Proton Satria Neo R3 Concept at Tokyo Auto Salon 2011

This red Proton Satria Neo R3 Concept was displayed at the 2011 Tokyo Auto Salon earlier this year alongside the CUSCO Proton Satria Neo rally car. According to R3, it was built to show the Japanese what Proton and its motorsports division R3 are capable of in terms of both styling and performance. This road-going concept was built to complement the launch of the CUSCO Group N rally car.

Under the hood is the same engine and tune found in the Proton Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing, which basically means 145 horsepower and 168Nm of torque, up a substantial 25 horses and 18Nm from the stock Campro CPS tune. The performance equipment is unique to this car as well – Cusco suspension, Endless brakes and etc, while the Lotus Racing edition featured Ohlins and AP Racing.

Look after the jump for more shots of the red Neo R3 Concept.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1919]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• quite nice.. where it’s backside photo..

• aku dah tahu on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:19 am

Wow…… Proud to be Malaysian….

• kelah on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:23 am

good job proton…
    plus the stig drives neo s2000 in the topgear newest episode

• Annihilated on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:01 am

which stig? the old stig or the new stig?
      is the new stig a same person or swappable between several figures? :p

• sorry…not to hijack your thread paul but this is the video stig drive neo s2000.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZ8iYt3Zl_w

• Woody on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:42 am

see it here… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZ8iYt3Zl_w

• That’s not new.

It was last years episode of Top Gear Australia.

• insperut on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:43 pm

bro
        go get Top Gear
        NOT top gear AUSTRALIA la… LOL

• Kicap on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Dude, the race between TG UK and TG AUS ALREADY AIRED in the last season of TG AUS…go watch all show of TG US,UK and AUS…LOL x10

• That challenge was an episode of Top Gear Australia, between the hosts of Top Gear UK and Top Gear Australia… BRO…

• qwerty on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:24 am

man i wish those rims are cheaper

• really nice rims, how much were these likely be…

• fazron80 on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:04 pm

I don’t think it’s that expensive. R3 has a 3K rims package including 4 set of bridgstone tyres. I see the design is similar. But the package is for 16 inch rims and I doubt it’s the same tyres too like the ones shown in these pictures.

• PaperLuxe on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:32 am

Nice…

• sagatron on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:35 am

this is damn cool!!!!!

• poses next to proton while wearing subaru sponsored overall. hmm.. identity crisis much?

• rally_fan on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:06 am

thats tetsuya yamano.. he is a gt300 Subaru driver in the SuperGT series.

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:33 am

cusco is a well known aftermarket parts for subaru.

• S.Neo on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:02 am

hmmm i wonder what the jap comment after driving the car ….

• vk ling on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:30 am

looks like a subaru, sound like a subaru, but not a subaru

• beatnik on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:47 am

I’m sure he said “NOT ENOUGH POWAR!!”

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:24 am

the power is not so bad…plus the handling is good. but still wonder i cant drive the car comfortably since i’m 1.8m tall. the car roof is too low.

• Ash Menon on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:05 am

It’s actually not too bad, I think. I’m 1.85m and I drive a Wira. I’ve never driven a SNeo, but I sat in the passenger side and got comfortable space above me.

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:59 pm

sit in and drive is different. at 1.8m..u cant drive with the sun shade down..plus dont ever think about those 6 Inches dark tint for ur windshield. u have to ‘look down’ a bit to drive. trust me.

• qwerty on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:26 pm

wear sunglasses instead :P

im 1.8m too, and i own a neo. No problem for me. Problems only for rear passengers haha

• Andrew on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:48 am

I went to the last year KLIM and sat on the modified R3 SNeo, its windscreen actually wider and longer, even the sunshade down also wont block your view unlike the original SNeo and I belif S2000 dun have sun shade LOL!! =D

• The Jap driver might say; what the crap, why the power window doesn’t work!

• autojohndoe on Feb 04, 2011 at 8:20 pm

haha…. ha… ha…. ha~~~

no longer funny la… grow up man… no one talking about power window anymore…

• comment on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:10 am

The driver is a regular on Best Motoring

• mystvearn on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:15 am

Seems that Japanese are keen on modifying this car. Satria Neo GTi anytime soon now:P

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2011 at 1:43 am

That shud b d one with Campro turbo! Hehe, so exciting!

Glad to c Satria Neo making waves. DSZ is proving he’s indeed taking Proton to d next lvl: international presence!

Push onwards Proton! Push onwards DSZ! Time to kick this expansion into overdrive!! :D

Oh, and Dany Bahar too! Passed all the adversities in the past for both Proton n Lotus, now’s the time to achieve glory! :D

• Tengokje.. on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:31 am

Nice effort and good job P1. Make us proud as Malaysian.
        Salam…

• dahlan on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Tokmoh,
        You are the No.1 Dany Bahar/DSZ ba** carrier.
        Nothing to shout about as this is just an Auto Show.
        Proton has not achieve anything yet and here you’re
        celebrating like they’ve won the World Cup !!
        Isn’t it way too pre-mature ? – Like you always experience it ?

• Rinnegan on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:49 pm

@Dahlan,

You are right, this is just an Auto Show. However, Tokmoh did have a point. DSZ is indeed taking P1 to another level albeit slowly. All they need to do now is to surpassed the boundaries that certain people never thought P1 can. You don’t have to degrade yourself by utilising this phrase :
          “Isn’t it way too pre-mature ? – Like you always experience it ?”.
          Hope, I believe, is a good thing. Perhaps the best of things. We shouldn’t wallow in negativity.

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:11 pm

So you must be the one who thumbed my comment down eh?

And you reckoned Proton was any better during his predecessor’s days? I have been watching DSZ’s change to Proton since the day he took over, back when I was a friggin Proton basher, and I see no reason to change my faith in DSZ.

All you see is sheez in Proton today, but you never see the bigger sheez Proton was in when DSZ took over, and you definitely never see anything called PROGRESS.

To me, it’s the same as admiring Apple bcuz of Steve Jobs. Apple went crap when they fired him back in mid 80s, then they rehired him, and tell me where is Apple today?

• rally_fan on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:57 pm

this might just be an autoshow, but cusco of japan is the one who decided they can work with proton,and what proton offers has some value. cusco is paying money to buy these proton cars. to me, thats is a very positive step forward. proton selling back to japan. if that isn’t an achievement of sorts, i dont know what is.

• GTi….cannot be used anymore other car brand has patent it

• untitled on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:38 am

Video to the testing of this version of neo at japan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JxV0dten30

• Nazrul on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:21 am

I love it! And want it!

• confused on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:19 am

soon enough we’ll be seeing couple of these hijacking fuel tankers on the street of Japan in The Fast & The Furious Tokyo Drift 2!

• mfahd_88 on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:34 am

‘According to R3, it was built to show the Japanese what Proton and its motorsports division R3 are capable of in terms of both styling and performance.’

if i’m japanese, this is the 1st question that will come right to my mind:

both styling and performance only meh?how about the quality?

ps: i’m not proton basher. for me, satria neo is a good car, but its quality is its major let down

• lelouch on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:48 pm

unfortunately u r not a Japanese..the way we thinking r very different compared to them. they r 1st class nation while we r 3rd class nation with 3rd class thinking. go read some japanese blog or news opinion (if u can read them)

• dondon on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:33 am

now our brand in international stages…i like!! (eventhough im using japanese’s)

• Sorry i don’t see any cool stuff on that car but his helmet is cooler than the car.

• amarz on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:44 am

with price range lower than Aspira 1.8, more HP and tourqe … this cool baby should be bargain hunting

• gaman on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:45 am

R3 rules!..those bodykits and rims look great :D..

• akuGunaRon95 on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:52 am

rims itu sungguh lazat..

• Do they really need all these high-performance equipment on a 145 horsepower and 168Nm of torque car? Where is the 200 hp and 250 Nm engine?

• lol..that s2000 neo

• gaman on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:55 pm

there is a turbocharged NEO r3 engine concepts during KLIMS producing 200hp 250Nm.

• S.Roma on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Lolx…

That is not neo S2000 la…

neo s2000 uses 2.0 NA engine, from renault, rebuild from Waja 1.8 engine… equipped with power band to make it 285 HP…

• Ash Menon on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:05 am

Proud moment, Malaysia! I wonder what they thought of it…

• Prismo on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:19 am

That Japanese guy look like ultraman… ahakz… :D

• ezracopters on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:39 am

wow.. can’t wait to see the Jap Satria Neo CUSCO N group rally car on their rally course. Not power enuff??? haha dude even S.Neo without cps can be tune up to 170hp.. go google any satria neo club website.. u’ll see it.. 145, it’s just a matter of insurance and guts.. nie yang orang cakap “those who can, do..those who can’t, teach!!”

This is a rally spec car, what do u expect.. GPS, leather seat, dvd screen?? haha.. although i believe a lot of sponsor stickers would make it better!!.. i drove one of it, and also drove other cars, quality.. tell you what, it’s been 3 years still i have no complain bout it in term of parts and durability, pick up a lil slow but again “those who can, do” applied here hehehe.. placticy, campro Neo, maybe.. CPS Neo, i dont think so!! i believe people who blindly critique S.Neo definitely never drove it..

p/s : which rim do u mean?? 004 pic is 16 inch 38 offset Advanti?? R3 edition.. u can buy it @ RM1900 – RM2300 at any R3 authorized dealer. 006 pic yang tu kat kelang banyak hahaha

• kenji on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:36 pm

what’s the name of the rims in pic 004? Avanti what model? :)

• lchan on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:09 pm

its a handsome looking car, just ruined with poor plastic material in the interior.

• lelouch on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:53 pm

this is a rally car lah..tell me which rally car hv leather interior? -.-”

• lanku on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:10 pm

R3 power…!!

• i showed this to my american friend, and he goes like..

“HOLY FACK! THAT SH*T IS EPIC, I’LL TAKE THIS OVER TYPE-R ANYDAY!”

Proton, pls make this with tuned Campro CFE Turbo (180-200hp at least hehe), and sell it as Satria Neo GTi (second generation). it’s pretty sad that the original GTi has no successor.

• kenji on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:08 pm

i read that “GTI” is trademarked/registered by VW… proton or any other car maker cannot use it anymore

• rally_fan on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:01 pm

you[‘re right kenji.. apparently, it has been trademarked. just read some court ruling on it. interesting stuff.

• Tan Tee Lim on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Though I am not a Proton supporter, if they sell this over here for <RM90k, I will definitely queue up for one.

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:23 pm

I walked in to the Edar Branch @ Gleanmarie and understand from the SA that R3 is introducing a new R3 Satria Neo, CPS MT variant. It has a slight different specs from the above concept car picture and its sold < RM80k. Bookings are openned at Peninsular Malaysia Edar Branches only :-)

• ezracopters on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:06 pm

004 pic what model of Advanti?? i’m not sure..since previous R3 Rims mostly built by Advanti so i assume this one still advanti hahaha.. and it kinda look like GTR rim right?

if im not mistaken they call it R3 16” Wheel Assy.. i’m not sure. original R3 16” Wheel Assy should bear only 38 offset and come in black & silver colour.. max price, tak tau tapi kalau RM3,000 mahal kot.. lowest RM1,700 but rarely ada and not sure imitate or not.. pandai2 la carik.. 004 pic yg silver rasanya..

• rally_fan on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:03 pm

these R3 rims are available at some bridgestone tyre shops la.

• kickingdust on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:16 pm

:-) Yes those 16″ rims are sold at RM1900. Comes in 2 colours Gun Metal & Silver finishing. Call in R3 directly.

• wuzere on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:12 pm

this guy knows much about neo n r3,
      at least can see ‘people who do and people who just talk’
      thanks for your info

• aki_zz on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:06 pm

what a sexy looking car…beautiful bodykit…

• bohpee on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:15 pm

how’s this car compare to my s2000? like a joke or something? show the jap we can joke?

• your s2000? do you mean honda s2000?

i think you can see clearly that it is in different category. the s2000 is roadster with 2.0l engine. how about you compare with satria neo s2000. both of the cars is 2.0l and hp figure is above 200, well the neo s2000 is above 300.

• shiranoutik on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:43 pm

nice!!! I love the rims, but NOT the car……

• Easy E on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Congratulations Proton and R3. Whilst it is commendable that Proton and R3 have managed to get a foothold in Japan through Cusco, I can’t help but feel underwhelmed. 20 years ago, Honda produced a variable valve engine (and no turbo!) producing 160bhp from 1.6 litres for their Civic SiR / VTi. This engine, the B16A, is till this day a classic and highly sought after. Today, R3 tunes the Neo and produces 145 bhp from the same capacity and using variable valve tech. In stock form its only capable of 120 bhp. Exactly where’s the progress?

• nazir on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:54 pm

160hp??? n u just believe it?? pity u…
      plenty of people dyno run b16 n never get that amount..
      i believe paul also run some dyno on campro n
      get almost d same power as proton claim..
      PLEASE do some research b4 comment..

• for your information, nowadays there is regulation for emission control. i know that cps emission control is below 4 but i think it is better than that 20 years ago tech of emission control. how about you compare today ivtec engine technology with cps. the figure is roughly the same.

heck. if you talking about hp alone 1.5 ivtec have the same hp figure with 1.3 campro.

• untitled on Feb 03, 2011 at 1:34 pm

The progress? Simple, to produce as much hp with controlled emission in mind, you think its so easy to bbq a chicken with butter/honey on compares to without?

• From MUdah.com :
    RM 79 797
    Now open for booking: R3 Satria NEO!
    Proton Motorsport proudly presents, new for 2011, Proton R3 Satria NEO.
    The legendary R3 Satria NEO returns for 2011 with new advanced features.
    – New design CPS body kit
    – Front splitter
    – Rear spoiler
    – CPS Performance Camshaft
    – Adjustable Camshaft Pulley
    – SRM24 ECU
    – SRM24 Exhaust system
    – Close ratio manual transmission with large final drive
    – Lowering spring set
    – Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE001 Tires
    – Customized bucket seat
    – 2 DIN multimedia audio with voice navigations
    R3 Satria Neo is available in Fire Red with black roof.
    Only limited number of units will be made available.
    actual car will be made available only on the car’s launching in February 2011

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 03, 2011 at 10:22 pm

CUSCO Announce Expended Line-up

please check this tread :-)

http://aprc.tv/newsPage.php?Cusco-Announce-Expanded-Line-up-412

Must watch APRC first round in Johor !!

• kendrick on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:26 am

This “poser” standing beside the car wears a “SUBARU” racing suit…..Rolf