Tony Fernandes rejects Lotus’ out of court settlement offer

As you know, the Lotus vs Lotus naming dispute is going straight to the British court and a hearing has been scheduled for 21 March. According to Team Lotus boss Tony Fernandes, Proton owned Group Lotus has made an offer for an out of court settlement, and he has rejected it as the sum was deemed too small. The declined offer was worth £6 million.

“It was six million pounds for an out-of-court settlement. Of course I would like to end it but the proposal by Proton would have bankrupted the company. We could not accept it,” the AirAsia chief told AFP, adding that 250 jobs and huge investments by shareholders are at stake.

“We never created the situation. We had a five-year agreement. Proton thought they can bully us out. We honestly worked hard to revive the Lotus name in F1. I hope it will end soon. The legal row does not help. That is for sure.”

As a recap, the current stalemate started when Group Lotus terminated its licence agreement with the Lotus Racing before throwing its support behind Renault to form Lotus Renault GP. Meanwhile, Fernandes entered his team as Team Lotus after purchasing the rights to the old name from David Hunt. Group Lotus is arguing that they have no rights to the Lotus name.

To the court it is!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• there is only one loser in this case!
    MALAYSIAN!
    everything spend in the count hearing is ours money!

• Citroen on Feb 15, 2011 at 11:39 am

Who say it is your money? Once you paid the tax, it is no longer your money idoit… You are no longer in control of the spending, because the owner is now transferred to the government and you have no right to decide its spending…

• haidir on Feb 16, 2011 at 10:29 am

u have 2 option to stop the mis “splendid” gover-money;

1) dont pay tax animore
        2) pay to other governer (of change it la)

• williams on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

go to hell tony! shame on you. why don’t you use your own team name instead of Lotus? Lotus is nothing to do with you and your team. you just a prick!

• Nik Amirul on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:04 am

hi dude, please study before giving comments! group lotus is nothing to do with ‘Team Lotus’ too!

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:51 am

Dude! coz its their brand. Tony bought just the name (while still in dispute) for £2mil… they’re willing to give TF £6mil just not to use their brand. They’re not asking him NOT to race. Just take the money and race as something else. TF shouldn’t let pride and greed blind him.

• Yeah..get the 6 million..then lose the prize money of 10 million plus need to spend more to rebranding things..

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:36 pm

But dude..! he already has a brand to promote! Two even..! Tunes & AirAsia… can use either one rite? Using either brand also means u’re killing two birds with one stone. Tune Racing or AirAsia Racing. Don’t say it can’t be done. That’s what Branson is doing with Virgin.

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:11 am

Branson doesn’t run the team though, Manor Motorsport do

• Razor on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:32 pm

dude wake up.. its NOT their brand. Lotus racing is never part of Lotus Cars/Group. Go study your history

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:09 am

Team Lotus is not and has never been a Group Lotus brand, they have always been seperate. They were just two companies owned by the same man who decided to have a common name on them.

• clive chapman on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm

dude you also need to be educate…air asia got nothing to do with lotus….

there’s only one lotus which is group lotus a car company…period!!

i can buy lotus name tomorrow and claim my restaurant lotus curry house..but will it make me the real lotus curry house??…tony dont fool people by claim to d world like you the lotus because you are clearly not…

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:20 am

The is not just one Lotus! There is Group Lotus, which makes Lotus Cars, and then there is Team Lotus.
          When the original Team Lotus went bust, David Hunt, bought the remaining assets, and created Team Lotus Ventures Ltd (as the original company that owned the Team Lotus rights went bust), Team Lotus Ventures Ltd entered into 2 Grand Prix, in an alliance with Pacific Grand Prix, racing under the name Pacific Team Lotus. Team Lotus Ventures has owned the remaining rights and assets of Team Lotus. And TF, well Tune Group technically bought Team Lotus Ventures Ltd, and it became a subsidiary of Tune Group.
          The only people trying to fool people into thinking they are something they are not are Group Lotus by sponsoring the Renault team and trying to say the team is the “Real Lotus” even though there is nothing Lotus about that car

• jason on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:22 am

tony is just a greedy old tard..
          regardless of the history u guys up top keep shouting about..
          history is history…bullsh*t with reviving a legacy bla bla bla…that’s y it’s history..
          nothing to shout about…
          it’s clearly about the money…tony just want to be worship as the father of the new age lotus and earning every cent out of the brand…
          pfftt…haters gonna hate..

• llgriver on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:07 pm

promoting lotus as a big brand doesnt mean everybody can own lotus..but promoting air asia as a huge brand means everybody can fly..people buy lotus car,proton makes profit..people fly with air asia, mr tony makes profit..if team lotus podium finish, that’s LOTUS..not Air Asia or Tune group..

• orgbiasa on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

airasia selling lotus F1 products n souvenirs to make “profit”, i don k about how much but profit is profit. Airasia claims as da sponsor for Lotus F1 n trying to make AIRASIA name in global stage thru LOTUS F1’s great name n fan base. thy spent money in marketing Lotus name doesnt mean thy own lotus. Lotus F1 is from Group Lotus. i cant judge who is who but TF is totally a prick n his brain is all about money, defintely typical malaysia-political-linked axs.

TF used to be a gd businessman until he started a lot of activities to make money like a cheap axs n try to “frame” himsf as patriot to his country. personally, for me, he jus a businessman, an effective n efficient businessman who is trying everythg to reach his goals.

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:48 am

if you have a company.. what is the first thing that you want to do?

I’m damn sure you want profit… you want money…

• orgbiasa on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:16 am

but i wont proclaim “(my) F1 team is for malaysian, let’s be proud to be a Malaysian, bcos Malaysian owns F1!!!!!” LOL. if i owned 1, i’d fuc*ing tell u this is my F1 team, feel free to support, but da main purpose is to provide a advertising portal to those companies who could afford da fee (n i make some cheap money from it). LOL

TF is poor axs, he delayed his A380s arrivals again. i must say, his project to grow his airasxx isnt within his expectation. planning n budgeting failed. lol

• buaya on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:51 am

6 million pounds is an insult.
    Let the courts decide, TF no use settling out of court
    as there are a bunch of UNGRATEFUL and SPITEFUL people
    in Proton who envy seeing your success.

• Coodycurrant on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:07 am

Why is it an insult? They are not buying the team for that money. They are paying him for… Er… Nothing really, just to leave their brand-name alone. Its like paying the bully in the playground. DAmn now even 6 million looks like too much eh? Maybe MAB can finally get their money after this.

• Corona Beard on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:14 am

It’s actually more like paying ransom to a kidnapper.

• Nik Amirul on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:15 am

friend, do you know how much tony and co. spent on lotus racing last season?? and how much did proton + GL paid as a sponsor? =D

• Corona Beard on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:20 am

He spent it on the TEAM, not the NAME. No one is taking his F1 team away from him, they’re just asking him to sod off and stop pretending he’s something he is not. He will still keep his team and the investments he made to improve the teams performance. Why should anyone compensate him for anything other than just the name? He should take the money and use to pay MAB and maybe service his planes to make sure Kuching airport no need to shutdown again.

• Icecold on Feb 14, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Spot onnnn, these people still don’t understand. The dispute is in using the name nothing else. They can still race but under diff flag ler.

Why don’t TF just follow suit what his mentor did, race with their plane….

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 16, 2011 at 12:18 pm

brader….

but he help revive the name with his own effort when ppl from porotn too chicken to do it onw their own….

but when they saw tony succsess on reviving the name….porotn becomes too greedy and even terminate their contract 4years ealier than it should be….

if u were working on contract basis..what did u feel when u’ve been terminated way short from actual contract due not so apparent reason???

in this case..i support tony..(even when i not really fan of him doing bussiness)

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:55 am

TF only spent £2mil buying a name still in dispute. He spent so much more on the team but then again nobody is asking him not to race… just use another name.

• racefan on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:54 am

Buddy, its a no brainer. Figure this out:

1. How much $$$ will he lose under the Concorde agreement as a result of changing constructor name?
            2. Is the offered settlement more, or less than the potential loss above?

Find out and come back and tell us why you would not do the same if you were in his shoes. It is simple math.

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Oh? Did TF lose money when he changed from 1Malaysia Racing Team to Lotus Racing and then Team Lotus? How much did he lose then? You mean no other outfir has ever changed racing names?

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

On the other hand… instead of taking the initiative… leaving your fate to the courts could go either way too. IF…. just if TF loses the court battle he could be facing the same thing with the Concorde agreement. Right?

• anotherman on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

the money from concorde is around 36 mil. pound i think.. 6 times than what GL wanna pay

• racefan on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm

He did not lose any potential earnings in the situation you mentioned. 1MRT is not the constructor name. It is the legal business entity for the team. He can change that to 2MRT and it would make no difference.

We are talking about ‘constructor name’ which was Lotus-Cosworth last year and now it is Lotus-Renault. You can look this up in FIA website. No penalty for changing the engine supplier name portion of it.

Lotus Racing was the ‘team name’ which has now changed to Team Lotus.

Yes TF will be forced to change constructor name if he loses but he is confident that he is right. He’s the type of person that goes all the way when he believes in something, if you’ve noticed.

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:53 am

Why is it an insult? TF bought the disputed ownership of the name for £2mil. He’ll be getting 3 times what he paid for. Pride n greed has taken control over him.

• 6m£ for changing brand name? wow..tf must be out of his mind for not taking this oppurtunity or he thought that he can get more?

• anotherman on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm

he recieve 36 mil. GBP/USD from concorde after 10th place. at least GL should pay the same amount..

• Is it TF can smell and foresee a triumph over GL over TL name? Say, TL really deserved the nameplate because he bought from Hunt, how on earth he put the TEAM LOTUS name under the original emblem of Lotus?

I think he has right to use it if David Hunt’s right still not due (expired) but to have very similar emblem/mark with another name “TL” is somewhat too much. It will jeopardized the Lotus brand that Bahar trying to promote in road cars segment.

Proton, at first was TOO NAIVE to enter the agreement with TF. Obviously he’s so smart and can clinched the prize money through this way rather than through the sport itself.

THE VERDICT: Proton is loser side, Renault is the winner as the engine supplier for both teams. Remember, please read carefully before you enter any agreement. If not without Proton consent HOW TL can use Lotus for 1MRT? Stupid, huh?

Rakyat is losing again, again and again…

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:08 am

Man, you really don’t know about the logo, do you? It is always almost the same except the name on it.

• ladydriver on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

Karl has a point there..

• omanjedi on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:56 pm

I do believe so….if the title of the Team Lotus is legally handed over from the original owner and to TF, w/out any prejudice – TF will own the rights. I believe Colin Chapman separated both company , Team Lotus and Lotus Cars in other to minimize the liability if any one of the company fails.

However we do not know whether the process of ‘name rights’ transfer from CC to DH to TF is all legally binding or there are provisions to terminate the usage of the name due to ‘inactivity’ of how many years. We do not know. Lets the court decides.

In addition to that, I do agree Proton is the losing side due to succumb to political pressure of getting the 1MRT using the Lotus name. Its not only Proton has been conned, even our 1 Malaysia PM I believe. Still waiting for any Najib’s response.

TF does not have the moral rights for the brand. Talks that he is a fan, even I can say that I’m a Ferrari/Mclaren fan. Being a fan alone does not hold any ground/rights to uphold the Brand itself. Personally I believe the main motive for TF is the merchandising.

• Nik Amirul on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

yes. accept the reality… if proton and gl confident with their rights, why they still offer the court settlement? looking forward to the court hearing on march! Go Team Lotus!!! Dare to Dream!!

• Corona Beard on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:10 am

They offer settlement because of tun mahathir’s wishes. As a gesture. What can they do if Tony is a greedy cheat? Anyway why did team lotus lawyer keep trying to postpone the trial in the courtroom earlier and why Tony try to mislead public on what really happen in the courtroom? Why the deception? Who don’t have strong case now?

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:02 am

There’s nothing wrong to settle it out of court. They foresee if it takes longer in the courts time n money are focused on things other then racing. TF could earn 3 times what he paid for the disputed name. Whether TF’s team will win or not in the race… does not depend on what name he uses. TF is getting his pride n greed getting in the way.

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:03 am

Oh? £6m can bankrupt Proton, but is still too small for TF? How greedy, pretending to be nice guy sounding concerned about Proton’s financials, but then he wants way more than £6m. Tony, Tony, you’re playing a very dangerous game…

• I think TF meant it will bankrupt TL, not Proton. Obviously they have spend much, much more than £6m to assemble the team. If they accept the offer they have to forsake the glamorous name and they need more than £6m on iklan to promote their new name all over again.

But honestly Tony, it is obvious that when you rejected the offer as the sum was deemed too small, what is in your mind is actually boil down to RM and £ and not the name. If you really love the brand name you will fight till the end and no amount of offer will make you part with it.

• ladydriver on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:16 am

indirectly TF is insulting the GL & PROTON.

to say that £6m is such a small amount for him and his group..but the amount can bankrupt PROTON..

ouch!

• ladydriver on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:20 am

oo..bankcrupt the TL..now i get it..hahha~ so many confusion..

• OMG!!! What is this?

Proton = Lotus = Malaysia = AirAsia. What a joke… where is the 1 Malaysia spirit?

Although biz is $$$ but without Tony’s and team efforts, I doubt Lotus will be on the F1 race tracks since what 10 years ago???

How to compete with others while we are dog fighting within ourselves.

Good luck Tony and god bless the team.

• orgbiasa on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:30 pm

LOTUS? LOTUS is british brand, proton owns it but da legacy is british. y we need to b proud to have lotus F1? y naive malaysia need to be proud? gila….. bodoh kah apa?

1malaysia is a brand name, a portal, an excuse for Mr. PM to spend rakyat money. dude do u invest in 1malaysia fund? it runs like a MLM. Mr.Pm using 1malaysia fund to support his fella’s dream (to own a F1 team). using 1malaysia fund to build tallest building, to do sumthg he cant do wif govt fund to prevent flaming from rakyat. after da money from da fund is (almost) drained, den, GOVT (aka Mr.PM himsf) will transfer GLC to 1malysia fund under an undisclosed fee (extremely undervalued of cos). who is da owner of 1malaysia fund? msia govt? nah….. its MR. PM.

if 1malaysia spirit exist, it would be after govt stop helping bumiputera n bumiputeri. CHinese n indian is not from bumi, we from MARS not Earth. LOL. forfeit ur putera policy n take every1 as same person without counting poor or rich. tat is 1malaysia. crying out loud, 1malaysia is plainly an advertisement to purify our corrupted n unpeaceful country from Mr.PM to foreigners. n 1malaysia is a KANTAO for em to make campaign n charge Govt rm30k for a banner, rm4k for a chair to use in 1malaysia event. LOL. shame on me to tell da truth but i will nvr stop from tellin da truth. =)

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:12 am

if i am not mistaken Tony Fernandes bought “Team Lotus” name from David Hunt for just £2 Million, and now PROTON offer Tony Fernandes for £6 million for that “Team Lotus” name.

for just a name, it really cost millions?? \(O_o)/

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:14 am

You might not like it but Team Lotus name bring along about 50 years of history and 7 constructors championship with it plus all the legendary F1 drivers that have driven it. That is why it is so valuable that is why Proton/Group Lotus want it so bad. Proton/Group Lotus can’t really claim they have the rights over the history of Team Lotus because as of this moment, they do not own the brand Team Lotus, the brand that do motor racing since 1954, not Lotus Cars/Group Lotus which only make road going car.

Yes, Group Lotus want TF to stop using Team Lotus namesake so that it will be tarnish by TF’s team with poor results. That still does not make Group Lotus the owner of Team Lotus history and successes. They can’t use it as it is not their history. Group Lotus history are the Lotus 7, the Elan, the Elcat, the Europa, the Lotus Carlton, the lovely Elise, the Exige, the Evora and the great Esprit.

• Dude, do you know what Coca cola brand worth. Usd 25 bil just for the name@brand. Exclude their production stuff. You can do research from international marketing books or google it.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:15 am

anyway, a very nice picture sarcasm there.

it look like the RENAULT logo is far too big to compare than Team Lotus logo, furthermore, Tony Fernandes use “Team AirAsia” in his GP2 race competition rather than “Team Lotus”.

i wonder what is Tony Fernandes hidden motive there, as we all know he is a businessman.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:24 am

Publicity and attraction.

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:51 am

That is because Team Lotus never competed in GP2. F1 and US open wheels yes, but never in GP2. Team Lotus always race in the highest echelon of motor racing.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:16 am

Why can’t they use the Lotus Racing name.It sounds better than Team Lotus,TF want to use that name so badly because it will gain attraction but before you want to use that legendary name,improve your team first.

• taboogen on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

hermm what if PROTON asked TF for royalty for the product name. A GOOD Idea right. Make more money plus free advertisment.. why gado gado…say 1 Malaysia.. haha

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:23 am

1Malaysia advisor is PM Najib
      PROTON advisor is Dr Mahathir
      PETRONAS advisor is Dr Mahathir

checkout this video Dr Mahathir said he is very dissatisfied with Tony Fernandes “Lotus” performance
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msRKAha9HL8

maybe that is why PROTON choose former Renault F1 factory team and PETRONAS choose Mercedes factory team.

a very funny comment there is to try McLaren.

NAZA with this Tony Fernandes “Team Lotus”
      after this PERODUA with McLaren??

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:01 am

No F1 team really success in their first season. Even Brawn was Honda was BAR before that. EventRed Bull took 5 years to be world champion. Team Lotus, Virgin and to some extend HRT are becoming much better this season. You only have to look at their lap time during open practise at Valencia and Jerez this year. Last year they were 5 sec. off, but this year, they’re closing in the top team with only about 2 sec. off. Give them time. Sabar sikit.

• orgbiasa on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Renault-lotus is like Stark International VS team lotus aka Hammer tech.

admit it.

• normal citizen on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:19 am

Totally agree.. get yr facts right before posting. If given a choice as a lay-man to choose who would revive Lotus branding.. i would be rooting 100% for Tony. Look at AirAsia and Proton, u do the math…

• Hihi! That's me!!!!! on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:38 am

You guys are amateurs! What does an airline have to do with anything. Cut cost until Kuching airport need to close for safety reasons. I am waiting for the real Tony cyber troopers to come in before the discussion gets interesting.

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:54 am

Tony’s cyber troopers? You means those who support his team (Team Lotus) or those who support him?

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:48 am

From this thread alone, I can deduced that there are more Proton/Group Lotus fanboy/cyber troopers than TF/TL supporters reading Paultan. The fact that every time Paultan produce article about TF/TL, there are more haters than supporters in the comment section.

• mmmmmmmmm on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:14 pm

WE (the majority) are NOT Proton/Group Lotus fanboy/cyber troopers or TF/TL supporters ……we are just STRAIGHT FORWARD NO BULLSHIT COMMON SENSE supporter………….LOTUS = LOTUS CAR ………….it’s that easy ma……and

• frossonice on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Yes, agree. Lotus = Lotus Car.

But Team Lotus is not Lotus Car.

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

we are not proton or TF fans.. we are rakyat malaysia that dont want our money (dt rakyat) been manipulated & take by greedy businessman & politician…..

• trav_da_man on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:11 pm

If u think TF is the pirate i think u better think Dany Bahar is another potential pirate too. He has took billions of loan from CIMB and Mysia Gov to grow Lotus and some of his ambitious motorsports plans and there are chances they might fail.

In the end, both TF and Dany Bahar are businessman at heart and I sensing Dany Bahar could done worse with our money comparing to TF.

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Hmm… anything can fail depending on how you look at it. So you’re 100% confident Team Lotus is going to succeed? Look who’re they hiring, Mike Gascoyne. He’s been jumping ships, leaving behind half-done works, so I can say TF has a good chance of failing too.

Even as of now AirAsia struggles to pay airport tax, what’s wrong? Used them all up for Team Lotus’ private jet?

DB’s career record isn’t too shabby… unless Red Bull and Ferrari are crappy brands to you.

• Miwqa on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:21 am

You know, the winner out of these mess is..Renault

• rallyfan00 on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:22 pm

not really.. i believe lotus group has a real claim in this. if you’ve been following what danny bahar has been doing with lotus in the last year.. their move into F1 is not unexpected especially since they have started moving big in motorsports with 24 hr race cars, indycar..etc. I’m sure he had a long term plan in place, but the events that took place recently just escalated timelines for F1 entry (my guess only). Also don’t forget, by its direct involvement in racing (F1, etc.), it will help push sales and branding of lotus cars, as well as their other business like lotus engineering.

• vvipkho on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:57 am

Because every1 work with TL like as family n share together.

• i think TF is making up this story to show as if he’s very considerate person.
    but the fact is he’s greedy and $6mil pounds is just not enough.

he’s all about money and business. typical TF.

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:33 am

Of course $6mil isn’t enough, because that wasn’t just for the name, that was for everything, the name, the team. And David Hunt, who has spent a lot of his own money keeping Team Lotus out of GL’s hands would sue him for letting TL fall into GL’S hands

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

as written there in this article
    “We honestly worked hard to revive the Lotus name in F1” – Tony Fernandes

but i have a question, based on picture above why RENAULT logo is very big compared to “Team Lotus” logo?

and one more question is why AirAsia logo appear very big
    http://www.motorward.com/wp-content/images/2011/01/team-lotus-f1-3.jpg

compared to last year Lotus Racing car at the same place??
    http://static.motorstop.asia/blog/images/lotus-car-launch.JPG

i think “Team Lotus” apparel also have the same fate.

businessman.. businessman…

• blackjkx on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

Yeah, its a nature/normal as they like..not satisfied?greedy? bring along friends,relatives, make noise and ask for more.

• Most of you don’t realise that if Tony give up the name, he will lost the 10th prize money under Concorde Agreement worth $38 mil. So just think about it for moment.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:37 am

if i am not mistaken Dany Bahar (currently LOTUS GROUP CEO) that previously worked for Red Bull company help Red Bull company to buy whole Minardi F1 Team at just around £35 million rebrand it to Toro Rosso

and current Red Bull Racing F1 team that already win the 2010 F1 championship, Red Bull company previously bought it at just $28 million, the whole Jaguar Racing F1 Team to rebrand it to Red Bull Racing F1 team.. at that time i think it is the same man, it is Dany Bahar work also as the middleman.

i read previous news, that Tony Fernandes look like want to say if want to settle outside court then must give £80 million.. and as far as i concern PROTON-GROUP LOTUS only want to buy that “Team Lotus” name not the whole F1 team.

businessman businessman.. i think better court settle this case as soon as possible.

• racefan on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:57 am

Precisely! Nice to see some people actually do investigate the facts before posting.

• udasalleh on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

So… if TF lets the court decide… and it could go either way! But If TF loses the said prize money too rite? Or he could take the £6mil and make an appeal or consession based on the agreement. Rite? Its just business.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:54 pm

anyway about that agreement like you stated
      the Concorde Agreement worth $38 mil.

it can be settle wisely, it just need mutual understanding from all the involved F1 team in F1 currently and also FIA.. current FIA President is Dato’ Jean Todt, Malaysia government that hold most share in PROTON and Group Lotus can summon Dato’ Jean Todt anytime to help discuss and solve this issue as soon as possible without going to court.

it can be solve outside court, nothing lose if everyone have mutual understanding.
      if that is the case afraid of losing the Concorde Agreement rewards, then must at least summon FIA President Dato’ Jean Todt and FOTA President Martin Whitmarsh of McLaren to discuss and solve this issue as soon as possible without going to court.

i just give my opinion on how to solve this issue without going to court, but it need alot of commitments from many sides.

• Driver on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Bear in mind that the most powerful person in F1 is The F1 Supremo Bernie Ecclestone. The FIA president was elected and replaceable but Bernie Ecclestone owns the television right and administrative of F1 for 100 years. Formula One Promotions and Administration which established by Ecclestone gave 47% of television revenues to teams, 30% to the FIA, and 23% for himself.

• jaikolor on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:21 am

Haha, imagine wat the name Tony use if he lose LOTUS brand. Probably TUNE RACING – NOW ANYONE CAN RACE.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:45 pm

… including the Mat Rempits, right? Hahaha I love ur idea so much…!!! ;p

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:30 am

then why in the hell PROTON didn’t offer DAVID HUNT certain amount of money to DAVID HUNT to acquire TEAM LOTUS copyrights at the first place few years ago when they first bought GROUP LOTUS?

• cintaSatay on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:34 am

Just tangkap Tony Fernandes under ISA lah! End of story and Team Lotus will be solely own by Proton!

• redboy on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:51 am

Bring it on Tony!! Dont back down!

• Molecule on Feb 14, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Cool move by TF.
    Malaysia need more entrepreneur like him..
    At the end of the day “It’s not personal. It’s business”.
    Who knows, one day TF can produce cheapest n fastest F1 car for the world !!
    “Now everybody can race” is not impossible at all..

• Proton n Tony fight each other,n the winner is Renault..hmm

• Man, i think Proton is the big bully…. why oh why proton want to buy into TF’s company ONLY after they are so sucessfull?

Last time proton sitting on lotus brand for so long but they don’t appreciate it.

• If l’m CEO of Proton why should l invest in F1 at least for now BUT the thing was screwed up and the sincere entrepreneur was so WISE to get the Lotus name from Hunt. If the smart businessman that has name sound like Portuguese or Spanish but actually a smart savvy Malaysian investors (but have outstanding yet to settle with MAB) never team up with Proton in order to get the Lotus name AT FIRST PLACE how can he use the Lotus name last season?

The right to use the name because of Proton agreement BUT after you’re feed you’ll bite your boss?

If TF screwed up Malaysians l’ll stop taking AirAsia as this guy deserved no respect.

He forced proton to enter F1 otherwise Proton will not enter the F1.

He knows exactly that winning trophy is so slim THEN making money must be creative enough. he did it

• BeemerFreak on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Nah the mere existance of Proton screwed up too many Malaysian lives while TF gave Malaysians hope. You are analyzing the whole situation based on a narrow criteria. TF was sworn in as team lotus principal. Proton should never have even touched F1, it is not their sport and they have no technological know how to even succeed in the sport since they dont even make a decent road car… Lotus on the other hand is already lending assitance to Team Lotus last season and should continue on this basis.

Worse still is while TF and gang are privately funding the 1MF1 team, proton will be using the Rakyat’s money to run Renault, which without true rakyat’s consent isnt some whim and fancy that they can play with…… True this episode rather you should say NEVER to buy PROTON again rather than pointing the finger to TF

• wait, Group Lotus (Lotus road car division) did not give any supports to Lotus Racing in 2010 season.. TF and the team are on their own… only bearing the name of Lotus Racing….

• Pakka on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Says the guy who drive a BMW.

• rallyfan00 on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm

err.. eric..maybe you should actually read a bit more from multiple sources on this subject.. its seems quite clear that you dont have any grasp on whats really happening.

• 1Malaysia on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:13 pm

I think TF has every right to reject the 6m. Even though it’s ‘just a name’ and the team is still unchanged, brand names is as good as ‘gold’ in the business world. If you don’t have a good branding, what’s the point of having the same team. Try to ask coca cola to change their company name. I know some ppl may be naive enough to think this should only concern the racing, not to involve money, but F1 is the no1 moneymaking motorsport rite now.

• orgbiasa on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

F1 is not da money making sport, of cos. but wif billion of spectators, it definitely bring ur brand name to another stage.

• racefan on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:08 pm

It’s not only about brand value, which he has spend 1 year building.

He stands to lose more than the £6m offered, in potential earnings under the Concorde agreement if he changed constructor name, unless all team bosses unanimously agree for him to keep the money.

Thus by that simple fact alone, the £6m is not worth it.

• bryan.jones on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:19 pm

coca-cola obviously not gonna change their name, after all there are the “coke” manufacture.

lotus tony produce sport car meh??? stupid example..

• 1Malaysia on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Dear Bryan,

Why so angry? Is it because your beloved proton getting humiliated by a single person by the name of TF? The name team Lotus in this context is not car manufacturing team but a formula 1racing team. And no, Mr TF doesnt manufacture car like proton or lotus, but he had build quite a good car racing team.

I just thought he’s one of the best business minded person from Malaysia.

• Driver on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Have you seen proton executive given
          * International Herald Tribune Award for the “Visionaries & Leadership Series”, for his outstanding work in AirAsia;
          * “Malaysian CEO of the Year 2003” in December 2003 — a highly acclaimed recognition, so far awarded to only nine other recipients in the country, by American Express and Business Times. The award was an initiative to recognize entrepreneurial and managerial expertise and performance among leaders of Malaysian corporations.
          * Named the joint winner of the CEO of the Year 2003 award by American Express Corporate Services and Business Times .
          * “Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year” in the Ernst & Young “Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards” in 2003;
          * Made the list of Business Week’s “25 Stars of Asia” in 2005.
          * “Malaysian Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2006”
          * “Excellence In Leadership – Asia Pacific Leadership Awards 2009”
          * 2010 Forbes Asia businessman of the year
          * Legion d’Honneur The Order is the highest decoration in France
          *Commander of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth U,K

• I’m guessing only one Malaysian businessman awarded all that. Forgot the to add the Datuk Seri and owns the largest low cost airlines in Asia. Owns 95 aircrafts and also puchasing 175 A320, 25 A330 and 10 A350 aircraft.

• orgbiasa on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:24 am

how much he owes to banks? how about political-link? though he didnt join da elections or anythg related to politic. smart businessman nvr revealed his political view at anypoint anytime. i called em SWINGMEN.

• Driver on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm

I think you are the one stupid. Please see the question first. Kimi Raikkonen fan says:
        14/2/2011 at 10:12 am

“if i am not mistaken Tony Fernandes bought “Team Lotus” name from David Hunt for just £2 Million, and now PROTON offer Tony Fernandes for £6 million for that “Team Lotus” name.

for just a name, it really cost millions?? \(O_o)/”

It all about brand value.

• how about another bet for Tony and Proton, whoever wins over the first 5 races will win the brand name. Get it straight and work harder to proof to the world that the team and M’sia BOLEH!!!!

Cut out the junk, turn law sue $$ into more meaningful usage like R & D for better race machine and team.

end of stories and can’t wait to see them in the race tracks…!

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

i just don’t understand why Tony Fernandes and PROTON management sit on same table and solve this issue like a man.. i suggest FIA President Dato’ Jean Todt and FOTA President McLaren as the guess of the important meeting to solve this issue which already bring a big shame to Malaysia.. i just don’t know what to say, this issue can be solve outside the court.

the issue is
    1) PROTON want to use LOTUS name on the F1 car chassis of current LOTUS RENAULT GP
    2) currently TEAM LOTUS (previously LOTUS RACING) currently use the LOTUS on the current chassis just because Tony Fernandes bought the TEAM LOTUS name from David Hunt, if I am not mistaken around £2million.
    3) PROTON want to solve this outside court by buying ONLY the name of TEAM LOTUS for £6million.
    4) Tony Fernandes didn’t agree and reportedly come out with £80million figure as what he said that is what invested before.
    5) arguments said Tony Fernandes will lost the 10th prize money under Concorde Agreement worth $38 million.
    6) court hearing for this LOTUS name dispute will be on 21March 2010.

in my opinion, if it is just about afraid of losing the rewards of Concorde Agreement, it can be settle outside of court.. summon FIA President, Dato’ Jean Todt and Dato’ Michelle Yeoh first.

haaa.. businessman businessman do not spoil the F1 sport.

• bryan.jones on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

maybe since Lotus tarik license in 2010, then fernandez brought Team Lotus to save face.

or he should be more aggressive, buy all the lotus brands:

lotus restaurants
    lotus software
    lotus flower
    lotus temple
    lotus foods
    lotus guitar
    lotus hongkong band
    lotus american band
    lotus albums (by santana and elisa)
    lotus songs

so then he can claim… see, we’ve buy the right for ‘lotus’.

• orgbiasa on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:29 am

bet u arent a business student, bcos u dono da business law n corporate law. shame on u to say so without thk for a second.

if da santana lotus album sings all about lotus cars, engine n F1, Lotus Group reserve da right to get em to court too. da name “lotus” without relation to autosport or motoring, is ntg to do wif lotus group ok. hmmmm….

• yamseng on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:45 pm

TF should just accept the 6 mills offer. then he already profited 4 mills from the name. keep 2 mills and give 2mills to his 250 staff as bonus. then get the lotus restaurant as the sponsor, maintain the word lotus on the car, but change color from green and yellow to pink and red. that cool!!

• Unforgiven on Feb 14, 2011 at 5:24 pm

What is wrong with 2 Lotus in F1?

Who is able to do better for Malaysia?

Who is able to do better for Lotus/F1?

Who is looking at making money?

Who do not care about loosing money?

TL or Proton? Just wait and see then we judge…

• Let’s forget about TF being a cunning businessman, let’s walk through the history lane…

1. 1952 – Colin Chapman established Lotus Engineering Ltd.
    2. 1954 – Team Lotus splitted from Lotus Engineering Ltd. <– which from now on it becomes 2 entities
    3. 1959 – Lotus Group of Companies formed consist of Lotus Cars Limited and Lotus Components Limited
    4. 1971 – Lotus Components Limited becomes Lotus Racing Limited though it seized ops in the same year <– that's why TF need to change to Team Lotus instead of keep on using Lotus Racing

So, at this point Team Lotus has never been part of Group Lotus… And it is allowed to exist by Group Lotus themselves… And until this point, Team Lotus received technical expertise of Lotus Cars.

5. October 1994 – Team Lotus is sold to David Hunt
    6. 1996 – Proton acquire Lotus Cars (as we all know Group Lotus)
    7. 2009 – Litespeed gained the right to join F1 under the name of Team Lotus while Lotus Cars backed. Litespeed Team Lotus did not make it though. Lotus Cars already make it clear they'll take appropriate actions to prevent Lotus name being used.
    8. 2009 – Somehow, Group Lotus give permissions to TF to use Lotus Racing brands.
    9. 2010 – Dr. M did not pleased with LR's performance (which I deemed stupid) and Group Lotus find TF breached the license and pull back the license for LR
    10. 2010 – TF acquired Team Lotus from David Hunt.

I guess that's good enough to show where did TF get his confidence from…

Thuogh, few things that I'm confused…

– Why did Group Lotus didn't acquire the name on their own???
    – Why did Group Lotus didn't challenge the ownership of Team Lotus David Hunt for 13 years????
    – Why did Group Lotus didn't do anything when Team Lotus is sold to David Hunt?
    – and how come Group Lotus lose everytime they challenge Team Lotus on trademark?

Even David Hunt will back TF on legalities, so you still think TF dont have the rights to brag about how confidence he is to win over this case???

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm

about all of your question..

PROTON-GROUP LOTUS at first didn’t want to own the Team Lotus name but want to REVOKE it, “cancel officially”

here is among the official court documents about it
      http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o02610.pdf
      http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o14703.pdf
      http://www.ipo.gov.uk/ohim?ohimnum=E9251497
      http://www.ipo.gov.uk/ohim?ohimnum=E9289737

take not of this court decision..

47. Having regard to Section 46(5), the revocation has been partially successful. The
      registrations will be revoked with effect from 11 January 2002 in respect of all services save as follows:

No. 1338435 – Advertising services included in Class 35, all relating to Formula One
      motor racing.

No. 1337455 – Advertising services included in Class 35, all relating to Formula One
      motor racing; but not including any such services relating to pre-recorded
      tapes.

Note The latter part of the specification of No. 1337455 preserves an
      existing exclusion.

so what is class 35??

“Class 35: Advertising services, in particular the service of renting advertising space on the exterior surface of racing vehicles; advertising; business administration; office functions; retail services, including on-line retail services offered via the Internet, in respect of paint, preservations against rust, lubricants, fuels, soaps, perfumery, small items of metal hardware, motors, engines, computer games, software relating to vehicles and vehicle engineering, in-vehicle sound systems, vehicles and parts and fittings for vehicles, printed matter, posters, writing implements, glassware, porcelain, earthenware, umbrellas, clothing, headgear, toys, games and playthings; advertising services relating to the motor vehicle industry; the bringing together, for the benefit of others, of a variety of vehicles and parts and fitting for vehicles, enabling customers to conveniently view and purchase those goods; advertising services relating to motor cars; the service of renting advertising space on the exterior surface of racing vehicles.

Advertising; business management; commercial affairs; public relations; merchandising (display service).”

I think the one who is the most cunning here is David Hunt since he can still sell that Team Lotus name although he know court decision already made, Tony Fernandes is in a very big trouble.

• nice info there… at last can get some facts rather than bashing here….

Now it comes to the law… So, Team Lotus actually has been revoked or “cancelled officially”

the thing is, mind me I’m not a law student nor a law practitioner, so i dont know a thing about this, the Team Lotus is actually owned by David at the moment of revocation, this kind of revocation is allowed??? or did David himself actually agree on the revocation???

still going through the documents, so dont flame me for not knowing it or get the facts wrong…

• I wish I could give you two thumbs up but I cant on this web… this kind of info is what i’ve been looking for…

• ignoramus on Feb 16, 2011 at 1:09 am

It was not revoked for use in F1 in the manner that you have implied. If it was that simple why do they need to go to trial next month? A summary judgement would saved a lot of hassle and cost

• forrestcat on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:26 pm

clearly TF is a crook as he ahs always been….overextending the government hospitality to waive airport tax and get RM20 million discount, steal East Malaysia routes and dumping it back on MAS when unprofitable and making AA a foreign airline…AA even have plans to divert Indian routes to Bangkok which downright a treacherous move….I suggest the foreign owners kick out TF.

TF is clearly not being honest in this Lotusname dispute and even openly twittered that he si right which shows how insecure the fat rat is. He had a chance to get out quietly but had to go on ‘cari pasal’ Lotus/Proton..

He should be on AA airlines apologizing for lost baggages and flight delays…not stealin another company’s name.

• ignoramus on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm

He should stop all this Air Asia budget airline nonsense so you can enjoy paying more on MAS

• mmouse on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Hey, as far as I am concerned we have 3 F1 teams that are linked to Malaysia:

Mercedes Petronas GP
    Renault Lotus GP
    Team Lotus GP

No matter what, Malaysia is getting a lot of publicity out of this. So it is all good. We also had one F1 driver who finished out of the 107% qualifying rule… Alex Yoong… Hahahaha… Malaysia Boleh!!!!

• ignoramus on Feb 15, 2011 at 11:19 am

Actually it is:

Mercedes Petronas GP
      Lotus Renault GP
      Team Lotus
      Virgin Racing

Virgin is sponsored by QNET, another Malaysian company

• As far that I concerned, team Lotus originally 1Malaysia Racing Team, but actually TF betrayed. I guess he had planned for this since before, before the team was formed. He wanted to use the Lotus name so that he can promote Airasia and his Tune Group. No wonder he force Proton to join the so called 1Malaysia Racing Team, once Proton joined the team, he can make Proton as the puppet to buy the Lotus name for his team. This is because we all knew that Proton got very close relation with Lotus as they’re the owner of Lotus.so, he can make Proton as the reason to use the Lotus name. After that, TF changed the name to Lotus Racing Team instead of 1Malaysia Racing team. Now again, TF changed to Team Lotus instead of 1MalaysiaRacing team. How the hell Proton doesn’t get mad? Lotus owned by them yet stranger using what their owned. Now, Proton being so kind give TF sum of money for not using the name. Yet, he is still stubborn eventhough its clear that he will be in trouble later on once the case heared in court.

The best partttt ; petronas will only laughing loudly saying, hahahaha nooobies masuk kandang bising bising. Thank God, we didn’t involved with the noobiess in F1

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:11 pm

it’s all started with Litespeed want to enter F1 but PROTON and GROUP LOTUS not happy with it and want to bring their case to court

http://paultan.org/2009/06/11/lotus-not-happy-about-litespeeds-team-lotus-formula-one-2010-entry

and then after the fail attempt, Litespeed meet Tony Fernandes and ask him to pujuk PROTON-GROUP LOTUS to bless them to enter F1, with the PROTON-GROUP LOTUS blessing plus PM Najib 1Malaysia blessing, finally Litespeed successfully managed to enter F1 at the very last minute, by making Tony Fernandes as the Team Principal and Mike Gascoyne as Chief Technical Officer.

Litespeed official website : http://www.litespeedf3.com

I think it is good that at least got one Malaysia owned F1 team now and so many Malaysian people can involve in this kind high performance engineering sport, and later PROTON-GROUP LOTUS will own LOTUS RENAULT GP as Dany Bahar CEO of LOTUS GROUP already in the board of directors of LOTUS RENAULT GP, with the official announcement from the current owner Gerard Lopez that PROTON-GROUP LOTUS already signed a contract to own LOTUS RENAULT GP up to 50% in the future, PROTON already send 25 of its staff to LOTUS RENAULT GP factory to learn from F1 team that already won the 2005-2006 F1 championship.

about PETRONAS, last time they involved in making the FIRST MALAYSIA engine with Sauber in F1, plus supporting PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM that before this using PROTON WAJA car and now using BMW car in Super Taikyu championship, from the good collaboration of PETRONAS and PROTON, i think Malaysia automotive industry is moving forward rather than just depend on a very old technology from Mitsubishi and help selling Toyota-Daihatsu rebadge cars in Malaysia.

official website : www.teampetronas.com

hopefully this matters will be solve professionally, LOTUS CARS and TEAM LOTUS actually is already BANKRUPT, by making this kind of mess, it will only make thing even more worst.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:50 pm

The most honest approach that TF should do is follow what Ross Brawn does. When Honda decided to withdraw from F1, Ross Brawn bought the whole team and renamed it Brawn GP and did not even use the Honda’s name. The next year, Mercedes-benz bought the team and renamed it Mercedes GP, with Mr Brawn became the team principal.

There’s 1 thing that TF should know about the Mat Sallehs. They are particular about copyrights, name rights and plagiarism. You can be sued if you simply use their brand names without their approval. The TF case is one good example of high-profile plagiarism, where TF claims that he has the right to use the Lotus name as if Lotus Cars is his own company.

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:50 am

did you know that TF’s team was using the “Lotus” name to promote Group Lotus. That was the whole point! If GL/Proton had revoked the licence a year ago, there wouldn’t be a problem, but they allowed him to use the name for one year, his team were welcomed with open arms by the public.

• dukeKTM on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:17 pm

don’t know about u guys… but personally… I hate this twisted TF…

• ezracopters on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Well, i just read Tony’s interview. He said he & co built the team from a screw which i fully agree with. And then he said they spent almost 80mil pound (which i pretty sure once he said they spent only 30mil before) to revive the Lotus name into the F1.

And then he said, should Group Lotus wish to settle out court they deserve 100mil – 50mil settlement.. i think Tony was insane, he tried to twist the story here.. clearly G Lotus in no intention to bought HIS TEAM, they tried that before and Bahar said Tony & Co askig too much!!!.. GL willing to pay 6mil over 2mil Tony spend on purchasing Team Lotus name and leave the LOTUS name which represent their road legal BRAND alone once and for all.. that’s the real story here.. (please do not lecture here why G Lotus didn’t bought the name from Hunt first, we all know G Lotus still thought they have aright to the name when they bought G Lotus in 1996)

And Tony also admit that if they lose the name, they will lose the right of 36mil grant that they get for 10th place in 2010 F1 under Lotus Racing name.. this is not David & Goliath war etc.. personally i think this is more like a greed & ego war i.e: small Israel bullying and the whole Islamic & arab world by manipulating technical right!!!

p/s : What if suddenly Team Ferrari F1 decide not to race anymore, they went cold for 10 years and then after that one of the partner sold the name right to Toyota @ Microsoft @ personal interest.. & whoever bought it use the name to race F1 under the name Team Ferrari F1 without the bless and consent of the road legal Ferrari compnay..who will you support then??? the Microsoft @ the Ferrari company??? The Microsoft claim despite they had nothing to do with FERRARI brand product, they bought the name which carry the heritage of the likes of Shumi etc and they have every right to use the FERRARI name on their F1 team and plus the base their team in Milan, Italy.. hmmmm just think about it!!!

• once upon a time, not too long ago Proton the father decide to marry her child Lotus to TF. Both Lotus and TF agree to marry. After that giving birth to a child named Team Lotus F1 (1MsiaGP). Something like that. A project the government, even PM Najib says would make us Msian proud. Then last year, all three quarrel and decided to divorced. In the end, it is the child who suffers, and we Msians are certainly not happy about it.
    Personally, I think all three parties are at fault, Proton, Lotus and TF for not making this relationship work. It is irresponsible, especially to Msians as I see Proton & Lotus again are not using Msian taxpayers money wisely. For TF, I do not mind as he is using his own money. If he losses his money, it is his problem. What I am not happy about is Proton and Lotus management getting into this mess and wasting public money. Please make decisions wisely.
    I also hope Khazanah do something about it and those management who make mistakes too often be held accountable. How to build a great company if you kept getting into messy deals. No need to say what messy deals Proton have gotten into in the past. Buy a bike company, then unable to make it work, then sell it (divorce it). It’s the same old mistakes again. Please learn and be competent.

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:53 pm

I’m sick and tired with all these argument about PROTON trying to protecting LOTUS BRAND and BLA BLA BLA

If PROTON so damn serious about protecting LOTUS BRAND, they should have pay DAVID HUNT or buy that TEAM LOTUS copyrights and all that related to it from david hunt years ago when they buy that ailing GROUP LOTUS plc…

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:32 am

check out this official document
      http://www.ipo.gov.uk/o21098.pdf

IN THE MATTER OF TRADE MARK APPLICATION m 2011973
      BY TEAM LOTUS VENTURES LTD
      TO REGISTER THE TRADE MARK

“TEAM LOTUS” logo

AND
      IN THE MATTER OF OPPOSITION
      THERETO UNDER OPPOSITION m 45584
      BY GROUP LOTUS LTD.

the court result
      The Opponents’, having been successful in these proceedings, are entitled to a contribution towards the costs of opposing the application. I therefore order Applicant the to pay to the Opponent the sum of £500.0

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:00 am

yeah… if PROTON so damn serious to protect that LOTUS BRAND
        back then why bother to go thru all that legal stuff when they can easily offer some cash to DAVID HUNT so that today mess with all these “LOTUS BRAND” can be easily avoided.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Applicant : TEAM LOTUS VENTURES LTD
          Opponent : GROUP LOTUS LTD.

court decision about the copyright of the above “TEAM LOTUS” logo as shown in this paultan website

“Opponents have copyright in their design – and in the light of the lack of a denial of bad faith from the Applicant – I conclude that the application is made in bad faith and fails on this ground also. As the application has already failed, I will only briefly consider the remaining ground of opposition.”

Dated this 23rd day of October 1998
          Dr W J Trott
          Principal Hearing Officer
          For the Registrar, the Comptroller-General

official reference

it is really obvious that currently Tony Fernandes against the copyright owned by GROUP LOTUS LTD., he being conned so damn bad by David Hunt who sold the “Team Lotus” to Tony Fernandes..

i wonder will Tony Fernandes sue David Hunt and claim back his money or not

• voiddance on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm

From what I understand by reading the link you provided, Team Lotus Venture want to register Team Lotus logo but was opposed by Group Lotus because it will look almost exactly like Lotus logo. That does not mean Group Lotus owns Team Lotus or Team Lotus logo. Group Lotus just won a prevention against Team Lotus Venture to register a trade mark of Team Lotus logo.

Then again everyone know Proton/Group Lotus lost their case in British court regarding the ownership of Team Lotus in 1998. Since you are so desperate to support GL so much, why didn’t you care to look about that too?

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm

why don’t you provide that document here?

based on that document the court like want to say it is wrong to use the logo, and also wrong to use that Team Lotus logo and also Team Lotus name as marketing, commercial purpose anything related to business advertising on class 35.

take note of this court decision

“Having regard to Section 46(5), the revocation has been partially successful. The registrations will be revoked with effect from 11 January 2002 in respect of all services save as
            follows:

No. 1338435 – Advertising services included in Class 35, all relating to Formula One motor racing.

No. 1337455 – Advertising services included in Class 35, all relating to Formula One motor racing; but not including any such services relating to pre-recorded tapes.

Note The latter part of the specification of No. 1337455 preserves an
            existing exclusion.

case reference
            http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o14703.pdf

it said the registrations of Team Lotus already revoked from 11 January 2002.

• Antony Peacock on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:08 am

Dated 1998, when the Team Lotus name and trademark weren’t being used

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 2:13 pm

“Mr Messent states that the letters ‘ACBC’ which appear in the applicants mark, are the initials of late Colin Chapman in monogram form, and that any use by the applicants of the name LOTUS or the ACBC device would be an infringement of the rights which his own company owns in the name LOTUS and device.

Finally, he submits that advertising by way of racing cars and use of motor vehicles are sufficiently closely related that the applicant’s registration should be refused because the applicants mark is almost identical to his company’s register marks.”

as what written in the page 3 of official court document

court decision at the page 5
          “Section 5 of the Act provides protection for ‘earlier marks’ (defined in section 6) by prescribing relative grounds for the refusal of the registration of marks that might invade this protection. The marks under consideration, as discussed above, are strikingly similar but not identical. This excludes ss 5(1) and 5(2)(a) from this ground of opposition as they are concerned with identical marks.”

“The Opponents’, having been successful in these proceedings, are entitled to a contribution towards the costs of opposing the application. I therefore order Applicant the to pay to the Opponent the sum of £500.0”

Dated this 23rd day of October 1998
          Dr W J Trott
          Principal Hearing Officer
          25 For the Registrar, the Comptroller-General

look like the court want to say the “team lotus” logo used currently by Tony Fernandes is belong to Group Lotus and PROTON.

• ignoramus on Feb 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Fast forward to present day, year 2011. ‘The court’ remains impartial and instead is pushing for the matter to be resolved quickly through trial beginning Mar 21st next month thus whatever you quoted from 5, 10, 20, 30 or 100 years ago has little relevance! The court is not saying one way or the other.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:38 pm

the next court hearing will be on 21 March 2011.
            hopefully this time, the confusion is over.

if can’t settle it outside the court, then this is the only way to end the dispute.

• Tony Mubarak on Feb 15, 2011 at 9:43 pm

” trial beginning Mar 21st next month thus whatever you quoted from 5, 10, 20, 30 or 100 years ago has little relevance! ”

lol, Ignoramus, haven’t you heard the Doctrine of Stare Decisis ?

• many nonsense…

KFC become KLC? Will u still eat there?
    McD become McBurger? Will u still eat there?
    BMW become BMM? Will u still buy it?
    Roney change team to Liverpool? Will ManU fans still buy his cloths?
    Apple is now Orange? Will u still buy its Iphone?

• Why last season the Lotus Racing inside oval emblem was Yellow big line-small white lines with Green background BUT now after purchased the right from dormant David Hunt of TLVL has changed to current 2011 exactly like ACBC with Team Lotus letters?

Perhaps, Proton can established the fact that TF has backstab Proton by misused the agreement entered by the parties.

Chapman family on the GL side as they understand they afraid the AA boss will tarnished Lotus brandname.

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 15, 2011 at 6:44 pm

that ACBC letter, Anthony Colin Bruce Chapman (ACBC), the name of the LOTUS company founder.

PROTON-Group Lotus revoked the LOTUS license after Tony Fernandes bought the rights to use Team Lotus from David Hunt, saying Fernandes was breaching their agreement.

this plotted LOTUS name mess drama already begin since year 2009 between Tony Fernandes and David Hunt.. David Hunt revealed that he want to create “PROTON first crack” when Tony Fernandes meet him in year 2009, and he said Tony Fernandes agree to do that??

“When I was first approached by Tony in 2009 we agreed to give Proton first crack at doing a deal with me, but they blew it. They were shown respect, but did not reciprocate. So when I got into serious negotiations with Tony I think it is very revealing that Group Lotus/Proton then frantically tried to re-open negotiations on several occasions. Why would they do this if they believed we did not own anything?
      I told them they’d blown their chance; and, anyway, Tony had by then asked me not to re-open negotiations with them. He had given me his word that he would do a fair and reasonable deal with me and that he was not in F1 to rip anyone off; he knew he had to do a deal with me because we were the ones, not Group Lotus/Proton, who held the rights to return Team Lotus to Formula 1 and he acknowledged the huge efforts that I and many others had made over the years to keep Team Lotus alive and unsullied. So against that background, and Tony’s commitments, I told Proton they had missed their chance; in any event, they’d had 13 years to think about it and that seemed like a fair crack for them.” – David Hunt

David Hunt is the main actor behind all this mess.. I think it is the best thing to end this in court since David Hunt said this.

“I would be quite happy to take back custodianship of Team Lotus and defend any actions brought by Group Lotus/ Proton. I have no fear of Group Lotus or Proton whatsoever and am entirely confident of the legal position. Tony could have a licence to race as Team Lotus. That would free him up to focus on delivering results on track and the fans would see the true DNA of Colin Chapman’s F1 legacy on the grid next year whilst I sort out the legal side. After all, I have 16 years of knowledge of Group Lotus/Proton’s actions and am therefore the best person to defend any claims they bring. We might even have an action or two we could bring against them!” – David Hunt

David Hunt intentionally want to sell the Team Lotus name to Tony Fernandes and take back custodianship of Team Lotus, and want Tony Fernandes to race under his license.

seriously i think this guy, David Hunt is so cunning.

and here the news said Tony Fernandes want to but LOTUS GROUP shares
      http://www.f1.co.uk/read-news/1002/fernandes-would-buy-lotus-to-use-name

“If [acquiring Lotus Cars] was an option that was available to us, that’s feasible,” – Tony Fernandes

the drama already plotted since year 2009! as revealed by David Hunt himself.

• tokmoh on Feb 15, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Kimi Raikkonen fan…

Are you by any chance hack3line in lowyat? Seriously, appreciate your effort to share info, but please KISS = Keep It Short and Simple. Don’t want too much wall of text in paultan please, as hack3line was banned for similar reason…

Don’t just copy paste the WHOLE article, take your time to summarise it and share link is enough.

• tanasi on Feb 16, 2011 at 5:44 am

Hello PeaCock

Can you answer this? Does the right to the name “Team Lotus” include the use of the ABCC logo? This is the same logo that Group Lotus uses for all of its products.

• ignoramus on Feb 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm

The Team Lotus logo have ALWAYS been the green/yellow ACBC crest with words ‘Team Lotus’ in it. It is not something that Tony invented. This is how it has been eversince Team Lotus raced in F1.

However it has never been used in road cars because that was Lotus Cars domain. Like wise the Lotus crest as used on road cars minus the words ‘Team Lotus’ was never used in F1 until this season by LRGP.

• azrai on Feb 16, 2011 at 7:58 am

The name maybe cannot disputed but the logo?? It is the same logo only with ‘team’ additional.

• e-tique on Feb 16, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Tony, the more u talk…shows the more stupid u are…claim back the 6mil & let Lotus have their name.
    use Tune racing or Team AAsia, it already has a reputation worldwide though….

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm

“During 2010, the Chapman family made it clear to those involved that it would prefer that the ‘Team Lotus’ name should not be used in Formula 1” – Chapman family

“I don’t really fully understand Tony’s circumstances. He is a very nice guy, and we do admire what they have achieved at Hingham, but once the licence stopped. I’m an engineer and a bit of a black and white merchant, so it was quite simple from my point of view and that of my family, and we will be cheering on the Lotus Renault. My father was extremely pragmatic and he would always make best use of resources and try and find the most efficient way of doing something. I’m sure if he was broaching the subject of getting back into F1, then this kind of approach would make complete sense to him, to hook up with an established team and gradually form a partnership.So the fact it has a Renault badge on the car doesn’t give me a problem at all. I must admit my mum (Colin’s widow Hazel) doesn’t quite get it. She can see it’s called a Renault, but I’ve told her that’s not really the issue.The issue is that Lotus the car company is getting back into F1, and she fully supports whatever is happening at Hethel.” – Chapman family

how about this official document : http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o02610.pdf

TRADE MARKS ACT 1994
    IN THE MATTER OF APPLICATION
    No. 83358
    BY GROUP LOTUS PLC FOR REVOCATION OF
    TRADE MARK No. 2297413A
    STANDING IN THE NAME OF
    TEAM LOTUS VENTURES LIMITED

MARK : TEAM LOTUS

revocation for CLASS 41

“Sports entertainment services, motor racing, club services, hospitality, organisation of competitions and events.”

court decision..
    The trade mark is therefore revoked in full as of 13 September 2008.
    The applicant has been successful

• VoidDance on Feb 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm

I know you’re trying to enlighten us with all this fact you dug out. I read the file and it was revoked (by the way, here is the definition of ‘revoked’ from IPO website; “Revoked: A mark which has been removed from the register as a result of legal action (revocation) by a third party.”)

That still does not mean that Group Lotus owns CABC Team Lotus or its trade mark. They were just successful in requesting the IPO to revoked the trade mark pending a hearing. A new case has been advertise on Oct. 2010 which I believe the one that are on going right now. Let see who will win it this time, okay?

What interest me is that TF is really cunning. Not only he try to trade mark CABC Team Lotus for motor racing, if he is successful, there will be a slew of businesses that falls under the trade mark including hotels, air transport, clothing lines, bleachers (of all thing.. hahaha) and a lot more.

http://www.ipo.gov.uk/t-find-number?detailsrequested=C&trademark=2560775

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Official Statement by PROTON and GROUP LOTUS

“I would like to correct the statement made by Lotus Racing that Group Lotus was unsuccessful in revoking Team Lotus trademarks. This statement is completely unfounded and incorrect. We have been advised by our lawyers that the Team Lotus trademarks owned by Team Lotus Ventures (TLV) are invalid for many reasons, and we are currently pursuing proceedings at the Trade Mark Registry to prove this. We are confident of success”

estimated time for court hearing : 21 March 2011 – 31 March 2011

Claimant:
        GROUP LOTUS PLC

Defendants:
        1MALAYSIA RACING TEAM SDN BHD
        TEAM LOTUS VENTURES LIMITED
        TUNE GROUP SDN BHD
        ANTHONY FRANCIS FERNANDES
        1MALAYSIA RACING TEAM (UK) LIMITED

i think i agree with your statement that Tony Fernandes is a cunning man.

it look “TEAM LOTUS” name registered for everything, from Class 3 to Class 43 including tobacco, furniture, hotel, games.. almost everything for business purpose.

• nadzri m yusof on Feb 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm

i belive british court will favour proton due to huge money invest and bail lotus and lotus employee. TF only interested landing rights and manuplate lotus name.