Mercedes GP Petronas debuts the new look MGP W02

Mercedes GP Petronas has joined its rivals by launching their 2011 challenger at Valencia, where the Silver Arrows hit the track for the first time this year. The MGP W02, as previewed by a digital rendering we posted up recently, comes with new updated livery with a lot more green in it, a nod to title sponsors Petronas. Merc calls the look “striking high-gloss airbrush effect”.

The Petronas logotype on the rear wing, sidepods and front wing are now in white with a green backing, as opposed to the previous black on silver. The new look looks really good to these eyes, do you prefer this over the old look?

Technical wise, the MGP W02 now includes the KERS (Kinetic Energy Recovery) system, which returns to the sport after a year’s absence. Also new on the W02 is the adjustable rear wing, operated by the driver to boost top speed and facilitate overtaking, and of course, Pirelli tyres. The car is a result of twelve months of design and development work.

“After our first year as the Mercedes-Benz works team, we are now seeing the benefits of our chassis group and our engine group working well together. With a good technical structure and a strengthened race engineering organisation, both at the factory and the race track, I am confident that we have done and will continue to do a better job this year in all key areas,” said team boss Ross Brawn.

“The concept development for the MGP W02 started early and we have set challenging targets for the design, combined with a robust plan to ensure that the pace of development can continue throughout the long 2011 season,” the former Ferrari man said.

The car was fired up and Nico Rosberg completed nine laps before coming to a stop on track with a hydraulics problem. The car was fixed for Michael Schumacher to end the day with his first exploratory laps with the car. Today is Nico’s day to drive with Michael completing the programme on Thursday. The fastest man on track yesterday was World Champion Seb Vettel in his RB7, although that may not mean much at this stage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• albag on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:59 am

no doubt this one looks great! the green and silver blends well together…!

• Drust on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:05 am

Nice color! I like it.

Out of topic. why cant this 3 Malaysian companies that sponsoring 3 different teams in F1 come together under one umbrella? Imagine that sort of money putting together under one single team, maybe a better result and stronger challenge to the bigger teams.

• in-line 6 on Feb 03, 2011 at 2:53 am

it might be surprise for some to know that there are 3 of the F1 teams that actually related to Malaysia…

i wonder with all the money pump into it… has it or will it compensate back to our country? yet? those moneys can be very good use to build our infrastructure in homeland… roads…city planning…kampung planning….and avoiding flood !! pls note that… some people are celebrating their chinese new year with their home being flooded now !

• Mata2 on Feb 03, 2011 at 11:05 am

How can they be in one team? They are in different business platform.

• seriusSAM on Feb 04, 2011 at 4:29 pm

is santander & vodafone in same business platform with their sponsor on McLaren?

• oldcar on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:09 am

this is what marketing mean….petronas can be seen in five areas…2 in front, 2 at side and 1 at back.

• HirumaKecil on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:23 am

Yes.. and the green color is Petronas color… But still not as beautiful as Sauber Petronas.. Hurm.. I like this new car.. looking much more beautiful but just one thing that didn’t match with this car.. SCHUMACHER HELMET… RED??? Hahaha..

• Tengku Rex on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:44 am

Now the livery is brilliant with Petronas turquoise and the silver arrow colour scheme . The nose a bit razor like. They using v-shaped nose and more higher than last year. Another very tight tapered rear cars but not as clean as RB7 (Red bull). I think Mercedes using pull rod suspension.

• raybrig on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:56 am

hope they can challenge for the championship this year…

• osh_kosh on Feb 02, 2011 at 8:29 pm

me too.. can’t wait to see Schuey back fighthing for wins.. 5 world champions this season fighthing for another title for their own collection, hope for the best.. :)

• jengtan on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:25 pm

so we’ve got 3 F1 teams sponsored by malaysianese kompanies

• cordy on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:42 pm

wooww…redbull nose..cant wait to see what Adrian Newey got to say about this nose job..

• 2fast on Feb 02, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Previous year Merc Petronas design was one of the best in the F1 line up and I think the new one looks good too. More visibility for Petronas now

• striking Petronas logo ,can be seen like what..from few km away
    this is what lotus should have on their lotus renault machines

absolute brilliant livery,certainly looks good imho

• Mata2 on Feb 03, 2011 at 11:18 am

I doubt michael is competative nowdays. He commented did not get a fast car last season but always lost to nico by a great margin in qualifying though both having same car. Clear that his respond time deteriorates due to aging. Wish him good luck with this new car.

• Terry on Feb 05, 2011 at 1:11 am

i love the new design.. cool

• Hanifah Mdnor on Feb 05, 2011 at 2:18 am

Proud to be Malaysian, better than nothing, saying is easier than doing, don’t bother what others saying, just do what u think its good