010 car looks like a replica of the 2008 Toyota F1 racer. I guess the only good thing about the 2011 car is the Renault engine and gearbox. The rest of it is questionable and they will struggle with developements.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:45 am

I don’t really think he ran out of idea,but Ferrari and Sauber also have high nose front design.

• lol all f1 team have high nose

this 2011 Ferrari F150 and 2010 Ferrari F10 compared..much2 higher than last year

http://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/ferrari_front_comparison.jpg

this yr im supporting Ferrari, Team Lotus n mercedes petronas…

• oldcar on Feb 02, 2011 at 9:05 am

if the team lotus could race faster than last year..it is because of they changed their engine to renault..