Proton’s KLIMS Pahlawan concepts: more details revealed!

There’s a new Concept Cars section up on Proton’s website and there are a few more additional details as well as photos regarding the set of concept cars they unveiled at KLIMS other than what we were given in the KLIMS press kit.

If you look at one of the images in the photo gallery below, you can see that the Tuah has the word Espire written on the rear numberplate – it looks like this was the original name for the next generation Persona sized concept car before they were all renamed to the Pahlawan theme for KLIMS.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1961]

Dimensions of the Tuah/Espire was also given as 4,540mm long, 1,775mm wide and 1,505mm tall. It has a 2,650mm wheelbase, about the same as the new 2011 Jetta. This puts its right in the middle of the C-segment range. To compare, the Waja measures 4,470mm by 1,740mm wide by 1,420mm tall with a 2,600mm wheelbase and the Persona measures 4,477mm long, 1,725mm wide and 1,438mm tall. The Espire is taller, wider, longer, and has a longer wheelbase.

Also found in the gallery (look for the blue and red cars) are some new renderings by Theophilus Chin, attempting to ‘productionize’ the Tuah/Espire, which gives us a preview of what the next generation Persona might look like in production form.

But in any case, from what we hear the next generation Persona has already gone through many stages of design refinement, and what we see as the Tuah/Espire concept represents an older version of the design.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1962]

The Lekir page actually states that the Europa-based sports car will be powered by a “1.6CFE” engine, which is probably Proton’s new turbocharged engine. Interestingly power is rated at 164kW at 5,700rpm, which sounds nice, but kinda improbable – 164 horsepower sounds about right.

The 164kW could be a relic from the original Europa’s spec sheet – it made around that power in the Europa SE trim. A pointer to the eventual power output of the 1.6CFE engine could be what was displayed at KLIMS – a Proton 1.6 turbo engine making 103kW (140 PS) and 205Nm of torque from 2,000rpm with a 9.5:1 compression ratio.

The URLs of the different concept cars pages also reveal the ‘alternate’ names of the concept cars – the Evo-like Jebat is the Proton Fury, the Exora-derived SUV Lekiu concept is referred to as the Proton XActive, the Europa-derived Lekir Concept is called the Proton Exivo, and the Kasturi which has now become the Proton Saga FL was called the Proton Pure, probably in reference to its white exterior and interior theme.

Look after the jump for full photo galleries of all the Pahlawan concepts.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1761]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1765]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1756]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1758]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1754]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1755]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1759]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1760]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1766]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1762]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cynical on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Looks like forte

• Forte or not this is the right time for Proton to go all out to prove itself. Within the segment, give us the best features, give us the best quality material and give us the best in ride and handling (noting to worry since Proton already known to be among the best in that area).

As not to incur loss, price it competitively with like the other brand and see whether you’re already there or not.

Make it sooner or you’ll continue to be rated second to others.

• sagatron on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:05 pm

cool..superb…love it..

• quattro on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:11 pm

bila nak lancar persona baru ni

• Reminds me Focus at the first sight.

• taboogen on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:15 pm

what I can say the turbo engine is at 150bhp and at 205Nm
    the bodyline will be the same as tuah….

• design like hyundai sonata/kia optima, but i love it

and the spec is mindf**king for a proton car

• To Proton:

You gotta be fast! There are millions of your fans are waiting for this Espire @ Persona replacement!

Regards,
    FF

• aduss on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:33 pm

soalan saya: betul ker ni next generation Persona.. measures body dia mcm penganti perdana jer.. gaya mcm kereta mewah jer.. tak mgkin la penganti persona ni.. so?? ada sesiapa tahu?

• Paul Tan on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Too small to be Perdana replacement. D-segment cars these days are bigger with wheelbase from 2,700mm to over 2,800mm.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:37 pm

yeah, ciplak the Forte, through and through. I rather buy a forte instead. Haha

• so, go buy Forte la.
      menyibuk je kat sini

• Jonjo on Feb 13, 2011 at 1:33 am

Forte ciplak Civic…so go and buy Civic then….

• Auto_crat on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:29 am

Well these days who’s not copying who.

• freeze on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Who’s not copying who?

Rolls Royce is not copying Perodua.
            BMW is not copying Proton.
            Mercedes is not copying Mini.
            Proton is not copying Tata.

to name a few…

• Muserella on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:58 am

really?

BMW X6 bukan nampak mcm Gen2 ke?

• cynical on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:59 am

Which part did forte copy civic, mind you tell me? The 4 wheels? the 4 doors?

• Amin GmbH on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:25 pm

ever since Evo X made its appearance somewhere in 2008, I have never seen so many cars are getting less in design varieties. The main culprit is of course constraint in mounting aerodynamics line versus styling. stop blaming any carmakers, if you find your own taste appealing than thinking what specifications stand out among models then you are the one promoting compromise of machine’s integrity.

I still want to know any technology that could put academic values as centerpiece in prototyping a car than just sketch & styling. just take a look at BMW, the same styling applies yet the carmarker still rules its segment because the customers are more interested to know the qualities of each model. nowadays, it’s very common to find anything like Mercedes, Toyota and other high-end price cars, which are positive outlook.

sometimes knowledge belongs to mankind more than the gravity of the word “ciplak” really makes sense. just so what about “patent”, will that barrier be broken soon?

• All i see is a jetta, a forte, a lotus and a lancer..

• u still don’t know lotus is under proton? they got evry rights to rebadge it or do wtv crap they like

• syahid on Feb 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

if proton copy the lotus design..well it worth it coz proton owns lotus 100%.if proton does not buy lotus, well it seems that lotus will go bankrupt..

thumbs up for proton..when will the Lekir model come to production..seems like it rwd..huhu..

• Proton, whatever you do.. DO CONSIDER SIDE AIRBAGS.. else difficult to beat the Korean cars. Traction control would be nice.

And pls don’t take too long to produce the concept cars.. by the time it is in the market for export, the competitors have already better cars.

• RideHandling on Feb 13, 2011 at 2:56 am

tcs and esc is already in the pipeline..wait for next quarter..

i agree we need to portray all concepts asap. use KLIMS every year to show new concept.

• ong chin aun on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:49 am

Strongly agreed proton must be fast produced new-model cars. As for the side air-bags should be optional, cost of them will be increased. Not so compulary for normal driving esp. city/town . Two- air-bags in front already made compulsary this year 2011.

• ladydriver on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:42 am

but if they have high spec with curtain airbag, i would go for it. safety is important.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Forte look alike and wannabe. Still it look great, hope it pair with a better engine with power matches it look.

Proton well known for underpowered engine.

Last! Reliable and quality must improve. We always love to buy Proton.

• cynical on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:01 am

We always love to buy Proton, because it’s cheap

• xuwenchao on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:37 pm

i wouln’t say that campro engine underpowered. max power and torque are well over or same with others just the powerband is wrong. it’s good for racing but not for daily commute. to have max torque at above 5k rpm better use for racing.

• pleaseenteryourname on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Normal malaysians like to rev up to 5k rpm man…

• jerrmouse on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:51 pm

I have source from insider saying that persona replacement will be launch around Nov this year.

• taboogen on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:29 am

no lah … assembly only end of this year.. only next year lah

• jerrymouse on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

maybe it will be announced this year and OTR next year I think..kind of excited with this persona replacement though ><

• tuah rear reminds me an old renault safrane rear

• Gajen on Feb 13, 2011 at 1:53 am

safrane?rear looks more like the old megane..cant wait for the tuah to be in production

• lancelot on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:33 am

before all of your bash that this design is like that or like this, check the model when it was created. as you can see, this sketch was finished on april 2009. this also means that giugiaro had nothing to do with this design. this is purely malaysian design (btw, looks like the new civic copy this tuah design. xP)

• same what i heard. designer from proton and giugiaro both submit their own sketch to top management and proton top management choose giugiaro design instead of proton own design. it believe to be better than proton own design.

well, it’s just rumor i heard but if this really is persona r than it is good enough for me. just make sure the interior is good too. current line up interior a bit let down for me.

• prestigious25 on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:39 am

To be honest, this time the design is very nice and believe superb when on the road especially white colour but not sure when will be next launching and importantly price tag?

• tetek on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:42 am

niceee!!!!

• Ash Menon on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:56 am

I think we can expect some big moves from Proton in the future. New management really looks like they’re serious about Proton’s success.

• Lekir for me in 2 years time.. :)

• love the first drawing,look stunning,new persona should look stunning

• nebula87 on Feb 13, 2011 at 1:35 am

This model sure is proton waja replacement…i like it!!

• Undergh on Feb 13, 2011 at 1:40 am

Could dis be the Inspira II? Given the dimensions, I don’t think the Persons would breach Inspira territory. Also, Proton has to hv more differentiation from the donor car as agreed with Mitsu. Is the wheelbase same as Inspira?

• septzz on Feb 13, 2011 at 1:44 am

i must admit, that the specifications for Tuah is kinda too good to be true! Almost the same like other european cars are offering. Adaptive headlamps, spoiler, HUD, keyless entry, light and rain sensor…etc. Nice design too! But missing ABS and ESP. That feature is standard on european car and shouldn’t be neglected. Proton, please take note on these.

• Initially was 2011 end year launch and available for booking, but looking at status might be some delay due to problems in development progress. Just hope they do not sacrifice vehicle built quality and system robustness, or it’ll be same quality issue again. I rather prefer they do it correctly and well instead of rushing it to meet deadline and in turn affect/ sacrifice overall quality. It’s more damaging to brand image. Do ensure systems are robust, modules well tested, production parts meet QC standard and operators well trained on vehicle assembly. Hopefully, Persona replacement will be a pleasant suprise to rakyat. I hope the management understands this when pushing their executives/ engineers to meet deadlines. Malaysia boleh!
    On another note, do expects some new interesting gadgets from Persona replacement model, such as push start engine buttons, active & passive safety systems like TC, ABS, side airbags, curtain airbags, new transmissions, new power window system, intelligent keys, sensors and etc.
    The final pricing of this vehicle will be interesting to me.

• wow 164kw = 220hp=supa powah!!!!

• BN=barang naik on Feb 13, 2011 at 2:35 am

Front = forte…Rear = impreza…wakakakaka..good job proton!

• I did a rendition of the sketch, have a look! if it was to look like that it would be so awesome, very hyundai i45
    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4149/5439470200_2f0d7f9030_b_d.jpg

• I very like your sketch. It like real car!!!

• very nice work bro..

• kobealex on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

wow… awesome stuff man… if it DOES look like this its gonna b hot cakes… soooo much better then the one previewed on KLIMS :)

• nolan on Feb 13, 2011 at 3:11 am

i like Tuah design so much…..really hope that the interior design matching the exterior good looks….

• Tuah resembles forte in my eyes

• Aaron on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:25 am

Impreza kawin Forte = Tuah

• 4G63TDSM on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:42 am

It actually looks pretty good.

Now, Proton, work on some of your safety side. Its time to consider offering at least a higher rater eNCAP , 6 airbags and proper child seat tethers. Malaysian lives are important too. Last car to have been tested was the Waja, and that only got a 3 start despite better safety gear installed.

I do tip my hat to Naza for bringing safer cars to more affordable levels like the 308 and Forte 2.0. Before that, if you need 6 airbags, you need to pay 200+k,

• Joshua on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:04 am

If anyone from Proton looking at this please tell the A-Hole Director that if this design was showcase 10 years ago for last year OTR then it would look OK but if its for the future… Its FUGLY. Think of DESIGN 3 to 5 years ahead! Honda sell cars 1 year ahead so does other manufacturers. Instead of selling 2011 model they are already selling 2012 models. If this is the work of the Italian Design then I beg you to think twice! Look like some cheap work come out from …. i leave that to your imagination.

• kobealex on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:10 am

gotta agree wit u even thou gonna get a few “thumbs down”. but seriously the sketch is nice but the actual one at KLIMS was uninspiring. The car design looks like its from a generation back. Wud like to see something better looking on the roads other than this…

• proton not allowed to produce awesome car…

if all model frm proton are better than those conti/T&H cars, then everybody will buy proton,..no more demand for imported car in malaysia..later on government will loose billion of imported tax…

• Tengokaje.. on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:02 am

Nice design for Tuah concept. Please P1, improve the quality of your existing line up and also future line up to gain back the trust.
    Salam…

• slekuzen on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:40 am

Fantastic news!
    However, isn’t 205Nm of torque quite small for a turbo engine (1.6FFE)? While 140-150hp sounds about right, the torque figure are slightly low at too high RPM.

Any thoughts?

• “a Proton 1.6 turbo engine making 103kW (140 PS) and 205Nm of torque from 2,000rpm with a 9.5:1 compression ratio.”

205Nm from 2k rpm is quite low. fyi current campro engine idling rpm is around 1k and given this engine is still campro, the idling rpm might not change much. any lower that this beginner might have some problem controlling the car launching from still state.

• Paul Tan on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:14 pm

peak ratings always assume wide open throttle, don’t think we’ll be getting 205Nm with a soft throttle. but i really hope the next generation of Proton cars that come with this turbo engine gets at least traction control, if not full blown electronic stability control.

• farghmee on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:18 am

a medium boost, vvt at intake

• Observer on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:06 am

Any interior photo of Tuah and Lekiu?

• udasalleh on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:18 am

im more into the SUV/Crossover type… the Lekiu (hope they stick with the name X-Active) looks promising enuf… hope it comes with an EV + Range Extender… then u can sign me up!

• bobdbilder on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:30 am

Lekir; Double wishbones within grasps and Aluminium chasis being retained? But since its gonna take ages after the Persona Replacement and the Exora Turbo; I’d go for a Neo while waiting.

• makeitmine on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:43 am

We do not want PAPER-CONCEPT cars.

Proton, get people to drive the concept cars on a daily basis for a few months to fine tune the car. The Malaysian road conditions may defeat all mother of concept cars.

It would be nice if Proton can work on the shifter so that the changing of gears can be reduced while accelerating or decelerating (0-60km/h) , thus improving the car performance.

Also, Electronic Throttle Controller for Sports, Economical, and Normal drive to save fuel.

And make the interior look expensive… be creative in this department.

If Malaysian car scores high on safety, I believe the car will score well in the export market.

• VIGOSS on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:06 am

jangan la letak nama pelik konon2 nak naikkan semangat . letak la nama yg berdaya saing. yang leh guna untuk generasi seterusnya. macam model civic honda atau altis ley guna sepanjang masa ni. ni tuah la apa lah. macam2 la.

• rookie on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:29 pm

tu utk tema pahlawan masa klims 2010 je la..
      nama concept sebna kan ke espire, exivo, x-active, pure tu..

x baca ke?

• cloudz on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm

you sure dont have foggiest idea what it means by ‘concept’ car…

• Nizam80 on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:36 am

If those max. torque figures are true, then I must say that I’m quite impressed. But only 138hp from a turbocharged 1.6?? Can any Proton personnel confirm this?

• slekuzen on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm

I think that we are all speculating at this point. But I totally agree with you that 130hp and 200Nm of torque seems little for a 1.6CFE. This actually adds very little power compared to the CPS which stands at 125hp and 150Nm.

My personal hope is that power will stand at 140hp and 230-250Nm at 1700RPM. These would be very commendable and respectable numbers. Enough to give the Persona and Exora lots of power, pull and safe overtaking. And Such numbers for the Satria Neo are excellent.

InshaAllah!! :-)

• Paul Tan on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm

The jump from 150Nm to 205Nm is really a big difference – don’t look at it at just 45Nm. 45Nm is a big number for cars below 1,500kg in weight. Even in D-segment cars, the jump between the 190+Nm of a 2.0 and the 230+Nm of a 2.4 liter is noticable. Plus, rather than 150Nm peaking at over 4,000rpm, the turbo engine will have 205Nm at just 2,000rpm.

• wuzere on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:26 am

thank for the explanation

sesetengah orang kalau up 40 Nm torque pon masih tak paham2,
          ingat ni tech f1 ke nak naik sampai 2.0litre punya torque figure,

haish…

• taboogen on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:33 am

hahah.. dunt worry the figure is still at 150bhp and 205Nm torque.. and as Tengku Djan said why the R3 lotus Neo is not equip with turbo engine is because the warranty issue. I think Proton will go with fully electronic control.
          (i’ve seen the car already, and I might say it is quiet interesting). There are so many changes need to be done on the car.. just wait for the road test

• gen-x on Feb 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm

so, is Proton’s 1.6CFE engine (150bhp/205Nm) better than the red r3 satria neo’s campro stage 2 (145bhp/168Nm)?

• Nizam80 on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:37 am

If those max. torque figures are true, then I must say that I’m quite impressed. But only 138hp from a turbocharged 1.6? Can any Proton personnel confirm this?

• watever on Feb 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

140bhp last i checked. But the torque is about 200Nm. Honestly, the torque is more important coz you wont be driving 150kmh all the time

• taboogen on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:34 am

the target is at 150bhp at 205Nm.

• ore wa baka on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

hope when the car comes in to production it will not change anything

• something need to be change when the car comes in to production..basher mind set!! :D

• Woah!!
    i’m 21, dreaming to buy my own car next year… hopefully..
    made my decision!
    tuah should be my first car then!!

• nabill on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm

i just want quality and durability….two things seriously lacking in proton cars nowadays….if thy do it smartly it wont cost much…bt as long as thy are stuck to those lame suppliers…thn no hope….

please proton , cheer me up this time !

• acerman on Feb 13, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Quite agree. The main issue with proton is their Quality. They made good looking autos, just look at Proton Persona, it attracts my eyes for so many times for its design.
      They’d be better if they can improve more on quality because its the biggest selling point of any car manufacturer on this 3rd rock from the Sun.

• Proton, supporting home-grown OEM policy is useless. If their products lack quality and not rigourously tested, Proton will be first casualty. How much is your brand worth? It is not worth-while to use unproven products.

• justice on Feb 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm

hm..good job for proton.

but i really hope..the spec n performance could compete head-to-head with cars in C segment car..

• watever on Feb 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm

dont bother with the TUAH/ESPIRE. IT IS NOT THE PERSONA R.

The real persona r is different. Uglier IMHO. Its up to you to believe me or not

• farghmee on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:59 am

watever, do you care to describe it here?
      i wanna know how tuah looks like :)

• Carl Wong on Feb 13, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Hopefully it does not have only the looks but quality and efficiency too. Then we could be proud of it.

• Mpower on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm

great, fantastic, excellent, and this is what we called a competitive R&D, good job proton!

• ezracopters on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:12 pm

if it do make it to production line.. kindly consider to separate those rear lamp.. really 80s when LED off..

and some said look like forte la, impreza etc.. 1st time i saw it, i can clearly see Proton Savvy influence on it.. just look at the head lamp bro..and the whole front view..hopeless case of a kid in denial i say. Some people just can’t believe that they (Malaysian) can do excellent @ be an expert in certain area. Pull away ur mental block guys, hopefully these type of mentality would radically change these day, when we the whole citizen of Malaysian change our way of thinking, then those greedy politician, capitalis, bosses, power that be etc will change coz like it or not they r part of us, Malaysia (and do not spell Malaysia as Bolehland.. should be ashamed on u who disgraced yourself with that word)

I hope this is not Persona R, and i believe it so coz i see in Proton tour recently they said Proton Tuah concept was designed 100% by Proton, not Giugiaro like EMAS.. hmm i wonder ; they got 1.3 and below Savvy, 1.3 – 1.6 Saga, 1.6 – 1.8 Persona, 1.8 – 2.0 Inspira & 2.0 n above Perdana. this could be new product in line to cater 1.8-2.0 category, kind of Inspira replacement. doesn’t matter anyway, 1st job to attract potential buyer was done.. just built it already!!

I remember read somewhere few years ago Europa (lekir) design was actually supposed to be Proton’s 1st sport car?? was it true?? up date it a bit, pt the campro turbo @ cfe @ whatever the heck they wanna call it and call it satria neo sport edition hehehe..

• kagesenshi on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:12 pm

proton 1st sports car was satria lor .. >.<

next generation sports car, probably :)

• Cowabunga! on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

start vesting on hybrids Proton….

• road_chaser on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:26 am

I heard that Proton will produce this car into two different model…
    1 will use turbo engine same like what will be install in Exora turbo and another 1 will be premium model using IAFM engine…the keyless starter will only be available in Turbo Model…the actual model will be exactly same with the concept car but they will change a bit at rear lamp and it’sdesign…the actual car is actually around the corner..if u ask Proton salesperson, most of them aready saw this car at PROTON factory..

• Jimmy on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Look at prev generation 7-series’s rear design with its seducing lights.

• Jimmy on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

The top specs one should not step into Vios price range.
    Is there a safety cage/zone, or NCAP 4 stars at least?
    4-speed automatic I guess, why not just purchase the CVT from Mitsu?
    Don’t get lousy parts from KAWAN-KAWAN ya.

• Joker The Great on Feb 15, 2011 at 9:40 pm

“””Also found in the gallery (look for the blue and red cars) are some new renderings by Theophilus Chin, attempting to ‘productionize’ the Tuah/Espire, which gives us a preview of what the next generation Persona might look like in production form.””

Paul….. Just wanna let you know that this model TUAH confirmed will be in production around 4th quater 2011 or 1st quater 2012…
    hahahahaha…..

Still another unit of SUV will launch too, should around 3rd to 4th quater 2011.. cheers….

• u guys know why the rims design of the P1 cars looked not up to expectation? because the rim design team at proton r&d consist of only 2 female (well my friend work at proton r&d and he sure tells me a lot of proton new project) haha. not to be sexist here but…… and proton sure got so much up their sleeve ready to be unveil.

• Eric Tan on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:14 am

Proton Tuah – Concept version of Proton Preve
    Proton Jebat – Rebadge of Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X / Rename of Proton Inspira
    Proton Kasturi – Rename of Proton Saga FL
    Proton Lekiu – SUV version of Proton Exora
    Proton Lekir – Rebadge of Lotus Europa